                                                                      EXHIBIT 99

PRESS RELEASE


  AMSURG CORP. TO BROADCAST THIRD QUARTER CONFERENCE CALL LIVE ON THE INTERNET


NASHVILLE, Tenn. (Oct. 14, 2003) - AmSurg Corp. (Nasdaq: AMSG) today announced it will provide an on-line Web simulcast and rebroadcast of its 2003 third quarter earnings release conference call.

         The live broadcast of AmSurg Corp.'s quarterly conference call will be available on-line by going to http://www.amsurg.com and clicking on the link to Investor Relations, at http://www.fulldisclosure.com or at http://www.streetevents.com. The call is scheduled to begin at 5:00 p.m. eastern time on Tuesday, October 28, 2003. The on-line replay will follow shortly after the call and continue for 30 days.

         AmSurg Corp. develops, acquires and manages physician practice-based ambulatory surgery centers in partnership with surgical and other group practices. At June 30, 2003, AmSurg owned a majority interest in 107 centers and had 12 centers under development.


Contact:
       Claire M. Gulmi
       Senior Vice President and
       Chief Financial Officer
       (615) 665-1283


                                      -END-