MIGENIX Inc. BC Research Complex 3650 Wesbrook Mall Vancouver, BC V6S 2L2 Canada
|NEWS RELEASE|

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

MIGENIX Board Changes

Vancouver, BC, CANADA & San Diego, CA, USA – January 9, 2006 – MIGENIX Inc. (TSX: MGI; OTC: MGIFF), a clinical-stage developer of drugs for infectious and degenerative diseases, today announced that Michael Abrams, Ph.D., has retired from its Board. This change reduces the size of the Board to eight directors from nine. Additionally Richard DeVries (elected as a director in September 2005) has been added as a member of the company’s Corporate Governance & Nominating Committee and Audit Committee.

“I retire from the MIGENIX Board with full confidence in its Board and management and look forward to the company’s future success”, stated Dr. Abrams.

About MIGENIX

MIGENIX is committed to advancing therapy, improving health, and enriching life by developing and commercializing drugs in the areas of infectious and degenerative diseases. The Company's clinical programs include drug candidates for the treatment of chronic hepatitis C infections (Phase II), the prevention of catheter-related infections (Phase III), the treatment of neurodegenerative diseases (Phase I) and the treatment of acne (Phase II). MIGENIX is headquartered in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada with US operations in San Diego, California. Additional information can be found at www.migenix.com.

“Jim DeMesa”

James M. DeMesa, M.D.

President & CEO

CONTACTS

Jonathan Burke MIGENIX Inc. Tel: (604) 221-9666 Extension 241 jburke@migenix.com	Dian Griesel, Ph.D. Investor Relations Group Tel: (212) 825-3210 Theproteam@aol.com

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