COMMUNITY STATISTICS Dollars in thousands except Average Effective Rent

					Average Effective
	As of June 30, 2009				Rent for the
			Percent to		Three Months
		Gross	Total of	Physical	Ended
	Units	Real Assets	Gross Assets	Occupancy	Jun 30, 2009

Dallas, TX	3,678	$ 207,515	7.8%	96.3%	$ 704.21
Jacksonville, FL	3,347	$ 188,160	7.1%	96.4%	$ 775.28
Atlanta, GA	3,253	$ 251,832	9.5%	94.1%	$ 788.25
Houston, TX	3,191	$ 225,008	8.5%	94.2%	$ 818.45
Nashville, TN	1,855	$ 128,164	4.8%	96.0%	$ 778.11
Austin, TX	1,776	$ 111,074	4.2%	94.3%	$ 758.84
Tampa, FL	1,342	$ 92,017	3.5%	96.5%	$ 874.10
Raleigh/Durham, NC	1,028	$ 88,093	3.3%	95.0%	$ 790.16
Phoenix, AZ	792	$ 98,451	3.7%	89.6%	$ 752.16
South Florida	480	$ 53,161	2.0%	96.7%	$ 1,253.43
Orlando, FL	288	$ 14,725	0.6%	99.0%	$ 746.93
Primary Markets	21,030	$ 1,458,200	55.0%	95.2%	$ 786.96

Memphis, TN	4,021	$ 209,233	7.9%	96.3%	$ 671.24
Columbus, GA	1,509	$ 77,922	2.9%	96.2%	$ 712.80
Jackson, MS	1,241	$ 59,406	2.2%	96.6%	$ 705.34
Greenville, SC	1,140	$ 51,267	1.9%	94.0%	$ 587.76
Lexington, KY	924	$ 60,745	2.3%	95.0%	$ 720.48
Little Rock, AR	808	$ 42,849	1.6%	98.8%	$ 666.30
Savannah, GA	526	$ 44,366	1.7%	98.7%	$ 848.98
All Other Secondary	10,322	$ 563,690	21.3%	95.4%	$ 703.69
Secondary Markets	20,491	$ 1,109,478	41.8%	95.8%	$ 694.65

Subtotal	41,521	$ 2,567,678	96.8%	95.5%	$ 741.40

Development and Lease-up Properties	869	$ 84,168	3.2%	81.6%	$ 797.88

Total Portfolio	42,390	$ 2,651,846	100.0%	95.2%	$ 742.56

NUMBER OF APARTMENT UNITS

	2009		2008
	Jun 30	Mar 31	Dec 31	Sept 30	Jun 30

100% Owned Properties	41,764	41,626	41,928	41,801	41,007
Properties in Joint Ventures	626	626	626	626	626
Total Portfolio	42,390	42,252	42,554	42,427	41,633

SAME STORE (EXCLUDES 8 FULL RENOVATION AND 3 HELD FOR SALE COMMUNITIES) Dollars in thousands except Effective Rent
Revenues by market are presented before the impact of straight-line adjustments. A reconciliation to total revenue is provided below.

CURRENT PERIOD ACTUALS As of June 30, 2009 unless otherwise noted

		Three Months Ended June 30, 2009
					Average		Quarterly	Twelve
					Effective	Physical	Economic	Month
	Units	Revenue	Expense	NOI	Rent	Occupancy	Occupancy (1)	Turn Rate
Primary Markets
Dallas, TX	3,184	$ 7,032	$ 3,067	$ 3,965	$ 691.77	96.1%	94.9%	54.6%
Atlanta, GA	2,693	$ 6,084	$ 2,659	$ 3,425	$ 741.35	93.4%	91.0%	56.3%
Jacksonville, FL	2,611	$ 6,326	$ 2,298	$ 4,028	$ 785.99	97.3%	93.3%	57.1%
Houston, TX	2,400	$ 5,924	$ 2,606	$ 3,318	$ 795.50	94.7%	93.4%	65.9%
Nashville, TN	1,569	$ 3,885	$ 1,425	$ 2,460	$ 778.03	95.7%	94.0%	57.0%
Austin, TX	1,392	$ 3,318	$ 1,481	$ 1,837	$ 754.05	95.0%	91.7%	63.9%
Tampa, FL	1,120	$ 2,993	$ 1,292	$ 1,701	$ 845.83	96.5%	93.3%	51.6%
South Florida	480	$ 1,901	$ 609	$ 1,292	$ 1,253.43	96.7%	95.9%	47.1%
Phoenix, AZ	480	$ 985	$ 532	$ 453	$ 729.34	87.1%	81.9%	67.1%
Raleigh/Durham, NC	384	$ 838	$ 288	$ 550	$ 689.34	95.8%	95.2%	46.6%
Subtotal	16,313	$ 39,286	$ 16,257	$ 23,029	$ 772.06	95.3%	93.0%	57.7%

Secondary Markets
Memphis, TN	3,210	$ 6,786	$ 3,110	$ 3,676	$ 685.19	96.7%	94.3%	53.0%
Columbus, GA	1,509	$ 3,433	$ 1,352	$ 2,081	$ 712.80	96.2%	94.6%	81.7%
Jackson, MS	1,241	$ 2,732	$ 991	$ 1,741	$ 705.34	96.6%	95.1%	62.0%
Greenville, SC	1,140	$ 2,070	$ 846	$ 1,224	$ 587.76	94.0%	92.6%	52.7%
Lexington, KY	924	$ 1,997	$ 819	$ 1,178	$ 720.48	95.0%	89.6%	63.3%
Little Rock, AR	808	$ 1,729	$ 652	$ 1,077	$ 666.30	98.8%	96.5%	53.1%
Savannah, GA	526	$ 1,465	$ 520	$ 945	$ 848.98	98.7%	97.4%	62.2%
All Other Secondary	10,026	$ 21,670	$ 8,954	$ 12,716	$ 696.58	95.5%	92.5%	60.3%
Subtotal	19,384	$ 41,882	$ 17,244	$ 24,638	$ 694.13	95.9%	93.3%	60.3%

Operating Same Store	35,697	$ 81,168	$ 33,501	$ 47,667	$ 729.74	95.6%	93.1%	59.1%

Revenue Straight-line Adjustment (2)		$ (95)		$ (95)
Total Same Store		$ 81,073		$ 47,572

(1) Economic Occupancy represents Net Potential Rent less Delinquencies, Vacancies and Cash Concessions divided by Net Potential Rent.
(2) Represents the aggregate adjustment necessary to record cash concessions and certain fee revenues on a straight-line basis.

PERCENT CHANGE FROM QUARTER ENDED MARCH 31, 2009 (PRIOR QUARTER) AND QUARTER ENDED JUNE 30, 2008 (PRIOR YEAR)

	Revenue		Expense		NOI		Physical Occupancy		Average Effective Rent
	Prior	Prior	Prior	Prior	Prior	Prior	Prior	Prior	Prior	Prior
	Quarter	Year	Quarter	Year	Quarter	Year	Quarter	Year	Quarter	Year
Primary Markets
Dallas, TX	-0.5%	1.8%	1.1%	-4.1%	-1.7%	6.8%	0.0%	0.2%	-0.8%	0.5%
Jacksonville, FL	0.9%	-2.5%	-8.1%	-11.0%	6.9%	3.1%	2.2%	2.8%	-2.0%	-3.9%
Atlanta, GA	0.6%	-2.4%	2.4%	5.6%	-0.8%	-7.9%	-1.3%	0.7%	-0.4%	-2.5%
Houston, TX	-1.0%	-0.2%	6.1%	-2.1%	-5.9%	1.3%	-0.7%	-0.8%	-0.5%	0.1%
Nashville, TN	1.1%	-1.2%	-0.6%	-1.6%	2.1%	-1.0%	0.4%	0.5%	-1.1%	-0.8%
Austin, TX	-0.1%	-2.4%	-1.5%	-2.3%	1.1%	-2.5%	0.5%	-0.3%	-1.7%	-0.7%
Tampa, FL	-0.8%	-2.0%	4.4%	2.1%	-4.4%	-4.9%	1.1%	2.1%	-1.1%	-2.9%
South Florida	0.0%	1.2%	-4.8%	-5.3%	2.5%	4.5%	-2.1%	0.7%	0.0%	-0.2%
Raleigh/Durham, NC	3.7%	-1.8%	11.6%	-2.7%	0.0%	-1.3%	2.3%	-0.8%	-1.5%	-1.1%
Subtotal	0.1%	-1.3%	0.6%	-2.8%	-0.3%	-0.2%	0.2%	0.6%	-1.1%	-1.7%

Secondary Markets
Memphis, TN	1.9%	-0.1%	3.6%	-0.2%	0.5%	0.0%	-1.0%	0.3%	0.0%	-1.3%
Columbus, GA	0.7%	2.8%	-0.2%	-1.5%	1.3%	5.9%	1.0%	-0.2%	-2.2%	-0.1%
Jackson, MS	1.3%	0.6%	6.4%	8.2%	-1.5%	-3.2%	-0.9%	1.4%	1.3%	0.6%
Greenville, SC	-0.1%	3.2%	0.7%	-2.2%	-0.7%	7.3%	-1.8%	-0.6%	0.1%	0.9%
Lexington, KY	1.1%	-0.7%	8.0%	0.1%	-3.3%	-1.3%	2.1%	-1.4%	-1.7%	0.5%
Little Rock, AR	1.3%	6.7%	6.4%	-2.5%	-1.6%	13.1%	0.8%	3.4%	0.5%	1.1%
Savannah, GA	2.3%	3.1%	1.4%	0.0%	2.8%	4.9%	-0.5%	0.4%	-0.6%	2.1%
All Other Secondary	1.8%	-1.7%	2.1%	1.1%	1.6%	-3.5%	1.0%	1.1%	-0.9%	-1.8%
Subtotal	1.6%	-0.1%	2.7%	0.6%	0.7%	-0.7%	0.3%	0.7%	-0.7%	-1.0%

Operating Same Store	0.8%	-0.7%	1.7%	-1.1%	0.2%	-0.4%	0.2%	0.6%	-0.9%	-1.3%

Including revenue straight-line adjustment:
Total Same Store	0.4%	-0.6%			-0.5%	-0.2%

SAME STORE (EXCLUDES 8 FULL RENOVATION AND 3 HELD FOR SALE COMMUNITIES)

Dollars in thousands	Three Months Ended June 30,		Percent
	2009	2008	Change
Revenues
Operating	$ 81,168	$ 81,736	-0.7%
Straight-line adjustment (1)	(95)	(192)
Total Same Store	$ 81,073	$ 81,544	-0.6%

Expense	$ 33,501	$ 33,858	-1.1%

NOI
Operating	$ 47,667	$ 47,878	-0.4%
Straight-line adjustment (1)	(95)	(192)
Total Same Store	$ 47,572	$ 47,686	-0.2%

(1) Represents the aggregate adjustment necessary to record cash concessions and certain fee revenues on a straight-line basis.

SAME STORE PLUS EIGHT EXCLUDED RENOVATION COMMUNITIES (Dollars in thousands)
Includes the eight full renovation communities (2,384 units).

	Three Months Ended June 30,		Percent
	2009	2008	Change
Revenues
Operating	$ 86,876	$ 87,359	-0.6%
Straight-line adjustment (2)	(123)	(175)
Total Same Store	$ 86,753	$ 87,184	-0.5%

Expense	$ 35,772	$ 36,170	-1.1%

NOI
Operating	$ 51,104	$ 51,189	-0.2%
Straight-line adjustment (2)	(123)	(175)
Total Same Store	$ 50,981	$ 51,014	-0.1%

(2) Represents the aggregate adjustment necessary to record cash concessions and certain fee revenues on a straight-line basis.

NOI BRIDGE (Dollars in thousands)

		Three Months Ended
		June 30, 2009	Mar 31, 2009	Jun 30, 2008
NOI
Same store		$ 47,572	$ 47,800	$ 47,686
Non-same store		8,348	7,951	6,407
Total NOI		55,920	55,751	54,093
Held for sale NOI included above		(343)	(446)	(608)
Management fee income		63	64	61
Depreciation		(23,818)	(23,585)	(22,070)
Acquisition expense		(107)	(2)	-
Property management expense		(4,503)	(4,241)	(4,387)
General and administrative expense		(2,686)	(2,457)	(2,831)
Interest and other non-property income		68	80	116
Interest expense		(14,472)	(14,229)	(15,035)
Gain (loss) on debt extinguishment		(141)	3	-
Amortization of deferred financing costs		(588)	(606)	(486)
Net casualty (loss) gains and other settlement proceeds		-	(144)	416
Loss on sale of non-depreciable assets		-	-	-
Loss from real estate joint ventures		(156)	(196)	(199)
Discontinued operations		1,481	1,853	87
Net income attributable to noncontrolling interests		(570)	(706)	(513)
Net income attributable to Mid-America Apartment Communities, Inc.		$ 10,148	$ 11,139	$ 8,644

Net Operating Income (NOI)
Net operating income represents total property revenues less total property operating expenses, excluding depreciation, for all
properties held during the period, regardless of their status as held for sale. We believe NOI by market is a helpful tool in evaluating
the operating performance within our markets because it measures the core operations of property performance by excluding corporate
level expenses and other items not related to property operating performance.

DEVELOPMENT (Dollars in thousands)

EXPENDITURES		Current	Estimated
	Total	Estimated	Cost	Cost
	Units	Cost	per Unit	to Date
St. Augustine Phase II, Jacksonville, FL	124	$ 13,210	$ 107	$ 13,210
Copper Ridge Phase I, Dallas, TX	261	23,174	89	19,721
Total development	385	$ 36,384	$ 95	$ 32,931

ESTIMATED TIMELINE	Construction		Initial
	Start	Finish	Occupancy	Stabilization
St. Augustine Phase II, Jacksonville, FL	3Q 2007	1Q 2009	4Q 2008	1Q 2010
Copper Ridge Phase I, Dallas, TX	3Q 2007	4Q 2009	2Q 2008	2Q 2010

UNITS	Actual Units as of June 30, 2009
	Completed	Occupied
St. Augustine Phase II, Jacksonville, FL	124	102
Copper Ridge Phase I, Dallas, TX	216	167

OPERATING RESULTS (Dollars and shares in thousands except per share data)

		Three Months
		Ended	Trailing
		June 30, 2009	4 Quarters
Net income attributable to Mid-America Apartment Communities, Inc.		$ 10,148	$ 35,213
Depreciation		23,818	93,585
Interest expense		14,472	59,471
Loss on debt extinguishment		141	254
Amortization of deferred financing costs		588	2,387
Net casualty loss and other settlement proceeds		-	935
Gain on sale of discontinued operations		(1,155)	(2,587)
EBITDA		$ 48,012	$ 189,258

		Three Months Ended June 30,
		2009	2008
EBITDA/Debt Service		3.22x	2.87x
Fixed Charge Coverage (1)		2.71x	2.51x
Total Debt as % of Total Gross Assets		50%	50%

(1) Fixed charge coverage represents EBITDA divided by interest expense and preferred dividends.

DEBT AS OF JUNE 30, 2009
Dollars in thousands

DEBT OUTSTANDING SUMMARIES				Average
				Years to
			Principal	Contract	Effective
			Balance	Maturity	Rate
	Conventional - Fixed Rate or Swapped (1)		$ 992,789	3.7	5.5%
	Tax-free - Fixed Rate or Swapped (1)		37,570	7.7	4.7%
	Conventional - Variable Rate (2)		171,003	4.8	1.2%
	Conventional - Variable Rate - Capped (3)		57,936	5.2	0.9%
	Tax-free - Variable Rate - Capped (3)		64,350	2.7	1.2%
		Total Debt Outstanding	$ 1,323,648	4.1	4.5%

	(1) Maturities on existing swapped balances are calculated using the life of the underlying variable debt.
	(2) Includes a $15 million mortgage with an imbedded cap at a 7% rate.
	(3) When capped rates are not reached, the average rate represents the rate on the underlying variable debt.

			Line	Amount	Amount
			Limit	Collateralized	Borrowed
	Fannie Mae Credit Facilities		$ 1,044,429	$ 1,044,429	$ 916,833
	Freddie Mac Credit Facilities		300,000	296,404	296,404
	Regions Credit Facility		50,000	48,700	13,017
	Other Borrowings		97,394	97,394	97,394
		Total Debt	$ 1,491,823	$ 1,486,927	$ 1,323,648

CONTRACT MATURITIES
	Line Limit
	Credit Facilities
	Fannie Mae	Freddie Mac	Regions	Other	Total
2009	$ -	$ -	$ -	$ -	$ -
2010	-	-	50,000	-	50,000
2011	80,000	100,000	-	-	180,000
2012	80,000	-	-	-	80,000
2013	203,193	-	-	-	203,193
2014	321,236	200,000	-	18,677	539,913
2015	120,000	-	-	53,210	173,210
Thereafter	240,000	-	-	25,507	265,507
Total	$ 1,044,429	$ 300,000	$ 50,000	$ 97,394	$ 1,491,823

SWAPS AND FIXED RATE MATURITIES

	Swap Balances			Temporary	Total
		SIFMA	Fixed Rate	Fixed Rate		Contract
	LIBOR	(formerly BMA)	Balances	Balances (1)	Balance	Rate
2009	$ -	$ -	$ -	$ 65,000	$ 65,000	7.7%
2010	140,000	8,365	-	-	148,365	5.7%
2011	158,000	-	-	-	158,000	5.2%
2012	150,000	17,800	-	-	167,800	5.1%
2013	190,000	-	-	-	190,000	5.2%
2014	144,000	-	18,677	-	162,677	5.7%
2015	75,000	-	38,010	-	113,010	5.6%
Thereafter	-	-	25,507	-	25,507	5.6%
Total	$ 857,000	$ 26,165	$ 82,194	$ 65,000	$ 1,030,359	5.5%

	(1) Represents a $65 million fixed rate FNMA borrowing that converts to a variable rate on December 1, 2009.

OTHER DATA

PER SHARE DATA	Three Months Ended June 30,
	2009	2008
Dividend paid per common share	$0.615	$0.615

DIVIDEND INFORMATION (latest declaration)
	Payment	Payment	Record
	per Share	Date	Date
Common - quarterly	$0.6150	7/31/2009	7/15/2009
Preferred Series H - quarterly	$0.51875	6/23/2009	6/12/2009

PREFERRED STOCK	Number of	Liquidation	Total	Earliest
	Shares Issued	Preference	Liquidation	Optional
	and Outstanding	per Share	Value	Call Date
8.30% Series H Cumulative Redeemable
Preferred Stock	6,200,000	$ 25.00	$ 155,000,000	8/11/2008