Exhibit 99.1
First Industrial Realty Trust, Inc.
311 South Wacker Drive
Suite 3900
Chicago, IL 60606
312/344-4300
FAX: 312/922-9851
MEDIA RELEASE
Jay H. Shidler to Retire from First Industrial
Board of Directors in May
CHICAGO, February 3, 2010 — First Industrial Realty Trust, Inc. (NYSE: FR) today announced that Jay H. Shidler, founder and former chairman of the Company, will retire from the Company’s Board of Directors effective May 5, 2010.
“Due to the demands of other commitments, including the Chairmanship of two other REITs, I advised the Board of Directors that I will not seek reelection to the Board at the Annual Meeting in May,” said Mr. Shidler. “As one of the founders, and a major shareholder, of First Industrial, I look forward to seeing the Company’s continued progress in executing its plan focused on leasing, delevering, and expense management. The Company is in excellent hands under the leadership of Bruce Duncan, in whom I have the utmost confidence.”
“As a founding partner and long-time Chairman of First Industrial, Jay was instrumental in establishing and building the First Industrial franchise,” said Bruce W. Duncan, chief executive officer. “We thank him for his many contributions to the Company and the benefit of his experience and expertise over the years, and wish him the best with his other endeavors.”
About First Industrial Realty Trust, Inc.
First Industrial Realty Trust, Inc. (NYSE: FR) provides industrial real estate solutions for every stage of a customer’s supply chain, no matter how large or complex. Across major markets in North America, our local market experts manage, lease, buy, (re)develop, and sell industrial properties, including all of the major facility types — bulk and regional distribution centers, light industrial, manufacturing, and R&D/flex. We have a track record of industry leading customer service, and in total, we own, manage and have under development 93 million square feet of industrial space. For more information, please visit us at www.firstindustrial.com. We post or otherwise make available on this website from time to time information that may be of interest to investors.
Forward-Looking Information
This press release contains certain forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933, and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934. We intend such forward-looking statements to be covered by the safe harbor provisions for forward-looking statements contained in the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 and are including this statement for purposes of complying with those safe harbor provisions. Forward-looking statements, which are based on certain assumptions and describe future plans, strategies and expectations of the Company, are generally identifiable by use of the words “believe,” “expect,” “intend,” “anticipate,” “estimate,” “project,” “seek,” “target,” “potential,” “focus,” “may,” “should” or similar expressions. Our ability to predict results or the actual effect of future plans or strategies is
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inherently uncertain. Factors which could have a materially adverse effect on our operations and future prospects include, but are not limited to: changes in national, international, regional and local economic conditions generally and real estate markets specifically; changes in legislation/regulation (including changes to laws governing the taxation of real estate investment trusts) and actions of regulatory authorities (including the Internal Revenue Service); our ability to qualify and maintain our status as a real estate investment trust; the availability and attractiveness of financing (including both public and private capital) to us and to our potential counterparties; the availability and attractiveness of terms of additional debt repurchases; interest rates; our credit agency ratings; our ability to comply with applicable financial covenants; competition; changes in supply and demand for industrial properties (including land, the supply and demand for which is inherently more volatile than other types of industrial property) in the Company’s current and proposed market areas; difficulties in consummating acquisitions and dispositions; risks related to our investments in properties through joint ventures; environmental liabilities; slippages in development or lease-up schedules; tenant creditworthiness; higher-than-expected costs; changes in asset valuations and related impairment charges; changes in general accounting principles, policies and guidelines applicable to real estate investment trusts; international business risks and those additional factors described under the heading “Risk Factors” and elsewhere in the Company’s annual report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2008 and in the Company’s subsequent quarterly reports on Form 10-Q. We caution you not to place undue reliance on forward-looking statements, which reflect our outlook only and speak only as of the date of this press release or the dates indicated in the statements. We assume no obligation to update or supplement forward-looking statements. For further information on these and other factors that could impact the Company and the statements contained herein, reference should be made to the Company’s filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Contact:	Art Harmon Director, Investor Relations and Corporate Communications 312-344-4320
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