WEBCO INDUSTRIES INC (CIK 916314)
Form 10-Q
period 2000-10-31
filed 2000-12-15

UNITED STATES
SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
WASHINGTON, D.C.  20549
FORM 10-Q
(Mark one)
[ X ] QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(D) OF THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934
For the quarterly period ended       October 31, 2000
    _____________________
or
[  ] TRANSITION REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15D OF THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For the transition period from _________________ to ____________________.
Commission File Number:    0-23242
__________________________________________________________
                                    WEBCO INDUSTRIES, INC.
______________________________________________________________________________________________________
(Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)
            Oklahoma                            73-1097133
______________________________________________________________________________________________________
(State or other jurisdiction of incorporation or organization)    (I.R.S. Employer Identification No)
            9101 West 21st Street,   SAND SPRINGS,OKLAHOMA           74063
______________________________________________________________________________________________________
(Address of principal executive offices)                (Zip Code)
           (918)  241-1000
______________________________________________________________________________________________________
(Registrant's telephone number, including area code)
             NOT APPLICABLE
______________________________________________________________________________________________________
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
date: 7,073,723 shares of Common Stock, $0.01 par value, as of November 30, 2000.

WEBCO INDUSTRIES, INC.  AND SUBSIDIARY
TABLE OF CONTENTS
           Page
                 Number
                        _______
PART I FINANCIAL INFORMATION
  Item 1.    Consolidated Financial Statements (Unaudited):
    Balance Sheets                3
    Statements of Operations       4
    Statements of Cash Flows       5
    Notes to Unaudited Financial Statements            6-7
    Report of Review by Independent
         Accountants        8

  Item 2.  Management's Discussion and Analysis
         of Financial Condition and Results of
         Operations        9-12
PART II OTHER INFORMATION
  Item 1.  Legal Proceedings        13
  Item 2.  Changes in Securities        13
  Item 3.  Defaults Upon Senior Securities              13
  Item 4.  Submission of Matters to a Vote of
         Security Holders        13
  Item 5.  Other Information        13
  Item 6.  Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K      13
SIGNATURES                    14

WEBCO INDUSTRIES, INC. AND SUBSIDIARY
CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
 (Dollars in thousands, except par value)
(Unaudited)
                                           October 31,   July 31,
                                              2000         2000
ASSETS
Current assets:
 Cash           $      636   $    1,633
 Accounts receivable, net         18,534      17,536
 Inventories           36,902      35,765
 Prepaid expenses        364          435
 Deferred income tax asset                     1,867        2,047
 Total current assets              58,303       57,416
Property, plant and equipment, net         69,711      68,067
Notes receivable from related parties           1,812        1,801
Other assets, net                      2,841       2,839

 Total assets          $  132,667   $  130,123
                     =======      =======
LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY
Current liabilities:
 Accounts payable         $   18,096   $   17,938
 Accrued liabilities            6,009       5,259
 Current portion of long-term debt         4,197       4,090
 Total current liabilities         28,302      27,287
Long-term debt            47,607       43,979
Deferred income tax liability                  9,263       10,209
Commitments and contingencies (Note 3)
Stockholders' equity:
        Common stock, $.01 par value, 12,000,000 shares
        authorized, 7,073,723 shares issued and outstanding      71          71
 Additional paid-in capital     35,732      35,732
 Retained earnings               11,692      12,845
   Total stockholders' equity              47,495      48,648
 Total liabilities and stockholders' equity     $  132,667  $  130,123
              =======      =======

See accompanying notes to unaudited consolidated financial statements.
 WEBCO INDUSTRIES, INC. AND SUBSIDIARY
CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
(Dollars and shares in thousands, except per share amounts)
 (Unaudited)
                                                Three Months Ended
                                                    October 31,
                2000         1999

Net sales          $   36,957  $  33,322
Cost of sales              33,801     28,383
Gross profit           3,156       4,939
Selling, general and administrative expenses              3,781      4,078

Income (loss) from operations          (625)        861
Interest expense                         1,250        757

Income (loss) before income taxes       (1,875)        104

Provision (benefit) for income taxes                       (722)         38
Net income (loss)            $   (1,153)   $     66
                                                      ======     ======
Net income (loss) per common share:
 Basic             $     (.16)       $    .01
                                        ======          ======
    Diluted                                         $     (.16)       $    .01
            ======      ======
Weighted average common shares outstanding:
 Basic                 7,074      7,074
                                              ======          ======
 Diluted           7,074      7,074
            ======          ======

See accompanying notes to unaudited consolidated financial statements.
WEBCO INDUSTRIES, INC. AND SUBSIDIARY
CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
 (Dollars in thousands)
(Unaudited)

                       Three Months Ended
                                     October 31,
                                               2000          1999
Cash flows from operating activities:
 Net income (loss)     $ (1,153)      $    66
 Adjustments to reconcile net income (loss) to net
 cash used in operating activities:
  Depreciation and amortization      1,467  1,448
  (Gain) loss on disposition of
    property, plant and equipment                (3)     33
  Deferred tax expense (benefit)       (766)     51
  (Increase) decrease in:
    Accounts receivable        (998)   (832)
    Inventories       (1,137) (3,442)
    Prepaid expenses        (107)   (157)
  Increase (decrease) in:
    Accounts payable         183 (3,651)
    Accrued liabilities                710           430
 Net cash used in operating activities            (1,804)       (6,054)

Cash flows from investing activities:
 Capital expenditures       (2,765) (3,385)
 Proceeds from sale of property, plant and equipment        6     21
 Advances to stockholders         (11)     -
 Other                       (2)   (804)
 Net cash used in investing activities         (2,772) (4,168)
Cash flows from financing activities:
 Proceeds from long-term debt      36,719 32,912
 Principal payments on long-term debt    (32,984)      (26,568)
 Increase (decrease) in book overdrafts             (156)  3,927
  Net cash provided by financing activities            3,579 10,271
Net increase (decrease) in cash         (997)     49
Cash, beginning of period             1,633    180
Cash, end of period              $   636       $   229
                                                                  ======        ======

See accompanying notes to unaudited consolidated financial statements.

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
which are of a normal recurring nature) necessary for a fair presentation of
financial position at October 31, 2000, and results of operations and cash flows
for the three months ended October 31, 2000 and October 31, 1999.  Results for
the three months ended October 31, 2000 are not necessarily indicative of results
that will be realized for the full fiscal year.  The year-end balance sheet was
derived from the audited consolidated financial statements, but does not include
all disclosures required by generally accepted accounting principles.  The
unaudited consolidated financial statements should be read in conjunction with
the audited consolidated financial statements and related notes which can be
found in the Company's Form 10-K for the year ended July 31, 2000.
Our independent accountants have performed a review of these interim financial
statements in accordance with standards established by the American Institute
of Certified Public Accountants.  Pursuant to Rule 436 (c) under the Securities
Act of 1933 their report of that review should not be considered as part of any
registration statements prepared or certified by them within the meaning of
Section 7 and 11 of that Act.
Note 2 - Inventories
 At October 31, 2000 and July 31, 2000, inventories were as
follows (in thousands):
     October 31, 2000 July 31, 2000
 Raw materials        $ 16,704      $ 17,708
 Work-in-process    2,105         2,155
 Finished goods    15,583          13,469
 Maintenance parts
   and supplies           2,510              2,433
 Total inventories      $ 36,902      $ 35,765
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
amounts).
               Three Months Ended
            October 31,
                      2000          1999
Basic EPS:
Weighted average shares outstanding    7,074       7,074
Effect of dilutive securities: Options                -           -
Diluted EPS:
Diluted weighted average shares outstanding          7,074       7,074
          =====         =====
Anti-dilutive options outstanding:
    Number of options                                    721         717
          =====       =====
    Weighted average exercise price               $   5.85    $   5.99
          =====         =====
Note 5 - Segment Information
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
               Tubing
              Products QuikWater   Total
Quarter-ended October 31, 2000:
Revenues    $  36,122 $     835 $ 36,957
Segment pre-tax income or (loss)    (1,676)      (199)        (1,875)

Quarter-ended October 31, 1999:
Revenues          32,678       644   33,322
Segment pre-tax income or (loss)       534      (430)           104

REPORT OF INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTANT

To the Board of Directors and Shareholders of
Webco Industries, Inc.
We have reviewed the accompanying consolidated balance sheet of Webco Industries, Inc. and subsidiary
as of October 31, 2000, and the related consolidated statements of operations for the three-month
periods ended October 31, 2000 and 1999 and cash flows for the three-month periods ended October 31,
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
sheet of Webco Industries, Inc. and subsidiary as of July 31, 2000, and the related consolidated statements of
operations, stockholders' equity and cash flows for the year then ended (not presented herein); and in our report
dated September 21, 2000, except for the third paragraph in Note 6 (A) as to which the date is November 13, 2000,
we expressed an unqualified opinion on those financial statements.  In our opinion, the information set forth in
the accompanying consolidated balance sheet information as of July 31, 2000 is fairly stated in all material
respects in relation to the balance sheet from which it has been derived.

PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Tulsa, Oklahoma
December 4, 2000

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

Results of Operations for the Three Months Ended October 31, 2000 Compared with the
Three Months Ended October 31, 1999
Manufactured Tubing Product sales for the quarter ended October 31, 2000 were $31,990,000,
an increase of 8.6 percent from the $29,460,000 for the same quarter last year. The $2,530,000
increase in net sales is primarily the result of a 9.6 percent increase in the average net sales
price per ton.  The increase in the average net selling price is due to increased sales of
stainless tubing, which carries a higher sales price per ton.  The tonnage of tubing sold was down
slightly as a result of the one-week suspension in production at the Company's Sand Springs,
Oklahoma,facility in August for maintenance projects and an annealing furnace outage and the
continuing disruptions to the operations at the Oil City, Pennsylvania plant as a result of the
installation of equipment associated with the expansion at that location.  The difficulties
associated with the furnace outage in August resulted in the loss of 25 percent of the normal
production and shipments at the Sand Springs plant, and are not expected to repeat during the
second quarter of fiscal 2001.  The disruptions in Oil City are expected to continue until the
completion of the expansion, which is scheduled for January 2001.
Gross profit for Manufactured Tubing Products decreased to $2,187,000, or 6.8 percent of
net sales for the first quarter of fiscal 2001 from $3,999,000 or 13.6 percent of net sales for
the same period in fiscal 2000.  This is a function of the one-week suspension at the Sand Springs
facility, as explained above, and higher payrolls while training new personnel and higher operating
expenses at the Oil City facility due to the on-going plant expansion.  Margins in the fiscal 2001
first quarter reflect the higher labor and overhead costs due to the low production in August at the
Sand Springs plant, continued pricing pressures on carbon products, and higher raw material costs.
Other Tubing Products sales are made primarily by Webco's subsidiary, P&J.  Sales of these
products increased 28.4 percent to $4,132,000 for the period ended October 31, 2000 from $3,218,000
for the period ended October 31, 1999.  Gross profit from Other Tubing Products increased to $790,000,
or 19.1 percent of net sales, for the first quarter of fiscal 2001 from $773,000, or 24.0 percent of
net sales, for the same period in fiscal 2000.  The increase in sales and decline in gross profit
percentage is a result of an increase in the tonnage of tubing sold at reduced sales prices primarily
to the OEM market.
Sales for QuikWater were $835,000 for the first quarter of fiscal 2001, which is 29.7 percent
more than the $644,000 in sales for the same period in fiscal 2000.  Gross profit for QuikWater was
$179,000, or 21.4 percent of net sales, for the first quarter of fiscal 2001 as compared to $167,000,
or 25.9 percent of net sales, for the same period of fiscal 2000.  The increase in sales is a result
of improved market conditions for the QuikWater product due to changes in certain environmental standards.
The gross profit percentage decline is a reflection of the new outsourcing arrangement for the
manufacturing of the units.
Selling, general and administrative expenses were $3,781,000 for the first quarter of fiscal 2001
compared to $4,078,000 for the same quarter of fiscal 2000.  The decrease in the current quarter is
primarily the result of a $74,000 decrease in legal fees related to Thermatool (See Part II, Item 1, Legal
Proceedings of this form 10Q) and certain labor matters, a $38,000 decrease in information technology
expenses incurred in support of the new ERP system, and a $159,000 decrease in administrative labor and
overhead expenses realized as a result of implementing certain cost saving measures.
Interest expense for the current period was $1,250,000 ($1,370,000 prior to interest capitalization)
as compared to interest expense of $757,000 ($859,000 prior to interest capitalization) for the same quarter
last year. The increase in interest prior to interest capitalization is the result of the average level of
debt under the bank Loan and Security Agreement for the three months ended October 31, 2000 being $47.7
million as compared to $41.4 million for the same period last year.  In addition, the related average interest
rate increased to 9.87 percent in the first quarter of fiscal 2001 from 7.57 percent in the first quarter of
fiscal 2000.  The Company has historically elected for its term debt and a significant portion of its outstanding
revolver to bear interest at a floating rate based on LIBOR.  Higher borrowing levels have resulted from increased
inventories, implementation of the ERP system, and the expansions in Oil City, Pennsylvania, and Mannford, Oklahoma.
Due to the current LIBOR and prime rate levels and the Company's amended bank agreement with its primary lendor, the
Company expects a higher average interest rate in the second quarter of fiscal 2001 and for the remainder of the
current fiscal year when compared to prior year results.
The recorded income tax benefit for the quarter ended October 31, 2000 is based upon the estimated annual
combined effective federal and state income tax rates.
Liquidity and Capital Resources
Net cash used in operations was $1,804,000 for the three months ended October 31, 2000 versus net cash used
in operations of $6,054,000 for the three month period ended October 31, 1999.  Receivables increased $998,000 during
the current period and $832,000 for the same period last year, primarily due to stronger sales in the later half of
the quarter.  Inventories increased $1,137,000 for the period ended October 31, 2000 primarily due to increases in
stainless steel finished goods.  Inventories increased $3,442,000 for the period ended October 31, 1999 due to
strategic purchases of raw materials, which were made in anticipation of rising prices.  Accounts payable increased
$183,000 during the current period and decreased $3,651,000 for the same period last year, however, the prior period
decrease was principally offset by an increase of $3,927,000 in book overdrafts.  In addition, accrued liabilities
increased by $710,000 for the period ended October 31, 2000, compared to an increase of $430,000 during the same period
last year.
Net cash used in investing activities for the three months ended October 31, 2000 was $2,772,000, which was
$1,396,000 less than the $4,168,000 used in investing activities during the same period in fiscal 1999.  Capital
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
manufacturing technologies.  The Company is currently completing the expansion in Oil City and will thereafter
focus on debt reduction and  working capital management.  The Company currently intends to retain earnings to
support this strategy and does not anticipate paying dividends in the forseeable future.
The Company's financing arrangements provide for a term loan of $25 million, a line of credit of $25 million
and a capital expenditure ("CAPEX") facility in the amount of $5 million to finance equipment at the Oil City,
Pennsylvania plant.  As of October 31, 2000, the Company had $24.4 million outstanding on the term loan, $20.8 million
under the revolving line of credit and $4.0 million outstanding on the CAPEX facility. These loans mature on August 31,
2002, and are collateralized by substantially all of the Company's assets other than the Sand Springs real estate.  The
Company may have borrowings and outstanding letters of credit ($1,128,000 at October 31, 2000) under the revolving credit
facility up to the lesser of $25 million or an amount determined by a formula based on the amount of eligible inventories
and accounts receivable. At October 31, 2000, $3.0 million was available for borrowing under this line of credit and $1.0
million was available for borrowing under the CAPEX loan.  Principal payments of $208,000, plus interest, are due on the
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
million is outstanding and an additional $1.5 million remains available for borrowing as of October 31, 2000.  The agency
loans are collateralized by the underlying real estate and/or equipment and the guarantee of the prinicpal stockholder/
officer.  The notes mature over a 4 to 10 year period and bear interest at rates ranging from 3 to 5 percent.
P&J has a line of credit agreement for $2,000,000 and a term loan of $500,000 with its primary lender.  As of October
31, 2000, the Company had $345,000 outstanding under the line of credit and $369,000 outstanding on the term loan.  The
line of credit matures on November 30, 2000, and the term loan matures in April 2004.  Both loans are collateralized by
P&J's assets.  At October 31, 2000, $1.65 million was available for borrowing under the line of credit.
In the past, the Company has funded its capital growth expenditures with a combination of cash flow from operations and
debt.  The remaining available borrowing on the CAPEX facility (approximately $1.0 million) is committed to funding the
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
processing capabilities of customers and vendors.  The reader should refer to Part I, Item 1:"Forward Looking Statements"
of the Company's Form 10-K for the year ended July 31, 2000 for additional information regarding this matter.

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
Management,after review and consultation with legal counsel, considers that any liability resulting from these matters
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

 December 15, 2000   /s/Michael P. Howard
      Michael P. Howard
      Treasurer
      Chief Financial Officer
      Vice President of Finance and Administration

EXHIBIT 15.1

WEBCO INDUSTRIES, INC.
LETTER RE UNAUDITED INTERIM FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Securities and Exchange Commission
450 Fifth Street, N. W.
Washington, D.C. 20549

Re: Webco Industries, Inc.
 Registration on Form S-3 and S-8

We are aware that our report dated December 4, 2000, on our review of the interim financial information
of Webco Industries, Inc. for the periods ended October 31, 2000 and 1999, and included in this Form 10-Q
is incorporated by reference in the Company's registration statements on Form S-3 (File nos. 333-22779 and
333-67923) and S-8 (File no. 333-49219).

PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Tulsa, Oklahoma
December 15, 2000