SHAW GROUP INC (CIK 914024)
Form 10-Q
period 1999-02-28
filed 1999-04-14

UNITED STATES
                       SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                             Washington, D.C. 20549

                                    FORM 10-Q

(Mark One)
[X]      QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE SECURITIES
         EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

         For the quarterly period ended      February 28,1999

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
(Address of principal executive offices)                           (Zip Code)

                                 (225) 932-2500
              (Registrant's telephone number, including area code)

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

     Common stock, no par value, 11,702,485 shares outstanding as of April 8, 1999.

                                    FORM 10-Q

                                TABLE OF CONTENTS


Part I - Financial Information

    Item 1. - Financial Statements

               Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets -
                   August 31, 1998 and February 28, 1999                   3 - 4

               Condensed Consolidated Statements of Income -
                  For the Three Months and Six Months Ended
                  February 28, 1998 and 1999                                   5

               Condensed Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows -
                  For the Six Months Ended February 28, 1998 and 1999          6

               Notes to Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements       7 - 10

    Item 2. - Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial
                  Condition and Results of Operations                    11 - 18

    Item 3. - Quantitative and Qualitative Disclosures About Market Risk      18

Part II - Other Information

    Item 4. - Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders             19
    Item 6. - Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K                                19

Signature Page                                                                20

Exhibit Index                                                                 21


                                                      PART I - FINANCIAL INFORMATION

                                                      ITEM 1. - FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

                                                   THE SHAW GROUP INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                                                   CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
                                                               (Unaudited)
                                                              (In thousands)

                                                                  ASSETS

                                                                                  August 31,               February 28,
                                                                                     1998                      1999
                                                                                     ----                      ----

Current assets:
    Cash and cash equivalents                                                     $    3,743             $     7,820
    Accounts receivable, net                                                         140,631                 134,362
    Receivables from unconsolidated entity                                             1,758                   4,459
    Inventories                                                                       65,861                  65,413
    Cost and estimated earnings in excess of billings
       on uncompleted contracts                                                       19,797                  23,933
    Other current assets                                                              19,204                  20,374
                                                                                  ----------              ----------
        Total current assets                                                         250,994                 256,361

Investment in unconsolidated entity                                                    3,965                   4,110

Investment in securities available for sale                                              --                   12,808

Property and equipment, less accumulated depreciation
of $25,050 at August 31, 1998 and $29,996 at
February 28, 1999, respectively                                                       92,860                 100,007

Goodwill, net of accumulated amortization of $1,430 at
August 31, 1998 and $2,379 at February 28, 1999, respectively                         33,356                  33,362

Other assets                                                                           8,669                   8,634
                                                                                 -----------             -----------
                                                                                    $389,844                $415,282
                                                                                    ========                ========


                                   (Continued)

        The accompanying notes are an integral part of these statements.





                                                   THE SHAW GROUP INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                                                   CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
                                                               (Unaudited)
                                                    (In thousands, except share data)

                                                   LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY


                                                                                   August 31,           February 28,
                                                                                      1998                    1999
                                                                                      ----                    ----

Current liabilities:
    Outstanding checks in excess of bank balance                                   $    4,009             $   8,190
    Accounts payable                                                                   45,307                29,915
    Accrued liabilities                                                                24,831                24,554
    Current maturities of long-term debt                                                9,314                 9,637
    Revolving lines of credit                                                          20,898                67,799
    Deferred revenue - prebilled                                                        1,813                 2,058
    Advanced billings and billings in excess of cost and
        estimated earnings on uncompleted contracts                                    14,367                 8,923
                                                                                    ---------             ---------
          Total current liabilities                                                   120,539               151,076

Long-term debt, less current maturities                                                91,715                93,142

Deferred income taxes                                                                   6,895                 6,824

Commitments and contingencies                                                             --                     --

Shareholders' equity:
    Common stock, no par value,
      13,279,866 and 11,774,516 shares outstanding, respectively                      119,360               119,367
    Retained earnings                                                                  58,950                66,096
    Accumulated other comprehensive income (loss)                                        (420)              (1,093)
    Unearned restricted stock compensation                                               (367)                (303)
    Treasury stock, 6,662,916 and 8,169,516 shares, respectively                       (6,828)             (19,827)
                                                                                  -----------             --------
           Total shareholders' equity                                                 170,695               164,240
                                                                                    ---------             ---------
                                                                                     $389,844              $415,282

                                                                                     ========              ========


        The accompanying notes are an integral part of these statements.



                                                   THE SHAW GROUP INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                                               CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF INCOME
                                                               (Unaudited)
                                                 (In thousands, except per share amounts)

                                                                 Three Months Ended                          Six Months Ended
                                                                   February 28,                                 February 28,
                                                                 1998             1999                    1998               1999
                                                              ---------        ---------               ---------         ---------

Income:
    Sales                                                      $134,645         $112,949                $233,315          $228,867
    Cost of sales                                               111,893           90,095                 192,589           185,410
                                                               --------         --------                --------          --------
       Gross profit                                              22,752           22,854                  40,726            43,457

General and administrative expenses                              12,544           14,000                  23,034            28,275
                                                               --------         --------                --------          --------
    Operating income                                             10,208            8,854                  17,692            15,182

Interest expense                                                 (2,271)          (2,441)                 (3,902)           (4,883)
Other income (expense), net                                         120             (145)                    223                49
                                                               --------         --------                --------          --------
                                                                 (2,151)          (2,586)                 (3,679)           (4,834)

Income before income taxes                                        8,057            6,268                  14,013            10,348

Provision for income taxes                                        2,666            2,142                   4,107             3,347
                                                               --------         --------                --------          --------

Income from continuing operations before
    earnings from unconsolidated entity                           5,391            4,126                   9,906             7,001

Earnings from unconsolidated entity                                   4              198                     124               145
                                                               --------         --------               ---------          --------

Income from continuing operations                                 5,395            4,324                  10,030             7,146

Earnings (losses) from discontinued operations,
   net of taxes                                                     (57)              --                      12                --
                                                               --------         --------               ---------          --------

Net income                                                     $  5,338         $  4,324               $  10,042          $  7,146
                                                               ========         ========               =========          ========

Basic income per common share:
    Number of shares                                             12,508           11,775                  12,506            12,120
    Income from continuing operations                          $    .43         $    .37               $     .80          $    .59
    Income from discontinued operations                              --               --                      --                --
                                                               --------         --------               ---------          --------
Net income per common share                                    $    .43         $    .37               $     .80          $    .59
                                                               ========         ========               =========          ========

Diluted income per common share:
    Number of shares                                             12,749           12,126                  12,746            12,356
    Income from continuing operations                          $    .42              .36               $     .79          $    .58
    Income from discontinued operations                              --               --                      --                --
                                                               --------         --------               ---------          --------
Net income per common share                                    $    .42         $    .36               $     .79          $    .58
                                                               ========         ========               =========          ========

        The accompanying notes are an integral part of these statements.


                      THE SHAW GROUP INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                 CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
                                   (Unaudited)
                                 (In thousands)

                                                                                                         Six Months Ended
                                                                                                             February 28,
                                                                                                       1998              1999
                                                                                                 ---------------     --------

Cash flows from operating activities:
    Net income                                                                                     $  10,042         $   7,146
    Depreciation and amortization                                                                      4,385             6,410
    Other                                                                                               (124)             (591)
    Changes in assets and liabilities (excluding cash and
       those relating to investing and financing activities)                                         (41,898)          (24,841)
                                                                                                   ---------         ---------
Net cash used in operating activities                                                                (27,595)          (11,876)

Cash flows from investing activities:
    Investment in subsidiaries, net of cash received                                                 (26,126)               --
    Investment in securities available for sale                                                           --           (12,808)
    Purchases of property and equipment                                                               (5,610)          (11,038)
    Proceeds from sale of property and equipment                                                          --                49
                                                                                                    --------           -------
Net cash used in investing activities                                                                (31,736)          (23,797)

Cash flows from financing activities:
    Net increase in outstanding checks
       in excess of bank balance                                                                       7,904             4,166
    Net proceeds on revolving credit agreements                                                       56,178            47,028
    Proceeds from issuance of debt                                                                       879             5,374
    Repayment of debt and leases                                                                      (5,947)           (3,624)
    Purchases of treasury stock                                                                           --           (12,999)
    Issuance of common stock                                                                              70                 7
                                                                                                    --------           -------
Net cash provided by financing activities                                                             59,084            39,952
    Effect of exchange rate changes on cash                                                             (124)             (202)
                                                                                                    --------          --------

Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents                                                    (371)            4,077

Cash and cash equivalents - beginning of period                                                        4,358             3,743
                                                                                                    --------          --------

Cash and cash equivalents - end of period                                                           $  3,987          $  7,820
                                                                                                    ========          ========

Supplemental disclosures:
    Noncash investing and financing activities:
       Investment in subsidiary acquired through
           issuance of debt                                                                         $  4,702          $     --
                                                                                                    ========          ========

       Property and equipment acquired through reduction in cost and
           estimated earnings in excess of billings on uncompleted contracts                        $     --          $  3,000
                                                                                                    ========          ========


        The accompanying notes are an integral part of these statements.

                      THE SHAW GROUP INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
              NOTES TO CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS


Note 1 - Unaudited Financial Information -

     The financial information for the three-month and six-month periods ended February 28, 1998 and 1999 and as of August 31, 1998 and February 28, 1999 included herein is unaudited; however, such information reflects, in the opinion of management, all adjustments (consisting solely of normal recurring adjustments) that are necessary to present fairly the results of operations for such periods. Results of operations for the interim period are not necessarily indicative of results of operations that will be realized for the fiscal year ending August 31, 1999.

     Certain reclassifications have been made to the prior year's financial statements in order to conform to current reporting practices.

Note 2 - Inventories

     The  major   components  of  inventories   consist  of  the  following  (in
thousands):

                                                     August 31, 1998                          February 28, 1999
                                        ---------------------------------------      -------------------------------

                                         Weighted                                     Weighted
                                          Average         FIFO        TOTAL            Average         FIFO         TOTAL

Finished Goods                            $28,671      $    --      $28,671            $28,189       $    --      $28,189
Raw Materials                               3,162       25,937       29,099              3,691        26,480       30,171
Work In Process                             1,914        6,177        8,091              1,578         5,475        7,053
                                          -------      -------      -------            -------       -------      -------
                                          $33,747      $32,114      $65,861            $33,458       $31,955      $65,413
                                          =======      =======      =======            =======       =======      =======

Note 3 - Earnings Per Common Share -

     Basic earnings per common share were computed by dividing net income by the weighted average number of shares of common stock outstanding during the period. Diluted earnings per common share were determined on the assumptions that all dilutive stock options were exercised and stock was repurchased using the treasury stock method, at the average price for each period. The Company adopted Statement of Financial Accounting Standards (SFAS) No. 128, "Earnings per Share," effective December 15, 1997. As a result, the Company's reported earnings per share for prior periods were restated to conform to the requirements of SFAS No. 128. The effect of this adoption on previously reported earnings per share data was not significant.

     The weighted average common shares outstanding for the quarters ended February 28, 1998 and 1999 were 12,507,760 and 11,774,927, respectively.
Dilutive common equivalent shares for the quarters ended February 28, 1998 and 1999 were 241,252 and 351,199, respectively, all attributable to stock options.

     The weighted average common shares outstanding for the six months ended February 28, 1998 and 1999 were 12,505,564 and 12,119,557, respectively.
Dilutive common equivalent shares for the six months ended February 28, 1998 and 1999 were 240,228 and 236,693, respectively, all attributable to stock options.

Note 4 - Acquisitions -

     On October 8, 1997, the Company purchased the capital stock of Pipework Engineering and Developments Limited (PED), a pipe fabrication company in Wolverhampton, United Kingdom, for $539,000 in cash, net of cash received, and notes payable to former stockholders of $1,078,000. Acquisition costs of approximately $160,000 were incurred by the Company. The purchase method was used to account for the acquisition. Goodwill, which is being amortized over 20 years using the straight-line method, was approximately $1,600,000. The operating results of PED have been included in the condensed consolidated statements of income of the Company from the date of acquisition. The pro-forma effect of the acquisition of PED, had it occurred on September 1, 1997, is not material to the operations of the Company.

     On November 14, 1997, the Company purchased all of the capital stock or substantially all of the assets of the principal operating businesses of Prospect Industries plc (Prospect) of Derby, United Kingdom, for approximately $14,600,000 in cash, net of cash received. Acquisition costs of approximately $2,000,000 were incurred by the Company. Prospect, a mechanical contractor and provider of turnkey piping systems serving the power generating and process industries worldwide, operated through several wholly-owned subsidiaries including Connex Pipe Systems, Inc. (Connex), a piping systems fabrication business located in Troutville, Virginia; Aiton Australia Pty Limited (Aiton Australia), a piping systems, boiler refurbishment and project management company based near Sydney, Australia; and Prospect Engineering Limited (PEL), a mechanical contractor and a provider of turnkey piping systems located in Derby, United Kingdom. Under the terms of the acquisition agreement, the Company acquired all of the outstanding capital stock of Prospect Industries Overseas Limited (a United Kingdom holding company that held the entire ownership interest in Connex), all of the capital stock of Aiton Australia and certain assets of PEL. The Company also assumed certain liabilities of PEL and Prospect relating to its employees and pension plans including approximately $4,000,000 of cost related to the Company's plan to reduce the workforce at Prospect. These costs relate to amounts due to employees under statutory and contractual severance entitlements. As of February 28, 1999, approximately $3,000,000 had been paid to former employees with the remaining $1,000,000 to be paid upon completion of the Company's workforce reduction plan, the majority of which is expected to take place during the second half of fiscal 1999. The purchase method was used to account for the acquisition. Goodwill, which is being amortized over 20 years using the straight-line method, was approximately $4,600,000. The operating results of the Prospect businesses (other than discontinued operations, which are discussed in Note 9 of the Notes to Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements) have been included in the condensed consolidated statements of income from the date of the acquisition.

     On January 15, 1998, the Company purchased all of the outstanding capital stock of Lancas, C.A. (now named Shaw Lancas, C.A.), a construction company in Punto Fijo, Venezuela, for approximately $2,600,000 in cash, net of cash received. The Company also incurred approximately $100,000 of acquisition costs. Goodwill of approximately $400,000 is being amortized over 20 years using the straight-line method. The purchase method was used to account for this acquisition. The operating results of Lancas have been included in the condensed consolidated statements of income from the date of acquisition. The pro-forma effect of the acquisition of Lancas, had it occurred on September 1, 1997, is not material to the operations of the Company.

     On January 19, 1998, the Company completed the acquisition of all of the outstanding capital stock of Cojafex, B.V. of Rotterdam, Holland (Cojafex) for approximately $8,500,000; $4,547,000 (net of cash received) of which was paid at closing. The balance of the purchase price will be paid through December 31, 2003. Acquisition costs of approximately $60,000 were incurred by the Company. Cojafex owns the technology for certain induction pipe bending machines used for bending pipe and other carbon steel and alloy items for industrial, commercial and agricultural applications, and, using such technology, Cojafex designs, engineers, manufactures, markets and sells such induction bending machines. Goodwill, which is being amortized over 20 years using the straight-line method, was approximately $8,500,000. The purchase method was used to account for this acquisition. The operating results of Cojafex have been included in the condensed consolidated statements of income from the date of acquisition. The pro-forma effect of the acquisition of Cojafex, had it occurred on September 1, 1997, is not material to the operations of the Company.

     On July 28, 1998, the Company completed the acquisition of all of the outstanding capital stock of Bagwell Brothers, Inc. (now named Shaw Bagwell,
Inc.) and a subsidiary (collectively, Bagwell). Total consideration paid was $1,600,000 in cash and 645,000 shares of the Company's Common Stock valued at $13,033,000. The Company also incurred $184,000 of acquisition costs. The purchase method was used to account for the acquisition. Goodwill of approximately $11,300,000 is being amortized on a straight-line basis over 20 years. The operating results of Bagwell have been included in the condensed consolidated statements of income from the date of acquisition. The pro-forma effect of the acquisition of Bagwell, had it occurred on September 1, 1997, is not material to the operations of the Company.

     The following summarized unaudited income statement data reflects the impact that the Prospect acquisition would have had on the Company's results of operations for the six months ended February 28, 1998, if such acquisition had taken place on September 1, 1997 (in thousands, except per share data):

                                                                         1998
                                                                         ----

     Gross revenue                                                     $263,006
                                                                       ========
     Income from continuing operations                                 $  9,991
                                                                       ========
     Basic earnings from continuing operations per common share        $    .80
                                                                       ========
     Diluted earnings from continuing operations per common share      $    .78
                                                                       ========

Note 5 - Investment in Unconsolidated Entities-

     During the six months ended February 28, 1999, the Company recognized earnings of $145,000 from Shaw-Nass Middle East, W.L.L., the Company's Bahrain joint venture (Shaw-Nass). In addition, as of August 31, 1998 and February 28, 1999, the Company had outstanding receivables from Shaw-Nass totaling $1,758,000 and $4,459,000, respectively. These receivables relate primarily to inventory and equipment sold to the entity.

Note 6 - Investment in Securities Available for Sale -

     In connection with its construction and maintenance work, the Company embarked on its first significant project financing participation. As a result, the Company acquired $12,500,000 of 15% Senior Secured Notes (the "Notes") due December 1, 2003 from a customer (together with certain preferred stock related thereto). Through December 1, 2000, additional bonds are expected to be received in lieu of interest, increasing the Company's investment in the Notes. Since these securities are available for sale, SFAS No. 115, "Accounting for Certain Investments in Debt and Equity Securities" requires that the securities be measured at fair value in the balance sheet and that unrealized holding gains and losses, net of taxes, for these investments be reported in a separate component of shareholders' equity until realized. Based on recent sales of additional securities by the debtor, at February 28, 1999, the securities had an aggregate value approximating the principal amount of $12,808,000. As a result, no unrealized gain or loss is recognized in shareholders' equity.

Note 7 - Long-Term Financing Agreement -

     In February 1999, an insurance company approved an agreement to finance a first mortgage on the Company's corporate headquarters for $4,400,000 at 7.2% with a 20-year payout. The Company intends to use the proceeds to pay down its U.S. revolving line of credit balance. Accordingly, at February 28, 1999, the Company's revolving line of credit has been reduced by that amount, and the current and long-term portion of the long-term debt has been increased by $105,000 and $4,295,000, respectively.

Note 8 - Comprehensive Income -

     SFAS No. 130, "Reporting Comprehensive Income," which is required to be adopted by the Company in the first quarter of fiscal 1999, establishes standards for the reporting and display of comprehensive income as part of a full set of financial statements. Comprehensive income for a period encompasses net income and all other changes in a company's equity other than from transactions with the company's owners. Comprehensive income was comprised of
the following (in thousands): <TABLE> <CAPTION>

                                                                 Three Months Ended                 Six Months Ended
                                                                     February 28,                      February 28,
                                                                 1998            1999              1998            1999
                                                                 ----            ----              ----            ----

         Net income                                             $ 5,338        $ 4,324             $10,042      $ 7,146

         Foreign currency translation adjustments                  (571)        (1,120)               (571)        (673)
                                                                -------        -------             -------      -------
         Total comprehensive income                             $ 4,767        $ 3,204             $ 9,471      $ 6,473
                                                                =======        =======             =======      =======

     The foreign currency translation adjustments relate to the varying strength
of the U.S. dollar in relation to the British pound, Australian dollar and Dutch
guilder.

Note 9 - Discontinued Operations -

     In June 1998, the Company  adopted a plan to discontinue  its operations of
the  following  subsidiaries:  Weldtech,  a seller of  welding  supplies;  Inflo
Control Systems Limited (Inflo),  a manufacturer of boiler steam leak detection,
acoustic mill and combustion monitoring equipment and related systems; Greenbank
(a  division  of  PEL),  an  abrasive  and  corrosion   resistant  pipe  systems
specialist; and NAPTech Pressure Systems Corporation, a manufacturer of pressure
vessels and truck  tanker  trailers.  The Company sold and/or  discontinued  its
investment in each of these  operations prior to August 31, 1998. The results of
these  operations  have  been  classified  as  discontinued  operations  in  the
condensed  consolidated  financial statements of the Company.  Revenues of these
discontinued  operations  totaled  approximately  $3,884,000  for the six months
ended February 28, 1998.

                         PART I - FINANCIAL INFORMATION

           ITEM 2. - MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF FINANCIAL
                       CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS

Introduction
------------

     The following  discussion  summarizes  the  financial  position of The Shaw
Group Inc. and its subsidiaries  (hereinafter  referred to collectively,  unless
the context  otherwise  requires,  as the  "Company"  or "Shaw") at February 28,
1999,  and the  results of its  operations  for the  three-month  and  six-month
periods  then  ended  and  should  be read in  conjunction  with  the  financial
statements and notes thereto included elsewhere in this Quarterly Report on Form
10-Q.

     The  Private  Securities  Litigation  Reform  Act of 1995  provides a "safe
harbor" for certain forward-looking statements. The statements contained in this
Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q that are not historical facts are  forward-looking
statements based on the Company's  current  expectations and beliefs  concerning
future developments and their potential effects on the Company.  There can be no
assurance  that  future  developments   affecting  the  Company  will  be  those
anticipated by the Company.  Actual  results may differ from those  projected in
the  forward-looking   statements.   These  forward-looking  statements  involve
significant risks and uncertainties (some of which are beyond the control of the
Company) and are subject to change based upon various factors, including but not
limited to the following risks and uncertainties:  changes in the demand for and
market  acceptance of the Company's  products and services;  in general economic
conditions and,  specifically,  economic conditions  prevailing in international
markets;  the presence of competitors with greater  financial  resources and the
impact  of  competitive  products,  services  and  pricing;  the  effect  of the
Company's  policies,  including without limitation the amount and rate of growth
of Company  expenses;  the  continued  availability  to the  Company of adequate
funding  sources and changes in interest  rates;  delays or  difficulties in the
production,  delivery or installation of products and the provision of services;
Y2K or Year 2000 risks; and various legal,  regulatory and litigation risks. The
Company   undertakes   no   obligation   to   publicly   update  or  revise  any
forward-looking  statements,  whether  as a result  of new  information,  future
events or otherwise.

Results of Operations
---------------------

     The following table sets forth for the periods indicated the percentages of
the Company's net sales that certain income and expense items represent:




                                                                      (Unaudited)                       (Unaudited)
                                                                  Three Months Ended                 Six Months Ended
                                                                     February 28,                      February 28,
                                                                 1998            1999             1998            1999
                                                                 ----            ----             ----            ----


         Sales                                                 100.0%           100.0%           100.0%          100.0%
         Cost of sales                                          83.1             79.8             82.5            81.0
                                                               -----            -----           ------          ------
         Gross profit                                           16.9             20.2             17.5            19.0

         General and administrative expenses                     9.3             12.4              9.9            12.4
                                                              ------            -----           ------          ------

         Operating income                                        7.6              7.8              7.6             6.6

         Interest expense                                       (1.7)            (2.2)            (1.7)           (2.1)
         Other income (expense), net                              .1             ( .1)              .1              --
                                                             -------            -----           ------          ------
                                                                (1.6)            (2.3)            (1.6)           (2.1)
                                                             -------            -----          -------          ------

         Income before income taxes                              6.0              5.5              6.0             4.5
         Provision for income taxes                              2.0              1.9              1.8             1.5
                                                             -------            -----          -------          ------
         Income from continuing operations
            before earnings from
            unconsolidated entity                                4.0              3.6              4.2             3.0

         Earnings from unconsolidated entity                      --               .2               .1              .1
                                                             -------            -----          -------          ------
         Income from continuing operations                       4.0              3.8              4.3             3.1
         Operating results of discontinued operations,
              net of taxes                                        --               --               --              --
                                                             -------            -----          -------          ------
         Net income                                              4.0%             3.8%             4.3%            3.1%
                                                             =======            =====          =======          ======


     Sales decreased 16.1% to $112.9 million for the three months ended February
28, 1999 as compared to $134.6 million for the same period in the prior year. An
analysis of sales follows.

     The Company's sales were for projects in the following geographic regions:


                                        Three Months Ended February 28,
                                      1998                           1999
                             ----------------------      ----------------------
     Geographic Region       (in millions)      %       (in millions)        %
     -----------------       -------------     ---       -------------      ---
     U.S.A.                      $ 69.5         52%           $ 85.1        75%
     Far East/Pacific Rim          29.0         21              10.3         9
     Middle East                    2.8          2               1.9         2
     South America                  7.7          6               3.3         3
     Europe                        19.8         15               9.9         9
     Other                          5.8          4               2.4         2
                                 ------        ----           ------        ---
                                 $134.6        100%           $112.9        100%
                                 ======        ===            ======        ===

          The  Company's  sales  were for  projects  in the  following  industry
sectors:

                                            Three Months Ended February 28,
                                          1998                       1999
                                 --------------------     ----------------------
     Industry Sector             (in millions)     %      (in millions)       %
     ---------------             -------------    ---     ----------------   ---
     Electric Power              $ 62.4            46%     $ 32.1            28%
     Chemical                      33.3            25        33.6            30
     Refining                      15.5            12        23.9            21
     Petrochemical                 10.7             8         8.3             7
     Oil and Gas                    4.4             3         6.5             6
     Other                          8.3             6         8.5             8
                                 ------          ----      ------           ---
                                 $134.6           100%     $112.9           100%
                                 ======          ====      ======           ===

     Sales for domestic  projects  increased  $15.6 million,  or 22%, from $69.5
million for the three  months ended  February 28, 1998 to $85.1  million for the
three months ended February 28, 1999.  The increase in domestic sales  primarily
resulted  from  increases  in sales to the  Chemical  and  Refining  sectors for
projects  in which the  Company  supplied  construction  services in addition to
piping.  A  large  construction  project  for a  refinery  in  Norco,  Louisiana
accounted  for  approximately  14% of the  Company's  sales for the three months
ended  February 28,  1999.  Sales for  international  projects  decreased  $37.3
million,  or 57%, to $27.8 million for the three months ended  February 28, 1999
from $65.1  million  for the same  period of the prior  year.  The  decrease  in
international  sales is primarily  attributable  to decreases in Electric  Power
sector  sales  to the Far  East/Pacific  Rim  region  (due to  general  economic
conditions),  in Electric Power sector sales to the European  region  (primarily
due to the Company's  U.K.  operations  targeting  fewer,  but more  profitable,
projects  in an effort to  achieve  consistent  profitability)  and in  Refinery
sector sales to the South American  region (due to general  economic  conditions
and,  particularly with respect to Venezuela,  recent political events), as well
as decreases  in Chemical  sector sales to other  regions.  Notwithstanding  the
December 1998 award to the Company of an  approximately  $30 million contract to
supply piping for a nuclear power plant in Taiwan,  the  short-term  outlook for
the Far  East/Pacific Rim region,  as well as for the South American region,  is
uncertain. The Company continues to believe,  however, that the Far East/Pacific
Rim and South American markets do present  significant  long-term  opportunities
for  the  Company.  The  decrease  in the  European  region  is  believed  to be
temporary, as the Company's U.K. operations are beginning to show improvement as
indicated by their backlog of $29.6 million as of February 28, 1999.

     The  increase  in the Oil and Gas  sector  was the  result of a  subsidiary
acquired in July 1998,  partially  offset by  reductions  in Oil and Gas project
work  performed by other  subsidiaries  of the Company.  Notwithstanding  recent
increases in oil prices worldwide,  the Company's outlook for sales from the Oil
and Gas  sector in the short-  and  mid-term  is  somewhat  pessimistic,  as the
stability  of the recent  increase  in oil prices is  questionable  and,  in any
event,  capital  spending  generally lags behind  significant  oil and gas price
increases.  The dollar  amount of sales in the Electric  Power sector  decreased
significantly  during the three-month period ended February 28, 1999 as compared
to the same  period  of the  prior  year,  primarily  due to  decreased  foreign
projects  in the Far  East/Pacific  Rim and  European  markets.  In light of the
economic  conditions in the Far East/Pacific  Rim, the Company  anticipates that
this downward  trend in sales will continue for the  foreseeable  future in this
geographic  region.  The Company  anticipates a partial  offset of this trend by
increased activity in Europe, as well as the domestic market as evidenced by the
recently announced $300 million, five year power contract.

     The gross profit,  as a percentage  of sales,  for the  three-month  period
ended February 28, 1999 increased to 20.2% from 16.9% for the three-month period
ended  February  28,  1998.  Similarly,  the  gross  profit  percentage  for the
six-month  period ended  February 28, 1999 increased to 19.0% from 17.5% for the
same period the prior year. The gross profit percentages for the three-month and
six-month  periods  ended  February  28,  1999 were  positively  impacted by the
exclusion  from  sales  and cost of sales of  significant  costs  for  material,
equipment and subcontract work on a large construction project;  these costs are
generally  included in sales and cost of sales on a  pass-through  basis because
they are typically within the Company's scope under construction contracts.  The
amount of gross profit on this project  remained  the same  notwithstanding  the
exclusion from sales and cost of sales of the costs of materials,  equipment and
subcontractor  work from the  contractual  scope of this  project;  thus,  gross
profit as a  percentage  of sales is higher than  customary.  In  addition,  the
Company's gross profit  percentages  for the  three-month and six-month  periods
ended February 28, 1999 were positively  impacted by several other  construction
contracts with higher gross profit percentages than the Company has historically
experienced. In light of the general economic conditions in South America (which
historically  has realized  higher gross profit  percentages  than the Company's
other  operations)  and the  increasing  percentage  of  Company  revenues  from
construction  projects (which generally have lower gross profit percentages than
pipe fabrication),  the Company believes that current levels of gross profit, as
a percentage of sales, will not be maintained over the long term.

     General and administrative  expenses were $14.0 million for the three-month
period ended  February 28, 1999, up 12% from the same period for the prior year.
For the six-month  period ended  February 28, 1999,  general and  administrative
expenses were $28.3 million, up 23% from the prior year. The increases primarily
relate  to the  integration  of Shaw  Lancas,  C.A.  (the  Company's  Venezuelan
construction  subsidiary)  and Shaw  Bagwell,  Inc.  (the  Company's oil and gas
services  subsidiary)  into the  Company's  business and growth of the Company's
construction  services.  The Company's general and administrative  expenses also
increased  as a  percentage  of sales for each  period as  compared to the prior
year.  The  Company  believes  that  general  and  administrative  expenses as a
percentage of sales will decrease toward  historical levels as the operations of
Shaw Lancas,  C.A. and Shaw Bagwell,  Inc. are more efficiently  integrated into
the Company's operations as a whole, but there can be no assurance that any such
decrease will occur.

     Interest  expense for the quarter ended February 28, 1999 was $2.4 million,
compared to $2.3  million  for the same  period of the prior  year.  For the six
months ended  February  28, 1999,  interest  expense was $4.9  million,  up $1.0
million from the same period of the previous  year.  Interest  expense varies in
relation to the balances in, and variable  interest  rates under,  the Company's
principal  revolving line of credit  facility,  which has generally been used to
provide   working   capital  and  fund  fixed  asset  purchases  and  subsidiary
acquisitions. Additionally, in the six months ended February 28, 1999, this line
of credit facility was used to purchase treasury stock totaling $13.0 million.

     The  Company's  effective  tax rates for the six months ended  February 28,
1998 and 1999 were 29.3% and 32.3%, respectively.  The tax rates for each period
relate primarily to the mix of foreign versus domestic work.

     Total  backlog  increased to $776 million at February 28, 1999  compared to
$280 million reported at February 28, 1998 and $430 million reported at November
30,  1998.  Approximately  78% of the backlog  relates to domestic  projects and
roughly  50% of the backlog  relates to work  currently  anticipated  to be done
during the 12 months  following  February 28, 1999.  In addition,  a significant
portion of the backlog  relates to a $300  million,  five-year,  domestic  power
contract.

         Backlog by industry sector is as follows (in millions):

                  Electric Power                               $453.4
                  Chemical                                      187.0
                  Refining                                      100.6
                  Oil and Gas                                    21.7
                  Petrochemical                                   6.5
                  Other                                           6.6
                                                               ------
                                                               $775.8
                                                               ======

         Backlog by geography is as follows (in millions):

                  Domestic                                     $605.2
                  International                                 170.6
                                                                -----
                                                               $775.8
                                                               ======
Liquidity and Capital Resources
-------------------------------

     Net cash used in  operations  was $11.9  million  for the six months  ended
February 28, 1999, compared to $27.6 million for the same period of the previous
fiscal year.  For the six months ended  February 28, 1999,  cash from  operating
activities was favorably impacted by net income of $7.1 million and depreciation
and  amortization  of $6.4  million  offset by  changes  in  certain  assets and
liabilities of $24.8 million and other non-cash items of $.6 million. A decrease
in accounts payable, resulting from the timing of payments to vendors, accounted
for the majority of the $24.8 million change in assets and liabilities.

     Net cash used in investing  activities was $23.8 million for the six months
ended  February 28, 1999,  compared to $31.7  million for the same period of the
previous fiscal year. During the six months ended February 28, 1999, the Company
embarked on its first significant project financing participation. In connection
with its  construction  and  maintenance  work on a  refinery  project in Norco,
Louisiana, Shaw acquired $12.5 million of 15% Senior Secured Notes (the "Notes")
due December 1, 2003 (together with certain  preferred  stock related  thereto).
The Notes are secured by a first priority  security interest in certain refinery
assets.  Through December 1, 2000,  additional bonds are expected to be received
in lieu of interest,  increasing  the  Company's  investment  in the Notes.  The
Company also  purchased  approximately  $11.0 million of property and equipment,
excluding a $3.0 million  non-cash  transaction.  Approximately  $6.5 million of
this amount was for a new  corporate  facility  in Baton  Rouge,  Louisiana.  An
additional $4.9 million was for construction  equipment. In the six months ended
February  28,  1998,  in addition  to $5.6  million of  property  and  equipment
acquisitions,  the Company invested $26.1 million, net of cash received,  in the
PED, Prospect, Lancas and Cojafex acquisitions.

     Net cash  provided  by  financing  activities  was  $40.0  million  for the
six-month  period ended  February 28, 1999,  compared to $59.1  million that was
provided  for the six months ended  February 28, 1998.  For the six months ended
February  28,  1999,  $47.0  million  of cash was  provided  from the  Company's
revolving line of credit agreements with its commercial  lenders.  The revolving
line of credit  facilities  have been used generally to provide  working capital
and fund fixed asset  purchases and  subsidiary  acquisitions.  Beginning in the
first  quarter of fiscal  1999,  the  Company  also  began to use its  principal
revolving line of credit facility to repurchase  shares of the Company's  Common
Stock  through  open market and block  transactions  in  accordance  with a plan
adopted  by the  Company's  Board of  Directors.  During  the six  months  ended
February 28, 1999,  1,506,600  shares of stock had been  repurchased  at a total
price, including brokerage commissions, of approximately $13.0 million. Cash was
also provided by $5.4 million of new debt (including the $4.4 million  long-term
financing agreement referred to in Note 6 of the Notes to Condensed Consolidated
Financial  Statements)  and a $4.2  million  increase in  outstanding  checks in
excess of bank balances (resulting from the timing of payments and the clearance
of checks), while funds of $3.6 million were used to pay down outstanding debt.

     As of  February  28,  1999,  the  Company  had  approximately  $28  million
available  under its principal  revolving line of credit  facility.  The Company
believes  its  current  borrowing  arrangements  are  sufficient  to support its
operations for the next twelve months.

Year 2000 Compliance
--------------------

     The "Year 2000" or "Y2K" issue is the result of computerized  systems being
written to store and process the year  portion of dates using two digits  rather
than four.  Date-sensitive  systems may fail or produce erroneous results on, or
before or after January 1, 2000 because the year 2000 may be  interpreted as the
year  1900.  During  1998,  the  Company  began  implementation  of a program to
identify,  evaluate  and  address  the  Company's  Y2K risks to ensure  that its
Information Technology ("IT") systems and non-IT systems will be able to process
dates from and after  January  1, 2000  without  critical  systems  failure.  In
addition to evaluating its own systems,  the Company is attempting to assess the
Y2K risks associated with its significant customers and suppliers.

     In  general,   the  Company's  program  for  identifying,   evaluating  and
addressing  its Y2K risks for both IT and non-IT  systems  involves  preliminary
assessments by Company  personnel,  detail audits and assessments by consultants
(which consultants have cost the Company approximately  $100,000 to date and are
currently  estimated  to cost  approximately  $250,000  for the  duration of the
program) and correction or replacement of any non-compliant systems.

     The Company is currently evaluating its IT systems for Y2K compliance.  The
analysis  has  been  segmented  into  three  categories:  local,  national,  and
international.  Each segment was divided  into major  business  areas:  systems,
products, facilities, and suppliers. These business areas were divided into even
smaller  categories  for data  collection  and  evaluation,  such as  computers,
network equipment, production equipment, manufacturing equipment, alarm systems,
phone systems,  etc. The data was entered into a repository  that was created to
track  evaluation and  remediation  efforts.  The following is an example of the
methodology and results gathered during the Company's Year 2000 program:

         Systems

                  The  Company's  proprietary  and  off-the-shelf  systems  were
         identified  during the inventory  phases of the program for  compliance
         analysis. Shaw's proprietary software has been evaluated for compliance
         and  is  currently  in  the  remediation  process,  which  the  Company
         currently  estimates  to  be  85%  complete.  Upon  completion,   these
         proprietary  systems  will  be  tested  in an  identical  but  separate
         environment,  to evaluate their  functionality  after  remediation  has
         taken   place.   This  testing   process   will   include   operational
         functionality  as well as current,  future and crossover dates from the
         year 1999 and the year 2000. Testing for these systems is scheduled for
         June 1999,  with  installation  to the active  environment  immediately
         after successful testing.  Off-the-shelf  applications  critical to the
         Company  have been  inventoried,  evaluated  and,  to the extent  found
         non-compliant,  are being upgraded. Support systems, such as PC's, have
         been  identified  and evaluated  with more than 90% passing  compliance
         tests. The remaining  systems are being reported to upper management at
         each site to schedule a phase-in  of new  systems by June 1, 1999.  The
         Company  currently  does  not  have an  estimate  of the  costs of such
         upgrades  and new  systems  but  believes  that such  costs will not be
         significantly  more  than  the  Company's  customary  expenditures  for
         routine maintenance and upgrading of its off-the-shelf applications and
         support systems.

         Products

                  After an inventory and evaluation,  the Company  believes that
         the majority of its products are generally not  vulnerable to Year 2000
         anomalies.  With regard to the Cojafex bending machines,  which are the
         only  significant  Company  products with imbedded  technology,  design
         modifications  are being  implemented  to assure full Y2K compliance of
         future machines.  With respect to Cojafex machines previously sold, the
         Company  believes  that,  while  certain  reporting  functions  may  be
         impacted,  the  production  functionality  of the  machines will not be
         adversely affected.

         Facilities

                  The Company has identified its business facilities as critical
         to the Year 2000 evaluation process. Only one facility domestically and
         the Company's  international  facilities remain to be inventoried,  and
         those  facilities are scheduled to be completed before the end of April
         1999.  Systems such as HVAC,  alarm systems,  fire systems,  elevators,
         electrical power, and others have been targeted for evaluation  because
         of their potential impact on business  operations if they were to fail.
         For completed  locations,  all of these items have been inventoried and
         72% of these  systems  evaluated for  compliance.  To date, no business
         facilities have been determined to be materially noncompliant.

         Suppliers

                  Based  on  its  preliminary  risk  assessments,   the  Company
         believes  the most  likely Y2K  related  failure  would be a  temporary
         disruption in certain materials and services provided by third parties,
         which could have a material  adverse effect on the Company's  financial
         condition or results of operations.  Shaw has attempted to identify and
         classify business suppliers based on relevant priority factors, and has
         contracted  numerous suppliers and potential  suppliers regarding their
         Y2K compliance. The Company believes that, in general, many vendors can
         be easily substituted in case of noncompliance;  however, certain types
         of raw  materials  are  available  from  only one or a few  specialized
         suppliers. To date, the Company believes that all suppliers material to
         the Company's  operations  or conduct of business  have been  contacted
         either by phone or survey about their compliance efforts and status.

     The Company has not incurred significant costs related to Y2K compliance as
of February 28, 1999, except for consultant services of approximately  $100,000.
Based upon the  information  currently  available,  the Company does not believe
that the cost to modify or replace its  non-compliant IT and non-IT systems will
be  significant;  however,  there  can be no  assurance  that such cost will not
materially  and  negatively  impact  its  financial   condition  or  results  of
operations.

     Based upon the outcome of its assessments and the information  derived from
its  significant  customers  and  suppliers,  the Company will develop  specific
contingency  plans to address certain risk areas,  as needed,  beginning in July
1999.  There  can be no  assurance  that  the  Company  will  not be  materially
adversely affected by Y2K problems or related costs.

Financial Accounting Standards Board Statements
-----------------------------------------------

     In June 1997, the Financial  Accounting Standards Board (the "FASB") issued
Statement  of  Financial   Accounting   Standards  No.  131  ("SFAS  No.  131"),
"Disclosures about Segments of an Enterprise and Related  Information," which is
effective  for periods  beginning  after  December 15,  1997.  SFAS No. 131 will
require the Company to report  financial and descriptive  information  about its
operating segments in its annual financial statements for the year ending August
31, 1999.

     In June 1998, the FASB issued Statement of Financial  Accounting  Standards
No. 133 -- "Accounting for Derivative Instruments and Hedging Activities" ("SFAS
No.  133").  The  provisions  of this  statement are effective for the Company's
fiscal year ending August 31, 2000.  Management does not believe that the impact
of  adopting  this  statement  will  have a  material  impact  on the  Company's
financial position or results of operations.

     In early 1998,  the  American  Institute of  Certified  Public  Accountants
("AICPA") issued Statement of Position 98-5, "Reporting on the Costs of Start-Up
Activities"  ("SOP").  The SOP is  effective  for fiscal years  beginning  after
December 15, 1998 and will require costs of start-up activities and organization
costs to be  expensed as  incurred.  Any such  unamortized  costs on the date of
adoption of the new standard  will be written off and  reflected as a cumulative
effect of a change in accounting principle. As of February 28, 1999, the Company
had total unamortized deferred  organizational costs of approximately  $680,000.
The Company intends to adopt this new requirement in fiscal 2000.

       ITEM 3. QUANTITATIVE AND QUALITATIVE DISCLOSURES ABOUT MARKET RISK

Interest Rate and Foreign Currency Risk
---------------------------------------

     The Company is exposed to interest  rate risk and  foreign  currency  risk.
Since  August 31,  1998,  there have been no material  changes in the  Company's
exposure to these risks.

                           PART II - OTHER INFORMATION


ITEM 4. - SUBMISSION OF MATTERS TO A VOTE OF SECURITY HOLDERS


     On  January  29,  1999,  the  Company  held  its  1999  Annual  Meeting  of
Shareholders.  The only  matters  submitted  to a vote at the  meeting  were the
election of directors  and a proposal to approve an  amendment to the  Company's
1993 Employee Stock Option Plan to increase the number of shares of Common Stock
reserved for issuance thereunder.

         The results of the vote for election of directors were as follows:

                         Name                     For                  Withheld
                         ----                     ---                  --------
                  J. M. Bernhard, Jr.           17,310,159              128,171
                  L. Lane Grigsby               17,309,609              128,721
                  David W. Hoyle                17,309,659              128,671
                  Albert McAlister              17,310,059              128,271
                  John W. Sinders, Jr.          17,308,859              129,471
                  William H. Grigg              17,309,959              128,371

         There  were  no  broker  non-votes  with  respect  to the  election  of
directors.

         The results of the vote taken on the proposal to increase the number of
shares of the Company's  Common Stock reserved for issuance under The Shaw Group
Inc.  1993 Employee  Stock Option Plan as  restricted  stock or upon exercise of
stock options from 590,442 shares to 1,662,500 shares were as follows:

                       For                      12,816,080
                       Against                   1,720,185
                       Abstain                      19,810

         There were 2,882,255 broker non-votes with respect to the proposal.

ITEM 6. - EXHIBITS AND REPORTS ON FORM 8-K

         A.       Exhibits

                  Exhibit Number                    Description
                  ----------------           ------------------------

                  11                         Computation of Earnings Per Share
                  27                         Financial Data Schedule

         B.       Form 8-K

                  During the fiscal quarter ended February 28, 1999, the Company
                  did not file a Form 8-K.

                                    SIGNATURE

         Pursuant to the  requirements  of the Securities  Exchange Act of 1934,
the  registrant  has duly  caused  this report to be signed on its behalf by the
undersigned, thereunto duly authorized.



THE SHAW GROUP INC.



Dated:   April 14, 1999                              /S/ Robert L. Belk
                                                     -------------------
                             Chief Financial Officer
                            (Duly Authorized Officer)

                               THE SHAW GROUP INC.

                                  EXHIBIT INDEX



    Form 10-Q Quarterly Report for the Quarterly Period ended February 28, 1999.



Exhibit Number                             Description
--------------                             -----------

         11                         Computation of Earnings per Share

         27                         Financial Data Schedule


                                   EXHIBIT 11
                        Computation of Earnings Per Share


                                                            Three Months Ended                      Six Months Ended
                                                               February 28,                           February 28,
                                                          1998               1999                 1998             1999
                                                          ----               ----                 ----             ----


Income from continuing operations
    (dollars in thousands)                              $    5,395       $     4,324         $   10,030        $     7,146
                                                        ==========       ===========         ==========        ===========

Shares:
   Weighted average number of common
        shares outstanding                              12,507,760        11,774,927         12,505,564        12,119,557
   Net effect of stock options                             241,252           351,199            240,228           236,693
                                                        ----------       -----------         ----------        ----------
   Weighted average number of common
       shares outstanding, plus assumed
       exercise of stock options                        12,749,012        12,126,126         12,745,792        12,356,250
                                                        ==========       ===========         ==========        ==========

Income from continuing operations:
   Basic earnings per share                            $       .43       $       .37         $      .80        $      .59
                                                       ===========       ===========         ==========        ==========
   Diluted earnings per share                          $       .42       $       .36         $      .79        $      .58
                                                       ===========       ===========         ==========        ==========
