                                                                    EXHIBIT 99.2



                            CERTIFICATION PURSUANT TO
                  SECTION 906 OF THE SARBANES-OXLEY ACT OF 2002

In connection with the Current Report of Amedisys, Inc. (the "Company") on Form 8-K dated March 14, 2003 (the "Report"), I, William F. Borne, Chief Executive Officer of the Company, certify that:

         (1) The Report fully complies with the requirements of section 13(a) or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934; and

         (2) The information contained in the Report fairly presents, in all material respects, the financial condition and result of operations of the Company.


/s/ WILLIAM F. BORNE
---------------------------
William F. Borne
Chief Executive Officer
March 14, 2003