WIRELESS ONE, INC.
            1080 RIVER OAKS DRIVE, #A 150
                  JACKSON, MS 39208

                  Phone:  (601) 936-1515
                   Fax: (601) 936-1717

                      July 30, 1998



      SOLICITATION OF CONSENTS RELATING TO ITS
      13% SENIOR NOTES DUE OCTOBER 15, 2003 AND
  13 1/2 % SENIOR DISCOUNT NOTES DUE AUGUST 1, 2006



Dear Noteholder:

           Wireless One, Inc.  (the  "Company")  is hereby
soliciting  consents ("Consents") from  certain Registered
Holders (as defined  below)  of  its  13% Senior Notes due
October 15, 2003 (the "1995 Senior Notes") and/or 13 1/2 %
Senior Discount Notes due August 1, 2006 (the "1996 Senior
Discount Notes" and, together with the  1995 Senior Notes,
the  "Notes"  ),  to  certain  amendments  (the  "Proposed
Amendments")  to  the  Indenture,  dated as of October  1,
1995, as amended by a supplemental indenture,  dated  July
26,  1996  (together,  the  "1995 Indenture"), between the
Company and the United States  Trust  Company  of New York
(the "Trustee"), governing the 1995 Senior Notes,  and the
Indenture,   dated  as  of  August  12,  1996  (the  "1996
Indenture" and  together  with  the  1995  Indenture,  the
"Indentures"),   between  the  Company  and  the  Trustee,
governing the 1996  Senior Discount Notes.  The purpose of
the Proposed Amendments is to permit the Company to issue,
and certain of its subsidiaries  to guarantee on a secured
basis, up to $25,000,000 of secured notes to Merrill Lynch
Global Allocation Fund, Inc. ("MLGAF"),  under  a proposed
note facility (the "MLGAF Facility") and to refinance such
indebtedness.   Capitalized terms not defined herein  have
their meanings as  set  forth  in  the Indentures, and the
descriptions  of  the  Indentures  contained   herein  are
qualified   in   their   entirety  by  reference  to  such
Indentures.

           As described below under "Current Developments;
Background  of  the  Consent   Solicitation"  the  Company
requires additional financing in  order to finance capital
expenditures  under  its current business  plan  and  fund
operating losses.  The Indentures currently permit (i) the
Company to borrow up to $25,000,000 in aggregate principal
amount at any one time  under  one  or  more  Bank  Credit
Facilities, (ii) the Company's Restricted Subsidiaries  to
guarantee  such  indebtedness,  without  such subsidiaries
guaranteeing  the  Notes  on  the same terms,  (iii)  such
indebtedness and guarantees to be secured by assets of the
Company and such subsidiaries and  (iv) dividend and other
payment   restrictions   on   the   Company's   Restricted
Subsidiaries pursuant to such indebtedness.   Although the
Company  believes that the MLGAF Facility would  represent
the best source  of  financing available to the Company at
this time, the MLGAF Facility  may not meet the definition
of  Bank Credit Facility in the Indentures.

           The  Proposed  Amendments   would   amend   the
definition  of  Bank  Credit Facility in the Indentures to
include a "Discretionary  Note Facility," and would define
"Discretionary Note Facility"  to  mean the MLGAF Facility
and any refinancings thereof.  As a result of the Proposed
Amendments, (i) indebtedness under the  MLGAF Facility and
any  refinancings  thereof, and subsidiary  guarantees  of
such  indebtedness,  would   be   included   in  Permitted
Indebtedness  under  Sections  4.08(i)  and (iii)  of  the
Indentures   (subject   to   the   $25,000,000  limitation
contained in Section 4.08(i) thereof),  (ii)  Section 4.19
of  the  1995  Indenture  and  Section  4.18  of  the 1996
Indenture  would  permit  such  subsidiaries  to guarantee
indebtedness under the MLGAF Facility and any refinancings
thereof without guaranteeing the Notes on the same  terms,
(iii)  the Liens securing such indebtedness and guarantees
thereof  would be Permitted Liens under Section 4.09(d) of
the  1995  Indenture  and  Section  4.09(e)  of  the  1996
Indenture and  (iv)  the  prohibition contained in Section
4.13  of  the  Indentures on dividend  and  other  payment
restrictions   affecting    the    Company's    Restricted
Subsidiaries  will  not  apply  to  any  such restrictions
pursuant  to  the  MLGAF  Facility  and  any  refinancings
thereof.  However, the amendment to the definition of Bank
Credit  Facility  will  not apply to Section 4.12  of  the
Indentures.  As a result, repayments of indebtedness under
the MLGAF Facility and any  refinancings  thereof from the
Net Cash Proceeds of any Asset Sales will not  be deducted
from  Net Cash Proceeds in determining Excess Proceeds  to
be used  to  make  a  Net  Proceeds  Offer to purchase the
Notes.   For  a  description  of the Proposed  Amendments,
please  refer  to  "Purpose of the  Consent  Solicitation;
Proposed Amendments" below.

           Upon approval  of  the Proposed Amendments, the
Company will seek to enter into  definitive  documentation
with  respect  to  the  MLGAF Facility and to issue  notes
thereunder in a principal  amount of $12.5 million as soon
as possible.  It is expected  that  all notes issued under
the  MLGAF  Facility  will  be secured by  assets  of  the
Company  and  guaranteed  by  certain   of  the  Company's
subsidiaries, which guarantees are expected  to be secured
by  assets  of  such subsidiaries.  The Notes will  remain
unsecured obligations  of  the  Company  and  will  not be
guaranteed by any subsidiary.

           The  initial  issuance  of notes by the Company
under  the  MLGAF  Facility  will  be  made   at   MLGAF's
discretion  and, in any event, will be subject to a number
of conditions,  and  any  additional  issuances (which the
Company expects to require prior to April 1999) under such
facility  will  be  at  the  discretion  of  Merrill,   as
described  below under "Proposed Merrill Facility."  There
can be no assurance  that MLGAF will permit the Company to
issue any notes or that  such  conditions will be met.  In
addition, the notes issued under  the  MLGAF Facility will
mature  in  April  1999,  when  the Company will  also  be
obligated to devote a substantial portion of its cash flow
to debt service on the 1995 Senior  Notes.  Default in the
payment  of  amounts  due  under the MLGAF  Facility  upon
maturity would, if in excess  of $5,000,000, constitute an
Event of Default (as defined in  the Indentures) under the
Indentures.  Following an initial  issuance of notes under
the  MLGAF  Facility, the Company will  thus  continue  to
explore various  alternatives  to  address  its short- and
long-term  capital  needs, which alternatives may  include
raising   additional   funds   through   other   financing
arrangements,  restructuring  its  existing  indebtedness,
modifying  its business  plan  or  a  combination  of  the
foregoing; BT Alex. Brown, Incorporated ("BT Alex. Brown")
has been retained  with  respect  to  these  items.   Many
factors,  some  of  which  may  be  beyond  the  Company's
control,  may affect the Company's ability to resolve  its
long-term  capital   needs.   These  factors  include  the
availability of sufficient financing  on  terms acceptable
to  the  Company;  the willingness of the holders  of  the
Company's debt securities to agree to any restructuring of
the Company's indebtedness  that  the  Company  may  seek;
prevailing  and  perceived  economic  conditions,  both in
general  and  with respect to the Company's industry;  and
other factors that could affect the Company's performance,
such as competition  or regulatory restrictions. There can
be no assurance that the  Company will be able to generate
sufficient  cash  flow  and obtain  sufficient  additional
financing  to  repay  the notes  issued  under  the  MLGAF
Facility, cover required  interest  and principal payments
when due on the 1995 Senior Notes and  resolve  its  long-
term capital needs.

           If  the  Proposed  Amendments are not approved,
the Company presently intends to seek additional financing
pursuant to a preliminary proposal   for  a facility which
would meet the Bank Credit Facility definition,  and  thus
be  permitted  under  the  Indentures,  but which would be
expected to be on terms less advantageous  to  the Company
than  the MLGAF Facility.  See "Consequence of Failure  to
Obtain the Requisite Consents."

           Approval  by the Registered Holders of at least
a majority in aggregate  principal  amount  of each of the
1995   Senior   Notes   and  1996  Senior  Discount  Notes
outstanding, and not owned  by  the  Company or any of its
Affiliates  (the  "Requisite Consents"),  is  required  to
effectuate the Proposed Amendments.  Only those persons in
whose name Notes are  registered ("Registered Holders") on
July  30,  1998  (the  "Record   Date")  in  the  registry
maintained by the Trustee under the Indentures, or persons
who  hold  valid  proxies  from  such  Registered  Holders
(collectively, the "Holders"), are eligible  to consent to
the Proposed Amendments.  The Company anticipates that the
Depository  Trust  Company  ("DTC"), as nominee Holder  of
Notes,  will execute an omnibus  proxy  in  favor  of  its
respective  participants  ("DTC  Participants") which will
authorize each DTC Participant to  execute  and  deliver a
Consent with respect to the Notes owned by it and  held in
DTC's  name.  If you are a beneficial owner of Notes  held
of record  by DTC or its nominee through a DTC Participant
and wish to  consent  to the Proposed Amendments, you must
direct the DTC Participant  through  which  your Notes are
held  in  DTC  to  execute and deliver a Consent  on  your
behalf,  pursuant  to   the  enclosed   "Instruction  From
Beneficial Owner" form or otherwise.

           As of the Record  Date,  an aggregate principal
amount   of   $150,000,000  of  1995  Senior   Notes   and
$161,708,034 (based  upon  a  July 30, 1998 accreted value
quote  of $675.89 per note and $239,252,000  in  aggregate
principal  amount  at maturity outstanding) of 1996 Senior
Discount  Notes  was outstanding  and  not  owned  by  the
Company or any of its  Affiliates.  MLGAF has informed the
Company that it and another fund that is  co-managed  with
MLGAF own $47.43 million aggregate principal amount,    or
approximately 32%, of the outstanding principal amount, of
the  1995  Senior   Notes  and  $38.25  million  aggregate
principal amount at maturity,  or approximately 16% of the
outstanding  principal amount at  maturity,  of  the  1996
Senior Discount  Notes.  Investment funds that are managed
by  the  investment   advisor   for  MLGAF  may  own,  and
affiliates of the investment advisor  may  own, additional
interests  in  the 1995 Senior Notes and the  1996  Senior
Discount   Notes.   In  addition,   an   investment   fund
affiliated  with   BT   Alex.  Brown  owns  $2.02  million
aggregate principal amount,  or  approximately  1%, of the
outstanding principal amount, of the 1995 Senior Notes and
$8.25  million aggregate principal amount at maturity,  or
approximately  4%  of  the outstanding principal amount at
maturity, of the 1996 Senior  Discount  Notes.   All  such
funds  described  above  are  being  solicited  for  their
Consents  to  the  Proposed  Amendments  pursuant  to this
Consent solicitation.  Any investment decision to be  made
by the investment funds that are managed by the investment
advisor  for  MLGAF  or  any affiliates of such investment
advisor are not subject to  the  control  of  MLGAF and no
inference   should   be   drawn   that,   because  of  the
relationship between such investment funds  or  affiliates
and  MLGAF,  such investment funds or affiliates are  more
likely than not to deliver Consents.

           This  Consent  solicitation will expire at 5:00
p.m., New York City time, on   August 13, 1998, unless the
Company, in its sole discretion,  extends or abandons this
solicitation.  If, and as soon as,  the Requisite Consents
are received (which may be prior to the expiration of this
Consent solicitation), the Company and  the  Trustee  will
execute the Supplemental Indentures effecting the Proposed
Amendments,  whereupon  the  Proposed  Amendments  will be
binding  upon  each  Holder,  whether  or  not such Holder
delivered its Consent.  This Consent solicitation  may  be
abandoned  by  the  Company  at  any  time  prior  to  the
execution  of  the Supplemental Indentures for any reason,
in which case all Consents will be voided.

           The  Consents   are   being  solicited  by  the
Company,  which  will  pay  all  costs   of   the  Consent
solicitation.   BT  Alex. Brown, as part of its engagement
as  the  Company's financial  advisor,  will  aid  in  the
solicitation  of Consents.  United States Trust Company of
New York, the Trustee, will act as Tabulation Agent in the
solicitation of  Consents.  No consent fee will be paid to
consenting Holders.


BUSINESS OF THE COMPANY

           The Company  is  engaged  in  the  business  of
developing, owning and operating wireless cable television
systems  and a high-speed, two-way Internet access product
and marketing direct-to-home satellite products, primarily
in select southern and southeastern United States markets.

           Beginning  in  the  third  quarter of 1997, the
Company  has focused its marketing efforts  on  developing
its new long-term  cooperative  marketing  agreement  with
DirecTV    (the    "DirecTV   Agreement")   which   offers
subscription video services  to  multiple  dwelling  units
(MDUs).  In April 1998, the Company announced an agreement
to  expand  the  DirecTV Agreement to include marketing of
DirecTV program offerings  to  single  family units (SFUs)
located  in  the Company's markets and determined  to  de-
emphasize the growth of its traditional wireless video SFU
business, as a  result  of  which  the  Company  does  not
currently  plan  to  launch  new  systems focused on SFUs.
Accordingly,  the  Company  implemented   changes  to  its
business   operations   to  reduce  personnel  and   other
operating expenses to the  levels  needed to implement its
refocused business objectives, including  the  elimination
of over 45% of the Company's 900 employees.

           While   managing   its   core   wireless  video
subscription  business, the Company has devoted  resources
to the development  of new products to generate additional
revenue streams, while providing economies of scale of its
existing wireless spectrum and system infrastructure.  The
Company has developed,  and  in the second quarter of 1998
began  the  commercial  launch  of,   a  two-way  wireless
Internet access product.

           For additional information about  the Company's
business  and  strategy,  please  refer  to  the Company's
public filings which are incorporated herein by reference.
See  "Incorporation  of  Certain  Documents  by Reference;
Available Information."


CURRENT    DEVELOPMENTS;   BACKGROUND   OF   THE   CONSENT
SOLICITATION

           Historically,   the   Company   has   sustained
substantial  net  losses, primarily due to fixed operating
costs associated with  the  development  of  its  systems,
interest   expense   and   charges  for  depreciation  and
amortization.  Net losses are  expected to continue as the
Company  focuses its resources on  the  marketing  of  its
DirecTV MDU  and  SFU  products and the development of its
Internet access product  and  as  additional  systems  are
commenced  or  acquired.   The  Company's revised business
plan  for  the  remainder  of  1998 reflects  a  net  cash
requirement of approximately $15.7  million to finance the
launch  and  buildout  of  additional video  and  Internet
systems,  fund  operating losses  and  meet  certain  debt
obligations in 1998.   The  Company  will  also require an
estimated $11.6 million in additional capital  funding  to
meet its estimated cash requirements for the first quarter
of  1999.   In addition, the Company must raise additional
capital or generate  sufficient  operating  cash  flow  to
satisfy  its  future  debt service obligations on its 1995
Senior Notes, which require  semi-annual interest payments
of $9.8 million beginning in April 1999.

           In April 1998, the  Company  retained  BT Alex.
Brown  as  its financial advisor to evaluate the Company's
capital structure  and  to  make recommendations regarding
financial  options available to  the  Company.   Following
such retention,  BT  Alex. Brown was authorized to explore
(i) a possible borrowing  by  the  Company  of  up  to $33
million,  as  permitted  by  the  terms of the Indentures,
which  amount was believed to be sufficient  to  meet  the
Company's  capital  and  liquidity  requirements until May
1999, and (ii) other financing alternatives, including the
issuance of additional debt or equity  securities and/or a
restructuring of the Company's existing  indebtedness,  in
order  to  provide  the Company with sufficient capital to
carry  out its revised  business  plan.   BT  Alex.  Brown
approached  approximately  40  banks  and  other financial
institutions  as  possible  lenders to the Company,  as  a
result of which it received (i) a proposal from MLGAF with
respect  to  the MLGAF Facility  and  (ii)  a  preliminary
proposal from  another  financial institution with respect
to a senior secured credit  facility,  which would qualify
as  a  Bank  Credit  Facility  within the meaning  of  the
Indentures, and thus not require  approval of the Holders,
but  which  was  proposed  on terms which  would  be  less
advantageous to the Company.   In  light of the foregoing,
the  Company  determined  to seek to negotiate  agreements
with  MLGAF  providing  for the  MLGAF  Facility  and  the
commencement of a solicitation  of  the consent of Holders
in order to permit the Company to borrow  funds  under the
MLGAF Facility.  See "Purpose of the Consent Solicitation;
Proposed Amendments" and "Consequence of Failure to obtain
Requisite Consents."

PROPOSED MLGAF FACILITY

           General.   The  Company is seeking to secure  a
commitment for the MLGAF Facility  on  terms substantially
similar  to  those  described  below.  The MLGAF  Facility
will, if obtained, be discretionary  and  there  can be no
assurance  that  MLGAF  will purchase any notes thereunder
or, if notes are purchased,  that  the  terms of the MLGAF
Facility  will  not  vary from the terms described  below.
Depending on the manner  in  which  the terms of the final
MLGAF  Facility vary from the terms described  below,  the
Company  reserves  the  right  to  take such actions as it
deems  necessary  or  appropriate  with   respect  to  the
Holders,  which  could, but will not necessarily,  include
seeking to resolicit Consents.

           The Company anticipates that the MLGAF Facility
will provide for up  to  $25  million in availability on a
senior secured guaranteed basis  through  note  purchases,
which  note purchases shall be made at the sole discretion
of MLGAF.   The  Company  expects  the  MLGAF  Facility to
accrue  interest  at  a rate of 13% per annum, payable  at
maturity, which is expected  to  be  April  15, 1999.  The
Company  also  anticipates  that  MLGAF  will require  the
payment of a facility fee of 5% of the principal amount of
the initial note purchase and a facility fee of 5% or more
on the principal amount of each subsequent  note purchase.
Repayment of the notes is also expected to be  guaranteed,
on  a secured basis, by each of the Company's present  and
future material subsidiaries.

           Security.   MLGAF  has requested that the MLGAF
Facility be secured by all stock  of the Company's present
and future material subsidiaries, and  such  other present
and   future  material  property  and  assets,  real   and
personal,  of  the  Company  and its subsidiaries as MLGAF
shall request.

           Warrants   for  Company   Stock.    MLGAF   has
requested  to receive seven-year  detachable  warrants  to
purchase a "pro  rata  portion"  of  7.5% of the Company's
common stock on a fully diluted basis, exercisable at 110%
of the market price per share at the time  of  issuance of
the  initial note.  Such warrants would contain usual  and
customary    registration    rights    and   anti-dilution
provisions.   "Pro  rata  portion"  means a  fraction  the
numerator  of  which is equal to the face  amount  of  the
notes issued on  each issuance date and the denominator of
which is equal to $25 million.

           Redemption. The Company believes that the notes
issued under the MLGAF Facility will be subject to certain
mandatory    and    optional     redemption    provisions.
Specifically,   the  Company  expects   that   outstanding
principal and interest  would  be  redeemed  at  par  upon
receipt  of net cash proceeds from, among other items, (i)
the issuance  of additional debt or equity permitted under
the  note  purchase   documentation   and   (ii)   certain
extraordinary  non-recurring, non-operating receipts.   In
addition,  it is  anticipated  that  the  notes  would  be
redeemable,  in  whole  or  in  part,  at  any time at the
Company's  option  at  102%  of the principal amount  plus
accrued  interest  prior  to  March   1,  1999;  provided,
however,  that  each  partial redemption would  be  in  an
amount of $250,000 or an  integral  multiple of $50,000 in
excess thereof.

           Representations and Warranties;  Covenants  and
Events  of Default; Conditions for Initial Borrowing.  The
Company anticipates  that  the MLGAF Facility will contain
representations   and   warranties    including,   without
limitation, the absence of any material  adverse change in
the   business,   condition   (financial   or  otherwise),
operations,  performance, properties or prospects  of  the
Company since  May  15,  1998  (the  date of the filing of
Wireless  One's  quarterly  report on Form  10-Q  for  the
quarter  ended  March  31,  1998).    The   Company   also
anticipates   that   the   MLGAF   Facility  will  contain
affirmative and negative covenants and  events  of default
that are usual and customary for a note purchase  facility
of  this type.  In addition, the Company anticipates  that
the  MLGAF   Facility   will   contain   certain  standard
conditions  to  the  initial  issuance  of notes  and  any
subsequent  issuances  of  notes  and that all  such  note
issuances,  if  any,  will  be at the sole  discretion  of
MLGAF.

PURPOSE OF THE CONSENT SOLICITATION; PROPOSED AMENDMENTS

           The purpose of the  Consent  Solicitation is to
amend the Indentures to permit the Company  to  issue on a
secured  basis,  and the Company's Restricted Subsidiaries
to guarantee on a  secured  basis  the  issuance of, up to
$25,000,000 of notes to MLGAF under the MLGAF Facility and
any refinancings thereof, in order to permit  the  Company
to  utilize  what  it  believes  to  be the best source of
financing available to it at this time  and  to provide it
with the flexibility to refinance such indebtedness on the
best terms then available, irrespective of the  source  of
such refinancing.

             As  previously  noted,  the  Indentures would
permit  the Company to utilize the MLGAF Facility  if  the
facility  were a Bank Credit Facility as currently defined
in the Indentures:  Section 4.08 of the Indentures permits
the Company  to  borrow  up  to  $25,000,000  in aggregate
principal  amount  at any one time under one or more  Bank
Credit   Facilities   and    the    Company's   Restricted
Subsidiaries to guarantee such indebtedness,  and  Section
4.19  of  the  1995 Indenture and Section 4.18 of the 1996
Indenture permit  the Company's Restricted Subsidiaries to
guarantee such indebtedness without guaranteeing the Notes
on the same terms;  Section 4.09 permits such indebtedness
and guarantees to be  secured by assets of the Company and
such subsidiaries and Section  4.13  permits  dividend and
other   payment   restrictions   affecting  the  Company's
Restricted  Subsidiaries  pursuant to  such  indebtedness.
Bank Credit Facility is defined  in  the Indentures as one
or more term or revolving credit facilities,  entered into
with any commercial banks, financial institutions or other
lenders,  "of  the  type  customarily  entered  into  with
commercial banks" and any renewals, refundings, extensions
or  replacements  of  any such credit facilities, provided
that such renewals, refundings, extensions or replacements
comply with the definition  of Bank Credit Facility."  The
MLGAF  Facility  may not meet the  definition  of  a  Bank
Credit Facility.

           The  Proposed   Amendments   would   amend  the
definition  of  Bank Credit Facility in the Indentures  to
include a "Discretionary  Note Facility," and would define
"Discretionary Note Facility"  to  mean the MLGAF Facility
and any refinancings thereof.  As a result of the Proposed
Amendments, (i) indebtedness under the  MLGAF Facility and
any  refinancings  thereof, and subsidiary  guarantees  of
such  indebtedness,  would   be   included   in  Permitted
Indebtedness  under  Sections  4.08(i)  and (iii)  of  the
Indentures   (subject   to   the   $25,000,000  limitation
contained in Section 4.08(i) thereof),  (ii)  Section 4.19
of  the  1995  Indenture  and  Section  4.18  of  the 1996
Indenture  would  permit  such  subsidiaries  to guarantee
indebtedness under the MLGAF Facility and any refinancings
thereof without guaranteeing the Notes on the same  terms,
(iii)  the Liens securing such indebtedness and guarantees
thereof  would be Permitted Liens under Section 4.09(d) of
the  1995  Indenture  and  Section  4.09(e)  of  the  1996
Indenture and  (iv)  the  prohibition contained in Section
4.13  of  the  Indentures on dividend  and  other  payment
restrictions   affecting    the    Company's    Restricted
Subsidiaries  will  not  apply  to  any  such restrictions
pursuant  to  the  MLGAF  Facility  and  any  refinancings
thereof.  However, the amendment to the definition of Bank
Credit  Facility  will  not apply to Section 4.12  of  the
Indentures.  As a result, repayments of indebtedness under
the MLGAF Facility and any  refinancing  thereof  from the
Net  Cash Proceeds of any Asset Sales will not be deducted
from Net  Cash  Proceeds in determining Excess Proceeds to
be used to make a  Net  Proceeds  Offer  to  purchase  the
Notes.

           Specifically,  the  Proposed  Amendments  would
add  a  definition  of  Discretionary Note Facility to the
Indentures to read substantially as follows:

     "DISCRETIONARY NOTE  FACILITY"   means  a purchase or
     other  agreement  entered  into with one or  more  of
     Merrill Lynch Global Allocation  Fund,  Inc.  and any
     renewals,   extensions,   substitutions,  refundings,
     refinancing   or   replacements    (collectively,   a
     "refinancing")  of  such  agreement,  including   any
     successive  refinancing  (as  such  agreement, or any
     agreement  relating  to  any  refinancing,   may   be
     amended,  modified, supplemented or otherwise changed
     from time to time) so long as the aggregate principal
     amount of Indebtedness  represented  thereby  is  not
     increased   by   such   refinancing   (or,   if  said
     Indebtedness  provides  for  an amount less than  the
     principal amount thereof to be due and payable upon a
     declaration of acceleration of  the maturity thereof,
     not greater than such lesser amount)  plus the lesser
     of  (i)  the  stated amount of any premium  or  other
     payment required to be paid in connection with such a
     refinancing pursuant to the terms of the Indebtedness
     being refinanced  or  (ii)  the  amount of premium or
     other payment actually paid at such time to refinance
     the Indebtedness, plus, in either case, the amount of
     expenses of the Company incurred in  connection  with
     such refinancing of such agreement."

           The  Proposed  Amendments  would also amend the
definition  of Bank Credit Facility in the  Indentures  to
read substantially  as  follows (new language is indicated
by bolding and double-underlining):

           "BANK CREDIT FACILITY"  means  (I)  one or more
     credit  facilities  (whether  a  term  or a revolving
     facility), of the type customarily entered  into with
     commercial banks, between the Company or any  of  its
     Restricted  Subsidiaries,  on  the  one hand, and any
     commercial  banks,  financial institutions  or  other
     lenders,  on  the  other   hand  (and  any  renewals,
     refundings, extensions or replacements  of  any  such
     credit   facilities,  PROVIDED  that  such  renewals,
     refundings,  extensions  or  replacements comply with
     this definition of "BANK CREDIT FACILITY"), with Bank
     Credit Facilities are by their  terms designated as a
     "Bank Credit Facility" for purposes of this Indenture
     AND/OR (II), OTHER THAN FOR PURPOSES OF SECTION 4.12,
     A DISCRETIONARY NOTE FACILITY.

CONSEQUENCE OF FAILURE TO OBTAIN THE REQUISITE CONSENTS

           If  the  Company  is  unable  to   obtain   the
Requisite  Consents,  it will not be able to seek to issue
notes under the MLGAF Facility  and  will seek to pursue a
financing, on the best terms that it could then negotiate,
pursuant to a preliminary proposal received  from  another
financial  institution  with  respect  to a senior secured
credit facility.  Such financing facility would qualify as
a  Bank  Credit  Facility  within  the  meaning   of   the
Indentures,  and thus not require approval of Holders, but
was proposed on  terms which would be less advantageous to
the Company.  The  proposal  was not a commitment but only
an expression of interest as of  the  date  received,  and
there can be no assurance that a financing would be agreed
between the parties or, if agreed, thereafter consummated.
If  the  Company  cannot obtain financing pursuant to such
facility or otherwise,  the  Company  would be required to
revise its current business plan; as a  result,  to reduce
its  operating  expenses  and  capital  expenditures,  the
Company  may not be able to continue to launch new systems
or  to further  develop  its  Internet  product,  and  its
DirecTV  MDU  and  SFU products may be curtailed.  Even if
such financing were  obtained, it would, as with the MLGAF
Facility, be on a short-term  basis, requiring refinancing
or restructuring prior to April  1999,  when  the  Company
will  be obligated to devote a substantial portion of  its
cash flow  to  debt service on the 1995 Senior Notes.  The
Company would thus,  whether  or  not  such financing were
obtained, be required to continue to seek  alternatives to
address its need for funds to cover required  interest and
principal payments when due on the 1995 Senior  Notes,  to
the  extent  not provided from operating cash flow, and to
resolve its long-term  capital  needs,  as described above
under  "Current  Developments; Background of  the  Consent
Solicitation.

PROCEDURES FOR DELIVERING CONSENTS; REVOCATION OF CONSENTS

           IF YOU  ARE  A  REGISTERED HOLDER OF NOTES, AND
WISH TO DELIVER A CONSENT, PLEASE  COMPLETE  (MARKING  THE
"CONSENT"  BOX), SIGN AND DATE THE ENCLOSED CONSENT LETTER
AND MAIL, HAND DELIVER OR SEND IT BY OVERNIGHT COURIER, IN
THE ENCLOSED ENVELOPE, TO THE TABULATION AGENT:

           (I)  IF BY MAIL, to United States Trust Company
of New York, P.O.  Box  843,  Cooper Station, New York, NY
10276, Attn: Corporate Trust Services;

           (ii)  IF  BY HAND DELIVERY,  to  United  States
Trust Company of New York,  111  Broadway,  New  York,  NY
10006, Attn: Lower Level Corporate Trust Window; or

           (iii)  IF  BY  OVERNIGHT COURIER, United States
Trust  Company  of New York,  770  Broadway,  13th  Floor,
Corporate Trust Services, New York, NY 10003).

          CONSENT  LETTERS  MAY  ALSO BE FAXED TO THE
TABULATION AGENT AT 212-780-0592;  HOWEVER,  ORIGINAL
COPIES  OF  SUCH  CONSENT LETTERS MUST THEREAFTER  BE
DELIVERED TO THE TABULATION BY MAIL, HAND DELIVERY OR
OVERNIGHT COURIER.   If  neither  of the boxes on the
Consent  Letter is marked but the Consent  Letter  is
otherwise  properly completed and signed, you will be
deemed to have  consented to the Proposed Amendments.
The Consent Letter  must  be  executed in exactly the
same manner as your name appears  on  the Notes. If a
Consent  is  signed by a trustee, partner,  executor,
administrator,  guardian  , attorney-in-fact, officer
of  a  corporation  or  other  person   acting  in  a
fiduciary  or  representative  capacity, such  person
must so indicate when signing and  must  submit  with
the  Consent Letter appropriate evidence of authority
to execute the Consent Letter.

           If  you are a beneficial owner of Notes held of
record by DTC or its nominee through a DTC Participant and
wish to consent  to  the  Proposed  Amendments,  you  must
direct  the  DTC  Participant through which your Notes are
held in DTC to execute  and  deliver  a  Consent  on  your
behalf,   pursuant  to  the  enclosed   "Instruction  From
Beneficial   Owner"   form   or   otherwise.  The  Company
anticipates that the Depository Trust  Company ("DTC"), as
nominee Holder of Notes, will execute an  omnibus proxy in
favor of its respective participants ("DTC  Participants")
which will authorize each DTC Participant to  execute  and
deliver  a  Consent  with respect to the Notes owned by it
and held in DTC's name.

           You may revoke  a  Consent at any time prior to
execution  of  the  applicable Supplemental  Indenture  by
delivering (if you are a Registered Holder) or instructing
the DTC Participant through  which  your Notes are held to
deliver (if you are a beneficial owner  of  Notes  held of
record by DTC or its nominee through a DTC Participant), a
Consent Letter marked with a specification (i.e. "Consent"
or  "Does  Not Consent") different from that set forth  on
the Consent  Letter  as  to  which the revocation is being
given  and  containing the serial  numbers  and  principal
amounts of the  Notes  to  which  such revocation relates,
executed as described above.  A revocation  of  a  Consent
shall be effective only as to the Notes listed.

           All  questions  as  to  the  validity, form and
revocation of Consents will be determined  by  the Company
in  its  sole  discretion,  which  determination  will  be
conclusive and binding subject to such final review as may
be prescribed by the Trustee concerning proof of execution
and  ownership.  The Company reserves the right to contest
the validity  of any revocation and, subject to such final
review as the Trustee  prescribes  for  proof of execution
and  ownership, to waive any defects or irregularities  in
connection  with  deliveries of particular Consents.  Each
properly completed and executed Consent Letter (or Consent
Letter with respect to which any defects or irregularities
have  been  waived  by   the  Company)  will  be  counted,
notwithstanding any transfer  of  the  Notes to which such
Consent   relates,  unless  the  procedure  for   revoking
Consents as been followed with respect to such Notes.

INCORPORATION OF CERTAIN DOCUMENTS BY REFERENCE; AVAILABLE
INFORMATION

           The  Company  is  subject  to the informational
requirements of the Securities Exchange  Act  of  1934, as
amended   (the   "Exchange   Act"),   and,  in  accordance
therewith,  files reports and other information  with  the
Securities and  Exchange  Commission  (the  "Commission").
Such  reports  and  other  information  can  be inspected,
without charge, and copied at the Public Reference Section
of  the  Commission  located  at  450  Fifth  Street,  NW,
Washington,  D.C.  20549  and at regional public reference
facilities  maintained  by  the   Commission   located  at
Citicorp  Center,  500  West  Madison Street, Suite  1400,
Chicago,  Illinois  60661 and Seven  World  Trade  Center,
Suite 1300, New York,  New  York  10048.  Copies  of  such
material can be obtained from the Public Reference Section
of  the  Commission at prescribed rates. Such material may
also  be  accessed   electronically   by   means   of  the
Commission's web site (http://www.sec.gov).

           The  following  documents  filed by the Company
with the Commission are incorporated herein  by  reference
and shall be deemed to be a part hereof:


           1.   Annual Report of the Company on Form  10-K
              for the fiscal year ended December 31, 1997;
              and

           2.  Quarterly Report of the Company on Form 10-
              Q for  the  fiscal  quarter  ended March 31,
              1998.

           All documents and reports filed by  the Company
with  the Commission pursuant to Section 13(a), 13(c),  14
or 15(d)  of  the  Exchange  Act  after  the  date of this
Consent  Solicitation  Statement  and on or prior  to  the
completion  or  termination  of  the Consent  solicitation
shall be deemed incorporated herein by reference and shall
be deemed to be a part hereof from  the  date of filing of
such documents and reports. Any statement  contained  in a
document  incorporated  or  deemed  to  be incorporated by
reference  herein  shall  be  deemed  to  be  modified  or
superseded for purposes of this letter to the extent  that
a  statement contained herein or in any subsequently filed
document  or  report  that  also  is  or  is  deemed to be
incorporated  by  reference  herein modifies or supersedes
such  statement.  Any  such  statement   so   modified  or
superseded  shall not be deemed, except as so modified  or
superseded, to constitute a part of this letter.

           The Company will provide you with a copy of any
or all of the  documents  relating to the Company that are
incorporated herein by reference  except  the  exhibits to
such  documents  (unless  such  exhibits  are specifically
incorporated  by  reference  in  such documents),  without
charge, upon your oral or written  request  to the Company
at  Wireless  One,  Inc., 1080 River Oaks Drive,  #A  150,
Jackson, MS 39208, Attn:  Henry  G.  Schopfer (Phone: 601-
936-1515) or to BT Alex. Brown Incorporated at 1290 Avenue
of the Americas, 10th Floor, New York,  NY 10104, Attn: J.
Blake O'Dowd (Phone: 212-237-2428).

           No  person  has  been authorized  to  give  any
information or make any representations  other  than those
contained or incorporated by reference in this letter and,
if given or made, such information or representations must
not  be  relied  upon  as  having  been  authorized by the
Company. The delivery of this letter at any  time does not
imply  that  the information herein is correct as  of  any
time subsequent to its date.

           Questions  regarding  the  Consent solicitation
and the terms and conditions thereof should be directed to
the Company (c/o Henry G. Schopfer at 601-936-1515)  or BT
Alex.   Brown  (c/o  J.  Blake  O'Dowd  at  212-237-2428).
Questions  about  Consent  delivery  should be directed to
United States Trust Company of New York at 1-800-548-6565.


                                 Sincerely,

                                 /s/ Wireless One, Inc.

                                 Wireless One, Inc.

                   CONSENT LETTER
                   WITH RESPECT TO
      13% SENIOR NOTES DUE OCTOBER 15, 2003 AND
13 1/2 % SENIOR DISCOUNT NOTES DUE AUGUST 1, 2006 OF
                 WIRELESS ONE, INC.


           This Consent Letter relates to the solicitation
of Consents described in the letter to holders of Notes
from Wireless One, Inc., dated July 30, 1998 (the
"Wireless Letter").  Capitalized terms used herein but not
defined have the meaning given to them in the Wireless
Letter.

           The undersigned is a Registered  Holder  of 13%
Senior  Notes  due  October  15,  2003  (the  "1995 Senior
Notes"),  issued under the Indenture, dated as of  October
1, 1995, as  amended  by  a  supplemental indenture, dated
July  26, 1996 (together, the "1995  Indenture"),  between
the Company  and  the  United  States Trust Company of New
York  (the "Trustee"), and/or 13  1/2  %  Senior  Discount
Notes due August 1, 2006 (the "1996 Senior Discount Notes"
and, together  with  the 1995 Senior Notes, the "Notes" ),
issued under the Indenture,  dated  as  of August 12, 1996
(the   "1996   Indenture"  and  together  with  the   1995
Indenture, the "Indentures"),  between the Company and the
Trustee.   The  CUSIP No. for the  1995  Senior  Notes  is
97652H-AB-5; the  CUSIP  No.  for the 1996 Senior Discount
Notes is 97652H-AC-3 (although  the  undersigned  may hold
such Notes as part of units, which include the 1996 Senior
Discount  Notes  and  warrants  to  purchase shares of the
Company's common stock; in which case,  the  CUSIP No. for
such units is 97652H-AD-1).

           As a Registered Holder of such Notes, the
undersigned hereby:

           CONSENTS ___          DOES NOT CONSENT ___

to the proposed amendments (the "Proposed Amendments")  to
the  Indentures  described  in the Wireless Letter.  If no
election  is  specified above,  this  Consent  Letter,  if
otherwise properly  completed and signed, will be deemed a
Consent to the Proposed  Amendments.  By execution hereof,
the  undersigned  acknowledges  receipt  of  the  Wireless
Letter.

           Unless otherwise  specified in the table below,
this Consent Letter relates to  the total principal amount
of  Notes  of  which  the undersigned  is  the  Registered
Holder.  If this Consent  Letter  relates to less than the
total  principal  amount  of  Notes  registered   in   the
undersigned's  name,  the  undersigned  has  listed on the
table  below the certificate numbers and principal  amount
of each  issue of Notes with respect to which this Consent
is given.

           A  Consent  hereby given, if effective, will be
binding  upon  the undersigned  and  upon  any  subsequent
transferee or transferees  of  such Notes, subject only to
revocation  by  the  delivery  of a  later  dated  Consent
Letter, executed and delivered in  the manner described in
the Wireless Letter.

           THIS CONSENT LETTER, FULLY  EXECUTED, SHOULD BE
DELIVER  BY  MAIL, HAND DELIVERY OR OVERNIGHT  COURIER  TO
UNITED STATES TRUST COMPANY OF NEW YORK.


IF BY HAND DELIVERY,             IF BY MAIL,                      IF BY OVERNIGHT COURIER,
111 Broadway                     P.O. Box 843                     770 Broadway
New York, NY 10006               Cooper Station                   13th Floor
Attn: Lower Level Corporate      New York, NY 10276               Corporate Trust Services
Trust Window                     Attn: Corporate Trust Services   New York, NY 10003

          THIS  CONSENT  LETTER,  FULLY EXECUTED, MAY
ALSO BE FAXED TO UNITED STATES TRUST  COMPANY  OF NEW
YORK  AT  212-780-0592; HOWEVER, AN ORIGINAL COPY  OF
THE CONSENT  LETTER  MUST  THEREAFTER BE DELIVERED TO
UNITED STATES TRUST COMPANY BY MAIL, HAND DELIVERY OR
OVERNIGHT COURIER.  Questions  about Consent delivery
may be directed to United States  Trust Company at 1-
800-548-6565.




SIGN HERE


(Signature(s) of Holder(s))

Dated:
Name(s)

(Please Print)

Capacity (full title):
Address:

(Include Zip Code)

Area Code and Telephone No.:


             IMPORTANT - READ CAREFULLY

           If the Notes are held by two or more Registered
Holders,  all  such Holders must sign this Consent Letter.
If signature is  by  a  trustee,  executor, administrator,
guardian, attorney-in-fact, officer  or  a  corporation or
other  person  acting  in  a  fiduciary  or representative
capacity, such person should so indicate when  signing and
must submit proper evidence satisfactory to the Company of
such person's authority to act.

  TABLE FOR USE IF CONSENT RELATES TO LESS THAN THE
 TOTAL PRINCIPAL AMOUNT OF ALL NOTES HELD BY HOLDER


                               DESCRIPTION OF NOTES AS TO WHICH CONSENTS ARE GIVEN


NAME(S) AND ADDRESS(ES)        TITLE OF ISSUE        CERTIFICATE NUMBER(S)  PRINCIPAL AMOUNT   PRINCIPAL AMOUNT
OF REGISTERED HOLDER(S)                                  AND AGGREGATE          OF NOTES         OF NOTES WITH
                                                                             REPRESENTED BY    RESPECT TO WHICH
                                                                             CERTIFICATE(S)<dagger> CONSENTS ARE
                                                                                                    GIVEN*<dagger>
                                 13% SENIOR
                                  NOTES DUE
                              OCTOBER 15, 2003
                                 (CUSIP NO.
                                97652H-AB-5)
                                 13 1/2 % SENIOR
                               DISCOUNT NOTES
                              DUE APRIL 1, 2006
                                 (CUSIP NO.
                               97652H-AC-3)**

* If this Consent Letter relates to less than entire aggregate principal amount registered in the name of the Registered Holder(s), list the certificate number(s) and the principal amounts of Notes to which this Consent Letter relates. Otherwise, this Consent Letter will be deemed to relate to the entire aggregate principal amount of Notes registered in the name of such Registered Holder(s)."
<dagger>   Principal amount, as it pertains to the 13 1/2% Senior Discount
    Notes due April 1, 2006, should be the principal amount at maturity. **Some Registered Holders hold their 13 1/2 % Senior Discount Notes due
  April 1, 2006 as part of units (which include such Notes and warrants to purchase shares of the Company's common stock). The CUSIP No. for such units is 97652H-AD-1.

               WIRELESS ONE, INC.

         INSTRUCTIONS FROM BENEFICIAL OWNER

    REGARDING DELIVERY OF CONSENT WITH RESPECT TO

    13% SENIOR NOTES DUE OCTOBER 15, 2003 AND/OR
  13 1/2 % SENIOR DISCOUNT NOTES DUE AUGUST 1, 2006

           Wireless One, Inc. (the "Company"), pursuant to
a  letter dated July 30, 1998 (the "Wireless Letter"),  is
soliciting  the  consent  (the  "Consent")  of  Registered
Holders  (as  defined  in  the  Wireless  Letter)  of  the
Company's 13% Senior Notes due October 15, 2003 (the "1995
Senior  Notes")  and  13  1/2  % Senior Discount Notes due
August  1,  2006 (the "1996 Senior  Discount  Notes"  and,
together with  the  1995  Senior  Notes,  the  "Notes") to
certain  amendments  (the  "Proposed  Amendments") to  the
Indenture dated as of October 1, 1995,  as  amended  by  a
supplemental indenture, dated July 26, 1996 (together, the
"1995  Indenture"),  between  the  Company  and the United
States   Trust   Company  of  New  York  (the  "Trustee"),
governing the 1995  Senior Notes, and the Indenture, dated
as of August 12, 1996  (the  "1996 Indenture" and together
with  the 1995 Indenture, the "Indentures"),  between  the
Company   and  the  Trustee,  governing  the  1996  Senior
Discount Notes, described in the Wireless Letter.

           The  CUSIP  No.  for  the  1995 Senior Notes is
97652H-AB-5;  the CUSIP No. for the 1996  Senior  Discount
Notes is 97652H-AC-3  (although  the  undersigned may hold
such Notes as part of units, which include the 1996 Senior
Discount  Notes  and warrants to purchase  shares  of  the
Company's common stock;  in  which case, the CUSIP No. for
such units is 97652H-AD-1).

           As the beneficial owner  of the Notes listed on
Exhibit  A  attached  hereto  and incorporated  herein  by
reference,  of  which you are either  (i)  the  Registered
Holder  or (ii) a  DTC  Participant  (as  defined  in  the
Wireless  Letter)  and  authorized to execute the Consent,
the  undersigned  hereby authorizes  and  directs  you  to
execute and deliver  the Consent with respect to the Notes
beneficially owned by the undersigned (and as to which you
are such Registered Holder or DTC Participant) to evidence
the  consent  of  the  undersigned  with  respect  to  the
Proposed Amendments to the  Indenture(s).  You are further
authorized and directed to take  all such other or further
action as may be necessary to carry out and effectuate the
purpose and intent of these instruction.

                           SIGN

Signature(s):

Name(s) (please print):

Address:

Telephone Number:

Date:

                                               EXHIBIT A

                        NOTES AS TO WHICH CONSENTS TO THE PROPOSED AMENDMENTS
                           ARE TO BE DELIVERED, UNLESS OTHERWISE INDICATED



                                                                      Consent is to be given to
            Title of                                                   the Proposed Amendments
              Issue                     Principal Amount*<dagger>         ("Yes" or "No")*
        13% Senior Notes
               due
        October 15, 2003
            CUSIP No.
           97652H-AB-5
         13 1/2% Senior
       Discount Notes due
          April 1, 2006
            CUSIP No.
          97652H-AC-3**


* Unless otherwise indicated, "Yes" will be assumed as to all Notes held by you for the undersigned's account.
<dagger>  Principal amount, as it pertains to the 13 1/2% Senior Discount
          Notes due April 1, 2006, should be the principal amount at maturity. **Some Registered Holders hold their 13 1/2 % Senior Discount Notes due
  April 1, 2006 as part of units (which include such Notes and warrants to purchase shares of the Company's common stock). The CUSIP No. for such units is 97652H-AD-1.