Exhibit 99.1

Superconductor Technologies Announces Pricing of $5 Million At-The-Market

Registered Direct Offering

AUSTIN, Texas, March 20, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) — Superconductor Technologies, Inc. (Nasdaq:SCON) (the “Company” or “STI”) announced that it entered into a definitive securities purchase agreement with certain investors providing for the issuance of 3,062,790 shares of common stock at a purchase price per share of $1.6325, and five and a half (5.5) year warrants to purchase up to 1,531,395 shares of common stock at an exercise price of $1.6325.

H.C. Wainwright & Co. acted as the exclusive placement agent for this transaction.

The closing of the sale of the securities is expected to take place on or about March 25, 2015, subject to satisfaction of customary closing conditions.

The shares of common stock described above were offered pursuant to a shelf registration statement (File No. 333-202702), which was declared effective by the United States Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”) on March 19, 2015. The warrants described above have not been registered under the Securities Act of 1933 (the “Act”), and may not be offered or sold in the United States absent registration with the SEC or an applicable exemption from such registration requirements.

This press release shall not constitute an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to buy any of the securities described herein, nor shall there be any sale of these securities in any state or jurisdiction in which such offer, solicitation or sale would be unlawful prior to registration or qualification under the securities laws of any such state or jurisdiction. When filed with the SEC, copies of the prospectus supplement and the accompanying base prospectus relating to this offering may be obtained at the SEC’s website at http://www.sec.gov. Copies of the prospectus supplement and accompanying prospectus relating to the offering may be obtained from H.C. Wainwright & Co., LLC by contacting by telephone at (212) 356-0530 or by e-mail at placements@hcwco.com.

About Superconductor Technologies Inc. (STI)

Superconductor Technologies Inc. is a global leader in superconducting innovation. Its Conductus® superconducting wire platform offers high performance, cost-effective and scalable superconducting wire. With 100 times the current carrying capacity of conventional copper and aluminum, superconducting wire offers zero resistance with extreme high current density. This provides a significant benefit for electric power transmission and also enables much smaller or more powerful magnets for motors, generators, energy storage and medical equipment. Since 1987, STI has led innovation in HTS materials, developing more than 100 patents as well as proprietary trade secrets and manufacturing expertise. For more than 20 years STI utilized its unique HTS manufacturing process for solutions to maximize capacity utilization and coverage for Tier 1 telecommunications operators. Headquartered in Austin, TX, Superconductor Technologies Inc.’s common stock is listed on the NASDAQ Capital Market under the ticker symbol “SCON.” For more information about STI, please visit http://www.suptech.com.

Safe Harbor Statement

Statements in this press release regarding our business that are not historical facts are “forward-looking statements” that involve risks and uncertainties. Forward-looking statements are not guarantees of future performance and are inherently subject to uncertainties and other factors, which could cause actual results to differ materially from the forward-looking statements. These factors and uncertainties include, but are not limited to: our limited cash and a history of losses; our need to materially grow our revenues from commercial operations and/or to raise additional capital (which financing may not be available on acceptable terms or at all) in the very near future, before cash reserves are depleted (which reserves are expected to be sufficient well into the second quarter of 2015), to implement our current business plan and maintain our viability; and the performance and use of our equipment to produce wire in accordance with our timetable; overcoming technical challenges in attaining

milestones to develop and manufacture commercial lengths of our HTS wire; the possibility of delays in customer evaluation and acceptance of our HTS wire; the limited number of potential customers; the limited number of suppliers for some of our components and our HTS wire; there being no significant backlog from quarter to quarter; our market being characterized by rapidly advancing technology; the impact of competitive products, technologies and pricing; manufacturing capacity constraints and difficulties; our ability to raise sufficient capital to fund our operations (whether through registered direct offerings or otherwise), and the impact on our strategic wire initiative of any inability to raise such funds; the impact of any financing activity on the level of our stock price, which may decline in connection with the sales under registered direct offerings or otherwise; the dilutive impact of any issuances of securities to raise capital; and local, regional, and national and international economic conditions and events and the impact they may have on us and our customers.

Forward-looking statements can be affected by many other factors, including those described in the “Business” and “Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations” sections of STI’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2014 and in STI’s other public filings. These documents are available online at STI’s website, www.suptech.com, or through the SEC’s website, www.sec.gov. Forward-looking statements are based on information presently available to senior management, and STI has not assumed any duty to update any forward-looking statements.

Investor Relations Contact

Cathy Mattison or Kirsten Chapman

LHA +1-415-433-3777 invest@suptech.com

Superconductor Technologies Inc.