FALCONSTOR SOFTWARE INC (CIK 922521)
Form 10-Q
period 2005-06-30
filed 2005-08-08

                                    FORM 10-Q

                       SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

                             WASHINGTON, D.C. 20549

/X/     QUARTERLY  REPORT  PURSUANT  TO  SECTION  13 OR 15(d) OF THE  SECURITIES
        EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934
        For the quarterly period ended              JUNE 30, 2005
                                       -----------------------------------------

/ /     TRANSITION  REPORT  PURSUANT  TO SECTION  13 OR 15(d) OF THE  SECURITIES
        EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934
        For the transition period from __________________ to __________________

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

The number of shares of Common Stock issued and  outstanding as of July 28, 2005
was 48,142,403 and 47,717,803, which includes redeemable common shares.

                                      -1-

                   FALCONSTOR SOFTWARE, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES

                                    FORM 10-Q

                                      INDEX

                                                                            Page

PART I.       Financial Information                                            3

Item 1.       Consolidated Financial Statements                                3

              Consolidated Balance Sheets at June 30, 2005
                  (unaudited) and December 31, 2004                            3

              Unaudited Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations
                  for the three and six months ended June 30, 2005 and 2004    4

              Unaudited Condensed Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows
                  for the six months ended June 30, 2005 and 2004              5

              Notes to the Unaudited Condensed Consolidated
                  Financial Statements                                         6

Item 2.       Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition
                  and Results of Operations                                   13

Item 3.       Qualitative and Quantitative Disclosures about Market Risk      27

Item 4.       Controls and Procedures                                         27

PART II.      Other Information                                               27

Item 1.       Legal Proceedings                                               27

Item 2.       Unregistered Sales of Equity Securities and Use of Proceeds     28

Item 4.       Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders             28

Item 5.       Other Information                                               28

Item 6.       Exhibits                                                        28

                                      -2-

PART I.  FINANCIAL INFORMATION
ITEM 1.     CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

                   FALCONSTOR SOFTWARE, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                      CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
                                                                                          JUNE 30, 2005    DECEMBER 31, 2004
                                                                                          -------------    -----------------
                                    ASSETS                                                 (UNAUDITED)
Current assets:
   Cash and cash equivalents .......................................................     $ 15,839,208      $ 15,484,573
   Marketable securities ...........................................................       18,435,167        18,488,616
   Accounts receivable, net of allowances of $3,305,357 and
     $2,551,616, respectively.......................................................       11,145,340        10,269,822
   Prepaid expenses and other current assets .......................................          932,636           629,036
                                                                                         ------------      ------------

            Total current assets ...................................................       46,352,351        44,872,047

Property and equipment, net ........................................................        4,854,508         4,662,269
Goodwill ...........................................................................        3,512,796         3,512,796
Other intangible assets, net .......................................................          257,769           307,620
Other assets .......................................................................        2,278,473         2,719,460
                                                                                         ------------      ------------

            Total assets ...........................................................     $ 57,255,897      $ 56,074,192
                                                                                         ============      ============

                      LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY
Current liabilities:
   Accounts payable ................................................................     $    983,953      $    821,433
   Accrued expenses ................................................................        3,233,610         3,501,034
   Deferred revenue ................................................................        5,447,644         4,097,279
                                                                                         ------------      ------------
              Total current liabilities ............................................        9,665,207         8,419,746

Deferred revenue ...................................................................        1,450,955         1,290,496
                                                                                        -------------      ------------

              Total liabilities ....................................................       11,116,162         9,710,242

Commitments and contingencies

Stockholders' equity:
   Convertible preferred stock - $.001 par value, 2,000,000 shares authorized ......             --                --
   Common stock - $.001 par value, 100,000,000 shares authorized,
      48,066,226 and 47,768,755 shares issued, respectively and 47,641,626
      and 47,491,655 shares outstanding, respectively ..............................           48,066            47,769
   Additional paid-in capital ......................................................       86,107,917        85,400,740
   Accumulated deficit .............................................................      (36,798,160)      (36,952,436)
   Common stock held in treasury, at cost (424,600 and 277,100 shares,
     respectively)..................................................................       (2,781,894)       (1,714,775)
   Accumulated other comprehensive loss ............................................         (436,194)         (417,348)
                                                                                        -------------      ------------

            Total stockholders' equity .............................................       46,139,735        46,363,950
                                                                                        -------------      ------------
            Total liabilities and stockholders' equity .............................     $ 57,255,897      $ 56,074,192
                                                                                        =============      ============

     See accompanying notes to unaudited consolidated financial statements.

                                      -3-

                   FALCONSTOR SOFTWARE, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES

                 CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
                                   (UNAUDITED)

                                                                  THREE MONTHS ENDED JUNE 30,          SIX MONTHS ENDED JUNE 30,
                                                                ------------------------------      ------------------------------

                                                                     2005             2004             2005              2004
                                                                -------------    ------------       -------------    -------------

Revenues:
Software license revenue .....................................  $  6,650,442     $  4,915,498      $ 12,932,951      $  8,463,329
Maintenance revenue ..........................................     1,791,267        1,043,202         3,321,441         1,865,055
Software services and other revenue ..........................     1,053,878          524,437         1,633,231         1,413,551
                                                                ------------     ------------      ------------      ------------
                                                                   9,495,587        6,483,137        17,887,623        11,741,935
                                                                ------------     ------------      ------------      ------------

Operating expenses:
   Amortization of purchased and capitalized
     software ................................................       193,417          409,250           416,000           824,298
   Cost of maintenance, software services and
     other revenue ...........................................     1,468,866          989,955         2,796,083         1,967,960
   Software development costs ................................     2,763,745        2,178,927         5,431,136         4,340,843
   Selling and marketing .....................................     3,979,124        3,401,078         7,484,343         6,714,616
   General and administrative ................................     1,031,285        1,397,409         2,017,311         2,208,052
                                                                ------------     ------------      ------------      ------------
                                                                   9,436,437        8,376,619        18,144,873        16,055,769
                                                                ------------     ------------      ------------      ------------
           Operating income (loss) ...........................        59,150       (1,893,482)         (257,250)       (4,313,834)
                                                                ------------     ------------      ------------      ------------

Interest and other income ....................................       236,909          188,852           423,495           391,777
                                                                ------------     ------------      ------------      ------------

         Income (loss) before income taxes ...................       296,059       (1,704,630)          166,245        (3,922,057)

Provision for income taxes ...................................         7,954            8,461            11,969            12,541
                                                                ------------     ------------      ------------      ------------

         Net income ( loss) ..................................  $    288,105     $ (1,713,091)     $    154,276      $ (3,934,598)
                                                                ------------     ------------      ------------      ------------

Basic net income (loss) per share ............................  $       0.01     $      (0.04)     $       0.00      $      (0.08)
                                                                ============     ============      ============      =============

Diluted net income (loss) per share ..........................  $       0.01     $      (0.04)     $       0.00      $       (0.08)
                                                                ============     ============      ============      ==============
Weighted average basic shares
   outstanding ...............................................    47,594,072       46,859,326        47,561,653         46,750,352
                                                                ============      ===========      ============      ==============

Weighted average diluted shares
   outstanding ...............................................    50,623,983       46,859,326        50,806,365         46,750,352
                                                                ============      ===========      ============      ==============

     See accompanying notes to unaudited consolidated financial statements.

                                      -4-

                   FALCONSTOR SOFTWARE, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES

                      CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
                                   (UNAUDITED)

                                                                                    SIX MONTHS ENDED
                                                                                        JUNE 30,
                                                                                  2005              2004
                                                                             ------------      ------------
Cash flows from operating activities:
   Net income (loss) ...................................................     $    154,276      $ (3,934,598)
      Adjustments to reconcile net income (loss) to net cash provided by
         (used in) operating activities:
         Depreciation and amortization .................................        1,708,690         1,853,942
         Non-cash professional services ................................          (75,728)           21,092
         Equity-based compensation expense .............................             --               7,969
         Provision for returns and doubtful accounts ...................          965,196         1,468,067
      Changes in operating assets and liabilities:
         Accounts receivable, net ......................................       (1,840,715)       (2,318,335)
         Prepaid expenses and other current assets .....................         (303,600)          (57,914)
         Other assets ..................................................           24,987            (1,948)
         Accounts payable ..............................................          162,520           359,709
         Accrued expenses ..............................................         (267,424)          596,207
         Deferred revenue ..............................................        1,510,824         1,337,640
                                                                             ------------      ------------

   Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities                          2,039,026          (668,169)
                                                                             ------------      ------------

Cash flows from investing activities:
   Sale of marketable securities .......................................       31,448,900        22,698,597
   Purchase of marketable securities ...................................      (31,382,328)      (16,810,099)
   Purchase of property and equipment ..................................       (1,356,820)       (1,245,281)
   Purchase of software licenses .......................................             --             (50,000)
   Purchase of intangible assets .......................................          (78,258)          (43,472)
   Security deposits ...................................................             --              (4,501)
                                                                             ------------      ------------

   Net cash (used in) provided by investing activities .................       (1,368,506)        4,545,244
                                                                             ------------      ------------

Cash flows from financing activities:
   Proceeds from exercise of stock options .............................          783,203           451,165
   Payments to acquire treasury stock ..................................       (1,067,119)         (279,645)
                                                                             ------------      ------------

   Net cash (used in) provided by financing activities ..............            (283,916)          171,520
                                                                             ------------      ------------

Effect of exchange rate changes on cash and cash equivalents ...........          (31,969)              378
                                                                             ------------      ------------

Net increase in cash and cash equivalents ..............................          354,635         4,048,973

Cash and cash equivalents, beginning of period .........................       15,484,573         8,486,144
                                                                             ------------      ------------

Cash and cash equivalents, end of period ...............................     $ 15,839,208      $ 12,535,117
                                                                             ============      ============

Cash paid for income taxes .............................................     $      6,294      $        323
                                                                             ============      =============

The Company did not pay any  interest  expense for the six months ended June 30,
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
June 30,  2005 and for the three and six months  ended  June 30,  2005 and 2004,
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
of the Company at June 30, 2005, and the results of its operations for the three
months and six months ended June 30, 2005 and 2004.

(D) CASH EQUIVALENTS AND MARKETABLE SECURITIES

    The Company considers all highly liquid investments with a maturity of three
months  or  less  when  purchased  to be  cash  equivalents.  Cash  equivalents,
consisting of money market funds and commercial paper, amounted to approximately
$11.5  million  and  $10.9  million  at June 30,  2005 and  December  31,  2004,
respectively.  Marketable  securities  at June 30,  2005 and  December  31, 2004
amounted to $18.4  million and $18.5  million,  respectively,  and  consisted of
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
services are recognized as the services are completed.  Costs of providing these
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
value of the delivered element(s).

    For the three months ended June 30, 2005, the Company had two customers that
together  accounted for 27% of revenues and one customer that  accounted for 11%
of the accounts receivable balance at June 30, 2005.

(F) PROPERTY AND EQUIPMENT

    Property and  equipment  are recorded at cost.  Depreciation  is  recognized
using the straight-line  method over the estimated useful lives of the assets (3
to 7 years). Depreciation expense was $579,451 and $498,967 for the three months
ended June 30, 2005 and 2004, respectively,  and $1,164,580 and $923,731 for the
six months ended June 30, 2005 and 2004,  respectively.  Leasehold  improvements
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
December  31st of each  year,  and at  other  times  if  events  or  changes  in
circumstances  indicate  that it is more  likely  than  not  that  the  asset is
impaired.  Identifiable intangible assets are amortized over a three-year period
using the straight-line method. Amortization expense was $65,851 and $54,169 for
the three  months ended June 30, 2005 and 2004,  respectively,  and $128,110 and
$105,912  for the six months  ended June 30,  2005 and 2004,  respectively.  The
gross carrying amount and accumulated amortization of other intangible assets as
of June 30, 2005 and December 31, 2004 are as follows:

                                                                    June 30,    December 31,
                                                                     2005           2004
                                                                 -----------    ----------

            Customer relationships and purchased technology:

            Gross carrying amount                                $ 216,850      $ 216,850
            Accumulated amortization                              (216,850)      (180,708)
                                                                 ---------      ---------

            Net carrying amount                                  $    --        $  36,142
                                                                 =========      =========

            Patents:

            Gross carrying amount                                $ 601,881      $ 523,623
            Accumulated amortization                              (344,113)      (252,145)
                                                                 ---------      ---------

            Net carrying amount                                  $ 257,768      $ 271,478
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

                                      -7-

the end of March 2001. Until such product was released,  the Company capitalized
$94,570 of software  development  costs.  Software  development costs were fully
amortized as of June 30, 2004.  Amortization  of software  development  costs is
recorded  at the  greater  of  straight  line over  three  years or the ratio of
current revenue of the related products to total current and anticipated  future
revenue of these products.

    Purchased software technology of $629,806 and $1,045,806, net of accumulated
amortization  of $4,281,194 and  $3,865,194,  is included in other assets in the
balance  sheets  as of June  30,  2005  and  December  31,  2004,  respectively.
Amortization  expense was  $193,417 and $409,250 for the three months ended June
30, 2005 and 2004,  respectively,  and  $416,000 and $816,416 for the six months
ended June 30, 2005 and 2004, respectively.

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
below:

                                                        Three Months Ended June 30,          Six Months Ended June 30,

                                                          2005              2004              2005             2004
                                                          ----              ----              ----             ----
Net Income (loss) as reported                       $     288,105     $  (1,713,091)    $     154,276     $  (3,934,598)
Add stock-based employee compensation expense
included  in reported net income, net of tax                 --                --                --               7,969

Deduct total stock-based employee compensation
expense determined under fair-value-based method
for all awards, net of tax                             (2,563,735)       (2,035,104)       (4,813,325)       (3,718,235)
                                                    -------------     -------------     -------------     -------------

Net loss - pro forma                                $  (2,275,630)    $  (3,748,195)    $  (4,659,049)    $  (7,644,864)
                                                    =============     =============     =============     =============

                                      -8-

Basic and diluted net income (loss) per common
share-as reported                                   $         .01     $        (.04)    $         .00     $        (.08)

Basic and diluted net loss per common               $        (.05)    $        (.08)    $        (.10)    $        (.16)
share-pro forma

    Due to the pro forma net loss in all  periods,  diluted  net loss per common
    share is equal to basic net loss per common share on a pro forma basis.

    The per share weighted average fair value of stock options granted was $5.66
    and $5.18 for the three months  ended June 30, 2005 and 2004,  respectively,
    and  $7.06  and  $5.41  for the six  months  ended  June 30,  2005 and 2004,
    respectively,  on the date of grant using the  Black-Scholes  option pricing
    method with the following weighted average assumptions:

    2005--expected  dividend  yield  of 0%,  risk  free  interest  rate of 3.5%,
    expected stock  volatility  ranging from 161% to 166% and an expected option
    life of five years for options granted to employees of the Company;

    2004--expected  dividend  yield  of 0%,  risk  free  interest  rate of 3.5%,
    expected stock  volatility  ranging from 172% to 176% and an expected option
    life of five years for options granted to employees of the Company.

(L) FINANCIAL INSTRUMENTS

    As of June 30, 2005 and December 31, 2004,  the fair value of the  Company's
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
foreign  currency  transactions  are  included  in  the  unaudited  consolidated
statements of operations.

(N) EARNINGS PER SHARE (EPS)

    Basic EPS is  computed  based on the  weighted  average  number of shares of
common stock outstanding.  Diluted EPS is computed based on the weighted average
number  of  common  shares  outstanding   increased  by  dilutive  common  stock
equivalents. Due to net losses for the three and six months ended June 30, 2004,
all common stock  equivalents  were excluded from diluted net loss per share for
these  periods.  As  of  June  30,  2005,   potentially  dilutive  common  stock
equivalents  included  10,225,391 stock options outstanding and 750,000 warrants
outstanding  (such  warrants  become  exercisable  only if  certain  performance
targets are met by the grantee).

    The following represents a reconciliation of the numerators and denominators
of the basic and diluted earnings per share ("EPS") computation:

                                        Three Months Ended June 30, 2005            Three Months Ended June 30, 2004
                                     Net Income       Shares       Per Share      Net Income       Shares     Per Share
                                     (Numerator)   (Denominator)     Amount       (Numerator)   (Denominator)  Amount
                                     -----------   -------------     ------       -----------   -------------  ------

Basic EPS                            $   288,105     47,594,072    $    0.01     $(1,713,091)    46,859,326    $  (0.04)
                                                                   =========                                   ========

Effect of dilutive securities:
      Stock Options                                   3,029,911                                          --
                                    ------------     ----------   ----------     -----------     -----------   -----------
Diluted EPS                         $   288,105      50,623,983    $    0.01     $(1,713,091)     46,859,326    $  (0.04)
                                    ============     ==========   ==========     ===========     ===========   ==========

                                      -9-

                                          Six Months Ended June 30, 2005              Six Months Ended June 30, 2004
                                     Net Income       Shares       Per Share      Net Income       Shares     Per Share
                                     (Numerator)   (Denominator)     Amount       (Numerator)   (Denominator)  Amount
                                     -----------   -------------     ------       -----------   -------------  ------

Basic EPS                           $ 154,276        47,561,653    $    0.00     $(3,934,598)     46,750,352    $  (0.08)
                                                                  ==========                                   ==========

Effect of dilutive securities:
      Stock Options                                   3,244,712                                            -
                                    ------------     ----------   ----------     -----------     -----------   -----------
Diluted EPS                         $ 154,276        50,806,365    $    0.00     $(3,934,598)     46,750,352    $   (0.08)
                                    ============     ==========   ==========     ===========     ===========   ==========

(O) COMPREHENSIVE INCOME (LOSS)

    The Company's comprehensive income (loss) is as follows:

                                                 Three Months Ended June 30,       Six Months Ended June 30,
                                                     2005           2004              2005           2004
                                                     ----           ----              ----           ----

Net Income                                      $   288,105      $(1,713,091)     $   154,276      $(3,934,598)
                                                -----------      -----------      -----------      -----------

Other comprehensive income (loss):
     Foreign currency translation
       adjustments                                  (16,446)         (63,699)         (31,969)             378

     Unrealized gains (loss) on investments           6,968            3,942           13,123         (143,734)
                                                -----------      -----------      -----------      -----------

Other comprehensive loss                             (9,478)         (59,757)         (18,846)        (143,356)
                                                -----------      -----------      -----------      -----------

Comprehensive income (loss)                     $   278,627      $(1,772,848)     $   135,430      $(4,077,954)
                                                ===========      ===========      ===========      ===========

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

                                      -10-

months  ended June 30,  2005 and June 30, 2004 and the  location  of  long-lived
assets as of June 30, 2005 and December 31, 2004 are summarized as follows:

                          Three Months Ended June 30,     Six Months Ended June 30,
                             2005            2004           2005             2004
                             ----            ----           ----             ----

United States            $ 6,331,096     $ 3,888,657     $12,091,889     $ 6,502,730
Asia                       1,959,658       1,348,748       3,342,978       2,532,202
Oher international         1,204,833       1,245,732       2,452,756       2,707,003
                         -----------     -----------     -----------     -----------

      Total revenues     $ 9,495,587     $ 6,483,137     $17,887,623     $11,741,935
                         ===========     ===========     ===========     ===========

                                                             June 30,       December 31,
                                                               2005             2004
                                                            -----------     ------------

        Long-lived assets
          (includes all non-current assets):

        United States                                       $ 9,405,608     $ 9,929,214
        Asia                                                  1,229,304         950,387
        Other international                                     268,634         322,544
                                                            -----------     -----------

                             Total long-lived assets        $10,903,546     $11,202,145
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
management based on market  conditions.  During the quarter and six months ended
June 30, 2005,  the Company  purchased  22,500 and 147,500  shares of its common
stock in open  market  purchases  for a total cost of $154,024  and  $1,067,119,
respectively.  As of June 30,  2005,  the  Company  had  repurchased  a total of
424,600 shares for $2,781,894.

(4)  COMMITMENTS AND CONTINGENCIES

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
payments for all operating leases as of June 30, 2005:

            2005....................................     $    746,967
            2006....................................        1,525,211
            2007....................................        1,340,057
            2008....................................        1,222,281
            2009....................................        1,255,913
            Thereafter..............................        3,000,385
                                                         ------------
                                                         $  9,090,814
                                                         ============

                                      -11-

            We are subject to various legal proceedings and claims,  asserted or
unasserted, which arise in the ordinary course of business. While the outcome of
any such  matters  cannot be  predicted  with  certainty,  we believe  that such
matters will not have a material  adverse  effect on our financial  condition or
operating results.

                                      -12-

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

OVERVIEW

       Our revenues for the second  quarter of 2005  increased 46% compared with
the same period a year ago and 13% from the previous quarter. Revenues from both
our resellers and our OEM partners increased in the quarter as compared with the
first  quarter of 2005.  This  continued  growth on both a quarterly  sequential
basis and year over year indicates  that we are  increasing our market  presence
and that our resellers, OEM customers and end users value our products.

       However,  while our  revenues  increased  on a  quarter-over-quarter  and
year-over-year basis, they still fell below our expectations. We believe that at
least part of the  shortfall  from what we had  projected  was due to unexpected
events at two of our OEM customers.  In the first quarter of 2005, CNT announced
that it was being purchased by McDATA  Corporation.  This transaction  closed on
the  last  day of our  second  quarter.  During  the  second  quarter  of  2005,
StorageTek  announced  that it was being  purchased  by Sun  Microsystems.  This
transaction  has net yet closed.  In each  instance,  the  announcement  and the
actual  or  planned  transaction  caused  a near  term  loss of focus at the OEM
customer and our license revenues suffered.

       We  recorded a profit in the second  quarter.  Net income for the quarter
was $0.3 million, or $0.01 per share,  compared with a net loss of $1.7 million,
or $0.04 per share,  for the same period a year ago.  Operating  expenses in the
second  quarter of 2004  included $0.6 million in legal fees related to a patent
litigation  which  has  been  settled.  We  are  pleased  that  we  returned  to
profitability,  but,  as a direct  result of the lower  than  expected  revenues
discussed above, the level of profit fell below our expectations.

       We  continue  to  expect  that  revenues  from  our  VirtualTape  Library
software,  both FalconStor- and  OEM-branded,  will grow at a higher rate in the
second  half of 2005 than our other  products.  We also  continue to expect that
revenues  from our iSCSI  products,  which have not yet been  significant,  will
begin to increase this year.

       Deferred revenue at quarter end increased 13%,  compared with the balance
at March 31,  2005,  and by 75%  compared  with the same  period a year ago.  We
consider the continued growth of our deferred revenue as an important  indicator
of the  success  of our  products.  We  believe  that  support  and  maintenance
renewals,  which comprise the majority of our deferred revenue,  are expressions
of  satisfaction  with our  products and our support  organization  from our end
users.

       We  remain  pleased  with our  ability  to scale  our  business.  The 46%
increase in revenues  was  accomplished  with only a 13%  increase in  operating
expenses from the same period last year.  Our gross margins  increased  from 78%
for the second quarter of 2004 to 82% in the second quarter this year.

       We continue to operate the business with the goal of long term growth. We
believe  that our  ability to  continue  to refine  our  existing  products  and
features and to introduce new products and features  will be the primary  driver
of additional  growth among  existing  resellers,  OEMs and end users,  and will
drive our  strategy to attempt to engage  additional  OEM partners and to expand
the FalconStor product lines offered by these OEMs.

                                      -13-

RESULTS OF OPERATIONS - FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED JUNE 30, 2005 COMPARED TO THE
THREE MONTHS ENDED JUNE 30, 2004.

            Revenues for the three months ended June 30, 2005  increased  46% to
$9.5  million  compared  with $6.5  million for the three  months ended June 30,
2004.  Our  operating  expenses  increased  13% from $8.4  million for the three
months  ended June 30, 2004 to $9.4  million for the three months ended June 30,
2005.  Net income for the three  months  ended  June 30,  2005 was $0.3  million
compared  with a net loss of $1.7  million for the three  months  ended June 30,
2004.  The  increase in revenues was mainly due to an increase in (i) demand for
our network  storage  solution  software  and (ii) sales from our OEM  partners.
Revenue  contribution from our OEM partners increased in absolute dollars and as
a percentage of our total  revenue for the quarter ended June 30, 2005.  Revenue
from resellers and  distributors  also increased in absolute  dollars.  Expenses
increased in cost of maintenance,  software services and other revenue, software
development,  and selling  and  marketing  to support our growth.  For the three
months ended June 30, 2005,  we increased  the number of employees and continued
to  invest  in  our  infrastructure  by  purchasing   additional  computers  and
equipment.  We increased  the number of employees  from 189 employees as of June
30, 2004 to 261 employees as of June 30, 2005.

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
if any, have been performed.

            Software  license  revenue  increased  35% from $4.9 million for the
three months ended June 30, 2004 to $6.7 million for the three months ended June
30, 2005.  Increased market  acceptance and demand for our product and increased
sales from our OEM partners were the primary drivers of the increase in software
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
completed.  In  the  second  quarter  of  2005,  we  had  a  limited  number  of
transactions  in which we purchased  hardware and bundled this hardware with our
software  and sold the  bundled  solution  to our  customer.  A  portion  of the
contractual  fees is  recognized  as revenue  when the  hardware  or software is
delivered to the  customer  based on the  relative  fair value of the  delivered
element(s).  Maintenance,  software  services and other revenue increased 81% to
$2.8  million for the three months ended June 30, 2005 from $1.6 million for the
three months ended June 30, 2004.

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
expire.  Maintenance  revenue  increased  from $1.0 million for the three months
ended June 30, 2004 to $1.8  million for the three  months  ended June 30, 2005.
Growth in our professional  services sales,  which increased by $0.2 million for
the three months ended June 30, 2005  compared  with the three months ended June
30,  2004,  also  contributed  to the  increase in software  services  and other
revenues.  This  increase in  professional  services  revenue was related to the
increase in our software license customers who elected to purchase  professional
services.  Additionally,  our hardware sales increased from  approximately  $0.2
million for the three months ended June 30, 2004 to  approximately  $0.5 million

                                      -14-

for the three  months ended June 30,  2005.  This  increase was the result of an
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
2001.  As of June 30, 2005 and 2004,  we had $4.9 million of purchased  software
licenses that are being  amortized over three years.  For the three months ended
June 30, 2005 and June 30,  2004,  we recorded  $0.2 million and $0.4 million of
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
and other  revenues for the three months ended June 30, 2005 increased by 48% to
$1.5  million  compared  with $1.0  million for the three  months ended June 30,
2004. The increase in cost of maintenance,  software  services and other revenue
was  principally  due to an increase in personnel.  As a result of our increased
sales of  maintenance  and  support  contracts  and  professional  services,  we
required a higher  number of  employees  to  provide  technical  support  and to
implement our software. Additionally, due to the increase in hardware sales, our
associated hardware costs increased from $0.2 million for the three months ended
June 30, 2004 to $0.3 million for the three  months  ended Junes 30,  2005.  Our
cost of maintenance,  software  services and other revenue will continue to grow
in absolute dollars as our revenue increases.

         Gross  profit for the three months ended June 30, 2005 was $7.8 million
or 82% of revenue  compared  to $5.1  million  or 78% of  revenue  for the three
months  ended June 30,  2004.  The increase in gross profit and gross margin was
directly  related to the  increase  in  revenues.  Additionally,  the  increased
percentage of revenue from our OEM partners contributed to the increase in gross
margins since revenues from our OEM partners have higher gross margins.

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT COSTS

         Software  development  costs consist  primarily of personnel  costs for
product  development  personnel  and other  related  costs  associated  with the
development  of  new  products,   enhancements  to  existing  products,  quality
assurance and testing.  Software development costs increased 27% to $2.8 million
for the three  months ended June 30, 2005 from $2.2 million for the three months
ended June 30, 2004.  The increase in software  development  costs was primarily
due to an increase in  employees  required to enhance and test our core  network
storage  software  product,  as well as to develop new  innovative  features and
options. In addition, we required additional employees to test and integrate our
software with our OEM partners'  products.  We intend to continue recruiting and
hiring product development personnel to support our development process.

                                      -15-

SELLING AND MARKETING

         Selling and marketing expenses consist primarily of sales and marketing
personnel  and  related  costs,  travel,  public  relations  expense,  marketing
literature  and  promotions,  commissions,  trade show  expenses,  and the costs
associated  with our  foreign  sales  offices.  Selling and  marketing  expenses
increased 17% to $4.0 million for the three months ended June 30, 2005 from $3.4
million for the three months ended June 30, 2004. As a result of the increase in
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
corporate overhead costs.  General and administrative  expenses decreased 26% to
$1.0  million for the three months ended June 30, 2005 from $1.4 million for the
three  months ended June 30,  2004.  The decrease in general and  administrative
expenses was primarily due to a decrease in legal expenses. For the three months
ended June 30,  2004,  we had $0.6  million in legal  expenses  attributable  to
litigation  relating  to alleged  patent  infringement.  This  decrease in legal
expenses  was offset by an increase  in  professional  services of $0.1  million
associated with our compliance with the provisions of the  Sarbanes-Oxley Act of
2002.

INTEREST AND OTHER INCOME

         We invest our cash,  cash  equivalents  and  marketable  securities  in
government securities and other low risk investments.  Interest and other income
remained consistent at $0.2 million.

INCOME TAXES

         For the  three  months ended June 30, 2005,  our  provision  for income
taxes  consists of U.S.  and  foreign  taxes in amounts  necessary  to align our
year-to-date tax provision with the effective rate that we expect to achieve for
the full year. For the three months ended June 30, 2004, we did not record a tax
benefit  associated  with the pre-tax loss incurred for the period due primarily
to the  uncertainty  of  recoverability  of the  related  deferred  tax  assets.
Accordingly, we provided a full valuation allowance against our net deferred tax
assets.

RESULTS OF  OPERATIONS - FOR THE SIX MONTHS ENDED JUNE 30, 2005  COMPARED TO THE
SIX MONTHS ENDED JUNE 30, 2004.

REVENUES

            Revenues  for the six months  ended June 30, 2005  increased  52% to
$17.9  million  compared  with $11.7  million for the six months  ended June 30,
2004. Our operating expenses increased 13% from $16.1 million for the six months
ended June 30, 2004 to $18.1 million for the six months ended June 30, 2005. Net
income for the six months ended June 30, 2005 was $0.2 million  compared  with a
net loss of $3.9 million for the six months ended June 30, 2004. The increase in
revenues  was mainly due to an increase  in (i) demand for our  network  storage
solution  software and (ii) sales from our OEM  partners.  Revenue  contribution
from our OEM partners  increased in absolute  dollars and as a percentage of our
total revenue for the six months ended June 30, 2005. Revenue from resellers and
distributors also increased in absolute dollars.  Expenses  increased in cost of
maintenance,  software  services and other revenue,  software  development,  and
selling and  marketing to support our growth.  For the six months ended June 30,
2005,  we  increased  the number of  employees  and  continued  to invest in our
infrastructure by purchasing  additional  computers and equipment.  We increased
the number of employees  from 189 employees as of June 30, 2004 to 261 employees
as of June 30, 2005.

SOFTWARE LICENSE REVENUE

            Software license revenue increased 53% from $8.5 million for the six
months  ended June 30, 2004 to $12.9  million for the six months  ended June 30,
2005.  Increased market acceptance and demand for our product and the ramp up in

                                      -16-

sales from OEM  partners  were the primary  drivers of the  increase in software
license revenue.  Software license revenue  increased from both our OEM partners
and from our resellers.  Revenue from our OEM partners increased as a percentage
of total revenue. We expect software license revenue to continue to grow and the
percentage of software license revenue derived from OEM partners to increase.

MAINTENANCE, SOFTWARE SERVICES AND OTHER REVENUE

            Maintenance,  software  services and other revenue  increased 51% to
$5.0 million for the six months ended June 30, 2005  compared  with $3.3 million
for the six months ended June 30, 2004.  The primary  reason for the increase in
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
contracts  expire.  Maintenance  revenue increased from $1.9 million for the six
months  ended June 30, 2004 to $3.3  million  for the six months  ended June 30,
2005.  Growth in our hardware  sales,  which increased from $0.7 million for the
six months ended June 30, 2004 to $0.9 million for the six months ended June 30,
2005, also contributed to the increase in software  services and other revenues.
This  increase  was the result of an increase in demand from our  customers  for
bundled solutions.

COST OF REVENUES

AMORTIZATION OF PURCHASED AND CAPITALIZED SOFTWARE

         Amortization of purchased and capitalized  software decreased from $0.8
million  for the six months  ended  June 30,  2004 to $0.4  million  for the six
months ended June 30, 2005. The decrease in amortization expense was due to some
of the purchased software licenses being fully amortized as of June 30, 2005. We
will continue to evaluate third party software  licenses and may make additional
purchases,   which  would  result  in  an  increase  in  amortization   expense.
Amortization  of capitalized  software costs was $7,881 for the six months ended
June 30, 2004.  Capitalized software costs were fully amortized as of the end of
the first quarter of 2004.

COST OF MAINTENANCE, SOFTWARE SERVICES AND OTHER REVENUE

         Cost of maintenance,  software  services and other revenues for the six
months ended June 30, 2005  increased by 42% to $2.8 million  compared with $2.0
million  for the six  months  ended  June  30,  2004.  The  increase  in cost of
maintenance,  software  services and other  revenues was  principally  due to an
increase in personnel.  As a result of our increased  sales of  maintenance  and
support contracts, we required a higher number of employees to provide technical
support.  Our cost of  maintenance,  software  services  and other  revenue will
continue to grow in absolute dollars as our revenue increases.

            Gross  profit  for the six  months  ended  June 30,  2005 was  $14.7
million or 82% of revenues compared with $8.9 million or 76% of revenues for the
six months  ended June 30,  2004.  The increase in gross profit and gross margin
was directly  related to the increase in revenues.  Additionally,  the increased
percentage of revenue from our OEM partners contributed to the increase in gross
margin since revenues from our OEM partners have higher gross margins.

SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT COSTS

         Software  development  costs  increased 25% to $5.4 million for the six
months ended June 30, 2005  compared  with $4.3 million for the six months ended
June 30, 2004. The increase in software  development  costs was mainly due to an
increase in  employees  required to enhance  and test our core  network  storage
software product,  as well as to develop new innovative features and options. In
addition,  we required  additional  employees to test and integrate our software
with our OEM partners'  products.  We intend to continue  recruiting  and hiring
product development personnel to support our development process.

SELLING AND MARKETING

         Selling and  marketing  expenses  increased 11% to $7.5 million for the
six months  ended June 30, 2005 from $6.7  million for the six months ended June
30, 2004.  This increase in selling and marketing  expenses was partially due to

                                      -17-

increased  commission  expense,  which is  directly  related to our  increase in
revenues.  Additionally,  salary related expenses  increased as we increased our
headcount to support our revenue growth.

GENERAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE

         General and  administrative  expenses  decreased 9% to $2.0 million for
the six months  ended June 30, 2005 from $2.2  million for the six months  ended
June 30, 2004. The decrease in general and administrative expenses was primarily
due to a decrease in legal  expenses.  For the six months ended June 30, 2004 we
had $0.6 million in legal expenses attributable to litigation related to alleged
patent  infringement.  This decrease in legal expenses was offset by an increase
in professional services of $0.3 million associated with our compliance with the
provisions of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002.

INTEREST AND OTHER INCOME

         We invest our cash,  cash  equivalents  and  marketable  securities  in
government securities and other low risk investments.  Interest and other income
remained consistent at $0.4 million.

INCOME TAXES

         For the six months ended June 30, 2005,  our provision for income taxes
consists of U.S.  and  foreign  income  taxes  provided  at the  effective  rate
expected for the full year. Our effective rate for the six months ended June 30,
2005  differs  from  the  U.S.  Federal  statutory  rate  primarily  due  to the
availability of net operating losses to offset a substantial portion of our U.S.
taxable income. We did not record a tax benefit associated with the pre-tax loss
incurred  for  the  six  months  ended  June  30,  2004,  due  primarily  to the
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
issued Statement of Accounting  Financial  Standards ("SFAS") No. 123 (R), SHARE
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

                                      -18-

January 1, 2006.  We are  currently  evaluating  the impact that the adoption of
this statement will have on our consolidated  financial statements,  although we
expect that there will be a negative impact on our results of operations.

LIQUIDITY AND CAPITAL RESOURCES

         Our total cash and cash equivalents and marketable  securities  balance
as June 30, 2005  increased by $0.3 million  compared to December 31, 2004.  Our
cash and cash  equivalents  totaled  $15.8  million  and  marketable  securities
totaled  $18.4  million  at  June  30,  2005.  As  of  June  30,  2004,  we  had
approximately  $12.5 million in cash and cash  equivalents  and $22.2 million in
marketable securities.

         For the six  months  ended June 30,  2005 we  generated  positive  cash
flows.  We continued to invest in our  infrastructure  to support our  long-term
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
424,600  shares have been  repurchased  at an aggregate  purchase  price of $2.8
million.  During the second quarter of 2005,  22,500 shares were purchased at an
aggregate purchase price of $0.2 million.

         Net cash provided by operating  activities totaled $2.0 million for the
six  months  ended  June 30,  2005,  compared  with net cash  used in  operating
activities  of $0.7 million for the six months ended June 30, 2004.  This change
was  primarily  due to our net income of $0.2  million for the six months  ended
June 30, 2005, compared with a net loss of $3.9 million for the six months ended
June 30, 2004.  Net cash  provided by operating  activities  of $2.0 million was
primarily  derived from  increases in deferred  revenue of $1.5  million.  These
amounts were partially offset by net increases in accounts  receivable,  prepaid
expenses  and other  currents  assets  and  accrued  expenses.  The cash used in
operating activities for the six months ended June 30, 2004 was mainly comprised
of our net loss of $3.9  million,  and  increases  in  accounts  receivable  and
prepaid expenses,  offset by increases in accounts payable, accrued expenses and
deferred revenue of $2.3 million in the aggregate.

         Net cash used in  investing  activities  was $1.4  million  for the six
months ended June 30, 2005, due primarily to net sales of marketable  securities
of $0.1 million and  purchases of property and  equipment of $1.4  million.  Net
cash provided by investing  activities was $4.5 million for the six months ended
June 30, 2004,  due  primarily  to net sales of  marketable  securities  of $5.9
million. This amount was partially offset by purchases of property and equipment
of $1.2 million and purchases of software licenses and intangible assets of $0.1
million.

         Net cash used in  financing  activities  was $0.3  million  for the six
months  ended June 30,  2005.  We received  proceeds  from the exercise of stock
options of $0.8 million and we made  payments of $1.1 million for the six months
ended June 30, 2005 to acquire  treasury  stock.  Net cash provided by financing
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
leases  range  from  2004  through  2012.  Refer  to Note 4 of the  notes to our
unaudited condensed consolidated financial statements.

         We believe  that our  current  balance of cash,  cash  equivalents  and
marketable  securities,   and  expected  cash  flows  from  operations  will  be
sufficient to meet our cash requirements for at least the next twelve months.

                                      -19-

                                  RISK FACTORS

WE HAVE HAD A  HISTORY  OF NET  LOSSES  AND MAY NOT BE ABLE TO  RETURN  TO OR TO
MAINTAIN PROFITABILITY.

         For the second  quarter of 2005,  we had a net profit of $0.3  million.
This is only the second profitable quarter in our history. Other than the second
quarter of 2005 and the fourth quarter of 2004, we have had a history of losses,
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
revenues during each fiscal  quarter.  For the three months ended June 30, 2005,
we had two customers that together  accounted for 27% of our revenues.  While we
believe  that we will  continue  to  receive  revenue  from these  clients,  our
agreements  typically give  customers the ability to terminate the  relationship
upon 90 days notice. If our contracts with these partners are terminated,  or if
the volume of sales from these clients  significantly  declines, it would have a
material adverse effect on our operating results.

                                      -20-

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

                                      -21-

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

                                      -22-

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

CONSOLIDATION   IN  THE  NETWORK  STORAGE  INDUSTRY  COULD  HURT  OUR  STRATEGIC
RELATIONSHIPS

         In the  past  several  months,  two  companies  with  whom we have  OEM
relationships have been acquired or have announced plans to be acquired by other
companies.  If an OEM customer is acquired,  the new parent might choose to stop
offering solutions  containing our software.  Even if the solutions continued to
be offered,  there might be a loss of focus and sales  momentum as the companies
are integrated.

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

                                      -23-

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
NASDAQ National  Market System  fluctuated  between $5.13 and $9.67.  The market
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
operations.  In  accordance  with SEC rules,  we must  implement  the FASB rules
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
OUR COMMON STOCK.

         As of June  30,  2005,  we had  outstanding  options  and  warrants  to
purchase an  aggregate  of  10,975,391  shares of our common stock at a weighted
average  exercise price of $5.17 per share. We also have 1,357,219 shares of our
common stock  reserved for issuance under our stock option plans with respect to
options that have not been granted.

                                      -24-

         The  exercise  of all of the  outstanding  options and  warrants  would
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

         We  were  already  subject  to  one  action,  which  alleged  that  our
technology  infringed on patents  held by a third  party.  While we settled this
litigation,  the  litigation  was expensive and diverted  management's  time and

                                      -25-

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

                                      -26-

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
10% from the levels at June 30, 2005, the effect on our financial  results would
be insignificant.

FOREIGN  CURRENCY  RISK.  We have  several  offices  outside the United  States.
Accordingly,  we are  subject to  exposure  from  adverse  movements  in foreign
currency   exchange  rates.  The  effect  of  foreign  currency   exchange  rate
fluctuations  have not been material  since our inception.  If foreign  currency
exchange  rates  were to change by 10% from the  levels  at June 30,  2005,  the
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

                                      -27-

ITEM 2.     UNREGISTERED SALES OF EQUITY SECURITIES AND USE OF PROCEEDS

Shares of common stock repurchased during the quarter ended June 30, 2005:

                                                           TOTAL NUMBER OF         MAXIMUM NUMBER
                                                          SHARES PURCHASED       OF SHARES THAT MAY
                   TOTAL NUMBER OF     AVERAGE PRICE     AS PART OF PUBLICLY      YET BE PURCHASED
                   SHARES PURCHASED    PAID PER SHARE      ANNOUNCED PLAN          UNDER THE PLAN

June, 2005             22,500             $6.85                22,500                1,575,400

   Total               22,500             $6.85                22,500                1,575,400

The Company's Board of Directors approved a program, effective October 24, 2001,
to  repurchase  up to two million  shares of the  Company's  common  stock.  The
program has no expiration date.

ITEM 4.     SUBMISSION OF MATTERS TO A VOTE OF SECURITY HOLDERS

The Company held its annual meeting of stockholders on May 10, 2005.  45,314,028
shares of Common Stock,  95% of the  outstanding  shares,  were  represented  in
person or by proxy.

Steven R.  Fischer  was elected to serve as a director of the Company for a term
expiring in 2008 with 45,187,608 shares voted in favor,  126,420 shares withheld
and 0 broker non-votes.

Alan W.  Kaufman  was  elected to serve as a director  of the Company for a term
expiring in 2008 with 45,183,208 shares voted in favor,  130,820 shares withheld
and 0 broker non-votes.

The  selection  of KPMG  LLP as  independent  accountants  for the  Company  was
ratified with  45,176,918  shares voted in favor,  12,305 shares voted  against,
24,805 shares abstained and 0 broker non-votes.

ITEM 5.     OTHER INFORMATION

During the second  quarter of 2005,  the annual  cash  compensation  for each of
Wayne Lam, James Weber and Bernard Wu, all of whom are executive officers of the
Company,  was increased to $190,000.  None of such individuals has an employment
agreement with the Company.

ITEM 6.     EXHIBITS

                  Exhibits

                   31.1       Certification of the Chief Executive Officer

                   31.2       Certification of the Chief Financial Officer

                                      -28-

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

                                      -29-

                                   SIGNATURES

            Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934,
the  registrant  has duly  caused  this report to be signed on its behalf by the
undersigned thereunto duly authorized.

                           FALCONSTOR SOFTWARE, INC.

                           /s/ James Weber
                           -----------------------------------
                           James Weber
                           Chief Financial Officer, Vice President and Treasurer
                           (Chief Accounting Officer)

August 8, 2005

                                      -30-