Exhibit 99.1

ITG

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

ITG RELEASES DECEMBER 2005 U.S. TRADING STATISTICS

NEW YORK, NY, January 10, 2006 – Investment Technology Group, Inc. (NYSE: ITG), a leading provider of technology-based trading services and transaction research, today announced that December U.S. trading volume was 2.6 billion shares and average daily volume (ADV) was 123 million shares.  This compares to 2.5 billion shares and ADV of 119 million shares in November 2005, and 2.1 billion shares and ADV of 95 million shares in December 2004.

There were 21 trading days in December 2005 and November 2005, compared to 22 trading days in December 2004.

Monthly volume statistics are preliminary and may be revised in subsequent updates and public filings.  Volume statistics are posted on ITG’s website, www.itginc.com, and are available via a downloadable spreadsheet file.

ITG U.S. Trading Activity

Total U.S. Shares	# of Trade Days	Total U.S. Volume	Average U.S. Daily Volume

December:	21	2,577,618,500	122,743,738

Year-to-Date:	252	26,565,196,398	105,417,446

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ABOUT ITG

Investment Technology Group, Inc. (ITG), is a specialized brokerage firm that partners with clients globally to provide innovative solutions spanning the entire trading process.  A pioneer in electronic trading, ITG has a unique approach to trading that combines pre-trade analysis, trade execution, and post-trade evaluation to provide continuous improvements in trading and cost efficiency. The firm is headquartered in New York and maintains offices in North America, Europe and the Asia Pacific regions. For additional information, visit www.itginc.com.

In addition to historical information, this press release may contain “forward-looking” statements, as defined in the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995, that reflect management’s expectations for the future. A variety of important factors could cause results to differ materially from such statements. These factors include the company’s ability to achieve expected future levels of sales; the actions of both current and potential new competitors; rapid changes in technology; financial market volatility; general economic conditions in the United States and elsewhere; evolving industry regulation; cash flows into or redemption from equity funds; effects of inflation; customer trading patterns; and new products and services. These and other risks are described in greater detail in the company’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2004, and other documents filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission and available on the company’s web site.

ITG Contacts:

Maureen Murphy	Alicia Curran
Investor Relations	Media Relations
(212) 444-6323	(212) 444-6130