HOME BANCORP/IN (CIK 916822)
Form 10-Q
period 1998-12-31
filed 1999-02-11

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                             WASHINGTON, D.C. 20594



                                   FORM 10-Q



               QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15 (D)
                     OF THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934
                     --------------------------------------



For Quarter Ended                                            Commission File No.
December 31, 1998                                            0-22376

                                  HOME BANCORP
             ------------------------------------------------------
             (exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)


Indiana                                                      35-1906765
------------------------------                               -------------------
(State or other Jurisdiction of                              (I.R.S. Employer
Incorporation or Organization)                               Identification No.)


132 East Berry Street,
P.O. Box 989, Fort Wayne, Indiana                            46801-0989
----------------------------------                           -------------------
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

                       Yes [ X ]   No  [  ]


As of December 31, 1998, there were 3,380,315 shares of common stock issued and 2,185,310 shares outstanding.
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

                Consolidated Balance Sheets as of December 31, 1998 and December 31, 1997

                Consolidated Statements of Income for the three months ended December 31, 1998 and 1997

                Consolidated Statements of Cash Flow for the
                three months ended December 31, 1998 and 1997

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

CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
AS OF DECEMBER 31, 1998 (unaudited) and SEPTEMBER 30, 1998




                                                                 (unaudited)
                                ASSETS                       December 31, 1998             September 30, 1998
                                                             -----------------             ------------------
Cash on hand and in other banks ...........................     $   1,803,293               $   1,643,168
Interest earning deposits in other banks ..................        14,888,733                  11,722,658
Federal funds sold ........................................        14,500,000                  10,000,000
                                                                -------------               -------------
Cash and cash equivalents .................................        31,192,026                  23,365,826
Investment securities available for sale ..................         3,073,437                   5,137,187
Investment securities held to maturity
     (Market value $8,140,625; $12,195,000) ...............         8,023,121                  12,024,247
Loans receivable, net
     (Allowance for loan losses $1,390,989; $1,390,389) ...       332,422,204                 324,187,601
Federal Home Loan Bank stock ..............................         2,782,500                   2,782,500
Accrued interest receivable ...............................         1,749,299                   1,948,771
Bank premises & equipment .................................         2,926,677                   2,804,550
Intangible assets .........................................              --                          --
Foreclosed real estate, net ...............................              --                          --
Other assets ..............................................           186,846                     178,303
                                                                -------------               -------------
TOTAL ASSETS ..............................................     $ 382,356,110               $ 372,428,985
                                                                =============               =============


                             LIABILITIES

Deposits ..................................................     $ 330,543,090               $ 315,998,104
Federal Home Loan Bank advances ...........................         7,000,000                   9,000,000
Advances from borrowers for taxes and insurance ...........         1,803,880                   2,597,387
Accrued interest payable ..................................           995,223                   1,117,518
Other liabilities .........................................         2,019,151                   2,677,697
                                                                -------------               -------------
TOTAL LIABILITIES .........................................       342,361,344                 331,390,706
                                                                -------------               -------------

HOME BANCORP
And wholly owned subsidiary
HOME LOAN BANK fsb
Fort Wayne, Indiana

CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
AS OF DECEMBER 31, 1998 (unaudited) and SEPTEMBER 30, 1998
(continued)



                                                                 (unaudited)
                                                             December 31, 1998             September 30, 1998
                                                             -----------------             ------------------
                         STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY

Preferred stock, no par value, 5,000,000 shares authorized,
     none issued ..........................................              --                          --
Common stock, no par value, 10,000,000 shares authorized,
     3,380,315 issued, 2,185,310; 2,254,642 outstanding ...        34,583,726                  34,399,135
Retained earnings, substantially restricted ...............        30,447,324                  29,851,665
Unearned ESOP compensation ................................        (1,488,739)                 (1,536,908)
Unearned RRP compensation .................................          (407,864)                   (466,131)
Treasury stock 1,195,005; 1,125,673 shares, at cost .......       (23,175,479)                (21,273,755)
Net unrealized gain on securities available for sale ......            35,798                      64,273
                                                                -------------               -------------
TOTAL STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY ................................        39,994,766                  41,038,279
                                                                -------------               -------------

TOTAL LIABILITIES & STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY ..................     $ 382,356,110               $ 372,428,985
                                                                =============               =============


HOME BANCORP
And wholly owned subsidiary
HOME LOAN BANK fsb
Fort Wayne, Indiana


CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF INCOME AND COMPREHENSIVE INCOME
THREE MONTHS ENDED DECEMBER 31, 1998 AND DECEMBER 31, 1997
(unaudited)

                                                                                3 Months Ended: December 31,
                                                                                    1998             1997
                                                                                -----------      -----------
INTEREST INCOME
Loans receivable ..........................................................     $ 6,096,253      $ 5,622,176
Investment securities .....................................................         556,877          853,740
                                                                                -----------      -----------
Total interest income .....................................................       6,653,130        6,475,916

INTEREST EXPENSE
Deposits ..................................................................       4,147,760        4,121,952
Advances ..................................................................         102,602             --
                                                                                -----------      -----------
Total interest expense ....................................................       4,250,362        4,121,952

Net interest income .......................................................       2,402,768        2,353,964
Provision for loan losses .................................................             600              600
                                                                                -----------      -----------
Net interest income after provision .......................................       2,402,168        2,353,364

NON-INTEREST INCOME
Net gain-sale of interest earning assets ..................................          24,615           36,770
Net gain-sale of real estate ..............................................            --               --
Fees and service charges ..................................................          88,986           70,917
                                                                                -----------      -----------
Total non-interest income .................................................         113,601          107,687

NON-INTEREST EXPENSE
Compensation & employee benefits ..........................................         768,274          750,268
Net occupancy & equipment .................................................         173,334          144,756
FDIC insurance premiums ...................................................          44,582           45,343
Other general & administrative expenses ...................................         186,100          286,118
                                                                                -----------      -----------
Total non-interest expense ................................................       1,172,290        1,226,485

Earnings before income tax ................................................       1,343,479        1,234,566
Income tax expense ........................................................         578,479          569,566
                                                                                -----------      -----------

NET INCOME ................................................................     $   765,000      $   665,000
                                                                                -----------      -----------

HOME BANCORP
And wholly owned subsidiary
HOME LOAN BANK fsb
Fort Wayne, Indiana


CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF INCOME AND COMPREHENSIVE INCOME
THREE MONTHS ENDED DECEMBER 31, 1998 AND DECEMBER 31, 1997
(unaudited)
(continued)
                                                                                3 Months Ended: December 31,
                                                                                    1998             1997
                                                                                -----------      -----------
Other comprehensive income
  Net unrealized losses on securities available for sale
     Unrealized losses arising during he quarter ..........................         (22,843)          29,987
     Reclassification adjustment for realized losses included in net income         (24,615)         (36,770)
                                                                                -----------      -----------
       Net unrealized losses on securities available for sale .............         (47,458)          (6,783)
Tax effect ................................................................          18,983            2,713
                                                                                -----------      -----------
     Total other comprehensive income (loss) ..............................         (28,475)          (4,070)
Comprehensive income ......................................................     $   736,525      $   660,930
                                                                                ===========      ===========

Earnings per share, basic .................................................     $      0.37      $      0.29

Earnings per share, assuming dilution .....................................     $      0.35      $      0.28



                                                  HOME BANCORP
                                              Fort Wayne, Indiana

                                            STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOW

                                 THREE MONTHS ENDED DECEMBER 31, 1998 AND 1997
                                                  (unaudited)


                                                                                     1998              1997
                                                                                ------------      ------------
CASH FLOW FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES
Net Income ................................................................     $    765,000      $    665,000
  Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash from operating activities
     Depreciation .........................................................           73,509            54,965
     Provision for loan losses ............................................              600               600
     Gain on sale of securities ...........................................          (22,610)          (36,770)
     Gain on sale of loans ................................................           (2,005)             --
     Gain on sale of foreclosed real estate ...............................             --                --
     Loans originated for sale ............................................             --                --
     Proceeds from loan sales .............................................           87,114              --
     ESOP expense .........................................................          156,906           167,349
     Amortization of RRP contribution .....................................           58,268            59,525
     Loss on disposal of premises and equipment ...........................             --                --
     Amortization of premiums and accretion of discounts, net .............           (8,686)          (69,743)
     Change in
       Accrued interest receivable ........................................          199,472            21,349
       Other liabilities ..................................................         (780,841)          932,716
       Other assets .......................................................          (45,461)          640,782
                                                                                ------------      ------------
          Net cash from operating activities ..............................          481,266         2,435,773

CASH FLOW FROM INVESTING ACTIVITIES
     Proceeds from maturities of securities held to maturity ..............        4,000,000         4,000,000
     Proceeds from sales of securities available for sale .................        2,014,264              --
     Purchase of securities available for sale ............................             --           2,028,854
     Purchase of securities held to maturity ..............................             --          (3,985,125)
     Purchase of Federal Home Loan Bank stock .............................             --                --
     Net change in loans ..................................................       (8,149,494)      (10,360,669)
     Purchase of premises and equipment ...................................         (195,636)           (2,418)
                                                                                ------------      ------------
          Net cash from investing activities ..............................       (2,330,866)       (8,319,358)

                                                  HOME BANCORP
                                              Fort Wayne, Indiana

                                            STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOW

                                 THREE MONTHS ENDED DECEMBER 31, 1998 AND 1997
                                                  (unaudited)
                                                  (continued)


                                                                                     1998              1997
                                                                                ------------      ------------
     Net change in deposit ................................................       14,544,986         5,311,317
     Advances from Federal Home Loan Bank .................................       (2,000,000)             --
     Decrease in advance payments by borrowers for taxes and insurance ....         (793,507)         (795,784)
     Purchase of treasury stock, net of reissuance of shares ..............       (1,935,416)       (2,357,006)
     Cash dividends paid ..................................................         (174,804)         (113,448)
     Proceeds from exercise of stock options ..............................           34,541              --
                                                                                ------------      ------------
          Net cash provided by financing activities .......................        9,675,800         2,045,079

Net change in cash and cash equivalents ...................................        7,826,200        (3,838,506)
Cash and cash equivalents, beginning of period ............................       23,365,826        16,445,298
                                                                                ------------      ------------
Cash and cash equivalents, end of period ..................................     $ 31,192,026      $ 12,606,792
                                                                                ============      ============

Supplemental disclosures of cash flow information
     Cash paid for
       Interest ...........................................................     $  4,244,894      $  4,081,431
       Income taxes .......................................................          286,377           105,000


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

The  interim  financial  statements  at  December  31,  1998 and for the interim
periods  ended  December  31,  1998,  and 1997 are  unaudited,  but  reflect all
adjustments  (consisting of only normal recurring adjustments) which are, in the
opinion of  management,  necessary  to present  fairly the  financial  position,
results of operations and cash flows for such periods.

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

         1) SFAS No. 130, "Reporting Comprehensive Income." Comprehensive income
consists  of net  income and other  comprehensive  income.  Other  comprehensive
income  includes the net change in  unrealized  appreciation  (depreciation)  on
securities available for sale, net of tax which is also recognized as a separate
component  of  shareholders'  equity.  The  accounting  standard  that  requires
reporting  comprehensive  income first applied as of October 1, 1998, with prior
information restated to be comparable.

         2) SFAS No. 131, "Disclosures About Segments of Enterprises", redefines
segment  reporting to follow how each company's chief  operating  decision maker
gets  information  about  business  segments to make operating  decisions.  This
statement is not applicable to the Company as it does not have multiple business
segments.

         3) SFAS No.  132,  "Employers  Disclosures  About  Pensions  and  Other
Postretirement   Benefits",   increases  and  revises  pension  plan  and  other
postretirement  benefit plan  disclosures for public  companies,  and simplifies
such  disclosures  for public  companies,  and simplifies  such  disclosures for
nonpublic  companies.  These revised  disclosures will be incorporated  into the
Company's annual filings.

                                  Home Bancorp
                                 Fort Wayne, IN

                   Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements
                                   (Unaudited)
                                     Item 1

         4) SFAS No. 133,  "Accounting  for Derivative  Instruments  and Hedging
Activities",  will require all  derivatives  to be  recognized  at fair value as
either assets or liabilities in the Consolidated Balance Sheets for fiscal years
beginning  after  June  15,  1999.  Changes  in fair  value of  derivatives  not
designated  as hedging  instruments  are either to be  recognized  currently  in
earnings or are to be recognized as a component of other  comprehensive  income,
depending on the intended use of the derivatives and the resulting designations.
The Company does not believe  adoption of this new standard will have a material
impact on its consolidated financial position or results of operations.

C.  Earnings Per Share

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

                                Item 2 Continued



Forward-Looking Statements

         The  Company  and the Bank may from time to time make  written  or oral
"forward-looking  statements",  including statements contained in this Form 10-Q
or  future  filings  with the  Securities  and  Exchange  Commission  (including
Exhibits thereto), in its reports to shareholders and in other communications by
the Company,  which are made in good faith by the Company and the Bank  pursuant
to the "safe harbor" provisions of the Private Securities  Litigation Reform Act
of 1995.

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

Financial Condition

The Company's  total assets were $382.4 million as of December 31, 1998 compared
to $372.4  million as of September 30, 1998, an increase of $10.0  million.  For
the same period, equity decreased from $41.0 million as of September 30, 1998 to
$40.0 million as of December 31, 1998. The growth in total assets was the result
of continued  growth in the Company's loan portfolio  funded by deposit  growth.

                                  Home Bancorp
                                 Fort Wayne, IN

                     Management's Discussion and Analysis of
                  Financial Condition and Results of Operation

                                Item 2 Continued

The net decrease in equity for the period ended  December 31, 1998 was primarily
the result of the repurchase of 71,597 shares of the Company's common stock held
as  treasury  stock,  net of shares  issued from the  exercise  of options.  The
treasury stock purchases represented $1.9 million.

Loans receivable  increased $8.2 million,  primarily from 1-4 family residential
originations,  from $324.2  million at September  30, 1998 to $332.4  million at
December  31,  1998.  Deposits  increased  $14.5  million for the three  period,
increasing  from $316.0 million as of September 30, 1998 to $330.5 million as of
December 31, 1998.

Cash and cash equivalents  increased from $23.4 million as of September 30, 1998
to $31.2  million as of December 31,  1998,  an increase of  approximately  $7.8
million.  Securities  available for sale decreased $2.0 million during the three
month period ended December 31,1998 to $3.1 million. Securities held to maturity
decreased $4.0 million from maturities during the quarter, decreasing from $12.0
million as of September  30, 1998 to $8.0  million as of December 31, 1998.  The
decrease in  investment  securities  was the result of the  maturity and sale of
securities to fund  continued  loan  portfolio  growth and the stock  repurchase
program.

The balance in accrued interest receivable decreased  approximately  $200,000 to
$1.7 million as of December  31, 1998 from $1.9  million as September  30, 1998.
This decrease is attributed to the disposition of investment  securities  during
the period and timing differences on the payments of accrued interest .

The balance in Federal Home Loan Bank advances decreased $2.0 million during the
three month  period  ended  December  31, 1998 from the  repayment of a maturing
advance.  Deposit  growth during the quarter  financed  continued loan portfolio
growth,  enhanced the Company's liquidity position, and allowed the repayment of
the advance without further borrowings.

Advances from  borrowers for taxes and insurance  decreased from $2.6 million as
of September 30, 1998 to $1.8 million as of December 31, 1998 primarily from the
timing  of  semi-annual  payments  of real  estate  taxes and  annual  insurance
premiums on behalf of loan customers.

Results of Operation

General.  Net income for the three months ended  December 31, 1998  increased by
$100,000, or 15.0%, to $765,000 from $665,000 for the same period ended December
31, 1997. The increase was attributed to an increase in net interest  income for
the period from growth in earning assets,  modest gains in non-interest  income,
and a decrease in non-interest expenses.

The three month earnings  represent an annualized return on average assets (ROA)
of 0.82% and a return on  average  equity  (ROE) of 7.60%.  For the like  period
ended December 31, 1997, ROA was 0.76% and ROE was 6.14%.

                                  Home Bancorp
                                 Fort Wayne, IN

                     Management's Discussion and Analysis of
                  Financial Condition and Results of Operation

                                Item 2 Continued

Net Interest  Income.  The Company's net income is primarily  dependent upon net
interest  income.  Net interest income for the three month period ended December
31, 1998 increased by approximately $49,000 compared to the same period in 1997.
This increase was primarily  the net result of relatively  stable  interest rate
spreads earned on higher interest earning balances.

Total  interest  income for the three  month  period  ended  December  31,  1998
increased by approximately  $177,000 when compared with the results for the same
period ended December 31, 1997. The yield on  interest-earning  assets decreased
from 7.55% for the three month period  ended  December 31, 1997 to 7.22% for the
same period ended December 31, 1998. Growth in total interest income during this
period was indicative of continued growth in  interest-earning  assets, but also
reflected the impact of lower yields on those assets.

The growth in total  interest  income  was  significantly  negated by  increased
interest  expense  during the three month period ended  December 31, 1998.  This
increase was generally from increased balances of costing-liabilities as average
funding costs  decreased from the prior year period.  For the three month period
ended December 31, 1998, the average cost of  interest-bearing  liabilities  was
5.16%,  down from 5.47% for the same period in 1997. The Company's average costs
of funds  continue  to be higher  than  those  experienced  by  national  peers,
primarily  from  competitive  pressures  on  market  rates for  deposits  in the
Company's service area.

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

Provision  for Loan  Losses.  The  provision  for  loan  losses  is a result  of
management's  periodic  analysis of the adequacy for loan losses.  The provision
for loan losses was $600 for the three months ended  December 31, 1998, the same
amount for the like period in 1997.

Changes in the provision for loan losses are attributed to management's analysis
of the  adequacy  of the  allowance  for loan  losses to both  recognizable  and
unforeseen losses. At December 31, 1998, the Company's allowance for loan losses
totaled  $1.4  million  or .42%  of net  loans  receivable  and  307%  of  total
nonperforming loans.

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

Non-Interest  Income.  Non-interest income consists primarily of service fees on
deposit accounts,  loan servicing and late fees, as well as, any recognized gain
from  the  sale  of  interest  earning  assets.  Non-interest  income  increased
approximately  $6,000 for the three  month  period  ended  December  31, 1998 in
comparison  to the like  period in 1997.  This  increase  was  attributed  to an
approximate  $18,000  increase  from the prior year period in  customer  service
related fees and/or bank imposed charges.  This increase was partially offset by
a decrease of approximately $12,000 for the like period in gains realized on the
sale of securities available for sale.

Non-Interest  Expense.  Non-interest  expenses  for the three month period ended
December 31, 1998, was approximately  $1,172,000 compared to $1,226,000 reported
from the same prior year period in 1997. For the period ended December 31, 1998,
compensation and employee benefits increased approximately $18,000 for the three
month  period when  compared to the same period in 1997.  These  increases  were
primarily  attributed to general  inflationary  increases and to staffing  needs
associated with asset growth. Net occupancy and equipment expense for the period
increased  approximately $29,000 in 1998 from increased depreciation expense and
data processing expense  associated with the replacement of computer  processing
equipment   and   technological   upgrades   of  systems.   Other   general  and
administrative  expenses were approximately  $100,000 lower for the three period
ended December 31, 1998, when compared to the like period in 1997. This decrease
was  attributed  to an increase in loan  originations  where  applied  costs are
reduced  by  associated  income.  The  Company  was also  effective  in its cost
containment efforts.

Income Tax Expense. Income tax expense for the three month period ended December
31, 1998 increased marginally over the like period in 1997 primarily from higher
pretax earnings during the period.
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
                                                                    At and For the
                                                                 Three Months Ended
                                                                  December 31, 1998

FINANCIAL HIGHLIGHTS (Averages)                                  1998            1997
                                                               -------         -------
Return on assets.............................                     0.82%           0.76%
Return on equity.............................                     7.60%           6.14%
Yield on interest-earning assets.............                     7.22%           7.55%
Cost of interest-bearing liabilities.........                     5.16%           5.47%
Net interest spread..........................                     2.06%           2.08%
Net interest rate margin.....................                     2.56%           2.69%
Net interest income to operating (G&A)
expenses.....................................                   204.96%         191.93%
Operating (G&A) expenses to assets...........                     1.25%           1.40%
Non-interest income to assets................                     0.12%           0.12%
Interest-earning assets to interest-bearing
liabilities..................................                   112.02%         113.81%
Efficiency ratio.............................                    46.59%          50.58%
Equity to assets.............................                    10.73%          12.39%
Tangible equity to assets....................                    10.73%          12.39%
Average assets (dollars in thousands)........                  $375,340        $349,509

ASSET QUALITY RATIOS
Non-performing assets to total assets........                     0.12%           0.09%
Non-performing loans to net loans............                     0.14%           0.10%
Allowance for loan losses to net loans.......                     0.42%           0.47%
Allowance for loan losses to non-performing
loans........................................                      307%            465%
Net charge offs to loans.....................                     ----            ----
Loans to deposits............................                   100.57%          97.21%
Loans to assets..............................                    86.94%          84.09%

PER COMMON SHARE
Net income...................................                   $  0.37      $     0.29
Net income (diluted).........................                      0.35      $     0.28
Book value...................................                     18.30        $  17.83
Tangible book value..........................                     18.30        $  17.83

STOCK PRICE
High.........................................                  $ 29.500         $29.500
Low..........................................                    26.563         $24.000
Close........................................                    28.500         $29.500

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

Home Loan Bank is required by federal regulations to maintain specific levels of
"liquid" assets consisting of cash and other eligible investments.  The standard
measure of liquidity for thrift  institutions is the ratio of qualifying  assets
due  within  one  year  to  net  withdrawable  savings.  Currently  the  minimum
requirement is 4%. At December 31, 1998, the Bank's  liquidity  ratio was 11.9%.
As of December 31, 1997, the Bank's liquidity was 15.8%.

The  Bank  uses  its  liquidity  resources  principally  to  meet  ongoing  loan
commitments,  to fund maturing  certificates of deposit and deposit  withdrawals
and to  meet  operating  expenses.  The  Bank  anticipates  that  it  will  have
sufficient  funds available to meet current loan commitments and those liquidity
needs.  At December 31, 1998,  the Bank had  outstanding  commitments  to extend
credit which amounted to $22.6 million  (including $12.4 million in unused lines
of credit).  Management believes that loan repayments and other sources of funds
will be adequate to meet the Bank's foreseeable liquidity needs.

The institution is required to maintain  specific amounts of regulatory  capital
pursuant  to  regulations  of  the  Office  of  Thrift  Supervision.  Regulatory
standards  impose the  following  capital  requirements:  a  risk-based  capital
expressed as a percent of risk-adjusted assets, a leverage ratio of core capital
to total adjusted assets, and a tangible capital ratio expressed as a percent of
total adjusted assets. As of December 31, 1998, the Bank's capital totaled $34.2
million, or 9.05% of tangible and core capital. Risk-based capital totaled $35.6
million,   or  represented   18.64%  of  risk-based   assets.   The  institution
substantially exceeded all regulatory capital standards.


The Year 2000 Issue

General.  Like most financial  institutions,  the Bank and its operations may be
significantly  affected by the Y2K issue due to its dependency on technology and
date-sensitive  data.  Computer software and hardware and other equipment,  both
within and outside the Bank's direct control, including the Bank's dependency on
data processing  capabilities  from NCR Corporation and other third parties with
whom the Bank  electronically  or operationally  interfaces may be affected.  If
computer  systems are not modified and tested properly to process the year 2000,
many computer  applications could fail or create erroneous results. As a result,

                                  Home Bancorp
                                 Fort Wayne, IN

                     Management's Discussion and Analysis of
                  Financial Condition and Results of Operations

                                Item 2 Continued

many  calculations  which rely on date  filled  information,  such as  interest,
payment or due dates and other operating functions, could generate results which
are  significantly  misstated,  and the Bank could  experience  an  inability to
process  transactions,  prepare  statements or engage in similar normal business
activities.  Thus if not  adequately  addressed,  the Y2K  issue  could  have an
adverse impact on the Bank's  operations  and, in turn, its financial  condition
and results of operations.

Systematic  Review.  Financial  institution  regulators have placed  significant
emphasis upon Y2K  compliance  issues and have issued  guidance  concerning  the
responsibilities of senior management and directors. The federal bank regulatory
agencies have stressed the adoption of specific steps to achieve Y2K compliance.
The Federal Financial  Institutions  Examination Council (the "FFIEC"), of which
the Office of Thrift  Supervision  is a member,  has  designed  an  outline  for
institutions  to use in effectively  managing the Y2K  challenge.  The following
summarize  the Bank's  progress to date as  illustrated  by the FFIEC  specified
phases:

Awareness  Phase.  The Bank established a formal Y2K plan headed by an executive
officer,  and a project team for the  management of the issue.  A plan of action
was  developed  with  the  support  of the  Board  of  Directors  that  included
milestones, budget estimates,  strategies, and methodologies to track and report
the status of the project.
This phase is substantially complete.

Assessment  Phase. The Bank's  strategies were further developed with respect to
how the  objectives  of the Y2K plan  would be  achieved,  and a  business  risk
assessment  was made to  quantify  the  extent of the  Bank's  Y2K  exposure.  A
corporation  inventory  was  developed  to identify  and monitor  readiness  for
information  systems  (hardware,  software,  utilities  and  vendors) as well as
environmental  systems.  Systems were prioritized based upon business impact and
available  alternatives.  A formal plan was  developed  to replace,  repair,  or
upgrade all mission critical systems. This phase is substantially complete.

Because the Bank's loan portfolio is primarily residential real estate based and
is diversified with individual borrowers,  and the Bank's primary market area is
not  significantly  dependent  on one  employer or  industry,  the Bank does not
expect any  significant or prolonged Y2K related  difficulties  that will affect
net earnings or cash flow. As part of the current credit approval  process,  all
residential loan  applications  over $300,000 by  self-employed  individuals are
evaluated for Y2K risk as are all commercial loan applications.

Renovation  Phase.  In recognition  of potential Y2K problems,  the Bank delayed
significant hardware and software purchases until this fiscal year. The Bank has
replaced  or  renovated  virtually  all of its  hardware  systems and updated or
replaced most of its software systems.  Y2K compliant equipment and software has
been  delivered and placed into  production  and is either in the  validation or
implementation phase of the plan. The Bank has invested  approximately  $500,000
in new computers, communication, and software purchases. Approximately, $140,000
in charges  associated  with Y2K were also  expensed  as  non-recurring  charges
during the fiscal year.

                                  Home Bancorp
                                 Fort Wayne, IN

                     Management's Discussion and Analysis of
                  Financial Condition and Results of Operations

                                Item 2 Continued

Validation  and  Implementation  Phases.  These  phases are designed to test the
ability of the systems to accurately  process date sensitive  data. The Bank has
completed  or is in the process of  validating  all of the its mission  critical
applications. These phases are expected to be fully completed by March 31, 1999.

Continency  Plans.  The Bank has also  developed  a plan  that  recognizes  that
certain contingencies may undermine preparations to date. The plan addresses the
viability of certain processes,  including data and information processing, that
could  be  threatened  by  circumstances   beyond  the  Bank's  direct  or  even
recognizable control. The Bank's contingency plan attempts to provide thoughtful
analysis of issues and circumstances, and provide substantive plans of action in
the event of system failures.

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

At December 31, 1998
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Change in Interest Rate             Board Limit             $ Change               % Change
     (Basis Points)                 % Change                (In Thousands)

         +300 bp                       (45)                 ($18,290)                  (48)
         +200 bp                       (29)                 ($11,196)                  (30)
         +100 bp                       (13)                 ($ 4,729)                  (13)
            0 bp                         -                         -                     -
         -100 bp                        (2)                  $ 1,174                     3
         -200 bp                        (6)                  $   434                     1
         -300 bp                       (10)                  $   302                     1

Certain shortcomings are inherent in the method of analysis presented in the foregoing table. For example, although certain assets and liabilities may have similar maturities or periods of repricing, they may react in different degrees to changes in interest rates. Also, interest rates on certain assets and liabilities may fluctuate in
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

         No matter was submitted to a vote of security holders through the solicitation of proxies or otherwise during the quarter ended December 31, 1998. Subsequent to December 31, 1998, however, the following matters were voted on:

         (A) Annual meeting of the shareholders: January 26, 1998
         (B) Meeting of January 26, 1998 involved the election of three (3) directors, Messrs. Matthew P. Forrester, Rod M. Howard, and Luben Lazoff. The expiration of their terms and those directors continuing in office are as follows:

            Director                                    Expiration of Term
            --------                                    ------------------

       Matthew P. Forrester                                     2002
       Rod M. Howard                                            2002
       Luben Lazoff                                             2002
       C. Philip Andorfer                                       2001
       Richard P. Hormann                                       2001
       W. Paul Wolf                                             2001
       Daniel F. Fulkerson                                      2000
       Walter A. McComb, Jr.                                    2000
       Donald E. Thornton                                       2000

       (C) Matters voted upon at the annual meeting on January 26, 1998 included the following items and the number of votes cast included:

       Election of Directors            Votes For        Votes Withheld
       ---------------------            ---------        --------------

       Matthew P. Forrester             1,804,340              28.201
       Rod M. Howard                    1,791,298              41,243
       Luben Lazoff                     1,732,234             100,307

                                  Home Bancorp
                                 Fort Wayne, IN




       Ratification of Auditor          Votes For     Votes Against or Withheld

       Crowe, Chizek                    1,814,776              17,765
       and Company LLP

Item 5 Other Information

       None

Item 6  Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-k

         Press release filed on Form 8-k for the quarter ended December 31, 1998 and subsequently, and not previously incorporated on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended September 30, 1998 include:

            Date of Report                        Subject
            --------------                        -------

               1-21-98       Registrant's   Press  Release  relative  to  "First
                             Quarter Fiscal 1999 Earnings" and "Stock Repurchase
                             Program"

                                  Home Bancorp
                                 Fort Wayne, IN


                                   Signatures



Pursuant to the requirement of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned thereunto duly authorized.





                                                     Home Bancorp



Date: February 10, 1999                              /s/ W. Paul Wolf
                                                     ----------------
                                                     W. Paul Wolf
                                                     Chairman, President, CEO


Date: February 10, 1999                              /s/ Matthew P. Forrester
                                                     ------------------------
                                                     Matthew P. Forrester
                                                     Vice President, Treasurer