CONTACT:  Bruce Zurlnick                     Leigh Parrish/Melissa Myron
          Senior Vice President and          Media Contact: Melissa Merrill
          Chief Financial Officer            Financial Dynamics
          Finlay Enterprises, Inc.           (212) 850-5600
          (212) 808-2800

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
---------------------

                 FINLAY ENTERPRISES REPORTS SECOND QUARTER SALES

NEW YORK, NY, AUGUST 4, 2005 -- FINLAY ENTERPRISES, INC. (NASDAQ: FNLY), a
leading retailer of fine jewelry and the largest operator of licensed fine
jewelry departments in department stores throughout the United States, today
announced a 0.1% increase in comparable department sales (departments open for
the same months during the comparable period) for the second quarter ended July
30, 2005. In the second quarter of the prior year comparable department sales
increased by 3.2%. Total sales for the second quarter increased 5.9% to $199.8
million compared to $188.6 million in the second quarter of 2004. Total sales
for the second quarter of fiscal 2005 included $13.9 million of sales related to
the Carlyle specialty jewelry stores acquired by the Company in May 2005.

Comparable department sales for the six months ended July 30, 2005 increased
0.3% compared to a 5.0% comparable department sales increase in the same period
last year. Total sales for the six month period were $385.5 million compared to
$376.2 million in the first six months of 2004, an increase of 2.5%, including
$13.9 million of sales related to Carlyle.

The Company will report full results for the second quarter on August 18, 2005.

Finlay Enterprises, Inc., through its wholly-owned subsidiary, Finlay Fine
Jewelry Corporation, is one of the leading retailers of fine jewelry and the
largest operator of licensed fine jewelry departments in department stores
throughout the United States with sales of $923.6 million in fiscal 2004. The
number of locations at the end of the second quarter of fiscal 2005 totaled 993,
including 34 Carlyle specialty jewelry stores.

This release may contain forward-looking statements, which are made pursuant to
the safe harbor provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of
1995. Such forward-looking statements are based on Finlay's current expectations
and beliefs, are not a guarantee of future performance and involve known and
unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors. Actual results, performances or
achievements may differ materially from those contained in, or implied by, these
forward-looking statements, depending upon a variety of factors including, in
particular, the risks and uncertainties described in Finlay's filings with the
Securities and Exchange Commission. Readers are cautioned not to place undue
reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date
hereof. We undertake no obligation to release publicly any revisions to these
forward-looking statements that may be made to reflect events or circumstances
after the date hereof or to reflect the occurrence of unanticipated events. The
inclusion of any statement in this release does not constitute an admission by
Finlay or any other person that the events or circumstances described in such
statement are material.

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