BMO Capital Markets 2009 Global Metals & Mining Conference BMO Capital Markets 2009 Global Metals & Mining Conference Tom Mair, President and CEO February 2009 Exhibit 99.1

Legal and Other Matters
Legal and Other Matters
SAFE HARBOR: The statements contained in this presentation are both historical and forward-looking in nature. The
United States Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 provides a “safe harbor” for certain forward-looking
statements. Investors are cautioned that forward-looking statements are inherently uncertain and involve risks and
uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially. Such forward-looking statements include
statements as to our 2009 production and anticipated commencement dates of mining and production at Hwini-
Butre, anticipated improvements in recoveries and cash costs. The forward-looking statements involve risks and
uncertainties and other factors that could cause actual results to differ materially including those relating to
exploration; the establishment of reserves; the recovery of any reserves; future gold production and production
costs; future permitting dates for additional sources of ore; realization of synergies and other benefits and the timing
of such realization; variations in ore grade, tonnes mined, crushed or milled; variations in relative amounts of
refractory, non-refractory and transition ores; delay or failure to receive board or government approvals and
permits, the timing and availability of external financing on acceptable terms; technical, permitting, mining or
processing issues; fluctuations in gold price and costs which may be more difficult, time-consuming or costly than
expected. Please refer to a discussion of some of these and other risk factors in Golden Star’s Form 10-K and
other Securities and Exchange Commission filings. The forecasts contained in this presentation constitute
management’s current estimates, as of the date of this presentation, with respect to the matters covered thereby.
We expect that these estimates will change as new information is received and that actual results will vary from
these estimates, possibly by material amounts. While we may elect to update these estimates at any time, we do
not undertake to update any estimate at any particular time or in response to any particular event. Investors and
others should not assume that any forecasts in this presentation represent management’s estimate as of any date
other than the date of this presentation.
INFORMATION: The information contained in this presentation has been obtained by Golden Star from its own records
and from other sources deemed reliable, however no representation or warranty is made as to its accuracy or
completeness. The technical information relating to Golden Star’s material properties disclosed herein is based
upon previously filed technical reports prepared and filed pursuant to National Instrument 43-101.
CURRENCY: All monetary amounts refer to United States dollars unless otherwise indicated.

Agenda Agenda • Corporate overview • Operating & Development activities – Bogoso/Prestea – Wassa Mine/HBB • Exploration • Sustainability • Concluding Remarks

Corporate Overview
Corporate Overview
• Gold explorer, developer, producer
– Current production focus in Ghana: 295,926 oz sold in 2008
– 2009 guidance of 400,000 oz
– Major plant expansion completed in 2007
– New satellite mine brought online in 2008
– Active exploration programs in West Africa and South America
• Denver-based
– NYSE Alternext US: GSS; TSX: GSC; GSE: GSR
• Widely held, good liquidity
– Average volume on North American markets of over 3 M shares per day
• Market cap of ~$410 Million
– 236 M shares outstanding

Production Focus in Ghana Production Focus in Ghana

Bogoso/Prestea Pit Locations Bogoso/Prestea Pit Locations

Bogoso/Prestea Gold Mine
Bogoso/Prestea Gold Mine
• 2008 production of 170,499 oz
• Significant exploration upside at surface and underground
along the 85km of Ashanti Trend that Golden Star controls
• Cost containment efforts succeeding
– 21% decrease from Q3 to Q4
• Recovery rates increased throughout 2008
BSPP Recovery July 2007 to December 2008
20%
30%
40%
50%
60%
70%
80%
90%
100%

Wassa
Wassa
• 2008 production of
125,427 oz
• Benso haulage road to
Hwini-Butre commenced
construction
• Excellent exploration
potential
- Manso property proximal
to Hwini-Butre
- Chichiwelli – situated on
the HBB haul road

Golden Star Gold Production Profile Golden Star Gold Production Profile 0 50 100 150 200 250 300 350 400 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009E Actual Gold Production Estimated Gold Production Oz (000s)

Exploration
Exploration
• Brownfields exploration remains the primary focus
– VTEM airborne geophysics survey conducted over ~45km of Ashanti
Trend generating drilling targets
– Further exploration of our HBB land package on eastern side of
Ashanti Trend continues
• Green fields programs
– Regional programs ongoing in Ivory Coast, Burkina Faso, Sierra
Leone, Suriname, French Guiana and Brazil
– Joint venture with Newmont on Saramacca project in Suriname

West Africa Exploration West Africa Exploration

Guiana Shield Exploration Guiana Shield Exploration

Sustainability
Sustainability
• Committed to best practices for
safety, health and environment
– UN Global Compact
– International Cyanide
Management Code
• Community development program in
place since 1999
– Focus on water, health, education
– Established community
endowment fund in 2005

Sustainability
Sustainability
• Alternative livelihood projects recognize that mining is finite
– Create lasting employment and alternative to illegal mining
• Oil palm plantation is primary project (GSOPP)
– Received Nedbank Capital Green Award in 2008
– Potential to create employment for 3,000 family groups
– Planted 692 hectares and 98,956 oil palms in 2008

Comparables—Independent Research Comparables—Independent Research

Comparables—Independent Research Comparables—Independent Research

Comparables—Independent Research Comparables—Independent Research

Concluding Remarks
Concluding Remarks
• Bogoso/Prestea
– Sulfide processing plant recovery rates increasing
• Wassa Hwini-Butre Benso Development
– Wassa is performing well and exceeding expectations
– Road from Benso to Hwini-Butre progressing
– Expect Hwini-Butre mining in 2H 2009
•
Robust production growth
– 2009 guidance of 400,000 ounces, up 35% from 2008
– Expect direct operating costs to average $550/oz
• Golden Star deeply undervalued by market at present time

Need More Information? Need More Information? Investor relations at Golden Star Web www.gsr.com Phone 1-303-830-9000