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                                                                    EXHIBIT 99.2

                           ASYST TECHNOLOGIES, #567319
                      THIRD QUARTER 2004 FINANCIAL RESULTS
                         FEBRUARY 3, 2004, 2:30 P.M., PT
                           MODERATOR: STEPHEN SCHWARTZ

Operator                   Good afternoon, ladies and gentlemen, and welcome to
                           the Asyst Technologies third quarter of 2004
                           financial results conference call. At this time all
                           participants are in a listen-only mode. Following
                           today's presentation, instructions will be given for
                           the question and answer session. If anyone needs
                           assistance at any time during the conference, please
                           press the star followed by the zero. As a reminder,
                           this conference is being recorded today, Tuesday,
                           February 3, 2004.

                           I would now like to turn the conference over to John Swenson, Vice President of Investor Relations and Corporate Communications. Please go ahead, sir.

J. Swenson                 Thank you, operator, and good afternoon, everyone.
                           Welcome to the fiscal 2004 third quarter conference
                           call for Asyst Technologies. A press release
                           detailing our results for the quarter was distributed
                           via Business Wire at approximately 2:00 o'clock P.M.
                           Pacific time today, February 3, 2004. The release has
                           been posted to our website which is at www.asyst.com.
                           To access the release, interested parties should
                           click on the investor relations link followed by the
                           press release link.

                           I need to remind you that during today's call we will make forward looking statements. Such statements are subject to a number of risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially from the statements made. These risk factors are described in our most recently filed reports with the SEC on Forms 10-K as amended and 10-Q.

                           Now to our conference call. With us today are Steve Schwartz, Chairman and CEO, and David White, Chief Financial Officer. David will start us off with a financial review and then Steve will provide a strategic and operational overview, then we will be happy to take your questions. Now I'll turn the call over to David White. David?

D. White                   Thank you, John. Let me start by briefly summarizing
                           a few of the highlights for the quarter. First of all
                           we had a record bookings quarter driven by 68% growth
                           in our base business at ATI and 180% growth in the
                           AMHS bookings at Asyst Shinko. We believe our rate of
                           growth is indicative of share gains in all of our key
                           businesses, particularly atmospheric front ends and
                           AMHS. We believe the strength in our AMHS business is
                           also indicative of the robust expansion that is
                           currently occurring in both the semiconductor and
                           flat panel display industries with AMHS bookings
                           being a strong leading indicator of future demand for
                           other tools and services.

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                           Second, we continued to execute on our outsourcing
                           and supply chain strategies at ATI and again saw sequential improvement in gross margin at ATI that was generally in line with our expectations.

                           Third, we exceeded our objectives for sales at ASI during the quarter which was largely driven by an FPD customer expediting their installation of our new Gen 6 product line. However, as a result of expediting and the newness of this product, our costs were higher than planned and these incremental revenues delivered no gross margin which significantly impacted gross margin for the quarter. I will discuss this in more detail later in my prepared remarks.

                           Finally, nonrecurring charges and the exceptional amount of selling activity in the quarter drove operating expenses higher than planned. We emphasize, however, that we are continuing our previously announced cost reduction initiatives and anticipate delivering savings in the near term future.

                           Now to the specific results. Net bookings for the quarter were $133.7 million, up 121% from the prior quarter. Our book-to-bill ratio was approximately 1.79:1. Our bookings in the base ATI business were up 68% to $53.5 million while bookings in AMHS at ASI were up 180% to $80.2 million. Our backlog stood at approximately $149 million at the end of the quarter.

                           OEM net bookings were up 50% for the quarter
                           following a 48% increase in the prior period. OEMs represented 27% of bookings for the quarter which only reflects this even stronger growth in our bookings direct to fabs.

                           As a side note, some of our competitors have made generalized claims about gaining OEM market share, but it is important to distinguish between the large variety of products that are sold through the OEM channel. Essentially all of our OEM products are atmospheric solutions which are designed to be integrated into the fab automation system. We enjoy strong and growing market share in this segment of the market because we know more about fab automation than any company in the world. We do not materially participate in vacuum robotics or other categories of systems that go inside the tool because we believe that these are sub-components of the tool and don't view them as a part of the fab automation system.

                           Moving to net bookings by region, the results were as follows: North America 18%, Japan 24%, Asia Pacific 54%, and Europe 4%. It should come as no surprise that our large flat panel project in South Korea weighted bookings toward Asia. In addition, based on the recovery of spending in Japan and our leading share position there, bookings to Japan were up 120% quarter-over-quarter. Bookings by product type were 25% 300 millimeter compared with 64% in Q2; flat panel display AMHS comprised 29% of bookings versus 3% last quarter; and the remainder, or 46%, was

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                           predominantly 200 millimeter.

                           Now moving on to sales. Net sales for the quarter were $74.9 million, up 46% from $51.3 million in the September quarter. By customer type, sales for the quarter were 29% to OEMs and 71% direct to fabs. This compares with 35% to OEMs and 65% to fabs in the prior quarter.

                           Sales by region broke down as follows: North America 23%, Japan 26%, Asia Pacific 43%, and Europe 8%. The geographic mix primarily reflects the flat panel display activity in the quarter which was focused in South Korea, as well as increases in North America related to AMHS and growing OEM sales.

                           As a percentage of total sales 300 millimeter solutions represented 44% of sales for the quarter compared with 58% in fiscal Q2. Our flat panel display AMHS business represented 22% of sales, up substantially from last quarter as a result of our new Gen 6 project and other FPD expansion activity at both Gen 4 and Gen 5 factories. The remainder, or 34% of sales, was primarily related to 200 millimeter solutions. We had one customer that represented more than 10% of sales for the quarter.

                           Our consolidated gross margin for the quarter was 14.1%, but this doesn't tell the full story. Gross margin in the base business improved to 26% which is up one point from last quarter. Our progress on standard product cost and leverage on fixed cost was somewhat offset by increased sales of our Portal Plus EFEM and legacy sorter products which have lower margins. We continue to ship these products because they are qualified and designed in by customers, but we are working to convert all of our portal and sorter customers to the higher margin Spartan platform.

                           As I mentioned earlier, we saw solid margins at ASI pulled down primarily by one large loss contract and a $900,000 inventory impairment. Under GAAP we recognize the anticipated loss associated with a contract as soon as such a loss becomes apparent, regardless of whether any costs or revenue have been recognized. As a result, we have reserved the loss associated with this contract and two other much smaller contracts during the quarter. This also means that as revenue is recognized under these contracts going forward it flows through the P&L at zero gross margin.

                           To put this in perspective, during the quarter we recognized approximately $11 million of zero gross margin revenue related to the large Gen 6 FPD project which accounted for roughly one-fourth of ASI's revenue for the period. Other projects and services at ASI responsible for the other $31 million of ASI's revenues delivered an average gross margin of 25%. This

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                           $31 million of revenue with 25% gross margin was in
                           line with our expectations.

                           Turning to operating expenses, R&D expense was $9.2 million compared with $8.4 million in the prior quarter. The increase was roughly in line with our expectations based on planned spending for Spartan and AMHS. SG&A expenses were $18.8 million compared with $14.9 million in the prior quarter. Part of this increase was the result of higher pre-sales and other marketing activities related to evaluations of our Spartan platform and AMHS. We also incurred $2.1 million of nonrecurring costs related to prior years.

                           We reported approximately $1.7 million of
                           restructuring charges. Amortization of intangibles was $5.3 million for the quarter versus $4.8 million last quarter. This change is due primarily to appreciation of the Japanese yen relative to the U.S. dollar.
                           Other expense was approximately $2.2 million compared with $1.5 million in the prior quarter. This was about $1 million higher than expected solely due to foreign exchange losses chargeable to the P&L. This foreign exchange loss, however, was fully offset by translation gains booked on the balance sheet as cumulative translation adjustments.

                           Including all charges, our net loss on a GAAP basis for the quarter was $22.1 million, or 52 cents per share which compares on the same basis with $16.3 million, or 41 cents per share in the prior quarter. The charges mentioned previously impacted reported net loss for the quarter by $5.7 million, or 13 cents per share. The amortization of intangibles and stock based compensation from prior acquisitions impacted reported net loss by $2.5 million, or 6 cents per share.

                           The weighted average share count used to calculate EPS for the quarter was 42.2 million, up from 39.5 million in the prior quarter primarily as a result of our follow on equity offering.

                           Now turning to the balance sheet. Cash, cash
                           equivalents and short term investments at quarter end totaled $122.4 million, up from $77.4 million at the end of the last fiscal quarter. This reflects net proceeds of $99 million from our stock offering offset by the pay down of our $25 million U.S. credit facility and other changes in working capital.

                           Accounts receivable totaled $122.7 million at the end of the quarter, up roughly $41 million from $81.8 million at the end of the prior quarter. DSO grew modestly at ASI and ATI primarily as a result of sales being back end loaded in the quarter.

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                           Inventory at the end of the quarter was $20.6
                           million, up only $3 million from last quarter's $17.6. Inventory turned during the quarter at an annualized rate of 12 times versus 8 in the prior quarter.

                           Now to the outlook. The following is guidance for the fiscal fourth quarter ending March 27, 2004. We anticipate net sales at ATI in the range of $42 to $45 million with gross margin of approximately 30%. We anticipate net sales at ASI in excess of $65 million. Approximately half of these sales are expected to carry a gross margin in the historical range of 20%. The remainder of the sales are expected to come from the previously mentioned loss contracts which will provide a gross margin of zero.

                           R&D and SG&A expenses are expected to be in the range of $27 to $28 million. This reflects modest increases in R&D and higher selling and marketing costs associated with the anticipated increase in sales. We are continuing our previously announced cost reduction initiatives and anticipate potentially incurring $3 to $5 million of restructuring charges over the next several quarters.

                           Other items of guidance are detailed in our press release. For those of you interested in estimating earnings per share for First Call, I encourage you to review the release and the included supplemental information to help clarify the impact of amortization on income taxes and minority interest.

                           With that, I'll turn the time over to you, Steve.

S. Schwartz                Thank you, David. The points I want to make are not
                           new. One deals with penetrating new markets, market
                           share growth, and the benefits and opportunities that
                           come with market leadership. The other highlights the
                           work we've done and the work we have yet to do to
                           reduce costs. Let me start with why we think that
                           flat panel is a tremendous opportunity and also what
                           the challenges are, then I'll return to the rest of
                           my comments about the Asyst business you're most
                           accustomed with.

                           Our strategy in flat panel has been to enter a business that's on a different cycle from silicon that leverages our core capabilities and leverages our existing infrastructure. Today we are way beyond just thinking about being in the flat panel display business, we are right in the middle of it and we believe we'll be very successful. Success means great products, capturing share and performing well. Success means rapid, overwhelming, convincing capability unprecedented in flat panel or in semiconductor for that matter.

                           When you perform the way we have and compete with such strong

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                           competitors you don't get to take advantage of
                           learning cycles. Nine months ago we had an idea to go after Generation 6 in a big way. Six months ago we had one vehicle and one stocker to show. Three months ago we won our first Gen 6 fab and two months ago we began populating the fab with our products full speed ahead.

                           We said we were getting into the flat panel business, the window opened and we had a choice, play at Generation 6 or sit out. We seized the moment and we're glad we did. We expect to be the player in flat panel display. We're going to win business and make money. In our opinion there's only one way to go into an important market, especially markets that are being served by a number of competitors, that is full speed, fully focused, get a leadership position and make money.

                           In silicon and flat panel display the cycles come too quickly and the windows are too narrow. There's much to be gained when you've won the business. Getting in later is tough. The approach we've taken with flat panel display is the same as we've done with the rest of Asyst, identify the need, rapidly define and develop new products to meet the need and then go.

                           In this Generation 6 fab which we won in October in less than 60 days, we went from one vehicle and one stocker running in our factory in Ise to accelerated delivery of the first of 26 vehicles and 42 stockers ordered in the first phase. We are focused now on meeting the delivery requirements of our customer. They need the factory up and running production panels and we will meet their requirements. This kind of performance is a badge of honor for ASI. Simultaneously we are working with the supplier base to ensure that subsequent phases of this project and all further Generation 6 business we win will be profitable.

                           This is the path we've taken before at Generation 5 with LG, now a comfortably profitable business. The difference this time is that we're starting with a huge volume at the beginning of Generation 6. This will pave the way for a strong foundation in flat panel display, a path toward profitability and sustainable leadership.

                           We'll have more to report in the coming months related to our success in flat panel display. The flat panel display AMHS market is expected to be in excess of $500 million in 2005 which will make it just as large as the silicon AMHS market's expected to be.

                           As the only supplier with a deliverable flexible Gen 6 solution, we believe we actually have the opportunity to seize the number one share position in 2004 which would be well ahead of our objectives. In 2004 you should

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                           expect a larger flat panel display AMHS market, more
                           market share for Asyst and profitability from this very important segment.

                           Now I'm going to shift my comments to the
                           semiconductor business you all know. Over the past three years we've been focused on improving Asyst's 300 millimeter product offerings, regaining share in atmospheric tool front end automation and entering the AMHS market. I think our top line results and bookings for the quarter demonstrate that Asyst is winning on all of these fronts.

                           We are seeing rapid acceptance of our new products such as Isoport and Spartan with both OEMs and end customers. We won 20 significant AMHS contracts including the largest new 300 millimeter AMHS decision during the quarter. We are running more than 300 meters of FasTrack conveyor AMHS at UMCI in Singapore which is progress ahead of schedule on a broader portfolio of AMHS products. And as I mentioned, we significantly increased our penetration of the flat panel display AMHS market.

                           As we've said consistently, we believe that market leadership is the surest path to sustained profitability. It provides the scale necessary to leverage our infrastructure throughout the cycle, the platform for our long term solution strategy and as the upturn strengthens, the ability to maintain and improve pricing.

                           We have a clear opportunity to strengthen pricing in our core product areas, namely by changing the game. By changing the game I refer to products like our Spartan which is designed to capture more revenue per tool at lower cost to the customer with higher gross margin to Asyst. I also refer to our overall solutions strategy as compared to the historical orientation of selling automation as discrete products.

                           All 300 millimeter chip makers must automate and with few exceptions none have robust internal automation expertise. As the market share leader in 300 millimeter AMHS, our products are the backbone for more than 50% of current 300 millimeter production. As the market share leader in atmospheric tool hardware, we also form the extremities of a significant portion of the fab automation system. And finally, as the leader in auto ID and connectivity software, we comprise the central nervous system in the majority of 300 millimeter fabs.

                           This broad and strategically irreplaceable presence, combined with our long history as turnkey fab automators, puts us in a unique position to take responsibility for the full automation of modern 300 millimeter factories. This is our direction and the means by which we completely change the

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                           game from selling iron to selling solutions.

                           We do not expect to change the world overnight. The current pricing environment for AMHS is competitive, particularly when we are bidding for customers who are doing their first 300 millimeter fab and don't have firsthand experience with automation or the productivity benefits provided by our solutions. Fortunately, in Asyst Shinko we have what we believe is the strongest 300 millimeter product offering as well as the business model that can cope with the pricing environment.

                           ASI spends only 10% of sales on R&D and SG&A, an amount we can leverage and which makes the business attractive even at 20% average gross margins. In addition, we have abundant experience showing that once we are the AMHS supplier of record, we can achieve average gross margins closer to 30% on expansions, upgrades and new fabs.

                           Finally, and most importantly, we know that winning the AMHS is often the critical first step for talking to the customer about broader, more integrated automation solutions. Because of our operating leverage and the benefits that accrue from market share leadership we are highly successful, although still not satisfied with silicon AMHS gross margin in the 20% range. This is the historical average for ASI and the baseline from which we plan to make improvements in both pricing and cost.

                           It's worth noting that in atmospheric tool hardware, auto ID and other product areas we enjoy a significant price premium to our competitors, largely driven by our ability to sell and deliver value to the customer. We will be successful doing it in silicon AMHS even before we have changed the game to a solution sale.

                           As we begin to export our strategies to the flat panel market, we do it with the same operational leverage and the same opportunities to profit from follow on business that we enjoy in silicon.

                           To my second point, we have not lost our focus on improving costs and profitability. We have outsourced the manufacturing of most of our non AMHS products and have transitioned roughly three-fourths of the related supply chain to lower cost suppliers in Asia. We also have significantly reduced our operating costs while increasing our global footprint.

                           But there's work left to do on all of these fronts, as well as new initiatives that we are just kicking off. Let me talk about each of these, as well as expected impacts and timing.

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                           First, at ATI we still carry significant fixed
                           manufacturing operations costs, largely driven by over-redundancy initially designed into our outsourcing model which is just now experiencing the volume ramp. In the third quarter these costs equaled 15% of ASI's sales. Over the next four quarters we will be taking these costs down on three fronts: reducing the redundancy, moving some of the ongoing operations to Asia, and outsourcing our Asyst Japan robotics manufacturing. In addition, what remains is the primary fixed cost that we can leverage with greater volume.

                           Also in the base business we are making steady progress transitioning the supply chain to lower cost suppliers, predominantly in Asia. We have opportunities to gain 7 to 10 points of margin over the next year through this continuing process.

                           Finally, we have other semi-variable costs such as inventory carrying costs, freight and other manufacturing costs which in fiscal Q3 accounted for more than 9% of sales. With the continuing transition to Selectron, we are on schedule to cut these costs in half over the next four quarters.

                           Putting this all together we're on track to increase gross margin into the mid-40% range which is in line with the last peak and this assumes no benefit from volume, value engineering of current products or contribution from Spartan which is a value engineered platform.

                           At Asyst Shinko cost reduction efforts have been ongoing but to date we have not looked substantially beyond Japan for the supply chain. At present more than 90% of our key parts are procured from Japanese suppliers at average costs similar to suppliers in North America. With our experience at ATI as a benchmark, we are confident that we can achieve average product cost reductions of greater than 10% through new sources of supply. Onsite labor is another significant component to product cost that represents an additional opportunity for savings.

                           Finally, we are addressing operating costs as we have for some time. Activities that have been announced, but they must be executed in phases, include focusing our Asyst Japan operation on its primary sales and service mission, integrating more of our activities with ASI and implementing end-of-life programs for certain legacy products.

                           It will be challenging to drive cost down during the upturn, but we remain committed to optimizing the business model for profitability throughout the cycle.

                           In aggregate we continue to march steadily toward a target model that will

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                           break even at $75 to $80 million of sales with a
                           50/50 mix of AMHS and other products. However, it's clear that our revenue will move well past this level before we've completed all of our work on margins. In fact, measured by our quarterly run rate we believe we're on a path to once again in the near future claim our place as the largest semiconductor and flat panel display automation company. If that trajectory continues, we also expect to generate substantial profits even before we have the business model fully optimized.

                           In conclusion, we're in a vital and growing market. Our market position is strong and getting stronger. We have products and expertise like no other company. With these elements in place we're committed to accelerating the execution of our total solution strategy and our other profit improvement initiatives so that we can deliver the profitability that is inherent in our business model.

                           That concludes our formal comments and now we'll be happy to take your questions. Operator?

Operator                   Thank you, sir. Ladies and gentlemen, at this time
                           we'll begin the question and answer session. If you
                           have a question, please press the star followed by
                           the one on your pushbutton phone. If you would like
                           to decline from the polling process, press the star
                           followed by the two. If you are using speaker
                           equipment, you will need to lift the handset before
                           pressing the numbers. One moment, please, for the
                           first question.

                           Our first question comes from Steve O'Rourke with Piper Jaffray. Please go ahead.

S. O'Rourke                Hi, good afternoon. With the guidance you gave, it
                           seems like we should be looking at gross margin in
                           the mid-20% range going forward. Is that a fair
                           estimate? At a much higher revenue level, how should
                           we look at gross margin going forward over the next
                           couple of quarters into 2004?

D. White                   I think the guidance we gave, Steve, was kind of
                           along the lines that in our ATI business right now
                           we're guiding 30% for the March quarter. We expect
                           that number to increase two to three points per
                           quarter, or let's say 10 points or so over the next
                           four quarters.

                           Similarly with ASI, our traditional gross margins in that business have been in the mid to low 20s. We expect that some of the actions that we're taking there are also going to improve that, roughly along the same lines I just mentioned as it relates to the ATI business.

                           I think the one exception that I'd hang out there though is the flat panel

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                           display aspect of the business. We consider that an
                           investment that we're making currently and so you should really be viewing that as incremental to the base business that we're establishing.

S. O'Rourke                I think you said $31 million of AMHS revenue was with
                           about 25% gross margin?

D. White                   That's right.

S. O'Rourke                How much of that was FPD AMHS if any?

D. White                   I would guess somewhere in the 10% range.

S. O'Rourke                Okay. And what is breakeven now?

D. White                   If you look at what we've guided in the October
                           quarter and you look at where we are right now I
                           think the good news for us is that we have a
                           significant ramp which is ahead of us. I think the
                           consequence of the ramp has perhaps delayed some of
                           our initiatives that we'd planned on by perhaps one
                           to two quarters. So our expectation right now is that
                           we would be roughly at a P&L cash flow breakeven
                           roughly by the June quarter.

S. O'Rourke                Okay and just one last question on the gross margin
                           front. You mentioned getting 30% gross margin in AMHS
                           expansions. What is so different from the initial
                           installation with respect to expansion and should we
                           anticipate this for the FPD expansion as well?

S. Schwartz                Steve, we get higher gross margin because we're first
                           ... we're getting some volume because we're repeating
                           the cars, the rails, the configuration and at the
                           same time the installation that we can do in the
                           first phase allows us to go more quickly in the
                           second phase. So very consistently the gross margin
                           on add-on phases is higher in just about every
                           project that we've done over the past few years.

                           We will expect the same kind of improvements in flat panel. Flat panel will be a little bit more rapid improvement because we are just now building the first flight, if you will, of cars and stockers for Gen 6.

S. O'Rourke                Fair enough. Thank you.

Operator                   Our next question comes from Vijay Rakesh with Berean
                           Capital. Please go ahead.

V. Rakesh                  My question was on the transfer of manufacturing from
                           Asyst Japan to

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                           Selectron. I was wondering if you could update on
                           what is going on and how do you expect gross margins at ASI to be impacted after the outsourcing?

D. White                   Did you say Asyst Japan?

V. Rakesh                  Yeah.

D. White                   You mean Asyst Shinko?

V. Rakesh                  Right.

D. White                   So the question is how do we expect Asyst Shinko's
                           gross margins to improve with outsourcing?

V. Rakesh                  Yeah, and if you could give us a time line, say by
                           end of 2004 where do you expect the gross margins to
                           be?

D. White                   Okay, I'm sorry. I understand the question better
                           now. When you said Asyst Japan I was thinking of our
                           sales and service operation there. As Steve mentioned
                           in our call, about 90% of what we procure of the
                           components that make up our current AMHS products,
                           those are sourced solely in Japan so we would
                           anticipate that over the next four to six quarters
                           we're going to be doing two things. One is
                           competitively bidding a larger piece of the supply
                           chain that we have in place today and concurrent with
                           that, relocating that into the Asia Pacific region.

                           So that will not happen overnight, but we think that we can get steady improvement over the next four to six quarters as we implement that.

                           Now let me add to that we do have an operation in Japan and we have talked about outsourcing those activities. That was initiated and that activity commenced at the end of December, so the beginning of this current quarter that we're in, but that's a separate outsourcing activity.

V. Rakesh                  And how do you think that would affect the gross
                           margins at ASI?

D. White                   Well, that's separate from ASI, so if I go back to
                           ASI, the expected impact of the supply chain changes
                           over the next four to six quarters we would expect
                           that to be at least greater than 10%, 10 points.

V. Rakesh                  Okay. Also for the March quarter I think you guided
                           revenues to about $100 million. Does that get you to
                           breakeven in the March quarter at all or do you think
                           it's the June quarter that you're looking for
                           breakeven?

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D. White                   I think my comment before was that we're probably
                           about a quarter, maybe two, behind where we want to be and some of that is really predicated by the fact that we are ramping the business and some of the things that we had anticipated having completed by this quarter are going to be delayed a little bit. But notwithstanding that we will complete them and we think we can be pretty close to cash breakeven by the June quarter.

V. Rakesh                  This is the last question. The loss contracts on AMHS
                           for FPDs that you mentioned, how long do you
                           anticipate that to continue? Is that only the initial
                           phase? And if you look at the margins on FPD how do
                           they compare to the semiconductor side?

D. White                   On the flat panel display business that we booked in
                           the quarter if you look at it, they each have a
                           couple of things that are probably you might say a
                           common thread between them. Either it's a brand new
                           account that we're penetrating or it's brand new
                           technology that we are developing and putting into
                           production so the latter of those we consider is kind
                           of nonrecurring. We would expect to gain from our
                           experience and we'd expect to cost reduce future
                           installations of the same thing. The former, which
                           has to do with new account penetrations and so forth,
                           sometimes that's the cost of getting into the
                           business, but the real opportunity for us is that
                           generally speaking every one of these flat panel
                           display installations usually goes through multiple
                           phases of volume ramp and it's our experience that
                           those second and third phases are where we get most
                           of our margin.

V. Rakesh                  But if you look at the margins on FPD was the semi
                           business pretty much the same?

D. White                   It generally has been when it's been repeat accounts
                           or it's been repeat technology.

V. Rakesh                  Okay, great. Thanks.

Operator                   Our next question comes from Jay Deahna with JP
                           Morgan. Please go ahead.

J. Deahna                  Thanks. Good afternoon. I hopped on the call a little
                           bit late. Can you explain what led to the adjustment
                           in the SG&A?

D. White                   Jay, this is David. Primarily there were some
                           expenses that in my judgment should have been accrued
                           in the prior years and prior quarters and so we took
                           those charges in this quarter.

J. Deahna                  Relating to what?

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D. White                   Related to various policies around accruals and so
                           forth so they should be nonrecurring.

J. Deahna                  Does that have something to do with tool
                           installations?

D. White                   No, no, not at all. Not at all, completely unrelated,
                           it's an SG&A type of expense.

J. Deahna                  Okay. And when you guys booked the flat panel display
                           orders that are now referred to as loss contracts,
                           did you know at the time that you were booking those
                           at zero gross margins?

D. White                   Not at all. Probably two things, Jay. One is that at
                           the time we booked it, particularly the large one
                           which was LG, that $26 million worth of business was
                           booked in October and we did not have knowledge of it
                           at that point in time. And I think the two things
                           that have updated us since then, and this is really
                           just in the last couple of weeks when we did a
                           project by project review there in Japan, is that at
                           the request of the customer we've accelerated the
                           delivery schedule for that program. So that's put
                           some strain in our ability to shorten our lead times,
                           but we're committed to doing so and that added some
                           cost. And the second piece is just the fact that it's
                           a new product line for us and so that also had costs
                           that had not been anticipated.

J. Deahna                  Because when you guys did your introductory remarks
                           you talked for about 15 minutes about a myriad of
                           different initiatives that you're going to actually
                           get in order to reduce costs and you articulated some
                           margin targets and some timeframes. As recently as
                           four or five months ago if you weren't able to
                           estimate what your margin structure was on orders
                           that you were bidding for, how does that give us
                           confidence that you can achieve these cost reduction
                           initiatives that you're talking about in the
                           timeframe that you're talking about?

D. White                   I think those are kind of two separate issues. As it
                           relates to the loss contract it really comes down to
                           two things. One is expediting which we are doing to
                           respond to the need of a customer. And secondly, the
                           fact that it's a development program and like any
                           development program if you've ever been around them
                           there are uncertainties. And whenever there are
                           uncertainties with new technology, development, etc.,
                           they can induce delays in a schedule and they can
                           induce cost overruns. And our belief is that we would
                           be better off incurring the cost overrun if that's
                           what it takes to meet a customer requirement or to
                           meet a market window.

J. Deahna                  What would the gross margin have been had there been
                           no expediting on

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                           that FPD contract?

S. Schwartz                Jay, this is Steve. We have a very good handle we
                           believe on all the silicon business. This is repeat.
                           We know how to build cars, we know how to do
                           installs, we have a very good sense for that. On the
                           flat panel the issue that we have is we absolutely
                           decided we're going to make an investment in this
                           business. We aggressively went after it. We knew what
                           the costs were of the first car that we built. We had
                           to make some estimates on what we thought the costs
                           were going to be for us to buy these things in some
                           volume. We didn't have a really thorough look at that
                           until after the end of the quarter when we went
                           through a review and we came up with the first part
                           of this, part of this first part of the project to
                           require us to incur a loss on the contract, an
                           investment we'd still make. We're looking at a $500
                           million market opportunity. We've invested a few
                           million dollars going after a very significant first
                           win.

                           We took our best estimate with all the information that we had when we were plowing ahead in early November capturing the business and building the first cars. We were diligent in the look at the business a couple of weeks ago and it caused us to incur a loss on the first phase.

J. Deahna                  Okay. And then the last question is going forward how
                           much of your margin expansion in flat panel will be
                           dependent upon pricing increases as opposed to cost
                           reductions?

D. White                   Jay, I think our anticipation would be that it's all
                           going to be cost reductions.

J. Deahna                  Okay. Thank you.

Operator                   Our next question comes from Bill Ong with American
                           Technology Research. Please go ahead.

B. Ong                     Yes, of the $80 million in AMHS orders in the
                           quarter, what's the average order size for the
                           quarter and what type of order size terms can you
                           expect over the next many quarters out? Thanks.

D. White                   I don't know the average size. Do you have any idea,
                           John?

J. Swenson                 There were 20 big projects in there, Bill, so that
                           would tell you that you probably would end up with
                           about a $4 or $5 million average per but what you've
                           actually got is several very large pieces of
                           business, LG being one of them, and then kind of
                           typical dribs and drabs of Phase 2 expansions and
                           upgrades and things like that where you'll get
                           anywhere from $400,000 to $1 million in a piece of
                           business.

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D. White                   Bill, just to keep it in perspective, semiconductor
                           fab is something on the order of $40 or $50 million of total AMHS. And what we're finding is that where we're participating is in the larger flat panel, those are in the $50 to $70 million kind of AMHS for those factories and it gets spread over 18 months maybe.

B. Ong                     Okay. Do you anticipate any type of $10 million type
                           of orders over the next several quarters out or are
                           most of them going to be typically in the mid-single
                           digit range as far as larger order size?

J. Swenson                 Bill, you know what, every quarter we tend to have at
                           least a $10 million order. That's kind of typical of
                           a Phase 1 project and we've been winning a lot of
                           those. So, yes, we would expect to have at least one
                           if not more.

B. Ong                     Okay, great. Thanks.

Operator                   Our next question comes from Stuart Muter with Adams,
                           Harkness & Hill. Please go ahead.

S. Muter                   Thank you and good afternoon. Impressive bookings.
                           Just back to the gross margins, maybe asking some of
                           the questions a different way. What timeframe do you
                           think we're looking at to get Asyst Shinko gross
                           margins to say 20%?

D. White                   On the aggregate?

S. Muter                   Yeah.

D. White                   I think the aggregate will greatly depend upon the
                           mix of flat panel display business. The base business
                           I think as we'd talked about and was in the press
                           release is already in the mid-20s and we think we can
                           improve upon that, Stuart. So the question really
                           comes down to flat panel display. And so as we gain
                           experience with Gen 6 installs, the new Gen 5
                           overhead transport we've just started on, those are
                           going to get elevated up basically to the same level
                           as our base business and we would expect that to be
                           somewhere in the order of fourth quarter.

S. Muter                   Okay and a question for Steve. How's the feedback on
                           the Spartan platform for both tool front ends and
                           sorters?

S. Schwartz                Stuart, we got acceptance of the product and repeat
                           order already so we're really pleased with the
                           progress. We have a build-in with a bunch of them on
                           the floor and we continue to build and get acceptance
                           so we're really pleased

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                           with the progress. The challenge will be to put this
                           into the supply chain as well.

S. Muter                   Okay. And the outlook for that looks good in terms of
                           gross margins and the ability to ramp?

S. Schwartz                Still on schedule.

S. Muter                   Okay. Thank you.

Operator                   Our next question comes from Timothy Arcuri with
                           Deutsche Bank Securities. Please go ahead.

P. Yanamandra              Hi, this is actually Padma Yanamandra for Tim Arcuri.
                           I just had a couple questions. How should we look at
                           incremental gross margin and operating margin once
                           you guys hit breakeven? And what is your goal for
                           flat panel as a percentage of your overall business?
                           And finally, how should we be looking at your tax
                           rate in 2004?

D. White                   Okay, so gross margin. What was the first one again?

P. Yanamandra              The incremental gross margin and operating margin.

D. White                   Okay, so if you look at the incremental margin on the
                           ATI business, we would expect the incremental margin
                           to be north of 40%.

P. Yanamandra              And on an operating margin basis?

D. White                   And most of that going into operating margin, so
                           probably 85% of that going to operating margin.

P. Yanamandra              Okay. And what about for Asyst Shinko?

D. White                   Asyst Shinko is traditionally holding, again aside
                           from the flat panel display, has been somewhere in
                           the mid-20s. And most of their costs are in the
                           supply chain and so the incremental today with no
                           other changes, you'd probably be looking at maybe
                           30%-35% incremental would go to the bottom. But with
                           changes in the supply chain and cost reduction, we
                           would expect that number to be higher.

P. Yanamandra              Okay. And what are you targeting for flat panel as a
                           total percent of your business?

S. Schwartz                When we look at the market opportunity it's somewhere
                           in the 20% to 25%

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                           of our total served market so a reasonable target
                           would be somewhere in that range, 20% to 25% of our total business.

P. Yanamandra              Okay. And finally, what should I be looking at as a
                           tax rate for 2004?

D. White                   42%-43% at ASI and zero for ATI.

P. Yanamandra              Alright. Thank you.

Operator                   Our next question comes from Mark Fitzgerald with
                           Banc of America Securities. Please go ahead.

M. Fitzgerald              On the FPD business is there such a thing as a
                           standard product for these plants given all the
                           different glass sizes?

D. White                   Mark, if you look at the glass sizes they generally
                           will quote a Gen 5 within a range and so even though
                           there are some differences between one Gen 5 plant
                           and another, generally speaking they're not
                           substantial enough that it requires re-engineering of
                           the tool. Usually it's fixturing.

S. Schwartz                Mark, at the process tool level of course at the
                           transport level, very small.

M. Fitzgerald              So you can get what is basically a standard product
                           like you have in semiconductor wafer manufacturing?

S. Schwartz                Correct.

M. Fitzgerald              So you don't view this as an issue in terms of
                           hitting gross margins going forward?

S. Schwartz                No.

M. Fitzgerald              Okay. And then on the ATI business can you just give
                           me a sense where we are with Solectron in terms of
                           outsourcing and their ability to hit ramps and
                           particularly adjust any sort of changes that come
                           along during the course of building product?

S. Schwartz                Yeah, Mark, we're ramping the factory for sure. We
                           went up 30%. We're pushing them to do 50% ramp this
                           quarter. We're meeting revenue. We've got delivery
                           issues for certain products for certain customers at
                           certain times, but all hands are on deck and we're
                           making good progress. We won't miss any of the
                           numbers. We are pushing the products through the
                           factory right now, but things are going well to meet
                           the current ramp.

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M. Fitzgerald              Okay. Thank you.

Operator                   Our next question comes from Brett Hodess with
                           Merrill Lynch. Please go ahead.

B. Hodess                  Good afternoon. I was just wondering you know if you
                           look across the businesses what the visibility now is
                           for the orders over the next quarter or so, do you
                           think that you'll continue to build backlog through
                           the March quarter or would the big run up that we had
                           in the December quarter, should we expect that to
                           come down a bit?

D. White                   Brett, we won't guide the overall booking, but to
                           give you a sense, things are still pretty robust.
                           Just to give you a sense, in the core ATI business in
                           January we booked 60% of what we booked all last
                           quarter, so the order patterns feel are pretty strong
                           across the business and we'd anticipate that the
                           backlog will build.

B. Hodess                  Very good. Thank you.

Operator                   Our next question comes from Kevin Vassily with
                           Susquehanna Financial Group. Please go ahead.

K. Vassily                 If you guys already broke this out, sorry for asking
                           again, but going through my notes I didn't see it.
                           Did you give a split on the mix between 200
                           millimeter and 300 millimeter business at each of
                           your businesses, the ATI business and at Asyst
                           Shinko.

D. White                   Just aggregate.

K. Vassily                 Just agg. Can you break that out for us?

D. White                   Don't have that here with me.

K. Vassily                 Okay, I can get that offline then from you. Thanks.

D. White                   Sure, we'd be glad to do that.

Operator                   Our next question comes from Steve O'Rourke with
                           Piper Jaffray. Please go ahead.

S. O'Rourke                Hi, just a couple of follow up questions here. How
                           should we be looking at both R&D and SG&A trending
                           out into '04?

D. White                   Trending out into our fiscal 2005?

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S. O'Rourke                Correct.

D. White                   Our guidance would be that it's going to go down
                           sequentially quarter-over-quarter over the next four.

S. O'Rourke                Okay. And I think you commented at least in some of
                           the written remarks about some increased R&D due to
                           Spartan and AMHS. Should we expect that to fall off?
                           Was that sort of a one time thing in the quarter?

D. White                   Yeah, that'll fall off, Steve. Part of this, and this
                           goes back to the comment I made earlier, in the
                           course of ramping the ASI business they were really
                           at capacity in terms of what business they could
                           undertake and so our transition plan for our overhead
                           conveyor system really has gotten delayed by about a
                           quarter. So we'll get that back on track and we
                           expect those costs to really get absorbed by ASI and
                           become just a basic part of their R&D expense run
                           rate.

S. O'Rourke                And what was headcount at the end of the quarter?

J. Swenson                 540 in ATI, Steve, and about 260 at Asyst Shinko.

S. O'Rourke                Thank you.

Operator                   Our next question comes from Theodore O'Neill with AG
                           Edwards. Please go ahead.

T. O'Neill                 Thanks very much. One of your competitors has been
                           out saying that looking across the product line, the
                           ones that are unprofitable at the operating margin
                           basis they're talking about exiting those businesses.
                           And given the low level of profitability in one or
                           more of the segments that you're in, have you given
                           any thought to exiting some of these areas?

                           And secondly, what level of gross profit margin do I need to assume in the next quarter in order to get to your breakeven? Thanks.

S. Schwartz                Theodore, this is Steve. About the products that are
                           unprofitable we're out of most of those already. The
                           only products that are significantly lower gross
                           margin, the volume is low, it runs a few million
                           dollars per quarter and that's where the Spartan
                           product will take over. So we have next generation
                           products coming in to replace the existing sorter and
                           the existing portal, the Spartan will add
                           profitability back to those businesses. Any things
                           that weren't profitable we exited those businesses
                           over the past few years.

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T. O'Neill                 And then what sort of gross profit margin do I need
                           to assume to get to breakeven for the next quarter?

D. White                   We're really not guiding the June quarter anything
                           other than what I indicated earlier which would be we
                           expect a P&L cash flow breakeven by that time period.

T. O'Neill                 Cash flow breakeven, okay. Thanks very much.

Operator                   Our next question comes from Timothy Arcuri with
                           Deutsche Bank Securities. Please go ahead.

P.Yanamandra               This is Padma Yanamandra again for Tim Arcuri. Just a
                           quick follow up. When do you expect the zero percent
                           gross margin business to be complete? Is that a 12 to
                           18 month contract?

D. White                   About three quarters.

P. Yanamandra              So we should expect to carry this forward another
                           three quarters?

D. White                   Somewhere in that area, yeah.

P. Yanamandra              Okay, thank you.

Operator                   Mr. Schwartz, there are no further questions. Please
                           continue with your closing remarks.

S. Schwartz                Thank you, operator. Thanks, everyone, for joining us
                           on the call today. We believe we have an enormous
                           opportunity here in a new market, it's being layered
                           on top of a very successful and growing semiconductor
                           automation business. We appreciate your participation
                           and will be available for the rest of the day to take
                           your follow up questions. Thank you.

Operator                   Ladies and gentlemen, this concludes the Asyst
                           Technologies' third quarter 2004 financial results
                           conference call. If you would like to listen to a
                           replay of today's conference, you may dial
                           303-590-3000 and enter the access number of 567319.

                           Thank you for participating. You may disconnect.

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