Exhibit 99.1

IMAX CORPORATION

2525 Speakman Drive

Mississauga, Ontario, Canada L5K 1B1

Tel: (905) 403-6500 Fax: (905) 403-6450

www.imax.com

IMAX CORPORATION’S IMAX CHINA FILES APPLICATION FOR INITIAL PUBLIC OFFERING IN HONG KONG

HONG KONG – May 28, 2015 – IMAX Corporation (NYSE:IMAX) today announced that IMAX China Holding, Inc., a Cayman Islands company and a subsidiary of IMAX, has submitted a listing application on Form A1 in connection with an initial public offering and listing of its shares on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange.

The securities referred to herein have not been and will not be registered under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the “Securities Act”), or any state securities laws, and may not be offered or sold in the United States absent registration under the Securities Act or an applicable exemption from the registration requirements of the Securities Act and applicable state securities laws.

This press release is neither an offer to sell nor a solicitation of an offer to buy, nor shall there be any offer, solicitation or sale of these securities in any jurisdiction in which such offer, solicitation or sale would be unlawful.

About IMAX China

IMAX China is a subsidiary of IMAX Corporation, and is incorporated under the laws of the Cayman Islands. IMAX China was established by IMAX Corporation specifically to oversee the expansion of IMAX’s business throughout Greater China.

About IMAX Corporation

IMAX, an innovator in entertainment technology, combines proprietary software, architecture and equipment to create experiences that take you beyond the edge of your seat to a world you’ve never imagined. Top filmmakers and studios are utilizing IMAX theatres to connect with audiences in extraordinary ways, and, as such, IMAX’s network is among the most important and successful theatrical distribution platforms for major event films around the globe.

IMAX is headquartered in New York, Toronto and Los Angeles, with offices in London, Tokyo, Shanghai and Beijing. As of March 31, 2015, there were 943 IMAX theatres (820 commercial multiplexes, 18 commercial destinations and 105 institutions) in 63 countries.

IMAX®, IMAX® 3D, IMAX DMR®, Experience It In IMAX®, An IMAX 3D Experience®, The IMAX Experience®, IMAX Is Believing® and IMAX nXos® are trademarks of IMAX Corporation. More information about the Company can be found at www.imax.com. You may also connect with IMAX on Facebook (www.facebook.com/imax), Twitter (www.twitter.com/imax) and YouTube

(www.youtube.com/imaxmovies).

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This press release contains forward looking statements that are based on IMAX management’s assumptions and existing information and involve certain risks and uncertainties which could cause actual results to differ materially from future results expressed or implied by such forward looking statements. These risks and uncertainties are discussed in IMAX’s most recent Annual Report on Form 10-K and most recent Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q.

For additional information please contact:

Investors: IMAX Corporation, New York Teri Loxam 212-821-0100 tloxam@imax.com Business Media: Sloane & Company, New York Whit Clay 212-446-1864 wclay@sloanepr.com

Media:

IMAX Corporation, New York

Ann Sommerlath

212-821-0155

asommerlath@imax.com

Entertainment Media:

Principal Communications Group, Los Angeles

Melissa Zuckerman/Paul Pflug

323-658-1555

melissa@pcommgroup.com

paul@pcommgroup.com