FX ENERGY INC (CIK 907649)
Form 10-Q
period 2006-06-30
filed 2006-08-08

                UNITED STATES SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                             Washington, D. C. 20549

                                    FORM 10-Q

               QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF
                       THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934
                  FOR THE QUARTERLY PERIOD ENDED JUNE 30, 2006

                          Commission File No. 000-25386

                                 FX ENERGY, INC.
             (Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)

             NEVADA                                               87-0504461
(State or other jurisdiction of                                 (IRS Employer
 incorporation or organization)                              Identification No.)

                         3006 Highland Drive, Suite 206
                           Salt Lake City, Utah 84106
              (Address of principal executive offices and zip code)

                                 (801) 486-5555
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
of $0.001 par value common stock outstanding as of August 4, 2006, was
35,162,029.

                        FX ENERGY, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
             Form 10-Q for the Quarterly Period Ended June 30, 2006

                                TABLE OF CONTENTS

  Item                                                                     Page
---------                                                               --------
                          Part I. Financial Information

   1     Financial Statements

   2     Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial

                           Part II. Other Information

                                       2

                                  PART I--FINANCIAL INFORMATION

                                  ITEM 1. FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

                                FX ENERGY, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                                   Consolidated Balance Sheets
                                         (in thousands)

                                                                           June 30,         December 31,
                                                                             2006               2005
                                                                          (Unaudited)
                                                                       ------------------ -----------------
ASSETS

Current assets:
  Cash and cash equivalents...........................................   $        6,610     $        2,390
  Marketable securities...............................................           13,698             26,479
  Accounts receivable:
    Accrued oil sales.................................................              503                626
    Joint interest and other receivables..............................            2,365              1,449
    Input VAT receivable..............................................            1,989              1,965
  Inventory...........................................................               96                 96
  Other current assets................................................              156                270
                                                                       ------------------ -----------------
    Total current assets..............................................           25,417             33,275
                                                                       ------------------ -----------------

Property and equipment, at cost:
  Oil and gas properties (successful efforts method):
    Proved............................................................           16,885             15,918
    Unproved..........................................................              319                304
    Other property and equipment......................................            4,443              4,262
                                                                       ------------------ -----------------

    Gross property and equipment......................................           21,647             20,484
    Less accumulated depreciation, depletion and amortization.........           (6,345)            (5,844)
                                                                       ------------------ -----------------

        Net property and equipment....................................           15,302             14,640
                                                                       ------------------ -----------------

Other assets:
  Certificates of deposit.............................................              382                356
                                                                       ------------------ -----------------

Total assets..........................................................   $       41,101     $       48,271
                                                                       ================== =================

                                                -- Continued --

               The accompanying notes are an integral part of the consolidated financial statements.

                                                       3

                                        FX ENERGY, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                                           Consolidated Balance Sheets
                                        (in thousands, except share data)

                                                 -- Continued --

                                                                            June 30,        December 31,
                                                                              2006              2005
                                                                          (Unaudited)
                                                                        ----------------- ------------------
LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY

Current liabilities:
  Accounts payable....................................................    $       1,891       $      4,110
  Accrued liabilities.................................................              787              1,450
                                                                        ----------------- ------------------
    Total current liabilities.........................................            2,678              5,560
                                                                        ----------------- ------------------

Long-term liabilities:
  Asset retirement obligation  .......................................              454                431
                                                                        ----------------- ------------------

    Total liabilities.................................................            3,132              5,991
                                                                        ----------------- ------------------

Stockholders' equity:
  Preferred stock, $0.001 par value, 5,000,000 shares authorized,
    no shares issued as of June 30, 2006 and December 31, 2005........               --                 --
  Common stock, $0.001 par value, 100,000,000 shares authorized,
    35,162,029 and 35,097,279 issued and outstanding as of
    June 30, 2006 and December 31, 2005, respectively.................               35                 35
  Additional paid-in capital..........................................          124,160            125,216
  Deferred compensation...............................................               --             (2,975)
  Accumulated other comprehensive loss................................              (44)               (58)
  Accumulated deficit.................................................          (86,182)           (79,938)
                                                                        ----------------- ------------------
    Total stockholders' equity........................................           37,969             42,280
                                                                        ----------------- ------------------

Total liabilities and stockholders' equity...........................     $      41,101       $     48,271
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

                                                            For the three months              For the six months
                                                               ended June 30,                   ended June 30,
                                                      --------------------------------- --------------------------------
                                                           2006             2005             2006            2005
                                                      ---------------- ---------------- --------------- ----------------
Revenues:
  Oil and gas sales.................................    $      1,229     $        898     $      2,290    $      1,736
  Oilfield services................................              908              105              932             155
                                                      ---------------- ---------------- --------------- ----------------
    Total revenues..................................           2,137            1,003            3,222           1,891
                                                      ---------------- ---------------- --------------- ----------------

Operating costs and expenses:
  Lease operating expenses..........................             599              600            1,286           1,229
  Geological and geophysical costs..................           1,021              518            3,063           1,215
  Oilfield services costs...........................             581               98              713             187
  Depreciation, depletion and amortization (DD&A)...             287              176              501             340
  Accretion expense.................................              11               11               23              22
  Stock compensation (G&A)..........................             706               20            1,403              38
  General and administrative (G&A)..................           1,159            1,304            2,839           2,781
                                                      ---------------- ---------------- --------------- ----------------
    Total operating costs and expenses..............           4,364            2,727            9,828           5,812
                                                      ---------------- ---------------- --------------- ----------------

Operating loss......................................          (2,227)          (1,724)          (6,606)         (3,921)
                                                      ---------------- ---------------- --------------- ----------------

Other income:
  Interest and other income.........................             172              154              362             460
                                                      ---------------- ---------------- --------------- ----------------
    Total other income..............................             172              154              362             460
                                                      ---------------- ---------------- --------------- ----------------

Net loss                                                      (2,055)          (1,570)          (6,244)         (3,461)

Other comprehensive income (loss)
Increase (decrease) in market value of
  available for sale marketable securities..........              (4)             157               14              14
                                                      ---------------- ---------------- --------------- ----------------
Comprehensive loss                                      $     (2,059)    $     (1,413)    $     (6,230)   $     (3,447)
                                                      ================ ================ =============== ================

Basic and diluted net loss per common share.........    $      (0.06)    $      (0.04)    $      (0.18)   $      (0.10)
                                                      ================ ================ =============== ================
Basic and diluted weighted average number of shares
  outstanding.......................................          35,162           34,643           35,136          34,583
                                                      ================ ================ =============== ================

              The accompanying notes are an integral part of the consolidated financial statements.

                                                           5

                                        FX ENERGY, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                                      Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows
                                                   (Unaudited)
                                                 (in thousands)

                                                                         For the Six Months Ended June 30,
                                                                        ------------------------------------
                                                                              2006              2005
                                                                        ----------------- ------------------
Cash flows from operating activities:
  Net loss...........................................................      $      (6,244)    $      (3,461)
  Adjustments to reconcile net loss to net cash used in
    operating activities:
      Accretion expense..............................................                 23                22
      Depreciation, depletion and amortization.......................                501               340
      Stock issued for services......................................                516               263
      Stock compensation (G&A).......................................              1,403                37
      Loss on asset disposal.........................................                 --                18
  Increase (decrease) from changes in working capital items:
    Accounts receivable..............................................               (817)             (111)
    Inventory........................................................                 --                (4)
    Other current assets.............................................                 88               124
    Accounts payable and accrued liabilities.........................             (2,297)             (944)
                                                                        ----------------- ------------------
      Net cash used in operating activities..........................             (6,827)           (3,716)
                                                                        ----------------- ------------------

Cash flows from investing activities:
  Additions to oil and gas properties................................             (1,567)           (3,246)
  Additions to other property and equipment..........................               (181)             (353)
  Additions to marketable securities.................................               (405)             (326)
  Proceeds from maturities of marketable securities..................             13,200             4,500
                                                                        ----------------- ------------------
    Net cash provided by investing activities........................             11,047               575
                                                                        ----------------- ------------------

Cash flows from financing activities:
  Proceeds from exercise of stock options and warrants...............                 --               826
                                                                        ----------------- ------------------
    Net cash provided by financing activities........................                 --               826
                                                                        ----------------- ------------------
Increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents.....................              4,220            (2,315)
Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period.....................              2,390             3,784
                                                                        ----------------- ------------------
Cash and cash equivalents at end of period...........................      $       6,610     $       1,469
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
2005, and Form 10-Q for the quarter ended March 31, 2006, including the
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
options and warrants. Options, including restricted stock purchase rights, to
purchase 3,491,083 and 3,642,332 shares of common stock, at prices ranging from
$0.00 to $10.65 per share with a weighted average exercise price of $4.72 and
$5.53 per share, were outstanding at June 30, 2006 and 2005, respectively.
Warrants to purchase 3,505,373 and 3,517,873 shares of common stock, at prices
ranging from $3.60 to $3.75 per share with a weighted average exercise price of
$3.65 per share, were outstanding at June 30, 2006 and 2005, respectively. No
options or warrants were included in the computation of diluted net loss per
share for the periods ended June 30, 2006 and 2005, because the effect would
have been antidilutive.

Note 3:  Income Taxes

         FX Energy recognized no income tax benefit from the net losses
generated in the first six months of 2006 and 2005. Statement of Financial
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
months ended June 30, 2006, the six months ended June 30, 2006, and as of June
30, 2006, is as follows (in thousands):

                                                          Reportable Segments
                                                    --------------------------------       Non-
                                                                        Oilfield        Segmented
                                                        E&P(1)          Services         Items(2)         Total
                                                    ---------------  ---------------  --------------- ---------------
Three months ended June 30, 2006:
  Revenues.........................................     $   1,229         $   908        $        --       $   2,137
  Net income (loss)(1, 2)..........................          (607)            289             (1,737)         (2,055)

Six months ended June 30, 2006:
  Revenues.........................................     $   2,290         $   932        $        --       $   3,222
  Net income (loss)(1, 2)..........................        (2,427)            149             (3,966)         (6,244)

As of June 30, 2006:
  Identifiable net property and equipment(3).......     $  14,546         $   460        $       296       $  15,302
--------------------

(1)  E&P revenues and costs recorded in Poland for the second quarter include
     $67 in gas sales, $860 in geological and geophysical costs, $58 in DD&A,
     and $35 in lease operating costs. E&P revenues and costs recorded in Poland
     for the first six months include $133 in gas sales, $2,865 in geological
     and geophysical costs, 58 in DD&A, and $61 in lease operating costs.
(2)  Net loss reconciling items for the second quarter include $1,159 of general
     and administrative costs, $706 of non-cash stock compensation expense, $172
     of other income, and $44 of corporate DD&A. Nonsegmented expenses for the
     second quarter include $113 in general and administrative costs incurred in
     Poland. Net loss reconciling items for the first six months include $2,839
     of general and administrative costs, $1,403 of non-cash stock compensation
     expense, $362 of other income, and $86 of corporate DD&A. Nonsegmented
     expenses for the first six months include $204 in general and
     administrative costs incurred in Poland.
(3)  Identifiable net property and equipment not associated with a segment
     consists of $296 of corporate office equipment, hardware and software.

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
--------------------

(1)  E&P costs recorded in Poland for the second quarter include $517 in
     geological and geophysical costs and $1 in lease operating costs. E&P costs
     recorded in Poland for the first six months include $1,209 in geological
     and geophysical costs and $1 in lease operating costs.
(2)  Net loss reconciling items for the second quarter include $1,304 of general
     and administrative costs, $12 of non-cash stock compensation expense, $154
     of other income, and $37 of corporate DD&A. Nonsegmented expenses for the
     second quarter include $122 in general and administrative costs incurred in
     Poland. Net loss reconciling items for the first six months include $2,781

                                       8

     of general and administrative costs, $38 of non-cash stock compensation
     expense, $460 of other income, and $67 of corporate DD&A. Nonsegmented
     expenses for the first six months include $244 in general and
     administrative costs incurred in Poland.
(3)  Identifiable net property and equipment not associated with a segment
     consists of $352 of corporate office equipment, hardware and software.

Note 5:  Share-Based Compensation

         The Company maintains several share-based incentive plans. Under these
plans, the Company may issue options, restricted stock or restricted stock
purchase rights. Options are granted at an option price equal to the market
value of the stock at the date of grant, have terms ranging from five to seven
years and vest over periods ranging from the date of grant to three years.
Restricted stock awards and restricted stock purchase rights have similar terms
and vesting requirements.

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

         The following table summarizes option activity for the first six months
of 2006:

                                                                                     Weighted
                                                                                     Average
                                                                                    Remaining
                                                                      Weighted     Contractual     Aggregate
                                                      Number of       Average        Life (in      Intrinsic
                                                       Options     Exercise Price     years)         Value
                                                    ------------------------------------------------------------
Fixed Options outstanding:
  Beginning of year................................     3,492,283        $4.72
  Cancelled........................................        (1,200)        0.00
                                                    ---------------
  End of period....................................     3,491,083        $4.72         3.67            $0
                                                    ===============

         The aggregate intrinsic value in the table above represents the total
pretax intrinsic value, based on the Company's stock price of $4.62 as of June
30, 2006, which would have been received by the restricted stock purchase right
and stock option holders had all restricted stock purchase rights and options
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

                                       9

method required by SFAS No. 123 on net loss and net loss per common share were
as follows (in thousands, except per share data):

                                                                                      2005
                                                                         ------------------------------
                                                                            Quarter       Six Months
                                                                             Ended           Ended
                                                                            June 30         June 30
                                                                         --------------  --------------
                Net loss:
                Net loss, as reported..................................  $   (1,570)       $ (3,461)
                Less: Total stock-based employee compensation expense
                  determined under the fair value based method for all
                  awards, net of related tax effects...................        (498)           (991)
                                                                         --------------  --------------
                     Pro forma net loss................................  $   (2,068)       $ (4,452)
                                                                         ==============  ==============
                Basic and diluted net loss per share:
                     As reported.......................................  $    (0.04)       $  (0.10)
                     Pro forma.........................................  $    (0.06)       $  (0.13)

         As a result of adopting SFAS No. 123R, for the three and six month
periods ended June 30, 2006, the Company recognized $449,000 and $892,000,
respectively, of stock compensation expense, equal to $0.01 and $0.03 per basic
and diluted share, related to the amortization of unvested options as of January
1, 2006. In addition, for the three and six-month periods ended June 30, 2006,
the Company recognized $268,000 and $522,000, respectively, of stock
compensation expense related to the amortization of restricted stock purchase
rights granted in November 2005. Effective January 1, 2006, the Company
reclassified $2,975,000 of deferred compensation related to the restricted stock
purchase rights to additional paid-in capital. As of June 30, 2006, deferred
compensation to be amortized in future periods totaled $4,141,000, including
$2,453,000 related to restricted stock purchase rights.

Note 6:  Stockholders' Equity

         During the first six months of 2005, warrant holders exercised warrants
to purchase 35,500 shares of common stock, resulting in proceeds to the Company
of $133,000. In addition, during the first six months of 2005, option holders
exercised options to purchase 227,734 shares, resulting in additional proceeds
of $693,000. No options or warrants have been exercised during 2006. During the
first six months of 2006, the Company issued 64,750 shares for its 2005
contribution to the Company's employee benefit plan. During the first six months
of 2005, the Company issued 27,764 shares primarily to Polish consultants for
services.

Note 7:  Investments

         The cost and estimated market value of marketable securities at June
30, 2006, are as follows (in thousands):

                                                                                        Gross           Estimated
                                                                                     Unrealized           Market
                                                                     Cost              Losses             Value
                                                               ------------------  ----------------  -----------------
         Marketable securities..............................       $ 13,742            $ (44)            $ 13,698

         The investments consist primarily of U.S. government agency bonds and
notes, whose value fluctuates with changes in interest rates. The Company
believes the gross unrealized losses are temporary. The investments have been
classified as available-for-sale, and are reported at fair value with unrealized
gains and losses, if any, recorded as a component of other comprehensive income
(loss).

                                       10

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
months and six months ended June 30, 2006 and 2005, follows.

Quarter Ended June 30, 2006, Compared to the Same Period of 2005

         Exploration and Production Segment

         Our oil and gas revenues are comprised primarily of oil production in
the United States. A summary of the percentage change in oil revenues, average
prices and production volumes for the second quarters of 2006 and 2005 is set
forth in the following table:

                                                   Quarter Ended June 30,
                                                 -----------------------------
                                                   2006             2005
                                                 -------------  --------------
Oil Revenues..................................... $ 1,162,000       $ 898,000
  Percent change versus prior year's quarter.....        +29%            +29%

Average price per barrel of oil..................     $ 59.83         $ 44.22
  Percent change versus prior year's quarter.....        +35%            +32%

Production volumes (barrels of oil)..............      19,421          20,318
  Percent change versus prior year's quarter.....         -4%             -2%

      Oil Revenues. Oil revenues were $1,162,000 during the second quarter of
2006, a 29% increase compared to the same period of 2005. During the second
quarter of 2006, our average oil prices rose 35%, from $44.22 per barrel in 2005
to $59.83 per barrel in 2006, while oil production quantities decreased by 4%.
Oil revenues in 2006 increased from 2005 levels by approximately $303,000 due to
higher oil prices, offset by approximately $29,000 related to production
declines.

         Gas Revenues. Gas revenues were $67,000 during the second quarter of
2006 as revenues from the Kleka gas well in Poland were recognized beginning
January 1, 2006. No gas revenues were recognized during the same period of 2005.
Our net production for the second quarter of 2006 was approximately 36,200 Mcf
at an average price of $1.85 per Mcf.

         Lease Operating Costs. Lease operating costs were $599,000 during the
second quarter of 2006, essentially equivalent to the amount recorded during the
same period of 2005. Lease operating costs increased approximately $35,000 due
to costs associated with the Kleka gas well in Poland, but were offset by lower
internal workover costs in the United States.

         Exploration Costs. Our exploration costs consist of geological and
geophysical costs and the costs of exploratory dry holes. Exploration costs were

                                       11

$1,021,000 during the second quarter of 2006, compared to $518,000 during the
same period of 2005, an increase of 97%. Second quarter 2006 exploration costs
include approximately $164,000 associated with the Drozdowice-1 and Nevada dry
holes, all drilled in prior periods, and approximately $857,000 for new
two-dimensional seismic and other geological and geophysical costs in Poland.

         DD&A Expense - Exploration and Production. DD&A expense for producing
properties was $204,000 for the second quarter of 2006, an increase of 149%
compared to $82,000 during the same period of 2005. The increase in DD&A is due
primarily to new property costs incurred in late 2005 at our Montana producing
properties, in addition to DD&A associated with 2006 Kleka gas production in
Poland.

         Accretion Expense. Accretion expense for both years reflects the
increase in our Asset Retirement Obligation under SFAS No. 143, and was
essentially flat from 2005 to 2006.

         Oilfield Services Segment

         Oilfield Services Revenues. Oilfield services revenues were $908,000
during the second quarter of 2006, an increase of $803,000 compared to $105,000
for the second quarter of 2005. The increase is related to higher utilization of
our drillings rigs for third-party services. Oilfield services revenues will
continue to fluctuate from period to period based on market demand, weather, the
number of wells drilled, downtime for equipment repairs, the degree of emphasis
on utilizing our oilfield servicing equipment on our company-owned properties,
and other factors.

         Oilfield Services Costs. Oilfield services costs were $581,000 during
the second quarter of 2006, an increase of $483,000 compared to the $98,000
incurred in the same period of 2005, reflecting the increase in third-party
drilling activity. Oilfield services costs will also continue to fluctuate
period to period based on revenues generated, market demand, weather, the number
of wells drilled, downtime for equipment repairs, the degree of emphasis on
utilizing our oilfield servicing equipment on our Company-owned properties, and
other factors.

         DD&A Expense - Oilfield Services. DD&A expense for oilfield services
was $38,000 during the second quarter of 2006, compared to $56,000 during the
same period of 2005. The quarter-to-quarter decrease was primarily due to
capital additions from prior years being fully depreciated during 2005.

         Nonsegmented Information

         G&A Costs. G&A costs were $1,159,000 during the second quarter of 2006,
compared to $1,304,000 during the second quarter of 2005, a decrease of
$145,000, or 11%. The decrease was primarily due to reductions in legal,
accounting and consulting fees.

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
operations. Stock compensation expense recorded for the second quarter of 2006
represents $257,000 of amortization related to restricted stock purchase rights
granted in November 2005 and $449,000 of amortization of unvested stock options
granted prior to 2005, using the compensation cost calculated for pro forma
disclosure purposes under SFAS No. 123. Stock compensation expense recorded in
2005 represents the amortization of stock and options issued to consultants.

                                       12

         Interest and Other Income. Interest and other income was $172,000
during the second quarter of 2006, an increase of $19,000 compared to $153,000
during the same period of 2005. The increase was a reflection of higher interest
rates on cash balances available for investment.

     Comparison of the First Half of 2006 to the First Half of 2005

         Exploration and Production

         Our oil and gas revenues are comprised primarily of oil production in
the United States. A summary of the percentage change in oil revenues, average
price and production volumes for the first halves of 2006 and 2005 is set forth
in the following table:

                                                        Six Months Ended June 30,
                                                      ------------------------------
                                                          2006            2005
                                                      --------------  --------------
Oil Revenues.........................................  $2,157,000      $1,736,000
    Percent change versus prior year's period........        +24%            +31%

Average price (per barrel of oil)....................    $  56.89        $  42.53
    Percent change versus prior year's period........        +34%            +33%

Production volumes (barrels of)......................      37,914          40,825
    Percent change versus prior year's period........         -7%             -2%

         Oil Revenues. Oil revenues were $2,157,000 during the first half of
2006, a 24% increase compared to the same period of 2005. During the first half
of 2006, our average oil prices were 34% higher than in the same period of the
prior year, while oil production quantities declined by 7%. Oil revenues in 2006
increased from 2005 levels by approximately $544,000 due to higher oil prices,
offset by approximately $123,000 related to production declines.

         Gas Revenues. Gas revenues were $133,000 during the first half of 2006
as revenues from the Kleka gas well in Poland were recognized beginning January
1, 2006. No gas revenues were recognized during the same period of 2005. Our net
production for the first half of 2006 was approximately 72,000 Mcf at an average
price of $1.85 per Mcf.

         Lease Operating Expenses. Lease operating expenses were $1,286,000
during the first half of 2006, an increase of 5% compared to $1,229,000 during
the same period of 2005. Lease operating costs increased approximately $61,000
due to costs associated with the Kleka gas well in Poland, but were offset by
lower internal workover costs in the United States.

         Exploration Costs. Our exploration costs consist of geological and
geophysical costs and the costs of exploratory dry holes. Exploration costs were
$3,063,000 during the first half of 2006, an increase of 152% compared to
$1,215,000 during the same period of 2005. First half 2006 exploration costs
include approximately $1,042,000 associated with the Drozdowice-1 and Nevada dry
holes, and approximately $2,021,000 for new two-dimensional seismic and other
geological and geophysical costs in Poland.

         DD&A Expense - E&P. DD&A expense for producing properties was $345,000
during the first half of 2006, an increase of 113% compared to $162,000 during

                                       13

the same period of 2005. The increase in DD&A is due primarily to new property
costs incurred in late 2005 at our Montana producing properties, in addition to
DD&A associated with 2006 Kleka gas production in Poland.

         Accretion Expense. Accretion expense for both years reflects the
increase in our Asset Retirement Obligation under SFAS No. 143 and was
essentially flat from 2005 to 2006.

         Oilfield Services

         Oilfield Services Revenues. Oilfield services revenues were $932,000
during the first half of 2006, an increase of $777,000 compared to $155,000 for
the first half of 2005. The increase is related to higher utilization of our
drillings rigs for third-party services. These revenues will continue to
fluctuate from period to period based on market demand, weather, the number of
wells drilled, downtime for equipment repairs, the degree of emphasis on
utilizing our oilfield servicing equipment on our company-owned properties, and
other factors.

         Oilfield Services Costs. Oilfield services costs were $713,000 during
the first half of 2006, up from the $187,000 incurred in the same period of
2005, reflecting the increase in third-party drilling activity. Oilfield
services costs will also continue to fluctuate from period to period based on
revenues generated, market demand, weather, the number of wells drilled,
downtime for equipment repairs, the degree of emphasis on utilizing our oilfield
servicing equipment on our Company-owned properties, and other factors.

         DD&A Expense - Oilfield Services. DD&A expense for oilfield services
was $70,000 during the first half of 2006, compared to $110,000 during the same
period of 2005. The year-to-year decrease was primarily due to capital additions
from prior years being fully depreciated during 2005.

         Nonsegmented Information

         G&A Costs. G&A costs were $2,839,000 during the first half of 2006,
compared to $2,781,000 during the same period of 2005, an increase of 2%.
Reductions in legal, accounting and consulting fees were offset by higher
investor relations and personnel costs.

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
operations. Stock compensation expense recorded for the first half of 2006
represents $511,000 of amortization related to restricted stock purchase rights
granted in November 2005 and $892,000 of amortization of unvested stock options
granted prior to 2005, using the compensation cost calculated for pro forma
disclosure purposes under SFAS No. 123. Stock compensation expense recorded in
2005 represents the amortization of stock and options issued to consultants.

         Interest and Other Income. Interest and other income was $362,000
during the first half of 2006, compared to $460,000 during the first half of
2005. The year-to-year decrease is a direct reflection of lower cash balances
available for investment, offset by higher interest rates.

                                       14

Liquidity and Capital Resources

         To date, we have financed our operations principally through the sale
of equity securities, issuance of debt securities, and agreements with industry
participants that funded our share of costs in certain exploratory activities in
return for an interest in our properties. Our cash resources and marketable
securities at June 30, 2006, together with anticipated revenues from Polish gas
sales in 2006, are sufficient to cover our planned exploration program in the
United States and Poland for the next twelve months.

         We may seek to obtain additional funds for future capital investments
and exploration costs from the sale of additional securities, project and/or
bank financing to help finance the completion of successful wells, sale of
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
capital was $22,739,000 as of June 30, 2006, a decrease of $4,976,000 from our
working capital at December 31, 2005, of $27,715,000. As of June 30, 2006, our
cash and cash equivalents and marketable securities totaled approximately $20.3
million. We have no outstanding long-term debt.

         Operating Activities. Net cash used in operating activities was
$6,827,000 during the first half of 2006, an increase of 99% compared to
$3,716,000 in net cash used during the same period of 2005. The increase in cash
used is a direct reflection of our increased exploration activities and higher
geological and geophysical costs in Poland, increases in our accounts receivable
and significant reductions in our current liabilities.

         Investing Activities. During the first half of 2006, we received
$11,047,000 from investing activities. We received proceeds of $13,200,000 from
maturities of marketable securities, purchased marketable securities of
$405,000, used $585,000 to pay accounts payable related to prior-year capital
costs, used $767,000 for current year capital additions in Poland and $215,000
related to our proved properties in the United States, and used $181,000 for
capital additions to our office and drilling equipment. During the first half of
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
holders exercised options and warrants for a total of 263,000 shares, resulting
in proceeds of $826,000. No options or warrants were exercised during the first
half of 2006.

New Accounting Pronouncements

         We have reviewed all recently issued, but not yet adopted, accounting
standards in order to determine their effects, if any, on our results of

                                       15

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

                                       16

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

         The limited volume and sources of our gas production in Poland mean we
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
the foreseeable future; however, it is our policy to reduce currency risk by
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

                                       17

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

         On June 14, 2006, at the annual meeting of our stockholders, the
stockholders voted as indicated on the following matters submitted to them for
consideration:

         (a) Elect Richard Hardman and Jerzy Maciolek as our directors by a
             plurality as shown below:

                                                  Withheld
             Director              For           Authority          Abstain
         ------------------- ---------------- ----------------- ----------------
         Richard Hardman       29,483,471           1,000          1,351,968
         Jerzy Maciolek        29,214,063         121,000          1,501,376

         (b) Ratify the appointment of PricewaterhouseCoopers as the independent
             registered public accounting firm for the Company as shown below:

                             For             Against            Abstain
                       ----------------- ----------------- -----------------
                          30,628,193         164,248            43,997

                                       18

                                ITEM 6. EXHIBITS

         The following exhibits are filed as a part of this report:

      Exhibit
      Number*       Title of Document                                   Location
------------------- --------------------------------------------------  --------

     Item 31        Rule 13a-14(a)/15d-14(a) Certifications
------------------- --------------------------------------------------  --------
      31.01         Certification of Chief Executive Officer Pursuant   Attached
                    to Rule 13a-14

      31.02         Certification of Chief Financial Officer Pursuant   Attached
                    to Rule 13a-14

     Item 32        Section 1350 Certifications
------------------- --------------------------------------------------  --------
      32.01         Certification of Chief Executive Officer Pursuant   Attached
                    to 18 U.S.C. Section 1350, as Adopted Pursuant to
                    Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002

      32.02         Certification of Chief Financial Officer Pursuant   Attached
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
undersigned, thereunto duly authorized.

                                              FX ENERGY, INC.
                                                  (Registrant)

Date: August 7, 2006                          By  /s/ David N. Pierce
                                                David N. Pierce, President,
                                                Chief Executive Officer

Date: August 7, 2006                          By  /s/ Thomas B. Lovejoy
                                                Thomas B. Lovejoy,
                                                Chief Financial Officer

                                       19