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                                                                    EXHIBIT 99.1


PENN NATIONAL                                                    HOLLYWOOD
GAMING, INC.                                                     CASINO


News Announcement

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         CONFERENCE CALL:  TODAY, AUGUST 7, 2002 AT 5:30 P.M. EDT
         DIAL-IN NUMBERS:  800/215-4598
         WEBCAST:          www.companyboardroom.com

                   REPLAY INFORMATION PROVIDED BELOW.
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<TABLE>
CONTACT:
William J. Clifford          Paul C. Yates                   Joseph N. Jaffoni
Chief Financial Officer      Chief Financial Officer         Jaffoni & Collins Incorporated
Penn National Gaming, Inc.   Hollywood Casino Corporation    212/835-8500 or penn@jcir.com
610/373-2400                 972/392-7777

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

          PENN NATIONAL GAMING TO ACQUIRE HOLLYWOOD CASINO CORPORATION
           FOR $12.75 PER SHARE IN CASH IN A $780 MILLION TRANSACTION

Wyomissing, Penn. and Dallas, Tex. (August 7, 2002) -- Penn National Gaming,
Inc. (PENN: Nasdaq) announced today that it has entered into a definitive
agreement to acquire Hollywood Casino Corporation (HWD: AMEX) for total
consideration of approximately $780 million. The total consideration is net of
Hollywood Casino's cash and cash equivalents of approximately $136 million and
includes approximately $569 million of long-term debt of Hollywood Casino and
its subsidiaries. Under the terms of the agreement, Hollywood Casino will merge
with a wholly-owned subsidiary of Penn National, and Hollywood Casino
stockholders will receive cash in the amount of $12.75 per share at closing.

Hollywood Casino and its subsidiaries own and operate Hollywood-themed casino
entertainment facilities in Aurora, Illinois; Tunica, Mississippi; and
Shreveport, Louisiana. Following the proposed acquisition of Hollywood Casino,
Penn National will own six dockside gaming facilities, a pari-mutuel horse
racing facility with slots, a land-based casino, two pari-mutuel horse racing
operations and eleven off-track wagering sites and hold a casino management
contract for an international casino. The combined company will be the seventh
largest public gaming company in the U.S. with annual revenues in excess of $1
billion. Penn National believes the transaction will be accretive to its
operating results upon closing based on its analysis of Hollywood Casino's
assets and their prospects, as well as expected financial and operating
synergies.

The transaction has been approved by the Boards of Directors of both Penn
National Gaming, Inc. and Hollywood Casino Corporation. The transaction is
subject to a vote by stockholders of Hollywood Casino, gaming authorities and
other regulatory approvals (including expiration of the


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PENN NATIONAL GAMING TO ACQUIRE HOLLYWOOD CASINO, 8/7/02                 page 2


applicable Hart-Scott-Rodino waiting period) and other customary closing
conditions, and is expected to be consummated in the first half of 2003. Certain
stockholders of Hollywood Casino who control approximately 50.3% of its
outstanding shares have agreed to vote in favor of the transaction.

Commenting on the transaction, Peter M. Carlino, Chief Executive Officer of Penn
National, said, "The acquisition of these well established properties represents
a significant growth and expansion opportunity for Penn National and is
attractive both strategically and financially. The acquisition, which almost
doubles our revenue base, is expected to be accretive to our operating results
upon closing, builds the critical mass of our gaming operations and further
diversifies the geographic reach of our operations without any overlap with our
existing properties.

"We believe Hollywood's assets will prove to be excellent additions to Penn
National. Hollywood Casino's Aurora facility recently completed a major
expansion and the company's $230 million Shreveport resort has only been in
operation for a year and a half. As a result, neither of these properties will
require major near term capital investments to expand or refurbish these
facilities. In both cases these properties are viewed as the premier facility in
their respective market and have access to major metropolitan feeder markets of
Chicago and Dallas. Hollywood Tunica has proven to be a consistent performer
with over 500 rooms, ample meeting space, an 18-hole championship golf course
and is an attractive destination resort. Like its Aurora and Shreveport
counterparts, the Tunica casino is a superior quality facility that will require
very modest near-term capital expenditures. Our vision is to blend the
successful operating and management disciplines of both companies to generate
improved financial performance over prior year periods. Finally, in Hollywood
Casino we are acquiring a solid brand with widespread recognition that can be
applied to other Penn National assets to drive marketing programs and
efficiencies."

Edward T. Pratt III, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Hollywood Casino
Corporation, continued, "The Board and management of Hollywood Casino are very
pleased to announce this transaction. The significant value our shareholders
will be receiving reflects the culmination of several years of hard work by many
dedicated employees of Hollywood. The $12.75 per share purchase price clearly
reflects the tremendous value that Hollywood Casino has created for its
shareholders. The terms of the transaction provide Hollywood Casino shareholders
with a 34% premium to the closing price of our stock on June 27, 2002, the day
before we publicly disclosed that the company had been conducting a sale
process. We are confident that our superior quality facilities will continue to
generate impressive operating results under Penn National.

"In addition to being a terrific transaction for our shareholders, we think the
merger of our two companies provides our employees with a tremendous
opportunity. The combined company will be a large, diversified gaming company
with a bright future. We are pleased to note that after the merger our
properties will continue to operate under the Hollywood Casino brand. We also
understand that Penn National's existing properties plan to adopt the Hollywood
Casino name and theme after the merger."


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PENN NATIONAL GAMING TO ACQUIRE HOLLYWOOD CASINO, 8/7/02                 page 3


Hollywood Casino Corporation owns and operates:

|X|   Hollywood Casino - Aurora, arguably the finest gaming and entertainment
      product in the Chicago marketplace. The 117,000 square foot dockside
      casino and entertainment facility is located in Aurora, Illinois,
      approximately 35 miles west of downtown Chicago. The property recently
      opened a new spectacular dockside casino that replaced its two original,
      four level riverboat casinos. The dockside casino has 53,000 square feet
      of gaming space on a single level featuring 1,105 slot machines and 36
      table games including the only poker room in Chicago. The property also
      features the Hollywood Epic Buffet (R), which offers the latest in
      presentation style cooking, the Fairbanks (R) Steakhouse, the property's
      gourmet steak restaurant and a high-end player's lounge.

|X|   Hollywood Casino - Tunica, a casino, hotel and entertainment complex
      located in Tunica County, Mississippi, approximately 30 miles south of
      Memphis, Tennessee. The Tunica Casino was designed to replicate a motion
      picture sound stage and features a 54,000 square-foot, single-level casino
      with approximately 1,600 slot machines and 40 table games. The casino
      includes the Adventure Slots themed gaming area featuring multimedia
      displays of memorabilia from famous adventure motion pictures and over 200
      slot machines. The Tunica Casino's 505-room hotel is currently undergoing
      an $8 million renovation which is expected to be completed in mid-2003.

|X|   Hollywood Casino - Shreveport, a 229,000 square foot entertainment
      facility located in Shreveport, Louisiana, approximately 180 miles east of
      Dallas, Texas. The property is Shreveport's first "true" destination
      resort and is also the market's first highly themed facility, utilizing an
      art-deco Hollywood theme throughout the property. The Shreveport resort
      features the largest dockside casino in the Shreveport market, a 403-room,
      all-suite hotel, an elegant land-based pavilion that includes a sixty-foot
      high atrium and extensive restaurant and entertainment amenities. The
      property's dockside casino contains approximately 59,000 square feet of
      space with approximately 1,422 slot machines and approximately 66 table
      games. Located in the pavilion are the property's acclaimed Epic Buffet,
      Hollywood Diner and Fairbanks Steakhouse restaurants and its
      state-of-the-art spa and fitness center.

Penn National has received financing commitments from Bear, Stearns & Co. Inc.
and Merrill Lynch & Co. to consummate the transaction which commitments are
subject to several customary conditions.

Lehman Brothers Inc. acted as financial advisor to Penn National Gaming and
Goldman, Sachs & Co. served as financial advisor to Hollywood Casino Corporation
in the transaction.

Penn National and Hollywood Casino will be hosting a conference call and
simultaneous webcast at 5:30 p.m. EDT today, both of which are open to the
general public. The conference call number is 800/215-4598; please call five
minutes in advance to ensure that you are connected prior to the presentation.
Questions and answers will be reserved for call-in analysts and investors.
Interested parties may also access the live call on the Internet at
www.companyboardroom.com; allow

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PENN NATIONAL GAMING TO ACQUIRE HOLLYWOOD CASINO, 8/7/02                 page 4


15 minutes to register and download and install any necessary software.
Following its completion, a replay of the call can be accessed until August 20,
by dialing 800/633-8284 or 402/977-9140 (international callers). The access code
for the replay is 20814618. A replay of the call can also be accessed for thirty
days on the Internet via www.companyboardroom.com.

Penn National Gaming owns and operates Charles Town Races in Charles Town, West
Virginia, which presently features 2,587 gaming machines (with approval to offer
3,500 machines); two Mississippi casinos, the Casino Magic hotel, casino, golf
resort and marina in Bay St. Louis and the Boomtown Biloxi casino in Biloxi; the
Casino Rouge, a riverboat gaming facility in Baton Rouge, Louisiana and the
Bullwhackers properties in Black Hawk, Colorado. Penn National also owns two
racetracks and eleven off-track wagering facilities in Pennsylvania and the
racetrack at Charles Town Races in West Virginia, and operates the Casino Rama,
a gaming facility located approximately 90 miles north of Toronto, Canada,
pursuant to a management contract.

In addition to historical facts or statements of current condition, this press
release contains forward-looking statements made by Penn National or Hollywood
Casino (collectively, the "Companies") within the meaning of Section 27A of the
Securities Act of 1933, as amended, and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange
Act of 1934, as amended. Some of these statements are those regarding the
accretive nature of the merger, synergies arising from the merger, future
capital expenditures, prospects for future growth, expectation of continued
acquisitions and optimism in light of current economic conditions. These
statements are subject to a number of risks and uncertainties that could cause
the statements made to be incorrect and the actual results to differ materially.
The Companies describe certain of these risks and uncertainties in their filings
with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including their Annual Reports on
Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2001. Some of these risks include
those relating to the ability of the Penn National to integrate and manage
facilities it acquires, risks relating to the development and expansion of
properties, risks of increased competition and risks relating to the fact that
they are heavily regulated by gaming authorities. In addition, consummation of
Penn National's acquisition of Hollywood Casino is subject to several conditions
including the completion of Penn National's acquisition financing as well as the
approval of various governmental entities, including certain gaming regulatory
authorities to which the Companies are subject. Furthermore, the Companies do
not intend to update publicly any forward-looking statements except as required
by law. The cautionary advice in this paragraph is permitted by the Private
Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995.

Hollywood Casino anticipates filing a proxy statement with the Securities and
Exchange Commission in the near future. Investors and security holders will be
able to obtain a free copy of this document when it becomes available at the
Commission's web site www.sec.gov. STOCKHOLDERS OF HOLLYWOOD CASINO SHOULD READ
THE PROXY STATEMENT CAREFULLY BEFORE MAKING A DECISION REGARDING THE
TRANSACTION. INVESTORS AND STOCKHOLDERS ARE URGED TO READ THE PROXY STATEMENT
AND ANY OTHER RELEVANT DOCUMENTS RELATED TO THE TRANSACTION WHEN THEY BECOME
AVAILABLE BECAUSE THEY WILL CONTAIN IMPORTANT INFORMATION.

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