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                                                                   EXHIBIT 99.1




                                  CERTIFICATION
            PURSUANT TO SECTION 906 OF THE SARBANES-OXLEY ACT OF 2002
                   (Subsections (a) and (b) of Section 1350,
                  Chapter 63 of Title 18, United States Code)


         Pursuant to section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 (subsections
(a) and (b) of section 1350, chapter 63 of title 18, United States Code), I, Herbert Glimcher, Chief Executive Officer of Glimcher Realty Trust, a Maryland real estate investment trust (the "Company"), do hereby certify, to my knowledge that:

         The Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the quarter ended June 30, 2002 (the "Form 10-Q") of the Company fully complies with the requirements of section 13(a) or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 and information contained in the Form 10-Q fairly presents, in all material respects, the financial condition and results of operations of the Company.



Date: August 13, 2002                       /s/ Herbert Glimcher
      ---------------                       -------------------------------
                                            Herbert Glimcher
                                            Chief Executive Officer



         The foregoing certification is being furnished solely pursuant to
section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 (subsections (a) and (b) of
section 1350, chapter 63 of title 18, United States Code) and is not being filed as part of the Form 10-Q or as a separate disclosure document.