Exhibit 99

Exhibit 99

NEWS RELEASE
For release:  May 19, 1997

Contacts:         C. Duane Blankenship, Vice President & CFO
                  Horizon Bancorp, Inc.
                  (304) 255-7310

                  Duane K. Sellards, President & CEO
                  Beckley Bancorp, Inc.
                  (304) 252-6201

Horizon Bancorp and Beckley Bancorp Announce Intent to Merge

Horizon Bancorp, Inc. ("Horizon") and Beckley Bancorp, Inc. ("Beckley") jointly announce today that they have entered into a non-binding letter of intent providing for the acquisition of Beckley by Horizon through a merger of Beckley into Horizon and a merger of Beckley Federal Savings Bank, a wholly owned subsidiary of Beckley, into Bank of Raleigh, a wholly owned subsidiary of Horizon. The joint announcement was made by Frank S. Harkins, Jr., Chairman and CEO of Horizon and Duane K.
Sellards, President and CEO of Beckley.

Pursuant to the terms of the proposal, shareholders of Beckley will receive Twenty Five Dollars and Sixty Four Cents ($25.64) in cash for each of the outstanding shares of Beckley. The transaction value is approximately $16.9 million. This merger, which is an all cash transaction, will be accounted for as a purchase transaction.

Frank S. Harkins, Jr., Chairman and CEO of Horizon, commented "Raleigh County is the flagship market of our organization. The addition of Beckley's Harper Road location will enhance our existing branch network. It is situated in an area which is enjoying significant economic growth and will be strategic as we compete with "out of area" financial service providers entering our market. We will continue Beckley's tradition of providing quality banking services while introducing our vast array of financial products and services and our six convenient locations to Beckley's existing customers."

Duane K. Sellards, President and CEO of Beckley, commented "The joining of our company with Horizon affords us a great opportunity by combining our market share with a company that already knows our community and is committed to its growth and development. An important factor in the decision was the similar community banking philosophies of the two companies and the commitment to customer service."

The transaction is subject to approval by the appropriate regulatory authorities and the stockholders of Horizon and Beckley with an expected closing during the third quarter of 1997.

Horizon operates five banks with twenty-one offices in West Virginia. Counties served include Raleigh, Fayette, Greenbrier, Summers, Pocahontas, Cabell, Lincoln, and Wayne. At March 31, 1997 Horizon had consolidated assets of $942.8 million, total loans of

$644.2 million and deposits of $789.4 million. For the three months ended March 31, 1997 Horizon earned $3,242,000 which represents an annualized return on average assets of 1.38% and an annualized return on average equity of 11.76%. Horizon is a multi-bank holding company headquartered in Beckley, West Virginia. Horizon's common stock is traded on the NASDAQ National Market System with a ticker symbol of HZWV.

Beckley operates one bank with two offices located in Beckley, Raleigh County, West Virginia. Horizon presently operates six offices of Bank of Raleigh; five offices in Beckley, Sophia, and Beaver, Raleigh County, West Virginia and one office in Oak Hill, Fayette County, West Virginia. Beckley reported total assets of $44.6 million, total deposits of $33.0 million and total loans of $20.4 million at March 31, 1997.