Exhibit 99.1

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION:

Lawrence D. Damron

Senior Vice President & Chief Financial Officer

(847) 229-2222

Aksys® to Receive $10 Million in Additional Funding

Lincolnshire, IL – May 17, 2004 — Aksys, Ltd. (NASDAQ: AKSY), a pioneer in innovative dialysis systems, announced today that it will receive its final $10.0 million payment from Durus Life Sciences Master Fund Ltd. and Artal Long Biotech Portfolio LLC as a result of the effectiveness of Aksys’ registration statement on Form S-3. Aksys is not issuing any securities in connection with this $10.0 million payment, which is being made under the terms of its previously announced settlement agreement.

This press release shall not constitute an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to buy nor shall there be any sale of these securities in any state or jurisdiction in which such offer, solicitation or sale, would be unlawful prior to registration or qualification under the securities laws of any such state or jurisdiction.

About the Company

Aksys, Ltd. produces hemodialysis products and services for patients suffering from kidney failure. The Company’s lead product, the PHD® System, is a next generation hemodialysis system designed to allow more frequent dialysis leading to improved clinical outcomes for patients and a reduction in the mortality, morbidity and associated high cost of patient care.  Further information is available on Aksys’ website: www.aksys.com.

This press release contains forward-looking statements that involve a number of risks and uncertainties.  Our actual results could differ materially from the results identified or implied in any forward-looking statement.  These statements are based on our views as of the date they are made with respect to future results or events.  Factors that could cause such a difference include, but are not limited to, the following: (i) uncertainty about the acceptance of the PHD System by both potential users and purchasers, including without limitation, patients, clinics and other health care providers; (ii) risks related to uncertain unit pricing and product cost, which may not be at levels that permit the Company to be profitable; (iii) risks related to quality control issues and consistency of service applicable to the PHD System;(iv) market, regulatory reimbursement and competitive conditions; (v) risks related to the failure to meet additional development and manufacturing milestones for the PHD System on a timely basis, including, without limitation, manufacturing and servicing cost reduction efforts; (vi) our  ability to obtain sufficient capital on acceptable terms to run our business; (vii) risks inherent in relying on third parties to manufacture the PHD System; (viii) changes in QSR requirements; and (ix) risks related to the disposition of our common stock by Durus Life Sciences Master Fund Ltd. and its affiliates.  The Company does not undertake to publicly update or revise its forward-looking statements even if experience or future changes make it clear that any projected results or events expressed or implied therein will not be realized.

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