Immediate Release
Contact
Patrick Nolan
248.754.0884

BorgWarner Provides Business Update Related to COVID-19

Auburn Hills, Michigan, March 24 2020 BorgWarner Inc. (NYSE: BWA) (the “Company”) acknowledged that many original equipment manufacturer (“OEM”) customers have announced that they have suspended or will suspend manufacturing operations, particularly in North America and Europe, on a temporary basis due to market conditions and matters associated with COVID-19/coronavirus. Significant reductions in automotive or truck production would have an adverse effect on the Company’s sales to OEMs in these regions, which comprised approximately 70% of the Company’s total sales in 2019. The temporary suspensions and other reductions in OEM production related to COVID-19/coronavirus are leading the Company to temporarily suspend operations at certain of the Company’s manufacturing and assembly facilities. Although the Company is currently unable to reasonably estimate the impact of this situation on its 2020 outlook due to the heightened level of uncertainty, the Company does expect this situation to have a material impact on its 2020 financial performance and is in the process of reassessing its full-year financial guidance.  The Company plans to provide an update to its outlook on its first quarter earnings call scheduled for May 6, 2020.

As of March 20, 2020, the Company had liquidity of approximately $2,320 million, comprised of cash balances of approximately $820 million and an undrawn revolving credit facility of $1,500 million.  The Company is in full compliance with its covenants under the revolving credit facility and has full access to its undrawn revolving credit facility.  The Company noted that its total debt maturities through the end of 2021 are $250 million. Given its strong liquidity position, the Company believes it would have sufficient liquidity and maintain compliance with all covenants throughout the year even in an environment with significantly lower OEM production volumes.

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BorgWarner Inc. (NYSE: BWA) is a global product leader in clean and efficient technology solutions for combustion, hybrid and electric vehicles. With manufacturing and technical facilities in 67 locations in 19 countries, the company employs approximately 29,000 worldwide. For more information, please visit borgwarner.com.

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Forward-Looking Statements

Statements in this press release may constitute forward-looking statements as contemplated by the 1995 Private Securities Litigation Reform Act that are based on management’s current outlook, expectations, estimates and projections. Words such as “anticipates,” “believes,” “continues,” “could,” “designed,” “effect,” “estimates,” “evaluates,” “expects,” “forecasts,” “goal,” “guidance,” “initiative,” “intends,” “may,” “outlook,” “plans,” “potential,” “predicts,” “project,” “pursue,” “seek,” “should,” “target,” “when,” “will,” “would,” and variations of such words and similar expressions are intended to identify such forward-looking statements. Forward-looking statements are not guarantees of performance, and the Company’s actual results may differ materially from those expressed, projected or implied in or by the forward-looking statements. These risks and uncertainties, among others, include: uncertainties regarding the extent and duration of impacts of matters associated with COVID-19/coronavirus; our dependence on automotive and truck production, both of which are highly cyclical; our reliance on major OEM customers; commodities availability and pricing; supply disruptions; fluctuations in interest rates and foreign currency exchange rates; availability of credit; our dependence on key management; our dependence on information systems; the uncertainty of the global economic environment; the outcome of existing or any future legal proceedings, including litigation with respect to various claims; future changes in laws and regulations, including, by way of example, tariffs, in the countries in which we operate; and other risks noted in reports that we file with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including Item 1A, “Risk Factors” in our most recently filed Annual Report on Form 10-K. We do not undertake any obligation to update or announce publicly any updates to or revisions to any of the forward-looking statements in this press release to reflect any change in our expectations or any change in events, conditions, circumstances, or assumptions underlying the statements.

No Offer or Solicitation

This release is being made in respect of the proposed acquisition (the “proposed transaction”) of Delphi Technologies PLC (“Delphi Technologies”) by BorgWarner.  This release is not intended to and does not constitute an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to subscribe for or buy or an invitation to purchase or subscribe for any securities or the solicitation of any vote or approval in any jurisdiction pursuant to the proposed transaction or otherwise, nor shall there be any sale, issuance or transfer of securities in any jurisdiction in contravention of applicable law. In particular, this release is not an offer of securities for sale into the United States. No offer of securities shall be made in the United States absent registration under the U.S. Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the “Securities Act”), or pursuant to an exemption from, or in a transaction not subject to, such registration requirements. Any securities issued in the proposed transaction are anticipated to be issued in reliance upon available exemptions from such registration requirements pursuant to Section 3(a)(10) of the Securities Act.

Participants in the Solicitation

Delphi Technologies, BorgWarner and certain of their respective directors, executive officers and employees may be deemed “participants” in the solicitation of proxies from Delphi Technologies shareholders in respect of the proposed transaction. Information regarding the foregoing persons, including a description of their direct or indirect interests, by security holdings or otherwise, is set forth in the preliminary proxy statement filed on Schedule 14A  with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”) on March 11, 2020 (the “preliminary proxy statement”) and will be set forth in a definitive proxy statement and any other relevant documents to be filed with the SEC. You can find information about Delphi Technologies’ directors and executive officers in its Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2019 and its definitive proxy statement filed with the SEC on Schedule 14A on March 15, 2019.  You can find information about BorgWarner’s directors and executive officers in its Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2019 and its definitive proxy statement filed with the SEC on Schedule 14A on March 20, 2020.

Additional Information and Where to Find It

This release may be deemed solicitation material in respect of the proposed transaction. In connection with the proposed transaction, Delphi Technologies filed with the SEC the preliminary proxy statement, and Delphi Technologies will file with the SEC and furnish to its shareholders a definitive proxy statement on Schedule 14A and other relevant documents. This release does not constitute a solicitation of any vote or approval. Before making any voting decision, Delphi Technologies’ shareholders are urged to read the proxy statement and any other relevant documents filed or to be filed with the SEC in connection with the proposed transaction or incorporated by reference in the proxy statement carefully and in their entirety when they become available because they contain or will contain important information about the proposed transaction and the parties to the proposed transaction.

Investors are able to obtain free of charge the preliminary proxy statement, the definitive proxy statement and other documents filed with the SEC (when available) at the SEC’s website at http://www.sec.gov. In addition, the preliminary proxy statement, the definitive proxy statement and Delphi Technologies’ and BorgWarner’s respective annual reports on Form 10-K, quarterly reports on Form 10-Q, current reports on Form 8-K and amendments to those reports filed or furnished pursuant to section 13(a) or 15(d) of the U.S. Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, are available free of charge through Delphi Technologies’ and BorgWarner’s websites at www.delphi.com and www.borgwarner.com, respectively, as soon as reasonably practicable after they are electronically filed with, or furnished to, the SEC.

Notice Regarding Forward-Looking Statements

This release may contain forward-looking statements as contemplated by the 1995 Private Securities Litigation Reform Act that reflect, when made, Delphi Technologies’ or BorgWarner’s respective current views with respect to future events, including the

proposed transaction, and financial performance or that are based on their respective management’s current outlook, expectations, estimates and projections, including with respect to the combined company following the proposed transaction, if completed. Such forward-looking statements are subject to many risks, uncertainties and factors relating to Delphi Technologies’ or BorgWarner’s respective operations and business environment, which may cause the actual results of Delphi Technologies or BorgWarner to be materially different from those indicated in the forward-looking statements. All statements that address future operating, financial or business performance or Delphi Technologies’ or BorgWarner’s respective strategies or expectations are forward-looking statements. In some cases, you can identify these statements by forward-looking words such as “may,” “might,” “will,” “should,” “could,” “designed,” “effect,” “evaluates,” “forecasts,” “goal,” “guidance,” “initiative,” “intends,” “pursue,” “seek,” “target,” “when,” “will,” “expects,” “plans,” “intends,” “anticipates,” “believes,” “estimates,” “predicts,” “projects,” “potential,” “outlook” or “continue,” the negatives thereof and other comparable terminology. Factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from these forward-looking statements include, but are not limited to, the possibility that the proposed transaction will not be pursued; failure to obtain necessary shareholder approvals, regulatory approvals or required financing or to satisfy any of the other conditions to the proposed transaction; adverse effects on the market price of Delphi Technologies’ ordinary shares or BorgWarner’s shares of common stock and on Delphi Technologies’  or BorgWarner’s operating results because of a failure to complete the proposed transaction; failure to realize the expected benefits of the proposed transaction; failure to promptly and effectively integrate Delphi Technologies’ businesses; negative effects relating to the announcement of the proposed transaction or any further announcements relating to the proposed transaction or the consummation of the proposed transaction on the market price of Delphi Technologies’ ordinary shares or BorgWarner’s shares of common stock; significant transaction costs and/or unknown or inestimable liabilities; potential litigation associated with the proposed transaction; general economic and business conditions that affect the combined company following the consummation of the proposed transaction; changes in global, political, economic, business, competitive, market and regulatory forces; changes in tax laws, regulations, rates and policies; future business acquisitions or disposals; competitive developments; and the timing and occurrence (or non-occurrence) of other events or circumstances that may be beyond Delphi Technologies’ or BorgWarner’s control.

For additional information about these and other factors, see the information under the caption “Risk Factors” in Delphi Technologies’ most recent Annual Report on Form 10-K filed with the SEC and “Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations” filed on February 13, 2020, and the information under the caption “Risk Factors” in BorgWarner’s most recent Annual Report on Form 10-K filed with the SEC and “Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations” on February 13, 2020.

Delphi Technologies’ and BorgWarner’s forward-looking statements speak only as of the date of this release or as of the date they are made. Delphi Technologies and

BorgWarner each disclaim any intent or obligation to update or revise any “forward looking statement” made in this release to reflect changed assumptions, the occurrence of unanticipated events or changes to future operating results over time, except as may be required by law. All subsequent written and oral forward-looking statements attributable to Delphi Technologies, BorgWarner or their respective directors, executive officers or any person acting on behalf of any of them are expressly qualified in their entirety by this paragraph.

General

The release, publication or distribution of this release in or into certain jurisdictions may be restricted by the laws of those jurisdictions. Accordingly, copies of this release and all other documents relating to the proposed transaction are not being, and must not be, released, published, mailed or otherwise forwarded, distributed or sent in, into or from any such jurisdictions. Persons receiving such documents (including, without limitation, nominees, trustees and custodians) should observe these restrictions. Failure to do so may constitute a violation of the securities laws of any such jurisdiction. To the fullest extent permitted by applicable law, the companies involved in the proposed transaction disclaim any responsibility or liability for the violations of any such restrictions by any person.

Any response in relation to the proposed transaction should be made only on the basis of the information contained in the proxy statement and other relevant documents. Delphi Technologies shareholders are advised to read carefully the formal documentation in relation to the proposed transaction once the proxy statement and other relevant documents have been dispatched.