LEVEL ONE COMMUNICATIONS INC /CA/ (CIK 908985)
Form 10-Q
period 1998-03-29
filed 1998-05-13

FORM 10-Q

                      SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                            Washington, D.C. 20549

(Mark one)
[X] QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE SECURITIES
EXCHANGE
ACT OF 1934

                 For the quarterly period ended March 29, 1998

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

                         Yes X  No _______

The number of Common Shares of the registrant outstanding on May 11, 1998, was 31,012,591.

                                     INDEX


Part I.                FINANCIAL INFORMATION                      PAGE

Item 1.                Financial Statements

                               Consolidated Balance Sheets as of March
                               29, 1998, and December 28,
1997
3
                               Consolidated Statements of Income
                               for the Three Months Ended March 29,
                               1998, and March 30,
1997                             4
                               Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows
                               for the Three Months Ended March 29,
                               1998, and March 30,
1997                             5
                               Notes to Financial
Statements                       6

Item 2.                   Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial
                          Condition and Results of
Operations
8

PART II.               OTHER INFORMATION

Item 1.                Legal
Proceedings                                             14

Item 2.                Changes in
Securities                                        15

Item 6.                Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K                   15

Signatures                                                            S-1

                                                  LEVEL ONE COMMUNICATIONS,
INC.
                                                    CONSOLIDATED BALANCE
SHEETS
                                               March 29, 1998, and December
28, 1997
(IN THOUSANDS, EXCEPT SHARE AMOUNTS)


 March 29, 1998               December 28, 1997


      (Unaudited)
ASSETS
     Current Assets:
        Cash and cash equivalents                                  $
20,879                   $    25,234
         Short-term investments
103,164                       112,560
         Trade Accounts receivable, net of allowance
           for doubtful accounts of $493 and $343
           for 1998 and 1997, respectively
32,549                          30,079
         Other
receivables
1,084                            2,473

Inventories
28,487                          26,118
         Other current
assets
6,906                            6,552
                  Total current
assets
193,069                        203,016
          Property and equipment, net
34,811                          31,795
          Long-term investments
38,186                          21,559
          Foundry
deposits
16,781                          14,000
          Other
assets
5,496                            7,327
                   Total assets
$         288,343                   $  277,697

LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY
     Current Liabilities:
         Current portion of capital lease obligations    $
1,205                    $        1,201
         Accounts
payable
20,692                            20,614
         Accrued payroll
costs
3,791                              4,591
         Other accrued
liabilities
13,213                             10,371
                   Total current
liabilities
38,901                             36,777
         Convertible subordinated notes
115,000                           115,000
         Capital lease obligations, less current portion
1,903                               2,175
         Deferred lease
expense
259                                  300
                   Total
liabilities
156,063                            154,252
     Shareholders' Equity:
          Common Stock, no par value
93,220                              91,897
              Authorized - 236,250,000 shares
              Outstanding - 30,924,472 and 30,750,701
                      shares for 1998 and 1997, respectively
           Retained
earnings
39,060                             31,548
                    Total shareholders' equity
132,280                            123,445
      Total liabilities and shareholders' equity               $
288,343                       $  277,697
         THE ACCOMPANYING NOTES ARE AN INTEGRAL PART OF THESE
STATEMENTS.

                                                  LEVEL ONE COMMUNICATIONS,
INC.
                                               CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF
INCOME
                                                March 29, 1998, and March 30,
1997
                                                            (Unaudited)
(IN THOUSANDS, EXCEPT PER SHARE AMOUNTS)


         Three Months Ended
                                                                    MARCH 29,
1998                    MARCH 30, 1997
  Revenues                                                       $
56,607                $           30,107
  Cost  of sales
23,491                            12,900
            Gross margin
33,116                            17,207
  Research & development
10,542                             6,341
  Sales & marketing
8,701                             4,299
  General & administrative
3,462                             1,802
            Total operating expenses
22,705                            12,442
  Operating income
10,411                             4,765
   Interest
income
2,123                               478
   Interest (expense)
(1,347)                             (162)
   Other
income
23                                50
   Income before provision for income taxes
11,210                             5,131
   Provision for income taxes
3,699                             1,674
   Net income
$             7,511               $             3,457
   Basic earnings per share                                 $
0.24                $             0.12
   Diluted earnings per share                              $
0.22                $             0.11

 THE ACCOMPANYING NOTES ARE AN INTEGRAL PART OF THESE STATEMENTS.

                                             LEVEL ONE COMMUNICATIONS, INC.
                                          CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH
FLOWS


    For Three Months Ended
   (IN THOUSANDS)                                 March 29,
1998                      March 30, 1997
Cash flows from operating activities:
     Net income                                               $
7,511               $          3,457
     Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash
             provided by operating activities:
                   Depreciation and amortization
3,439                         2,153
     Changes in assets and liabilities:
                   Trade receivables
(2,470)                       (1,759)
                   Other receivables
1,389                              0
                   Inventories
(2,369)                         (221)
                   Deferred income tax benefit
-                             -
                   Prepaid expenses
(433)                           322
                   Accounts payable and accrued liabilities
2,120                         2,659
                   Deferred lease expense
(41)                             -
          Net cash provided by operating activities
9,146                         6,611
Cash flows from investing activities:
          Purchase of short-term investments
(19,726)                      (19,410)
          Proceeds from sales and maturities of short term investments


    29,122                        10,948
          Purchase of long-term investments
(20,511)                       (5,940)
          Proceeds from sales and maturities of long term investments


     3,884                         7,170
          Capital expenditures
(6,123)                       (4,132)
          Payments for related party notes receivable
-                             -
          Payments for foundry deposits and other assets


   (1,203)                          (32)
                Net cash provided by (used in) investing

activities
(14,557)                      (11,396)
Cash flows from financing activities:
           Net principal payments under capital lease obligations


     (268)                         (292)
           Proceeds from issuance of stock, net of
               repurchases and costs of issuance


     1,324                         1,236
                 Net cash provided by (used in) financing

activities
1,056                           944
Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents


   (4,355)                       (3,841)
Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period
25,234                        20,251
Cash and cash equivalents at end of period  $           20,879
$           16,410
Supplementary disclosure of cash and noncash transactions
          Cash payments for:
                        Interest
$          70            $              162
                        Income taxes
435                           905

 THE ACCOMPANYING NOTES ARE AN INTEGRAL PART OF THESE STATEMENTS.

                    LEVEL ONE COMMUNICATIONS, INCORPORATED

                   NOTES TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (UNAUDITED)






NOTE 1 - BASIS OF PRESENTATION

The   accompanying   unaudited  financial  statements  have  been  prepared
in
accordance with generally  accepted accounting principles for interim
financial
information and with the instructions to Form 10-Q and Article 10 of
Regulation
S-X.  Accordingly, they do not  include  all  of  the information and
footnotes
required  by generally accepted accounting principles  for  complete
financial
statements.   In  the  opinion  of  management,  all adjustments (consisting
of
normal recurring accruals) considered necessary for  a  fair  presentation
have
been  included.  Operating results for the three month period ended  March
29,
1998, are  not  necessarily  indicative of the results that may be expected
for
the year ending December 27, 1998.   The information reported in this Form
10-Q
should  be  read in conjunction with the  financial  statements  and
footnotes
contained in  the  Company's  Form  10-K filed with the Securities and
Exchange
Commission for the year ended December  28,  1997,  and subsequent filings
with
the Securities and Exchange Commission.

All share and per share numbers in this Report reflect  the effect of a
3-for-2
stock split effective on March 30, 1998.


NOTE 2 - COMPREHENSIVE INCOME

On  December  29,  1997, the Company adopted Statement of Financial
Accounting
Standards No. 130, "Reporting Comprehensive Income" (SFAS 130).  This
statement
establishes standards for the reporting and display of comprehensive income
and
its components in the financial statements.  Comprehensive income is defined
as
the change in equity of a business enterprise during a period from
transactions
and other events and  circumstances  from  nonowner  sources.  For the
Company,
comprehensive income includes net income reported on the  income  statement
and
changes  in the fair value of its available-for-sale securities reported  as
a
separate component  of shareholders' equity.  The Company's total
comprehensive
income for the period  was  $7,530  million  and $3,469 million as of March
29,
1998 and March 30, 1997, respectively.


NOTE 3 - EARNINGS PER SHARE

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



                       PER SHARE AMOUNT
   (IN THOUSANDS, EXCEPT EARNINGS PER SHARE)
INCOME                       SHARES
                                  Net income
        March 29, 1998                           $   7,511
        March 30, 1997                               3,457
              BASIC EPS: income available to
                         common shareholders
        March 29, 1998                                         $
7,511                30,817          $         0.24
        March 30, 1997
3,457                29,984                    0.12
              Effect of dilutive securities:
                     Convertible debentures:
        March 29, 1998                                        $
854                 4,313
        March 30, 1997

-                     -
                                    Options:
        March 29,
1998                                                                    2,213
                                                                        -
        March 30,
1997                                                                    1,760
                                                                        -
     DILUTED EPS: income available to common
       stockholders plus assumed conversions
        March 29, 1998                                         $
8,365                37,343          $         0.22
        March 30, 1997
3,457                31,744                    0.11




NOTE 4 - INVENTORIES

Inventories are stated at the lower of cost (first in, first out) or market
and
include materials, labor and manufacturing overhead costs. Inventories as of March 29, 1998 and December 28, 1997 consist of:

(IN THOUSANDS)                      MARCH 29, 1998
DECEMBER
28, 1997
Raw materials                                  $
15,390                           $    8,829
Work-in-process
7,032                             13,135
Finished goods
6,065                               4,154
     Total inventories                         $
28,487                           $  26,118

NOTE 5 - PROPERTY AND EQUIPMENT

Property and equipment are recorded at cost and depreciation is provided on a straight-line basis, they are comprised of the following:

(IN THOUSANDS)                                MARCH 29, 1998
DECEMBER 28, 1997
Machinery and equipment                            $
37,112                          $  36,222
Furniture and fixtures
23,020                             18,066
Leasehold improvements
3,662                              3,383

63,794                             57,671
Less-Accumulated depreciation
(28,983)                           (25,876)
                                                   $
34,811                          $  31,795



NOTE 6 - LONG-TERM DEBT

The Company sold $115 million of 4% convertible subordinated notes during
1997.
The  notes  will mature on September 1, 2004.  Unless  previously  redeemed
or
repurchased,  the  notes  are  convertible  at  any  time  through the close
of
business  on  the final maturity date of the notes, into common  stock  of
the
Company, at a conversion  price  of $26.67 per share.  Interest on the notes
is
payable semi-annually, commencing March 1, 1998.  Total interest accrued on
the
convertible subordinated notes at March 29, 1998 was approximately $353,000.

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

The following  information  should  be  read  in conjunction with the
unaudited
interim financial statements and the notes thereto  included  in Item 1 of
this
Quarterly  Report  on  Form 10-Q, the Management's Discussion and  Analysis
of
Financial Condition and  Results  of Operations contained in the Company's
Form
10-K for the period ended December  28,  1997  filed  with  the  Securities
and
Exchange  Commission  on  March 27, 1998, and any subsequent filings  with
the
Securities and Exchange Commission.

This  report  contains  forward-looking   statements  that  involve  risks
and
uncertainties. The statements contained in  this  report  that  are  not
purely
historical are forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section  27A
of
the  Securities  Act of 1933 and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act
of
1934,  including  without   limitation   statements   regarding  the
Company's
expectations,  beliefs,  intentions  or strategies regarding  the  future.
All
forward-looking statements included in  this  document are based on
information
available  to  the  Company  on the date hereof, and  the  Company  assumes
no
obligation to update any such forward-looking statements.  The Company's
actual
results could differ materially from those anticipated in these
forward-looking
statements.   See "Factors that May Affect Future Results".


REVENUES

Revenues increased 88% to $56.6  million  in the first quarter of 1998
compared
to  revenues  of  $30.1  million for the same quarter  of  1997.
Sequentially,
revenues increased by 11%  from  $51.1  million  in the fourth quarter of
1997.
During  the  quarter,  no  single customer represented  10%  of  revenues.
The
increased  revenues reflect the  substantial  unit  sales  growth  due  to
the
continued market  acceptance  of  the Company's products in both the
networking
and transmission markets, along with increases in the Company's customer base.

International revenues were $21.2 million  or  37.5% and $10.8 million or
36.0%
of  revenues,  respectively,  for  the  first  quarter   of   1998   and
1997,
respectively.   All  sales are denominated in U.S. dollars, thereby
eliminating
the impact of foreign currency exchange rate fluctuations on revenues.


GROSS MARGIN

Product gross margin is  affected by several factors, including average
selling
prices, the mix between older  and  newer products, test equipment
utilization,
manufacturing yields, timing of cost  reductions and the mix between direct
and
distributor sales.  Margins on domestic  and  international  sales are
similar.
At 58.5%, gross product margins for the first quarter of 1998  were flat to
the
fourth  quarter of 1997 and up from 57.1% for the first quarter of  1997.
The
margin increases  from  the first quarter of 1997 are due to the impact of
cost
reductions that were implemented during 1997.


RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT

Research and development  expenses  were  $10.5 million or 18.6% of revenues
in
the first quarter of 1998 versus $6.3 million  or  21.1%  of   revenues  in
the
first  quarter of 1997. The dollar increase in research and development
expense
is due to  additions  to the Company's design engineering staff and related
new
product design expenses.


SALES AND MARKETING

Sales and marketing expenses  were  $8.7  million  or  15.4% of revenues in
the
first  quarter of 1998 versus $4.3 million or 14.3% of revenues  in  the
first
quarter  of  1997.   The  increased  expenditures are primarily attributable
to
increased sales commissions along with the expansion of the Company's sales
and
marketing staffs and their related costs.


GENERAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE

In the first quarter of 1998, general  and  administrative  expenses  were
$3.5
million or 6.1% of revenues versus $1.8 million or 6.0% of revenues in the
same
period of 1997. The increased expenses are primarily attributable to
additional
staffing associated with the Company's growth.


LIQUIDITY AND CAPITAL RESOURCES

The Company's principal sources of liquidity as of March 29, 1998, consisted
of
$124.0  million  of cash, cash equivalents and short-term investments, and
$10
million available  under  the Company's revolving line of credit.  At March
29,
1998,  the  Company had no outstanding  balance  under  this  line  of
credit.
Working capital as of March 29, 1998, was $154.2 million.

During the first  three  months  of 1998, the Company generated $9.1 million
of
cash from operating activities, as  compared to $6.6 million in the same
period
in 1997. In both years, net cash generated  from  operations  during the
period
was  primarily due to net income before depreciation and amortization
expense.
This cash  generated  was  offset  by  the  net  changes  during the period
for
inventories, accounts receivable, and accounts payable  These  changes  are
due
primarily  to  expansion of the Company's business, and do not reflect
material
changes in the way  the  Company  conducts  operations.  The Company spent
$6.1
million  for  capital  expenditures during the first three months  of  1998
as
compared to $4.1 million for the same period of 1997.


FACTORS THAT MAY AFFECT FUTURE RESULTS

The following factors may have an impact on the Company's business:


MANUFACTURING RISKS

The Company does not manufacture  the silicon wafers used for its products.
The
Company's wafers are manufactured by  foundries  located  in the United
States,
Europe and Asia. The Company depends upon these suppliers to  produce wafers
at
acceptable yields and to deliver them in a timely manner at competitive
prices.
The  Company may sustain an adverse impact on operating results  from
problems
with  the  cost,  timeliness,  yield  and  quality  of  wafer  deliveries
from
suppliers.  From time to time, the available industry-wide foundry capacity
can
fluctuate significantly.  During periods of constrained supply, the Company
may
experience difficulty in securing  an  adequate  supply  of  wafers, and/or
its
suppliers may increase wafer prices. The Company's operating results  depend
in
substantial  part on its ability to maintain or increase the capacity
available
from its existing  or  new foundries. In 1994 and 1995, the Company
experienced
increased costs and delays  in  customer  shipments  as  a  result of a
foundry
reducing shipments to the Company without prior notice, requiring  the
Company
to  transfer  products to a new foundry. Although the Company believes that
it
has planned to meet customer demand, there can be no assurances that
unforeseen
demand, supplier interruptions or other changes will not have a material
impact
on the Company's business.

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


INTENSE COMPETITION

The  semiconductor industry is intensely competitive. The Company's
competition
consists  of  semiconductor companies and semiconductor divisions of
vertically
integrated  companies.   In   the   telecom  market,  the  Company's
principal
competitors are Rockwell International,  Inc.,  Crystal  Semiconductor, Inc.
(a
subsidiary  of  Cirrus  Logic,  Inc.) ("Crystal"), Dallas Semiconductor,
Inc.,
Lucent Technologies Inc. ("Lucent"),  PMC-Sierra  Inc.  and Siemens A.G. In
the
networking  market,  the  Company's  principal competitors are  Advanced
Micro
Devices, Inc., Broadcom Corporation, Crystal, Integrated Circuit Systems,
Inc.,
Lucent,  Micro  Linear  Corp.,  National  Semiconductor   Corporation,
Quality
Semiconductor,   Inc.,   Seeq   Technologies,   Inc.   and  Texas
Instruments,
Incorporated.  Many  of  these  competitors  have  longer operating
histories,
greater  name recognition, access to larger customer  bases  and
significantly
greater financial  and  other  resources  than the Company with which to
pursue
engineering, manufacturing, marketing and distribution of products.

The ability of the Company to compete successfully in the rapidly evolving
area
of  high  performance integrated circuit technology  depends  on  factors
both
within and  outside  of  the  Company's  control. Such factors include,
without
limitation, success in designing and manufacturing  new  products,
implementing
new technologies, intellectual property programs, product quality,
reliability,
price, efficiency of production, and general economic conditions.  There  is
no
assurance that the Company will be able to compete successfully against
current
and  future  competitors.  Increased  competition  may result in price
erosion,
reduced  gross  margins  and loss of market share, any  of  which  may  have
a
material adverse effect on  the  Company's  business,  financial  condition
and
results of operations.


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


INCREASED LEVERAGE

As  a  result  of  the  Company's sale in August and September 1997 of  its
4%
Convertible Subordinated Notes due 2004 (the "Notes"), the Company has
incurred
approximately $115.0 million  in  additional  indebtedness  which increases
the
ratio of its long-term debt to its total capitalization from  3.0%, at June
29,
1997,  to 47.0%, at March 29, 1998. This increased leverage will  increase
the
Company's  interest expense substantially. The degree to which the Company
will
be leveraged  could adversely affect the Company's ability to obtain
additional
financing for working capital, acquisitions or other purposes and could make
it
more vulnerable  to economic downturns and competitive pressures. The
Company's
increased leverage  could also adversely affect its liquidity, as a
substantial
portion of available  cash  from operations may have to be applied to meet
debt
service requirements and, in  the  event of a cash shortfall, the Company
could
be forced to reduce other expenditures  and/or forego potential acquisitions
to
be able to meet such requirements.


VOLATILITY OF NOTES AND STOCK PRICE

Economic and other external factors, many  of  which  are beyond the control
of
the Company, may have a significant impact on the Company's business and on
the
market price of its Notes and the Common Stock. Such factors  include,
without
limitation,  fluctuations in product revenues and net income of the Company
or
its competitors,  shortfalls  in  the  Company's  operating results from
levels
forecast  by  securities analysts, announcements concerning  the  Company,
its
competitors or  customers,  announcements  of  technological innovations by
the
Company, its competitors or its customers, the introduction  of new products
or
changes  in  product  pricing policies by the Company, its competitors  or
its
customers, market conditions  in  the  industry  and  the  general state of
the
securities  market. In addition, the stock prices of many technology
companies
fluctuate significantly  for  reasons that may be unrelated or
disproportionate
to  operating  results.  These  fluctuations,  as  well  as  general
economic,
political and market conditions such as recession or international
instability,
may adversely affect the market price  of  the  Company's  Notes and the
Common
Stock.


YEAR 2000 COMPLIANCE

The Company has reviewed its exposure to risks that could be caused if
internal
computer  systems  do not correctly recognize date information  when  the
year
changes to 2000.  Management believes that the likelihood of a material
adverse
impact due to problems  with  internal systems or products sold to customers
is
remote and expects that the cost  of  remedying internal systems that
currently
cannot process the date change will not have a material effect on the
Company's
financial position or overall trends in  results of operations.  The Company
is
also contacting critical suppliers of products  and  services to determine
that
the supplier's operations and the products and services  they  provide are
year
2000  compliant.  There can be no assurance that another company's  failure
to
ensure year 2000 capability would not have an adverse effect on the Company.



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

ITEM 2.      CHANGES IN SECURITIES

On  March 3, 1998, the Company's Certificate of Incorporation  was  amended
to
effect  a  3-for-2 stock split to shareholders of record on March 9, 1998.
The
split was effective March 30, 1998.



ITEM 6.  EXHIBITS AND REPORTS ON FORM 8-K

(a)Exhibits - 27.1--Financial Data Schedule, March 29, 1998

      (b)  Reports on Form 8-K - None

                                  SIGNATURES


Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the Registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned thereunto duly authorized.

   LEVEL ONE COMMUNICATIONS, INCORPORATED



Date: May 10, 1998 By: /S/ ROBERT S. PEPPER
   Robert S. Pepper, Ph.D.
   Chairman of the Board of Directors,
   President and Chief Executive Officer
   (Principal Executive Officer)


Date: May 10, 1998 By:   /S/ JOHN KEHOE  John Kehoe
   Senior Vice President and Chief
   Financial Officer
   (Principal Financial Officer)

[DATE]

[ARTICLE] 5
THIS SCHEDULE CONTAINS SUMMARY FINANCIAL INFORMATION EXTRACTED
FROM FINANCIAL
STATEMENTS FOR THE PERIOD ENDED MARCH 29, 1998, AND IS QUALIFIED IN ITS ENTIRETY BY REFERENCE TO SUCH FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.
[MULTIPLIER] 1,000
[CAPTION]
[PERIOD-TYPE] 3-MOS
[CAPTION]
[FISCAL-YEAR-END]          DEC-29,1997
[CAPTION]
[PERIOD-END]                         MAR-29-1998
[CASH]                    20,879
[SECURITIES]                                103,164
[RECEIVABLES]                    33,042
[ALLOWANCES]                         493
[INVENTORY]                                  28,487
[CURRENT-ASSETS]                  193,069
[PP&E]                    34,811
[DEPRECIATION]                    28,983
[TOTAL-ASSETS]                  288,343
[CURRENT-LIABILITIES]                    38,901
[BONDS]                   115,000
[PREFERRED-MANDATORY]                             0
[PREFERRED]                                                          0
[COMMON]                    93,220
[OTHER-SE]                    39,060
[TOTAL-LIABILITY-AND-EQUITY]          288,343
[SALES]                     56,607
[TOTAL-REVENUES]                     56,607
[CGS]                     23,491
[TOTAL-COSTS]                     23,491
[OTHER-EXPENSES]                     22,705
[LOSS-PROVISION]                             0
[INTEREST-EXPENSE]                       1,347
[INCOME-PRETAX]                     11,210
[INCOME-TAX]                      3,669
[INCOME-CONTINUING]                      7,511
[DISCONTINUED]                             0
[EXTRAORDINARY]                             0
[CHANGES]                             0
[NET-INCOME]                      7,511
[EPS-PRIMARY]           ---
[EPS-DILUTED]                        .22