8-K 1 d8k.htm FORM 8-K Form 8-K





Washington, D.C. 20549







Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of The

Securities Exchange Act of 1934

Date of Report (Date of earliest event reported) May 11, 2010



Uwharrie Capital Corp

(Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)




North Carolina   000-22062   56-1814206

(State or other jurisdiction

of incorporation)



File Number)


(IRS Employer

Identification No.)


132 North First Street, Albemarle, NC   28001
(Address of principal executive offices)   (Zip Code)

Registrant’s telephone number, including area code: (704) 983-6181


(Former name or former address, if changed since last report)



Check the appropriate box below if the Form 8-K filing is intended to simultaneously satisfy the filing obligation of the registrant under any of the following provisions:


¨ Written communications pursuant to Rule 425 under the Securities Act (17 CFR 230.425)


¨ Soliciting material pursuant to Rule 14a-12 under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14a-12)


¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 14d-2(b) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14d-2(b))


¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 13e-4(c) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.13e-4(c))




Item 5.07 Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders.

On May 11, 2010, Uwharrie Capital Corp (the “Registrant”) held its Annual Meeting of Shareholders (the “Annual Meeting”). There were three proposals submitted to shareholders at the Annual Meeting. In the case of Proposal 1, all of the Board of Directors’ nominees were approved and elected to serve on the Registrant’s Board of Directors. All other proposals were also approved by the shareholders entitled to vote at the Annual Meeting. The proposals below are described in greater detail in the Registrant’s definitive proxy statement for the Annual Meeting as filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission on April 9, 2010.

The voting results were as follows:

Proposal 1: Proposal to elect six members of the Board of Directors, each for a term of three years.


Directors Elected

   Votes For    Votes Withheld    Broker Non-Votes

Thomas M. Hearne, Jr.

   3,863,206    25,405    852,467

Charles D. Horne

   3,858,363    30,248    852,467

Timothy J. Propst

   3,863,262    25,349    852,467

Donald P. Scarborough

   3,863,498    25,113    852,467

John W. Shealy, Jr.

   3,863,211    25,400    852,467

S. Todd Swaringen

   3,858,363    30,248    852,467

Proposal 2: Proposal to ratify a non-binding shareholder resolution regarding the Registrant’s executive compensation policies and practices.



   Against    Abstain    Broker Non-Votes
4,428,737    153,058    159,282    1

Proposal 3: Proposal to ratify the appointment of Dixon Hughes PLLC as the Registrant’s independent registered public accounting firm for 2010.



   Against    Abstain    Broker Non-Votes
4,704,199    11,249    25,630    0


Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned hereunto duly authorized.



    /s/ Robert O. Bratton

  Robert O. Bratton
  Principal Financial Officer

Dated: May 13, 2010