For Immediate Release


Qwest Media Contact:         Qwest Investor Contact:
Alexander Communications     Qwest Communications
Erin McKelvey                Lee Wolfe
(303) 615-5070 ext. 108      (800) 567-7296
emckelve@alexander-pr.com    1wolfe@qwest.net
                             http://www.qwest.net

LCI Media Contact:           LCI Investor Contact:
LCI International            LCI International
Gerry Simone                 Kevin Taback
(703) 848-4478               (703) 848-4493
simoneg@lci.com              tabackk@lci.com
http://www.lci.com           http://www.lci.com


         QWEST AND LCI INTERNATIONAL ANNOUNCE $4.4 BILLION MERGER

      Combined Entity To Become Fourth Largest Long-Distance Company


Denver, CO/McLean, VA - March 9, 1998 - Qwest Communications

International Inc. and LCI International, Inc. today announced the

signing of a definitive merger agreement. The merger will create the

fourth-largest U.S. long distance company and one of the fastest growing

companies in the communications industry. The all-stock transaction is

valued at approximately $4.4 billion. The merger enables the LCI

nationwide customer base to fully leverage the capabilities and

efficiencies of the Qwest Macro Capacity SM fiber network and allows

Qwest to take full advantage of LCI's sales and marketing expertise,

distribution channels, intelligent network platform, as well as the

company's customer care and billing system. The combined companies had

1997 revenues of $2.3 billion, serve over two million business and

residential customers and have a total current equity market

capitalization of over $11 billion. (See attached fact sheet for further

detail.)

The board of directors of each company have approved the merger. The

terms of the merger agreement call for each LCI share to be converted

into $42.00 of Qwest common stock, under current market conditions. Based

on the closing prices of Qwest and LCI on March 6, 1998, LCI shareholders

would receive approximately 122.4 million newly issued shares of Qwest

stock, or 36.4 percent of the combined company's shares. The merger is

intended to qualify as a tax-free reorganization and will be accounted

for as a purchase.



"Brian Thompson and the LCI team have built a world class communications

company. Combining their customer base and their highly competitive

people with those at Qwest, and their state of the art billing and

customer care platforms with the Qwest network creates a powerful new

company," said Joseph P. Nacchio, president and CEO of Qwest. "Qwest's

ability to sell next generation data services is greatly enhanced by the

LCI sales, marketing and distribution strengths. This merger accelerates

both Qwest's and LCI's business plans by several years."



The combination of Qwest and LCI will result in significant operating and

financial benefits. The merger will deliver greater network efficiencies,

eliminate duplicate efforts to build sales and systems infrastructure,

avoid duplication of capital spending programs and accelerate the

companies' data and international strategies.

"LCI has achieved a 40 percent average annual revenue growth rate over

the last 5 years and is one of the most successful and fastest growing

telecommunications carriers in the U.S.," said H. Brian Thompson,

chairman and CEO of LCI. "We anticipate that Qwest's technologically

advanced network will enable us to further accelerate our performance."



An integration team composed of four senior executives from each company

has been formed to oversee the combination process to ensure that

operational benefits are fully realized. LCI will receive two seats on

Qwest's board of directors, one of which will be filled by H. Brian

Thompson, who will become vice chairman of the board. Completion of the

transaction is anticipated to occur during the third quarter of l998. The

transaction is subject to the majority vote of the shareholders of Qwest

and LCI and to other customary conditions such as receipt of regulatory

approvals. The majority shareholder of Qwest has agreed to vote in favor

of the transaction.



The actual number of shares of Qwest common stock to be exchanged for

each LCI share will be determined by dividing $42 by a 15-day volume

weighted average of trading prices for Qwest common stock prior to the

closing, but will not be less than 1.0625 shares (if Qwest's average

stock price exceeds $39.53) or more than 1.5583 shares (if Qwest's

average stock price is less than $26.95). If Qwest's average stock price

is less than $26.95, LCI may terminate the merger unless Qwest then

agrees to exchange for each share of LCI the number of Qwest shares

determined by dividing $42 by such average price.

The Qwest Macro Capacity Fiber Network

Qwest's planned domestic 16,285 mile network will serve more than 125

cities, which represent approximately 80% of the data and voice traffic

originating in the United States, upon its scheduled completion in the

second quarter of 1999. Currently, more than 3,600 miles are activated

from Los Angeles to Columbus, Ohio. Qwest is also extending its network

1,400 miles into Mexico with completion slated for late third quarter

1998.



The Qwest Macro Capacity Fiber network is designed with a highly reliable

and secure bi-directional, line switching OC-192 SONET ring architecture.

Upon completion, the network will offer a self-healing system that

provides the ultimate security and reliability by allowing instantaneous

rerouting in the event of a fiber cut or equipment failure.



About LCI International

LCI International, Inc. (NYSE:LCI), one of the nation's fastest-growing

long-distance telecommunications carriers, provides a full array of

worldwide voice and data transmission services to businesses, residential

customers and other carriers through its 4,500 mile fiber-optic network

is planned to be 8,500 miles by the end of the year. LCI International,

Inc. is headquartered in McLean, VA, with offices in more than 60

locations, including national network control and customer service

centers, and regional operations in various locations throughout the

United States.

About Qwest

Qwest Communications International Inc. (NASDAQ:QWST) is a multimedia

communications company building a high-capacity, fiber optic network for

the 21st century. With its cutting-edge technology, Qwest will deliver

high-quality data, video and voice connectivity securely and reliably to

businesses, consumers and other communications service providers. Further

information is available at www.qwest.net.



Lehman Brothers Inc. acted as financial advisor to LCI and Salomon Smith

Barney acted as financial advisor to Qwest.



This release, including the attached merger fact sheet, may contain forward-looking statements that involve risks and uncertainties. These statements may differ materially from actual future events or results. Readers are referred to the documents filed by Qwest with the SEC, specifically its most recent reports on Form 10-Q, which identify important risk factors that could cause actual results to differ from those contained in the forward-looking statements, including potential fluctuations in quarterly results, dependence on new product development, delays in closing the transaction, inability to achieve combination efficiencies, rapid technological and market change, failure to complete the network on schedule, volatility of stock price, financial risk management and future growth subject to risks.

This announcement is not an offer to sell or a solicitation to buy any securities of Qwest. The offering with respect to the proposed merger with LCI will be made only by the proxy statement/prospectus that will be distributed to stockholders of LCI in connection with their consideration of the transaction.

QwestLinked is a trademark, and the Qwest logo is a registered trademark of Qwest Communications International Inc. in the U.S. and certain other countries.



                                   ###

------------------------------------------------------------------------

                          Qwest Communications

                            LCI International


                            Merger Fact Sheet

------------------------------------------------------------------------


Creates fourth largest long-distance company, as measured by revenues. (assuming Worldcom and MCI merger is consummated.)

Combined market capitalization exceeds $11 billion, at March 6th trading
prices.

More fully utilizes Qwest's 16,000 mile Macro Capacity sm fiber network.

Combined employee base will be approximately 5,800 (1,800 Qwest and 4,000
LCI).

Combined customer base will be approximately 2.3 million.

Combines the industry's most seasoned and entrepreneurial management
teams.

The combined companies will operate in over 70 U.S. locations (10 Qwest, 60+ LCI), including major operations in Denver, Colorado, Northern Virginia, Columbus, Ohio and San Antonio, Texas.

Qwest's headquarters will remain in Denver, CO.

Operating synergies will be significant in all areas of operations.

         Revenues
         Network Facility Costs
         Sales and Marketing
         Network Engineering and Operations
         Information Technology
         Other Administration and Corporate

Total cost synergies for the first full year post-combination are
estimated to exceed $300 million and exceed $1 billion for 1998
through 2001.

Capital expenditure synergies are estimated to be approximately
$80 million in 1999 and exceed $285 million for 1998 through 2001.

Presentation includes forward-looking statements. Actual results may
vary.

Key 1997 Operating Data:


                                                     Qwest                     LCI                  Combined
                                                   ---------              -----------             -----------
Revenues
  Communications services                             $115.3                 $1,642.0                $1,757.3
  Construction services                               $581.4                     $0.0                  $581.4
Total Revenues                                        $696.7                 $1,642.0                $2,338.7
Revenue Growth ('97 v. '96)                             202%                      26%

Ebitda<F1>                                            $115.2                   $194.0                  $309.2
Ebitda Growth<F1> ('97 v. '96)                          507%                      29%

Net Income<F2>                                         $14.5                    $97.0                  $111.5
Net Income Growth<F2>                                   308%                      30%
('97 v. '96)

Total Assets                                        $1,390.0                 $1,354.0                $2,744.0

Minutes of Use                                         669.2                 12,903.0                13,572.2
Minutes of Use Growth                                    75%                      35%
('97 v. '96)

--------------------

<F1>Adjusted for Qwest Growth Shares
<F2>Adjusted for LCI non-recurring charges


Post Acquisition Stock Ownership:

36.4% LCI pro forma ownership of combined entity based on March 6, 1998 closing stock price.