Exhibit 99.1

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: March 10, 1999


        SPECIALTY FOODS TO SELL H&M FOOD UNIT TO IBP



DEERFIELD, IL and DAKOTA CITY, NE --  Specialty Foods
Corporation and IBP, inc. (NYSE:  IBP) today announced that
they have reached a definitive agreement for Specialty Foods
to sell its H&M Food Systems Company, Inc. subsidiary to
IBP.  Terms of the transaction, which is expected to close
within 60 days subject to regulatory approval, were not
disclosed.
     H&M Food Systems is a leading producer of custom-
formulated pre-cooked meat products and prepared foods.  The
company operates manufacturing facilities in North Richland
Hills and Lampasas, Texas.
     "The sale of H&M furthers our strategy of focusing
Specialty Foods on its core baking business," said Lawrence
Benjamin, President and CEO of Specialty Foods.  "H&M is a
great business and has enormous potential as part of IBP."
     "We are excited at the opportunity to welcome H&M Foods as the newest member of the IBP family," said Robert Peterson, Chairman
and CEO of IBP, inc.  "This acquisition is the latest step
in our continuing diversification into further processed and
value-added manufacturing.  H&M Foods, with its great operations
and strong customer relationships, is a great complement to
IBP Enterprises and Foodbrands America."
     Specialty Foods bakery operations include: Metz Baking
Company, a leading retail bread company serving a sixteen-
state area in the Midwestern U.S.;  Archway Cookies and
Mother's Cookies, which combined are the nation's third
largest cookie company;  and Andre-Boudin Bakeries of San
Francisco, which has been producing its classic sourdough
bread since 1849.
     IBP is the world's leading producer of high quality
fresh beef and pork, and supplies premium, fully-prepared
meats and other consumer-ready foods for the retail and
foodservice industries.  The company has over 45 operating
facilities in North America and employs more than 40,000
people.

For information on IBP, please contact:
Gary Mickelson
IBP Public Affairs
(402) 241-2986


For information on Specialty Foods please contact:
Andy Stern
Sunwest Communications
(214) 373-1601






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