Exhibit 99.1

SECOND QUARTER 2022 Earnings Release & Supplemental Financial Information TOWNSHIP 32 Apartment Homes Redwood City, CA ESSEX PROPERTY TRUST, INC. 1100 Park Place, Suite 200 San Mateo, CA 94403 INVESTOR RELATIONS Rylan Burns, GVP of Private Equity & Finance (650) 655-780

Essex Announces Second Quarter 2022 Results and Increases Full-Year 2022 Guidance

San Mateo, California—July 26, 2022—Essex Property Trust, Inc. (NYSE: ESS) (the “Company”) announced today its second quarter 2022 earnings results and related business activities. Net Income, Funds from Operations (“FFO”), and Core FFO per diluted share for the three and six months ended June 30, 2022 are detailed below.

	Three Months Ended June 30,		%	Six Months Ended June 30,		%
	2022	2021	Change	2022	2021	Change
Per Diluted Share
Net Income	$0.87	$1.00	-13.0%	$2.00	$3.59	-44.3%
Total FFO	$3.13	$3.09	1.3%	$6.49	$6.33	2.5%
Core FFO	$3.68	$3.04	21.1%	$7.06	$6.12	15.4%

Second Quarter 2022 Highlights:

•
Reported Net Income per diluted share for the second quarter of 2022 of $0.87, compared to $1.00 in the second quarter of 2021. The decrease is largely attributable to an unrealized loss on marketable securities and unrealized losses incurred by the Company’s non-core co-investments.

•
Reported Core FFO per diluted share of $3.68, a 21.1% increase compared to the second quarter of 2021, exceeding the high-end of the Company’s guidance range due to better-than-expected operating results and lower property taxes in Washington.

•
Same-property revenues and net operating income (“NOI”) increased by 12.7% and 16.7%, respectively, compared to the second quarter of 2021. On a sequential basis, same-property revenues and NOI improved 4.8% and 8.0%, respectively.

•	Repurchased 218,960 shares of common stock totaling $60.8 million, including commissions, at an average price per share of $277.81 under the stock repurchase program.

•	Revised full-year 2022 earnings guidance:
o	Decreased full-year Net Income per diluted share guidance by $0.31 as a result of unrealized losses on marketable securities and non-core investments in the second quarter.
o	Increased full-year Core FFO per diluted share guidance by $0.29 at the midpoint to $14.45, representing 15.7% year-over-year growth.
o
Raised the midpoint of full-year same-property revenues and NOI by 0.7% and 1.4%, respectively. Full-year same-property operating expense guidance was lowered by 0.8% at the midpoint as a result of favorable property tax assessments in Washington.

•	As of July 22, 2022, the Company’s immediately available liquidity is approximately $1.3 billion.

1100 Park Place Suite 200 San Mateo California 94403 telephone 650 655 7800 facsimile 650 655 7810
www.essex.com

“Return to office mandates at many of the large technology companies became a catalyst for strong housing demand in our Northern California and Seattle markets, which now lead the Essex portfolio with year-to-date net effective rent growth of 18.1% and 19.9%, respectively. This positive momentum drove our quarterly results to the second-largest year-over-year Core FFO growth in the Company’s history, along with our third guidance raise of the year,” commented Michael Schall, President and CEO of the Company.

Same-Property Operations

Same-property operating results exclude any properties that are not comparable for the periods presented. The table below illustrates the percentage change in same-property revenues for the quarter ended June 30, 2022 compared to the quarter ended June 30, 2021, and the sequential percentage change for the quarter ended June 30, 2022 compared to the quarter ended March 31, 2022, by submarket for the Company:

	Q2 2022 vs. Q2 2021	Q2 2022 vs. Q1 2022	% of Total
	Revenue Change	Revenue Change	Q2 2022 Revenues
Southern California
Los Angeles County	18.8%	6.5%	19.0%
Orange County	10.7%	3.9%	10.9%
San Diego County	12.3%	2.5%	8.5%
Ventura County	10.1%	6.2%	4.0%
Total Southern California	14.5%	5.0%	42.4%
Northern California
Santa Clara County	12.9%	5.0%	18.6%
Alameda County	7.8%	1.6%	8.0%
San Mateo County	11.3%	6.2%	4.7%
Contra Costa County	8.3%	5.9%	5.6%
San Francisco	9.1%	2.2%	2.7%
Total Northern California	10.7%	4.4%	39.6%
Seattle Metro	13.1%	5.3%	18.0%
Same-Property Portfolio	12.7%	4.8%	100%

The table below illustrates the components that drove the change in same-property revenues on a year-over-year and sequential basis for the second quarter of 2022.

Same-Property Revenue Components	Q2 2022 vs. Q2 2021	YTD 2022 vs. YTD 2021	Q2 2022 vs. Q1 2022
Scheduled Rents	7.4%	6.0%	2.5%
Delinquencies	2.0%	0.9%	1.6%
Cash Concessions	3.5%	2.8%	0.7%
Vacancy	-0.8%	-0.7%	-0.3%
Other Income	0.7%	0.6%	0.3%
2022 Same-Property Revenue Growth	12.7%	9.6%	4.8%

	Year-Over-Year Change			Year-Over-Year Change
	Q2 2022 compared to Q2 2021			YTD 2022 compared to YTD 2021
	Revenues	Operating Expenses	NOI	Revenues	Operating Expenses	NOI
Southern California	14.5%	5.5%	18.4%	11.7%	5.4%	14.4%
Northern California	10.7%	5.5%	13.0%	7.0%	5.0%	7.9%
Seattle Metro	13.1%	-3.5%	20.8%	10.8%	0.4%	15.9%
Same-Property Portfolio	12.7%	3.8%	16.7%	9.6%	4.3%	12.0%

	Sequential Change
	Q2 2022 compared to Q1 2022
	Revenues	Operating Expenses	NOI
Southern California	5.0%	0.0%	7.0%
Northern California	4.4%	-0.9%	6.7%
Seattle Metro	5.3%	-11.9%	13.6%
Same-Property Portfolio	4.8%	-2.6%	8.0%

	Financial Occupancies
	Quarter Ended
	6/30/2022	3/31/2022	6/30/2021
Southern California	95.7%	96.3%	97.0%
Northern California	96.4%	96.5%	96.3%
Seattle Metro	96.3%	95.9%	96.7%
Same-Property Portfolio	96.1%	96.3%	96.6%

Development Activity

During the second quarter of 2022, the final phase (Phase IV) of the Company’s Station Park Green development, a 107-unit apartment home community located in San Mateo, CA, reached stabilization.

liquidity and balance sheet

Common Stock

In the second quarter of 2022, the Company repurchased 218,960 shares of its common stock totaling $60.8 million, including commissions, at an average price of $277.81 per share. As of June 30, 2022, the Company had $153.6 million of purchase authority remaining under the stock repurchase plan.

Balance Sheet

In April 2022, Wesco IV, LLC, a joint venture in which the Company owns a 65.1% interest, refinanced five properties with a new $298.3 million secured term loan that has been swapped to a fixed interest rate of 2.8% and matures in 2027.

In April 2022, BEX II, LLC, a joint venture in which the Company owns a 50.1% interest, refinanced three apartment communities with a new $95.0 million secured term loan. The loan priced at SOFR plus 1.15% and matures in 2026 with a 1-year extension option. 50% of the loan was swapped to a fixed interest rate priced at 2.8%.

As of July 22, 2022, the Company has approximately $1.3 billion in liquidity via undrawn capacity on its unsecured credit facilities, cash, and marketable securities.

Guidance

For the second quarter of 2022, the Company exceeded the midpoint of the guidance range provided in its June 2022 Investor Presentation for Core FFO by $0.10 per diluted share.

The following table provides a reconciliation of second quarter 2022 Core FFO per diluted share to the midpoint of the guidance provided in the Company’s June 2022 Investor Presentation.

Per Diluted Share
Projected midpoint of Core FFO per diluted share for Q2 2022	$3.58
Real Estate Taxes (including co-investments at pro rata)	0.06
NOI from consolidated communities (excluding impact from taxes)	0.02
FFO from Co-Investments (excluding impact from taxes)	0.01
G&A and other income	0.01
Core FFO per diluted share for Q2 2022 reported	$3.68

The table below provides key changes to the Company’s 2022 full-year assumptions for Net Income, Total FFO, Core FFO per diluted share, and same-property growth. For additional details regarding the Company’s 2022 assumptions, please see page S-14 of the accompanying supplemental financial information. For the third quarter of 2022, the Company has established a range for Core FFO per diluted share of $3.60 to $3.70.

2022 Full-Year Guidance

	Previous Range	Previous Midpoint	Revised Range	Revised Midpoint	Change at the Midpoint
Per Diluted Share
Net Income	$5.01 - $5.33	$5.17	$4.76 - $4.96	$4.86	$(0.31)
Total FFO	$13.99 - $14.31	$14.15	$13.78 - $13.98	$13.88	$(0.27)
Core FFO	$14.00 - $14.32	$14.16	$14.35 - $14.55	$14.45	$0.29
Same-Property Growth on a Cash-Basis(1)
Revenues	9.1% - 10.1%	9.6%	10.0% - 10.6%	10.3%	0.7%
Operating Expenses	3.5% - 4.5%	4.0%	3.0% - 3.5%	3.3%	(0.8%)
NOI	11.1% - 13.1%	12.1%	13.0% - 14.0%	13.5%	1.4%

(1)
The revised midpoint of the Company’s same property revenues and NOI on a GAAP basis are 10.7% and 14.1%, respectively, representing a 2.4% and 3.9% increase to the Company’s original guidance midpoints.

2022 External Guidance Assumptions

	Previous Range	Previous Midpoint	Revised Range	Revised Midpoint	Change at the Midpoint

Acquisitions	$500M - $700M	$600M	$250M - $400M	$325M	($275M)
Dispositions	$100M - $300M	$200M	$100M - $200M	$150M	($50M)
Preferred Equity Commitments	$50M - $150M	$100M	$50M - $150M	$100M	-
Preferred Equity Redemptions	-	$250M	$200M - $250M	$225M	($25M)

Conference Call with Management

The Company will host an earnings conference call with management to discuss its quarterly results on Wednesday, July 27, 2022 at 11 a.m. PT (2 p.m. ET), which will be broadcast live via the Internet at www.essex.com, and accessible via phone by dialing toll-free, (877) 407-0784, or toll/international, (201) 689-8560. No passcode is necessary.

A rebroadcast of the live call will be available online for 30 days and digitally for 7 days. To access the replay online, go to www.essex.com and select the second quarter 2022 earnings link. To access the replay, dial (844) 512-2921 using the replay pin number 13731320. If you are unable to access the information via the Company’s website, please contact the Investor Relations Department at investors@essex.com or by calling (650) 655-7800.

Corporate Profile

Essex Property Trust, Inc., an S&P 500 company, is a fully integrated real estate investment trust (REIT) that acquires, develops, redevelops, and manages multifamily residential properties in selected West Coast markets. Essex currently has ownership interests in 253 apartment communities comprising approximately 62,000 apartment homes with an additional property in active development. Additional information about the Company can be found on the Company’s website at www.essex.com.

This press release and accompanying supplemental financial information has been furnished to the Securities and Exchange Commission electronically on Form 8-K and can be accessed from the Company’s website at www.essex.com. If you are unable to obtain the information via the Web, please contact the Investor Relations Department at (650) 655-7800.

FFO RECONCILIATION

FFO, as defined by the National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts (“NAREIT”), is generally considered by industry analysts as an appropriate measure of performance of an equity REIT. Generally, FFO adjusts the net income of equity REITs for non-cash charges such as depreciation and amortization of rental properties, impairment charges, gains on sales of real estate and extraordinary items. Management considers FFO and FFO which excludes non-core items, which is referred to as “Core FFO,” to be useful supplemental operating performance measures of an equity REIT because, together with net income and cash flows, FFO and Core FFO provide investors with additional bases to evaluate the operating performance and ability of a REIT to incur and service debt and to fund acquisitions and other capital expenditures and to pay dividends. By excluding gains or losses related to sales of depreciated operating properties and excluding real estate depreciation (which can vary among owners of identical assets in similar condition based on historical cost accounting and useful life estimates), FFO can help investors compare the operating performance of a real estate company between periods or as compared to different companies. By further adjusting for items that are not considered part of the Company’s core business operations, Core FFO allows investors to compare the core operating performance of the Company to its performance in prior reporting periods and to the operating performance of other real estate companies without the effect of items that by their nature are not comparable from period to period and tend to obscure the Company’s actual operating results. FFO and Core FFO do not represent net income or cash flows from operations as defined by U.S. generally accepted accounting principles (“GAAP”) and are not intended to indicate whether cash flows will be sufficient to fund cash needs. These measures should not be considered as alternatives to net income as an indicator of the REIT's operating performance or to cash flows as a measure of liquidity. FFO and Core FFO do not measure whether cash flow is sufficient to fund all cash needs including principal amortization, capital improvements and distributions to stockholders. FFO and Core FFO also do not represent cash flows generated from operating, investing or financing activities as defined under GAAP. Management has consistently applied the NAREIT definition of FFO to all periods presented. However, there is judgment involved and other REITs’ calculation of FFO may vary from the NAREIT definition for this measure, and thus their disclosures of FFO may not be comparable to the Company’s calculation.

The following table sets forth the Company’s calculation of diluted FFO and Core FFO for the three and six months ended June 30, 2022 and 2021 (in thousands, except for share and per share amounts):

	Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
Funds from Operations attributable to common stockholders and unitholders	2022	2021	2022	2021
Net income available to common stockholders	$57,054	$64,846	$130,308	$233,290
Adjustments:
Depreciation and amortization	134,517	128,736	268,050	257,323
Gains not included in FFO	-	(2,260)	-	(102,356)
Depreciation and amortization from unconsolidated co-investments	18,129	14,819	36,244	29,548
Noncontrolling interest related to Operating Partnership units	1,990	2,288	4,553	8,235
Depreciation attributable to third party ownership and other	(354)	(138)	(707)	(267)
Funds from Operations attributable to common stockholders and unitholders	$211,336	$208,291	$438,448	$425,773
FFO per share – diluted	$3.13	$3.09	$6.49	$6.33
Expensed acquisition and investment related costs	$10	$41	$18	$56
Deferred tax (benefit) expense on unconsolidated co-investments (1)	(6,864)	1,842	(9,618)	2,350
(Gain) loss on sale of marketable securities	(259)	112	(12,430)	(2,499)
Change in unrealized losses (gains) on marketable securities, net	21,856	(10,405)	46,441	(16,681)
Provision for credit losses	(1)	(145)	(63)	(107)
Equity loss (income) from non-core co-investments (2)	20,710	(6,771)	29,554	(8,398)
Loss on early retirement of debt, net	-	16,465	-	18,982
Loss on early retirement of debt from unconsolidated co-investment	901	-	987	3
Co-investment promote income	-	-	(17,076)	-
Income from early redemption of preferred equity investments and notes receivable	-	(4,747)	(858)	(8,260)
General and administrative and other, net	997	256	1,445	513
Insurance reimbursements, legal settlements, and other, net	(8)	(4)	(8)	(186)
Core Funds from Operations attributable to common stockholders and unitholders	$248,678	$204,935	$476,840	$411,546
Core FFO per share – diluted	$3.68	$3.04	$7.06	$6.12
Weighted average number of shares outstanding diluted (3)	67,566,748	67,331,877	67,587,362	67,299,655

(1)	Represents deferred tax (benefit) expense related to net unrealized gains or losses on technology co-investments.
(2)	Represents the Company's share of co-investment loss (income) from technology co-investments.
(3)
Assumes conversion of all outstanding limited partnership units in Essex Portfolio, L.P. (the “Operating Partnership”) into shares of the Company’s common stock and excludes DownREIT limited partnership units.

Net Operating Income (“NOI”) and Same-Property NOI Reconciliations

NOI and Same-Property NOI are considered by management to be important supplemental performance measures to earnings from operations included in the Company’s consolidated statements of income. The presentation of same-property NOI assists with the presentation of the Company’s operations prior to the allocation of depreciation and any corporate-level or financing-related costs. NOI reflects the operating performance of a community and allows for an easy comparison of the operating performance of individual communities or groups of communities. In addition, because prospective buyers of real estate have different financing and overhead structures, with varying marginal impacts to overhead by acquiring real estate, NOI is considered by many in the real estate industry to be a useful measure for determining the value of a real estate asset or group of assets. The Company defines same-property NOI as same-property revenues less same-property operating expenses, including property taxes. Please see the reconciliation of earnings from operations to NOI and same-property NOI, which in the table below is the NOI for stabilized properties consolidated by the Company for the periods presented (dollars in thousands):

	Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
	2022	2021	2022	2021
Earnings from operations	$128,628	$93,381	$238,478	$290,762
Adjustments:
Corporate-level property management expenses	10,176	9,062	20,348	18,075
Depreciation and amortization	134,517	128,736	268,050	257,323
Management and other fees from affiliates	(2,738)	(2,221)	(5,427)	(4,470)
General and administrative	13,127	12,222	25,369	22,034
Expensed acquisition and investment related costs	10	41	18	56
Gain on sale of real estate and land	-	-	-	(100,096)
NOI	283,720	241,221	546,836	483,684
Less: Non-same property NOI	(16,045)	(11,771)	(31,400)	(23,351)
Same-Property NOI	$267,675	$229,450	$515,436	$460,333

Safe Harbor Statement Under The Private Litigation Reform Act of 1995:

This press release includes “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended. Forward-looking statements are statements which are not historical facts, including statements regarding the Company's expectations, estimates, assumptions, hopes, intentions, beliefs and strategies regarding the future. Words such as “expects,” “assumes,” “anticipates,” “may,” “will,” “intends,” “plans,” “projects,” “believes,” “seeks,” “future,” “estimates,” and variations of such words and similar expressions are intended to identify such forward-looking statements. Such forward-looking statements include, among other things, statements regarding the Company’s expectations related to the continued impact of the COVID-19 pandemic and related variants on the Company’s business, financial condition and results of operations and the impact of any additional measures taken to mitigate the impact of the pandemic, the Company’s intent, beliefs or expectations with respect to the timing of completion of current development and redevelopment projects and the stabilization of such projects, the timing of lease-up and occupancy of its apartment communities, the anticipated operating performance of its apartment communities, the total projected costs of development and

redevelopment projects, co-investment activities, qualification as a REIT under the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, the real estate markets in the geographies in which the Company’s properties are located and in the United States in general, the adequacy of future cash flows to meet anticipated cash needs, its financing activities and the use of proceeds from such activities, the availability of debt and equity financing, general economic conditions including the potential impacts from such economic conditions, including as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic and related variants, and governmental measures intended to prevent its spread, inflation, supply chain impacts and ongoing hostilities between Russia and Ukraine, trends affecting the Company’s financial condition or results of operations, changes to U.S. tax laws and regulations in general or specifically related to REITs or real estate, changes to laws and regulations in jurisdictions in which communities the Company owns are located, and other information that is not historical information. While the Company's management believes the assumptions underlying its forward-looking statements are reasonable, such forward-looking statements involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors, many of which are beyond the Company’s control, which could cause the actual results, performance or achievements of the Company to be materially different from any future results, performance or achievements expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. The Company cannot assure the future results or outcome of the matters described in these statements; rather, these statements merely reflect the Company’s current expectations of the approximate outcomes of the matters discussed. Factors that might cause the Company’s actual results, performance or achievements to differ materially from those expressed or implied by these forward-looking statements include, but are not limited to, the following: the continued impact of the COVID-19 pandemic and related variants, which remains inherently uncertain as to duration and severity, and any additional governmental measures taken to limit its spread and other potential future outbreaks of infectious diseases or other health concerns, which could continue to adversely affect the Company’s business and its tenants, and cause a significant downturn in general economic conditions, the real estate industry, and the markets in which the Company's communities are located; the Company may fail to achieve its business objectives; the actual completion of development and redevelopment projects may be subject to delays; the stabilization dates of such projects may be delayed; the Company may abandon or defer development or redevelopment projects for a number of reasons, including changes in local market conditions which make development less desirable, increases in costs of development, increases in the cost of capital or lack of capital availability, resulting in losses; the total projected costs of current development and redevelopment projects may exceed expectations; such development and redevelopment projects may not be completed; development and redevelopment projects and acquisitions may fail to meet expectations; estimates of future income from an acquired property may prove to be inaccurate; occupancy rates and rental demand may be adversely affected by competition and local economic and market conditions; there may be increased interest rates and operating costs; the Company may be unsuccessful in the management of its relationships with its co-investment partners; future cash flows may be inadequate to meet operating requirements and/or may be insufficient to provide for dividend payments in accordance with REIT requirements; changes in laws or regulations; the terms of any refinancing may not be as favorable as the terms of existing indebtedness; unexpected difficulties in leasing of development projects; volatility in financial and securities markets; the Company’s failure to successfully operate acquired properties; unforeseen consequences from cyber-intrusion; the Company’s inability to maintain our investment grade credit rating with the rating agencies; government approvals, actions and initiatives, including the need for compliance with environmental requirements; and those further risks, special considerations, and other factors referred to in the Company’s annual report on Form 10-K, quarterly reports on Form 10-Q, and other reports that the Company files with the SEC from time to time. Additionally, the risks, uncertainties and other factors set forth above or otherwise referred to in the reports that the Company has filed with the SEC may be further amplified by the global impact of the COVID-19 pandemic and related variants and uncertainties regarding ongoing hostilities between Russia and the Ukraine and the related impacts on macroeconomic conditions, including, among other things, interest rates. All forward-looking statements are made as of the date hereof, the Company assumes no obligation to update or supplement this information for any reason, and therefore, they may not represent the Company’s estimates and assumptions after the date of this press release.

Definitions and Reconciliations

Non-GAAP financial measures and certain other capitalized terms, as used in this earnings release, are defined and further explained on pages S-18.1 through S-18.4, "Reconciliations of Non-GAAP Financial Measures and Other Terms," of the accompanying supplemental financial information. The supplemental financial information is available on the Company's website at www.essex.com.

Contact Information
Rylan Burns
Group Vice President of Private Equity & Finance
(650) 655-7800
rburns@essex.com

Q2 2022 Supplemental
Table of Contents

Page(s)
Consolidated Operating Results	S-1 – S-2

Consolidated Funds From Operations	S-3

Consolidated Balance Sheets	S-4

Debt Summary – June 30, 2022	S-5

Capitalization Data, Public Bond Covenants, Credit Ratings, and Selected Credit Ratios – June 30, 2022	S-6

Portfolio Summary by County – June 30, 2022	S-7

Operating Income by Quarter – June 30, 2022	S-8

Same-Property Revenue Results by County – Quarters ended June 30, 2022 and 2021, and March 31, 2022	S-9

Same-Property Operating Expenses – Quarter ended as of June 30, 2022 and 2021	S-10

Development Pipeline – June 30, 2022	S-11

Capital Expenditures – June 30, 2022	S-12

Co-investments and Preferred Equity Investments – June 30, 2022	S-13

Assumptions for 2022 FFO Guidance Range	S-14

Reconciliation of Projected EPS, FFO and Core FFO per diluted share	S-14.1

Summary of Apartment Community Acquisitions and Dispositions Activity	S-15

Delinquencies, Operating Statistics, and Same-Property Revenue Growth with Concessions on a GAAP basis	S-16

2022 MSA Level Forecast: Supply, Jobs, and Apartment Market Conditions	S-17

Year-to-Date Net Effective Rent Growth in Essex Technology-Dominant Markets	S-17.1

Top-Technology Companies Open Positions Compared to Technology Startup Layoffs, By Region	S-17.2

Reconciliations of Non-GAAP Financial Measures and Other Terms	S-18.1 – S-18.4

E S S E X  P R O P E R T Y  T R U S T, I N C.

Consolidated Operating Results (Dollars in thousands, except share and per share amounts)	Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
	2022	2021	2022	2021

Revenues:
Rental and other property	$397,240	$348,757	$776,456	$701,633
Management and other fees from affiliates	2,738	2,221	5,427	4,470
	399,978	350,978	781,883	706,103

Expenses:
Property operating	113,520	107,536	229,620	217,949
Corporate-level property management expenses	10,176	9,062	20,348	18,075
Depreciation and amortization	134,517	128,736	268,050	257,323
General and administrative	13,127	12,222	25,369	22,034
Expensed acquisition and investment related costs	10	41	18	56
	271,350	257,597	543,405	515,437
Gain on sale of real estate and land	-	-	-	100,096
Earnings from operations	128,628	93,381	238,478	290,762
Interest expense, net (1)	(48,194)	(48,338)	(96,027)	(97,143)
Interest and other (loss) income	(17,208)	22,371	(24,775)	36,758
Equity (loss) income from co-investments	(8,400)	18,248	12,771	35,259
Deferred tax benefit (expense) on unconsolidated co-investments	6,864	(1,842)	9,618	(2,350)
Loss on early retirement of debt, net	-	(16,465)	-	(18,982)
Gain on remeasurement of co-investment	-	2,260	-	2,260
Net income	61,690	69,615	140,065	246,564
Net income attributable to noncontrolling interest	(4,636)	(4,769)	(9,757)	(13,274)
Net income available to common stockholders	$57,054	$64,846	$130,308	$233,290

Net income per share - basic	$0.87	$1.00	$2.00	$3.59

Shares used in income per share - basic	65,262,517	65,001,677	65,269,109	64,995,682

Net income per share - diluted	$0.87	$1.00	$2.00	$3.59

Shares used in income per share - diluted	65,289,604	65,080,746	65,307,572	65,048,016

(1)	Refer to page S-18.2, the section titled "Interest Expense, Net" for additional information.

See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information

E S S E X  P R O P E R T Y  T R U S T, I N C.

Consolidated Operating Results Selected Line Item Detail	Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
(Dollars in thousands)	2022	2021	2022	2021

Rental and other property
Rental income	$391,778	$343,322	$765,203	$690,627
Other property	5,462	5,435	11,253	11,006
Rental and other property	$397,240	$348,757	$776,456	$701,633

Property operating expenses
Real estate taxes	$43,759	$44,278	$91,001	$89,606
Administrative	23,090	21,602	45,179	43,873
Maintenance and repairs	24,472	21,053	47,436	43,066
Utilities	22,199	20,603	46,004	41,404
Property operating expenses	$113,520	$107,536	$229,620	$217,949

Interest and other (loss) income
Marketable securities and other income	$4,571	$7,182	$9,356	$12,538
Gain (loss) on sale of marketable securities	259	(112)	12,430	2,499
Income from early redemption of notes receivable	-	4,747	-	4,747
Provision for credit losses	1	145	63	107
Change in unrealized (losses) gains on marketable securities, net	(21,856)	10,405	(46,441)	16,681
Insurance reimbursements, legal settlements, and other, net	(183)	4	(183)	186
Interest and other (loss) income	$(17,208)	$22,371	$(24,775)	$36,758

Equity (loss) income from co-investments
Equity loss from co-investments	$(216)	$(1,512)	$(1,548)	$(2,823)
Income from preferred equity investments	13,236	12,989	26,735	26,174
Equity (loss) income from non-core co-investments	(20,710)	6,771	(29,554)	8,398
Non-core gain from unconsolidated co-investments	191	-	191	-
Loss on early retirement of debt from unconsolidated co-investments	(901)	-	(987)	(3)
Co-investment promote income	-	-	17,076	-
Income from early redemption of preferred equity investments	-	-	858	3,513
Equity (loss) income from co-investments	$(8,400)	$18,248	$12,771	$35,259

Noncontrolling interest
Limited partners of Essex Portfolio, L.P.	$1,990	$2,288	$4,553	$8,235
DownREIT limited partners' distributions	2,139	2,085	4,293	4,209
Third-party ownership interest	507	396	911	830
Noncontrolling interest	$4,636	$4,769	$9,757	$13,274

See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information

E S S E X  P R O P E R T Y  T R U S T, I N C.

Consolidated Funds From Operations (1)	Three Months Ended			Six Months Ended
(Dollars in thousands, except share and per share amounts and in footnotes)	June 30,			June 30,
	2022	2021	% Change	2022	2021	% Change

Funds from operations attributable to common stockholders and unitholders (FFO)
Net income available to common stockholders	$57,054	$64,846		$130,308	$233,290
Adjustments:
Depreciation and amortization	134,517	128,736		268,050	257,323
Gains not included in FFO	-	(2,260)		-	(102,356)
Depreciation and amortization from unconsolidated co-investments	18,129	14,819		36,244	29,548
Noncontrolling interest related to Operating Partnership units	1,990	2,288		4,553	8,235
Depreciation attributable to third party ownership and other (2)	(354)	(138)		(707)	(267)
Funds from operations attributable to common stockholders and unitholders	$211,336	$208,291		$438,448	$425,773
FFO per share-diluted	$3.13	$3.09	1.3%	$6.49	$6.33	2.5%

Components of the change in FFO
Non-core items:
Expensed acquisition and investment related costs	$10	$41		$18	$56
Deferred tax (benefit) expense on unconsolidated co-investments (3)	(6,864)	1,842		(9,618)	2,350
(Gain) loss on sale of marketable securities	(259)	112		(12,430)	(2,499)
Change in unrealized losses (gains) on marketable securities, net	21,856	(10,405)		46,441	(16,681)
Provision for credit losses	(1)	(145)		(63)	(107)
Equity loss (income) from non-core co-investments (4)	20,710	(6,771)		29,554	(8,398)
Loss on early retirement of debt, net	-	16,465		-	18,982
Loss on early retirement of debt from unconsolidated co-investments	901	-		987	3
Co-investment promote income	-	-		(17,076)	-
Income from early redemption of preferred equity investments and notes receivable	-	(4,747)		(858)	(8,260)
General and administrative and other, net	997	256		1,445	513
Insurance reimbursements, legal settlements, and other, net	(8)	(4)		(8)	(186)
Core funds from operations attributable to common stockholders and unitholders	$248,678	$204,935		$476,840	$411,546
Core FFO per share-diluted	$3.68	$3.04	21.1%	$7.06	$6.12	15.4%

Weighted average number of shares outstanding diluted (5)	67,566,748	67,331,877		67,587,362	67,299,655

(1)	Refer to page S-18.2, the section titled "Funds from Operations ("FFO") and Core FFO" for additional information on the Company's definition and use of FFO and Core FFO.
(2)
The Company consolidates certain co-investments. The noncontrolling interest's share of net operating income in these investments for the three and six months ended June 30, 2022 was $0.9 million and $1.6 million, respectively.

(3)	Represents deferred tax (benefit) expense related to net unrealized gains or losses on technology co-investments.
(4)	Represents the Company's share of co-investment loss (income) from technology co-investments.
(5)	Assumes conversion of all outstanding limited partnership units in the Operating Partnership into shares of the Company's common stock and excludes DownREIT limited partnership units.

See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information

E S S E X  P R O P E R T Y  T R U S T, I N C.

Consolidated Balance Sheets
(Dollars in thousands)
	June 30, 2022	December 31, 2021

Real Estate:
Land and land improvements	$3,045,100	$3,032,678
Buildings and improvements	12,797,454	12,597,249
	15,842,554	15,629,927
Less: accumulated depreciation	(4,913,145)	(4,646,854)
	10,929,409	10,983,073
Real estate under development	21,950	111,562
Co-investments	1,093,235	1,177,802
	12,044,594	12,272,437
Cash and cash equivalents, including restricted cash	48,463	58,638
Marketable securities	154,513	191,829
Notes and other receivables	175,345	341,033
Operating lease right-of-use assets	67,345	68,972
Prepaid expenses and other assets	67,751	64,964
Total assets	$12,558,011	$12,997,873

Unsecured debt, net	$5,310,486	$5,307,196
Mortgage notes payable, net	636,589	638,957
Lines of credit	63,175	341,257
Distributions in excess of investments in co-investments	43,983	35,545
Operating lease liabilities	68,924	70,675
Other liabilities	395,056	393,069
Total liabilities	6,518,213	6,786,699
Redeemable noncontrolling interest	33,213	34,666
Equity:
Common stock	7	7
Additional paid-in capital	6,875,863	6,915,981
Distributions in excess of accumulated earnings	(1,073,577)	(916,833)
Accumulated other comprehensive income (loss), net	25,554	(5,552)
Total stockholders' equity	5,827,847	5,993,603
Noncontrolling interest	178,738	182,905
Total equity	6,006,585	6,176,508
Total liabilities and equity	$12,558,011	$12,997,873

See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information

E S S E X  P R O P E R T Y  T R U S T, I N C.

Debt Summary - June 30, 2022
(Dollars in thousands, except in footnotes)

				Scheduled principal payments, unamortized premiums (discounts) and (debt issuance costs) are as follows - excludes lines of credit:
								Weighted Average Interest Rate	Percentage of Total Debt
		Weighted Average
	Balance Outstanding	Interest Rate	Maturity in Years		Unsecured	Secured	Total
Unsecured Debt, net
Bonds public - fixed rate	$5,350,000	3.3%	8.2	2022	$-	$41,369	$41,369	3.6%	0.7%
Unamortized net discounts and debt issuance costs	(39,514)	-	-	2023	300,000	2,945	302,945	3.4%	5.1%
	5,310,486	3.3%	8.2	2024	400,000	3,109	403,109	4.0%	6.7%
Mortgage Notes Payable, net				2025	500,000	133,054	633,054	3.5%	10.6%
Fixed rate - secured	412,123	3.5%	3.8	2026	450,000	99,405	549,405	3.5%	9.2%
Variable rate - secured (1)	223,983	1.6%	15.6	2027	350,000	153,955	503,955	3.4%	8.4%
Unamortized premiums and debt issuance costs, net	483	-	-	2028	450,000	68,332	518,332	2.2%	8.7%
Total mortgage notes payable	636,589	2.9%	8.0	2029	500,000	1,456	501,456	4.1%	8.4%
				2030	550,000	1,592	551,592	3.1%	9.2%
Unsecured Lines of Credit				2031	600,000	1,740	601,740	2.3%	10.0%
Line of credit (2)	45,000	1.4%	N/A	2032	650,000	1,903	651,903	2.6%	10.9%
Line of credit (3)	18,175	1.4%	N/A	Thereafter	600,000	127,246	727,246	3.3%	12.1%
Total lines of credit	63,175	1.4%	N/A	Subtotal	5,350,000	636,106	5,986,106	3.2%	100.0%
				Debt Issuance Costs	(30,610)	(1,321)	(31,931)	NA	NA
Total debt, net	$6,010,250	3.2%	8.1	(Discounts)/Premiums	(8,904)	1,804	(7,100)	NA	NA
				Total	$5,310,486	$636,589	$5,947,075	3.2%	100.0%

Capitalized interest for the three and six months ended June 30, 2022 was approximately $0.7 million and $1.6 million, respectively.

(1)	$224.0 million of variable rate debt is tax exempt to the note holders.
(2)
In July 2022, this credit facility was extended and transitioned to SOFR. This unsecured line of credit facility has a capacity of $1.2 billion with a scheduled maturity date in January 2027, with two 6-month extension options. The underlying interest rate on this line is Adjusted SOFR plus 0.75%, which is based on a tiered rate structure tied to the Company's corporate ratings, adjusted for the Company's sustainability metric grid.

(3)
In July 2022, this credit facility was extended and transitioned to SOFR. This unsecured line of credit facility has a capacity of $35.0 million with a scheduled maturity date in July 2024. The underlying interest rate on this line is Adjusted SOFR plus 0.75%, which is based on a tiered rate structure tied to the Company's corporate ratings, adjusted for the Company's sustainability metric grid.

See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information

E S S E X  P R O P E R T Y  T R U S T, I N C.

Capitalization Data, Public Bond Covenants, Credit Ratings and Selected Credit Ratios - June 30, 2022
(Dollars and shares in thousands, except per share amounts)

Capitalization Data				Public Bond Covenants (1)	Actual	Requirement
Total debt, net			$6,010,250
				Debt to Total Assets:	34%	< 65%
Common stock and potentially dilutive securities
Common stock outstanding			65,124
Limited partnership units (1)			2,273
Options-treasury method			4	Secured Debt to Total Assets:	4%	< 40%
Total shares of common stock and potentially dilutive securities			67,401

Common stock price per share as of June 30, 2022			$261.51
				Interest Coverage:	553%	> 150%
Total equity capitalization			$17,626,036

Total market capitalization			$23,636,286	Unsecured Debt Ratio (2):	284%	> 150%

Ratio of debt to total market capitalization			25.4%
				Selected Credit Ratios (3)	Actual
Credit Ratings
Rating Agency	Rating	Outlook		Net Indebtedness Divided by Adjusted EBITDAre, normalized and annualized:	5.8
Moody's	Baa1	Stable
Standard & Poor's	BBB+	Stable		Unencumbered NOI to Adjusted Total NOI:	94%

(1) Assumes conversion of all outstanding limited partnership units in the Operating Partnership into shares of the Company's common stock.				(1) Refer to page S-18.4 for additional information on the Company's Public Bond Covenants.
				(2) Unsecured Debt Ratio is unsecured assets (excluding investments in co-investments) divided by unsecured indebtedness.
				(3) Refer to pages S-18.1 to S-18.4, the section titled "Reconciliations of Non-GAAP Financial Measures and Other Terms" for additional information on the Company's Selected Credit Ratios.
See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information

E S S E X  P R O P E R T Y  T R U S T, I N C.

Portfolio Summary by County as of June 30, 2022

	Apartment Homes				Average Monthly Rental Rate (1)			Percent of NOI (2)
Region - County	Consolidated	Unconsolidated Co-investments	Apartment Homes in Development (3)	Total	Consolidated	Unconsolidated Co-investments (4)	Total (5)	Consolidated	Unconsolidated Co-investments (4)	Total (5)

Southern California
Los Angeles County	9,327	1,797	-	11,124	$2,558	$2,374	$2,541	18.3%	14.9%	18.0%
Orange County	5,439	1,149	-	6,588	2,521	2,217	2,492	10.5%	9.9%	10.5%
San Diego County	4,824	795	264	5,883	2,300	2,277	2,298	8.6%	6.9%	8.5%
Ventura County and Other	2,600	693	-	3,293	2,136	2,484	2,180	4.6%	7.1%	4.8%
Total Southern California	22,190	4,434	264	26,888	2,443	2,336	2,433	42.0%	38.8%	41.8%

Northern California
Santa Clara County (6)	8,749	1,774	-	10,523	2,804	2,786	2,802	19.5%	18.9%	19.4%
Alameda County	3,959	1,512	-	5,471	2,537	2,510	2,533	7.4%	13.6%	7.9%
San Mateo County	2,561	195	-	2,756	2,968	3,613	2,992	5.6%	2.4%	5.3%
Contra Costa County	2,619	-	-	2,619	2,570	-	2,570	5.3%	0.0%	4.8%
San Francisco	1,342	537	-	1,879	2,829	3,264	2,902	2.6%	6.6%	3.0%
Total Northern California	19,230	4,018	-	23,248	2,741	2,783	2,745	40.4%	41.5%	40.4%

Seattle Metro	10,341	2,184	-	12,525	2,072	2,012	2,066	17.6%	19.7%	17.8%

Total	51,761	10,636	264	62,661	$2,480	$2,436	$2,476	100.0%	100.0%	100.0%

(1)
Average monthly rental rate is defined as the total scheduled monthly rental income (actual rent for occupied apartment homes plus market rent for vacant apartment homes) for the quarter ended June 30, 2022, divided by the number of apartment homes as of June 30, 2022.

(2)	Represents the percentage of actual NOI for the quarter ended June 30, 2022. See the section titled "Net Operating Income ("NOI") and Same-Property NOI Reconciliations" on page S-18.3.
(3)	Includes development communities with no rental income.
(4)	Co-investment amounts weighted for Company's pro rata share.
(5)	At Company's pro rata share.
(6)	Includes all communities in Santa Clara County and one community in Santa Cruz County.

See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information

E S S E X  P R O P E R T Y  T R U S T, I N C.

Operating Income by Quarter (1)
(Dollars in thousands)

	Apartment Homes	Q2 '22	Q1 '22	Q4 '21	Q3 '21	Q2 '21

Rental and other property revenues:
Same-property	49,369	$373,331	$356,273	$347,353	$341,744	$331,221
Acquisitions (2)	268	1,753	1,747	916	1,004	319
Development (3)	1,275	11,184	9,427	8,785	8,055	7,500
Redevelopment	164	1,491	1,435	1,498	1,533	1,506
Non-residential/other, net (4)	685	12,748	12,918	12,074	11,320	11,156
Straight-line rent concessions (5)	-	(3,267)	(2,584)	(1,461)	(3,036)	(2,945)
Total rental and other property revenues	51,761	397,240	379,216	369,165	360,620	348,757

Property operating expenses:
Same-property		105,656	108,512	105,503	108,405	101,771
Acquisitions (2)		540	556	324	373	121
Development (3)		4,313	3,922	3,571	3,411	2,984
Redevelopment		600	687	590	619	600
Non-residential/other, net (4) (6)		2,411	2,423	1,960	2,531	2,060
Total property operating expenses		113,520	116,100	111,948	115,339	107,536

Net operating income (NOI):
Same-property		267,675	247,761	241,850	233,339	229,450
Acquisitions (2)		1,213	1,191	592	631	198
Development (3)		6,871	5,505	5,214	4,644	4,516
Redevelopment		891	748	908	914	906
Non-residential/other, net (4)		10,337	10,495	10,114	8,789	9,096
Straight-line rent concessions (5)		(3,267)	(2,584)	(1,461)	(3,036)	(2,945)
Total NOI		$283,720	$263,116	$257,217	$245,281	$241,221

Same-property metrics
Operating margin		72%	70%	70%	68%	69%
Annualized turnover (7)		42%	35%	36%	47%	46%
Financial occupancy (8)		96.1%	96.3%	96.1%	96.4%	96.6%

(1)	Includes consolidated communities only.
(2)	Acquisitions include properties acquired which did not have comparable stabilized results as of January 1, 2021.
(3)	Development includes properties developed which did not have comparable stabilized results as of January 1, 2021.
(4)
Non-residential/other, net consists of revenues generated from retail space, commercial properties, held for sale properties, disposition properties, student housing, properties undergoing significant construction activities that do not meet our redevelopment criteria and two communities located in the California counties of Santa Barbara and Santa Cruz, which the Company does not consider its core markets.

(5)	Same-property revenues reflect concessions on a cash basis. Total Rental and Other Property Revenues reflect concessions on a straight-line basis in accordance with U.S. GAAP.
(6)	Includes other expenses and intercompany eliminations pertaining to self-insurance.
(7)	Annualized turnover is defined as the number of apartment homes turned over during the quarter, annualized, divided by the total number of apartment homes.
(8)
Financial occupancy is defined as the percentage resulting from dividing actual rental income by total scheduled rental income (actual rent for occupied apartment homes plus market rent for vacant apartment homes).

See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information

E S S E X  P R O P E R T Y  T R U S T, I N C.

Same-Property Revenue Results by County - Second Quarter 2022 vs. Second Quarter 2021 and First Quarter 2022
(Dollars in thousands, except average monthly rental rates)

			Average Monthly Rental Rate			Financial Occupancy			Gross Revenues			Sequential Gross Revenues
Region - County	Apartment Homes	Q2 '22 % of Actual NOI	Q2 '22	Q2 '21	% Change	Q2 '22	Q2 '21	% Change	Q2 '22	Q2 '21	% Change	Q1 '22	% Change

Southern California
Los Angeles County	8,982	18.6%	$2,553	$2,413	5.8%	95.8%	96.0%	-0.2%	$70,813	$59,604	18.8%	$66,513	6.5%
Orange County	5,439	11.0%	2,521	2,267	11.2%	95.2%	97.5%	-2.4%	40,692	36,758	10.7%	39,180	3.9%
San Diego County	4,582	8.6%	2,294	2,030	13.0%	96.0%	98.0%	-2.0%	31,782	28,289	12.3%	30,998	2.5%
Ventura County	2,253	4.3%	2,116	1,935	9.4%	96.1%	97.9%	-1.8%	14,827	13,469	10.1%	13,962	6.2%
Total Southern California	21,256	42.5%	2,443	2,242	9.0%	95.7%	97.0%	-1.3%	158,114	138,120	14.5%	150,653	5.0%

Northern California
Santa Clara County	8,177	19.0%	2,776	2,658	4.4%	96.8%	96.4%	0.4%	69,532	61,580	12.9%	66,210	5.0%
Alameda County	3,959	7.7%	2,537	2,437	4.1%	95.4%	96.2%	-0.8%	30,033	27,860	7.8%	29,570	1.6%
San Mateo County	1,962	4.6%	2,898	2,808	3.2%	96.5%	95.3%	1.3%	17,603	15,813	11.3%	16,575	6.2%
Contra Costa County	2,619	5.6%	2,570	2,458	4.6%	96.3%	96.5%	-0.2%	20,902	19,295	8.3%	19,735	5.9%
San Francisco	1,178	2.4%	2,739	2,652	3.3%	96.1%	96.6%	-0.5%	10,128	9,286	9.1%	9,912	2.2%
Total Northern California	17,895	39.3%	2,704	2,596	4.2%	96.4%	96.3%	0.1%	148,198	133,834	10.7%	142,002	4.4%

Seattle Metro	10,218	18.2%	2,075	1,883	10.2%	96.3%	96.7%	-0.4%	67,019	59,267	13.1%	63,618	5.3%

Total Same-Property	49,369	100.0%	$2,461	$2,296	7.2%	96.1%	96.6%	-0.5%	$373,331	$331,221	12.7%	$356,273	4.8%

See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information

E S S E X  P R O P E R T Y  T R U S T, I N C.

Same-Property Revenue Results by County - Six months ended June 30, 2022 vs. Six months ended June 30, 2021
(Dollars in thousands, except average monthly rental rates)

			Average Monthly Rental Rate			Financial Occupancy			Gross Revenues
Region - County	Apartment Homes	YTD 2022 % of Actual NOI	YTD 2022	YTD 2021	% Change	YTD 2022	YTD 2021	% Change	YTD 2022	YTD 2021	% Change

Southern California
Los Angeles County	8,982	18.4%	$2,529	$2,414	4.8%	96.0%	96.0%	0.0%	$137,326	$120,886	13.6%
Orange County	5,439	11.2%	2,484	2,253	10.3%	95.7%	97.3%	-1.6%	79,872	72,782	9.7%
San Diego County	4,582	8.9%	2,252	2,019	11.5%	96.4%	97.5%	-1.1%	62,780	56,107	11.9%
Ventura County	2,253	4.2%	2,084	1,921	8.5%	96.0%	98.0%	-2.0%	28,789	26,763	7.6%
Total Southern California	21,256	42.7%	2,411	2,235	7.9%	96.0%	96.8%	-0.8%	308,767	276,538	11.7%

Northern California
Santa Clara County	8,177	19.1%	2,748	2,672	2.8%	96.7%	96.7%	0.0%	135,742	125,769	7.9%
Alameda County	3,959	7.9%	2,519	2,446	3.0%	95.8%	96.4%	-0.6%	59,603	56,269	5.9%
San Mateo County	1,962	4.5%	2,879	2,831	1.7%	96.3%	95.4%	0.9%	34,178	32,096	6.5%
Contra Costa County	2,619	5.5%	2,545	2,452	3.8%	96.4%	96.9%	-0.5%	40,637	38,419	5.8%
San Francisco	1,178	2.5%	2,724	2,671	2.0%	96.4%	96.0%	0.4%	20,040	18,667	7.4%
Total Northern California	17,895	39.5%	2,680	2,608	2.8%	96.4%	96.5%	-0.1%	290,200	271,220	7.0%

Seattle Metro	10,218	17.8%	2,040	1,884	8.3%	96.1%	96.6%	-0.5%	130,637	117,900	10.8%

Total Same-Property	49,369	100.0%	$2,432	$2,298	5.8%	96.2%	96.6%	-0.4%	$729,604	$665,658	9.6%

See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information
S-9.1

E S S E X  P R O P E R T Y  T R U S T, I N C.

Same-Property Operating Expenses - Quarter to Date and Year to Date as of June 30, 2022 and 2021
(Dollars in thousands)

	Based on 49,369 apartment homes
	Q2 '22	Q2 '21	% Change	% of Op. Ex.	YTD 2022	YTD 2021	% Change	% of Op. Ex.

Same-property operating expenses:
Real estate taxes	$39,017	$40,460	-3.6%	36.9%	$81,798	$81,901	-0.1%	38.2%
Maintenance and repairs	23,032	19,973	15.3%	21.8%	44,695	40,767	9.6%	20.9%
Administrative	16,953	16,531	2.6%	16.0%	33,700	32,901	2.4%	15.7%
Utilities	20,788	19,456	6.8%	19.7%	42,942	38,938	10.3%	20.1%
Insurance and other	5,866	5,351	9.6%	5.6%	11,033	10,818	2.0%	5.1%
Total same-property operating expenses	$105,656	$101,771	3.8%	100.0%	$214,168	$205,325	4.3%	100.0%

See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information

E S S E X  P R O P E R T Y  T R U S T, I N C.

Development Pipeline - June 30, 2022
(Dollars in millions, except per apartment home amounts in thousands and except in footnotes)

Project Name	Location	Ownership %	Estimated Apartment Homes	Estimated Commercial sq. feet	Incurred to Date	Remaining Costs	Estimated Total Cost	Essex Est. Total Cost (1)	Cost per Apartment Home (2)	Average % Occupied	% Leased as of 6/30/22 (3)	% Leased as of 7/22/22 (3)	Construction Start	Initial Occupancy	Stabilized Operations
Land Held for Future Development - Consolidated
Other Projects	Various	100%	-	-	$22	$-	$22	$22
Total Development Pipeline - Consolidated			-	-	22	-	22	22

Development Projects - Joint Venture (4)
Scripps Mesa Apartments (5)	San Diego, CA	51%	264	2,000	67	35	102	52	383	0%	0%	0%	Q3 2020	Q4 2022	Q3 2023
Total Development Projects - Joint Venture			264	2,000	67	35	102	52	$383

Grand Total - Development Pipeline			264	2,000	$89	$35	$124	74
Essex Cost Incurred to Date - Pro Rata								(56)
Essex Remaining Commitment								$18

(1)	The Company's share of the estimated total cost of the project.
(2)	Net of the estimated allocation to the retail component of the project, as applicable.
(3)	Calculations are based on multifamily operations only.
(4)
For the second quarter of 2022, the Company's cost includes $0.6 million of capitalized interest, $1.0 million of capitalized overhead and $0.4 million of development fees (such development fees reduced G&A expenses).

(5)	Cost incurred to date and estimated total cost are net of a projected value for low income housing tax credit proceeds and the value of the tax exempt bond structure.

See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information

E S S E X  P R O P E R T Y  T R U S T, I N C.

Capital Expenditures - June 30, 2022 (1)
(Dollars in thousands, except in footnotes and per apartment home amounts)

Revenue Generating Capital Expenditures (2)	Q2 '22	Trailing 4 Quarters
Same-property portfolio	$16,942	$51,742
Non-same property portfolio	206	1,093
Total revenue generating capital expenditures	$17,148	$52,835

Number of same-property interior renovations	1,029	3,011
Number of total consolidated interior renovations	1,035	3,045

Non-Revenue Generating Capital Expenditures (3)	Q2 '22	Trailing 4 Quarters

Non-revenue generating capital expenditures	$32,953	$110,702
Average apartment homes in quarter	51,761	51,683
Capital expenditures per apartment homes in the quarter	$637	$2,142

(1)	The Company incurred $0.1 million of capitalized interest, $3.9 million of capitalized overhead and $0.3 million of co-investment fees related to redevelopment in Q2 2022.
(2)
Represents revenue generating or expense saving expenditures, such as full-scale redevelopments, interior unit turn renovations, enhanced amenities and certain resource management initiatives. Q2 2022 excludes costs related to smart home automation.

(3)
Represents roof replacements, paving, building and mechanical systems, exterior painting, siding, etc. Non-revenue generating capital expenditures does not include expenditures incurred due to changes in governmental regulations that the Company would not have incurred otherwise, costs related to retail, furniture and fixtures, and expenditures in which the Company expects to be reimbursed.

See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information

E S S E X  P R O P E R T Y  T R U S T, I N C.

Co-investments and Preferred Equity Investments - June 30, 2022
(Dollars in thousands, except in footnotes)

	Weighted Average Essex Ownership Percentage	Apartment Homes	Total Undepreciated Book Value	Debt Amount	Essex Book Value	Weighted Average Borrowing Rate	Remaining Term of Debt (in Years)		Three Months Ended June 30, 2022	Six Months Ended June 30, 2022

Operating and Other Non-Consolidated Joint Ventures									NOI
Wesco I, III, IV, V, VI, Essex JV, LLC (1)	54%	6,186	$2,153,988	$1,461,442	$178,960	2.7%	4.3		$29,389	$55,896
BEXAEW, BEX II, BEX IV, and 500 Folsom	50%	3,083	1,239,386	551,123	248,782	2.6%	8.8	(4)	15,534	29,399
Other (2)	52%	1,367	556,564	408,452	88,533	3.1%	2.7		7,405	13,484
Total Operating and Other Non-Consolidated Joint Ventures		10,636	$3,949,938	$2,421,017	$516,275	2.8%	5.1		$52,328	$98,779
Development Non-Consolidated Joint Ventures (3)	51%	264	66,532	89,250	12,808	1.2%	37.9	(5)	-	-
Total Non-Consolidated Joint Ventures		10,900	$4,016,470	$2,510,267	$529,083	2.7%	6.2		$52,328	$98,779

									Essex Portion of NOI and Expenses
NOI									$27,960	$52,061
Depreciation									(18,131)	(36,244)
Interest expense and other									(9,854)	(17,174)
Equity loss from non-core co-investments									(20,710)	(29,554)
Loss on early retirement of debt from unconsolidated co-investment									(901)	(987)
Co-investment promote income									-	17,076
Net income from operating and other co-investments									$(21,636)	$(14,822)

						Weighted Average Preferred Return	Weighted Average Expected Term		Income from Preferred Equity Investments
Income from preferred equity investments									$13,236	$26,735
Income from early redemption of preferred equity investments									-	858
Preferred Equity Investments (6)					$520,169	10.0%	2.6		$13,236	$27,593

Total Co-investments					$1,049,252				$(8,400)	$12,771

(1)	As of June 30, 2022, the Company’s investments in Wesco I, Wesco III, and Wesco IV were classified as a liability of $43.7 million due to distributions received in excess of the Company's investment.
(2)
As of June 30, 2022, the Company’s investment in Expo was classified as a liability of $0.3 million due to distributions received in excess of the Company's investment. The weighted average Essex ownership percentage excludes our investments in non-core technology co-investments which are carried at fair value.

(3)	The Company has ownership interests in development co-investments, which are detailed on page S-11.
(4)	$132.0 million of the debt related to 500 Folsom, one of the Company's co-investments, is financed by tax exempt bonds with a maturity date of January 2052.
(5)	Scripps Mesa Apartments has $89.3 million of long-term tax-exempt bond debt that is subject to a total return swap that matures in 2025.
(6)	As of June 30, 2022, the Company has invested in 23 preferred equity investments.

See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information

E S S E X  P R O P E R T Y  T R U S T, I N C.
Assumptions for 2022 FFO Guidance Range

The guidance projections below are based on current expectations and are forward-looking. The guidance on this page is given for Net Operating Income ("NOI") and Total and Core FFO. See pages S-18.1 to S-18.4 for the definitions of non-GAAP financial measures and other terms.

	Six Months Ended June 30,	2022 Full-Year Guidance Range
($'s in thousands, except per share data)	2022 (1)	Low End	High End	Comments About 2022 Full-Year Guidance

Total NOI from Consolidated Communities - Excluding Straight-Line Rent Concessions	$552,687	$1,131,000	$1,142,000	Includes a range of same-property NOI growth of 13.0% to 14.0%, an increase from the prior range of 11.1% to 13.1%

Straight-Line Rent Concessions from Consolidated Communities	(5,851)	(6,700)	(8,400)	Reflects the non-cash impact of recording lease concessions on a straight-line basis

Management Fees	5,427	10,700	11,300

Interest Expense
Interest expense, before capitalized interest	(97,584)	(198,600)	(197,400)
Interest capitalized	1,557	1,600	2,400
Net interest expense	(96,027)	(197,000)	(195,000)

Recurring Income and Expenses
Interest and other income	9,356	18,000	19,300
FFO from co-investments	61,431	119,000	120,600	Reflects updated timing for preferred equity redemptions
General and administrative	(23,924)	(53,500)	(54,500)
Corporate-level property management expenses	(20,348)	(40,200)	(40,800)
Non-controlling interest	(5,911)	(12,100)	(11,500)
Total recurring income and expenses	20,604	31,200	33,100

Non-Core Income and Expenses
Expensed acquisition and investment related costs	(18)	(18)	(18)
Deferred tax benefit on unconsolidated co-investments	9,618	9,618	9,618
Gain on sale of marketable securities	12,430	12,430	12,430
Change in unrealized losses on marketable securities, net	(46,441)	(46,441)	(46,441)
Provision for credit losses	63	63	63
Equity loss from non-core co-investments	(29,554)	(29,554)	(29,554)
Loss on early retirement of debt, net	-	-	-
Loss on early retirement of debt from unconsolidated co-investments	(987)	(987)	(987)
Co-investment promote income	17,076	17,076	17,076
Income from early redemption of preferred equity investments	858	858	858
General and administrative and other, net	(1,445)	(1,445)	(1,445)
Insurance reimbursements, legal settlements, and other, net	8	8	8
Total non-core income and expenses	(38,392)	(38,392)	(38,392)

Funds from Operations (2)	$438,448	$930,808	$944,608

Funds from Operations per diluted Share	$6.49	$13.78	$13.98

% Change - Funds from Operations	2.5%	-1.4%	0.0%

Core Funds from Operations (excludes non-core items)	$476,840	$969,200	$983,000

Core Funds from Operations per diluted Share	$7.06	$14.35	$14.55

% Change - Core Funds from Operations	15.4%	14.9%	16.5%

EPS - Diluted	$2.00	$4.76	$4.96

Weighted average shares outstanding - FFO calculation	67,587	67,550	67,550

(1)	All non-core items are excluded from the 2022 actuals and included in the non-core income and expense section of the FFO reconciliation.
(2)
2022 guidance excludes inestimable projected gain on sale of marketable securities, loss on early retirement of debt, political/legislative costs, and promote income until they are realized within the reporting period presented in the report.

See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information

E S S E X  P R O P E R T Y  T R U S T, I N C.

Reconciliation of Projected EPS, FFO and Core FFO per diluted share

With respect to the Company's guidance regarding its projected FFO and Core FFO, which guidance is set forth in the earnings release and on page S-14 of this supplement, a reconciliation of projected net income per share to projected FFO per share and projected Core FFO per share, as set forth in such guidance, is presented in the table below.

		2022 Guidance Range (1)
	Six Months	3rd Quarter 2022		Full-Year 2022
	Ended June 30,
	2022	Low	High	Low	High
EPS - diluted	$2.00	$1.34	$1.44	$4.76	$4.96
Conversion from GAAP share count	(0.07)	(0.05)	(0.05)	(0.16)	(0.16)
Depreciation and amortization	4.50	2.26	2.26	9.03	9.03
Noncontrolling interest related to Operating Partnership units	0.06	0.05	0.05	0.15	0.15
Gain on sale of real estate	-	-	-	-	-
Gain on remeasurement of co-investment	-	-	-	-	-
FFO per share - diluted	$6.49	$3.60	$3.70	$13.78	$13.98
Expensed acquisition and investment related costs	-	-	-	-	-
Deferred tax benefit on unconsolidated co-investments	(0.14)	-	-	(0.14)	(0.14)
Gain on sale of marketable securities	(0.18)	-	-	(0.18)	(0.18)
Change in unrealized losses on marketable securities, net	0.69	-	-	0.69	0.69
Provision for credit losses	-	-	-	-	-
Equity loss from non-core co-investments	0.44	-	-	0.44	0.44
Loss on early retirement of debt, net	-	-	-	-	-
Loss on early retirement of debt from unconsolidated co-investments	0.01	-	-	0.01	0.01
Co-investment promote income	(0.26)	-	-	(0.26)	(0.26)
Income from early redemption of preferred equity investments	(0.01)	-	-	(0.01)	(0.01)
General and administrative and other, net	0.02	-	-	0.02	0.02
Insurance reimbursements, legal settlements, and other, net	-	-	-	-	-
Core FFO per share - diluted	$7.06	$3.60	$3.70	$14.35	$14.55

(1)
2022 guidance excludes inestimable projected gain on sale of real estate and land, gain on sale of marketable securities, loss on early retirement of debt, political/legislative costs, and promote income until they are realized within the reporting period presented in the report.

See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information
S-14.1

E S S E X  P R O P E R T Y  T R U S T, I N C.
Summary of Apartment Community Acquisitions and Dispositions Activity
Year to date as of June 30, 2022
(Dollars in thousands)

Acquisitions
Property Name	Location	Apartment Homes	Essex Ownership Percentage	Entity	Date	Total Contract Price (1)	Price per Apartment Home	Average Rent

Vela	Woodland Hills, CA	379	50%	JV	Jan-22	$183,000	$483	$2,729
	Q1 2022	379				$183,000	$483

	2022 Total	379				$183,000	$483

(1)	Represents the contract price for the entire property, not the Company’s share.

See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information

E S S E X  P R O P E R T Y  T R U S T, I N C.

Delinquencies, Operating Statistics, and Same-Property Revenue Growth with Concessions on a GAAP basis
(Dollars in millions, except in footnotes and per share amounts)

Delinquencies for Second Quarter 2022	Same-Property	Non-Same Property and Co-investments	Total Operating Communities	Commercial	Total
Operating apartment community units	49,369	11,484	60,853	N/A	N/A

Cash delinquencies as % of scheduled rent	0.3%	1.4%	0.4%	N/A	N/A
Reported delinquencies as % of scheduled rent (1)	0.6%	2.1%	0.8%	N/A	N/A
Reported delinquencies in 2Q 2022 (2) (3)	$(2.1)	$(1.0)	$(3.1)	$0.6	$(2.5)
Reported delinquencies in 2Q 2021 (2)	$(8.8)	$(0.9)	$(9.7)	$(0.1)	$(9.8)

YoY impact to 2Q 2022 Core FFO per share	$0.10	$(0.00)	$0.10	$0.01	$0.11
YoY impact to Core FFO per share growth	3.3%	0.0%	3.2%	0.3%	3.6%

Total cumulative cash delinquencies (4) (5)	$(69.4)	$(9.0)	$(78.4)	N/A	N/A
Net accounts receivable balance	$3.4	$-	$3.4	N/A	N/A

(1)	Represents total residential portfolio delinquencies as a percentage of scheduled rent reflected in the financial statements for the three months ended June 30, 2022.
(2)	Co-investment delinquencies reported at the Company's pro rata share.
(3)	Commercial delinquencies in 2Q 2022 includes a reduction of the straight-line rent reserve of $0.5 million and includes co-investment amounts at the Company's pro rata share.
(4)	Represents cash delinquencies from the period of April 1, 2020 to June 30, 2022. This includes $3.4 million of the net accounts receivable balance.
(5)
The Company, including its co-investments, has received Emergency Rental Assistance payments of $15.5 million and $51.6 million for the three months ended June 30, 2022 and the period from April 1, 2020 to June 30, 2022, respectively.

Operating Statistics			Same-Property Revenue Growth with Concessions on a GAAP basis
Same-Property Portfolio	Preliminary Estimate July 2022	2Q 2022		2Q 2022	2Q 2021	YTD 2022	YTD 2021
Cash delinquencies as % of scheduled rent (1)	1.0%	0.3%	Reported rental revenue (cash basis concessions)	$373.3	$331.2	$729.6	$665.7
			Straight-line rent impact to rental revenue	(2.8)	(2.8)	(5.4)	(5.9)
New lease rates (2)	14.0%	20.6%	GAAP rental revenue	$370.5	$328.4	$724.2	$659.8
Renewal rates (3)	8.7%	9.9%
Blended rates	11.8%	15.4%	% change - reported rental revenue	12.7%		9.6%
			% change - GAAP rental revenue	12.8%		9.8%
Financial occupancy	96.1%	96.1%

(1)	The Company's same-property portfolio has received Emergency Rental Assistance payments of $2.8 million and $13.0 million in July 2022, and for the three months ended June 30, 2022, respectively.

(2)	Represents % change on a net-effective basis, including the impact of leasing incentives.

(3)	Represents % change in similar term lease tradeouts, including the impact of leasing incentives.

See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information

 See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information  S-17  E S S E X P R O P E R T Y T R U S T, I N C                                2022 MSA Level Forecast: Supply, Jobs, and Apartment Market Conditions                                                     Forecast Summary:           Forecast Assumptions:            2022 GDP Growth = +1.6%   Hybrid return-to-office continues gradually through year-end   2022 U.S. job growth = +3.0%; Dec-22 unemployment rate = 3.6%   Economic growth moderates but base case does not include 2022 recession   2022 Multifamily supply in ESS markets remains below 1% growth      Rent growth leadership transitions from SoCal to NorCal/Seattle in 2H22                                                                                      Residential Supply (1)        Job Forecast (2)     Rent Forecast (3)  Market     New MF Supply  New SF Supply  Total   Supply  MF Supply as % of MF Stock  % of Total Supply to Total Stock        Est. New Jobs  % Growth     Economic   Rent Growth                                         Los Angeles     8,100  7,050  15,150  0.5%  0.4%        205,000  4.7%     10.0%  Orange     3,400  3,300  6,700  0.8%  0.6%        53,000  3.3%     13.2%  San Diego     4,800  3,050  7,850  1.0%  0.6%        58,000  4.0%  12.9%  Ventura     800  150  950  1.2%  0.3%        7,000  2.3%     10.1%  So. Cal.     17,100  13,550  30,650  0.7%  0.5%        323,000  4.2%     11.4%                                         San Francisco     3,100  600  3,700  0.8%  0.5%        74,000  6.7%     10.6%  Oakland     4,300  3,200  7,500  1.3%  0.7%        44,000  3.9%  7.9%  San Jose     3,600  2,100  5,700  1.4%  0.8%        51,000  4.5%     12.1%  No. Cal.     11,000  5,900  16,900  1.1%  0.7%        169,000  5.0%     10.5%                                         Seattle     8,200  5,750  13,950  1.6%  1.1%        76,000  4.4%     11.6%                                         Total/Weighted Avg. (4)     36,300  25,200  61,500  0.9%  0.6%        568,000  4.4%     11.1%                          All data are based on Essex Property Trust, Inc. forecasts.                                                                 (1) Residential Supply: Total supply includes the Company's estimate of multifamily deliveries of properties with 50+ units and excludes student, senior and 100% affordable housing communities. Single-family estimates are based on trailing single-family permits. Multifamily estimates incorporate a methodological assumption ("delay-adjusted supply") to reflect the anticipated impact of continued construction delays in Essex markets.                                      (2) Job Forecast: Refers to the difference between total non-farm industry employment (not seasonally adjusted) projected 4Q22 over 4Q21, expressed as total new jobs and growth rates.                                      (3) Rent Forecast: The estimated rent growth represents the forecasted change in market rents for full year 2022 vs 2021 (T4Q year-over-year average), and excludes submarkets not targeted by Essex.                                      (4) Weighted Average: Rent growth rates are weighted by scheduled rent in the Company's Portfolio.

 See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information  S-17.1  E S S E X P R O P E R T Y T R U S T, I N C                                Year-to-Date Net Effective Rent Growth in Essex Technology-Dominant Markets                                                     Essex technology-dominant markets have the strongest year-to-date net effective rent growth within the same-property portfolio as a result of return-to-office trends and strong job growth  Source: Essex Property Trust, Inc.

 See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information  S-17.2  E S S E X P R O P E R T Y T R U S T, I N C                                Top-Technology Companies Open Positions Compared to Technology Layoffs, by Region                                                      Source: Essex Property Trust, Inc., Company Disclosures, Layoffs.fyi   While open positions at the largest technology companies in Essex markets has slowed, they remain significantly higher than pre-covid levels and much larger than the number of announced layoffs in Essex markets  Essex markets only account for ~1/3 of announced technology layoffs year-to-date based on headquarter locations, which likely overstates the number of layoffs in Essex markets due to remote work and satellite location layoffs

E S S E X  P R O P E R T Y  T R U S T, I N C.

Reconciliations of Non-GAAP Financial Measures and Other Terms

Adjusted EBITDAre Reconciliation
The National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts ("NAREIT”) defines earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation and amortization for real estate ("EBITDAre") (September 2017 White Paper) as net income (computed in accordance with U.S. generally accepted accounting principles ("U.S. GAAP")) before interest expense, income taxes, depreciation and amortization expense, and further adjusted for gains and losses from sales of depreciated operating properties, impairment write-downs of depreciated operating properties, impairment write-downs of investments in unconsolidated entities caused by a decrease in value of depreciated operating properties within the joint venture and adjustments to reflect the Company’s share of EBITDAre of investments in unconsolidated entities.
The Company believes that EBITDAre is useful to investors, creditors and rating agencies as a supplemental measure of the Company’s ability to incur and service debt because it is a recognized measure of performance by the real estate industry, and by excluding gains or losses related to sales or impairment of depreciated operating properties, EBITDAre can help compare the Company’s credit strength between periods or as compared to different companies.
Adjusted EBITDAre represents EBITDAre further adjusted for non-comparable items and is a component of the credit ratio, "Net Indebtedness Divided by Adjusted EBITDAre, normalized and annualized," presented on page S-6, in the section titled "Selected Credit Ratios," and it is not intended to be a measure of free cash flow for management’s discretionary use, as it does not consider certain cash requirements such as income tax payments, debt service requirements, capital expenditures and other fixed charges.

Adjusted EBITDAre is an important metric in evaluating the credit strength of the Company and its ability to service its debt obligations.  The Company believes that Adjusted EBITDAre is useful to investors, creditors and rating agencies because it allows investors to compare the Company’s credit strength to prior reporting periods and to other companies without the effect of items that by their nature are not comparable from period to period and tend to obscure the Company’s actual credit quality.
EBITDAre and Adjusted EBITDAre are not recognized measurements under U.S. GAAP. Because not all companies use identical calculations, the Company's presentation of EBITDAre and Adjusted EBITDAre may not be comparable to similarly titled measures of other companies.
The reconciliations of Net Income available to common stockholders to EBITDAre and Adjusted EBITDAre are presented in the table below (Dollars in thousands):

Three Months Ended June 30, 2022
Net income available to common stockholders	$57,054
Adjustments:
Net income attributable to noncontrolling interest	4,636
Interest expense, net (1)	48,194
Depreciation and amortization	134,517
Income tax provision	243
Co-investment EBITDAre adjustments	27,589
EBITDAre	272,233

Gain (loss) on sale of marketable securities	(259)
Change in unrealized (losses) gains on marketable securities, net	21,856
Provision for credit losses	(1)
Equity (loss) income from non-core co-investments	20,710
Deferred tax benefit (expense) on unconsolidated co-investments	(6,864)
General and administrative and other, net	997
Insurance reimbursements and legal settlements, net	(8)
Expensed acquisition and investment related costs	10
Loss on early retirement of debt from unconsolidated co-investments	901
Adjusted EBITDAre	$309,575

(1)	Interest expense, net includes items such as gains on derivatives and the amortization of deferred charges.

See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information
S-18.1

E S S E X  P R O P E R T Y  T R U S T, I N C.

Reconciliations of Non-GAAP Financial Measures and Other Terms

Encumbered
Encumbered means any mortgage, deed of trust, lien, charge, pledge, security interest, security agreement or other encumbrance of any kind.
Funds From Operations ("FFO") and Core FFO
FFO, as defined by NAREIT, is generally considered by industry analysts as an appropriate measure of performance of an equity REIT. Generally, FFO adjusts the net income of equity REITs for non-cash charges such as depreciation and amortization of rental properties, impairment charges, gains on sales of real estate and extraordinary items. Management considers FFO and FFO which excludes non-core items, which is referred to as “Core FFO,” to be useful supplemental operating performance measures of an equity REIT because, together with net income and cash flows, FFO and Core FFO provide investors with additional bases to evaluate the operating performance and ability of a REIT to incur and service debt and to fund acquisitions and other capital expenditures and to pay dividends. By excluding gains or losses related to sales of depreciated operating properties and excluding real estate depreciation (which can vary among owners of identical assets in similar condition based on historical cost accounting and useful life estimates), FFO can help investors compare the operating performance of a real estate company between periods or as compared to different companies. By further adjusting for items that are not considered part of the Company’s core business operations, Core FFO allows investors to compare the core operating performance of the Company to its performance in prior reporting periods and to the operating performance of other real estate companies without the effect of items that by their nature are not comparable from period to period and tend to obscure the Company’s actual operating results.
FFO and Core FFO do not represent net income or cash flows from operations as defined by U.S. GAAP and are not intended to indicate whether cash flows will be sufficient to fund cash needs. These measures should not be considered as alternatives to net income as an indicator of the REIT's operating performance or to cash flows as a measure of liquidity. FFO and Core FFO do not measure whether cash flow is sufficient to fund all cash needs including principal amortization, capital improvements and distributions to stockholders. FFO and Core FFO also do not represent cash flows generated from operating, investing or financing activities as defined under GAAP. Management has consistently applied the NAREIT definition of FFO to all periods presented. However, there is judgment involved and other REITs’ calculation of FFO may vary from the NAREIT definition for this measure, and thus their disclosures of FFO may not be comparable to the Company’s calculation.

The reconciliations of diluted FFO and Core FFO are detailed on page S-3 in the section titled "Consolidated Funds From Operations".
Interest Expense, Net
Interest expense, net is presented on page S-1 in the section titled "Consolidated Operating Results". Interest expense, net includes items such as gains on derivatives and the amortization of deferred charges and is presented in the table below (Dollars in thousands):
	Three Months Ended	Six Months Ended
	June 30,	June 30,
	2022	2022
Interest expense	$50,477	100,854
Adjustments:
Total return swap income	(2,283)	(4,827)
Interest expense, net	$48,194	96,027

Immediately Available Liquidity
The Company's immediately available liquidity as of July 22, 2022, consisted of the following (Dollars in millions):
July 22, 2022
Unsecured credit facility - committed	$1,235
Balance outstanding	145
Undrawn portion of line of credit	$1,090
Cash, cash equivalents & marketable securities	196
Total liquidity	$1,286

See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information
S-18.2

E S S E X  P R O P E R T Y  T R U S T, I N C.

Reconciliations of Non-GAAP Financial Measures and Other Terms

Net Indebtedness Divided by Adjusted EBITDAre
This credit ratio is presented on page S-6 in the section titled "Selected Credit Ratios." This credit ratio is calculated by dividing net indebtedness by Adjusted EBITDAre, as annualized based on the most recent quarter, and adjusted for estimated net operating income from properties acquired or disposed of during the quarter. This ratio is presented by the Company because it provides rating agencies and investors an additional means of comparing the Company's ability to service debt obligations to that of other companies. Net indebtedness is total debt, net less unamortized premiums, discounts, debt issuance costs, unrestricted cash and cash equivalents, and marketable securities. The reconciliation of Adjusted EBITDAre is set forth in "Adjusted EBITDAre Reconciliation" on page S-18.1 The calculation of this credit ratio and a reconciliation of net indebtedness to total debt at pro rata share for co-investments, net is presented in the table below (Dollars in thousands):

Total consolidated debt, net	$6,010,250
Total debt from co-investments at pro rata share	1,340,504
Adjustments:
Consolidated unamortized premiums, discounts, and debt issuance costs	39,031
Pro rata co-investments unamortized premiums, discounts,
and debt issuance costs	7,343
Consolidated cash and cash equivalents-unrestricted	(37,756)
Pro rata co-investment cash and cash equivalents-unrestricted	(39,583)
Marketable securities	(179,744)
Net Indebtedness	$7,140,045

Adjusted EBITDAre, annualized (1)	$1,238,300
Other EBITDAre normalization adjustments, net, annualized (2)	295
Adjusted EBITDAre, normalized and annualized	$1,238,595

Net Indebtedness Divided by Adjusted EBITDAre, normalized and annualized	5.8

(1)	Based on the amount for the most recent quarter, multiplied by four.
(2)	Adjustments made for properties in lease-up, acquired, or disposed during the most recent quarter and other partial quarter activity, multiplied by four.

Net Operating Income ("NOI") and Same-Property NOI Reconciliations
NOI and same-property NOI are considered by management to be important supplemental performance measures to earnings from operations included in the Company’s consolidated statements of income. The presentation of same-property NOI assists with the presentation of the Company’s operations prior to the allocation of depreciation and any corporate-level or financing-related costs. NOI reflects the operating performance of a community and allows for an easy comparison of the operating performance of individual communities or groups of communities.
In addition, because prospective buyers of real estate have different financing and overhead structures, with varying marginal impacts to overhead by acquiring real estate, NOI is considered by many in the real estate industry to be a useful measure for determining the value of a real estate asset or group of assets. The Company defines same-property NOI as same-property revenues less same-property operating expenses, including property taxes. Please see the reconciliation of earnings from operations to NOI and same-property NOI, which in the table below is the NOI for stabilized properties consolidated by the Company for the periods presented (Dollars in thousands):
	Three Months Ended June 30, 2022	Three Months Ended June 30, 2021	Six Months Ended June 30, 2022	Six Months Ended June 30, 2021
Earnings from operations	$128,628	$93,381	$238,478	$290,762
Adjustments:
Corporate-level property management expenses	10,176	9,062	20,348	18,075
Depreciation and amortization	134,517	128,736	268,050	257,323
Management and other fees from affiliates	(2,738)	(2,221)	(5,427)	(4,470)
General and administrative	13,127	12,222	25,369	22,034
Expensed acquisition and investment related costs	10	41	18	56
Gain on sale of real estate and land	-	-	-	(100,096)
NOI	283,720	241,221	546,836	483,684
Less: Non-same property NOI	(16,045)	(11,771)	(31,400)	(23,351)
Same-Property NOI	$267,675	$229,450	$515,436	$460,333

See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information
S-18.3

E S S E X  P R O P E R T Y  T R U S T, I N C.

Reconciliations of Non-GAAP Financial Measures and Other Terms

Public Bond Covenants
Public Bond Covenants refer to certain covenants set forth in instruments governing the Company's unsecured indebtedness. These instruments require the Company to meet specified financial covenants, including covenants relating to net worth, fixed charge coverage, debt service coverage, the amounts of total indebtedness and secured indebtedness, leverage and certain investment limitations. These covenants may restrict the Company's ability to expand or fully pursue its business strategies. The Company's ability to comply with these covenants may be affected by changes in the Company's operating and financial performance, changes in general business and economic conditions, adverse regulatory developments or other events adversely impacting it. The breach of any of these covenants could result in a default under the Company's indebtedness, which could cause those and other obligations to become due and payable. If any of the Company's indebtedness is accelerated, the Company may not be able to repay it. For risks related to failure to comply with these covenants, see "Item 1A: Risk Factors - Risks Related to Our Indebtedness and Financings" in the Company's annual report on Form 10-K and other reports filed by the Company with the Securities and Exchange Commission ("SEC").
The ratios set forth on page S-6 in the section titled "Public Bond Covenants" are provided only to show the Company's compliance with certain specified covenants that are contained in indentures related to the Company's issuance of Senior Notes, which indentures are filed by the Company with the SEC. See, for example, the Indenture dated March 1, 2021, filed by the Company as Exhibit 4.1 to the Company's Form 8-K, filed on March 1, 2021. These ratios should not be used for any other purpose, including without limitation to evaluate the Company's financial condition or results of operations, nor do they indicate the Company's covenant compliance as of any other date or for any other period. The capitalized terms in the disclosure are defined in the indentures filed by the Company with the SEC and may differ materially from similar terms used by other companies that present information about their covenant compliance.
Secured Debt
Secured Debt means debt of the Company or any of its subsidiaries which is secured by an encumbrance on any property or assets of the Company or any of its subsidiaries. The Company's total amount of Secured Debt is set forth on page S-5.
Unencumbered NOI to Adjusted Total NOI
This ratio is presented on page S-6 in the section titled "Selected Credit Ratios". Unencumbered NOI means the sum of NOI for those real estate assets which are not subject to an encumbrance securing debt. The ratio of Unencumbered NOI to Adjusted Total NOI for the three months ended June 30, 2022, annualized, is calculated by dividing Unencumbered NOI, annualized for the three months ended June 30, 2022 and as further adjusted for pro forma NOI for properties acquired or sold during the recent quarter, by Adjusted Total NOI as annualized. The calculation and reconciliation of NOI is set forth in "Net Operating Income ("NOI") and Same-Property NOI Reconciliations" above. This ratio is presented by the Company because it provides rating agencies and investors an additional means of comparing the Company's ability to service debt obligations to that of other companies. The calculation of this ratio is presented in the table below (Dollars in thousands):
Annualized
Q2'22 (1)
NOI	$1,134,880
Adjustments:
NOI from real estate assets sold or held for sale	-
Other, net (2)	9,031
Adjusted Total NOI	1,143,911
Less: Encumbered NOI	(64,315)
Unencumbered NOI	$1,079,596

Encumbered NOI	$64,315
Unencumbered NOI	1,079,596
Adjusted Total NOI	$1,143,911

Unencumbered NOI to Adjusted Total NOI	94%

(1)	This table is based on the amounts for the most recent quarter, multiplied by four.
(2)	Includes intercompany eliminations pertaining to self-insurance and other expenses.

See Company’s Form 10-K and Form 10-Qs filed with the SEC for additional information
S-18.4