Exhibit 99.1

Laboratory Corporation of America-Registered Trademark-Holdings
358 South Main Street
Burlington, NC   27215
Telephone:  (336) 584-5171

For Immediate Release
Contact:  Brad Hayes - (336) 436-4602
Shareholder Direct: (800) LAB-0401
Company Information: www.LabCorp.com

LABCORP-Registered Trademark- SCHEDULED TO PRESENT AT THE
THOMAS WEISEL PARTNERS HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE

Burlington, NC, September 8, 2004 - Laboratory Corporation of America-Registered Trademark- Holdings (LabCorp-Registered Trademark-) (NYSE: LH) today announced that Bradford T. Smith, executive vice president of corporate affairs, is scheduled to speak at the Thomas Weisel Partners Health Care Conference
in Boston, MA on September 9, 2004 at 9:00 a.m. Eastern Time. A live
audio webcast of the presentation will be available via the Company web site
at www.labcorp.com. A replay of the audio webcast will be available through October 9, 2004.

Laboratory Corporation of America-Registered Trademark-  Holdings
is a pioneer in commercializing new diagnostic technologies and the
first in its industry to embrace genomic testing. With annual revenues of
$2.9 billion in 2003, over 23,000 employees nationwide, and more than
220,000 clients, LabCorp offers over 4,400 clinical assays ranging from
blood analyses to HIV and genomic testing. LabCorp combines its expertise
in innovative clinical testing technology with its Centers of Excellence:
The Center for Molecular Biology and Pathology, in Research Triangle Park, NC; National Genetics Institute, Inc. in Los Angeles, CA;
ViroMed Laboratories, Inc. based in Minneapolis, MN; The Center for Esoteric Testing in Burlington, NC; and DIANON Systems, Inc. based in Stratford, CT. LabCorp clients include physicians, government agencies, managed care organizations, hospitals, clinical labs, and pharmaceutical companies.
To learn more about our growing organization, visit our Web site at: www.LabCorp.com.

Each of the above forward-looking statements is subject to change based on various important factors, including without limitation, competitive actions
in the marketplace and adverse actions of governmental and other third-party payors. Actual results could differ materially from those suggested by
these forward-looking statements. Further information on potential factors that could affect LabCorp's financial results is included in the Company's Form
10-K for the year ended December 31, 2003 and subsequent SEC filings.