news release

Zi Corporation Reconstitutes Board

Calgary, Alberta – 28 December 2006 – Zi Corporation (Nasdaq: ZICA) (TSX: ZIC), a leading provider of intelligent interface solutions for mobile devices, today announced that pursuant to its annual general meeting held on December 22, 2006 that its board of directors now consists of the following members: Milos Djokovic, Donald Hyde, Michael Lobsinger, Donald Moore, Robert Stefanski and Richard Tingle.

About Zi Corporation

Zi Corporation is a technology company that delivers intelligent interface solutions to enhance the user experience of wireless and consumer technologies. The company provides device manufacturers and network operators with a full range of intuitive and easy-to-use input solutions, including: eZiType™ for keyboard prediction with auto-correction; eZiText® for one-touch predictive text entry; Decuma® for predictive pen-input handwriting recognition; and the Qix™ search and service discovery engine to enhance the user experience and drive service usage and adoption. Zi's product portfolio dramatically improves the usability of mobile phones, PDAs, gaming consoles and television set-top boxes and the applications on them including SMS, MMS, e-mail and Internet browsing. Zi supports its strategic partners and customers from offices in Asia, Europe and North America. A publicly traded company, Zi Corporation is listed on the Nasdaq National Market (ZICA) and the Toronto Stock Exchange (ZIC).

This release may be deemed to contain forward-looking statements, which are subject to the safe harbour provisions of the United States Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements include, among other things, statements regarding future events and the future financial performance of Zi Corporation that involve risks and uncertainties. Readers are cautioned that these forward-looking statements are only predictions and may differ materially from actual future events or results due to a variety of factors, including: the growth trends in the input technology industry; new product development; global economic conditions and uncertainties in the geopolitical environment; financial and operating performance of Zi's OEM customers and variations in their customer demand for products and services; the ability to successfully acquire businesses and technologies and to successfully integrate and operate these acquired businesses and technologies; dependence on the introduction and market acceptance of new product offerings and standards; rapid technological and market change; matters affecting Zi Corporation's significant shareholder; litigation involving patents, intellectual property, and other matters; the ability to recruit and retain key personnel; Zi Corporation's ability to manage financial risk; currency fluctuations and other international factors; potential volatility in operating results and other factors listed in Zi Corporation's filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission. Any projections in this release are based on limited information currently available to Zi Corporation, which is subject to change. Although any such projections and the factors influencing them will likely change, except to the extent required by law, Zi Corporation will not necessarily update the information. Such information speaks only as of the date of this release.

Zi, eZiType, eZiText, Decuma and Qix™ and are either trademarks or registered trademarks of the Zi Group of Companies. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

For more information - Zi Corporation:

GBCS PR	Allen & Caron Inc. (investor relations)
Brian Dolby or Emma Tagg	Jill Bertotti
brian@gbcspr.com / emma@gbcspr.com	jill@allencaron.com
+44 (0) 115 948 6901	(949) 474-4300

Intelligent Interface Solutions