Exhibit 99.1

Investor Contacts: Dan Spiegelman SVP & Chief Financial Officer (650) 384-8509 Christopher Chai Treasurer & Executive Director, Investor Relations (650) 384-8560	Media Contacts: John Bluth Senior Director, Corporate Communications (650) 384-8850

CV THERAPEUTICS ANNOUNCES PROPOSED PRIVATE OFFERING OF SENIOR

SUBORDINATED CONVERTIBLE NOTES

PALO ALTO, Calif., May 11, 2004 – CV Therapeutics, Inc. (Nasdaq: CVTX) announced today that it intends to offer, subject to market and other conditions, $100 million aggregate principal amount of senior subordinated convertible notes. The Company also expects to grant to the initial purchasers of the notes a 30-day option to purchase up to an additional $25 million of the notes.

The Company intends to use a portion of the net proceeds from the offering to repurchase a portion of its outstanding convertible debt, including subordinated debt. The Company will use a portion of the net proceeds of the offering to fund an escrow account to provide security for the first six scheduled interest payments on the notes. The Company intends to use the remaining net proceeds of the offering for general corporate purposes, which may include funding research, development and product manufacturing, preclinical and clinical trials, preparation and filing of new drug applications, product commercialization, increasing its working capital and capital expenditures.

The notes have not been registered under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, or any applicable state securities laws, and will be offered only to qualified institutional buyers in reliance on Rule 144A. Unless so registered, the notes may not be offered or sold in the United States except pursuant to an exemption from the registration requirements of the Securities Act and applicable state securities laws.

This press release shall not constitute an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to buy these securities, nor shall there be any sale of these securities in any state in which such offer, solicitation or sale would be unlawful prior to registration or qualification under the securities laws of any such state.

Except for the historical information contained herein, the matters set forth in this press release, including statements as to development and commercialization of the company’s products, are forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements are subject to risks and uncertainties that may cause actual results to differ materially, including, early stage of development; regulatory review and approval of our products; the timing of clinical trials; the dependence on collaborative and licensing agreements; operating at a loss; commercialization of our products; and other risks detailed from time to time in CVT’s SEC reports, including its most recent Annual Report on Form 10-K, and its most recent Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q. CVT disclaims any intent or obligation to update these forward-looking statements.

# # #