PRESENTATION CAN BE UP TO THREE LINES CAN BE UP TO THREE LINESHeartland Financial USA, Inc. 3rd Quarter 2020 Financials Presentation Subtitle 1

Safe Harbor This release, and future oral and written statements of Heartland and its management, may contain forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended. Any statements about Heartland’s expectations, beliefs, plans, objectives, assumptions or future events or performance are not historical facts and may be forward-looking. These forward-looking statements include information about possible or assumed future results of Heartland’s operations or performance. These forward-looking statements are generally identified by the use of the words ‘‘believe”, “expect’’, ‘‘intent”, “anticipate’’, ‘‘plan”, “estimate’’, ‘‘project”, ‘‘will”, ‘‘would”, ‘‘could”, ‘‘should’’, “may”, “view”, “opportunity”, “potential”, or similar expressions that are used in this release, and future oral and written statements of Heartland and its management. Although Heartland has made these statements based on management’s experience and best estimate of future events, the ability of Heartland to predict results or the actual effect of plans or strategies is inherently uncertain, and there may be events or factors that management has not anticipated. Therefore, the accuracy and achievement of such forward-looking statements and estimates are subject to a number of risks, many of which are beyond the ability of management to control or predict, that could cause actual results to differ materially from those in its forward-looking statements. These factors, which are detailed below and in the risk factors in Heartland's reports filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”), include, among others: • The impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on Heartland and U.S. and global financial markets; • Measures enacted by the U.S. federal and state governments and adopted by private businesses in response to the COVID-19 pandemic; • The deterioration of the U.S. economy in general and in the local economies in which Heartland conducts its operations; increasing credit losses due to deterioration in the financial condition of its borrowers, based on declining oil prices and asset and collateral values, which may continue to increase the provision for credit losses and net charge-offs of Heartland; • Civil unrest in the communities that Heartland serves; • Levels of unemployment in the geographic areas in which Heartland operates; • Real estate market values in these geographic areas; • Future natural disasters and increases to flood insurance premiums; • The effects of past and any future terrorist threats and attacks, acts of war or threats thereof; • The level of prepayments on loans and mortgage-backed securities; • Legislative and regulatory changes affecting banking, tax, securities, insurance and monetary and financial matters; • Monetary and fiscal policies of the U.S. Government including policies of the U.S. Department of Treasury and the Federal Reserve Board; • The quality or composition of the loan and investment portfolios of Heartland; • Demand for loan products and financial services, deposit flows and competition in Heartland’s market areas; • Changes in accounting principles and guidelines; • The timely development and acceptance of products and services, including products and services offered through alternative delivery channels such as the Internet; • The ability of Heartland to implement technological changes as planned and to develop and maintain secure and reliable electronic delivery systems; • Heartland’s ability to retain key executives and employees; and • The ability of Heartland to successfully consummate acquisitions and integrate acquired operations. The COVID-19 pandemic is adversely affecting Heartland and its customers, counterparties, employees and third-party service providers. The COVID-19 pandemic’s severity, its duration and the extent of its impact on Heartland’s business, financial condition, results of operations, liquidity and prospects remain uncertain. The deterioration in general business and economic conditions and turbulence in domestic and global financial markets caused by the COVID-19 pandemic have negatively affected Heartland’s net income, total equity and book value per common share, and continued economic deterioration could adversely affect the value of its assets and liabilities, reduce the availability of funding to Heartland, lead to a tightening of credit and increase stock price volatility. Some economists and investment banks believe that a recession or depression may result from the continued spread of COVID-19 and the economic consequences. These risks and uncertainties should be considered in evaluating forward-looking statements made by Heartland or on its behalf, and undue reliance should not be placed on these statements. There can be no assurance that other factors not currently anticipated by Heartland will not materially and adversely affect Heartland’s business, financial condition and results of operations. In addition, many of these risks and uncertainties are currently amplified by and may continue to be amplified by the recent outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic and the impact of varying governmental responses that affect Heartland’s customers and the economies where they operate. Please take into account that forward-looking statements speak only as of the date they are made, and except as required by applicable law, Heartland does not undertake any obligation to publicly correct or update any forward-looking statement. Further information concerning Heartland and its business, including additional factors that could materially affect Heartland’s financial results, is included in Heartland’s filings with the SEC. 2

PRESENTATION CAN BE UP TO THREE LINES CAN BE UP TO THREE LINES About Heartland Financial USA, Inc. Presentation Subtitle 3

Heartland: 3 Year Growth in Assets and Total Shareholder Return 3 Year Asset Growth 3 Year Total Shareholder Returns 12/31/2016 – 9/30/2020 12/31/2016 – 9/30/2020 Heartland 89.3% Heartland -34.1% Proxy Peer 55.0% HP Peer -34.8% 100% 45% 30% 80% 15% 60% 0% 40% -15% 20% -30% 0% -45% 12/31/16 12/31/17 12/31/18 12/31/19 12/30/16 12/30/17 12/30/18 12/30/19 Source: S&P Global Market Intelligence As of September 30, 2020 / Peer Groups as of June 30, 2020 4

Heartland’s Stock Performance Price Return (%) From 12/31/2016 – 9/30/2020 60% 40% 20% 0% -20% -40% -60% 12/31/16 12/31/17 12/31/18 12/31/19 HTLF S&P 500 SNL Mid Cap US Bank Index KBW Regional Bank Index Source: S&P Global Market Intelligence 5

Company Overview Company Overview – NASDAQ: HTLF Fiscal 3Q 2020 Financial Highlights • Headquartered in Dubuque, IA Dollars in millions • Holding company established in 1981 Total Assets $15,613 • Total assets of $15.6 billion, as of September 30, 2020 1 Total Loans Held for Investment $9,100 • Company conducts community banking business through 11 Balance Total Deposits $12,767 independently chartered community banks 1 Sheet Loan / Deposit Ratio 71.27% • 113 full-service branches located across 12 states in the Midwest, Tangible Common Equity 2 $1,214 Southwest and Western regions of the country 1 Total Common Equity $1,701 Total Common Equity / Total Assets 10.89% Tang. Common Equity / Tang. Assets 2 8.03% Tier 1 Leverage Ratio 9.82% Capital CET1 Ratio 11.29% Tier 1 Capital Ratio 13.76% Total RBC Ratio 15.47% Net Interest Margin, fully tax-equivalent 2 3.55% Cost of Interest Bearing Deposits 0.25% Profitability Adj. Return on Avg. Assets 2 1.25% Adj. Return on Avg. Tangible Common Equity 2 16.86% Efficiency Ratio FTE 2 54.67% HTLF, AIM Bancshares, Inc. & Johnson Bank’s AZ Branches (142) NPAs / Assets 0.55% Asset Quality NCOs / Avg. Loans 0.92% (1) Excludes Heartland’s acquisition of AIM Bancshares, Inc. announced February 11, 2020; anticipated closing in Q4 2020; & Arizona Branch Transaction announced June 9, 2020; anticipated close Q4 2020 (2) See Appendix for reconciliation of non-GAAP financial measures to most directly comparable GAAP financial measures Note: Financial metrics as of or for the quarter ended September 30, 2020 6

Corporate Structure Subsidiary Banks by Region HTLF West HTLF Southwest HTLF Midwest Rocky Mountain Bank - MT Arizona Bank & Trust - AZ Minnesota Bank & Trust - MN • Total Assets: $617,169 • Total Assets: $1,039,253 • Total Assets: $1,007,548 • Total Deposits: $533,429 • Total Deposits: $886,174 • Total Deposits: $804,045 • No. of Branch Offices: 9 • No. of Branch Offices: 6 • No. of Branch Offices: 2 • % of Franchise Assets: 3.5% • % of Franchise Assets: 5.9% • % of Franchise Assets: 5.8% Premier Valley Bank - CA AZ Branches - AZ (Pending) 1 Wisconsin Bank & Trust - WI • Total Assets: $1,042,437 • Total Loans: $183,833 • Total Assets: $1,262,069 • Total Deposits: $855,913 • Total Deposits: $392,159 • Total Deposits: $1,011,843 • No. of Branch Offices: 8 • No. of Branch Offices: 4 • No. of Branch Offices: 14 • % of Franchise Assets: 6.0% • % of Franchise Assets: 7.2% Citywide Banks - CO New Mexico Bank & Trust - NM Dubuque Bank & Trust - IA • Total Assets: $2,639,516 • Total Assets: $2,002,663 • Total Assets: $1,838,260 • Total Deposits: $2,163,051 • Total Deposits: $1,747,527 • Total Deposits: $1,591,561 • No. of Branch Offices: 23 • No. of Branch Offices: 17 • No. of Branch Offices: 6 • % of Franchise Assets: 15.1% • % of Franchise Assets: 11.4% • % of Franchise Assets: 10.5% First Bank & Trust - TX Illinois Bank & Trust - IL Regional Summary (Pro-Forma) HTLF West HTLF Southw est 3 HTLF Midw est • Total Assets: $1,289,187 • Total Assets: $1,500,012 4 Total Assets : $4,299,122 $6,182,933 $7,032,150 • Total Deposits: $936,366 • Total Deposits: $1,307,513 • No. of Branch Offices: 7 • No. of Branch Offices: 10 Total Deposits: $3,552,393 $5,169,963 $5,857,872 • % of Franchise Assets: 7.4% • % of Franchise Assets: 8.6% 4 No. of Branch Offices : 40 55 43 AimBank - TX (Pending) 2 Bank of Blue Valley – KS/MO 4 % of Franchise Assets : 24.5% 35.3% 40.2% • Total Assets: $1,851,830 • Total Assets: $1,424,261 • Total Deposits: $1,599,896 Projected 5yr Population Change 5: 3.7% 6.2% 1.2% • Total Deposits: $1,142,910 • No. of Branch Offices: 25 • No. of Branch Offices: 11 • % of Franchise Assets: 10.6% • % of Franchise Assets: 8.1% (1) Heartland’s Arizona Branch Transaction announced June 9, 2020; anticipated close Q4 2020 (2) Heartland’s acquisition of AIM Bancshares, Inc. announced February 11, 2020; anticipated close Q4 2020 (3) Includes Heartland’s acquisition of AIM Bancshares, Inc. (4) Excludes contribution of Arizona Branch Transaction (5) Source: S&P Global Market Intelligence Note: Financial information as of September 30, 2020 7

A Steadfast and Highly Disciplined Growth Strategy Heartland has a long history of growth, stability and geographic diversity… $15.6B Total assets as of 3Q 2020 39 / 17 39 year old holding company; 17 years on NASDAQ 11 11 independent bank brands 12 / 113 12 states; 113 banking offices 17.0% 3 year compound annual asset growth rate (through 12/31/19) …driving consistent earnings, impressive returns and significant value creation 0 Never an annual loss 2x History of doubling earnings and assets every 5 to 7 years 14.5% 3 year average annual ROATCE, non-GAAP 1 (as of 12/31/19) 8.7% 3 year compoundannual EPS growth rate (as of 12/31/19) 39 39 consecutive years of level or increased cash dividends to common shareholders $1.11B Market capitalization 2 6.5% Beneficial ownership by the Board and executive officers (as of 1/31/20) (1) See Appendix for reconciliation of non-GAAP financial measures to most directly comparable GAAP financial measures (2) As of September 30, 2020 Note: Financial information as of September 30, 2020 unless otherwise specified 8

Heartland Asset and Earnings Growth $200 $149.1 $150 $117.0 $95.7 $100 $85.7 $80.3 $60.0 $50 $0 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 YTD Net Income Available to Common Shareholders Deferred Tax Charge 9

Heartland Diluted EPS and Dividends $4.14 $3.52 $3.22 $3.01 $2.83 $2.59 $2.65 $0.59 $0.45 $0.50 $0.51 $0.68 $0.60 $0.40 $0.40 $0.44 $0.54 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 YTD Deferred Tax Charge Special Dividend Diluted EPS Regular Dividends 10

M&A – Core Competency and Strategy • A Core Competency (11 transactions completed in last 5 years) – Dedicated corporate development and conversion/integration staff – Sophisticated internally developed financial model – Detailed conversion/integration playbook – Efficient regulatory application, SEC filing and close process – avg. 125 days post announcement – All new entities convert to our core systems platform – avg. 75 days post deal close • Focused on In-Footprint Transactions – Opportunities abound across entire footprint – deep active pipeline of opportunities, providing selectivity – Focus on expanding existing markets >= $1 Billion in assets • Deal Size “Sweet Spot” is Increasing Modestly – Targets of $1 to $3 Billion in Assets – Strong core deposits – Clean credit quality – Market overlap – Attractive risk attributes • Must Meet Conservatively Modeled Financial Benchmarks – Accretive to EPS immediately after conversion – Demonstrate an IRR > 15% – Conservative tangible book value per share dilution earn-back periods 11

Heartland M&A Transaction Summary Date Date Date Announced Organization Transaction Announced Closed Converted Deal Value PxTBV Assets Johnson Financial Group, Inc. (4 Branches) 6/9/2020 TBD TBD - - $392 1 Aim Bancshares, Inc. 2/11/2020 TBD TBD $280.4 2.02x $1,852 Rockford Bank and Trust Co. 8/13/2019 11/30/2019 2/7/2020 $59.2 1.35x $485 Blue Valley Ban Corp. 1/16/2019 5/10/2019 8/23/2019 $93.9 1.88x $728 FirstBank Lubbock Bancshares, Inc. 12/12/2017 5/18/2018 8/17/2018 $185.6 2.22x $930 Signature Bancshares, Inc. 11/13/2017 2/23/2018 4/20/2018 $53.4 1.82x $390 Citywide Banks of Colorado, Inc. 2/13/2017 7/7/2017 10/13/2017 $202.7 1.82x $1,377 Founders Bancorp 10/31/2016 2/28/2017 3/17/2017 $29.1 1.52x $198 CIC Bancshares, Inc. 10/23/2015 2/5/2016 6/10/2016 $83.5 1.47x $727 Premier Valley Bank 5/29/2015 11/30/2015 3/11/2016 $95.1 1.66x $647 First Scottsdale Bank, N.A. 5/15/2015 9/11/2015 9/11/2015 $17.7 1.05x $106 Community Bancorporation of New Mexico, Inc. 4/16/2015 8/21/2015 11/6/2015 $11.3 1.52x $181 Community Banc-Corp. of Sheyboygan, Inc. 10/23/2014 1/16/2015 5/15/2015 $52.0 1.58x $525 (1) Total deposits assumed in transaction as of September 30, 2020; actual amount of deposits assumed and loans acquired will be determined at anticipated close Q4 2020 Note: Total Assets based on MRQ prior to announcement & provided in millions 12

Acquisition AIM Bancshares, Inc. – Lubbock, TX . Announced February 11, 2020 – anticipated close 4Q 2020 – anticipated systems integration 1Q 2021 . Assets approximately $1.9 billion, loans approximately $1.1 billion, and deposits approximately $1.6 billion . AimBank combined with FB&T creates HTLF’s largest member bank with approximately $3.2 billion in assets . Transaction results in FB&T being the #5 largest bank headquartered in West Texas – ranking #3 deposit market share in Lubbock MSA . Headquarters will remain in Lubbock, Texas . 90% stock / 10% cash transaction valued at announcement approximately $280.4 million (1) . ~10% Accretive to EPS in 2021. IRR in excess of 20%. Tangible book value earn back ~3.6 years . Barry Orr continues as Chairman and CEO and retained Scott Wade as Vice Chairman and President of the South Division of FirstBank & Trust (1) The price at announcement was based on HTLF closing stock price of $49.88 on February 10, 2020, the final transaction value will vary depending on the stock price at the date of close. 13

Branch Purchase Johnson Financial Group On June 9, 2020, Heartland announced Arizona Bank & Trust entered into a purchase and assumption agreement to acquire certain assets and assume substantially all deposits and other liabilities of Johnson Bank’s Arizona operations. . Anticipated close and systems integration in December, 2020 . Loans approximately $184 million, and deposits approximately $392 million . Johnson Bank’s four Arizona office locations are a natural fit with the geographic footprint and culture of Arizona Bank & Trust . At close, Arizona Bank & Trust will have approximately $1.3 billion in assets 14

Key Factors Driving Business Strategy • Broad geographic footprint provides significant risk diversification benefits – Expands opportunities for new client acquisition – Credit exposure is not geographically concentrated – spread over 12 state footprint • Goal of achieving $1+ billion in total assets within each market meant to ensure critical mass of operating scale across the franchise – Top 10 deposit share in 26 of the 38 MSAs in which we operate1 – Top 5 deposit share in 13 of those MSAs1 • Cost of maintaining a decentralized operating structure is offset by the benefits of increased responsiveness to clients and local market conditions – Local leadership facilitates development and retention of new client deposit/loan relationships – Centralization of “back office” operations maximizes operating efficiency – Centralization of credit risk management functions support credit oversight functions – Improving efficiency ratio by leveraging centralized costs and growth (1) Deposit information as of June 30, 2019 15

COVID-19 Response Customers & Community Employees & Operations • Loan Payment Deferrals and Modifications1 • Enabled approximately two thirds of all employees to – $1.1 billion, or 14% of total loans work from home and canceled all in-person events and – As of September 30, 2020, approximately $860 million or have transitioned to virtual meetings 77% of the $1.1 billion of COVID Loan modifications have returned to normal payment status • Expanded time off program and enhanced health care – Approximately 58% are interest only modifications, coverage for COVID-19 related testing and treatments remainder are principal and interest modifications – Loan modifications are predominately 90 day • Implemented a 20 percent wage premium for certain modifications customer-facing employees • Paycheck Protection Program2 • Closed bank lobbies and implemented drive-through – Approximately 4,800 loans approved only for in-person transactions – Approximately $1.2 billion funded • Established alternating weekly staffing schedule for in- – Helped preserve over 112,000 jobs branch employees to limit potential cross-infection – 100% of PPP loans were to existing customers • Engaged with our employees, providing information • Waived Consumer and Small Business Charges and resources through enriched communications and – Deposit account maintenance fees and consumer loan late fees wellness programs – ATM fees – Early redemption penalties on CDs • Donated $1.5 million to organizations responding to COVID-19 needs in the communities we serve (1) Loan Payment Deferrals and Modifications data as of September 30, 2020 (2) Paycheck Protection Program data as of September 30, 2020 Note: Consumer and small business waivers expired as of May 31, 2020 16

Customer Segment Profiles Affected by COVID-19 Total Exposure % of Gross Exposure Total Exposure % of Gross Exposure Industry 09/30/20 1 09/30/20 1 6/30/2020 6/30/2020 Lodging $495,187 4.52% $490,475 4.38% Retail Trade $405,118 3.70% $407,030 3.64% Retail Properties $363,457 3.32% $369,782 3.31% Restaurants and Bars $248,053 2.26% $255,701 2.29% Oil & Gas $52,766 0.48% $63,973 0.57% Total $1,564,581 14.28% $1,586,962 14.19% Industry segments most effected were determined considering the following: • Impact of Federal/State stay at home or shelter in place directives • Impact of State mandated business closures and restrictions • Significant increase in unemployment – reduction in consumer spending and ability to continue to pay rent • Implementation of corporate travel restrictions coupled with decline in leisure travel • Cancellation of events of all types and sizes • The total amount of PPP loans in the profiled categories is $160 million, which was excluded from above figures (1) Outstanding exposure + undisbursed commitments, Excluding PPP Loans Note: Dollars in thousands 17

COVID Related Loan Modifications Total Loans Returned to Requested (exl PPP) Total Deferrals Still in Original Contractual Second PPP Loans Loan Category $ $ % Deferral % Pmts % Deferral % $ Commercial $6,375,996 $1,031,032 16% $124,394 12% $786,454 76% $120,183 12% $1,155,694 Agriculture $508,058 $31,952 6% $7,490 23% $24,462 77% $0 0% $0 Residential $701,899 $42,971 6% $789 2% $40,567 94% $1,615 4% $0 Consumer $385,658 $9,074 2% $324 4% $8,532 94% $218 2% $0 Total $7,971,611 $1,115,029 14% $132,998 12% $860,015 77% $122,016 11% $1,155,694 Total Loans Returned to Requested At Risk Commercial (exl PPP) Total Deferrals Still in Original Contractual Second PPP Loans Segments $ $ % Deferral % Pmts % Deferral % $ Lodging $495,187 $254,296 51% $41,123 16% $112,142 44% $101,031 40% $7,010 Retail Trade $405,118 $22,060 5% $1,170 5% $18,977 86% $1,913 9% $57,872 Retail Properties $363,457 $89,943 25% $0 0% $83,891 93% $6,052 7% $0 Restaurant & Bars $248,053 $115,910 47% $1,672 1% $111,242 96% $2,996 3% $94,762 Comments: • Payment modifications are for 90 days with some local exceptions granted • Commercial modifications represent 92% of all modifications • As of September 30, 2020, approximately $860 million or 77% of the $1.1 billion of COVID Loan modifications have returned to normal payment status (1) Balances of Loans Modified are as of September 30, 2020 (2) Total Loans used for base of calculation are as of September 30, 2020, Excluding PPP Loans Note: Dollars in thousands 18

Current Participation Level In PPP Program Percentage of Total Loans Fee Income Loan Bucket Number of Loans Loans Originated ($000) ($000) $150 thousand or less 3,336 67.6% $165,929 $8,296 Greater than $150k & less than $2M 1,516 30.7% $728,551 $25,369 $2M and more 84 1.7% $304,589 $3,046 Total 4,936 $1,199,069 $36,711 Comments: • Helped preserve over 112,000 jobs • Average Loan size = $243,000 Note: Data as of September 30, 2020 19

PRESENTATION CAN BE UP TO THREE LINES CAN BE UP TO THREE LINES Financial Summary Presentation Subtitle 20

Summary Balance Sheet Items Total Assets ($B) Total Deposits ($B) 1 12.8 15.6 11.0 13.2 9.4 1 11.4 9.8 8.1 6.8 7.7 8.2 6.4 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 3Q20 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 3Q20 Loans Held to Maturity ($B) Loans / Deposits (%) 9.1 78.1 78.2 78.5 78.8 8.4 75.8 7.4 6.4 5.4 71.3 5.0 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 3Q20 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 3Q20 (1) Includes deposits held for sale in 2018 of $0.106B 21

Summary Profitability Items Return on Average Assets (%)1 Return on Average Tangible Common Equity (%)1 ROAA Adj. ROAA ROATCE Adj. ROATCE 18.88 17.98 1.39 17.43 17.55 17.08 1.32 1.29 1.12 14.64 1.07 1.02 1.24 14.36 15.84 15.72 15.73 0.98 1.09 0.88 0.83 0.90 12.05 12.10 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 YTD 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 YTD Net Interest Margin (%)1 Efficiency Ratio FTE (non-GAAP) (%)1 NIM NIM FTE 68.03 4.32 65.61 4.22 64.05 4.13 4.04 62.59 62.50 3.97 3.74 57.28 4.26 3.95 4.04 4.00 3.80 3.70 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 YTD 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 YTD (1) See Appendix for reconciliation of non-GAAP financial measures to most directly comparable GAAP financial measures 22

Net Interest Margin (non-GAAP) Breakdown 1 Annual Quarterly 4.50% 4.32% 4.22% 4.25% 0.13% 4.13% 0.17% 4.04% 0.22% 4.02% 3.97% 0.20% 4.00% 0.18% 0.18% 3.90% 0.23% 3.84% 3.85% 0.23% 0.15% 3.74% 0.17% 0.09% 3.75% 0.16% 3.64% 2 0.13% 0.12% 3.55% 0.10% 3.50% 3.97% 0.10% 3.87% 3.86% 3.78% 3.79% 3.75% 3.73% 3.69% 3.61% 3.62% 3.25% 3.54% 3.45% 3.00% 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 3Q 2019 4Q 2019 1Q 2020 2Q 2020 3Q 2020 3Q X YTD PPP Core Business Purchase Accounting Citizens (1) On a fully tax equivalent basis; See Appendix for reconciliation of non-GAAP financial measures to most directly comparable GAAP financial measures (2) 3Q X PPP excludes balances, interest income and fees on PPP loans Note: Assets of divested consumer finance company sold in early Q1 2019 23

Non Interest Income Breakdown Other Non- Interest Commercial Income Services 41% Revenue Net Interest Non Interest 27% Income before Income provision 20% 80% Retail Services Revenue 32% Noninterest income exclusive of security gains Other Non-Interest Income includes: Loan Service Fees, Gain on Sale of Loans, BOLI, and Other Misc. As of September 30, 2020 24

Commercial Services Revenues Trends Annual Quarterly 40.0 10.0 $8.2 $8.2 $8.0 $7.8 $30.4 $7.5 8.0 30.0 $1.4 $1.3 $1.5 $1.3 $5.2 $25.2 $1.4 $23.7 6.0 $4.6 $20.3 $4.1 20.0 $3.5 $3.4 $3.4 $3.4 $16.8 $3.9 $12.8 $2.8 $9.5 4.0 $3.8 $9.6 $11.7 $6.3 $3.9 10.0 $3.3 $1.8 2.0 $3.3 $3.4 $3.3 $3.4 $11.1 $12.4 $3.1 $9.2 $10.1 $10.0 $6.6 0.0 0.0 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 YTD 3Q 2019 4Q 2019 1Q 2020 2Q 2020 3Q 2020 CML Service Charges CML Card Solutions Retirement Plan Services Note: Dollars in millions 25

Consumer Services Revenues Trends Annual Quarterly 50.0 15.0 $46.4 $44.9 $38.8 40.0 12.0 $18.3 $10.5 $10.3 $33.5 $17.9 $9.7 $9.5 $30.3 $9.1 30.0 $16.0 $28.3 9.0 $4.6 $14.9 $4.8 $4.5 $4.5 $14.8 $4.2 $12.7 $10.8 $13.2 20.0 6.0 $10.8 $1.9 $1.6 $1.6 $8.6 $1.5 $1.7 $7.1 $4.7 10.0 3.0 $15.4 $16.2 $4.0 $4.0 $3.7 $12.0 $10.4 $3.4 $3.3 $8.4 $9.9 0.0 0.0 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 3Q 2019 4Q 2019 1Q 2020 2Q 2020 3Q 2020 YTD Consumer Service Charges Debit Interchange Private Client - Includes: Wealth Management, Brokerage, & Insurance Fees Note: Dollars in millions 26

Operating Efficiency Improving Efficiency Through Leveraging Core Costs 4.0% 3.84% $16.0 0.12% 3.62% 0.04% 0.04% 3.48% 3.48% 3.5% 0.07% 0.09% $14.2 0.11% 3.26% $14.0 0.63% 0.07% 0.09% 0.60% 0.12% 0.10% 3.0% in Assets AvgBillions 0.61% 0.62% 2.67% $12.0 0.61% 0.02% 0.08% 2.5% 0.54% $10.0 2.0% 3.05% 2.90% Expense as % of Avg Avg Assets% asExpenseof 2.66% 2.72% 2.43% $8.0 1.5% 2.04% $6.8 1.0% $6.0 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 YTD Core Expenses Professional Services CDI Amortization Other Non-Core Expense Average Assets & Software Costs (M&A, Tax Credits, Restructuring) Note: Excludes loss on sale of assets, net As of September 30, 2020 27

Consolidated Capital Ratios TCE/TA (%) 1 Tier 1 Leverage Ratio (%) 8.52 8.08 8.03 7.28 7.53 9.73 10.10 9.82 9.58 9.28 9.20 6.09 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 3Q20 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 3Q20 CET1 and Tier 1 Capital Ratio (%) Total Risk Based Capital Ratio (%) Common Equity Tier 1 Ratio Tier 1 Capital Ratio 15.47 14.01 13.75 13.76 13.74 13.45 13.72 12.31 11.56 11.93 11.70 12.16 10.09 10.07 10.66 10.88 11.29 8.23 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 3Q20 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 3Q20 (1) See Appendix for reconciliation of non-GAAP financial measures to most directly comparable GAAP financial measures 28

Commercial RE and ADC Concentration Ratios Well Managed Commercial RE and Acquisition, Development & Construction (“ADC”) Exposure 350% 313% 300% 284% 250% 193% 200% 185% 188% 178% 179% 180% 150% 100% 71% 76% 68% 63% 65% 64% 50% 0% 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 3Q 2020 Total Commercial RE/Total RBC (Investor Comm RE + Const & Land)/Total RBC (Const & Land)/Total RBC Note: As of September 30, 2020 29

PRESENTATION CAN BE UP TO THREE LINES CAN BE UP TO THREE LINES Loan Portfolio and Asset Quality Presentation Subtitle 30

Diversified Loan Portfolio Loan Composition by Product Type C&I and CRE Loan Composition by Industry Type Manufacturing 5.7% Residential Agricultural Loans Real Estate Rental Mortgages 6% 4.9% Other 8% Educational Services Commercial RE 4.7% 18% Health Care Consumer Loans 3.8% 4% Wholesale Trade 3.6% Real Estate Investments Construction Trade 58.0% 3.4% Commercial RE Finance Owner Occupied Construction 2.4% 10% All Other Warehousing 16% 9.5% 2.0% Retail Trade 2.0% Commercial RE Loan Composition PPP C&I 12% Hotel / Warehousing Hospitality 7.4% 26% 9.7% Retail 17.2% Multi-family 6.9% Health Services 6.2% Total Loans - $9.10 Billion 1 Food and Yield on Loans: 4.81% Office Beverage 18.6% 4.6% Educational 2.4% Industrial / Other RE Manufacturing Investments 20.0% 7.0% (1) Based on average loans YTD as of September 30, 2020 and includes loans available for sale and nonaccrual loans; includes purchase accounting accretion of 0.12% Note: Financial information as of September 30, 2020 31

Lodging Portfolio Overview Lodging Portfolio Detail, 09/30/20 Portfolio Highlights Outstanding Loans $456,327 • Pre-Covid Statistics1: Unfunded Commitments $38,860 • Analyzed population represents 97.3% of Total Lodging Portfolio $495,187 total portfolio Average Exposure per Loan $2,404 • $174 million of analyzed population is % of HTLF Exposure 4.52% under development with 55% drawn Geographic Distribution of Analyzed Portfolio • 76% of exposure represents flagged properties CA • Disciplined underwriting 9.9% KS/MO – Weighted Average DSCR of 1.64 NM 9.8% 11.3% – Weighted Average LTV of 70% IL 7.8% • Exposure well dispersed across 11 state IA footprint 11.5% TX 7.6% • Out of the total $254.3 million of original deferrals current status as of 9/30/20: AZ • 16% of borrowers remain in original WI 4.0% 13.4% MT deferral 2.6% • 44% returned to contractual payments CO MN 20.7% 1.4% • 40% requested a second deferral (1) Analyzed population included loans with greater than $1million in exposure Note: Dollars in thousands, Excluding PPP Loans 32

Retail Trade Portfolio Overview Retail Trade Portfolio Detail, 09/30/20 Portfolio Highlights Outstanding Loans $291,020 • Pre-Covid Statistics1 : Unfunded Commitments $114,098 • Analyzed population represents 69.4% of Total Retail Trade Portfolio $405,118 total portfolio Average Exposure per Loan $493 • Disciplined underwriting % of HTLF Exposure 3.70% – Weighted average DSCR of 8.98 Geographic Distribution of Analyzed Portfolio • Exposure well dispersed across 11 state footprint IL • Average loan amount of $493,000 8.1% KS/MO MT 8.9% 7.6% • Out of the total $22.1 million of original deferrals current status as of as of 9/30/20: AZ 6.8% • 5% of borrowers remain in original NM deferral 13.6% CA 5.9% • 86% returned to contractual payments TX • 9% requested a second deferral 5.4% WI CO 4.8% 15.9% MN 3.1% IA 19.9% (1) Analyzed population included loans with greater than $1million in exposure Note: Dollars in thousands, Excluding PPP Loans 33

Retail Real Estate Portfolio Overview Real Estate Portfolio Detail, 09/30/20 Portfolio Highlights Outstanding Loans $343,715 • Pre-Covid Statistics1 : Unfunded Commitments $19,742 • Analyzed population represents 79.9% of Total Retail Real Estate Portfolio $363,457 total portfolio Average Exposure per Loan $1,101 • Disciplined underwriting % of HTLF Exposure 3.32% – Weighted average DSCR of 1.89 Geographic Distribution of Analyzed Portfolio – Weighted average LTV of 59% • Exposure well dispersed across 11 state MN footprint 12.1% CA 12.8% • Average loan amount of $1.1 million KS/MO 8.4% • Out of the total $89.9 million of original deferrals current status as of as of 9/30/20: TX IL 7.7% • 0% of borrowers remain in original 13.9% deferral AZ 4.7% • 93% returned to contractual payments • 7% requested a second deferral MT CO 3.7% 14.3% IA 1.9% NM WI 18.7% 1.8% (1) Analyzed population included loans with greater than $1million in exposure Note: Dollars in thousands, Excluding PPP Loans 34

Restaurants & Bars Portfolio Overview Restaurants & Bars Portfolio Detail, 09/30/20 Portfolio Highlights Outstanding Loans $234,199 • Pre-Covid Statistics1 : Unfunded Commitments $13,854 • Analyzed population represents 77.6% of Total Restaurants & Bars Portfolio $248,053 total portfolio Average Exposure per Loan $423 % of HTLF Exposure 2.26% • Disciplined underwriting ‒ Weighted average DSCR of 2.46 Geographic Distribution of Analyzed Portfolio • 22% of analyzed exposure represents franchised restaurants CA IL 9.8% • Exposure well dispersed across 11 state 9.9% footprint WI 9.0% • Granular population - average loan amount of $423,000 TX MN 16.6% 5.6% • Out of the total $115.9 million of original IA deferrals current status as of as of 9/30/20: 5.1% • 1% of borrowers remain in original AZ deferral 4.8% NM • 96% returned to contractual payments 17.2% KS/MO • 3% requested a second deferral 3.1% CO MT 17.7% 1.2% (1) Analyzed population included loans with greater than $1million in exposure Note: Dollars in thousands, Excluding PPP Loans 35

Agriculture Portfolio Overview Agriculture Portfolio Detail, 09/30/20 Portfolio Highlights • Ag portfolio represents 5.6% of total loans Dairy Cattle and Milk • 7.0% or $39.3 million of total portfolio is FSA Production Hog and Pig Beef 24.1% Farming guaranteed Production 3.6% 26.1% • 79% of Ag loans have a Pass rating Cotton Farming 4.2% • 19% of HTLF Sub-Standard loans are from the Other Ag Portfolio 6.4% Corn and • Crop insurance is required on credit exposures Soybeans Wheat Farming greater than $500,000 28.5% 7.1% Geographic Distribution Agriculture Loans Outstanding Agriculture Loans Outstandings MT IA 14.0% $590,000 26.4% $570,000 NM 7.5% $550,000 KS/MO $530,000 5.8% $510,000 TX 5.8% $490,000 WI Dollars Dollars Thousands in $470,000 34.7% Other HTLF Markets $450,000 5.8% 3Q19 4Q19 1Q20 2Q20 3Q20 Note: Dollars in thousands 36

Construction Portfolio Overview Construction Portfolio by Type, 09/30/20 Construction Portfolio by Market, 09/30/20 All Other IA 10% TX 8% IL Hotel Land 10% 14% 8% Development 9% CA KS/MO 8% Healthcare 11% 7% Land Only AZ 14% Industrial 6% 7% Mini- NM MN Warehousing 14% 4% 3% Retail 3% WI 1-4 Family 3% 15% Office 3% MT Multi-Family 2% 16% CO 25% Comments: • Well distributed over geographic footprint • Diversified by property type Note: Balances of Loans as of September 30, 2020 37

CECL Adjustment Reconciliation of Lending Related Allowance for Credit Losses Allowance for Credit Losses Allowance for Unfunded Commitments Note: Dollars in thousands, as of September 30, 2020 38

Summary Asset Quality Non-Performing Assets Non-Performing Loans NPAs ($000) NPAs / Assets (%) NPLs ($000) NPLs / Gross Loans (%) 120,000 3.00 100,000 4.00 80,653 80,721 87,578 85,901 72,669 90,000 74,792 74,599 79,281 75,000 64,385 63,411 3.00 2.00 60,000 51,664 50,000 39,655 2.00 0.91 1.20 0.76 0.69 0.99 0.98 0.96 0.67 0.66 0.55 1.00 0.79 0.89 30,000 25,000 1.00 0 0.00 0 0.00 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 3Q20 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 3Q20 Net Charge-offs Allowance for Credit Losses NCOs ($000) NCOs / Avg Loans (%) ACL ($000) ACL / Gross Loans (%) 28,702 30,000 3.00 125,000 5.00 103,377 25,000 100,000 4.00 20,000 17,736 2.00 70,395 75,000 61,963 3.00 14,201 54,324 55,686 15,000 48,685 8,225 50,000 2.00 10,000 1.00 0.97 1.02 1.14 5,461 6,055 0.43 0.87 0.84 0.84 0.24 0.25 25,000 1.00 5,000 0.12 0.11 0.11 0 0.00 0 0.00 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 YTD 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 3Q20 Note: CECL adopted January 1, 2020 Note: Non-performing loans defined as nonaccrual loans + loans 90 days past due; non-performing assets defined as nonperforming loans + other real estate owned + other repossessed assets 39

PRESENTATION CAN BE UP TO THREE LINES CAN BE UP TO THREE LINES Investments, Liquidity, Funding and Capital Presentation Subtitle 40

High Performing Securities Portfolio Portfolio Detail as of September 30, 2020 ($000) Allowance for CMBS - Sector Book Value Unrealized G/L Credit Loss MBS - Non- Agency US Treasury$ 1,994 $ 41 $ - Agency 1.0% 26.4% CMBS - Non- US Agency 158,954 (523) - Agency Municipal 1,215,791 69,177 (61) 4.1% MBS - Agency 1,062,704 12,722 - MBS - Non-Agency 1,320,040 13,131 - MBS - Agency CMBS - Agency 49,934 3,146 - 21.3% ABS 18.5% CMBS - Non-Agency 203,165 (825) - ABS 926,141 (4,844) - Equities with a readily determinable value 19,569 - - US Treasury Other securities 35,940 - - Municipal 0.0% 25.5% US Agency 3.2% Total$ 4,994,232 $ 92,025 $ (61) Investment Portfolio 3Q 2019 4Q 2019 1Q 2020 2Q 2020 3Q 2020 Average Book Value ($in millions) $2,925 $3,305 $3,421 $3,809 $4,555 Book Yield 2.88% 3.03% 2.88% 2.91% 2.54% Mod. Duration 5.63 6.17 5.84 5.69 5.64 • 95.1% of Municipal holdings are rated A or better • 65.8% of Non-Agency MBS are rated AAA balance • ABS portfolio consists of the following – 76.8% of Government/FFELP Student Loan Securities – 10.2% of SBA Loans 41

Conservative Liquidity Profile Holding Company Detail Additional Sources of Bank Funding Amount Available Amount Available Type Outstanding ($000) ($000) Type Outstanding ($000) ($000) Cash & Due from Banks $190,127 FHLB Advances $1,047 $1,558,285 Revolving Credit Line w ith Unaffiliated Bank $0 $45,000 Federal Funds Purchased $1,500 $464,500 Non-Revolvoing Credit Line w ith Unaffiliated Bank $46,167 $6,500 Securities Sold Under Agreement to Repurchase $88,685 $0 Subordinated Debt $74,554 $0 Federal Reserve Discount Window $200,000 $1,179,814 Trust Preferred $146,156 $0 PPP Loan Program $252,610 $903,084 Preferred Stock $110,705 $0 Other Short-term Borrow ings $16,521 $0 Total $377,582 $241,627 Total $560,363 $4,105,683 Liquidity Metrics Capital Instruments FY 2017 FY 2018 FY 2019 3Q 2020 Amount Loans / Deposits 78.45% 78.84% 75.77% 71.27% Outsanding Current Investments / Assets 25.41% 23.80% 26.01% 32.51% Outstanding Debt ($000) Maturity Date Rate (%) Total Borrow ings / Assets 6.21% 4.40% 3.47% 5.32% Subsidiary Trust Preferred Securities $146,156 3.42% • Monthly cash flow from Investments for 3Q20: $50 million Subordinated Notes $74,554 December 30, 2024 5.75% Subtotal of debt $220,710 4.21% Preferred Stock $110,705 7.00% (1) Refers to weighted average rate of trust preferred securities Note: As of September 30, 2020 Note: All subsidiary trust preferred debt callable; currently outstanding subordinated notes mature December 30, 2024; 42

Deposit Mix Deposit Composition Cost of Interest Bearing Deposits (%) Time > $100K 1.20 Time < $100K 4.2% 0.96 3.7% 1.00 0.80 0.61 0.64 0.60 0.45 0.40 0.37 0.39 Money 0.34 Non 0.40 0.28 0.29 Market 0.23 0.24 Interest 18.6% Bearing 0.20 39.3% 0.00 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 3Q 2020 Savings 8.7% Cost of Interest Bearing Deposits Cost of Total Deposits Interest Brokered Deposits ($000) 1 Bearing Checking 25.5% 250,000 190,721 200,000 9/30/2020 Portfolio % 150,000 Non Interest Bearing $5,022,567 39.3% Interest Bearing Checking $3,254,167 25.5% 100,000 75,620 Savings $1,116,699 8.7% 57,168 50,000 25,055 Money Market $2,371,285 18.6% 12,089 0 Time < $100K $470,319 3.7% 0 Time > $100K $532,073 4.2% 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 3Q 2020 Total Deposits $12,767,110 100.0% (1) Excludes reciprocal deposits Note: Financial data as of September 30, 2020; dollars in thousands 43

Investment Summary Diversification across geographies reduces risk and enhances growth potential Consistent earnings profile, leveraging infrastructure to drive efficiency Disciplined and proven acquirer Low cost core deposit base, significant capacity to continue to fuel organic growth Strong net interest margin Solid credit metrics over many decades and through many credit cycles Conservative liquidity risk profile, conservative loan/deposit ratio Healthy capital levels, highly conservative approach to bank level capitalization 44

PRESENTATION CAN BE UP TO THREE LINES CAN BE UP TO THREE LINES Appendix Presentation Subtitle 45

Analyst Ratings October 2020 Coverage Rating Price Target D.A. DAVIDSON Neutral $35.00 Jeff Rulis PIPER SANDLER CO Overweight $38.00 Andrew Liesch KEEFE, BRUYETTE & WOODS Market Perform $39.00 Damon DelMonte RAYMOND JAMES Market Perform Not Established David Long STEPHENS Equal Weight $32.00 Terry McEvoy 46

Contact Information 47

Non-GAAP Financial Measures Annualized adjusted return on average assets is net income available to common stockholders plus provision for credit losses and acquisition, integration and restructuring costs, net of tax, divided by average total assets. This measure shows how efficiently a company is utilizing its assets and is also useful when assessing peer companies in the same industry. Annualized return on average tangible common equity is net income available to common stockholders plus core deposit and customer relationship intangibles amortization, net of tax, divided by average common stockholders' equity less goodwill and core deposit and customer relationship intangibles, net. This measure is included as it is considered to be a critical metric to analyze and evaluate use of equity, financial condition and capital strength. Annualized net interest margin, fully tax-equivalent, adjusts net interest income for the tax-favored status of certain loans and securities. Management believes this measure enhances the comparability of net interest income arising from taxable and tax-exempt sources. Efficiency ratio, fully tax equivalent, expresses noninterest expenses as a percentage of fully tax-equivalent net interest income and noninterest income. This efficiency ratio is presented on a tax-equivalent basis which adjusts net interest income and noninterest expenses for the tax favored status of certain loans, securities, and tax credit projects. Management believes the presentation of this non-GAAP measure provides supplemental useful information for proper understanding of the financial results as it enhances the comparability of income and expenses arising from taxable and nontaxable sources and excludes specific items as noted in reconciliation contained in this presentation. Net interest income, fully tax equivalent, is net income adjusted for the tax-favored status of certain loans and securities. Management believes this measure enhances the comparability of net interest income arising from taxable and tax-exempt sources. Tangible book value per common share is total common stockholders' equity less goodwill and core deposit and customer relationship intangibles, net, divided by common shares outstanding, net of treasury. This measure is included as it is considered to be a critical metric to analyze and evaluate use of equity, financial condition and capital strength. Tangible common equity ratio is total common stockholders' equity less goodwill and core deposit and customer relationship intangibles, net, divided by total assets less goodwill and core deposit and customer relationship intangibles, net. This measure is included as it is considered to be a critical metric to analyze and evaluate financial condition and capital strength. Annualized return on average tangible common equity is net income excluding intangible amortization calculated as (1) net income excluding tax- effected core deposit and customer relationship intangibles amortization, divided by (2) average common equity less goodwill and core deposit and customer relationship intangibles, net. This measure is included as it is considered to be a critical metric to analyze and evaluate use of equity, financial condition and capital strength. Adjusted net income, adjusted return on average tangible common equity and adjusted diluted earnings per share exclude tax-effected provision for credit losses and acquisition, integration and restructuring costs. Management believes the presentation of these non-GAAP measures are useful to compare net income, return on average tangible common equity and earnings per share results excluding the variability of credit loss provisions and acquisition, integration and restructuring costs. 48

Non-GAAP Reconciliations Full Yr 2019 Full Yr 2018 Full Yr 2017 Full Yr 2016 Full Yr 2015 Reconciliation of Tangible Book Value Per Common Share (non-GAAP) Common equity (GAAP)$ 1,578,137 $ 1,325,175 $ 990,519 $ 739,559 $ 581,475 Less goodwill 446,345 391,668 236,615 127,699 97,852 Less core deposit and customer relationship intangibles, net 48,688 47,479 35,203 22,775 22,020 Tangible common equity (non-GAAP)$ 1,083,104 $ 886,028 $ 718,701 $ 589,085 $ 461,603 Common shares outstanding, net of treasury stock 36,704,278 34,477,499 29,953,356 26,119,929 22,435,693 Common equity (book value) per share (GAAP)$ 43.00 $ 38.44 $ 33.07 $ 28.31 $ 25.92 Tangible book value per common share (non-GAAP)$ 29.51 $ 25.70 $ 23.99 $ 22.55 $ 20.57 Reconciliation of Tangible Common Equity Ratio (non-GAAP) Total assets (GAAP)$ 13,209,597 $ 11,408,006 $ 9,810,739 $ 8,247,079 $ 7,694,754 Less goodwill 446,345 391,668 236,615 127,699 97,852 Less core deposit and customer relationship intangibles, net 48,688 47,479 35,203 22,775 22,020 Total tangible assets (non-GAAP)$ 12,714,564 $ 10,968,859 $ 9,538,921 $ 8,096,605 $ 7,574,882 Tangible common equity ratio (non-GAAP) 8.52% 8.08% 7.53% 7.28% 6.09% Reconciliation of Annualized Net Interest Margin, Fully Tax-Equivalent (non-GAAP) Net Interest Income (GAAP)$ 433,729 $ 413,954 $ 330,308 $ 294,666 $ 233,998 Plus tax-equivalent adjustment(1) 4,929 6,228 15,139 12,919 10,216 Net interest income, fully tax-equivalent (non-GAAP)$ 438,658 $ 420,182 $ 345,447 $ 307,585 $ 244,214 Average earning assets$ 10,845,940 $ 9,718,106 $ 8,181,914 $ 7,455,217 $ 6,152,090 Annualized net interest margin (GAAP) 4.00% 4.26% 4.04% 3.95% 3.80% Annualized net interest margin, fully tax-equivalent (non-GAAP) 4.04% 4.32% 4.22% 4.13% 3.97% Purchase accounting discount amortization on loans included in annualized net interest margin 0.18% 0.22% 0.18% 0.15% 0.13% (1) Computed on a tax-equivalent basis using an effective tax rate of 21% beginning January 1, 2018, and 35% for all prior periods. 49

Non-GAAP Reconciliations (cont.) Full Yr 2019 Full Yr 2018 Full Yr 2017 Full Yr 2016 Full Yr 2015 Reconciliation of Efficiency Ratio (non-GAAP) Net Interest Income (GAAP)$ 433,729 $ 413,954 $ 330,308 $ 294,666 $ 233,998 Plus tax-equivalent adjustment(1) 4,929 6,228 15,139 12,919 10,216 Net interest income, fully tax-equivalent (non-GAAP) 438,658 420,182 345,447 307,585 244,214 Noninterest income 116,208 109,160 102,022 113,601 110,685 Securities gains, net (7,659) (1,085) (6,973) (11,340) (13,143) Unrealized (gain)/loss on equity securities, net (525) (212) - - 769 Gain on extinguishment of debt (375) - (1,280) - - Valuation adjustment on servicing rights 911 46 (21) 33 - Adjusted revenue (non-GAAP)$ 547,218 $ 528,091 $ 439,195 $ 409,879 $ 342,525 Total noninterest expenses (GAAP)$ 349,161 $ 353,888 $ 297,675 $ 279,668 $ 251,046 Less: Core deposit and customer relationship intangibles amortization 11,972 9,355 6,077 5,630 2,978 Partnership investment in tax credit projects 8,030 4,233 1,860 1,051 4,357 (Gain)/loss on sales/valuation of assets, net (19,422) 2,208 2,475 1,478 6,821 Acquisition, integration and restructuring costs 6,580 7,564 5,975 2,571 3,871 Adjusted noninterest expenses (non-GAAP)$ 342,001 $ 330,528 $ 281,288 $ 268,938 $ 233,019 Efficiency ratio, fully tax-equivalent (non-GAAP) 62.50% 62.59% 64.05% 65.61% 68.03% (1) Computed on a tax-equivalent basis using an effective tax rate of 21% beginning January 1, 2018, and 35% for all prior periods. 50

Non-GAAP Reconciliations (cont.) Full Yr 2019 Full Yr 2018 Full Yr 2017 Full Yr 2016 Full Yr 2015 Reconciliation of Return on Average Tangible Common Equity (non-GAAP) Net income (GAAP)$ 149,129 $ 116,959 $ 75,226 $ 80,108 $ 59,225 Plus core deposit and customer relationship intangibles amortization, net of tax(1) 9,458 7,391 3,950 3,660 1,936 Net income excluding intangible amortization (non-GAAP)$ 158,587 $ 124,350 $ 79,176 $ 83,768 $ 61,161 Average common equity (GAAP)$ 1,473,396 $ 1,177,346 $ 871,683 $ 678,989 $ 496,877 Less average goodwill 415,841 340,352 184,554 125,724 56,781 Less average core deposit and customer relationship intangibles, net 49,377 46,206 30,109 24,553 14,153 Average tangible common equity (non-GAAP)$ 1,008,178 $ 790,788 $ 657,020 $ 528,712 $ 425,943 Annualized return on average common equity (GAAP) 10.12% 9.93% 8.63% 11.80% 11.92% Annualized return on average tangible common equity (non-GAAP) 15.73% 15.72% 12.05% 15.84% 14.36% Reconciliation of Adjusted Return on Average Assets (non-GAAP) Net income (GAAP)$ 149,129 $ 116,959 $ 75,226 $ 80,108 $ 59,225 Provision for credit losses(1) 13,159 18,970 10,116 7,601 8,253 Acquisition, integration and restructuring costs(1) 5,198 5,976 3,884 1,671 2,516 Adjusted net income (non-GAAP)$ 167,486 $ 141,905 $ 89,226 $ 89,380 $ 69,994 Average assets (GAAP)$ 12,021,917 $ 10,772,297 $ 9,009,625 $ 8,172,576 $ 6,763,901 Adjusted return on average assets (non-GAAP) 1.39% 1.32% 0.99% 1.09% 1.03% Reconciliation of Adjusted Return on Average Tangible Common Equity (non- GAAP) Adjusted net income (non-GAAP)$ 167,486 $ 141,905 $ 89,226 $ 89,380 $ 69,994 Plus core deposit and customer relationship intangibles amortization, net of tax(1) 9,458 7,391 3,950 3,660 1,936 Adjusted net income excluding intangible amortization (non-GAAP)$ 176,944 $ 149,296 $ 93,176 $ 93,040 $ 71,930 Average tangible common equity (non-GAAP)$ 1,008,178 $ 790,788 $ 657,020 $ 528,712 $ 425,943 Annualized adjusted return on average tangible common equity (non-GAAP) 17.55% 18.88% 14.18% 17.60% 16.89% (1) Computed on a tax-equivalent basis using an effective tax rate of 21% beginning January 1, 2018, and 35% for all prior periods. 51

Non-GAAP Reconciliations (cont.) 3Q 2020 2Q 2020 1Q 2020 4Q 2019 3Q 2019 Reconciliation of Tangible Book Value Per Common Share (non-GAAP) Common equity (GAAP)$ 1,700,899 $ 1,636,672 $ 1,553,714 $ 1,578,137 $ 1,563,843 Less goodwill 446,345 446,345 446,345 446,345 427,097 Less core deposit and customer relationship intangibles, net 40,520 43,011 45,707 48,688 49,819 Tangible common equity (non-GAAP)$ 1,214,034 $ 1,147,316 $ 1,061,662 $ 1,083,104 $ 1,086,927 Common shares outstanding, net of treasury stock 36,885,390 36,844,744 36,807,217 36,704,278 36,696,190 Common equity (book value) per share (GAAP)$ 46.11 $ 44.42 $ 42.21 $ 43.00 $ 42.62 Tangible book value per common share (non-GAAP)$ 32.91 $ 31.14 $ 28.84 $ 29.51 $ 29.62 Reconciliation of Tangible Common Equity Ratio (non-GAAP) Total assets (GAAP)$ 15,612,664 $ 15,026,153 $ 13,294,509 $ 13,209,597 $ 12,569,262 Less goodwill 446,345 446,345 446,345 446,345 427,097 Less core deposit and customer relationship intangibles, net 40,520 43,011 45,707 48,688 49,819 Total tangible assets (non-GAAP)$ 15,125,799 $ 14,536,797 $ 12,802,457 $ 12,714,564 $ 12,092,346 Tangible common equity ratio (non-GAAP) 8.03% 7.89% 8.29% 8.52% 8.99% Reconciliation of Annualized Net Interest Margin, Fully Tax-Equivalent (non-GAAP) Net Interest Income (GAAP)$ 122,497 $ 124,146 $ 112,511 $ 112,745 $ 111,321 Plus tax-equivalent adjustment(1) 1,390 1,416 1,131 1,109 1,140 Net interest income, fully tax-equivalent (non-GAAP)$ 123,887 $ 125,562 $ 113,642 $ 113,854 $ 112,461 Average earning assets$ 13,868,360 $ 13,103,159 $ 11,891,455 $ 11,580,295 $ 11,102,581 Annualized net interest margin (GAAP) 3.51% 3.81% 3.81% 3.86% 3.98% Annualized net interest margin, fully tax-equivalent (non-GAAP) 3.55% 3.85% 3.84% 3.90% 4.02% Purchase accounting discount amortization on loans included in annualized net interest margin 0.10% 0.16% 0.09% 0.17% 0.23% (1) Computed on a tax-equivalent basis using an effective tax rate of 21%. 52

Non-GAAP Reconciliations (cont.) 3Q 2020 2Q 2020 1Q 2020 4Q 2019 3Q 2019 Reconciliation of Efficiency Ratio (non-GAAP) Net Interest Income (GAAP)$ 122,497 $ 124,146 $ 112,511 $ 112,745 $ 111,321 Plus tax-equivalent adjustment(1) 1,390 1,416 1,131 1,109 1,140 Net interest income, fully tax-equivalent (non-GAAP) 123,887 125,562 113,642 113,854 112,461 Noninterest income 31,216 30,637 25,817 28,030 29,400 Securities gains, net (1,300) (2,006) (1,658) (491) (2,013) Unrealized (gain)/loss on equity securities, net (155) (680) 231 (11) (144) Gain on extinguishment of debt - - - - (375) Valuation adjustment on servicing rights 120 (9) 1,565 (668) 626 Adjusted revenue (non-GAAP)$ 153,768 $ 153,504 $ 139,597 $ 140,714 $ 139,955 Total noninterest expenses (GAAP)$ 90,396 $ 90,439 $ 90,859 $ 92,866 $ 92,967 Less: Core deposit and customer relationship intangibles amortization 2,492 2,696 2,981 2,918 2,899 Partnership investment in tax credit projects 927 791 184 3,038 3,052 (Gain)/loss on sales/valuation of assets, net 1,763 701 16 1,512 356 Acquisition, integration and restructuring costs 1,146 673 1,376 537 1,500 Adjusted noninterest expenses (non-GAAP)$ 84,068 $ 85,578 $ 86,302 $ 84,861 $ 85,160 Efficiency ratio, fully tax-equivalent (non-GAAP) 54.67% 55.75% 61.82% 60.31% 60.85% (1) Computed on a tax-equivalent basis using an effective tax rate of 21%. 53

Non-GAAP Reconciliations (cont.) 3Q 2020 2Q 2020 1Q 2020 4Q 2019 3Q 2019 Reconciliation of Annualized Return on Average Tangible Common Equity (non-GAAP) Net income available to common shareholders (GAAP)$ 45,521 $ 30,131 $ 20,040 $ 37,851 $ 34,612 Plus core deposit and customer relationship intangibles amortization, net of tax(1) 1,969 2,130 2,355 2,305 2,291 Net income available to common shareholdersexcluding intangible amortization (non-GAAP)$ 47,490 $ 32,261 $ 22,395 $ 40,156 $ 36,903 Average common equity (GAAP)$ 1,661,381 $ 1,574,902 $ 1,619,682 $ 1,570,258 $ 1,541,369 Less average goodwill 446,345 446,345 446,345 433,374 427,097 Less average core deposit and customer relationship intangibles, net 42,145 44,723 47,632 49,389 51,704 Average tangible common equity (non-GAAP)$ 1,172,891 $ 1,083,834 $ 1,125,705 $ 1,087,495 $ 1,062,568 Annualized return on average common equity (GAAP) 10.90% 7.69% 4.98% 9.56% 8.91% Annualized return on average tangible common equity (non-GAAP) 16.11% 11.97% 8.00% 14.65% 13.78% Reconciliation of Adjusted Return on Average Assets (non-GAAP) Net income available to common shareholders (GAAP)$ 45,521 $ 30,131 $ 20,040 $ 37,851 $ 34,612 Provision for credit losses(1) 1,325 21,169 17,001 3,873 4,109 Acquisition, integration and restructuring costs(1) 905 532 1,087 424 1,185 Adjusted net income available to common shareholders (non-GAAP)$ 47,751 $ 51,832 $ 38,128 $ 42,148 $ 39,906 Average assets (GAAP)$ 15,167,225 $ 14,391,856 $ 13,148,173 $ 12,798,770 $ 12,293,332 Adjusted return on average assets (non-GAAP) 1.25% 1.45% 1.17% 1.31% 1.29% Reconciliation of Annualized Adjusted Return on Average Tangible Common Equity (non-GAAP) Adjusted net income (non-GAAP)$ 47,751 $ 51,832 $ 38,128 $ 42,148 $ 39,906 Plus core deposit and customer relationship intangibles amortization, net of tax(1) 1,969 2,130 2,355 2,305 2,291 Adjusted net income available to common shareholdersexcluding intangible amortization (non-GAAP)$ 49,720 $ 53,962 $ 40,483 $ 44,453 $ 42,197 Average tangible common equity (non-GAAP)$ 1,172,891 $ 1,083,834 $ 1,125,705 $ 1,087,495 $ 1,062,568 Annualized adjusted return on average tangible common equity (non-GAAP) 16.86% 20.02% 14.46% 16.22% 15.76% (1) Computed on a tax-equivalent basis using an effective tax rate of 21%. 54

Non-GAAP Reconciliations (cont.) For the Nine Months Ended September 30, 2020 2019 Reconciliation of Annualized Net Interest Margin, Fully Tax-Equivalent (non-GAAP) Net Interest Income available to common shareholders (GAAP)$ 359,154 $ 320,984 Plus tax-equivalent adjustment(1) 3,937 3,820 Net interest income, fully tax-equivalent (non-GAAP)$ 363,091 $ 324,804 Average earning assets$ 12,957,661 $ 10,598,465 Annualized net interest margin (GAAP) 3.70% 4.05% Annualized net interest margin, fully tax-equivalent (non-GAAP) 3.74% 4.10% Purchase accounting discount amortization on loans included in annualized net interest margin 0.12% 0.19% (1) Computed on a tax-equivalent basis using an effective tax rate of 21% 55

Non-GAAP Reconciliations (cont.) For the Nine Months Ended September 30, 2020 2019 Reconciliation of Efficiency Ratio (non-GAAP) Net Interest Income available to common shareholders (GAAP)$ 359,154 $ 320,984 Plus tax-equivalent adjustment(1) 3,937 3,820 Net interest income, fully tax-equivalent (non-GAAP) 363,091 324,804 Noninterest income 87,670 88,178 Securities gains, net (4,964) (7,168) Unrealized (gain)/loss on equity securities, net (604) (514) Gain on extinguishment of debt - (375) Valuation adjustment on servicing rights 1,676 1,579 Adjusted revenue (non-GAAP)$ 446,869 $ 406,504 Total noninterest expenses (GAAP)$ 271,694 $ 256,295 Less: Core deposit and customer relationship intangibles amortization 8,169 9,054 Partnership investment in tax credit projects 1,902 4,992 (Gain)/loss on sales/valuation of assets, net 2,480 (20,934) Acquisition, integration and restructuring costs 3,195 6,043 Adjusted noninterest expenses (non-GAAP)$ 255,948 $ 257,140 Efficiency ratio, fully tax-equivalent (non-GAAP) 57.28% 63.26% (1) Computed on a tax-equivalent basis using an effective tax rate of 21% 56

Non-GAAP Reconciliations (cont.) For the Nine Months Ended September 30, 2020 2019 Reconciliation of Annualized Return on Average Tangible Common Equity (non-GAAP) Net income available to common shareholders (GAAP)$ 95,692 $ 111,278 Plus core deposit and customer relationship intangibles amortization, net of tax(1) 6,454 7,153 Net income available to common shareholdersexcluding intangible amortization (non-GAAP)$ 102,146 $ 118,431 Average common equity (GAAP)$ 1,618,811 $ 1,440,754 Less average goodwill 446,345 409,932 Less average core deposit and customer relationship intangibles, net 44,824 49,373 Average tangible common equity (non-GAAP)$ 1,127,642 $ 981,449 Annualized return on average common equity (GAAP) 7.90% 10.33% Annualized return on average tangible common equity (non-GAAP) 12.10% 16.13% Reconciliation of Adjusted Return on Average Assets (non-GAAP) Net income available to common shareholders (GAAP)$ 95,692 $ 111,278 Provision for credit losses(1) 39,495 9,286 Acquisition, integration and restructuring costs(1) 2,524 4,774 Adjusted net income (non-GAAP)$ 137,711 $ 125,338 Average assets (GAAP)$ 14,239,151 $ 11,760,120 Adjusted return on average assets (non-GAAP) 1.29% 1.42% Reconciliation of Annualized Adjusted Return on Average Tangible Common Equity (non-GAAP) Adjusted net income (non-GAAP)$ 137,711 $ 125,338 Plus core deposit and customer relationship intangibles amortization, net of tax(1) 6,454 7,153 Adjusted net income available to common shareholders excluding intangible amortization (non-GAAP)$ 144,165 $ 132,491 Average tangible common equity (non-GAAP)$ 1,127,642 $ 981,449 Annualized adjusted return on average tangible common equity (non-GAAP) 17.08% 18.05% (1) Computed on a tax-equivalent basis using an effective tax rate of 21% 57