Exhibit 99.1

 OCTOBER 2015        INVESTOR PRESENTATIONJUNE 2016

 SAFE HARBOR DISCLOSURE Certain statements in this presentation, which are not historical facts, may be considered forward-looking statements within the meaning of the federal securities laws. The forward looking statements, some of which can be identified by terms and phrases such as “forecast”, “estimate”, “expect”, “anticipate”, “should”, “could”, “may”, and similar expressions, reflect the current views of Essex Property Trust, Inc. (“Essex” or the “Company”) and its affiliates with respect to future events and are subject to risks and uncertainties. Such forward-looking statements involve the risk that actual results could be materially different from those described in such forward-looking statements. Factors that could cause actual results to be materially different are discussed under the caption “Risk Factors” in Item 1A of the Company’s Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2015. All forward-looking statements and reasons why results may differ included in this presentation are made of the date hereof, and we assume no obligation to update any such forward-looking statements or reasons why actual results may differ.   ABOUT ESSEXWEST COAST INVESTMENT STRATEGYINVESTMENT OVERVIEWFINANCIAL PERFORMANCE, CAPITAL MANAGEMENT& 2016 GUIDANCEAPPENDIX TRACK RECORD WEST COAST OVERVIEW TECH INDUSTRY: THEN & NOW ESSEX PORTFOLIO SUSTAINABILITY   PAGE(S)2 – 3 4 – 9 10 – 1415 – 2324 25 – 2930 – 33 34 – 3940 – 4344 – 46  TABLE OF CONTENTS  Pacific Electric Lots, Los Angeles, CA  1

   Represents percent of pro rata NOI as of 3/31/16.East Bay includes Alameda and Contra Costa Counties.Multifamily REITs represent the total return of 7 peers through 12/31/15.  ESSEX IS THE ONLY PUBLIC MULTIFAMILY REIT DEDICATED EXCLUSIVELY TO THE WEST COAST                  Northern CA,39% of NOI(1)  Seattle,17% of NOI(1)  2  Southern CA,44% of NOI(1)      San Francisco MD 9%East Bay(2) 13%Santa Clara 18%    Ventura 5%Los Angeles 20%Orange County 11%San Diego 8%  Dedicated to the urban and suburban coastal markets of California and Washington with high barriers to housing construction Long track record of success with highest shareholder returns of multifamily REITs(3) over 5, 10, and 20 year periods2nd highest total return of all public REITs since IPO in 199422 year history of increasing cash dividendTop executives share an average tenure of roughly 19 yearsS&P 500 Company

 KEY STRATEGIC OBJECTIVES    Add value through strategic redevelopmentAcquire and develop West Coast properties near transportation nodes in submarkets with highest expected rent growth Drive rent growth on high occupancyInternal value creation through transformational synergiesMaintain strong balance sheet and financial flexibility  The DylanLos Angeles, CA   3

         STRONG WEST COAST FUNDAMENTALS

 Trailing 3 Month Job GrowthAs of April 2016  U.S. Avg. = 1.9%  Essex Portfolio Wtd. Avg. = 3.0%(1)    ESS Markets  Non ESS Markets    ROBUST WEST COAST JOB GROWTH  WEST COAST JOB GROWTH OUTPACES THE U.S. AND OTHER MAJOR MSA’S  Source: BLS (not seasonally adjusted)For those markets included in this graph which represents 99% of Essex’s NOI at the Company’s pro rata share as of 3/31/16.  5

 FAVORABLE DEMOGRAPHIC TRENDS INDICATE CONTINUED RENTAL DEMAND  Source: Census  FAVORABLE DEMOGRAPHICS  U.S. Population by Age Group(in Millions)  6

 U.S. Avg. = 5.5%  Essex Portfolio Wtd. Avg. = 6.4%(1)  STRONG PERSONAL INCOME GROWTH SUPPORTS RENT GROWTH IN ESS MARKETS  STRONG PERSONAL INCOME GROWTH  Source: BEA, Rosen Consulting Group, Economy.comFor those markets included in this graph which represents 99% of Essex’s NOI at the Company’s pro rata share as of 3/31/16.  7

 Source: Census, ESS, Rosen Consulting Group  LIMITED SUPPLY IN ESS MARKETS  ESS CA SUPPLY AS A PERCENT OF STOCK HAS HISTORICALLY BEEN BELOW 1% AND REMAINS MUTEDRELATIVE TO THE NATION, ESS’ CA MARKETS HAVE LESS HOUSING SUPPLY WITH BETTER JOB GROWTH  8

 15%        RENT GROWTH IN ESS MARKETS IS EXPECTED TO EXCEED THE U.S. AND TOP 20 MSA’S(1) THROUGH 2020  WEST COAST EXPECTED TO CONTINUE TO OUTPERFORM  Source: Axiometrics Derived Rents (Actual 3Q 2008-4Q 2015; Forecast 1Q 2016-4Q 2020)(1) Top 20 MSA’s excludes Essex markets, but includes the other major metros in the U.S.   9    Cumulative Rent Growth: ESS vs. Major Metros and U.S.    10%

         INVESTMENT OVERVIEW

   ACQUISITIONSImprove the NAV/sh, cash flow/sh and growth prospects of the CompanyDEVELOPMENTDevelop high-quality tenant desired apartment homes near transportation nodesREDEVELOPMENTFocused on rent justified improvements to maximize NOI and valueCO-INVESTMENT PLATFORMFacilitates growth via private capital and provides attractive risk adjusted returns  CORE COMPETENCIES TO CREATE VALUE          One South Market  Avant  Park 20  Bunker Hill(Rendering)  11

   STRATEGIC CAPITAL ALLOCATION  INVESTMENT ACTIVITY SINCE THE BEGINNING OF 2015  12  82% of acquisition investments have been in Southern California 67% of disposition activity has been in Northern CaliforniaImproved portfolio by selling older properties situated in non-core locations  Acquisitions              Property Name  Location  Year Acquired  Apartment Homes  Age  ContractPrice  Price/ Home  8th & Hope  Southern CA  2015  290  2   $ 200,000    $ 690   The Huxley(1)  Southern CA  2015  187  2   $ 48,784    $ 522   The Dylan(1)  Southern CA  2015  184  2   $ 51,266    $ 557   Reveal(1)  Southern CA  2015  438  6   $ 73,013    $ 337   Avant  Southern CA  2015  440  2   $ 172,000    $ 391   Enso  Northern CA  2015  183  2   $ 93,000    $ 508   Mio  Northern CA  2016  103  1   $ 51,300    $ 498   Form 15  Southern CA  2016  242  2   $ 97,400    $ 402    Total/Wtd. Average      2,067   3   $ 786,763    $ 465                 Dispositions              Property Name  Location  Year Sold  Apartment Homes  Age  ContractPrice  Price/ Home  Pinnacle S. Mountain  Phoenix  2015  552  20   $ 63,750    $ 115   Sharon Green  Northern CA  2015  296  46   $ 245,000    $ 828   The Heights(1)  Southern CA  2016  332  12   $ 46,900    $ 283   Harvest Park  Northern CA  2016  104  12   $ 30,500    $ 293   Canyon Creek(1)  Southern CA  2016  200  30   $ 26,750    $ 268    Total/Wtd. Average      1,484   24   $ 412,900    $ 328   Mio  Canyon Creek  Contract price represents the Company’s pro rata share.

 YEAR-TO-DATE DEVELOPMENT STARTS  GATEWAY VILLAGE    Location  Santa Clara, CA  Apartment Homes  476  Total Cost  $226M  Construction Start  Q2 2016  Initial Occupancy  Q2 2018  13

   Total cost in billions and not ESS share. Includes only those projects under construction as of 3/31/16.Based on initial occupancy.As of 3/31/16.   EXPECT TO COMPLETE CONSTRUCTION AND BEGIN LEASING 3 PROJECTS IN 2016 FOR A TOTAL COST OF $270.0M3 ANTICIPATED DEVELOPMENT STARTS FOR 2016 (1 SHOWN IN THE TABLE BELOW)  Cost in millions  DEVELOPMENT PIPELINE UPDATE  Delivery of Development Timeline(2)          # of Properties  Units  Total Cost(1)  2016  3  555  $0.3  2017  2  975  $0.5  2018  2  1,021  $0.6  Total  7  2,551  $1.4  ESS Share(3)    Total Cost  $1.0  Unfunded Cost  $0.7  Total cost as a % of total market cap.  4.6%  Unfunded cost as a % of total market cap.  3.2%  14

         FINANCIAL PERFORMANCE, CAPITAL MANAGEMENT & 2016 GUIDANCE

 Source: Company Disclosures 2016 is the midpoint of company guidance as of First Quarter 2016 Earnings Releases. Peer average represents 7 multifamily REITs.   CONTINUED OUTPERFORMANCE VS. PEERS  ESS SAME-PROPERTY NOI GROWTH HAS EXCEEDED THE PEER AVERAGE BY 3.5% ANNUALLY FOR THE LAST 4 YEARSNOI GROWTH IN 2016 IS PROJECTED TO OUTPERFORM THE PEER GROUP YET AGAIN AND BE THE HIGHEST AMONG THE PEERS  (1)  (2)  16

 2016 SAME-PROPERTY REVENUE GROWTH  Same-Property Revenue Growth  Q1 2016Actuals  April/May 2016Actuals  YTD throughMay  Full-Year 2016 Guidance Range  Southern California  6.1%  6.0%  6.0%  5.25% – 6.25%  Northern California  9.1%  7.7%  8.5%  8.50% – 9.50%   Seattle  7.0%  7.5%  7.2%  6.00% – 7.00%  Total  7.3%  6.9%  7.1%  6.50% – 7.50%            Financial Occupancy  96.0%  95.9%  96.0%    Q1 2016 SAME-PROPERTY REVENUE GROWTH EXCEEDED THE MIDPOINT OF OUR FULL-YEAR GUIDANCE RANGE IN ALL REGIONSFOR APRIL/MAY, SAME-PROPERTY REVENUE GROWTH IS TRACKING SLIGHTLY BELOW THE MIDPOINT OF OUR FULL-YEAR GUIDANCE RANGE  The Highlands at WynhavenIssaquah, WA   EmmeEmeryville, CA   The HuntingtonHuntington Beach, CA   17

 Assumes the stock buyback program is balance sheet neutral.Assumes consensus NAV estimate and not the Company’s internal NAV.       Discount to NAV(2)                5.0%  10.0%  15.0%  20.0%  25.0%  30.0%  Disposition Cap Rate  5.25%  ($1.9)  ($1.2)  ($0.4)  $0.5   $1.5   $2.6     5.00%  ($1.0)  ($0.3)  $0.5   $1.4   $2.4   $3.5     4.75%  ($0.1)  $0.6   $1.4   $2.2   $3.2   $4.4     4.50%  $0.8   $1.5   $2.3   $3.1   $4.1   $5.3     4.25%  $1.7   $2.4   $3.1   $4.0   $5.0   $6.2     4.00%  $2.5   $3.3   $4.0   $4.9   $5.9   $7.1     Portfolio Management  Opportunistic  Strategy  HYPOTHETICAL CAPITAL ALLOCATION STRATEGY: RUNNING THE MACHINE IN REVERSE  COMPANY HAS A $250M STOCK BUYBACK PROGRAM APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORSESTIMATED $ ACCRETION TO CORE FFO FROM EXECUTION OF THE BUYBACK PROGRAM(1)VALUE CREATION (SHOWN IN TABLE BELOW) IS DEPENDENT ON DISPOSITION OPPORTUNITIES AS WELL AS DISCOUNT TO NAV  $ Value Creation/(Dilution) in Millions  18

   $21.3 BILLION TOTAL CAPITALIZATION         DEBT SUMMARY ($ MILLION)    3/31/16  Unsecured Debt       Bonds    $2,712    Term Loan    225    Line of Credit    164  Total Unsecured Debt    3,101   Mortgage Debt       Fixed Rate    1,960    Variable Rate    292   Total Secured Mortgage Debt    2,252   Total Consolidated Debt    $5,353   Source: Company DisclosuresAs of 3/31/16  CAPITAL STRUCTURE & LIQUIDITY PROFILE             LIQUIDITY PROFILE ($ MILLION)        3/31/16  Unsecured Credit Facility - Committed        $1,025  Balance Outstanding        164  Undrawn Portion of Credit Facility        861  Cash, Cash Equivalents & Marketable Securities        219  Total Liquidity           $1,080  19

 Source: Company DisclosuresUnsecured debt ratio is unsecured assets (excluding investments in joint ventures) divided by unsecured indebtedness.Net Indebtedness is total debt less unamortized premiums, unrestricted cash, and marketable securities.Adjusted EBITDA annualizes the pro forma NOI for current quarter acquisitions and excludes non-routine items in earnings.  SELECT BALANCE SHEET RATIOS  3/31/16  12/31/15  COVENANT  TARGETS  Secured Debt / Undepreciated Book  16%  16%  < 40%  < 16%  Total Debt / Undepreciated Book  38%  38%  < 65%  < 42%  Interest Coverage  372%  357%  > 150%  > 300%  Unsecured Debt Ratio(1)  293%  292%  > 150%  > 250%  Net Indebtedness to Recurring EBITDA(2)(3)  5.7X  5.8X    6.0X – 7.0X  Unencumbered NOI to Total NOI  67%  66%    > 65%            CREDIT RATINGSFITCH: BBB+ (STABLE)MOODY’S: Baa2 (POSITIVE) S&P: BBB (POSITIVE)          STRONG CREDIT PROFILE  20

 Debt Maturities in Millions ($)  4.7%  11.2%  6.6%  12.9%  13.4%  10.6%  6.5%  11.5%  7.7%  9.9%  0.0%  5.0%  % of Total Debt Maturing/Year  WELL LADDERED DEBT MATURITY SCHEDULE  Debt Maturity Schedule(1)  (1) As of 3/31/2016. Excludes lines of credit.  2.6%  3.2%  5.3%  3.4%  4.9%  4.3%  3.7%  3.6%  4.0%  3.5%  1.0%  0.9%  Weighted Average Interest Rate  21

   2016 Revised Midpoint  Change to Midpoint of Initial Guidance  National GDP Forecast   2.3%  (0.5%)  National Job Growth   2.0%  No Change  ESS Job Growth   2.6%  0.1%  ESS Market Rent Growth  6.0%  No Change  ESS Same-Property Revenue Growth  7.0%  No Change  ESS Same-Property Expense Growth(1)  3.8%  No Change  ESS Same-Property NOI Growth   8.5%  No Change  Total FFO Per Share  $10.86  $0.01  Core FFO Per Share (2)  $10.92  No Change  Total FFO Per (Diluted) Share Growth  11.7%  0.1%  Core FFO Per (Diluted) Share Growth (2)  11.3%  No Change  Source: Company DisclosuresReflects the Company’s change to property management fee allocation.Core FFO excludes merger related costs, acquisition costs and non-routine items.  2016 GUIDANCE  22

 All data are based on Essex Property Trust, Inc. forecasts.U.S. Economic Assumptions: 2016 G.D.P. Growth: 2.3% , 2016 Job Growth: 2.0%New Residential Supply: MF reflects Company's internal estimate of actual multifamily deliveries; SF is based on 12 month single family trailing permits reported by the US Census Bureau.Job Forecast: refers to the difference between total non-farm industry employment (not seasonally adjusted) projected 4Q over 4Q, expressed as total new jobs and growth rates.Market Forecast: the estimated rent growth represents the forecasted change in effective market rents for full year 2016 vs 2015 (excludes submarkets not targeted by Essex).Weighted Average: markets weighted by scheduled rent in the Company's Portfolio.   E S S E X P R O P E R T Y T R U S T, I N C.                               2016 MSA Level Forecast: Supply, Jobs, and Apartment Market Conditions                                                                Residential Supply (1)                     Job Forecast (2)       Market Forecast (3)  Market  New MF Supply  New SF Supply  Total Supply  % of MF Supply to MF Stock      % of Total Supply to Total Stock         Est. New Jobs Dec-Dec   % Growth     Economic Rent Growth                                          Los Angeles  11,000  5,700  16,700  0.7%      0.5%         94,600  2.2%     5.5%  Orange  3,800  3,800  7,600  0.9%      0.7%         39,500  2.5%     5.6%  San Diego  3,300  3,500  6,800  0.7%      0.6%         36,700  2.6%     5.3%  Ventura  150  700  850  0.2%      0.3%         5,350  1.8%     5.4%  So. Cal.  18,250  13,700  31,950  0.7%      0.5%         176,150  2.3%     5.5%                                           San Francisco  5,400  650  6,050  1.3%      0.8%         34,700  3.0%     6.3%  Oakland  1,600  4,300  5,900  0.5%      0.6%         27,900  2.5%     6.7%  San Jose  5,850  2,100  7,950  2.3%      1.2%         31,300  3.0%     6.3%  No. Cal.  12,850  7,050  19,900  1.5%      0.9%         93,900  2.8%     6.5%                                           Seattle  8,450  7,100  15,550  1.7%      1.3%         48,600  3.0%     6.1%                                           Weighted Average(4)  39,550  27,850  67,400  1.2%      0.8%         318,650  2.6%     6.0%  2016 MSA FORECAST  23

         APPENDIX

         ESTABLISHED TRACK RECORD OF SUCCESS

 INVESTMENT STRATEGY LEADS TO SUPERIOR TOTAL RETURNS  Total Shareholder Return Since IPOYears Ending December 31  An innovative management team responsive to changing market dynamics with the ability to source and structure unique opportunities within the multifamily spaceDisciplined underwriting, rigorous analysis, and total return driven2nd highest total return of all public REITs since IPO in 1994  3,504%  773%  579%  1,124%  Source: SNL Financial, NAREITJune 1994 – December 2015   INVESTMENT STRATEGY HAS LED TO SUPERIOR VALUE CREATION FOR SHAREHOLDERS SINCE THE IPO  26

 HISTORY OF GROWTH IN DIVIDEND PER SHARE  Essex has maintained its commitment to dividend safety and has increased its dividend every year for the past 22 years, representing 283% in dividend growth since the IPO   27

 SIGNIFICANT TOTAL FFO PER SHARE GROWTH  (1) Through 2015 actuals. Excludes 2016 estimated growth.(2) 1994 Total FFO represents Proforma FFO due to the Company's IPO in June 1994.  Since the IPO, Total FFO has increased 434%, or 8% annually(1)Over the past 5 years Core FFO per Share has increased 96%(1)  28

   2009  2016(1)  Cumulative Change  CAGR  # of Units(2)  27,248  59,441  118.1%  13.3%  # of Properties  133  244  83.5%  10.2%  Share Price   $83.65    $233.86   179.6%  17.9%  Equity Market Cap   $2.7B    $16.0B   492.6%  32.9%  Total Market Cap   $4.6B    $21.3B   363.0%  27.8%  Annualized Dividend/Share   $4.12    $ 6.40   55.3%  7.3%  Core FFO/Share   $5.43    $10.92(3)   101.1%  11.8%  Consensus NAV/Share  $70.68  $228.55  223.4%  20.7%            Total Return to Shareholders(1)      239.4%  21.6%  Source: Green Street Advisors, SNL Financial, Company DisclosuresAs of 3/31/16. Total Return 12/31/09 - 3/31/16.All units, not pro rata share.Through 2016 midpoint of guidance range as of 3/31/16.   29  SUBSTANTIAL GROWTH SINCE THE GREAT RECESSION

         WHY WEST COAST?

 WEST COAST SIGNIFICANCE  Rank  State  Q3 2015 GDP(1) ($M)  % of Total  1  California  2,448,467  14%  2  Texas  1,639,375  9%  3  New York  1,455,568  8%  4  Florida  893,189  5%  5  Illinois  771,896  4%  Source: BEA, IMF(1) Q3 2015 GDP is seasonally adjusted at annual rates.   The combined GDP of California and Washington would be the 5th largest economy in the world  31  Rank  Nation  2015 GDP ($M)  % of Total  1  United States  17,947,000  24%  2  China  10,982,829  14%  3  Japan  4,123,258  5%  4  Germany  3,357,614  4%  5  California & Washington  2,897,871  4%  6  United Kingdom  2,849,345  4%  7  France  2,421,560  3%  8  India  2,090,796  3%  9  Italy  1,815,757  2%  10  Brazil  1,772,589  2%  CA is the largest state in the U.S. totaling 14% of U.S. GDP  National GDP Rankings  United States GDP Rankings

 WHY WEST COAST MARKETS?  FAVORABLE DEMOGRAPHICSHigher incomes coupled with a higher cost of home ownershipHigher percentage of educated 25-34 year olds  DIVERSE DEMAND DRIVERSHighest GDP in the U.S.Job growth consistently outpaces the U.S.Centers of innovation and drivers of job creation  LOW SUPPLYLong-term at below 1% of total supplyHigh cost of home ownership  32

 WHY WEST COAST MARKETS?  Source: DQ News, NWMLS, NAR, Moody’s. Data as of March 2016.Represents the average annual new supply as a % of stock since 1990.       ESS Markets  U.S.  33

         TECH INDUSTRY: THEN & NOW

 Source: PWC MoneyTree, Renaissance Capital, US Department of Commerce, Internet World Stats, UF Warrington  TECH TODAY VS. DOT-COM    THEN (2000)  NOW (2015)  % OF THE WORLD WITH ACCESS TO INTERNET  7%  46%  GLOBAL INTERNET POPULATION  0.4B  3.4B  NUMBER OF DEVICES PER PERSON  1  4.3 (by 2020)  PRICE-TO-SALES RATIO  48.9  6.5  NUMBER OF INTERNET/SOCIAL MEDIA IPOS  90  24  MEDIAN AGE OF COMPANIES GOING PUBLIC  5  11  VENTURE CAPITAL FUNDING  $79B  $35B  US ECOMMERCE REVENUE  $12B  $342B  35

 WEALTH CREATION IS ACCELERATING ON THE WEST COAST      SEATTLE  SAN FRANCISCO  LOS ANGELES    BOSTON    NEW YORK    WASHINGTON D.C.    SAN JOSE      TECH HUBS ON THE WEST COAST HAVE HELPED FUEL A SHIFT IN ECONOMIC POWER FROM THE EAST COAST TO THE WEST COAST SAN JOSE HAS THE HIGHEST GDP PER CAPITA OF ALL MAJOR U.S. CITIES  BOSTON Real GDP/Capita: $74,746 Growth: 16%  NEW YORK Real GDP/Capita: $70,830 Growth: 16%  WASHINGTON D.C. Real GDP/Capita: $72,191 Growth: 8%  SEATTLE Real GDP/Capita: $75,874 Growth: 18%  SAN FRANCISCO Real GDP/Capita: $80,643 Growth: 16%  SAN JOSE Real GDP/Capita: $105,482 Growth: 46%  LOS ANGELES Real GDP/Capita: $60,148 Growth: 17%  Source: Bureau of Economic AnalysisReal GDP represents 2014 Per Capita Real GDP by MSA and growth represents Cumulative Growth 2001-2014.   36

 UNICORNS          Rank  Company  Total Employees  Est. Bay Area/Seattle Employees  Est. Market Value ($B)(1)  1  Uber  4,400   2,310   $62.5   2  Airbnb  1,600   850   $27.0   3  Palantir  1,800   1,100   $20.1   4  Pinterest  700   600   $11.2   5  Dropbox  1,200   765   $10.4   6  Theranos  700   530   $9.0   7  Lyft  1,000   630   $5.5   8  Zenefits  1,300   620   $4.5   9  Cloudera  1,250   440   $4.1   10  SoFi  525   470   $4.0   11  Docusign  1,500   960   $3.0   12  Houzz  650   500   $2.3   13  Nutanix  1,000   780   $2.1   14  AppDynamics  850   575   $2.1   15  SurveyMonkey  650   410   $2.0   16  Medallia  800   550   $1.3   17  Okta  500   300   $1.2   18  Apttus  900   300   $1.1   19  Tintri  500   490   $1.0   20  Kabam  825   480   $1.0      Total  22,650   13,660   $175.3   Source: Silicon Valley Business Journal, Puget Sound Business Journal, San Francisco Business Times, Wiki, Essex estimatesValuations are based on the last round of funding. eBay data includes both eBay, Inc. and PayPal Holdings, Inc.   “UNICORNS” VS. PUBLIC TECH COMPANIES  PUBLIC TECH COMPANIES          Rank  Company  Total Employees  Est. Bay Area/Seattle Employees  Est. Market Value ($B)  1  Apple  110,000  25,150  $528.2  2  Alphabet  64,115  34,700  $483.5  3  Microsoft  112,689  45,600  $393.3  4  Facebook  12,691  6,500  $331.7  5  Amazon  230,800  27,960  $328.8  6  Oracle  135,070  7,465  $162.6  7  Intel  107,300  6,790  $142.8  8  Cisco Systems  71,833  14,638  $140.6  9  eBay (2)  28,400  6,280  $73.1  10  Salesforce  19,000  5,100  $55.5     Total  891,898  180,183  $2,640.1  TOP 10 PUBLIC TECH COMPANIES EMPLOY GREATER THAN 13X MORE PEOPLE THAN THE TOP 20 UNICORNS IN THE BAY AREA AND SEATTLEBOTTOM LINE: MOVEMENTS MADE BY LARGE PUBLIC TECH COMPANIES SUCH AS APPLE AND ALPHABET HAVE A MORE RELEVANT IMPACT ON THE ECONOMY THAN UNICORNS   37

 COMPARISON OF 10 LARGEST PUBLIC TECH VS. NON-TECH FIRMS  TECH FIRMS HAVE CREATED ~$2.0 TRILLION IN EQUITY MARKET VALUE OVER THE PAST 10 YEARS, GROWING 3.0X FASTER THAN NON-TECH FIRMS TECH FIRMS HAVE 2.2X MORE CASH ON HAND THAN NON-TECH FIRMSALL TOP 10 TECH FIRMS AND 3 OF THE TOP NON-TECH FIRMS ARE HEADQUARTERED IN ESS MARKETSTOP TECH FIRMS HAVE 17,700 JOB OPENINGS IN CALIFORNIA AND WASHINGTON, DEMONSTRATING THEIR COMMITMENT TO GROW   Source: Company DisclosuresIncludes only 9 tech and 9 non-tech companies as Facebook and Visa were not public in 2005.Includes cash, cash equivalents, and marketable securities.Excludes banks.  Top 10 Largest Public Companies  Headquarters   Equity Market Capitalization (May 31, 2016)  Equity Market Capitalization (Dec. 31, 2005)(1)  Change    Cash Available as of 2015(2)  Tech  Northern CA/Seattle  $2,723.3  $755.0  $1,968.3    $556.3  Non-Tech(3)  Various  $2,321.3  $1,655.9  $665.4    $256.5  Difference    $402.0  ($900.9)  $1,302.9    $299.8                Ratio of Tech to Non-Tech     1.2X    0.5X    3.0X      2.2X   All data in billions except ratio     38

 LARGE TECH FIRMS CONTINUE TO HIRE  Source: Company Disclosures(1) Includes Top 10 Largest Public Tech Firms today that have been public since 2005.  TOP 10 LARGE TECH FIRMS GLOBAL EMPLOYMENT GROWTH OVER THE PAST DECADE HAS CONTINUED TO RISEOVER THE TEN YEAR PERIOD, THE COMPOUND ANNUAL GROWTH RATE OF EMPLOYMENT HIRING HAS BEEN 10.1%  39

 Both San Francisco and San Jose have seen strong trailing three month job growth as of April of 4.1% and 3.9%, respectively. Approximately 39% of the month-over-month job gains in San Francisco came from the Professional and Business Services sector. Office absorption in the first quarter in Silicon Valley was 825,000 sf, or 1.2% of stock, with an additional 3.5M sf under construction (nearly 50% of which is pre-leased).First quarter office absorption in the San Francisco MD was 153,000 sf, or 0.2% of stock, with 4.7M sf under construction (37% of which is pre-leased).  Source: Axiometrics, Moody's, RCG, SNL, BLS, Census and ESS Disclosures as of March 31, 2016. Trailing 3 months beginning April 2016.Home Prices as of March 2016. U.S. uses NAR 4Q15.  NORTHERN CALIFORNIA HIGHLIGHTS   Northern CA  Totals  Units  19,295  Properties  73  Pro rata % of NOI  39.3%  SS Occupancy  96.1%  Market Data  U.S.  San Francisco  San Jose  Trailing 3 Month Job Growth  1.9%  4.1%  3.9%  Personal Income Growth 2016F  5.5%  7.3%  7.1%  Median Home Price(1)  $223,000  $1,082,000  $775,000  NORTHERN CALIFORNIA PORTFOLIO  NORTHERN CALIFORNIA AREA MAP  40

 Source: Axiometrics, Core Logic, JLL US Office Report Q2 2015, Moody's, RCG, SNL, BLS, Census and ESS Disclosures as of March 31, 2016. Trailing 3 months beginning April 2016.Home prices as of March 2016. Home prices in Los Angeles represent the entire county and not ESS submarkets, which had a weighted average home price of $740,000 as of December 2015. U.S. uses NAR 4Q15.   LOS ANGELES PORTFOLIO  LOS ANGELES HIGHLIGHTS    Los Angeles  Totals  Units  11,056  Properties  50  Pro rata % of NOI  19.6%  SS Occupancy  96.0%  Job growth in Los Angeles was 2.5% for the trailing three month period beginning in April. The largest gains in April were reported from the Trade, Transportation and Utilities, and the Education and Health Services Sectors.Los Angeles had first quarter net absorption of roughly 432,000 sf, or 0.2% of stock, with nearly 2.3M sf of office space under construction.   Market Data  U.S.  Los Angeles  Trailing 3 Month Job Growth  1.9%  2.5%  Personal Income Growth 2016F  5.5%  6.4%  Median Home Price(1)  $223,000  $489,000  LOS ANGELES AREA MAP  41

 Source: Axiometrics, Moody's, RCG, SNL, BLS, Census and ESS Disclosures as of March 31, 2016. Trailing 3 months beginning April 2016.Home Prices as of March 2016. U.S. uses NAR 4Q15.  ORANGE COUNTY PORTFOLIO  ORANGE COUNTY HIGHLIGHTS  Orange County had job growth of 3.0% for the trailing three month period beginning April 2016.Professional and Business Services and Trade, Transportation and Utilities were the industries leading the job growth in April.Orange County absorbed 230,000 sf of office space in the first quarter, representing 0.2% of stock, with nearly 1.1M sf currently under construction.   Market Data  U.S.  Orange County  Trailing 3 Month Job Growth  1.9%  3.0%  Personal Income Growth 2016F  5.5%  6.0%  Median Home Price(1)  $223,000  $610,000    Orange County  Totals  Units  6,932  Properties  28  Pro rata % of NOI  10.9%  SS Occupancy  96.1%  ORANGE COUNTY AREA MAP  42

 Source: Axiometrics, Moody's, RCG, SNL, BLS, NWMLS, Census and ESS Disclosures as of March 31, 2016. Trailing 3 months beginning April 2016.Home Prices as of March 2016. U.S. uses NAR 4Q15.  SEATTLE HIGHLIGHTS  SEATTLE PORTFOLIO  Market Data  U.S.  Seattle  Trailing 3 Month Job Growth  1.9%  3.2%  Personal Income Growth 2016F  5.5%  6.7%  Median Home Price(1)  $223,000  $404,000    Seattle  Totals  Units  12,197  Properties  56  Pro rata % of NOI  16.5%  SS Occupancy  95.8%  Seattle continues to demonstrate strong job growth with 3.2% for the trailing three months beginning in April. Trade, Transportation and Utilities accounted for 18% of net jobs added in April, while Professional and Business Services accounted for 15%. During the first quarter, office absorption in Seattle was 839,000 sf, or 0.9% of stock. Approximately 6.8M sf of office space was under construction as the first quarter of 2016, with approximately 38% pre-leased.  SEATTLE AREA MAP  43

         COMMITMENT TO SUSTAINABILITY

 2016  2015  2014  2009  2008  2006  45  SUSTAINABLE COMMITTMENTFor the past 10 years, Essex has been incorporating green initiatives within its apartment communities   SUSTAINABILITY INITIATIVES

 46  DEDICATION TO SUSTAINABLE LIVING  SUSTAINABLE INITIATIVES THROUGHOUT THE ORGANIZATION  *LEED is a nationally recognized program established by the U.S. Green Building Council to encourage the design of environmentally responsible buildings. GreenPoint Rated is California-specific program through Build It Green, which encourages healthy, energy- and resource-efficient building practices in the state.  DEVELOPMENT    MAINTENANCE & REDEVELOPMENT    LIVING ENVIRONMENTS  Since 2009, the Company has achieved:LEED* certified status at 6 communitiesGreenPoint Ratings* at 6 propertiesPursuing LEED certification on 2 recently completed developmentsPursuing GreenPoint Ratings on 3 development communities    We are focused on improving the efficiency of our properties through our redevelopment program and ongoing property maintenance activitiesKey Areas of Focus:Energy ConservationInstalling high efficiency boilers and CO systemsInstalling energy efficient lightingWater ConservationDrought tolerant landscapingInstalling rain sensors and drip irrigationWaste ManagementReducing waste through the implementation of a recycling program in 2014    Caring for the environment by providing communities that:Have good in-door air qualitySmoke-free, use of low or no VC paint, mandate green cleaning productsPromote recyclingUtilize paperless transactions through online portalsAre conveniently located near public transit

 NOTES  47