$7,558 CAGR 67.45% 45.45% 77.81% 35.95% $39.26 12/2/03 (a) $3,052 (b) (c) $21.66 12/31/02 $23.0 bn $2.9 bn $6.0 bn (d) $2,329 2003 $2.09 $2.11 $17.15 12/31/01 $1,087 1998 $1.7 bn $452 mn $379 mn $0.45 $12.25 12/31/00 $570 $9.05 12/31/99 $632 our charter investors was 3,918%. $9.92 12/31/98 From 11/23/93 to 12/2/03, the total return to Market capitalization Price per share (adjusted for 8 splits) $105 Earnings growth has been driven by loan Approximated at merger date with RSLN Assumes loans in pipeline will close by 12/31/03; does not include RSLN 4Q activity Per NYB and RSLN 9/30/03 call reports Midpoint of stand-alone 2003 projection of $2.06 - $1.24 production and highly accretive transactions. Assets M-F Loan Originations Core Deposits Diluted EPS (a) (b) (c) (d) (dollars in millions, except per share data) 11/23/93 • • • • alone merger - - Stand Post U.S. for 5 consecutive years. 94 traditional branches (68 in core markets) 52 in-store branches (46 in core markets) NYB $1.8 billion originated YTD; 4Q 2003 pipeline exceeded $1.1 billion at 10/21/03 No net charge-offs since 1987 NYCB has been the top-performing thrift in the #2 thrift depository in our core markets (Queens/Staten Island/Nassau County)—- #3 most valuable thrift in the U.S., with a market cap of approximately $7.5 billion #4 largest thrift in the U.S., with total assets of approximately $23 billion #1 producer of multi-family loans for portfolio in NYC, with $5 billion outstanding at 9/30/03—- #3 most efficient bank holding company in the U.S., with a YTD efficiency ratio of 24.41% • • • • •