[PGS LOGO]                                                          NEWS RELEASE
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FOR DETAILS, CONTACT:                                      FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
SVERRE STRANDENES, SVP Corporate Communications                    JULY 29, 2003
DAG W. REYNOLDS, Director European IR
Phone:  +47 6752 6400
SUZANNE M. MCLEOD, U.S. IR
Phone:  +1 281-589-7935

                          PGS COMMENCES U.S. CHAPTER 11
                    CASE WITH SUPPORT OF MAJOR CREDITORS AND
                        CERTAIN SIGNIFICANT SHAREHOLDERS

JULY 29, 2003: OSLO, NORWAY; HOUSTON, TEXAS - Petroleum Geo-Services ASA ("PGS"
or the "Company") (OSE: PGS; OTC: PGOGY) announced today that as the next step
in its ongoing restructuring efforts, the Company voluntarily filed a petition
for protection under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code in the U.S.
Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of New York (the "Court").

This filing is an important development in the restructuring process which, as
previously announced on June 18, 2003, is intended to, among other things,
maximize recovery to stakeholders of the Company and provide a solid capital
structure, aligned with projected future cash flows, that can support the
Company's future business development. This filing follows a previously
announced agreement with a majority of both the Company's banks and bondholders
and its largest shareholders whereby they have agreed to support the Company's
Plan of Reorganization (the "Plan") in the Chapter 11 case.

This case will be at the parent company (PGS ASA) level only and will not
involve the Company's operating subsidiaries, which will continue full
operations, leaving current and future customers, lessors, vendors, employees
and subsidiary creditors unaffected. It is intended that none of the Company's
subsidiaries would be involved in a Chapter 11 case.

As previously announced, the proposed restructuring involves a restructuring of
the PGS Group's total debt to a sustainable level, from approximately US$2.5
billion to approximately US$1.3 billion. This is achieved through conversion of
the existing bank and bond debt into new debt and a majority of PGS's
post-restructuring equity.

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Petroleum Geo-Services ASA     Phone: +1 281-589-7935
16010 Barker's Point Lane      Fax:   +1 281-589-1482
Suite 600
Houston, TX 77079, USA

Petroleum Geo-Services ASA     Phone:  +47 6752 6400
PGS-House                        Fax:  +47 6753 6883
Strandveien 4
N-1366 Lysaker, Norway

The Company also filed the Plan with the Court, which reflects the previously
announced terms of the restructuring. In summary, the major terms of the Plan
are as follows:

     o    PGS's US$2,140 million senior unsecured creditors ("Affected
          Creditors"), comprising US$680 million of bank debt and US$1,460
          million of bond debt, would be entitled to select between two
          alternative recovery packages, one consisting of a senior unsecured
          term loan facility and the other consisting of a combination of
          unsecured notes and 91% of PGS post-restructuring equity, to be
          reduced to 61% after PGS shareholders acquire 30% of the total
          post-restructuring shares for US$85 million. Both recovery packages
          would be entitled to cash in excess of US$50 million, as further
          defined in the Plan.

     o    Creditors of the PGS Group other than the Affected Creditors and
          holders of PGS Trust I Trust Preferreds ("Trust Preferreds") would not
          be affected by the restructuring and would retain their existing
          claims upon completion of the restructuring.

     o    Holders of Trust Preferreds would be given 5% of PGS's
          post-restructuring equity.

     o    Existing shareholders would be given 4% of PGS's post-restructuring
          equity and the right to acquire shares on the terms set forth above to
          reach 34% of the equity, underwritten by three of PGS's major
          shareholders, Umoe AS (US$60 million), CGG (US$22 million) and TS
          Industri Invest (US$3 million).

     o    Under the Plan, PGS would have the right to establish a US$70 million
          secured working capital facility and a US$40m bonding facility.

In connection with the filing of the Plan, the Company also filed with the Court
a related disclosure statement (the "Disclosure Statement") that includes, among
other things, background information regarding the Company and the circumstances
giving rise to its Chapter 11 filing, a description of the terms and conditions
of the Plan (including the treatment proposed for holders of claims and
interests) and relevant valuation analyses and financial projections which are
updated from the analyses and projections previously disclosed on June 18, 2003.
The Company has also submitted the Plan, Disclosure Statement and a draft
prospectus with the Oslo Stock Exchange. PGS intends to make available copies of
the filing documents on its website at www.pgs.com.

The Company intends for the restructuring to be completed before the year-end
2003, following Court approval of disclosure materials and creditor and
shareholder approval.

                                      ****

         Petroleum Geo-Services is a technologically focused oilfield service
company principally involved in geophysical and floating production services.
PGS provides a broad range of seismic- and reservoir services, including
acquisition, processing, interpretation, and field evaluation. PGS owns and
operates four floating production, storage and offloading units (FPSO's). PGS
operates on a worldwide basis with headquarters in Oslo, Norway. For more
information on Petroleum Geo-Services visit www.pgs.com.

                                      ****

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         The information included herein contains certain forward-looking
statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933 and
Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934. These statements, including
statements relating to the Company's business plan and expected liquidity in the
future, are based on various assumptions and analyses made by the Company,
including the assumption that all material contracts (including FPSO contracts
and subsidiary financing arrangements) will be unaffected by the implementation
and consummation of the Restructuring, based on the Company's experience and its
perception of historical and future trends, on the terms of the proposed
Restructuring, on general economic and business conditions and on numerous other
factors, including expected future developments, many of which are beyond the
control of the Company. Such forward-looking statements are also subject to the
risk that the Restructuring described above may not be consummated and certain
additional risks and uncertainties as disclosed by the Company in its filings
with the Securities and Exchange Commission. As a result of these factors, the
Company's actual results may differ materially from those indicated in or
implied by such forward-looking statements.

         This announcement does not constitute an offer of any securities for
sale. Any securities issuable in the Restructuring have not been registered
under the Securities Act of 1933 and may not be offered or sold in the United
States absent registration under such act or an applicable exemption from
registration requirements.

                                     --END--

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