Exhibit 99.1

Goldcorp Completes Acquisition of Exeter

VANCOUVER, Aug. 2, 2017 /CNW/ - GOLDCORP INC. (TSX: G, NYSE: GG) ("Goldcorp" or the "Company") today announced the closing of the previously announced acquisition of all of the issued and outstanding common shares (the "Exeter Shares") of Exeter Resource Corporation ("Exeter") not already owned by Goldcorp by way of a court-approved plan of arrangement (the "Arrangement").

Pursuant to the Arrangement, Goldcorp acquired all of the issued and outstanding Exeter Shares not already owned by Goldcorp for consideration of 0.12 of a common share of Goldcorp (each whole common share, a "Goldcorp Share") for each outstanding Exeter Share. Goldcorp now owns 100% of the outstanding Exeter Shares. In connection with the Arrangement, Goldcorp will issue an aggregate of up to 1,896,145 Goldcorp Shares to former Exeter shareholders, who now hold approximately 0.22% of the 865,034,962 Goldcorp Shares issued and outstanding, on an undiluted basis.

The Exeter Shares are expected to be delisted from the Toronto Stock Exchange on or about August 8, 2017 and will promptly be delisted from the NYSE-MKT and the Börse Frankfurt (Frankfurt Stock Exchange) following closing. In addition, Exeter has made an application to the British Columbia Securities Commission, as principal regulator, and to the securities regulatory authorities in each of the other provinces in Canada in which it is a reporting issuer (or equivalent) for an order that Exeter cease to be a reporting issuer (or equivalent) under applicable securities laws.

Full details of the Arrangement and certain other matters are set out in the management information circular of Exeter dated June 27, 2017 (the "Information Circular"). A copy of the Information Circular and the early warning report filed by Goldcorp in connection with the purchase of the Exeter shares can be found under Exeter's profile on SEDAR at www.sedar.com or by contacting Goldcorp at the number shown below. The purpose of the Arrangement was to acquire all of the issued and outstanding Exeter shares not already owned by Goldcorp.

Exeter shareholders who have questions or who may need assistance with the completion of letters of transmittal are advised to contact AST Trust Company (Canada), the depository for the Arrangement, at: North American Toll Free: 1-800-387-0825 Email: inquiries@canstockta.com.

About Goldcorp

Goldcorp is a senior gold producer focused on responsible mining practices with safe, low-cost production from a high-quality portfolio of mines. For further information about Goldcorp, please visit their website at www.goldcorp.com.

Cautionary Note Regarding Forward Looking Statements
This press release contains "forward-looking statements" within the meaning of Section 27A of the United States Securities Act of 1933, as amended, Section 21E of the United States Exchange Act of 1934, as amended,  the United States Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995, or in releases made by the United States Securities and Exchange Commission, all as may be amended from time to time, and "forward-looking information" under the provisions of applicable Canadian securities legislation, concerning the business, operations and financial performance and condition of Goldcorp. Forward-looking statements include, but are not limited to, the anticipated timing and delisting of the Exeter Shares, the future price of gold, silver, copper, lead and zinc, the estimation of Mineral Reserves (as defined below) and Mineral Resources (as defined below), the realization of Mineral Reserve estimates, the timing and amount of estimated future production, costs of production, targeted cost reductions, capital expenditures, free cash flow, costs and timing of the development of new deposits, success of exploration activities, permitting time lines, hedging practices, currency exchange rate fluctuations, requirements for additional capital, government regulation of mining operations, environmental risks, unanticipated reclamation expenses, timing and possible outcome of pending litigation, title disputes or claims and limitations on insurance coverage. Generally, these forward-looking statements can be identified by the use of forward-looking terminology such as "plans", "expects" , "is expected", "budget", "scheduled", "estimates", "forecasts", "intends", "anticipates" , "believes", or variations or comparable language of such words and phrases or statements that certain actions, events or results "may", "could", "would", "should", "might" or "will be taken", "occur" or "be achieved" or the negative connotation thereof.

Forward-looking statements are necessarily based upon a number of factors and assumptions that, if untrue, could cause the actual results, performances or achievements of Goldcorp to be materially different from future results, performances or achievements expressed or implied by such statements. Such statements and information are based on numerous assumptions regarding present and future business strategies and the environment in which Goldcorp will operate in the future, including the price of gold, anticipated costs and ability to achieve goals. In respect of the forward-looking statements, Goldcorp has provided them in reliance on certain assumptions that they believe are reasonable at this time. Certain important factors that could cause actual results, performances or achievements to differ materially from those in the forward-looking statements include, among others, gold price volatility, discrepancies between actual and estimated production, Mineral Reserves and Mineral Resources and metallurgical recoveries, mining operational and development risks, litigation risks, regulatory restrictions (including environmental regulatory restrictions and liability), changes in national and local government legislation, taxation, controls or regulations and/or change in the administration of laws, policies and practices, expropriation or nationalization of property and political or economic developments in Canada, the United States and other jurisdictions in which the Company does or may carry on business in the future, delays, suspension and technical challenges associated with capital projects, higher prices for fuel, steel, power, labour and other consumables, currency fluctuations, the speculative nature of gold exploration, the global economic climate, dilution, share price volatility, competition, loss of key employees, additional funding requirements and defective title to mineral claims or property. Although Goldcorp believes its expectations are based upon reasonable assumptions and has attempted to identify important factors that could cause actual actions, events or results to differ materially from those described in forward-looking statements, there may be other factors that cause actions, events or results not to be as anticipated, estimated or intended.

Forward-looking statements are subject to known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other important factors that may cause the actual results, level of activity, performance or achievements of Goldcorp to be materially different from those expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements, including but not limited to: the benefits expected from the Arrangement not being realized; risks related to the integration of acquisitions; risks related to international operations, including economic and political instability in foreign jurisdictions in which Goldcorp operates; risks related to current global financial conditions; risks related to joint venture operations; actual results of current exploration activities; actual results of current reclamation activities; environmental risks; conclusions of economic evaluations; changes in project parameters as plans continue to be refined; future prices of gold, silver, copper, lead and zinc; possible variations in ore reserves, grade or recovery rates; failure of plant, equipment or processes to operate as anticipated; mine development and operating risks; accidents, labour disputes and other risks of the mining industry; risks associated with restructuring and cost-efficiency initiatives; delays in obtaining governmental approvals or financing or in the completion of development or construction activities; risks related to the integration of acquisitions; risks related to indebtedness and the service of such indebtedness, as well as those factors discussed in the section entitled "Description of the Business – Risk Factors" in Goldcorp's most recent annual information form  available on SEDAR at www.sedar.com and on EDGAR at www.sec.gov. Although Goldcorp has attempted to identify important factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from those contained in forward-looking statements, there may be other factors that cause results not to be as anticipated, estimated or intended. There can be no assurance that such statements will prove to be accurate, as actual results and future events could differ materially from those anticipated in such statements. Accordingly, readers should not place undue reliance on forward-looking statements. Forward-looking statements are made as of the date hereof and, accordingly, are subject to change after such date. Except as otherwise indicated by Goldcorp, these statements do not reflect the potential impact of any non-recurring or other special items or of any disposition, monetization, merger, acquisition, other business combination or other transaction that may be announced or that may occur after the date hereof. Forward-looking statements are provided for the purpose of providing information about management's current expectations and plans and allowing investors and others to get a better understanding of Goldcorp's operating environment. Goldcorp does not intend or undertake to publicly update any forward-looking statements that are included in this document, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise, except in accordance with applicable securities laws.

SOURCE Goldcorp Inc.

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%CIK: 0000919239

For further information: INVESTOR CONTACT: Etienne Morin, Director, Investor Relations, (800) 567-6223, E-mail: info@goldcorp.com; MEDIA CONTACT: Christine Marks, Director, Corporate Communications, Telephone: (604) 696-3050, E-mail: media@goldcorp.com

CO: Goldcorp Inc.

CNW 17:53e 02-AUG-17