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                                                                    Exhibit 99.1


                          SECURITIES PURCHASE AGREEMENT

     SECURITIES PURCHASE AGREEMENT (this "AGREEMENT"), dated as of February 11, 1999, by and among Infonautics, Inc., a Pennsylvania corporation, with headquarters located at 900 West Valley Road, Suite 400, Wayne, Pennsylvania 19087 (the "COMPANY"), and RGC International Investors, LDC (the "BUYER").

     WHEREAS:

A. The Company and the Buyer are executing and delivering this Agreement in reliance upon the exemption from securities registration afforded by Rule 506 under Regulation D ("REGULATION D") as promulgated by the United States Securities and Exchange Commission (the "SEC") under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the "1933 ACT");

B. The Buyer desires to purchase and the Company desires to issue and sell, upon the terms and conditions set forth in this Agreement (i) convertible debentures of the Company, in the form attached hereto as EXHIBIT "A", in the aggregate principal amount of $3,000,000 (the "DEBENTURES") convertible into shares of Class A Common Stock, no par value per share, of the Company (the "COMMON STOCK") upon the terms and subject to the limitations and conditions set forth in such Debentures and (ii) warrants, in the form attached hereto as EXHIBIT "B", to purchase an aggregate of Five Hundred Twenty-Two Thousand, Four Hundred Forty-Nine (522,449) shares of Common Stock (the "WARRANTS");

C. Contemporaneous with the execution and delivery of this Agreement, the parties hereto are executing and delivering a Registration Rights Agreement, in the form attached hereto as EXHIBIT "C" (the "REGISTRATION RIGHTS AGREEMENT"), pursuant to which the Company has agreed to provide certain registration rights under the 1933 Act and the rules and regulations promulgated thereunder, and applicable state securities laws.

     NOW THEREFORE, the Company and the Buyer hereby agree as follows:

     1.   PURCHASE AND SALE OF DEBENTURES AND WARRANTS.

          a. PURCHASE OF DEBENTURES AND WARRANTS. The Company shall issue and sell to the Buyer and the Buyer agrees to purchase from the Company such principal amount of Debentures and number of Warrants as is set forth on the signature page hereto.

          b. FORM OF PAYMENT. On the Closing Date (as defined below), (i) the Buyer shall pay the purchase price for the Debentures and the Warrants to

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               be issued and sold to it at the Closing (as defined below) by
               wire transfer of immediately available funds to the Company, in accordance with the Company's written wiring instructions, against delivery of the Debentures in the principal amount equal to the purchase price and the number of Warrants as is set forth on the signature page hereto, and (ii) the Company shall deliver such Debentures and Warrants duly executed on behalf of the Company, to the Buyer, against delivery of such Purchase Price.

          c. CLOSING DATE. Subject to the satisfaction (or waiver) of the conditions thereto set forth in Section 6 and Section 7 below, the date and time of the issuance and sale of the Debentures and the Warrants pursuant to this Agreement (the "CLOSING DATE") shall be 12:00 noon Eastern Standard Time on February 11, 1999 or such other mutually agreed upon time. The closing of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement (the "CLOSING") shall occur on the Closing Date at the offices of the Company, or at such other location as may be agreed to by the parties.


     2. BUYER'S REPRESENTATIONS, WARRANTIES, COVENANTS AND AGREEMENTS. The Buyer represents and warrants to the Company and covenants and agrees solely as to the Buyer that:

          a. INVESTMENT PURPOSE. As of the date hereof, the Buyer is purchasing the Debentures and the shares of Common Stock issuable upon conversion of or otherwise pursuant to the Debentures (including, without limitation, such additional shares of Common Stock, if any, as are issuable as a result of the events described in Sections 1.3 and 1.4(e) of the Debentures and
               Section 2(b) of the Registration Rights Agreement, such shares of Common Stock being referred to herein as the "CONVERSION SHARES") and the Warrants and the shares of Common Stock issuable upon exercise of or otherwise pursuant to the Warrants (the "WARRANT SHARES" and, collectively with the Debentures, Warrants and Conversion Shares, the "SECURITIES") for its own account for investment only and not with a present view towards the public sale or distribution thereof, except pursuant to sales registered or exempted from registration under the 1933 Act; provided, however, that by making the representations herein, the Buyer does not agree to hold any of the Securities for any minimum or other specific term and reserves the right to dispose of the Securities at any time in accordance with or pursuant to a registration statement or an exemption under the 1933 Act and/or any applicable state securities laws.

          b. ACCREDITED INVESTOR STATUS. The Buyer is an "accredited investor" as that term is defined in Rule 501(a) of Regulation D.


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          c.   RELIANCE ON EXEMPTIONS. The Buyer understands that the Securities
               are being offered and sold to it in reliance upon specific exemptions from the registration requirements of United States federal and state securities laws and that the Company is relying upon the truth and accuracy of, and the Buyer's compliance with, the representations, warranties, agreements, acknowledgments and understandings of the Buyer set forth herein in order to
               determine the availability of such exemptions and the eligibility of the Buyer to acquire the Securities.

          d. INFORMATION. The Buyer and its advisors, if any, have been furnished with all materials relating to the business, finances and operations of the Company and materials relating to the offer and sale of the Securities which have been requested by the Buyer or its advisors. The Buyer and its advisors, if any, have been afforded the opportunity to ask questions of the Company and have received what the Buyer believes to be satisfactory answers to any such inquiries. As a result, the Buyer and its advisors, if any, are able to evaluate the merits and risks of purchasing the Debentures and the Warrants in order to make a fully informed decision with respect to such purchase. Neither such inquiries nor any other due diligence investigation conducted by Buyer or any of its advisors or representatives shall modify, amend or affect Buyer's right to rely on the Company's representations and warranties contained in Section 3 below. The Buyer understands that its investment in the Securities involves a significant degree of risk, and is able to bear the economic risk of such investment. In connection with the investment contemplated by this Agreement, the Buyer has reviewed the Company's Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 1997 (the "FORM 10-K").

          e. GOVERNMENTAL REVIEW. The Buyer understands that no United States federal or state agency or any other government or governmental agency has passed upon or made any recommendation or endorsement of the Securities.

          f. TRANSFER OR RESALE. The Buyer understands that (i) except as provided in the Registration Rights Agreement, the Securities have not been and are not being registered under the 1933 Act or any applicable state securities laws, and may not be sold or transferred unless (a) subsequently included in an effective registration statement thereunder, (b) the Buyer shall have delivered to the Company an opinion of counsel (which opinion shall be reasonably acceptable to the Company) to the effect that the Securities to be sold or transferred may be sold or transferred pursuant to an exemption from such registration, (c) sold or transferred to an "affiliate" (as defined in Rule 144 promulgated under the 1933 Act (or a successor rule) ("RULE 144")) or (d) sold pursuant to Rule 144; (ii) any sale of such


                                      -3-

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               Securities made in reliance on Rule 144 may be made only in
               accordance with the terms of said Rule and further, if said Rule is not applicable, any resale of such Securities under circumstances in which the seller (or the person through whom the sale is made) may be deemed to be an underwriter (as that term is defined in the 1933 Act) may require compliance with some other exemption under the 1933 Act or the rules and regulations of the SEC thereunder; and (iii) neither the Company nor any other person is under any obligation to register such Securities under the 1933 Act or any state securities laws or to comply with the terms and conditions of any exemption thereunder (in each case, other than pursuant to the Registration Rights Agreement). Notwithstanding the foregoing or anything else contained herein to the contrary, the Securities may be pledged as collateral in connection with a BONA FIDE margin account or other lending arrangement, PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that the Buyer hereby covenants and agrees that such pledge shall be in conformity with Rule 144.

          g. LEGENDS. The Buyer understands that the Debentures and the Warrants and, until such time as the Conversion Shares and Warrant Shares have been registered under the 1933 Act as contemplated by the Registration Rights Agreement, the Conversion Shares and Warrant Shares, may bear a restrictive legend in substantially the following form (and a stop-transfer order may be placed against transfer of the certificates for such Securities):

          "The securities represented by this certificate have not been registered under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended. The securities may not be sold, transferred or assigned in the absence of an effective registration statement for the securities under said Act, or an opinion of counsel, in form, substance and scope reasonably acceptable to the Company, that registration is not required under said Act or unless sold pursuant to Rule 144 under said Act."

          The legend set forth above shall be removed and the Company shall issue a certificate without such legend to the holder of any Security upon which it is stamped, if, unless otherwise required by applicable state securities laws, (a) such Security is registered for sale under an effective registration statement filed under the 1933 Act, or (b) such holder provides the Company with an opinion of counsel, in form, substance and scope reasonably acceptable to the Company, to the effect that a public sale or transfer of such Security may be made without registration under the 1933 Act and such sale or transfer is effected or (c) such holder provides the Company with reasonable assurances that such Security can be sold pursuant to Rule 144 under the 1933 Act (or a successor rule thereto) without any restriction as to the number of Securities acquired as of a particular date that can then be immediately sold. The Buyer covenants and agrees to sell all Securities, including those represented by a certificate(s) from which the legend has been removed, in compliance with applicable prospectus delivery requirements, if any.


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          h.   AUTHORIZATION; ENFORCEMENT. This Agreement and the Registration
               Rights Agreement have been duly and validly authorized, executed and delivered on behalf of the Buyer and are valid and binding agreements of the Buyer enforceable in accordance with their terms, subject to applicable bankruptcy, insolvency, reorganization, moratorium and similar laws relating to or affecting creditors' rights from time to time in effect, and subject to general equity principals.

          i. LEGAL POWER. The Buyer has the requisite corporate, partnership, trust or fiduciary power, as appropriate, and is authorized, if the Buyer is a corporation, partnership, trust, to enter into this Agreement and the Registration Rights Agreement, to purchase the Debentures and Warrants hereunder, and to carry out and perform its obligations under the terms of this Agreement and the Registration Rights Agreement.

          j. RESIDENCY. The Buyer is a resident of the jurisdiction set forth immediately below such Buyer's name on the signature pages hereto.


     3. REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES OF THE COMPANY. The Company represents and warrants to the Buyer that:

          a. ORGANIZATION AND QUALIFICATION. The Company and each of its Subsidiaries (as defined below) is a corporation duly organized, validly existing and in good standing under the laws of the jurisdiction in which it is incorporated, has all requisite corporate power and authority to own, lease, use and operate its properties and to carry on its business as and where now owned, leased, used, operated and conducted. SCHEDULE 3(a) sets forth a list of all of the Subsidiaries of the Company and the jurisdiction in which each is incorporated. The Company and each of its Subsidiaries is duly qualified as a foreign corporation to do business and is in good standing in every jurisdiction in which the nature of the business conducted by it makes such qualification necessary except where the failure to be so qualified or in good standing would not have a Material Adverse Effect. "MATERIAL ADVERSE EFFECT" means any material adverse effect on the business, operations, assets or financial condition of the Company or its Subsidiaries, taken as a whole, or on the transactions contemplated hereby or by the agreements or instruments to be entered into in connection herewith. "SUBSIDIARIES" means any corporation or other organization, whether incorporated or unincorporated, in which the Company owns, directly or indirectly, more than 50% of the outstanding equity or other ownership interests in such corporation or other organization, including but


                                      -5-

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               not limited to each of the Subsidiaries listed in Exhibit 21 to
               the Form 10-K.

          b. AUTHORIZATION; ENFORCEMENT. (i) The Company has all requisite corporate power and authority to enter into and perform this Agreement, the Registration Rights Agreement, the Debentures and the Warrants and to consummate the transactions contemplated hereby and thereby and to issue the Securities, in accordance with the terms hereof and thereof, except for any shareholder approval that may be required pursuant to applicable rules of The Nasdaq Stock Market, (ii) the execution and delivery of this Agreement, the Registration Rights Agreement, the Debentures and the Warrants by the Company and the consummation by it of the transactions contemplated hereby and thereby (including without limitation, the issuance of the Debentures and the Warrants and the issuance and reservation for issuance of the Conversion Shares and Warrant Shares issuable upon conversion or exercise thereof) have been duly authorized by the Company's Board of Directors and no further consent or authorization of the Company, its Board of Directors, or its shareholders is required, except for any shareholder approval that may be required pursuant to applicable rules of The Nasdaq Stock Market, (iii) this Agreement has been duly executed and delivered and (iv) this Agreement constitutes, and upon execution and delivery by the Company of the Registration Rights Agreement, the Debentures and the Warrants, each of such instruments will constitute, a legal, valid and binding obligation of the Company enforceable against the Company in accordance with its terms, subject to applicable bankruptcy, insolvency, reorganization, moratorium and similar laws relating to or affecting creditors' rights from time to time in effect, and subject to general equity principals.

          c. CAPITALIZATION. As of the date hereof, the authorized capital stock of the Company consists of (i) 25,000,000 shares of Common Stock of which 11,622,692 shares are issued and outstanding, 2,600,000 shares are reserved for issuance pursuant to the Company's stock option plans, 1,127,868 shares are reserved for issuance pursuant to securities (other than the Debentures and the Warrants) exercisable for, or convertible into or exchangeable for shares of Common Stock and 1,561,051 shares are reserved for issuance upon conversion of the Debentures and exercise of the Warrants (subject to adjustment pursuant to the Company's covenant set forth in Section 4(h) below); (ii) 100,000 shares of Class B Common Stock, 100,000 of which shares are issued and outstanding; and (iii) 1,250,000 shares of preferred stock, 283 of which shares are issued and outstanding. All of such outstanding shares of capital stock are, or upon issuance will be, duly authorized, validly issued, fully paid and nonassessable. The terms, designations, powers, preferences and relative, participating and
               optional or special rights, and the qualifications, limitations and restrictions of each series of preferred stock of the Company are as stated in the Articles of Incorporation, filed on or prior to the date hereof, and the Bylaws. No shares of capital stock of the Company are subject to preemptive rights or any other similar rights of the shareholders of the Company or any liens or encumbrances imposed through the actions or failure to act of the Company. Except as disclosed in SCHEDULE 3(c), as of the effective date of this Agreement, (i) there are no outstanding options, warrants, scrip, rights to subscribe for, puts, calls, rights of first refusal, agreements, understandings, claims or other commitments or rights of any character whatsoever relating to, or securities or rights convertible into or exchangeable for any shares of capital stock of the Company or any of its Subsidiaries, or arrangements by which the Company or any of its Subsidiaries is or may become bound to issue additional shares of capital stock of the Company or any of its Subsidiaries, and (ii) there are no agreements or arrangements under which the Company or any of its Subsidiaries is obligated to register the sale of any of its or their securities under the 1933 Act (except the Registration Rights Agreement) and (iii) there are no anti-dilution or price adjustment provisions contained in any security issued by the Company (or in any agreement providing rights to security holders) that will be triggered by the issuance of the Debentures, the Warrants, the Conversion Shares or Warrant Shares. The Company has furnished to the Buyer true and correct copies of the Company's Articles of Incorporation as in effect on the date hereof ("ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION"), the Company's By-laws, as in effect on the date hereof (the "BY-LAWS"), and the terms of all securities convertible into or exercisable for Common Stock of the Company and the material rights of the holders thereof in respect thereto. The Company shall provide the Buyer with a written update of this representation signed by the Company's President and Chief Executive Officer on behalf of the Company as of each Closing Date.

          d. ISSUANCE OF SHARES. The Conversion Shares and Warrant Shares are duly authorized and reserved for issuance by all requisite corporate action of the Company and, upon conversion of the Debentures and exercise of the Warrants in accordance with their respective terms, will be validly issued, fully paid and non-assessable, and free from all taxes, liens and charges with respect to the issue thereof and shall not be subject to preemptive rights or other similar rights of shareholders of the Company. The term Conversion Shares and Warrant Shares includes the shares of Common Stock issuable upon conversion of the Debentures or exercise of the Warrants, including without limitation, such additional shares, if any, as are issuable as a result of the events described in Sections 1.3 and 1.4(e) of the Debentures and Section 2(b) of the Registration Rights Agreement. The


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               Company understands and acknowledges the potentially dilutive
               effect to the Common Stock upon the issuance of the Conversion Shares and Warrant Shares upon conversion or exercise of the Debentures or Warrants. The Company further acknowledges that its obligation to issue Conversion Shares and Warrant Shares upon conversion of the Debentures or exercise of the Warrants in accordance with and subject to the terms of this Agreement, the Debentures and the Warrants is absolute and unconditional regardless of the dilutive effect that such issuance may have on the ownership interests of other shareholders of the Company.

          e. NO CONFLICTS. The execution, delivery and performance of this Agreement, the Registration Rights Agreement, the Debentures and the Warrants by the Company and the consummation by the Company of the transactions contemplated hereby and thereby (including, without limitation, the issuance and reservation for issuance of the Conversion Shares and Warrant Shares) will not (i) conflict with or result in a violation of any provision of the Articles of Incorporation or By-laws or (ii) violate or conflict with, or result in a breach of any provision of, or constitute a default (or an event which with notice or lapse of time or both could become a default) under, or give to others any rights of termination, amendment, acceleration or cancellation of, any material agreement, indenture or instrument to which the Company or any of its Subsidiaries is a party, or result in a violation of any law, rule, regulation, order, judgment or decree (including federal and state securities laws and regulations) applicable to the Company or any of its Subsidiaries or by which any property or asset of the Company or any of its Subsidiaries is bound or affected (except for such conflicts, defaults, terminations, amendments, accelerations, cancellations and violations as would not, individually or in the aggregate, have a Material Adverse Effect). Neither the Company nor any of its Subsidiaries is in violation of its Articles of Incorporation, By-laws or other organizational documents and neither the Company nor any of its Subsidiaries is in default (and no event has occurred which with notice or lapse of time or both could put the Company or any of its Subsidiaries in default) under, and neither the Company nor any of its Subsidiaries has taken any action or failed to take any action that would give to others any rights of termination, amendment, acceleration or cancellation of, any material agreement, indenture or instrument to which the Company or any of its Subsidiaries is a party or by which any property or assets of the Company or any of its Subsidiaries is bound or affected, except for possible defaults as would not, individually or in the aggregate, have a Material Adverse Effect. The businesses of the Company and its Subsidiaries, if any, are not being conducted in violation of any material law, ordinance or regulation of any governmental entity (except for such violations which would not, individually or in the aggregate, have a

               Material Adverse Effect). Except as specifically contemplated by this Agreement and as required under the 1933 Act and any applicable state securities laws, the Company is not required to obtain any consent, authorization or order of, or make any filing or registration with, any court or governmental agency or any regulatory or self regulatory agency in order for it to execute, deliver or perform any of its obligations under this Agreement, the Registration Rights Agreement, the Debentures or the Warrants in accordance with the terms hereof or thereof. Except as disclosed in SCHEDULE 3(e), all consents, authorizations, orders, filings and registrations which the Company is required to obtain pursuant to the preceding sentence have been obtained or effected on or prior to the date hereof. The Company is not in material violation of the listing requirements of the Nasdaq SmallCap Market ("NASDAQ") and does not reasonably anticipate that the Common Stock will be delisted by the Nasdaq in the foreseeable future. The Company and its Subsidiaries are unaware of any facts or circumstances which might give rise to any of the foregoing.

          f. SEC DOCUMENTS, FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. Since December 31, 1996, the Company has timely filed all reports and all other material required to be filed by it with the SEC pursuant to the reporting requirements under Sections 13, 14 and 15(d) of the Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the "1934 ACT") (all of the foregoing filed prior to the date hereof and all exhibits included therein and financial statements and schedules thereto and documents (other than exhibits) incorporated by reference therein, being hereinafter referred to herein as the "SEC DOCUMENTS"). The Company has delivered to the Buyer true and complete copies of the SEC Documents, except for such exhibits and incorporated documents. As of their respective dates, the SEC Documents complied in all material respects with the requirements of the 1934 Act and the rules and regulations of the SEC promulgated thereunder applicable to the SEC Documents, and none of the SEC Documents, at the time they were filed with the SEC, contained any untrue statement of a material fact or omitted to state a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary in order to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading. None of the statements made in any such SEC Documents is, or has been, required to be amended or updated under applicable law (except for such statements as have been amended or updated in subsequent filings prior to the date hereof). As of their respective dates, the financial statements of the Company included in the SEC Documents complied as to form in all material respects with applicable accounting requirements and the published rules and regulations of the SEC with respect thereto. Such financial statements have been prepared in accordance with United States generally accepted accounting principles, consistently applied, during the


                                      -9-

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               periods involved (except (i) as may be otherwise indicated in
               such financial statements or the notes thereto, or (ii) in the case of unaudited interim statements, to the extent they may not include footnotes or may be condensed or summary statements) and fairly present in all material respects the consolidated financial position of the Company and its consolidated Subsidiaries as of the dates thereof and the consolidated results of their operations and cash flows for the periods then ended (subject, in the case of unaudited statements, to normal year-end audit adjustments). Except as set forth in the financial statements of the Company included in the SEC Documents, the Company has no liabilities, contingent or otherwise, other than
               (i) liabilities incurred in the ordinary course of business subsequent to December 31, 1997 and (ii) obligations under contracts and commitments incurred in the ordinary course of business and not required under generally accepted accounting principles to be reflected in such financial statements, which, individually or in the aggregate, would not have a Material Adverse Effect.

          g. ABSENCE OF CERTAIN CHANGES. Since December 31, 1997, there has been no material adverse change and no material adverse development in the assets, liabilities, business, properties, operations, financial condition or results of operations of the Company or any of its Subsidiaries.

          h. ABSENCE OF LITIGATION. Except as set forth on SCHEDULE 3(h), there is no action, suit, claim, proceeding, inquiry or investigation before or by any court, public board, government agency, self-regulatory organization or body pending or, to the knowledge of the Company or any of its Subsidiaries, threatened against or affecting the Company or any of its Subsidiaries that could have a Material Adverse Effect. The Company and its Subsidiaries are unaware of any facts or circumstances which might give rise to any of the foregoing.

          i. PATENTS, COPYRIGHTS, ETC. The Company and each of its Subsidiaries owns or possesses the requisite licenses or rights to use all patents, patent rights, inventions, know-how, trade secrets, trademarks, service marks, service names, trade names and copyrights ("INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY") necessary to enable it to conduct its business; there is no claim or action by any person pertaining to, or proceeding pending, or to the Company's knowledge threatened which challenges the right of the Company or of a Subsidiary with respect to any Intellectual Property necessary to enable it to conduct its business; and to the Company's knowledge, the Company's or its Subsidiaries', current and intended products, services and processes do not infringe on any Intellectual Property or other rights held by any person; and the Company is unaware of any facts or circumstances which might give rise to any of the foregoing. The Company and each of its


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<PAGE>

               Subsidiaries have taken reasonable security measures to protect the secrecy, confidentiality and value of their Intellectual Property.

          j. TAX STATUS. Except as set forth on SCHEDULE 3(j), the Company and each of its Subsidiaries has made or filed all federal and state income and all other tax returns, reports and declarations required by any jurisdiction to which it is subject, except for any returns, reports or declarations as to which the consequences of any failure to file would not have a Material Adverse Effect on the Company, and has paid all taxes and other governmental assessments and charges that are material in amount, shown or determined to be due on such returns, reports and declarations, except those being contested in good faith and has set aside on its books provisions reasonably adequate for the payment of all taxes for periods subsequent to the periods to which such returns, reports or declarations apply. There are no unpaid taxes in any material amount claimed to be due by the taxing authority of any jurisdiction, and the officers of the Company know of no basis for any such claim. Except as set forth on Schedule 3(j), to the knowledge of the Company, none of the Company's tax returns is presently being audited by any taxing authority.

          k. CERTAIN TRANSACTIONS. Except as set forth in the Company's Proxy Statement for the 1998 Annual Meeting of Shareholders held on May 28, 1998 dated April 30, 1998 (the "Proxy Statement") and except for arm's length transactions pursuant to which the Company or any of its Subsidiaries makes payments in the ordinary course of business upon terms no less favorable than the Company or any of its Subsidiaries could obtain from third parties and other than the grant of stock options disclosed on SCHEDULE 3(c), none of the officers, directors, or employees of the Company is presently a party to any transaction with the Company or any of its Subsidiaries (other than for services as employees, officers and directors), including any contract, agreement or other arrangement providing for the furnishing of services to or by, providing for rental of real or personal property to or from, or otherwise requiring payments to or from any officer, director or such employee or, to the knowledge of the Company, any corporation, partnership, trust or other entity in which any officer, director, or any such employee has a substantial interest or is an officer, director, trustee or partner.

          l. DISCLOSURE. All information relating to or concerning the Company or any of its Subsidiaries set forth in this Agreement and provided to the Buyer pursuant to Section 2(d) hereof and otherwise in connection with the transactions contemplated hereby is true and correct in all material respects and the Company has not omitted to state any material fact necessary in order to make the statements made herein or therein, in light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading. No event or circumstance has occurred or exists
               with respect to the Company or any of its Subsidiaries or its or their business, properties, prospects, operations or financial conditions, which, under applicable law, rule or regulation, requires public disclosure or announcement by the Company prior to the date hereof but which has not been so publicly announced or disclosed (assuming for this purposes that the Company's reports filed under the 1934 Act are being incorporated into an effective registration statement filed by the Company under the 1933 Act).

          l. ACKNOWLEDGMENT REGARDING BUYER'S PURCHASE OF SECURITIES. The Company acknowledges and agrees that the Buyer is acting solely in the capacity of an arm's length purchaser with respect to this Agreement and the transactions contemplated hereby. The Company further acknowledges that the Buyer is not acting as a financial advisor or fiduciary of the Company (or in any similar capacity) with respect to this Agreement and the transactions contemplated hereby and any statement made by the Buyer or any of its representatives or agents in connection with this Agreement and the transactions contemplated hereby is not advice or a recommendation and is merely incidental to the Buyer's purchase of the Securities. The Company further represents to the Buyer that the Company's decision to enter into this Agreement has been based solely on the independent evaluation of the Company and its representatives and on the representations, warranties and covenants of the Buyer.

          m. NO INTEGRATED OFFERING. Neither the Company, nor any of its affiliates, nor any person acting on its or their behalf, has directly or indirectly made any offers or sales in any security or solicited any offers to buy any security under circumstances that would require registration under the 1933 Act of the issuance of the Securities to the Buyer. The issuance of the Securities to the Buyer will not be integrated with any other issuance of the Company's securities (past, current or future) which requires shareholder approval under the rules of The Nasdaq Stock Market.

          n. NO BROKERS. The Company has taken no action which would give rise to any claim by any person for brokerage commissions, finder's fees or similar payments relating to this Agreement or the transactions contemplated hereby.

          o. PERMITS; COMPLIANCE. The Company and each of its Subsidiaries is in possession of all material franchises, grants, authorizations, licenses, permits, easements, variances, exemptions, consents, certificates, approvals and orders necessary to own, lease and operate its properties and to carry on its business as it is now being conducted (collectively, the "COMPANY PERMITS"), and there is no action pending or, to the knowledge of the Company, threatened regarding suspension or cancellation of any of the Company Permits. Neither the Company nor any of its Subsidiaries is in
               conflict with, or in default or violation of, any of the Company Permits, except for any such conflicts, defaults or violations which, individually or in the aggregate, would not reasonably be expected to have a Material Adverse Effect. Since December 31, 1997, neither the Company nor any of its Subsidiaries has received any notification with respect to possible conflicts, defaults or violations of applicable laws, except for notices relating to possible conflicts, defaults or violations, which conflicts, defaults or violations would not have a Material Adverse Effect.

          p. ENVIRONMENTAL MATTERS. Except as set forth in SCHEDULE 3(Q), there are, to the Company's knowledge, with respect to the Company or any of its Subsidiaries, no past or present violations of Environmental Laws (as defined below), or releases of any Hazardous Material (as defined below) into the environment, which are likely to give rise to any common law environmental liability or any liability under the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act of 1980 or similar federal, state or local laws. Neither the Company nor any of its Subsidiaries has received any notice by governmental authorities with respect to any of the foregoing, nor is any action pending or, to the Company's knowledge, threatened in connection with any of the foregoing. The term "ENVIRONMENTAL LAWS" means all federal, state or local laws relating to pollution or protection of human health or the environment (including, without limitation, ambient air, surface water, groundwater, land surface or subsurface strata), including, without limitation, laws relating to emissions, discharges, releases or threatened releases of chemicals, pollutants contaminants, or toxic or hazardous substances or wastes (collectively, "HAZARDOUS MATERIALS") into the environment, or otherwise relating to the manufacture, processing, distribution, use, treatment, storage, disposal, transport or handling of Hazardous Materials, as well as all authorizations, codes, decrees, demands or demand letters, injunctions, judgments, licenses, notices or notice letters, orders, permits, plans or regulations issued, entered, promulgated or approved thereunder.

          q. TITLE TO PROPERTY. The Company and its Subsidiaries have good and marketable title to all personal property owned by them which is material to the business of the Company and its Subsidiaries, in each case free and clear of all liens, encumbrances and defects except such as would not have a Material Adverse Effect. Any facilities held under lease by the Company and its Subsidiaries are held by them under valid, subsisting and enforceable leases with such exceptions as would not have a Material Adverse Effect. The Company owns no real property.

          r. INSURANCE. The Company and each of its Subsidiaries are insured by insurers of recognized financial responsibility against such losses and
               risks and in such amounts as management of the Company believes to be prudent and customary in the businesses in which the Company and its Subsidiaries are engaged. Neither the Company nor any such Subsidiary has any reason to believe that it will not be able to renew its existing insurance coverage as and when such coverage expires or to obtain similar coverage from similar insurers as may be necessary to continue its business at a cost that would not have a Material Adverse Effect.

          s. INTERNAL ACCOUNTING CONTROLS. The Company and each of its Subsidiaries maintain a system of internal accounting controls sufficient to provide reasonable assurance that transactions are executed in accordance with management's general or specific authorizations and transactions are recorded as necessary to permit preparation of financial statements in conformity with generally accepted accounting principles and to maintain asset accountability.

          t. FOREIGN CORRUPT PRACTICES. Neither the Company, nor any of its Subsidiaries, nor any director, officer, agent, employee or other person acting on behalf of the Company or any Subsidiary has, in the course of his actions for, or on behalf of, the Company, used any corporate funds for any unlawful contribution, gift, entertainment or other unlawful expenses relating to political activity; made any direct or indirect unlawful payment to any foreign or domestic government official or employee from corporate funds; violated or is in violation of any provision of the U.S. Foreign Corrupt Practices Act of 1977; or made any bribe, rebate, payoff, influence payment, kickback or other unlawful payment to any foreign or domestic government official or employee.

     4.   COVENANTS.

          a. BEST EFFORTS. The parties shall use their best efforts to satisfy timely each of the conditions described in Section 6 and 7 of this Agreement.

          b. FORM D; BLUE SKY LAWS. The Company agrees to file a Form D with respect to the Securities as required under Regulation D and to provide a copy thereof to the Buyer promptly after such filing. The Company shall, on or before the Closing Date, take such action as the Company shall reasonably determine is necessary to qualify the Securities for sale to the Buyer at the applicable closing pursuant to this Agreement under applicable securities or "blue sky" laws of the states of the United States (or to obtain an exemption from such qualification), and shall provide evidence of any such action so taken to the Buyer on or prior to the Closing Date.

          c. REPORTING STATUS; ELIGIBILITY TO USE FORM S-3. The Company's Common Stock is registered under Section 12(g) of the 1934 Act. So long as the Buyer beneficially owns any of the Securities, the Company shall timely file all reports required to be filed with the SEC pursuant to the 1934 Act, and the Company shall not terminate its status as an issuer required to file reports under the 1934 Act even if the 1934 Act or the rules and regulations thereunder would permit such termination. The Company currently meets, and will take all necessary action to continue to meet, the "registrant eligibility" requirements set forth in the general instructions to Form S-3.

          d. USE OF PROCEEDS. The Company shall use the proceeds from the sale of the Debentures and the Warrants for working capital and general corporate purposes.

          e. ADDITIONAL EQUITY CAPITAL; RIGHT OF FIRST REFUSAL. Subject to the exceptions described below, the Company will not, without the prior written consent of the Buyer, negotiate or contract with any party to obtain additional equity financing (including debt financing with an equity component) that involves (i) (A) the issuance of Common Stock (whether upon conversion or exercise of a security convertible into or exercisable for Common Stock or otherwise) at a discount to the market price of the Common Stock on the date of issuance thereof or, in the case of a security convertible into or exercisable for Common Stock, the date of issuance of such convertible security (taking into account the value of any warrants or options to acquire Common Stock issued in connection therewith) or (B) the issuance of convertible securities that are convertible into an indeterminate number of shares of Common Stock and (ii) public resales of such Common Stock (whether such Common Stock is issued upon conversion or exercise of a security convertible into or exercisable for Common Stock or otherwise) during the 270-day period (the "LOCKUP PERIOD") following the date any Registration Statement (as defined in the Registration Rights Agreement) is declared effective. In addition, subject to the exceptions described below, the Company will not conduct any equity financing (including debt financing with an equity component) ("FUTURE OFFERINGS") during the period beginning on the Closing Date and ending 180 days following the date any Registration Statement is declared effective, unless it shall have first delivered to the Buyer, at least fifteen (15) days prior to the closing of such Future Offering, written notice describing the proposed Future Offering, including the terms and conditions thereof and proposed definitive documentation to be entered into in connection therewith, and providing the Buyer an option during the five (5) day period following delivery of such notice to purchase the securities being offered in the Future Offering on the same terms as contemplated by such Future Offering

               (the limitations referred to in this sentence and the preceding sentence are collectively referred to as the "CAPITAL RAISING LIMITATIONS"). In the event the terms and conditions of a proposed Future Offering are amended in any material respect after delivery of the notice to the Buyer concerning the proposed Future Offering, the Company shall deliver a new notice to the Buyer describing the amended terms and conditions of the proposed Future Offering and the Buyer thereafter shall have an option during the ten (10) day period following delivery of such new notice to purchase the securities being offered on the same terms as contemplated by such proposed Future Offering, as amended. The foregoing sentence shall apply to successive amendments to the terms and conditions of any proposed Future Offering. The Capital Raising Limitations shall not apply to any transaction involving
               (i) issuances of securities in a firm commitment underwritten public offering (excluding a continuous offering pursuant to Rule 415 under the 1933 Act), or (ii) issuances of securities as consideration for a merger, acquisition, consolidation or purchase of assets, or in connection with any strategic investments, joint venture or similar commercial relationship (the primary purpose of which is not to raise equity capital). The Capital Raising Limitations also shall not apply to (i) the issuance of securities upon exercise or conversion of the Company's options, warrants or other convertible securities outstanding as of the date hereof, (ii) the grant of additional options or warrants, or the issuance of additional securities, under any Company stock option or restricted stock plan or agreement or (iii) the issuance of securities as consideration for services rendered by a third party provided that such issuance is approved by a majority of the Company's disinterested directors.

          f. EXPENSES. The Company shall reimburse Rose Glen Capital Management, L.P. ("Rose Glen") for all expenses incurred by it in connection with the negotiation, preparation, execution, delivery and performance of this Agreement and the other agreements to be executed in connection herewith, including, without limitation, attorneys' and consultants' fees and expenses. The Company's obligation to reimburse Rose Glen's expenses under this Section 4(f) shall be limited to Twenty-Five Thousand Dollars ($25,000).

          g. FINANCIAL INFORMATION. If requested by the Buyer, the Company agrees to forward promptly the following reports to the Buyer until the Buyer transfers, assigns, or sells all of the
               Securities: (i) within ten (10) days after the filing with the SEC, a copy of its Annual Report on Form 10-K, its Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q and any Current Reports on Form 8-K; (ii) within one (1) day after release, copies of all press releases issued by the Company or any of its Subsidiaries; and (iii) contemporaneously with the making available or giving to the shareholders of the Company,
               copies of any notices or other information the Company makes available or gives to such shareholders.

          h. RESERVATION OF SHARES. The Company shall at all times have authorized, and reserved for the purpose of issuance, a sufficient number of shares of Common Stock to provide for the full conversion or exercise of the outstanding Debentures and Warrants and issuance of the Conversion Shares and Warrant Shares in connection therewith (based on the Conversion Price of the Debentures or Exercise Price of the Warrants in effect from time to time). The Company shall not reduce the number of shares of Common Stock reserved for issuance upon conversion of Debentures and exercise of the Warrants without the consent of the Buyer. The Company shall use its best efforts at all times to maintain the number of shares of Common Stock so reserved for issuance at no less than 1.25 times the number that is then actually issuable upon full conversion of the Debentures and exercise of the Warrants (based on the Conversion Price of the Debentures or Exercise Price of the Warrants in effect from time to time). If at any time the number of shares of Common Stock authorized and reserved for issuance is below the number of Conversion Shares and Warrant Shares issued and issuable upon conversion of the Debentures and exercise of the Warrants (based on the Conversion Price of the Debentures or Exercise Price of the Warrants then in effect), the Company will promptly take all corporate action necessary to authorize and reserve a sufficient number of shares, including, without limitation, calling a special meeting of shareholders to authorize additional shares to meet the Company's obligations under this Section 4(h), in the case of an insufficient number of authorized shares, and using its best efforts to obtain shareholder approval of such an increase in the authorized number of shares.

          i. LISTING. The Company shall, on or before the Closing Date, file for, and shall thereafter promptly secure, the listing of the Conversion Shares and Warrant Shares upon each national securities exchange or automated quotation system, if any, upon which shares of Common Stock are then listed (subject to official notice of issuance) and, so long as the Buyer owns any of the Securities, shall use its best efforts to maintain, so long as any other shares of Common Stock shall be so listed, such listing of all Conversion Shares and Warrant Shares from time to time issuable upon conversion of the Debentures or exercise of the Warrants. The Company will obtain and, so long as the Buyer owns any of the Securities, use its best efforts to maintain the listing and trading of its Common Stock on Nasdaq, the Nasdaq National Market ("NASDAQ NMS"), the New York Stock Exchange ("NYSE"), or the American Stock Exchange ("AMEX") and will comply in all material respects with the Company's reporting, filing and other obligations under the bylaws or rules of the National

               Association of Securities Dealers ("NASD") and such exchanges, as applicable. The Company shall promptly provide to the Buyer copies of any notices it receives from Nasdaq and any other exchanges or quotation systems on which the Common Stock is then listed regarding the continued eligibility of the Common Stock for listing on such exchanges and quotation systems.

          j. CORPORATE EXISTENCE. So long as the Buyer beneficially owns any Debentures or Warrants, the Company shall maintain its corporate existence and shall not sell all or substantially all of the Company's assets, except in the event of a merger, consolidation or sale of all or substantially all of the Company's assets, where the surviving or successor entity in such transaction (i) assumes the Company's obligations hereunder and under the agreements and instruments entered into in connection herewith and (ii) is a publicly traded corporation whose Common Stock is listed for trading on Nasdaq, Nasdaq NMS, NYSE or AMEX.

          k. NO INTEGRATION. The Company shall not make any offers or sales of any security (other than the Securities) under circumstances that would require registration of the Securities being offered or sold hereunder under the 1933 Act or cause the offering of the Securities to be integrated with any other offering of securities by the Company for the purpose of any shareholder approval provision applicable to the Company or its securities.

          l. SOLVENCY. The Company (both before and after giving effect to the transactions contemplated by this Agreement) is solvent (I.E., its assets have a fair market value in excess of the amount required to pay its probable liabilities on its existing debts as they become absolute and matured) and currently the Company has no information that would lead it to reasonably conclude that the Company would not have, nor does it intend to take any action that would impair, its ability to pay its debts from time to time incurred in connection therewith as such debts mature. The Company did not receive a qualified opinion from its auditors with respect to the fiscal year ended December 31, 1997 and does not expect to receive a qualified opinion from its auditors with respect to the fiscal year ended December 31, 1998.

          m. TRADING GUIDELINES. The Buyer will conduct all transactions in the Common Stock in accordance with applicable securities laws.

     5. TRANSFER AGENT INSTRUCTIONS. The Company shall issue irrevocable instructions to its transfer agent to issue certificates, registered in the name of the Buyer or its nominee, for the Conversion Shares and Warrant Shares in such amounts as specified from time to time by the Buyer to the Company upon
          conversion of the Debentures or exercise of the Warrants in accordance with the terms thereof (the "IRREVOCABLE TRANSFER AGENT INSTRUCTIONS"). Prior to registration of the Conversion Shares and Warrant Shares under the 1933 Act, all such certificates shall bear the restrictive legend specified in Section 2(g) of this Agreement. The Company warrants that no instruction other than the Irrevocable Transfer Agent Instructions referred to in this Section 5, and stop transfer instructions to give effect to Section 2(f) hereof (in the case of the Conversion Shares and Warrant Shares, prior to registration of the Conversion Shares and Warrant Shares under the 1933 Act), will be given by the Company to its transfer agent and that the Securities shall otherwise be freely transferable on the books and records of the Company as and to the extent provided in this Agreement and the Registration Rights Agreement. Nothing in this Section shall affect in any way the Buyer's obligations and agreements set forth in Sections 2(f), 2(g) and 4(m) hereof to comply with Rule 144 and all applicable prospectus delivery requirements, if any, upon resale of the Securities and the trading restrictions applicable to the Buyer. If the Buyer provides the Company with (i) an opinion of counsel, reasonably satisfactory to the Company in form, substance and scope, that registration of a resale by the Buyer of any of the Securities is not required under the 1933 Act or (ii) reasonable assurances that the Securities can be sold pursuant to Rule 144 under the 1933 Act (or a successor rule thereto) without any restriction as to the number of Securities acquired as of a particular date that can then be immediately sold, the Company shall permit the transfer, and, in the case of the Conversion Shares and Warrant Shares, promptly instruct its transfer agent to issue one or more certificates, free from restrictive legend, in such name and in such denominations as specified by the Buyer.

     6. CONDITIONS TO THE COMPANY'S OBLIGATION TO SELL. The obligation of the Company hereunder to issue and sell the Debentures and Warrants to the Buyer at the Closing is subject to the satisfaction, at or before the Closing Date, of each of the following conditions thereto, provided that these conditions are for the Company's sole benefit and may be waived by the Company at any time in its sole discretion:

          a. The applicable Buyer shall have executed this Agreement and the Registration Rights Agreement, and delivered the same to the Company.

          b. The Buyer shall have delivered the Purchase Price in accordance with Section 1(b) above.

          c. The representations and warranties of the Buyer shall be true and correct in all material respects as of the date when made and as of the Closing Date as though made at that time (except for representations and warranties that speak as of a specific date, which representations and warranties shall be true and correct in all material respects as of the date
               when made), and the Buyer shall have performed, satisfied and complied in all material respects with the covenants, agreements and conditions required by this Agreement to be performed, satisfied or complied with by the Buyer at or prior to the Closing Date.

          d. No litigation, statute, rule, regulation, executive order, decree, ruling or injunction shall have been enacted, entered, promulgated or endorsed by or in any court or governmental authority of competent jurisdiction or any self-regulatory organization having authority over the matters contemplated hereby which prohibits the consummation of any of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement.

     7. CONDITIONS TO THE BUYER'S OBLIGATION TO PURCHASE. The obligation of the Buyer hereunder to purchase the Debentures and Warrants at the Closing is subject to the satisfaction, at or before the Closing Date of each of the following conditions thereto, provided that these conditions are for the Buyer's sole benefit and may be waived by the Buyer at any time in its sole discretion:

          a. The Company shall have executed this Agreement and the Registration Rights Agreement, and delivered the same to the Buyer.

          b. The Company shall have delivered to the Buyer duly executed Debentures (in such denominations as the Buyer shall request) and Warrants in accordance with Section 1(b) above.

          c. The Irrevocable Transfer Agent Instructions, in form and substance satisfactory to the Buyer, shall have been delivered to and acknowledged in writing by the Company's Transfer Agent.

          d. The representations and warranties of the Company shall be true and correct in all material respects as of the date when made and as of the Closing Date as though made at such time (except for representations and warranties that speak as of a specific date, which representations and warranties shall be true and correct in all material respects as of the date when made) and the Company shall have performed, satisfied and complied in all material respects with the covenants, agreements and conditions required by this Agreement to be performed, satisfied or complied with by the Company at or prior to the Closing Date. The Buyer shall have received a certificate or certificates, executed on behalf of the Company by the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Company, dated as of the Closing Date, to the foregoing effect and as to such other matters as may be reasonably requested by the Buyer including, but not limited to similar certificates with respect to the Company's Articles of Incorporation,

               Bylaws and Board of Directors' resolutions relating to the transactions contemplated hereby.

          e. No litigation, statute, rule, regulation, executive order, decree, ruling or injunction shall have been enacted, entered, promulgated or endorsed by or in any court or governmental authority of competent jurisdiction or any self-regulatory organization having authority over the matters contemplated hereby which prohibits the consummation of any of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement.

          f. The Company shall have filed with Nasdaq to have the Conversion Shares and the Warrant Shares included for quotation on Nasdaq (and the inclusion of such shares shall have not have been rejected by Nasdaq) and trading in the Common Stock on Nasdaq shall not have been suspended by the SEC or Nasdaq.

          g. The Buyer shall have received an opinion of the Company's counsel, dated as of the Closing Date, in form, scope and substance reasonably satisfactory to the Buyer and in substantially the same form as EXHIBIT "D" attached hereto.

          h. The Buyer shall have received an officer's certificate described in Section 3(c) above, dated as of the Closing Date.

          i. There has been no material adverse change and no material adverse development in the assets, liabilities, business, properties, operations, financial condition or results of operations of the Company or any of its Subsidiaries.

     8.   GOVERNING LAW; MISCELLANEOUS.

          a. GOVERNING LAW. This Agreement shall be governed by and interpreted in accordance with the laws of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania without regard to the principles of conflict of laws. The parties hereto hereby submit to the jurisdiction of the United States Federal Courts located in the Eastern District of Pennsylvania with respect to any dispute arising under this Agreement, the agreements entered into in connection herewith or the transactions contemplated hereby or thereby.

          b. COUNTERPARTS; SIGNATURES BY FACSIMILE. This Agreement may be executed in two or more counterparts, all of which shall be considered one and the same agreement and shall become effective when counterparts have been signed by each party and delivered to the other party. This Agreement, once executed by a party, may be delivered to the other party
               hereto by facsimile transmission of a copy of this Agreement bearing the signature of the party so delivering this Agreement.

          c. HEADINGS. The headings of this Agreement are for convenience of reference and shall not form part of, or affect the interpretation of, this Agreement.

          d. SEVERABILITY. If any provision of this Agreement shall be invalid or unenforceable in any jurisdiction, such invalidity or unenforceability shall not affect the validity or enforceability of the remainder of this Agreement or the validity or enforceability of this Agreement in any other jurisdiction.

          e. ENTIRE AGREEMENT; AMENDMENTS. This Agreement and the exhibits and schedules and other documents referenced herein or to be executed in connection herewith contain the entire understanding of the parties with respect to the matters covered herein and therein and, except as specifically set forth herein or therein, neither the Company nor the Buyer makes any representation, warranty, covenant or undertaking with respect to such matters. No provision of this Agreement may be waived or amended other than by an instrument in writing signed by the party to be charged with enforcement.

          f. NOTICES. Any notices required or permitted to be given under the terms of this Agreement shall be sent by certified or registered mail (return receipt requested) or delivered personally or by courier (including a recognized overnight delivery service) or by facsimile and shall be effective five days after being placed in the mail, if mailed by regular U.S. mail, or upon receipt, if delivered personally or by courier (including a recognized overnight delivery service) or by facsimile, in each case addressed to a party. The addresses for such communications shall be:

               If to the Company:

                    Infonautics, Inc.
                    900 West Valley Road, Suite 1000
                    Wayne, Pennsylvania 19087
                    Attention:  President and Chief Executive Officer
                    Facsimile: 610-293-3910

               With copy to:

                    Morgan Lewis & Bockius LLP
                    1701 Market Street
                    Philadelphia, PA  19103
                    Attention: David R. King, Esq.
                    Facsimile: 215-963-5299

               If to the Buyer: To the address set forth immediately below the Buyer's name on the signature pages hereto.

               Each party shall provide notice to the other party of any change in address.

          g. SUCCESSORS AND ASSIGNS. This Agreement shall be binding upon and inure to the benefit of the parties and their successors and assigns. Neither the Company nor the Buyer shall assign this Agreement or any rights or obligations hereunder without the prior written consent of the other. Notwithstanding the foregoing, subject to Section 2(f), the Buyer may assign its rights hereunder to any person that purchases Securities in a private transaction from the Buyer or to any of its "affiliates," as that term is defined under the 1934 Act, without the consent of the Company.

          h. THIRD PARTY BENEFICIARIES. This Agreement is intended for the benefit of the parties hereto and their respective permitted successors and assigns, and is not for the benefit of, nor may any provision hereof be enforced by, any other person.

          i. SURVIVAL. The representations and warranties of the Company and the agreements and covenants set forth in Sections 3, 4, 5 and 8 shall survive the Closing hereunder notwithstanding any due diligence investigation conducted by or on behalf of the Buyer.

          j. PUBLICITY. The Company and the Buyer shall have the right to review a reasonable period of time before issuance of any press releases, SEC, Nasdaq or NASD filings, or any other public statements with respect to the transactions contemplated hereby; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that the Company shall be entitled, without the prior approval of the Buyer, to make any press release or SEC, Nasdaq or NASD filings with respect to such transactions as is required by applicable law and regulations (although the Buyer shall be consulted by the Company in connection with any such press release prior to its release and shall be provided with a copy thereof and be given an opportunity to comment thereon).

          k. FURTHER ASSURANCES. Each party shall do and perform, or cause to be done and performed, all such further acts and things, and shall execute and deliver all such other agreements, certificates, instruments and documents, as the other party may reasonably request in order to carry out the intent and accomplish the purposes of this Agreement and the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby.

          l. NO STRICT CONSTRUCTION. The language used in this Agreement will be deemed to be the language chosen by the parties to express their mutual intent, and no rules of strict construction will be applied against any party.

          m. REMEDIES. The Company acknowledges that a breach by it of its obligations hereunder will cause irreparable harm to the Buyer, by vitiating the intent and purpose of the transaction contemplated hereby. Accordingly, the Company acknowledges that the remedy at law for a breach of its obligations under this Agreement will be inadequate and agrees, in the event of a breach or threatened breach by the Company of the provisions of this Agreement, that the Buyer shall be entitled, in addition to all other available remedies at law or in equity, to an injunction or injunctions restraining, preventing or curing any breach of this Agreement and to enforce specifically the terms and provisions thereof, without the necessity of showing economic loss and without any bond or other security being required.

     IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the undersigned Buyer and the Company have caused this Agreement to be duly executed as of the date first above written.


INFONAUTICS, INC.


By:
   ------------------------------------------
   David Van Riper Morris
   President and Chief Executive Officer


RGC INTERNATIONAL INVESTORS, LDC
By:      Rose Glen Capital Management, L.P., Investment Manager
         By:      RGC General Partner Corp., as General Partner


By:
   ------------------------------------------
         Gary S. Kaminsky
         Managing Director

RESIDENCE:   Cayman Islands

ADDRESS:

          c/o Rose Glen Capital Management, L.P.
          3 Bala Plaza East, Suite 200
          251 St. Asaphs Road
          Bala Cynwyd, PA  19004
          Facsimile:        (610) 617-0570
          Telephone:        (610) 617-5900


AGGREGATE SUBSCRIPTION AMOUNT:


         Aggregate Principal Amount of Debentures:             $3,000,000

         Number of Warrants:                                      522,449

         Aggregate Purchase Price:                             $3,000,000


                                                                       EXHIBIT A
                                                                              TO
                                                                      SECURITIES
                                                                        PURCHASE
                                                                       AGREEMENT

     THE SECURITIES REPRESENTED HEREBY OR ISSUABLE UPON CONVERSION HEREOF, HAVE NOT BEEN REGISTERED UNDER THE SECURITIES ACT OF 1933, AS AMENDED (THE "ACT"). SUCH SECURITIES MAY NOT BE SOLD, TRANSFERRED OR ASSIGNED IN THE ABSENCE OF AN EFFECTIVE REGISTRATION STATEMENT FOR THE SECURITIES BEING SOLD, TRANSFERRED OR ASSIGNED UNDER SAID ACT, OR AN OPINION OF COUNSEL IN FORM, SUBSTANCE AND SCOPE REASONABLY ACCEPTABLE TO THE BORROWER THAT REGISTRATION IS NOT REQUIRED UNDER SAID ACT OR UNLESS SOLD PURSUANT TO RULE 144 UNDER SAID ACT.

     THE UNPAID AND UNCONVERTED PRINCIPAL AMOUNT OF THIS DEBENTURE REPRESENTED BY THIS DEBENTURE MAY BE LESS THAN THE AMOUNT STATED ON THE FACE HEREOF. SEE SECTION 1.4(b).


                              CONVERTIBLE DEBENTURE


February 11, 1999                                                     $3,000,000

     FOR VALUE RECEIVED, INFONAUTICS, INC., a Pennsylvania corporation (hereinafter called the "BORROWER"), hereby promises to pay to the order of RGC INTERNATIONAL INVESTORS, LDC or registered assigns (the "HOLDER") the sum of Three Million Dollars ($3,000,000), on August 11, 2000 (the "MATURITY DATE"), and to pay interest on the unpaid principal balance hereof at the rate of seven percent (7%) per annum from February 11, 1999 (the "ISSUE DATE") until the same becomes due and payable, whether at maturity or upon acceleration or otherwise. Any amount of principal or interest on this Debenture which is not paid when due shall bear interest at the rate of fifteen percent (15%) per annum from the due date thereof until the same is paid ("DEFAULT INTEREST"). Interest shall commence accruing on the Issue Date, shall be computed on the basis of a 365-day year and the actual number of days elapsed and shall be payable at the time of optional conversion of the principal to which such interest relates in accordance with Article I below or, to the extent not converted, at maturity or upon acceleration in accordance with the terms hereof. All payments due hereunder (to the extent not converted into Class A Common Stock, no par value per share, of the Borrower (the "COMMON STOCK") in accordance with the terms hereof) shall be made in lawful money of the United States of America. All payments shall be made at such address as the Holder shall hereafter give to the Borrower by written notice made in
accordance with the provisions of this Debenture. Whenever any amount expressed to be due by the terms of this Debenture is due on any day which is not a business day, the same shall instead be due on the next succeeding day which is a business day. Except as otherwise expressly provided herein, this Debenture may not be prepaid by the Borrower. As used in this Debenture, the term "business day" shall mean any day other than a Saturday, Sunday or a day on which commercial banks in the city of New York, New York are authorized or required by law or executive order to remain closed. Each capitalized term used herein, and not otherwise defined, shall have the meaning ascribed thereto in that certain Securities Purchase Agreement, dated February 11, 1999, pursuant to which this Debenture was originally issued (the "PURCHASE AGREEMENT"). For purposes hereof, the term "Debentures" shall be deemed to refer to this Debenture, all other convertible debentures issued pursuant to the Purchase Agreement and all convertible debentures issued in replacement hereof or thereof or otherwise with respect hereto or thereto.

     The following terms shall apply to this Debenture:


                          ARTICLE I. CONVERSION RIGHTS

     1.1  CONVERSION RIGHT.

          (a) CONVERSION AMOUNT. Subject to the conversion limitations set forth herein and in Section 1.1(b) below and Section 1.6 below, the Holder shall have the right from time to time, and at any time on or prior to the earlier of (i) the Maturity Date and (ii) the date of payment of the Default Amount (as defined in Article III) pursuant to Section 1.5(a) or Article III or any payments pursuant to Section 1.6, each in respect of the remaining outstanding principal amount of this Debenture, to convert all or any part of the outstanding and unpaid principal amount of this Debenture into fully paid and non-assessable shares of Common Stock, as such Common Stock exists on the Issue Date, or any shares of capital stock or other securities of the Borrower into which such Common Stock shall hereafter be changed or reclassified, at the Conversion Price (as defined in Section 1.2 below) determined as provided herein (a "CONVERSION"); PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that in no event shall the Holder be entitled to convert any portion of this Debenture in excess of that portion of this Debenture upon conversion of which the sum of (1) the number of shares of Common Stock beneficially owned by the Holder and its affiliates (other than shares of Common Stock which may be deemed beneficially owned through the ownership of the unconverted portion of the Debentures, the unexercised Warrants or the unexercised or unconverted portion of any other security of the Borrower subject to a limitation on conversion or exercise analogous to the limitations contained herein) and (2) the number of shares of Common Stock issuable upon the conversion of the portion of this Debenture with respect to which the determination of this proviso is being made, would result in beneficial ownership by the Holder and its affiliates of more than 4.99% of the outstanding shares of Common Stock. For purposes of the proviso to the immediately preceding sentence, beneficial ownership shall be determined in accordance with Section 13(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, and Regulations 13 D-G thereunder, except as otherwise provided in clause (1) of such proviso. The number of shares of Common Stock to be issued upon each conversion of this Debenture shall be determined by dividing the Conversion

Amount (as defined below) by the applicable Conversion Price. The term "CONVERSION AMOUNT" means, with respect to any conversion of this Debenture, the sum of (1) the principal amount of this Debenture to be converted in such conversion, PLUS (2) all accrued and unpaid interest thereon for the period beginning on the Issue Date and ending on the Conversion Date (as defined in
Section 1.4 thereof), PLUS (3) Default Interest, if any, on the amounts referred to in the immediately preceding clauses (1) and/or (2), PLUS (4) at the Holder's option, any amounts owed to the Holder pursuant to Sections 1.3 and 1.4(e) hereof or pursuant to Section 2(b) of that certain Registration Rights Agreement, dated as of February 11, 1999, executed in connection with the initial issuance of this Debenture and the other Debentures issued on the Issue Date (the "REGISTRATION RIGHTS AGREEMENT").

          (b) CONVERSION RESTRICTIONS. Subject to the exceptions set forth below, the Holder may only convert this Debenture on or after the ninetieth
(90th) day following the Issue Date; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that the restrictions on conversion set forth in this Section 1.1(b) shall not be applicable to conversions taking place on any Conversion Date (i) occurring on or after the date the Borrower makes a public announcement that it intends to merge or consolidate with any other corporation or sell or transfer all or substantially all of the assets of the Borrower or (ii) occurring on or after the date any person, group or entity (including the Borrower) publicly announces a tender offer to purchase 50% or more of the Borrower's Common Stock (or any other takeover scheme) or (iii) occurring after there is a material adverse change in the business, operations, assets, financial condition or prospects of the Borrower or its subsidiaries, taken as a whole, or (iv) following the occurrence of any Event of Default (as defined below).

     1.2 CONVERSION PRICE. Subject to the provisions of Section 1.5 below, the Conversion Price shall be $4.13 (90% of the Closing Bid Price (as defined below) on the trading day prior to the Issue Date) (subject to equitable adjustments for stock splits, stock dividends or rights offerings by the Borrower relating to the Borrower's securities or the securities of any subsidiary of the Borrower, combinations, recapitalization, reclassifications, extraordinary distributions and similar events). "CLOSING BID PRICE" means, for any security as of any date, the last closing bid price on the Nasdaq SmallCap Market ("NASDAQ") as reported by Bloomberg Financial Markets or an equivalent, reliable reporting service mutually acceptable to and hereafter designated by holders of a majority in interest of the Debentures and the Borrower ("BLOOMBERG") or, if Nasdaq is not the principal trading market for such security, the closing bid price of such security on the principal securities exchange or trading market where such security is listed or traded as reported by Bloomberg, or if the foregoing do not apply, the closing bid price of such security is available in the over-the-counter market on the electronic bulletin board for such security, as reported by Bloomberg, or, if no closing bid price of such security is available in the over-the-counter market on the electronic bulletin board for such security as reported by Bloomberg, or, if no closing bid price is reported for such security, then the last closing trade price of such security as reported by Bloomberg, or, if no last closing trade price is reported for such security by Bloomberg, the average of the bid prices of any market makers for such security that are listed in the "pink sheets" by the National Quotation Bureau, Inc. If the Closing Bid Price cannot be calculated for such security on such date in the manner provided above, the Closing Bid Price shall be the fair market value as mutually determined by the Borrower and the holders of a majority in interest of the Debentures
being converted for which the calculation of the Closing Bid Price is required in order to determine the Conversion Price of such Debentures. "TRADING DAY" shall mean any day on which the Common Sock is traded for any period on Nasdaq, or on the principal securities exchange or other securities market on which the Common Stock is then being traded.

     1.3 RESERVATION OF SHARES. The Borrower covenants that during the period the conversion right exists, the Borrower will reserve from its authorized and unissued Common Stock a sufficient number of shares, free from preemptive rights, to provide for the issuance of Common Stock upon the full conversion of this Debenture and the other Debentures issued pursuant to the Purchase Agreement. As of the date of issuance of this Debenture, 907,990 authorized and unissued shares of Common Stock have been duly reserved for issuance upon conversion of this Debenture and the other Debentures issued pursuant to the Purchase Agreement (the "RESERVED AMOUNT"). The Reserved Amount shall be increased from time to time in accordance with the Borrower's obligations pursuant to Section 4(h) of the Purchase Agreement. The Borrower represents that upon issuance, such shares will be duly and validly issued, fully paid and non-assessable. In addition, if the Borrower shall issue any securities or make any change to its capital structure which would change the number of shares of Common Stock into which the Debentures shall be convertible at the then current Conversion Price, the Borrower shall at the same time make proper provision so that thereafter there shall be a sufficient number of shares of Common Stock authorized and reserved, free from preemptive rights, for conversion of the outstanding Debentures. The Borrower (i) acknowledges that it has irrevocably instructed its transfer agent to issue certificates for the Common Stock issuable upon conversion of this Debenture and (ii) agrees that its issuance of this Debenture shall constitute full authority to its officers and agents who are charged with the duty of executing stock certificates to execute and issue the necessary certificates for shares of Common Stock in accordance with the terms and conditions of this Debenture.

     If, at any time a Holder of this Debenture submits a Notice of Conversion, and the Borrower does not have sufficient authorized but unissued shares of Common Stock available to effect such conversion in accordance with the provisions of this Article I (a "CONVERSION DEFAULT"), subject to Section 4.8, the Borrower shall issue to the Holder all of the shares of Common Stock which are then available to effect such conversion. The portion of this Debenture which the Holder included in its Conversion Notice and which exceeds the amount which is then convertible into available shares of Common Stock (the "EXCESS AMOUNT") shall, notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained herein, not be convertible into Common Stock in accordance with the terms hereof until (and at the Holder's option at any time after) the date additional shares of Common Stock are authorized and duly reserved for issuance by the Borrower to permit such conversion. The Borrower shall pay to the Holder payments ("CONVERSION DEFAULT PAYMENTS") for a Conversion Default in the amount of (x) the SUM OF (1) the then outstanding principal amount of this Debenture, PLUS (2) all accrued and unpaid interest thereon through the Authorization Date (as defined below), PLUS (3) Default Interest, if any, on the amounts referred to in clauses (1) and/or (2), MULTIPLIED BY (y) .24, MULTIPLIED BY (z) (N/365), where N = the number of days from the day the Holder submits a Notice of Conversion giving rise to a Conversion Default (the "CONVERSION DEFAULT DATE") to the date (the "AUTHORIZATION DATE") that the Borrower authorizes a sufficient number of shares of

Common Stock to effect conversion of the full outstanding principal balance of this Debenture. The Borrower shall use its best efforts to authorize a sufficient number of shares of Common Stock as soon as practicable following the earlier of (i) such time that the Holder notifies the Borrower or that the Borrower otherwise becomes aware that there are or likely will be insufficient authorized and unissued shares to allow full conversion thereof and (ii) a Conversion Default. The Borrower shall send notice to the Holder of the authorization of additional shares of Common Stock, the Authorization Date and the amount of the Holder's accrued Conversion Default Payments. The accrued Conversion Default Payments for each calendar month shall be paid in cash or shall be convertible into Common Stock (at such time as there are sufficient authorized shares of Common Stock) at the applicable Conversion Price, at the Holder's option, as follows:

          (a) In the event the Holder elects to take such payment in cash, cash payment shall be made to the Holder by the fifth day of the month following the month in which it has accrued; and

          (b) In the event the Holder elects to take such payment in Common Stock, the Holder may convert such payment amount into Common Stock at the Conversion Price (as in effect at the time of conversion) at any time after the fifth day of the month following the month in which it has accrued in accordance with the terms of this Article I (so long as there is then a sufficient number of authorized shares of Common Stock).

     The Holder's election shall be made in writing to the Borrower at any time prior to 9:00 p.m., New York City Time, on the third day of the month following the month in which Conversion Default payments have accrued. If no election is made, the Holder shall be deemed to have elected to receive cash. Nothing herein shall limit the Holder's right to pursue actual damages (to the extent in excess of the Conversion Default Payments) for the Borrower's failure to maintain a sufficient number of authorized shares of Common Stock, and each Holder shall have the right to pursue all remedies available at law or in equity (including decree of specific performance and/or injunctive relief).

     1.4  METHOD OF CONVERSION.

          (a) MECHANICS OF CONVERSION. Subject to Section 1.1 and the other provisions of this Debenture, this Debenture may be converted by the Holder in whole or in part (provided such partial conversion is at least $50,000, or such lesser amount as shall remain unpaid at the time of the conversion (together with accrued and unpaid interest thereon)) at any time and from time to time after the Issue Date, by (A) submitting to the Borrower a duly executed notice of conversion in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A ("NOTICE OF CONVERSION") by facsimile dispatched prior to Midnight, New York City time (the "CONVERSION NOTICE DEADLINE") on the date specified therein on the Conversion Date (as defined below) (or by other means resulting in, or reasonably expected to result in, written notice to the Borrower on the date specified therein as the Conversion Date) to the office of the Borrower; which notice shall specify the principal amount of this Debenture to be converted, the applicable Conversion Price, and the number of shares of

Common Stock issuable upon such conversion; and (B) subject to Section 1.4(b), surrendering this Debenture at the principal office of the Borrower.

          (b) SURRENDER OF DEBENTURE UPON CONVERSION. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary set forth herein, upon conversion of this Debenture in accordance with the terms hereof, the Holder shall not be required to physically surrender this Debenture to the Borrower unless the entire unpaid principal amount of this Debenture is so converted. The Holder and the Borrower shall maintain records showing the principal amount so converted and the dates of such conversions or shall use such other method, reasonably satisfactory to the Holder and the Borrower, so as not to require physical surrender of this Debenture upon each such conversion. In the event of any dispute or discrepancy, such records of the Borrower shall be controlling and determinative in the absence of manifest error. Notwithstanding the foregoing, if any portion of this Debenture is converted as aforesaid, the Holder may not transfer this Debenture unless the Holder first physically surrenders this Debenture to the Borrower, whereupon the Borrower will forthwith issue and deliver upon the order of the Holder a new Debenture of like tenor, registered as the Holder (upon payment by the Holder of any applicable transfer taxes) may request, representing in the aggregate the remaining unpaid principal amount of this Debenture. The Holder and any assignee, by acceptance of this Debenture, acknowledge and agree that, by reason of the provisions of this paragraph, following conversion of a portion of this Debenture, the unpaid and unconverted principal amount of this Debenture represented by this Debenture may be less than the amount stated on the face hereof.

          (c) PAYMENT OF TAXES. The Borrower shall not be required to pay any tax which may be payable in respect of any transfer involved in the issue and delivery of shares of Common Stock or other securities or property on conversion of this Debenture in a name other than that of the Holder (or in street name), and the Borrower shall not be required to issue or deliver any such shares or other securities or property unless and until the person or persons (other than the Holder or the custodian in whose street name such shares are to be held for the Holder's account) requesting the issuance thereof shall have paid to the Borrower the amount of any such tax or shall have established to the satisfaction of the Borrower that such tax has been paid.

          (d) LOST OR STOLEN DEBENTURES. Upon receipt by the Borrower of evidence of the loss, theft, destruction or mutilation of this Debenture, and (in the case of loss, theft or destruction) of indemnity reasonably satisfactory to the Borrower, and upon surrender and cancellation of this Debenture, if mutilated, the Borrower shall execute and deliver a new Debenture of like tenor and date.

          (e) DELIVERY OF COMMON STOCK UPON CONVERSION. Upon submission of a notice of Conversion, the Borrower shall, within three business days after the Conversion Date (the "DELIVERY PERIOD"), issue and deliver (or cause its Transfer Agent so to issue and deliver) in accordance with the terms hereof and the Purchase Agreement (including, without limitation, in accordance with the requirements of Section 2(g) of the Purchase Agreement) to or upon the order of the Holder that number of shares of Common Stock for the portion of this Debenture converted as shall be determined in accordance herewith. In addition to any other remedies available to the

Holder, including actual damages and/or equitable relief, the Borrower shall pay to the Holder $2,000 per day in cash for each day beyond a two-day grace period following the Delivery Period that the Borrower fails to deliver Common Stock (a "DELIVERY DEFAULT") issuable upon conversion of this Debenture pursuant to the Notice of Conversion until such time as the Borrower has delivered all such Common Stock (the "DELIVERY DEFAULT PAYMENTS"); PROVIDED, HOWEVER, in the event of a failure by the Borrower to deliver shares upon conversion as a result of a Conversion Default, the Holder shall not be entitled to receive Delivery Default Payments but shall be entitled to receive Conversion Default Payments in accordance with Section 1.3. Such Delivery Default Payments shall be paid to the Holder of the fifth day of the month following the month in which they have accrued or, at the option of the Holder (by written notice to the Borrower by the first day of the month following the month in which they have accrued), shall be added to the principal amount of this Debenture, in which event interest shall accrue thereon in accordance with the terms of this Debenture and such additional principal amount shall be convertible into Common Stock in accordance with the terms of this Debenture.

          In lieu of delivering physical certificates representing the Common Stock issuable upon conversion, provided the Borrower's Transfer Agent is participating in the Depository Trust Company ("DTC") Fast Automated Securities Transfer ("FAST") program, upon written request of the Holder and its compliance with the provisions contained in Section 1.1 and in this Section 1.4, the Borrower shall use its best efforts to cause its Transfer Agent to electronically transmit the Common Stock issuable upon conversion to the Holder by crediting the account of the Holder's Prime Broker with DTC through its Deposit Withdrawal Agent Commission ("DWAC") system. The time periods for delivery and penalties described in the immediately preceding paragraph shall apply to the electronic transmittals described herein.

          (f) OBLIGATION OF BORROWER TO DELIVER COMMON STOCK. Upon receipt by the Borrower of a Notice of Conversion, the Holder shall be deemed to be the holder of record of the Common Stock issuable upon such conversion, the outstanding principal amount and the amount of accrued and unpaid interest on this Debenture shall be reduced to reflect such conversion, and, unless the Borrower defaults on its obligations hereunder, all rights with respect to the portion of this Debenture being so converted shall forthwith terminate except the right to receive the Common Stock or other securities, cash or other assets, as herein provided, on such conversion. If the Holder shall have given a Notice of Conversion as provided herein, the Borrower's obligation to issue and deliver the certificates for Common Stock shall be absolute and unconditional, irrespective of the absence of any action by the Holder to enforce the same, any waiver or consent with respect to any provision thereof, the recovery of any judgment against any person or any action to enforce the same, any failure or delay in the enforcement of any other obligation of the Borrower to the holder of record, or any setoff, counterclaim, recoupment, limitation or termination, or any breach or alleged breach by the Holder of any obligation to the Borrower, and irrespective of any other circumstance which might otherwise limit such obligation of the Borrower to the Holder in connection with such conversion.

          (g) NO FRACTIONAL SHARES. If any conversion of this Debenture would result in a fractional share of Common Stock or the right to acquire a fractional share of Common Stock, such fractional share shall be disregarded and the number of shares of Common Stock issuable upon conversion of this Debenture shall be the next higher number of shares.

          (h) CONVERSION DATE. The "CONVERSION DATE" shall be the date specified in the Notice of Conversion, provided that the Notice of Conversion is submitted by facsimile (or by other means resulting in, or reasonably expected to result in, written notice) to the Borrower or its Transfer Agent before Midnight, New York City time, on the date so specified, otherwise the Conversion Date shall be the first business day after the date so specified (provided that the Notice of Conversion is actually received by the Borrower or its Transfer Agent on such business day). The person or persons entitled to receive the shares of Common Stock issuable upon conversion shall be treated for all purposes as the record holder or holders of such securities as of the Conversion Date and all rights with respect to this Debenture (or portion thereof) surrendered shall forthwith terminate except the rights set forth in Section 1.4(f) and Section 1.7.

     1.5  EFFECT OF CERTAIN EVENTS.

          (a) EFFECT OF MERGER, CONSOLIDATION, ETC. At the option of the Holder, the sale, conveyance or disposition of all or substantially all of the assets of the Borrower, the effectuation by the Borrower of a transaction or series of related transactions in which more than 50% of the voting power of the Borrower is disposed of, or the consolidation, merger or other business combination of the Borrower with or into any other Person (as defined below) or Persons when the Borrower is not the survivor shall either: (i) be deemed to be an Event of Default (as defined in Article III) pursuant to which the Borrower shall be required to pay to the Holder upon the consummation of and as a condition to such transaction an amount equal to the Default Amount (as defined in Article
III) or (ii) be treated pursuant to Section 1.5(b) hereof. "PERSON" shall mean any individual, corporation, limited liability company, partnership, association, trust or other entity or organization.

          (b) ADJUSTMENT DUE TO MERGER, CONSOLIDATION, ETC. If, at any time when this Debenture is issued and outstanding and prior to conversion of all of the Debentures, there shall be any merger, consolidation, exchange of shares, recapitalization, reorganization, or other similar event, as a result of which shares of Common Stock of the Borrower shall be changed into the same or a different number of shares of another class or classes of stock or securities of the Borrower or another entity, or in case of any sale or conveyance of all or substantially all of the assets of the Borrower, then the Holder of this Debenture shall thereafter have the right to receive upon conversion of this Debenture, upon the basis and upon the terms and conditions specified herein and in lieu of the shares of Common Stock immediately theretofore issuable upon conversion, such stock, securities or assets which the Holder would have been entitled to receive in such transaction had this Debenture been converted in full immediately prior to such transaction (without regard to any limitations on conversion set forth herein), and in any such case appropriate provisions shall be made with respect to the rights and interests of the Holder of this Debenture to the end that the provisions hereof (including, without limitation, provisions for adjustment of the Conversion

Price and of the number of shares issuable upon conversion of the Debenture) shall thereafter be applicable, as nearly as may be practicable in relation to any securities or assets thereafter deliverable upon the conversion hereof. The Borrower shall not effect any transaction described in this Section 1.5(b) unless (a) it first gives, to the extent practicable, thirty (30) days prior written notice (but in any event at least fifteen (15) days prior written notice) of the record date of the special meeting of shareholders to approve, or if there is no such record date, the consummation of, such merger, consolidation, exchange of shares, recapitalization, reorganization or other similar event or sale of assets (during which time the Holder shall be entitled to convert this Debenture) and (b) the resulting successor or acquiring entity (if not the Borrower) assumes by written instrument the obligations of this
Section 1.5(b). The above provisions shall similarly apply to successive consolidations, mergers, sales, transfers or share exchanges.

          (c) ADJUSTMENT DUE TO DISTRIBUTION. If the Borrower shall declare or make any distribution of its assets (or rights to acquire its assets) to holders of Common Stock as a dividend, stock repurchase, by way of return of capital or otherwise (including any dividend or distribution to the Borrower's shareholders in cash or shares (or rights to acquire shares) of capital stock of a subsidiary (i.e., a spin-off)) (a "DISTRIBUTION"), then the Holder of this Debenture shall be entitled, upon any conversion of this Debenture after the date of record for determining shareholders entitled to such Distribution, to receive the amount of such assets which would have been payable to the Holder with respect to the shares of Common Stock issuable upon such conversion had such Holder been the holder of such shares of Common Stock on the record date for the determination of shareholders entitled to such Distribution.

          (d) PURCHASE RIGHTS. If, at any time when any Debentures are issued and outstanding, the Borrower issues any convertible securities or rights to purchase stock, warrants, securities or other property (the "PURCHASE RIGHTS") pro rata to the record holders of any class of Common Stock, then the Holder of this Debenture will be entitled to acquire, upon the terms applicable to such Purchase Rights, the aggregate Purchase Rights which such Holder could have acquired if such Holder had held the number of shares of Common Stock acquirable upon complete conversion of this Debenture (without regard to any limitations on conversion contained herein) immediately before the date on which a record is taken for the grant, issuance or sale of such Purchase Rights or, if no such record is taken, the date as of which the record holders of Common Stock are to be determined for the grant, issue or sale of such Purchase Rights.

          (e) ANTIDILUTION PROVISIONS. The Conversion Price shall be subject to adjustment from time to time as provided in this Section 1.5(e).

               (i) ADJUSTMENT OF CONVERSION PRICE. If and whenever on or after the date of issuance of this Debenture, the Borrower issues or sells, or in accordance with Section1.5(e)(ii) hereof is deemed to have issued or sold, any shares of Common Stock for no consideration or for a consideration per share (before deduction of reasonable expenses or commissions or underwriting discounts or allowances in connection therewith) less than the Market Price (as defined below) on the date of issuance (or deemed issuance) of such shares of Common Stock (a "DILUTIVE ISSUANCE"), then immediately upon the Dilutive Issuance, the Conversion Price
will be reduced to a price determined by multiplying the Conversion Price in effect immediately prior to the Dilutive Issuance by a fraction, (i) the numerator of which is an amount equal to the sum of (x) the number of shares of Common Stock actually outstanding immediately prior to the Dilutive Issuance, plus (y) the quotient of the aggregate consideration, calculated as set forth in
Section 1.5(e)(ii) hereof, received by the Borrower upon such Dilutive Issuance divided by the Market Price in effect immediately prior to the Dilutive Issuance, and (ii) the denominator of which is the total number of shares of Common Stock Deemed Outstanding (as defined below) immediately after the Dilutive Issuance.

               (ii) EFFECT ON CONVERSION PRICE OF CERTAIN EVENTS. For purposes of determining the adjusted Conversion Price under Section 1.5(e)(i) hereof, the following will be applicable:

               A. ISSUANCE OF RIGHTS OR OPTIONS. If the Borrower in any manner issues or grants any warrants, rights or options, whether or not immediately exercisable, to subscribe for or to purchase Common Stock or other securities convertible into or exchangeable for Common Stock ("CONVERTIBLE SECURITIES") (such warrants, rights and options to purchase Common Stock or Convertible Securities are hereinafter referred to as "OPTIONS") and the price per share for which Common Stock is issuable upon the exercise of such Options is less than the Market Price on the date of issuance or grant of such Options, then the maximum total number of shares of Common Stock issuable upon the exercise of all such Options will, as of the date of the issuance or grant of such Options, be deemed to be outstanding and to have been issued and sold by the Borrower for such price per share. For purposes of the preceding sentence, the "price per share for which Common Stock is issuable upon the exercise of such Options" is determined by dividing (i) the total amount, if any, received or receivable by the Borrower as consideration for the issuance or granting of all such Options, plus the minimum aggregate amount of additional consideration, if any, payable to the Borrower upon the exercise of all such Options, plus, in the case of Convertible Securities issuable upon the exercise of such Options, the minimum aggregate amount of additional consideration payable upon the conversion or exchange thereof at the time such Convertible Securities first become convertible or exchangeable, by (ii) the maximum total number of shares of Common Stock issuable upon the exercise of all such Options (assuming full conversion of Convertible Securities, if applicable). No further adjustment to the Conversion Price will be made upon the actual issuance of such Common Stock upon the exercise of such Options or upon the conversion or exchange of Convertible Securities issuable upon exercise of such Options.

               B. ISSUANCE OF CONVERTIBLE SECURITIES. If the Borrower in any manner issues or sells any Convertible Securities, whether or not immediately convertible (other than where the same are issuable upon the exercise of Options), and the price per share for which Common Stock is issuable upon such conversion or exchange is less than the Market Price on the date of issuance of the Convertible Securities, then the maximum total number of shares of Common Stock issuable upon the conversion or exchange of all such Convertible Securities will, as of the date of the issuance of such Convertible Securities, be deemed to be outstanding and to have been issued and sold by the Borrower for such price per share. For the purposes of the preceding sentence, the "price per share for which Common Stock is issuable upon such conversion or exchange" is determined by dividing (i) the total amount, if any, received or receivable by the Borrower as consideration for the issuance or sale of all such Convertible Securities, plus the minimum aggregate amount of additional consideration, if any, payable to the Borrower upon the conversion or exchange thereof at the time such Convertible Securities first become convertible or exchangeable, by (ii) the maximum total number of shares of Common Stock issuable upon the conversion or exchange of all such Convertible Securities. No further adjustment to the Conversion Price will be made upon the actual issuance of such Common Stock upon conversion or exchange of such Convertible Securities.

               C. CHANGE IN OPTION PRICE OR CONVERSION RATE. If there is a change at any time in (i) the amount of additional consideration payable to the Borrower upon the exercise of any Options; (ii) the amount of additional consideration, if any, payable to the Borrower upon the conversion or exchange of any Convertible Securities; or (iii) the rate at which any Convertible Securities are convertible into or exchangeable for Common Stock (other than under or by reason of provisions designed to protect against dilution), the Conversion Price in effect at the time of such change will be readjusted to the Conversion Price which would have been in effect at such time had such Options or Convertible Securities still outstanding provided for such changed additional consideration or changed conversion rate, as the case may be, at the time initially granted, issued or sold.

               D. TREATMENT OF EXPIRED OPTIONS AND UNEXERCISED CONVERTIBLE SECURITIES. If, in any case, the total number of shares of Common Stock issuable upon exercise of any Option or upon conversion or exchange of any Convertible Securities is not, in fact, issued and the rights to exercise such Option or to convert or exchange such Convertible Securities shall have expired or terminated, the Conversion Price then in effect will be readjusted to the Conversion Price which would have been in effect at the time of such expiration or termination had such Option or Convertible Securities, to the extent outstanding immediately prior to such expiration or termination (other than in respect of the actual number of shares of Common Stock issued upon exercise or conversion thereof), never been issued.

               E. CALCULATION OF CONSIDERATION RECEIVED. If any Common Stock, Options or Convertible Securities are issued, granted or sold for cash, the consideration received therefor for purposes of this Debenture will be the amount received by the Borrower therefor, before deduction of reasonable commissions, underwriting discounts or allowances or other reasonable expenses paid or incurred by the Borrower in connection with such issuance, grant or sale. In case any Common Stock, Options or Convertible Securities are issued or sold for a consideration part or all of which shall be other than cash, the amount of the consideration other than cash received by the Borrower will be the fair value of such consideration, except where such consideration consists of securities, in which case the amount of consideration received by the Borrower will be the Market Price thereof as of the date of receipt. In case any Common Stock, Options or Convertible Securities are issued in connection with any acquisition, merger or consolidation in which the Borrower is the surviving corporation, the amount of consideration therefor will be deemed to be the fair value of such portion of the net assets and business of the non-surviving corporation as is attributable to such Common Stock, Options or Convertible Securities,
as the case may be. The fair value of any consideration other than cash or securities will be determined in good faith by the Board of Directors of the Borrower.

               F. EXCEPTIONS TO ADJUSTMENT OF CONVERSION PRICE. No adjustment to the Conversion Price will be made (i) upon the exercise of any warrants, options or convertible securities granted, issued and outstanding on the date of issuance of this Debenture; (ii) upon the grant or exercise of any stock or options which may hereafter be granted or exercised under any employee benefit plan of the Borrower now existing or to be implemented in the future, so long as the issuance of such stock or options is approved by a majority of the independent members of the Board of Directors of the Borrower or a majority of the members of a committee of independent directors established for such purpose; or (iii) upon the conversion of the Debentures.

               (iii) SUBDIVISION OR COMBINATION OF COMMON STOCK. If the Borrower at any time subdivides (by any stock split, stock dividend, recapitalization, reorganization, reclassification or otherwise) the shares of Common Stock acquirable hereunder into a greater number of shares, then, after the date of record for effecting such subdivision, the Conversion Price in effect immediately prior to such subdivision will be proportionately reduced. If the Borrower at any time combines (by reverse stock split, recapitalization, reorganization, reclassification or otherwise) the shares of Common Stock acquirable hereunder into a smaller number of shares, then, after the date of record for effecting such combination, the Conversion Price in effect immediately prior to such combination will be proportionately increased.

               (iv) CERTAIN DEFINITIONS.

               A. "COMMON STOCK DEEMED OUTSTANDING" shall mean the number of shares of Common Stock actually outstanding (not including shares of Common Stock held in the treasury of the Borrower), plus (x) pursuant to Section 1.5(e)(ii)(A) hereof, the maximum total number of shares of Common Stock issuable upon the exercise of Options, as of the date of such issuance or grant of such Options, if any, and (y) pursuant to Section 1.5(e)(ii)(B) hereof, the maximum total number of shares of Common Stock issuable upon conversion or exchange of Convertible Securities, as of the date of issuance of such Convertible Securities, if any.

               B. "MARKET PRICE," as of any date, (i) means the average of the last reported sale prices for the shares of Common Stock on the Nasdaq SmallCap Market ("NASDAQ") for the five (5) trading days immediately preceding such date as reported by Bloomberg, L.P. ("BLOOMBERG"), or (ii) if Nasdaq is not the principal trading market for the shares of Common Stock, the average of the last reported sale prices on the principal trading market for the Common Stock during the same period as reported by Bloomberg, or (iii) if market value cannot be calculated as of such date on any of the foregoing bases, the Market Price shall be the fair market value as reasonably determined in good faith by (a) the Board of Directors of the Borrower or, at the option of a majority-in-interest of the holders of the outstanding Debentures by (b) an independent investment bank of nationally recognized standing in the valuation of businesses similar to the business of the corporation. The manner of determining the Market Price of the Common Stock set
forth in the foregoing definition shall apply with respect to any other security in respect of which a determination as to market value must be made hereunder.

               C. "COMMON STOCK," for purposes of this Section 1.5(e), includes the Class A Common Stock, no par value per share, and any additional class of stock of the Borrower having no preference as to dividends or distributions on liquidation, provided that the shares purchasable pursuant to this Debenture shall include only shares of Class A Common Stock, no par value per share, in respect of which this Debenture is exercisable, or shares resulting from any subdivision or combination of such Common Stock, or any reorganization, reclassification, consolidation or merger involving the Borrower.


          (f) NOTICE OF ADJUSTMENTS. Upon the occurrence of each adjustment or readjustment of the Conversion Price as a result of the events described in this
Section 1.5, the Borrower, at its expense, shall promptly compute such adjustment or readjustment and prepare and furnish to the Holder of a certificate setting forth such adjustment or readjustment and showing in detail the facts upon which such adjustment or readjustment is based. The Borrower shall, upon the written request at any time of the Holder, furnish to such Holder a like certificate setting forth (i) such adjustment or readjustment,
(ii) the Conversion Price at the time in effect and (iii) the number of shares of Common Stock and the amount, if any, of other securities or property which at the time would be received upon conversion of the Debenture.

     1.6 TRADING MARKET LIMITATIONS. Unless (i) permitted by the applicable rules and regulations of the principal securities market on which the Common Stock is then listed or traded or (ii) the Borrower has obtained approval of the issuance of Common Stock upon conversion of the Debentures in accordance with applicable law and the rules and regulations of any stock exchange, interdealer quotation system or other self-regulatory organization with jurisdiction over the Borrower or any of its securities (the "SHAREHOLDER APPROVAL") , in no event shall the total number of shares of Common Stock issued upon conversion of this Debenture and the other Debentures issued pursuant to the Purchase Agreement (including any shares of capital stock or rights to acquire shares of capital stock issued by the Borrower which are aggregated or integrated with the Common Stock issued or issuable upon conversion of the Debentures for purposes of any such rule or regulation) exceed the maximum number of shares of Common Stock that the Borrower can issue pursuant to any rule of the principal United States securities market on which the Common Stock is then traded (including Rule 4460(i) of Nasdaq) (the "MAXIMUM SHARE AMOUNT"), which, as of the Issue Date shall be 2,323,376 shares (19.99% of the total shares outstanding on the Issue
Date), subject to adjustment from time to time for stock splits, stock dividends, combinations, capital reorganizations and similar events relating to the Common Stock occurring after the Issue Date. With respect to each Holder of Debentures, the Maximum Share Amount shall refer to such Holder's PRO RATA share thereof determined in accordance with Section 4.8 below. In the event that (x) the aggregate number of shares of Common Stock issued upon conversion of this Debenture and the other Debentures issued pursuant to the Purchase Agreement represents at least twenty percent (20%) of the Maximum Share Amount and (y) the sum of (i) the aggregate number of shares of Common Stock issued upon conversion of this Debenture and the other Debentures issued pursuant
to the Purchase Agreement PLUS (ii) the aggregate number of shares of Common Stock that remain issuable upon conversion of this Debenture and the other Debentures issued pursuant to the Purchase Agreement, represents at least one hundred percent (100%) of the Maximum Share Amount (the "TRIGGERING EVENT"), the Borrower will use its best efforts to seek and obtain Shareholder Approval (or obtain such other relief as will allow conversions hereunder in excess of the Maximum Share Amount) as soon as practicable following the Triggering Event. If any Debentures cease to be convertible as a result of the limitations described in this Section 1.6 (a "TRADING MARKET REDEMPTION EVENT"), and the Borrower has not prior to, or within thirty (30) days of the date that such Trading Market Redemption Event arises, (i) obtained the Shareholder Approval or (ii) eliminated any prohibition under application law or the rules or regulations of any stock exchange, interdealer quotation system or other self-regulatory organization with jurisdiction over the Borrower or any of its securities on the Borrower's ability to issue shares of Common Stock in excess of the Maximum Share Amount then the Borrower shall be obligated to redeem immediately all of the then outstanding Debentures, in accordance with this Section 1.6. An irrevocable redemption notice (the "TRADING MARKET REDEMPTION NOTICE") shall be delivered promptly to the Holders of Debentures at their registered address appearing on the records of the Borrower and shall state (i) that the Maximum Share Amount has been issued upon conversion of the Debentures, (ii) that the Borrower is obligated to redeem all of the outstanding Debentures, and (iii) the date of redemption, which shall be a date within five (5) business days of the earlier of (a) the date of the Trading Market Redemption Notice or (b) the date on which the Holders of the Debentures notify the Borrower of the occurrence of a Trading Market Redemption Event. On the date of redemption, the Borrower shall make payment of the Default Amount (as defined in Article III) in cash.

     1.7 STATUS AS SHAREHOLDER. Upon submission of a Notice of Conversion by a Holder, (i) the shares covered thereby (other than the shares, if any, which cannot be issued because their issuance would exceed such Holder's allocated portion of the Reserved Amount or Maximum Share Amount) shall be deemed converted into shares of Common Stock and (ii) the Holder's rights as a Holder of such converted portion of this Debenture shall cease and terminate, excepting only the right to receive certificates for such shares of Common Stock and to any remedies provided herein or otherwise available at law or in equity to such Holder because of a failure by the Borrower to comply with the terms of this Debenture. Notwithstanding the foregoing, if a Holder has not received certificates for all shares of Common Stock prior to the tenth (10th) business day after the expiration of the Deadline with respect to a conversion of any portion of this Debenture for any reason, then (unless the Holder otherwise elects to retain its status as a holder of Common Stock by so notifying the Borrower) the Holder shall regain the rights of a Holder of this Debenture with respect to such unconverted portions of this Debenture and the Borrower shall, as soon as practicable, return such unconverted Debenture to the Holder or, if the Debenture has not been surrendered, adjust its records to reflect that such portion of this Debenture has not been converted. In all cases, the Holder shall retain all of its rights and remedies (including, without limitation, the right to receive Conversion Default Payments pursuant to Section 1.3 to the extent required thereby for such Conversion Default and any subsequent Conversion Default) for the Borrower's failure to convert this Debenture.

                          ARTICLE II. CERTAIN COVENANTS

     2.1 DISTRIBUTIONS ON CAPITAL STOCK. So long as the Borrower shall have any obligation under this Debenture, the Borrower shall not without the Holder's written consent (a) pay, declare or set apart for such payment, any dividend or other distribution (whether in cash, property or other securities) on shares of capital stock other than dividends on shares of Common Stock solely in the form of additional shares of Common Stock or (b) directly or indirectly or through any subsidiary make any other payment or distribution in respect of its capital stock.

     2.2 RESTRICTION ON STOCK REPURCHASES. So long as the Borrower shall have any obligation under this Debenture, the Borrower shall not without the Holder's written consent redeem, repurchase or otherwise acquire (whether for cash or in exchange for property or other securities or otherwise) in any one transaction or series of related transactions any shares of capital stock of the Borrower or any warrants, rights or options to purchase or acquire any such shares.

     2.3 BORROWINGS. So long as the Borrower shall have any obligation under this Debenture, the Borrower shall not without the Holder's written consent, create, incur, assume or suffer to exist any liability for borrowed money, except (a) borrowings in existence or committed on the date hereof and of which the Borrower has informed the Holder in writing prior to the date hereof, (b) indebtedness incurred in the ordinary course of business (which shall include trade credit, equipment financing, accounts receivables financing and lines of credit (not to exceed $5 million)) or (c) borrowings, the proceeds of which shall be used to repay this Debenture.

     2.4 ADVANCES AND LOANS. So long as the Borrower shall have any obligation under this Debenture, the Borrower shall not without the Holder's written consent, lend money, give credit or make advances to any person, firm, joint venture or corporation, including, without limitation, officers, directors, employees, subsidiaries and affiliates of the Borrower, except loans, credits or advances (a) in existence or committed on the date hereof and which the Borrower has informed the Holder in writing prior to the date hereof or (b) made in the ordinary course of business.

     2.5 CONTINGENT LIABILITIES. So long as the Borrower shall have any obligation under this Debenture, the Corporation shall not without the Holder's written consent, assume, guarantee, endorse, contingently agree to purchase or otherwise become liable upon the obligation of any person, firm, partnership, joint venture or corporation, except by the endorsement of negotiable instruments for deposit or collection and except assumption, guarantees, endorsements and contingencies (a) in existence or committed on the date hereof and which the Borrower has informed the Holder in writing prior to the date hereof or (b) made in the ordinary course of business.

                         ARTICLE III. EVENTS OF DEFAULT

     If any of the following events of default (each, an "EVENT OF DEFAULT") shall occur:

     3.1 FAILURE TO PAY PRINCIPAL OR INTEREST. The Borrower fails to pay the principal hereof or interest thereon when due on this Debenture, whether at maturity, upon mandatory prepayment pursuant to Section 1.7, upon acceleration or otherwise.

     3.2 CONVERSION AND THE SHARES. The Borrower fails to issue shares of Common Stock to the Holder (or announces or threatens that it will not honor its obligation to do so) upon exercise by the Holder of the conversion rights of the Holder in accordance with the terms of this Debenture (for a period of at least sixty (60) days, if such failure is solely as a result of the circumstances governed by Section 1.3 and the Borrower is using its best efforts to authorize a sufficient number of shares of Common Stock as soon as practicable), fails to transfer or cause its transfer agent to transfer (electronically or in certificated form) any certificate for shares of Common Stock issued to the Holder upon conversion of this Debenture as and when required by this Debenture or the Registration Rights Agreement, or fails to remove any restrictive legend (or to withdraw any stop transfer instructions in respect thereof) on any certificate for any shares of Common Stock issued to the Holder upon conversion of this Debenture as and when required by this Debenture, the Purchase Agreement or the Registration Rights Agreement (or makes any announcement, statement or threat that it does not intend to honor the obligations described in this paragraph) and any such failure shall continue uncured (or any announcement, statement or threat not to honor its obligations shall not be rescinded in writing) for ten (10) days after the Borrower shall have been notified thereof in writing by the Holder.

     3.3 FAILURE TO EFFECT REGISTRATION. The Borrower fails to obtain effectiveness with the Securities and Exchange Commission prior to July 11, 1999 of the Registration Statement(s) (as defined in the Registration Rights Agreement) required to be filed pursuant to Section 2(a) of the Registration Rights Agreement, or fails to obtain the effectiveness of any additional Registration Statement (required to be filed pursuant to Section 3(b) of the Registration Rights Agreement) within 120 days after the Registration Trigger Date (as defined in the Registration Rights Agreement), or any such Registration Statement, after its initial effectiveness and during the Registration Period (as defined in the Registration Rights Agreement), lapses in effect or sales of all of the Registrable Securities (as defined in the Registration Rights Agreement) cannot otherwise be made thereunder (whether by reason of the Borrower's failure to amend or supplement the prospectus included therein in accordance with the Registration Rights Agreement , the Borrower's failure to file and obtain effectiveness with the SEC of an additional Registration Statement required pursuant to Section 3(b) of the Registration Rights Agreement or otherwise) for more than thirty (30) consecutive days or sixty (60) days in any twelve month period after such Registration Statement becomes effective;

     3.4 BREACH OF COVENANTS. The Borrower breaches any material covenant or other material term or condition contained in Article II hereof or in Sections 1.3, 1.5 or 1.6 of this Debenture, or Sections 4(c), 4(e), 4(h), 4(i), 4(j) or 5 of the Purchase Agreement and such breach continues for a period of ten (10) business days after written notice thereof to the Borrower from the Holder;

     3.5 BREACH OF REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES. Any representation or warranty of the Borrower made herein or in any agreement, statement or certificate given in writing pursuant hereto or in connection herewith (including, without limitation, the Purchase Agreement and the Registration Rights Agreement), shall be false or misleading in any material respect when made and the breach of which has a material adverse effect on the rights of the Holder with respect to this Debenture, the Purchase Agreement or the Registration Rights Agreement;

     3.6 RECEIVER OR TRUSTEE. The Borrower or any subsidiary of the Borrower shall make an assignment for the benefit of creditors, or apply for or consent to the appointment of a receiver or trustee for it or for a substantial part of its property or business, or such a receiver or trustee shall otherwise be appointed;

     3.7 JUDGMENTS. Any money judgment, writ or similar process shall be entered or filed by a court against the Borrower or any subsidiary of the Borrower or any of its property or other assets for more than $200,000, and shall remain unvacated, unbonded or unstayed for a period of twenty (20) days unless otherwise consented to by the Holder, which consent will not be unreasonably withheld;

     3.8 BANKRUPTCY. Bankruptcy, insolvency, reorganization or liquidation proceedings or other proceedings for relief under any bankruptcy law or any law for the relief of debtors shall be instituted by or against the Borrower or any subsidiary of the Borrower and such proceedings remain outstanding for a period of sixty (60) days; or

     3.9 DELISTING OF COMMON STOCK. The Borrower shall fail to maintain the listing of the Common Stock on at least one of The Nasdaq National Market, Nasdaq Small Cap Market, the New York Stock Exchange, or the American Stock Exchange;

     3.10 DEFAULT UNDER OTHER DEBENTURES. An Event of Default has occurred and is continuing under any of the other Debentures issued pursuant to the Purchase Agreement.

then, upon the occurrence and during the continuation of any Event of Default specified in Section 3.1, 3.2, 3.3, 3.4, 3.5, 3.7, 3.9, or 3.10, at the option
of the Holders of a majority of the aggregate principal amount of the outstanding Debentures issued pursuant to the Purchase Agreement exercisable through the delivery of written notice to the Borrower by such Holders (the "DEFAULT NOTICE"), and upon the occurrence of an Event of Default specified in
Section 3.6 or 3.8, the Debentures shall become immediately due and payable and the Borrower shall pay to the Holder, in full satisfaction of its obligations hereunder, an amount equal to the greater of (i) 120% TIMES the SUM of (w) the then outstanding principal amount of this Debenture, PLUS (x) all accrued and unpaid
interest thereon for the period beginning on the Issue Date and ending on the date of payment of the Default Amount (the "MANDATORY PREPAYMENT DATE"), PLUS
(y) Default Interest, if any, on the amounts referred to in clauses (w) and/or
(x), PLUS (z) any amounts owed to the Holder pursuant to Sections 1.3 and 1.4(e) hereof or pursuant to Section 2(b) of the Registration Rights Agreement (the then outstanding principal amount of this Debenture to the date of payment PLUS the amounts referred to in clauses (x), (y) and (z) shall collectively be known as the "DEFAULT SUM"), or (ii) the "parity value" of the Default Sum to be prepaid, where parity value means (a) the highest number of shares of Common Stock issuable upon conversion of such Default Sum in accordance with Article I (without giving any effect to any limitation on conversion of the Debenture contained herein,) MULTIPLIED BY (b) the highest Closing Price for the Common Stock during the period beginning on the date of first occurrence of the Event of Default and ending one day prior to the Mandatory Prepayment Date (the greater of such amounts being referred to herein as the "DEFAULT AMOUNT"). The Default Amount, together with all other amounts payable hereunder, shall immediately become due and payable, all without demand, presentment or notice, all of which hereby are expressly waived, together with all costs, including, without limitation, legal fees and expenses, of collection, and the Holder shall be entitled to exercise all other rights and remedies available at law or in equity.

     If the Borrower fails to pay the Default Amount within five (5) business days of written notice that such amount is due and payable, then the Holder shall have the right at any time, so long as the Borrower remains in default (and so long and to the extent that there are sufficient authorized shares), to require the Borrower, upon written notice, to immediately issue, in lieu of the Default Amount, the number of shares of Common Stock of the Borrower equal to the Default Amount divided by the Conversion Price then in effect.

                            ARTICLE IV. MISCELLANEOUS

     4.1 FAILURE OR INDULGENCE NOT WAIVER. No failure or delay on the part of the Holder in the exercise of any power, right or privilege hereunder shall operate as a waiver thereof, nor shall any single or partial exercise of any such power, right or privilege preclude other or further exercise thereof or of any other right, power or privileges. All rights and remedies existing hereunder are cumulative to, and not exclusive of, any rights or remedies otherwise available.

     4.2 NOTICES. Any notice herein required or permitted to be given shall be in writing and may be personally served or delivered by courier or sent by United States mail and shall be deemed to have been given upon receipt if personally served (which shall include telephone line facsimile transmission) or sent by courier or three (3) days after being deposited in the United States mail, certified, with postage pre-paid and properly addressed, if sent by mail. For the purposes hereof, the address of the Holder shall be as shown on the records of the Borrower; and the address of the Borrower shall be 900 West Valley Road, Suite 1000, Wayne, Pennsylvania 19087, facsimile number 610-293-3910. Both the Holder and the Borrower may change the address for service by service of written notice to the other as herein provided.

     4.3 AMENDMENTS. This Debenture and any provision hereof may only be amended by an instrument in writing signed by the Borrower and the Holder. The term "Debenture" and all reference thereto, as used throughout this instrument, shall mean this instrument (and the other Debentures issued pursuant to the Purchase Agreement) as originally executed, or if later amended or supplemented, then as so amended or supplemented.

     4.4 ASSIGNABILITY. This Debenture shall be binding upon the Borrower and its successors and assigns, and shall inure to be the benefit of the Holder and its successors and assigns.

     4.5 COST OF COLLECTION. If default is made in the payment of this Debenture, the Borrower shall pay the Holder hereof costs of collection, including reasonable attorneys' fees.

     4.6 GOVERNING LAW. This Debenture shall be governed by the internal laws of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, without regard to the principles of conflict of laws.

     4.7 CERTAIN AMOUNTS. Whenever pursuant to this Debenture the Borrower is required to pay an amount in excess of the outstanding principal amount (or the portion thereof required to be paid at that time) plus accrued and unpaid interest plus Default Interest on such interest, the Borrower and the Holder agree that the actual damages to the Holder from the receipt of cash payment on this Debenture may be difficult to determine and the amount to be so paid by the Borrower represents stipulated damages and not a penalty and is intended to compensate the Holder in part for loss of the opportunity to convert this Debenture and to earn a return from the sale of shares of Common Stock acquired upon conversion of this Debenture at a price in excess of the price paid for such shares pursuant to this Debenture. The Borrower and the Holder hereby agree that such amount of stipulated damages is not plainly disproportionate to the possible loss to the Holder from the receipt of a cash payment without the opportunity to convert this Debenture into shares of Common Stock.

     4.8 ALLOCATIONS OF MAXIMUM SHARE AMOUNT AND RESERVED AMOUNT. The Maximum Share Amount and Reserved Amount shall be allocated pro rata among the holders of Debentures based on the principal amount of such Debentures issued to each Holder. Each increase to the Maximum Share Amount and Reserved Amount shall be allocated pro rata among the holders of Debentures based on the principal amount of such Debentures held by each Holder at the time of the increase in the Maximum Share Amount or Reserved Amount. In the event a Holder shall sell or otherwise transfer any of such Holder's Debentures, each transferee shall be allocated a pro rata portion of such transferor's Maximum Share Amount and Reserved Amount. Any portion of the Maximum Share Amount or Reserved Amount which remains allocated to any person or entity which does not hold any Debentures shall be allocated to the remaining Holders of Debentures, pro rata based on the principal amount of such Debentures then held by such Holders.

     4.9 DAMAGES SHARES. The shares of Common Stock that may be issuable to the Holder pursuant to Sections 1.3 and 1.4(e) hereof and pursuant to Section 2(b) of the Registration Rights Agreement ("DAMAGES SHARES") shall be treated as Common Stock issuable upon conversion of this Debenture for all purposes hereof and shall be subject to all of the limitations and afforded
all of the rights of the other shares of Common Stock issuable hereunder, including without limitation, the right to be included in the Registration Statement filed pursuant to the Registration Rights Agreement. For purposes of calculating interest payable on the outstanding principal amount hereof, except as otherwise provided herein, amounts convertible into Damages Shares ("DAMAGES AMOUNTS") shall not bear interest but must be converted prior to the conversion of any outstanding principal amount hereof, until the outstanding Damages Amounts is zero.

     4.10 DENOMINATIONS. At the request of the Holder, upon surrender of this Debenture, the Borrower shall promptly issue new Debentures in the aggregate outstanding principal amount hereof, in the form hereof, in such denominations of at least $100,000 as the Holder shall request.

     4.11 PURCHASE AGREEMENT. By its acceptance of this Debenture, each Holder agrees to be bound by the applicable terms of the Purchase Agreement.

     4.12 NOTICE OF CORPORATE EVENTS. Except as otherwise provided below, the Holder of this Debenture shall have no rights as a Holder of Common Stock unless and only to the extent that it converts this Debenture into Common Stock. The Borrower shall provide the Holder with prior notification of any meeting of the Borrower's shareholders (and copies of proxy materials and other information sent to shareholders). In the event of any taking by the Borrower of a record of its shareholders for the purpose of determining shareholders who are entitled to receive payment of any dividend or other distribution, any right to subscribe for, purchase or otherwise acquire (including by way of merger, consolidation, reclassification or recapitalization) any share of any class or any other securities or property, or to receive any other right, or for the purpose of determining shareholders who are entitled to vote in connection with any proposed sale, lease or conveyance of all or substantially all of the assets of the Borrower or any proposed liquidation, dissolution or winding up of the Borrower, the Borrower shall mail a notice to the Holder, at least twenty (20) days prior to the record date specified therein (or thirty (30) days prior to the consummation of the transaction or event, whichever is earlier), of the date on which any such record is to be taken for the purpose of such dividend, distribution, right or other event, and a brief statement regarding the amount and character of such dividend, distribution, right or other event to the extent known at such time. The Borrower shall make a public announcement of any event requiring notification to the Holder hereunder substantially simultaneously with the notification to the Holder in accordance with the terms of this Section 4.12.

     4.13. REMEDIES. The Borrower acknowledges that a breach by it of its obligations hereunder will cause irreparable harm to the Holder, by vitiating the intent and purpose of the transaction contemplated hereby. Accordingly, the Borrower acknowledges that the remedy at law for a breach of its obligations under this Debenture will be inadequate and agrees, in the event of a breach or threatened breach by the Borrower of the provisions of this Debenture, that the Holder shall be entitled, in addition to all other available remedies at law or in equity, to an injunction or injunctions restraining, preventing or curing any breach of this Debenture and to enforce specifically the terms and provisions thereof, without the necessity of showing economic loss and without any bond or other security being required.

          IN WITNESS WHEREOF, Borrower has caused this Debenture to be signed in its name by its duly authorized officer this 11th day of February, 1999.


                                   INFONAUTICS, INC.



                                   By:
                                       -----------------------------------------
                                       David Van Riper Morris
                                       President and Chief Executive Officer

                                                                       EXHIBIT A
                              NOTICE OF CONVERSION
                            OF CONVERTIBLE DEBENTURE

TO:  INFONAUTICS, INC.

          (1) Pursuant to the terms of the attached Convertible Debenture (the "DEBENTURE"), the undersigned hereby elects to convert $ __________ principal amount of the Debenture into shares of Common Stock of Infonautics, Inc. a Pennsylvania corporation (the "BORROWER"). Capitalized terms used herein and not otherwise defined herein have the respective meanings provided in the Debenture.

          (2) The Borrower shall electronically transmit the Common Stock issuable pursuant to this Notice of Conversion to the account of the undersigned or its nominee with DTC through its Deposit Withdrawal Agent Commission system ("DWAC TRANSFER").

          Name of DTC Prime Broker:
                                    ----------------------------
          Account Number:
                          --------------------------------------

/_/       In lieu of receiving shares of Common Stock issuable pursuant to this
          Notice of Conversion by way of a DWAC Transfer, the undersigned hereby requests that the Borrower issue a certificate or certificates for the number of shares of Common Stock set forth above (which numbers are based on the Holder's calculation attached hereto) in the name(s) specified immediately below or, if additional space is necessary, on an attachment hereto:

          Name:
               ---------------------------------------
          Address:
                  ------------------------------------

                  ------------------------------------

          (3) The Holder acknowledges and affirms that the Common Stock issued pursuant to this Notice of Conversion has been or will be sold in accordance with the requirements of the 1933 Act, if applicable, or pursuant to an exemption under the 1933 Act.





Date:
      -----------------------     ----------------------------------------------
                                  Signature of Registered Holder (must be signed
                                  exactly as name appears in the Debenture).

                                                                       EXHIBIT B
                                                                              TO
                                                                      SECURITIES
                                                                        PURCHASE
                                                                       AGREEMENT

     THIS WARRANT AND THE SHARES ISSUABLE UPON THE EXERCISE OF THIS WARRANT HAVE NOT BEEN REGISTERED UNDER THE SECURITIES ACT OF 1933, AS AMENDED. EXCEPT AS OTHERWISE SET FORTH HEREIN OR IN A SECURITIES PURCHASE AGREEMENT DATED AS OF FEBRUARY 11, 1999, NEITHER THIS WARRANT NOR ANY OF SUCH SHARES MAY BE SOLD, OFFERED FOR SALE, ASSIGNED, OR OTHERWISE DISPOSED OF IN THE ABSENCE OF REGISTRATION UNDER SUCH ACT OR AN OPINION OF COUNSEL THAT REGISTRATION IS NOT REQUIRED UNDER SUCH ACT OR UNLESS SOLD PURSUANT TO RULE 144 UNDER SUCH ACT. ANY SUCH SALE, ASSIGNMENT OR TRANSFER MUST ALSO COMPLY WITH APPLICABLE STATE SECURITIES LAWS.

                                                                        Right to
                                                                        Purchase
                                                                         522,449
                                                                       Shares of
                                                                          Common
                                                                   Stock, no par
                                                                       value per
                                                                           share


                             STOCK PURCHASE WARRANT

     THIS CERTIFIES THAT, for value received, RGC INTERNATIONAL INVESTORS, LDC, or its registered assigns, is entitled to purchase from INFONAUTICS, INC., a Pennsylvania corporation (the "Company"), at any time or from time to time during the period specified in Paragraph 2 hereof, Five Hundred Twenty-Two Thousand, Four Hundred Forty-Nine (522,449) fully paid and nonassessable shares of the Company's Class A Common Stock, no par value per share (the "Common Stock"), at an exercise price of $5.97 per share(the "Exercise Price"). The term "Warrant Shares," as used herein, refers to the shares of Common Stock issuable upon exercise of, or otherwise pursuant to, this Warrant. The Warrant Shares and the Exercise Price are subject to adjustment as provided in Paragraph 4 hereof. The term Warrants means this Warrant and the other warrants issued pursuant to that certain Securities Purchase Agreement, dated February 11, 1999, by and among the Company and the Buyers listed on the execution page thereof (the "Securities Purchase Agreement").

     This Warrant is subject to the following terms, provisions, and conditions:

     1. MANNER OF EXERCISE; ISSUANCE OF CERTIFICATES; PAYMENT FOR SHARES. Subject to the provisions hereof, this Warrant may be exercised by the holder hereof, in whole or in part, by the surrender of this Warrant, together with a completed exercise agreement in the form attached hereto (the "Exercise Agreement"), to the Company during normal business hours on any business day at the Company's principal executive offices (or such other office or agency of the Company as it may designate by notice to the holder hereof), and upon (i) payment to the Company in cash, by certified or official bank check or by wire transfer for the account of the Company of the Exercise Price for the Warrant Shares specified in the Exercise Agreement or (ii) if the resale of the Warrant Shares by the holder is not then registered pursuant to an effective registration statement under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the "Securities Act"), delivery to the Company of a written notice of an election to effect a "Cashless Exercise" (as defined in Section 11(c) below) for the Warrant Shares specified in the Exercise Agreement. The Warrant Shares so purchased shall be deemed to be issued to the holder hereof or such holder's designee, as the record owner of such shares, as of the close of business on the date on which this Warrant shall have been surrendered, the completed Exercise Agreement shall have been delivered, and payment shall have been made for such shares as set forth above. Certificates for the Warrant Shares so purchased, representing the aggregate number of shares specified in the Exercise Agreement, shall be delivered to the holder hereof within a reasonable time, not exceeding three (3) business days, after this Warrant shall have been so exercised. The certificates so delivered shall be in such denominations as may be requested by the holder hereof and shall be registered in the name of such holder or, upon payment of any applicable transfer taxes, such other name as shall be designated by such holder. If this Warrant shall have been exercised only in part, then, unless this Warrant has expired, the Company shall, at its expense, at the time of delivery of such certificates, deliver to the holder a new Warrant representing the number of shares with respect to which this Warrant shall not then have been exercised.

          Notwithstanding anything in this Warrant to the contrary, in no event shall the Holder of this Warrant be entitled to exercise a number of Warrants (or portions thereof) in excess of the number of Warrants (or portions thereof) upon exercise of which the sum of (i) the number of shares of Common Stock beneficially owned by the Holder and its affiliates (other than shares of Common Stock which may be deemed beneficially owned through the ownership of the unexercised Warrants and the unexercised or unconverted portion of any other securities of the Company (including the Debentures (as defined in the Securities Purchase Agreement)) subject to a limitation on conversion or exercise analogous to the limitation contained herein) and (ii) the number of shares of Common Stock issuable upon exercise of the Warrants (or portions thereof) with respect to which the determination described herein is being made, would result in beneficial ownership by the Holder and its affiliates of more than 4.99% of the outstanding shares of Common Stock. For purposes of the immediately preceding sentence, beneficial ownership shall be determined in accordance with Section 13(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, and Regulation 13D-G thereunder, except as otherwise provided in clause
(i) of the preceding sentence.

     2. PERIOD OF EXERCISE. This Warrant is exercisable at any time or from time to time on or after the date on which this Warrant is issued and delivered pursuant to the terms of the Securities Purchase Agreement and before 5:00 p.m., New York City time, on the fifth (5th) anniversary of the date of issuance (the "Exercise Period").

     3. CERTAIN AGREEMENTS OF THE COMPANY. The Company hereby covenants and agrees as follows:

          (a) SHARES TO BE FULLY PAID. All Warrant Shares will, upon issuance in accordance with the terms of this Warrant, be validly issued, fully paid, and nonassessable and free from all taxes, liens, and charges with respect to the issue thereof.

          (b) RESERVATION OF SHARES. During the Exercise Period, the Company shall at all times have authorized, and reserved for the purpose of issuance upon exercise of this Warrant, a sufficient number of shares of Common Stock to provide for the exercise of this Warrant.

          (c) LISTING. The Company shall promptly secure the listing of the shares of Common Stock issuable upon exercise of the Warrant upon each national securities exchange or automated quotation system, if any, upon which shares of Common Stock are then listed (subject to official notice of issuance upon exercise of this Warrant) and shall maintain, so long as any other shares of Common Stock shall be so listed, such listing of all shares of Common Stock from time to time issuable upon the exercise of this Warrant; and the Company shall so list on each national securities exchange or automated quotation system, as the case may be, and shall maintain such listing of, any other shares of capital stock of the Company issuable upon the exercise of this Warrant if and so long as any shares of the same class shall be listed on such national securities exchange or automated quotation system.

          (d) CERTAIN ACTIONS PROHIBITED. The Company will not, by amendment of its charter or through any reorganization, transfer of assets, consolidation, merger, dissolution, issue or sale of securities, or any other voluntary action, avoid or seek to avoid the observance or performance of any of the terms to be observed or performed by it hereunder, but will at all times in good faith assist in the carrying out of all the provisions of this Warrant and in the taking of all such action as may reasonably be requested by the holder of this Warrant in order to protect the exercise privilege of the holder of this Warrant against dilution or other impairment, consistent with the tenor and
               purpose of this Warrant. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, the Company (i) will not increase the par value of any shares of Common Stock receivable upon the exercise of this Warrant above the Exercise Price then in effect, and (ii) will take all such actions as may be necessary or appropriate in order that the Company may validly and legally issue fully paid and nonassessable shares of Common Stock upon the exercise of this Warrant.

          (e) SUCCESSORS AND ASSIGNS. This Warrant will be binding upon any entity succeeding to the Company by merger, consolidation, or acquisition of all or substantially all the Company's assets.

     4. ANTIDILUTION PROVISIONS. During the Exercise Period, the Exercise Price and the number of Warrant Shares shall be subject to adjustment from time to time as provided in this Paragraph 4. In the event that any adjustment of the Exercise Price as required herein results in a fraction of a cent, such Exercise Price shall be rounded up to the nearest cent.

          (a) ADJUSTMENT OF EXERCISE PRICE AND NUMBER OF SHARES UPON ISSUANCE OF COMMON STOCK. Except as otherwise provided in Paragraphs 4(c) and 4(e) hereof, if and whenever on or after the date of issuance of this Warrant, the Company issues or sells, or in accordance with Paragraph 4(b) hereof is deemed to have issued or sold, any shares of Common Stock for no consideration or for a consideration per share (before deduction of reasonable expenses or commissions or underwriting discounts or allowances in connection therewith) less than the Market Price (as hereinafter defined) on the date of issuance (or deemed issuance) of such shares of Common Stock (a "Dilutive Issuance"), then immediately upon the Dilutive Issuance, the Exercise Price will be reduced to a price determined by multiplying the Exercise Price in effect immediately prior to the Dilutive Issuance by a fraction, (i) the numerator of which is an amount equal to the sum of (x) the number of shares of Common Stock actually outstanding immediately prior to the Dilutive Issuance, plus (y) the quotient of the aggregate consideration, calculated as set forth in Paragraph 4(b) hereof, received by the Company upon such Dilutive Issuance divided by the Market Price in effect immediately prior to the Dilutive Issuance, and (ii) the denominator of which is the total number of shares of Common Stock Deemed Outstanding (as defined below) immediately after the Dilutive Issuance.

          (b) EFFECT ON EXERCISE PRICE OF CERTAIN EVENTS. For purposes of determining the adjusted Exercise Price under Paragraph 4(a) hereof, the following will be applicable:

               (i) ISSUANCE OF RIGHTS OR OPTIONS. If the Company in any manner issues or grants any warrants, rights or options, whether or not immediately exercisable, to subscribe for or to purchase Common Stock or other securities convertible into or exchangeable for Common Stock ("Convertible Securities") (such warrants, rights and options to purchase Common Stock or Convertible Securities are hereinafter referred to as "Options") and the price per share for which Common Stock is issuable upon the exercise of such Options is less than the Market Price on the date of issuance or grant of such Options, then the maximum total number of shares of Common Stock issuable upon the exercise of all such Options will, as of the date of the issuance or grant of such Options, be deemed to be outstanding and to have been issued and sold by the Company for such price per share. For purposes of the preceding sentence, the "price per share for which Common Stock is issuable upon the exercise of such Options" is determined by dividing (i) the total amount, if any, received or receivable by the Company as consideration for the issuance or granting of all such Options, plus the minimum aggregate amount of additional consideration, if any, payable to the Company upon the exercise of all such Options, plus, in the case of Convertible Securities issuable upon the exercise of such Options, the minimum aggregate amount of additional consideration payable upon the conversion or exchange thereof at the time such Convertible Securities first become convertible or exchangeable, by (ii) the maximum total number of shares of Common Stock issuable upon the exercise of all such Options (assuming full conversion of Convertible Securities, if applicable). No further adjustment to the Exercise Price will be made upon the actual issuance of such Common Stock upon the exercise of such Options or upon the conversion or exchange of Convertible Securities issuable upon exercise of such Options.

               (ii) ISSUANCE OF CONVERTIBLE SECURITIES. If the Company in any
                    manner issues or sells any Convertible Securities, whether or not immediately
                    convertible (other than where the same are issuable upon the exercise of Options), and the price per share for which Common Stock is issuable upon such conversion or exchange is less than the Market Price on the date of issuance of the Convertible Securities, then the maximum total number of shares of Common Stock issuable upon the conversion or exchange of all such Convertible Securities will, as of the date of the issuance of such Convertible Securities, be deemed to be outstanding and to have been issued and sold by the Company for such price per share. For the purposes of the preceding sentence, the "price per share for which Common Stock is issuable upon such conversion or exchange" is determined by dividing (i) the total amount, if any, received or receivable by the Company as consideration for the issuance or sale of all such Convertible Securities, plus the minimum aggregate amount of additional consideration, if any, payable to the Company upon the conversion or exchange thereof at the time such Convertible Securities first become convertible or exchangeable, by (ii) the maximum total number of shares of Common Stock issuable upon the conversion or exchange of all such Convertible Securities. No further adjustment to the Exercise Price will be made upon the actual issuance of such Common Stock upon conversion or exchange of such Convertible Securities.

               (iii) CHANGE IN OPTION PRICE OR CONVERSION RATE. If there is a
                    change at any time in (i) the amount of additional consideration payable to the Company upon the exercise of any Options; (ii) the amount of additional consideration, if any, payable to the Company upon the conversion or exchange of any Convertible Securities; or (iii) the rate at which any Convertible Securities are convertible into or exchangeable for Common Stock (other than under or by reason of provisions designed to protect against dilution), the Exercise Price in effect at the time of such change will be readjusted to the Exercise Price which would have been in effect at such time had such Options or Convertible Securities still outstanding provided for such changed additional
                    consideration or changed conversion rate, as the case may be, at the time initially granted, issued or sold.

               (iv) TREATMENT OF EXPIRED OPTIONS AND UNEXERCISED CONVERTIBLE
                    SECURITIES. If, in any case, the total number of shares of Common Stock issuable upon exercise of any Option or upon conversion or exchange of any Convertible Securities is not, in fact, issued and the rights to exercise such Option or to convert or exchange such Convertible Securities shall have expired or terminated, the Exercise Price then in effect will be readjusted to the Exercise Price which would have been in effect at the time of such expiration or termination had such Option or Convertible Securities, to the extent outstanding immediately prior to such expiration or termination (other than in respect of the actual number of shares of Common Stock issued upon exercise or conversion thereof), never been issued.

               (v) CALCULATION OF CONSIDERATION RECEIVED. If any Common Stock, Options or Convertible Securities are issued, granted or sold for cash, the consideration received therefor for purposes of this Warrant will be the amount received by the Company therefor, before deduction of reasonable commissions, underwriting discounts or allowances or other reasonable expenses paid or incurred by the Company in connection with such issuance, grant or sale. In case any Common Stock, Options or Convertible Securities are issued or sold for a consideration part or all of which shall be other than cash, the amount of the consideration other than cash received by the Company will be the fair value of such consideration, except where such consideration consists of securities, in which case the amount of consideration received by the Company will be the Market Price thereof as of the date of receipt. In case any Common Stock, Options or Convertible Securities are issued in connection with any acquisition, merger or consolidation in which the Company is the surviving corporation, the amount of consideration therefor will
                    be deemed to be the fair value of such portion of the net assets and business of the non-surviving corporation as is attributable to such Common Stock, Options or Convertible Securities, as the case may be. The fair value of any consideration other than cash or securities will be determined in good faith by the Board of Directors of the Company.

               (vi) EXCEPTIONS TO ADJUSTMENT OF EXERCISE PRICE. No adjustment to
                    the Exercise Price will be made (i) upon the exercise of any warrants, options or convertible securities granted, issued and outstanding on the date of issuance of this Warrant;
                    (ii) upon the grant or exercise of any stock or options which may hereafter be granted or exercised under any employee benefit plan of the Company now existing or to be implemented in the future, so long as the issuance of such stock or options is approved by a majority of the independent members of the Board of Directors of the Company or a majority of the members of a committee of independent directors established for such purpose; or (iii) upon the exercise of the Warrants.

          (c) SUBDIVISION OR COMBINATION OF COMMON STOCK. If the Company at any time subdivides (by any stock split, stock dividend, recapitalization, reorganization, reclassification or otherwise) the shares of Common Stock acquirable hereunder into a greater number of shares, then, after the date of record for effecting such subdivision, the Exercise Price in effect immediately prior to such subdivision will be proportionately reduced. If the Company at any time combines (by reverse stock split, recapitalization, reorganization, reclassification or otherwise) the shares of Common Stock acquirable hereunder into a smaller number of shares, then, after the date of record for effecting such combination, the Exercise Price in effect immediately prior to such combination will be proportionately increased.

          (d) ADJUSTMENT IN NUMBER OF SHARES. Upon each adjustment of the Exercise Price pursuant to the provisions of this Paragraph 4, the number of shares of Common Stock issuable upon exercise of this Warrant shall be adjusted by multiplying a number equal to the Exercise Price in effect immediately prior to such adjustment by the number of shares of Common Stock issuable upon exercise of this

               Warrant immediately prior to such adjustment and dividing the product so obtained by the adjusted Exercise Price.

          (e) CONSOLIDATION, MERGER OR SALE. In case of any consolidation of the Company with, or merger of the Company into any other corporation, or in case of any sale or conveyance of all or substantially all of the assets of the Company other than in connection with a plan of complete liquidation of the Company, then as a condition of such consolidation, merger or sale or conveyance, adequate provision will be made whereby the holder of this Warrant will have the right to acquire and receive upon exercise of this Warrant in lieu of the shares of Common Stock immediately theretofore acquirable upon the exercise of this Warrant, such shares of stock, securities or assets as may be issued or payable with respect to or in exchange for the number of shares of Common Stock immediately theretofore acquirable and receivable upon exercise of this Warrant had such consolidation, merger or sale or conveyance not taken place. In any such case, the Company will make appropriate provision to insure that the provisions of this Paragraph 4 hereof will thereafter be applicable as nearly as may be in relation to any shares of stock or securities thereafter deliverable upon the exercise of this Warrant. The Company will not effect any consolidation, merger or sale or conveyance unless prior to the consummation thereof, the successor corporation (if other than the Company) assumes by written instrument the obligations under this Paragraph 4 and the obligations to deliver to the holder of this Warrant such shares of stock, securities or assets as, in accordance with the foregoing provisions, the holder may be entitled to acquire.

          (f) DISTRIBUTION OF ASSETS. In case the Company shall declare or make any distribution of its assets (including cash) to holders of Common Stock as a partial liquidating dividend, by way of return of capital or otherwise, then, after the date of record for determining stockholders entitled to such distribution, but prior to the date of distribution, the holder of this Warrant shall be entitled upon exercise of this Warrant for the purchase of any or all of the shares of Common Stock subject hereto, to receive the amount of such assets which would have been payable to the holder had such holder been the holder of such shares of Common Stock on the record date for the determination of stockholders entitled to such distribution.

          (g) NOTICE OF ADJUSTMENT. Upon the occurrence of any event which requires any adjustment of the Exercise Price, then, and in each such case, the Company shall give notice thereof to the holder of this

               Warrant, which notice shall state the Exercise Price resulting from such adjustment and the increase or decrease in the number of Warrant Shares purchasable at such price upon exercise, setting forth in reasonable detail the method of calculation and the facts upon which such calculation is based. Such calculation shall be certified by the chief financial officer of the Company.

          (h) MINIMUM ADJUSTMENT OF EXERCISE PRICE. No adjustment of the Exercise Price shall be made in an amount of less than 1% of the Exercise Price in effect at the time such adjustment is otherwise required to be made, but any such lesser adjustment shall be carried forward and shall be made at the time and together with the next subsequent adjustment which, together with any adjustments so carried forward, shall amount to not less than 1% of such Exercise Price.

          (i) NO FRACTIONAL SHARES. No fractional shares of Common Stock are to be issued upon the exercise of this Warrant, but the Company shall pay a cash adjustment in respect of any fractional share which would otherwise be issuable in an amount equal to the same fraction of the Market Price of a share of Common Stock on the date of such exercise.

          (j)  OTHER NOTICES. In case at any time:

               (i) the Company shall declare any dividend upon the Common Stock payable in shares of stock of any class or make any other distribution (including dividends or distributions payable in cash out of retained earnings) to the holders of the Common Stock;

               (ii) the Company shall offer for subscription pro rata to the
                    holders of the Common Stock any additional shares of stock of any class or other rights;

               (iii) there shall be any capital reorganization of the Company,
                    or reclassification of the Common Stock, or consolidation or merger of the Company with or into, or sale of all or substantially all its assets to, another corporation or entity; or

               (iv) there shall be a voluntary or involuntary dissolution,
                    liquidation or winding-up of the Company;

then, in each such case, the Company shall give to the holder of this Warrant
(a) notice of the date on which the books of the Company shall close or a record shall be taken for determining the holders of Common Stock entitled to receive any such dividend, distribution, or subscription rights or for determining the holders of Common Stock entitled to vote in respect of any such reorganization, reclassification, consolidation, merger, sale, dissolution, liquidation or winding-up and (b) in the case of any such reorganization, reclassification, consolidation, merger, sale, dissolution, liquidation or winding-up, notice of the date (or, if not then known, a reasonable approximation thereof by the Company) when the same shall take place. Such notice shall also specify the date on which the holders of Common Stock shall be entitled to receive such dividend, distribution, or subscription rights or to exchange their Common Stock for stock or other securities or property deliverable upon such reorganization, reclassification, consolidation, merger, sale, dissolution, liquidation, or winding-up, as the case may be. Such notice shall be given at least 30 days prior to the record date or the date on which the Company's books are closed in respect thereto. Failure to give any such notice or any defect therein shall not affect the validity of the proceedings referred to in clauses (i), (ii), (iii) and (iv) above.

          (k) CERTAIN EVENTS. If any event occurs of the type contemplated by the adjustment provisions of this Paragraph 4 but not expressly provided for by such provisions, the Company will give notice of such event as provided in Paragraph 4(g) hereof, and the Company's Board of Directors will make an appropriate adjustment in the Exercise Price and the number of shares of Common Stock acquirable upon exercise of this Warrant so that the rights of the Holder shall be neither enhanced nor diminished by such event.

          (l)  CERTAIN DEFINITIONS.

               (i) "COMMON STOCK DEEMED OUTSTANDING" shall mean the number of shares of Common Stock actually outstanding (not including shares of Common Stock held in the treasury of the Company), plus (x) pursuant to Paragraph 4(b)(i) hereof, the maximum total number of shares of Common Stock issuable upon the exercise of Options, as of the date of such issuance or grant of such Options, if any, and (y) pursuant to Paragraph 4(b)(ii) hereof, the maximum total number of shares of Common Stock issuable upon conversion or exchange of Convertible Securities, as of the date of issuance of such Convertible Securities, if any.

               (ii) "MARKET PRICE," as of any date, (i) means the average of the
                    last reported sale prices for the shares of Common Stock on the Nasdaq SmallCap Market ("Nasdaq") for the five (5) trading days immediately preceding such date as reported by Bloomberg, L.P. ("Bloomberg"), or (ii) if Nasdaq is not the principal trading market for the shares of Common Stock, the average of the last reported sale prices on the principal trading market for the Common Stock during the same period as reported by Bloomberg, or (iii) if market value cannot be calculated as of such date on any of the foregoing bases, the Market Price shall be the fair market value as reasonably determined in good faith by (a) the Board of Directors of the Corporation or, at the option of a majority-in-interest of the holders of the outstanding Warrants by (b) an independent investment bank of nationally recognized standing in the valuation of businesses similar to the business of the corporation. The manner of determining the Market Price of the Common Stock set forth in the foregoing definition shall apply with respect to any other security in respect of which a determination as to market value must be made hereunder.

               (iii) "COMMON STOCK," for purposes of this Paragraph 4, includes
                    the Class A Common Stock, no par value per share, and any additional class of stock of the Company having no preference as to dividends or distributions on liquidation, provided that the shares purchasable pursuant to this Warrant shall include only shares of Common Stock, no par value per share, in respect of which this Warrant is exercisable, or shares resulting from any subdivision or combination of such Common Stock, or in the case of any reorganization, reclassification, consolidation, merger, or sale of the character referred to in Paragraph 4(e) hereof, the stock or other securities or property provided for in such Paragraph.

     5. ISSUE TAX. The issuance of certificates for Warrant Shares upon the exercise of this Warrant shall be made without charge to the holder of this Warrant or such shares for any issuance tax or other costs in respect thereof, provided that the Company shall not be required to pay
any tax which may be payable in respect of any transfer involved in the issuance and delivery of any certificate in a name other than the holder of this Warrant.

     6. NO RIGHTS OR LIABILITIES AS A SHAREHOLDER. This Warrant shall not entitle the holder hereof to any voting rights or other rights as a shareholder of the Company. No provision of this Warrant, in the absence of affirmative action by the holder hereof to purchase Warrant Shares, and no mere enumeration herein of the rights or privileges of the holder hereof, shall give rise to any liability of such holder for the Exercise Price or as a shareholder of the Company, whether such liability is asserted by the Company or by creditors of the Company.

     7.   TRANSFER, EXCHANGE, AND REPLACEMENT OF WARRANT.

          (a) RESTRICTION ON TRANSFER. This Warrant and the rights granted to the holder hereof are transferable, in whole or in part, upon surrender of this Warrant, together with a properly executed assignment in the form attached hereto, at the office or agency of the Company referred to in Paragraph 7(e) below, provided, however, that any transfer or assignment shall be subject to the conditions set forth in Paragraph 7(f) hereof and to the applicable provisions of the Securities Purchase Agreement. Until due presentment for registration of transfer on the books of the Company, the Company may treat the registered holder hereof as the owner and holder hereof for all purposes, and the Company shall not be affected by any notice to the contrary. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained herein, the registration rights described in Paragraph 8 are assignable only in accordance with the provisions of that certain Registration Rights Agreement, dated as of February 11, 1999, by and among the Company and the other signatories thereto (the "Registration Rights Agreement").

          (b) WARRANT EXCHANGEABLE FOR DIFFERENT DENOMINATIONS. This Warrant is exchangeable, upon the surrender hereof by the holder hereof at the office or agency of the Company referred to in Paragraph 7(e) below, for new Warrants of like tenor representing in the aggregate the right to purchase the number of shares of Common Stock which may be purchased hereunder, each of such new Warrants to represent the right to purchase such number of shares as shall be designated by the holder hereof at the time of such surrender.

          (c) REPLACEMENT OF WARRANT. Upon receipt of evidence reasonably satisfactory to the Company of the loss, theft, destruction, or mutilation of this Warrant and, in the case of any such loss, theft, or destruction, upon delivery of an indemnity agreement reasonably satisfactory in form and amount to the Company, or, in the case of
               any such mutilation, upon surrender and cancellation of this Warrant, the Company, at its expense, will execute and deliver, in lieu thereof, a new Warrant of like tenor.

          (d) CANCELLATION; PAYMENT OF EXPENSES. Upon the surrender of this Warrant in connection with any transfer, exchange, or replacement as provided in this Paragraph 7, this Warrant shall be promptly canceled by the Company. The Company shall pay all taxes (other than securities transfer taxes) and all other expenses (other than legal expenses, if any, incurred by the Holder or transferees) and charges payable in connection with the preparation, execution, and delivery of Warrants pursuant to this Paragraph 7.

          (e) REGISTER. The Company shall maintain, at its principal executive offices (or such other office or agency of the Company as it may designate by notice to the holder hereof), a register for this Warrant, in which the Company shall record the name and address of the person in whose name this Warrant has been issued, as well as the name and address of each transferee and each prior owner of this Warrant.

          (f) EXERCISE OR TRANSFER WITHOUT REGISTRATION. If, at the time of the surrender of this Warrant in connection with any exercise, transfer, or exchange of this Warrant, this Warrant (or, in the case of any exercise, the Warrant Shares issuable hereunder), shall not be registered under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the "Securities Act"), and under applicable state securities or blue sky laws, the Company may require, as a condition of allowing such exer cise, transfer, or exchange, (i) that the holder or transferee of this Warrant, as the case may be, furnish to the Company a written opinion of counsel, which opinion and counsel are acceptable to the Company, to the effect that such exercise, transfer, or exchange may be made without registration under said Act and under applicable state securities or blue sky laws, (ii) that the holder or transferee execute and deliver to the Company an investment letter in form and substance acceptable to the Company and (iii) that the transferee be an "accredited investor" as defined in Rule 501(a) promulgated under the Securities Act; provided that no such opinion, letter or status as an "accredited investor" shall be required in connection with a transfer pursuant to Rule 144 under the Securities Act. The first holder of this Warrant, by taking and holding the same, represents to the Company that such holder is acquiring this Warrant for investment and not with a view to the distribution thereof.

     8. REGISTRATION RIGHTS. The initial holder of this Warrant (and certain assignees thereof) is entitled to the benefit of such registration rights in respect of the Warrant Shares as are set forth in the Registration Rights Agreement.

     9. NOTICES. All notices, requests, and other communications required or permitted to be given or delivered hereunder to the holder of this Warrant shall be in writing, and shall be personally delivered, or shall be sent by certified or registered mail or by recognized overnight mail courier, postage prepaid and addressed, to such holder at the address shown for such holder on the books of the Company, or at such other address as shall have been furnished to the Company by notice from such holder. All notices, requests, and other communications required or permitted to be given or delivered hereunder to the Company shall be in writing, and shall be per sonally delivered, or shall be sent by certified or registered mail or by recognized overnight mail courier, postage prepaid and addressed, to the office of the Company at 900 West Valley Road, Suite 400, Wayne, Pennsylvania 19087, Attention: President and Chief Executive Officer, or at such other address as shall have been furnished to the holder of this Warrant by notice from the Company. Any such notice, request, or other communication may be sent by facsimile, but shall in such case be subsequently confirmed by a writing personally delivered or sent by certified or registered mail or by recognized overnight mail courier as provided above. All notices, requests, and other communications shall be deemed to have been given either at the time of the receipt thereof by the person entitled to receive such notice at the address of such person for purposes of this Paragraph 9, or, if mailed by registered or certified mail or with a recognized overnight mail courier upon deposit with the United States Post Office or such overnight mail courier, if postage is prepaid and the mailing is properly addressed, as the case may be.

     10. GOVERNING LAW. THIS WARRANT SHALL BE GOVERNED BY AND CONSTRUED AND ENFORCED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE INTERNAL LAWS OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA WITHOUT REGARD TO THE BODY OF LAW CONTROLLING CONFLICTS OF LAW.

     11.  MISCELLANEOUS.

          (a) AMENDMENTS. This Warrant and any provision hereof may only be amended by an instrument in writing signed by the Company and the holder hereof.

          (b) DESCRIPTIVE HEADINGS. The descriptive headings of the several paragraphs of this Warrant are inserted for purposes of reference only, and shall not affect the meaning or construction of any of the provisions hereof.

          (c) CASHLESS EXERCISE. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained in this Warrant, if the resale of the Warrant Shares by the holder is not then registered pursuant to an effective registration statement under the Securities Act, this Warrant may be exercised by
               presentation and surrender of this Warrant to the Company at its principal executive offices with a written notice of the holder's intention to effect a cashless exercise, including a calculation of the number of shares of Common Stock to be issued upon such exercise in accordance with the terms hereof (a "Cashless Exercise"). In the event of a Cashless Exercise, in lieu of paying the Exercise Price in cash, the holder shall surrender this Warrant for that number of shares of Common Stock determined by multiplying the number of Warrant Shares to which it would otherwise be entitled by a fraction, the numerator of which shall be the difference between the then current Market Price per share of the Common Stock and the Exercise Price, and the denominator of which shall be the then current Market Price per share of Common Stock.

          (d) REMEDIES. The Company acknowledges that a breach by it of its obligation hereunder will cause irreparable harm to the holder hereof, by vitiating the intent and purpose of the transactions contemplated hereby. Accordingly, the Company acknowledges that the remedy at law for a breach of its obligations under this Warrant will be inadequate and agrees, in the event of a breach or threatened breach by the Company of the provisions hereunder, that the holder shall be entitled, in addition to all other available remedies at law or in equity, to an injunction or injunctions restraining, preventing or curing any breach of this Warrant and to enforce specifically the terms and provisions hereof, without the necessity of showing economic loss and without any bond or other security being required.



                  [REMAINDER OF PAGE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK]

          IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Company has caused this Warrant to be signed by its duly authorized officer.

                                   INFONAUTICS, INC.



                                   By:
                                       --------------------------------------
                                       David Van Riper Morris
                                       President and Chief Executive Officer


                                   Dated as of February 11, 1999

                           FORM OF EXERCISE AGREEMENT


                                                        Dated: ________ __, 1999


To:       Infonautics, Inc.


          The undersigned, pursuant to the provisions set forth in the within Warrant, hereby agrees to purchase ________ shares of Common Stock covered by such Warrant, and makes payment herewith in full therefor at the price per share provided by such Warrant in cash or by certified or official bank check in the amount of, or, if the resale of such Common Stock by the undersigned is not currently registered pursuant to an effective registration statement under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, by surrender of securities issued by the Company (including a portion of the Warrant) having a market value (in the case of a portion of this Warrant, determined in accordance with Section 11(c) of the Warrant) equal to $_________. Please issue a certificate or certificates for such shares of Common Stock in the name of and pay any cash for any fractional share to:


                              Name:
                                        ---------------------------------------

                              Signature:
                                        ---------------------------------------
                              Address:
                                        ---------------------------------------

                                        ---------------------------------------

                                        ---------------------------------------

                              Note:       The above signature should
                                          correspond exactly with the name on
                                          the face of the within Warrant.

and, if said number of shares of Common Stock shall not be all the shares purchasable under the within Warrant, a new Warrant is to be issued in the name of said undersigned covering the balance of the shares purchasable thereunder less any fraction of a share paid in cash.

                               FORM OF ASSIGNMENT


          FOR VALUE RECEIVED, the undersigned hereby sells, assigns, and transfers all the rights of the undersigned under the within Warrant, with respect to the number of shares of Common Stock covered thereby set forth below, to:

NAME OF ASSIGNEE                   ADDRESS                       NO OF SHARES



, and hereby irrevocably constitutes and appoints
___________________________________ as agent and attorney-in-fact to transfer
said Warrant on the books of the within-named corporation, with full power of substitution in the premises.


Dated:   ________ __, 1999


In the presence of:



----------------------------------



                              Name:
                                        ---------------------------------------

                              Signature:
                                        ---------------------------------------
                              Title of Signing Officer or Agent (if any):

                                        ---------------------------------------
                              Address:
                                        ---------------------------------------

                                        ---------------------------------------

                                   Note:  The above signature should
                                          correspond exactly with the name on
                                          the face of the within Warrant.

                                                                       EXHIBIT C
                                                                              TO
                                                                      SECURITIES
                                                                        PURCHASE
                                                                       AGREEMENT

                                           REGISTRATION RIGHTS AGREEMENT

     REGISTRATION RIGHTS AGREEMENT (this "AGREEMENT"), dated as of February 11, 1999, by and among Infonautics, Inc., a Pennsylvania corporation, with its headquarters located at 900 West Valley Road, Suite 400, Wayne, Pennsylvania 19087 (the "COMPANY"), and RGC International Investors, LDC (together with its affiliates and any assignee or transferee of all of its rights hereunder, the "INITIAL INVESTORS").

     WHEREAS:

     A. In connection with the Securities Purchase Agreement by and among the parties hereto of even date herewith (the "SECURITIES PURCHASE AGREEMENT"), the Company has agreed, upon the terms and subject to the conditions contained therein, to issue and sell to the Initial Investors (i) an aggregate of Three Million Dollars ($3,000,000) of convertible debentures (the "DEBENTURES") that are convertible into shares of the Company's Class A Common Stock, no par value per share (the "COMMON STOCK"), upon the terms and subject to the limitations and conditions set forth in such Debentures and (ii) warrants (the "WARRANTS") to acquire 522,449 shares of Common Stock, upon the terms and conditions and subject to the limitations and conditions set forth in the Warrants dated February 11, 1999; and

     B. To induce the Initial Investors to execute and deliver the Securities Purchase Agreement, the Company has agreed to provide certain registration rights under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, and the rules and regulations thereunder, or any similar successor statute (collectively, the "1933 ACT"), and applicable state securities laws;

     NOW, THEREFORE, in consideration of the premises and the mutual covenants contained herein and other good and valuable consideration, the receipt and sufficiency of which are hereby acknowledged, the Company and each of the Initial Investors hereby agree as follows:

     1.   DEFINITIONS.

          a. As used in this Agreement, the following terms shall have the following meanings:

               (i) "INVESTORS" means the Initial Investors and any transferee or assignee who agrees to become bound by the provisions of this Agreement in accordance with Section 9 hereof.

               (ii) "REGISTER," "REGISTERED," and "REGISTRATION" refer to a registration effected by preparing and filing a Registration Statement or Statements in compliance with the 1933 Act and pursuant to Rule 415 under the 1933 Act or any successor rule providing for offering securities on a continuous basis ("RULE 415"), and the declaration or ordering of effectiveness of such Registration Statement by the United States Securities and Exchange Commission (the "SEC").

               (iii) "REGISTRABLE SECURITIES" means: (a) the Conversion Shares issued or issuable upon conversion of or otherwise pursuant to the Debentures (including, without limitation, Damage Shares (as defined in the Debenture) issued or issuable and shares of Common Stock issued or issuable in respect of interest or in redemption of the Debentures in accordance with the terms thereof); (B) the Warrant Shares issued or issuable upon exercise of or otherwise pursuant to the Warrants; and (C) any shares of capital stock issued or issuable as a dividend on or in exchange for or otherwise with respect to any of the foregoing.

               (iv) "REGISTRATION STATEMENT" means a registration statement of the Company under the 1933 Act.

          b. Capitalized terms used herein and not otherwise defined herein shall have the respective meanings set forth in the Securities Purchase Agreement.


     2.   REGISTRATION.

          a. MANDATORY REGISTRATION. The Company shall prepare, and, on or prior to March 31, 1999, file with the SEC a Registration Statement on Form S-3 (or, if Form S-3 is not then available, on such form of Registration Statement as is then available to effect a registration of the Registrable Securities, subject to the consent of the Initial Investors, which consent will not be unreasonably withheld) and pursuant to Rule 415 covering the resale from time to time by the holders thereof of the Registrable Securities underlying the Debentures and Warrants issued or issuable pursuant to the Securities Purchase Agreement, which Registration Statement, to the extent allowable under the 1933 Act and the rules and regulations promulgated thereunder (including Rule 416), shall state, to the extent permitted by the law and the SEC, that such Registration Statement also covers such indeterminate number of additional shares of Common Stock as may become issuable upon conversion of or otherwise pursuant to the Debentures and upon exercise of or otherwise pursuant to the Warrants (i) to prevent dilution resulting from stock splits, stock dividends
and similar transactions or (ii) by reason of changes in the Conversion Price of the Debentures in accordance with the terms thereof or the exercise price of the Warrants in accordance with the terms thereof. The number of shares of Common Stock initially included in such Registration Statement shall be no less than
1.25 times the sum of (x) the number of Conversion Shares that are then issuable upon conversion of or otherwise pursuant to the Debentures and (y) the number of Warrant Shares that are then issuable upon exercise of or otherwise pursuant to the Warrants, without regard to any limitation on the Investor's ability to convert the Debentures or exercise the Warrants. The Company acknowledges that the number of shares initially included in the Registration Statement represents a good faith estimate of the maximum number of shares issuable upon conversion of or otherwise pursuant to the Debentures and upon exercise of or otherwise pursuant to the Warrants.

          b. PAYMENTS BY THE COMPANY. The Company shall use its best efforts to obtain effectiveness of the Registration Statement as soon as practicable but in any event within one hundred twenty (120) days after the date of closing (the "CLOSING DATE") under the Securities Purchase Agreement (the "REGISTRATION DEADLINE"). If (i) the Registration Statement(s) covering the Registrable Securities required to be filed by the Company pursuant to Section 2(a) hereof is not declared effective by the SEC on or before the Registration Deadline or
(ii) after the Registration Statement has been declared effective by the SEC, sales of all of the Registrable Securities cannot be made pursuant to the Registration Statement, or (iii) the Common Stock is not listed or included for quotation on the Nasdaq SmallCap Market ("NASDAQ"), the Nasdaq National Market ("NASDAQ NMS"), the New York Stock Exchange (the "NYSE") or the American Stock Exchange (the "AMEX") after being so listed or included for quotation, then the Company will make payments to the Investors in such amounts and at such times as shall be determined pursuant to this Section 2(b) as partial relief for the damages to the Investors by reason of any such delay in or reduction of their ability to sell the Registrable Securities (which remedy shall not be exclusive of any other remedies available at law or in equity). The Company shall pay to each holder of the Debentures or Registrable Securities an amount equal to the then outstanding principal amount of the Debentures (and, in the case of holders of Registrable Securities, the principal amount of Debentures from which such Registrable Securities were converted) ("OUTSTANDING PRINCIPAL AMOUNT"), multiplied by the Applicable Percentage (as defined below), times the sum of:
(i) the number of months (prorated for partial months) after the Registration Deadline and prior to the date such Registration Statement is declared effective by the SEC, provided, however, that there shall be excluded from such period any delays which are solely attributable to changes required in any Registration Statement with respect to information relating to the Investors, including, without limitation, changes to the plan of distribution, or to the failure of the Investors to conduct their review of any such Registration Statement pursuant to Section 3(h) below in a reasonably prompt manner or other matters relating to the Investors or their manner of sale; (ii) the number of months (prorated for partial months) that sales of all of the Registrable Securities cannot be made pursuant to any such Registration Statement after the Registration Statement has been declared effective (including, without limitation, when sales cannot be made by reason of the Company's failure to properly supplement or amend the prospectus included therein in accordance with the terms of this Agreement, but excluding Allowed Delays (as defined in Section 3(e)); and (iii) the number of months (prorated for partial months) that the Common Stock is not listed or included for quotation on the Nasdaq, Nasdaq NMS, NYSE or AMEX or that trading thereon is halted after any such Registration Statement has been declared
effective. The term "APPLICABLE PERCENTAGE" means two hundredths (.02). (For example, if the Registration Statement becomes effective one (1) month after the Registration Deadline, the Company would pay $20,000 for each $1,000,000 of Outstanding Principal Amount. If thereafter, sales could not be made pursuant to the Registration Statement for an additional period of one (1) month, the Company would pay an additional $20,000 for each $1,000,000 of Outstanding Principal Amount.) Such amounts shall be paid in cash or, at each Investor's option, may be added to the principal amount of the Debentures and thereafter be convertible into Common Stock at the "CONVERSION PRICE" (as defined in the Debentures) in accordance with the terms of the Debentures. Any shares of Common Stock issued upon conversion of such amounts shall be Registrable Securities. If the Investor desires to convert the amounts due hereunder into Registrable Securities, it shall so notify the Company in writing within two (2) business days of the date on which such amounts are first payable in cash and such amounts shall be so convertible (pursuant to the mechanics set forth under
Article I of the Debentures), beginning on the last day upon which the cash amount would otherwise be due in accordance with the following sentence. Payments of cash pursuant hereto shall be made within five (5) business days after the end of each period that gives rise to such obligation, provided that, if any such period extends for more than thirty (30) days, interim payments shall be made for each such thirty (30) day period.

          c. PIGGY-BACK REGISTRATIONS. Subject to the last sentence of this
Section 2(c), if at any time prior to the expiration of the Registration Period (as hereinafter defined), the Company shall file with the SEC a Registration Statement relating to an offering for its own account or the account of others under the 1933 Act of any of its equity securities (other than on Form S-4 or Form S-8 or their then equivalents relating to equity securities to be issued solely in connection with any acquisition of any entity or business or equity securities issuable in connection with stock option or other employee benefit plans), the Company shall send to each Investor who is entitled to registration rights under this Section 2(c) written notice of such determination and, if within fifteen (15) days after the effective date of such notice, such Investor shall so request in writing, the Company shall include in such Registration Statement all or any part of the Registrable Securities such Investor requests to be registered, except that if, in connection with any underwritten public offering for the account of the Company the managing underwriter(s) thereof shall impose a limitation on the number of shares of Common Stock which may be included in the Registration Statement because, in such underwriter(s)' judgment, marketing or other factors dictate such limitation is necessary to facilitate public distribution, then the Company shall be obligated to include in such Registration Statement only such limited portion of the Registrable Securities with respect to which such Investor has requested inclusion hereunder as the underwriter shall permit. Any exclusion of Registrable Securities shall be made pro rata among the Investors seeking to include Registrable Securities in proportion to the number of Registrable Securities sought to be included by such Investors; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that the Company shall not exclude any Registrable Securities unless the Company has first excluded all outstanding securities, the holders of which are not entitled to inclusion of such securities in such Registration Statement or are not entitled to pro rata inclusion with the Registrable Securities; and PROVIDED, FURTHER, HOWEVER, that, after giving effect to the immediately preceding proviso, any exclusion of Registrable Securities shall be made pro rata with holders of other securities having the right to include such securities in the Registration Statement other than holders of securities entitled to inclusion of their securities in such Registration

Statement by reason of demand registration rights. No right to registration of Registrable Securities under this Section 2(c) shall be construed to limit any registration required under Section 2(a) hereof. If an offering in connection with which an Investor is entitled to registration under this Section 2(c) is an underwritten offering, then each Investor whose Registrable Securities are included in such Registration Statement shall, unless otherwise agreed by the Company, offer and sell such Registrable Securities in an underwritten offering using the same underwriter or underwriters and, subject to the provisions of this Agreement, on the same terms and conditions as other shares of Common Stock included in such underwritten offering. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary set forth herein, the registration rights of the Investors pursuant to this
Section 2(c) shall only be available in the event the Company fails to timely file, obtain effectiveness or maintain effectiveness of the Registration Statement to be filed pursuant to Section 2(a) in accordance with the terms of this Agreement.

          d. ELIGIBILITY FOR FORM S-3. The Company represents and warrants that it meets the registrant eligibility and transaction requirements for the use of Form S-3 for registration of the sale by the Initial Investors and any other Investors of the Registrable Securities and the Company shall file all reports required to be filed by the Company with the SEC in a timely manner so as to maintain such eligibility for the use of Form S-3.


     3.   OBLIGATIONS OF THE COMPANY.

     In connection with the registration of the Registrable Securities, the Company shall have the following obligations:

          a. The Company shall prepare promptly, and file with the SEC not later than March 31, 1999, a Registration Statement with respect to the number of Registrable Securities provided in Section 2(a), and thereafter use its best efforts to cause such Registration Statement relating to Registrable Securities to become effective as soon as possible after such filing (but in no event later than the Registration Deadline), and keep the Registration Statement effective pursuant to Rule 415 at all times until such date as is the earlier of (i) the date on which all of the Registrable Securities have been sold and (ii) the date on which all of the Registrable Securities (in the opinion of counsel to the Initial Investors) may be immediately sold to the public without registration or restriction (including without limitation as to volume by each holder thereof pursuant to Rule 144(k) (or any successor rule)) under the 1933 Act (the "REGISTRATION PERIOD"), which Registration Statement (including any amendments or supplements thereto and prospectuses contained therein) shall not contain any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact required to be stated therein, or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading.

          b. The Company shall prepare and file with the SEC such amendments (including post-effective amendments) and supplements to the Registration Statements and the prospectus used in connection with the Registration Statements as may be necessary to keep the Registration Statements effective at all times during the Registration Period, and, during such period, comply with the provisions of the 1933 Act with respect to the disposition of all Registrable

Securities of the Company covered by the Registration Statements until such time as all of such Registrable Securities have been disposed of in accordance with the intended methods of disposition by the seller or sellers thereof as set forth in the Registration Statements. In the event the number of shares available under a Registration Statement filed pursuant to this Agreement is insufficient to cover all of the Registrable Securities issued or issuable upon conversion of or otherwise pursuant to the Debentures and upon exercise of or otherwise pursuant to the Warrants, the Company shall, if permitted, amend the Registration Statement, or file a new Registration Statement (on the short form available therefore, if applicable), or both, so as to cover all of the Registrable Securities, in each case, as soon as practicable, but in any event within twenty (20) business days after the necessity therefor arises (based on the market price of the Common Stock and other relevant factors on which the Company reasonably elects to rely). The Company shall use its best efforts to cause such amendment and/or new Registration Statement to become effective as soon as practicable following the filing thereof, but in any event no later than ninety (90) days after the date on which the Company reasonably first determines (or reasonably should have determined) the need therefor. The payment provisions of Section 2(b) above shall be applicable with respect to such obligation.

          c. The Company shall furnish to each Investor whose Registrable Securities are included in any Registration Statement and its legal counsel (i) promptly after the same is prepared and publicly distributed, filed with the SEC, or received by the Company, one copy of each Registration Statement and any amendment thereto, each preliminary prospectus and prospectus and each amendment or supplement thereto, and, in the case of any Registration Statement referred to in Section 2(a), each letter written by or on behalf of the Company to the SEC or the staff of the SEC, and each item of correspondence from the SEC or the staff of the SEC, in each case relating to such Registration Statement (other than any portion of any thereof which contains information for which the Company has sought confidential treatment), and (ii) such number of copies of a prospectus, including a preliminary prospectus, and all amendments and supplements thereto and such other documents as such Investor may reasonably request in order to facilitate the disposition of the Registrable Securities owned by such Investor. The Company will immediately notify each Investor by facsimile of the effectiveness of each Registration Statement or any post-effective amendment. The Company will promptly respond to any and all comments received from the SEC, with a view towards causing any Registration Statement or any amendment thereto to be declared effective by the SEC as soon as practicable and shall promptly file an acceleration request as soon as practicable following the resolution or clearance of all SEC comments or, if applicable, following notification by the SEC that the Registration Statement or any amendment thereto will not be subject to review.

          d. The Company shall use reasonable efforts to (i) register and qualify the Registrable Securities covered by each Registration Statement under such other securities or "blue sky" laws of such jurisdictions in the United States as the Investors who hold a majority in interest of the Registrable Securities being offered reasonably request, (ii) prepare and file in those jurisdictions such amendments (including post-effective amendments) and supplements to such registrations and qualifications as may be necessary to maintain the effectiveness thereof during the Registration Period, (iii) take such other actions as may be necessary to maintain such registrations and qualifications in effect at all times during the Registration Period, and (iv) take all other actions
reasonably necessary or advisable to qualify the Registrable Securities for sale in such jurisdictions; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that the Company shall not be required in connection therewith or as a condition thereto to (a) qualify to do business in any jurisdiction where it would not otherwise be required to qualify but for this Section 3(d), (b) subject itself to general taxation in any such jurisdiction, (c) file a general consent to service of process in any such jurisdiction, (d) provide any undertakings that cause the Company undue expense or burden, or (e) make any change in its charter or bylaws, which in each case the Board of Directors of the Company determines to be contrary to the best interests of the Company and its stockholders.

          e. As promptly as practicable after becoming aware of such event, the Company shall notify each Investor of the happening of any event, of which the Company has knowledge, as a result of which the prospectus included in any Registration Statement, as then in effect, includes an untrue statement of a material fact or omission to state a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading, and use its best efforts promptly to prepare and file with the SEC a supplement or amendment to, or document incorporated by reference in, such Registration Statement to correct such untrue statement or omission, and deliver such number of copies of such supplement or amendment to each Investor as such Investor may reasonably request; provided that, for not more than twenty (20) consecutive trading days (or a total of not more than forty five (45) trading days in any twelve (12) month period), the Company may delay the filing of such supplement, amendment or other document or other public disclosure of the material non-public information concerning the Company, the disclosure of which at the time is not, in the good faith opinion of the Company, in the best interests of the Company and, based upon the advice of counsel to the Company, otherwise required (an "ALLOWED DELAY"); provided, further, that the Company shall promptly (i) notify the Investors in writing of the existence of (but in no event, without the prior written consent of an Investor, shall the Company disclose to such Investor any of the facts or circumstances regarding) material non-public information giving rise to an Allowed Delay and (ii) advise the Investors in writing to cease all sales under the Registration Statement until the end of the Allowed Delay. Upon expiration of the Allowed Delay, the Company shall again be bound by the first sentence of this Section 3(e) with respect to the information giving rise thereto.

          f. The Company shall use its best efforts to prevent the issuance of any stop order or other suspension of effectiveness of any Registration Statement, and, if such an order is issued, to obtain the withdrawal of such order at the earliest possible moment and to notify each Investor who holds Registrable Securities being sold (or, in the event of an underwritten offering, the managing underwriters) of the issuance of such order and the resolution thereof.

          g. The Company shall permit a single firm of counsel designated by the Initial Investors to review each Registration Statement and all amendments and supplements thereto (as well as all requests for acceleration or effectiveness thereof) a reasonable period of time prior to their filing with the SEC, and not file any document in a form to which such counsel reasonably objects and will not request acceleration of the Registration Statement without prior notice to such counsel. The sections of each Registration Statement covering information with respect to the Investors, the Investors' beneficial ownership of securities of the Company or the Investors' intended method of
disposition of Registrable Securities shall conform to the information provided to the Company by each of the Investors.

          h. The Company shall make generally available to its security holders as soon as practical, but not later than ninety (90) days after the close of the period covered thereby, an earnings statement (in form complying with the provisions of Rule 158 under the 1933 Act) covering a twelve-month period beginning not later than the first day of the Company's fiscal quarter next following the effective date of the Registration Statement.

          i. The Company shall make available for inspection by (i) any Investor, (ii) one firm of attorneys and one firm of accountants or other agents retained by the Initial Investors, and (iii) one firm of attorneys and one firm of accountants or other agents retained by all other Investors (collectively, the "INSPECTORS") all pertinent financial and other records, and pertinent corporate documents and properties of the Company (collectively, the "RECORDS"), as shall be reasonably deemed necessary by each Inspector to enable each Inspector to exercise its due diligence responsibility, and cause the Company's officers, directors and employees to supply all information which any Inspector may reasonably request for purposes of such due diligence; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that each Inspector shall hold in confidence and shall not make any disclosure (except to an Investor) of any Record or other information which the Company determines in good faith to be confidential, and of which determination the Inspectors are so notified, unless (a) the disclosure of such Records is necessary to avoid or correct a misstatement or omission in any Registration Statement, (b) the release of such Records is ordered pursuant to a subpoena or other order from a court or government body of competent jurisdiction, or (c) the information in such Records has been made generally available to the public other than by disclosure in violation of this or any other agreement. The Company shall not be required to disclose any confidential information in such Records to any Inspector until and unless such Inspector shall have entered into confidentiality agreements (in form and substance satisfactory to the Company) with the Company with respect thereto, substantially in the form of this Section 3(i). Each Investor agrees that it shall, upon learning that disclosure of such Records is sought in or by a court or governmental body of competent jurisdiction or through other means, give prompt notice to the Company and allow the Company, at its expense, to undertake appropriate action to prevent disclosure of, or to obtain a protective order for, the Records deemed confidential. Nothing herein (or in any other confidentiality agreement between the Company and any Investor) shall be deemed to limit the Investor's ability to sell Registrable Securities in a manner which is otherwise consistent with applicable laws and regulations.

          j. The Company shall hold in confidence and not make any disclosure of information concerning an Investor provided to the Company unless (i) disclosure of such information is necessary to comply with federal or state securities laws, (ii) the disclosure of such information is necessary to avoid or correct a misstatement or omission in any Registration Statement, (iii) the release of such information is ordered pursuant to a subpoena or other order from a court or governmental body of competent jurisdiction, or (iv) such information has been made generally available to the public other than by disclosure in violation of this or any other agreement. The Company agrees that it shall, upon learning that disclosure of such information concerning an Investor is sought in or by a court or governmental body of competent jurisdiction or through other means, give prompt notice to such Investor prior to making such disclosure, and allow the Investor, at its expense, to undertake appropriate action to prevent disclosure of, or to obtain a protective order for, such information.

          k. The Company shall (i) cause all the Registrable Securities covered by each Registration Statement to be listed on each national securities exchange on which securities of the same class or series issued by the Company are then listed, if any, if the listing of such Registrable Securities is then permitted under the rules of such exchange, or (ii) to the extent the securities of the same class or series are not then listed on a national securities exchange, secure the designation and quotation, of all the Registrable Securities covered by each Registration Statement on Nasdaq NMS or, if not eligible for the Nasdaq NMS on the Nasdaq and, without limiting the generality of the foregoing, to arrange for at least two market makers to register with the National Association of Securities Dealers, Inc. ("NASD") as such with respect to such Registrable Securities.

          l. The Company shall provide a transfer agent and registrar, which may be a single entity, for the Registrable Securities not later than the effective date of each Registration Statement.

          m. The Company shall cooperate with the Investors who hold Registrable Securities being offered to facilitate the timely preparation and delivery of certificates (not bearing any restrictive legends) representing Registrable Securities to be offered pursuant to each Registration Statement and enable such certificates to be in such denominations or amounts, as the case may be, as the Investors may reasonably request and registered in such names as the Investors may request, and, within three (3) business days after a Registration Statement which includes Registrable Securities is ordered effective by the SEC, the Company shall deliver, and shall cause legal counsel selected by the Company to deliver, to the transfer agent for the Registrable Securities (with copies to the Investors whose Registrable Securities are included in such Registration Statement) an instruction in the form attached hereto as EXHIBIT 1 and an opinion of such counsel in the form attached hereto as EXHIBIT 2.

          n. At the request of the holders of a majority-in-interest of the Registrable Securities, the Company shall prepare and file with the SEC such amendments (including post-effective amendments) and supplements to a Registration Statement and the prospectus used in connection with the Registration Statement as may be necessary in order to change the plan of distribution set forth in such Registration Statement.

          o. From and after the date of this Agreement, the Company shall not, and shall not agree to, allow the holders of any securities of the Company to include any of their securities in any Registration Statement under Section 2(a) hereof or any amendment or supplement thereto under Section 3(b) hereof without the consent of the holders of a majority-in-interest of the Registrable Securities.

          p. The Company shall take all other reasonable actions necessary to expedite and facilitate disposition by the Investors of Registrable Securities pursuant to a Registration Statement.

     4.   OBLIGATIONS OF THE INVESTORS.

     In connection with the registration of the Registrable Securities, the Investors shall have the following obligations:

          a. It shall be a condition precedent to the obligations of the Company to complete the registration pursuant to this Agreement with respect to the Registrable Securities of a particular Investor that such Investor shall furnish to the Company such information regarding itself, the Registrable Securities held by it and the intended method of disposition of the Registrable Securities held by it as shall be reasonably required to effect the registration of such Registrable Securities and shall execute such documents in connection with such registration as the Company may reasonably request, and to update as necessary. At least three (3) business days prior to the first anticipated filing date of each Registration Statement, the Company shall notify each Investor of the information the Company requires from each such Investor.

          b. Each Investor, by such Investor's acceptance of the Registrable Securities, agrees to cooperate with the Company as reasonably requested by the Company in connection with the preparation and filing of the Registration Statements hereunder, unless such Investor has notified the Company in writing of such Investor's election to exclude all of such Investor's Registrable Securities from the Registration Statements.

          c. In the event Investors holding a majority-in-interest of the Registrable Securities being registered (with the approval of the Initial Investors) determine to engage the services of an underwriter, each Investor agrees to enter into and perform such Investor's obligations under an underwriting agreement, in usual and customary form, including, without limitation, customary indemnification and contribution obligations, with the managing underwriter of such offering and take such other actions as are reasonably required in order to expedite or facilitate the disposition of the Registrable Securities, unless such Investor has notified the Company in writing of such Investor's election to exclude all of such Investor's Registrable Securities from such Registration Statement.

          d. Each Investor agrees that, upon receipt of any notice from the Company of the happening of any event of the kind described in Section 3(e) or 3(f), such Investor will immediately discontinue disposition of Registrable Securities pursuant to each Registration Statement covering such Registrable Securities until such Investor's receipt of the copies of the supplemented or amended prospectus contemplated by Section 3(e) or 3(f) and, if so directed by the Company, such Investor shall deliver to the Company (at the expense of the Company) or destroy (and deliver to the Company a certificate of destruction) all copies in such Investor's possession, of the prospectus covering such Registrable Securities current at the time of receipt of such notice.

          e. No Investor may participate in any underwritten registration hereunder unless such Investor (i) agrees to sell such Investor's Registrable Securities on the basis provided in any underwriting arrangements in usual and customary form entered into by the Company, (ii) completes
and executes all questionnaires, powers of attorney, indemnities, underwriting agreements and other documents reasonably required under the terms of such underwriting arrangements, and (iii) agrees to pay its pro rata share of all underwriting discounts and commissions and any expenses in excess of those payable by the Company pursuant to Section 5 below.

     5.   EXPENSES OF REGISTRATION.

     All reasonable expenses incurred in connection with registrations, filings or qualifications pursuant to Sections 2 and 3, including, without limitation, all registration, listing and qualification fees, printers and accounting fees, the fees and disbursements of counsel for the Company, and the reasonable fees and disbursements of one counsel selected by the Initial Investors pursuant to Sections 2(b) and 3(h) hereof shall be borne by the Company, provided that such fees and expenses shall be counted against the maximum amount of fees and expenses to be reimbursed pursuant to Section 4(f) of the Securities Purchase Agreement.


     6.   INDEMNIFICATION.

     In the event any Registrable Securities are included in a Registration Statement under this Agreement:

          a. To the extent permitted by law, the Company will indemnify, hold harmless and defend (i) each Investor who holds such Registrable Securities,
(ii) the directors, officers, partners, employees, agents and each person who controls any Investor within the meaning of the 1933 Act or the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the "1934 ACT"), if any, (iii) any underwriter (as defined in the 1933 Act) for the Investors, and (iv) the directors, officers, partners, employees and each person who controls any such underwriter within the meaning of the 1933 Act or the 1934 Act, if any (each, an "INDEMNIFIED PERSON"), against any joint or several losses, claims, damages, liabilities or expenses (collectively, together with actions, proceedings or inquiries by any regulatory or self-regulatory organization, whether commenced or threatened, in respect thereof, "CLAIMS") to which any of them may become subject insofar as such Claims arise out of or are based upon: (i) any untrue statement or alleged untrue statement of a material fact in a Registration Statement or the omission or alleged omission to state therein a material fact required to be stated or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading; (ii) any untrue statement or alleged untrue statement of a material fact contained in any preliminary prospectus if used prior to the effective date of such Registration Statement, or contained in the final prospectus (as amended or supplemented, if the Company files any amendment thereof or supplement thereto with the SEC), or the omission or alleged omission to state therein any material fact necessary to make the statements made therein, in light of the circumstances under which the statements therein were made, not misleading; or
(iii) any violation or alleged violation by the Company of the 1933 Act, the 1934 Act, any other law, including, without limitation, any state securities law, or any rule or regulation thereunder relating to the offer or sale of the Registrable Securities (the matters in the foregoing clauses (i) through (iii) being, collectively, "VIOLATIONS"). Subject to the restrictions set forth in

Section 6(c) with respect to the number of legal counsel, the Company shall reimburse the Indemnified Person, promptly as such expenses are incurred and are due and payable, for any reasonable legal fees or other reasonable expenses incurred by them in connection with investigating or defending any such Claim. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained herein, the indemnification agreement contained in this Section 6(a): (i) shall not apply to a Claim arising out of or based upon a Violation which occurs in reliance upon and in conformity with information furnished in writing to the Company by any Indemnified Person expressly for use in connection with the preparation of such Registration Statement or any such amendment thereof or supplement thereto, which shall include the information set forth in the prospectus about the Investors, the interests of the Investors in the Company, and the Investors' intended plan of distribution, but only to the extent that any of the foregoing information is furnished by the Investors in writing expressly for use in connection with such Registration Statement; (ii) shall not apply to amounts paid in settlement of any Claim if such settlement is effected without the prior written consent of the Company, which consent shall not be unreasonably withheld; and (iii) with respect to any preliminary prospectus, shall not inure to the benefit of any Indemnified Person if the untrue statement or omission of material fact contained in the preliminary prospectus was corrected on a timely basis in the prospectus, as then amended or supplemented, such corrected prospectus was timely made available by the Company pursuant to Section 3(c) hereof, and the Indemnified Person was promptly advised in writing not to use the incorrect prospectus prior to the use giving rise to a Violation and such Indemnified Person, notwithstanding such advice, used it. Such indemnity shall remain in full force and effect regardless of any investigation made by or on behalf of the Indemnified Person and shall survive the transfer of the Registrable Securities by the Investors pursuant to Section 9.

          b. In connection with any Registration Statement in which an Investor is participating, each such Investor agrees severally and not jointly to indemnify, hold harmless and defend, to the same extent and in the same manner set forth in Section 6(a), the Company, each of its directors, each of its officers who signs the Registration Statement, each person, if any, who controls the Company within the meaning of the 1933 Act or the 1934 Act, any underwriter and any other stockholder selling securities pursuant to the Registration Statement or any of its directors or officers or any person who controls such stockholder or underwriter within the meaning of the 1933 Act or the 1934 Act (collectively and together with an Indemnified Person, an "INDEMNIFIED PARTY"), against any Claim to which any of them may become subject, under the 1933 Act, the 1934 Act or otherwise, insofar as such Claim arises out of or is based upon any Violation by such Investor, in each case to the extent (and only to the extent) that such Violation occurs in reliance upon and in conformity with written information furnished to the Company by such Investor expressly for use in connection with such Registration Statement; and subject to Section 6(c) such Investor will reimburse any legal or other expenses (promptly as such expenses are incurred and are due and payable) reasonably incurred by them in connection with investigating or defending any such Claim; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that the indemnity agreement contained in this Section 6(b) shall not apply to amounts paid in settlement of any Claim if such settlement is effected without the prior written consent of such Investor, which consent shall not be unreasonably withheld; PROVIDED, FURTHER, HOWEVER, that the Investor shall be liable under this Agreement (including this Section 6(b) and Section 7) for only that amount as does not exceed the net proceeds to such Investor as a result of
the sale of Registrable Securities pursuant to such Registration Statement. Such indemnity shall remain in full force and effect regardless of any investigation made by or on behalf of such Indemnified Party and shall survive the transfer of the Registrable Securities by the Investors pursuant to Section 9. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained herein, the indemnification agreement contained in this Section 6(b) with respect to any preliminary prospectus shall not inure to the benefit of any Indemnified Party if the untrue statement or omission of material fact contained in the preliminary prospectus was corrected on a timely basis in the prospectus, as then amended or supplemented.

          c. Promptly after receipt by an Indemnified Person or Indemnified Party under this Section 6 of notice of the commencement of any action (including any governmental action), such Indemnified Person or Indemnified Party shall, if a Claim in respect thereof is to be made against any indemnifying party under this Section 6, deliver to the indemnifying party a written notice of the commencement thereof, and the indemnifying party shall have the right to participate in, and, to the extent the indemnifying party so desires, jointly with any other indemnifying party similarly noticed, to assume control of the defense thereof with counsel mutually satisfactory to the indemnifying party and the Indemnified Person or the Indemnified Party, as the case may be; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that an Indemnified Person or Indemnified Party shall have the right to retain its own counsel with the fees and expenses to be paid by the indemnifying party, if, in the reasonable opinion of counsel retained by the indemnifying party, the representation by such counsel of the Indemnified Person or Indemnified Party and the indemnifying party would be inappropriate due to actual or potential differing interests between such Indemnified Person or Indemnified Party and any other party represented by such counsel in such proceeding. The indemnifying party shall pay for only one separate legal counsel for the Indemnified Persons or the Indemnified Parties, as applicable, and such legal counsel shall be selected by Investors holding a majority-in-interest of the Registrable Securities included in such Registration Statement to which the Claim relates (with the approval of a majority-in-interest of the Initial Investors), if the Investors are entitled to indemnification hereunder, or the Company, if the Company is entitled to indemnification hereunder, as applicable. The failure to deliver written notice to the indemnifying party within a reasonable time of the commencement of any such action shall not relieve such indemnifying party of any liability to the Indemnified Person or Indemnified Party under this Section 6, except to the extent that the indemnifying party is actually prejudiced in its ability to defend such action. The indemnification required by this Section 6 shall be made by periodic payments of the amount thereof during the course of the investigation or defense, as such expense, loss, damage or liability is incurred and is due and payable.


     7.   CONTRIBUTION.

     To the extent the indemnification by an indemnifying party is prohibited or limited by law, the indemnifying party agrees to make the maximum contribution with respect to any amounts for which it would otherwise be liable under Section 6 to the fullest extent permitted by law; PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that (i) no contribution shall be made under circumstances where the indemnifying party would not have been liable for indemnification under the fault standards set forth in Section 6, (ii) no
seller of Registrable Securities guilty of fraudulent misrepresentation (within the meaning of Section 11(f) of the 1933 Act) shall be entitled to contribution from any seller of Registrable Securities who was not guilty of such fraudulent misrepresentation, and (iii) contribution (together with any indemnification or other obligations under this Agreement) by any seller of Registrable Securities shall be limited in amount to the net amount of proceeds received by such seller from the sale of such Registrable Securities.

     8.   REPORTS UNDER THE 1934 ACT.

     With a view to making available to the Investors the benefits of Rule 144 promulgated under the 1933 Act or any other similar rule or regulation of the SEC that may at any time permit the investors to sell securities of the Company to the public without registration ("RULE 144"), the Company agrees to:

          a. make and keep public information available, as those terms are understood and defined in Rule 144;

          b. file with the SEC in a timely manner all reports and other documents required of the Company under the 1933 Act and the 1934 Act so long as the Company remains subject to such requirements (it being understood that nothing herein shall limit the Company's obligations under Section 4(c) of the Securities Purchase Agreement) and the filing of such reports and other documents is required for the applicable provisions of Rule 144; and

          c. furnish to each Investor so long as such Investor owns Registrable Securities, promptly upon request, (i) a written statement by the Company that it has complied with the reporting requirements of Rule 144, the 1933 Act and the 1934 Act, (ii) a copy of the most recent annual or quarterly report of the Company and such other reports and documents so filed by the Company, and (iii) such other information as may be reasonably requested to permit the Investors to sell such securities pursuant to Rule 144 without registration.


     9.   ASSIGNMENT OF REGISTRATION RIGHTS.

     The rights under this Agreement shall be automatically assignable by the Investors to any transferee of all or any portion of Registrable Securities if:
(i) the Investor agrees in writing with the transferee or assignee to assign such rights, and a copy of such agreement is furnished to the Company within a reasonable time after such assignment, (ii) the Company is, within a reasonable time after such transfer or assignment, furnished with written notice of (a) the name and address of such transferee or assignee, and (b) the securities with respect to which such registration rights are being transferred or assigned,
(iii) following such transfer or assignment, the further disposition of such securities by the transferee or assignee is restricted under the 1933 Act and applicable state securities laws, (iv) at or before the time the Company receives the written notice contemplated by clause (ii) of this sentence, the transferee or assignee agrees in writing with the Company to be
bound by all of the provisions contained herein, including providing necessary updates under Section 4(a) hereof, (v) such transfer shall have been made in accordance with the applicable requirements of the Securities Purchase Agreement, and (vi) such transferee shall be an "ACCREDITED INVESTOR" as that term defined in Rule 501 of Regulation D promulgated under the 1933 Act.


     10.  AMENDMENT OF REGISTRATION RIGHTS.

     Provisions of this Agreement may be amended and the observance thereof may be waived (either generally or in a particular instance and either retroactively or prospectively), only with written consent of the Company, a majority of the Initial Investors (to the extent such Initial Investor still owns Registrable Securities) and Investors who hold a majority interest of the Registrable Securities. Any amendment or waiver effected in accordance with this Section 10 shall be binding upon each Investor and the Company.


     11.  MISCELLANEOUS.

          a. A person or entity is deemed to be a holder of Registrable Securities whenever such person or entity owns of record such Registrable Securities. If the Company receives conflicting instructions, notices or elections from two or more persons or entities with respect to the same Registrable Securities, the Company shall act upon the basis of instructions, notice or election received from the registered owner of such Registrable Securities.

          b. Any notices required or permitted to be given under the terms hereof shall be sent by certified or registered mail (return receipt requested) or delivered personally or by courier (including a recognized overnight delivery service) or by facsimile and shall be effective five days after being placed in the mail, if mailed by regular U.S. mail, or upon receipt, if delivered personally or by courier (including a recognized overnight delivery service) or by facsimile, in each case addressed to a party. The addresses for such communications shall be:

               If to the Company:

               Infonautics, Inc.
               900 West Valley Road, Suite 1000
               Wayne, PA 19087
               Attention: President and Chief Executive Officer
               Facsimile: 610-293-3910

               With copy to:

               Morgan Lewis & Bockius LLP
               1701 Market Street
               Philadelphia, PA 19103
               Attention: David R. King, Esq.
               Facsimile: 215-963-5299

If to an Investor: to the address set forth immediately below such Investor's name on the signature pages to the Securities Purchase Agreement.

          c. Failure of any party to exercise any right or remedy under this Agreement or otherwise, or delay by a party in exercising such right or remedy, shall not operate as a waiver thereof.

          d. This Agreement shall be enforced, governed by and construed in accordance with the laws of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania applicable to agreements made and to be performed entirely within such Commonwealth. In the event that any provision of this Agreement is invalid or unenforceable under any applicable statute or rule of law, then such provision shall be deemed inoperative to the extent that it may conflict therewith and shall be deemed modified to conform with such statute or rule of law. Any provision hereof which may prove invalid or unenforceable under any law shall not affect the validity or enforceability of any other provision hereof. The parties hereto hereby submit to the exclusive jurisdiction of the United States Federal Courts located in the Eastern District of Pennsylvania with respect to any dispute arising under this Agreement or the transactions contemplated hereby.

          e. This Agreement and the Securities Purchase Agreement (including all schedules and exhibits thereto) constitute the entire agreement among the parties hereto with respect to the subject matter hereof and thereof. There are no restrictions, promises, warranties or undertakings, other than those set forth or referred to herein and therein. This Agreement and the Securities Purchase Agreement supersede all prior agreements and understandings among the parties hereto with respect to the subject matter hereof and thereof.

          f. Subject to the requirements of Section 9 hereof, this Agreement shall inure to the benefit of and be binding upon the successors and assigns of each of the parties hereto.

          g. The headings in this Agreement are for convenience of reference only and shall not limit or otherwise affect the meaning hereof.

          h. This Agreement may be executed in two or more counterparts, each of which shall be deemed an original but all of which shall constitute one and the same agreement. This Agreement, once executed by a party, may be delivered to the other party hereto by facsimile transmission of a copy of this Agreement bearing the signature of the party so delivering this Agreement.

          i. Each party shall do and perform, or cause to be done and performed, all such further acts and things, and shall execute and deliver all such other agreements, certificates, instruments and documents, as the other party may reasonably request in order to carry out the intent and accomplish the purposes of this Agreement and the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby.

          j. Except as otherwise provided herein, all consents and other determinations to be made by the Investors pursuant to this Agreement shall be made by Investors holding a majority-in-interest of the Registrable Securities, determined as if the all of the Debentures and the Warrants then outstanding have been exercised for Registrable Securities.

          k. The Company acknowledges that a breach by it of its obligations hereunder will cause irreparable harm to the Investors by vitiating the intent and purpose of the transactions contemplated hereby. Accordingly, the Company acknowledges that the remedy at law for a breach of its obligations under this Agreement will be inadequate and agrees, in the event of a breach or threatened breach by the Company of the provisions hereunder, that the Investors shall be entitled, in addition to all other available remedies at law or in equity, to an injunction or injunctions restraining, preventing or curing any breach of the provisions of this Agreement and to enforce specifically the terms and provisions hereof, without the necessity of showing economic loss and without any bond or other security being required.

          l. The language used in this Agreement will be deemed to be the language chosen by the parties to express their mutual intent, and no rules of strict construction will be applied against any party.



                [REMAINDER OF THIS PAGE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK]

          IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Company and the undersigned Initial Investors have caused this Agreement to be duly executed as of the date first above written.


INFONAUTICS, INC.



By:
     -----------------------------------------
         David Van Riper Morris
         President and Chief Executive Officer



RGC INTERNATIONAL INVESTORS, LDC

By:      Rose Glen Capital Management, L.P.,
         Investment Manager
By:      RGC General Partner Corp.,
         as General Partner



By:
     -----------------------------------------
         Gary S. Kaminsky
         Managing Director