Exhibit 99.1

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact:
Raiford Garrabrant
Cree, Inc.
Director, Investor Relations
Phone: 919-407-7895
Fax: 919-407-5615
investorrelations@cree.com

Cree Reports Financial Results for the First Quarter of Fiscal Year 2014

Quarterly Revenue increased 24% year-over-year to a record $391 million
Quarterly Net Income increased 89% year-over-year to $30.5 million

DURHAM, N.C., October 22, 2013 - Cree, Inc. (Nasdaq: CREE), a market leader in LED lighting, today announced revenue of $391.0 million for its first quarter of fiscal 2014, ended September 29, 2013. This represents a 24% increase compared to revenue of $315.8 million reported for the first quarter of fiscal 2013, and a 4% increase compared to the fourth quarter of fiscal 2013. GAAP net income for the first quarter was $30.5 million, or $0.25 per diluted share, an increase of 89% year-over-year compared to GAAP net income of $16.1 million, or $0.14 per diluted share, for the first quarter of fiscal 2013. On a non-GAAP basis, net income for the first quarter of fiscal 2014 was $47.3 million, or $0.39 per diluted share, an increase of 49% year-over-year compared to non-GAAP net income for the first quarter of fiscal 2013 of $31.8 million, or $0.27 per diluted share.

"Fiscal 2014 is off to a good start, as we delivered solid Q1 revenue and earnings growth in line with our targets," stated Chuck Swoboda, Cree Chairman and CEO. "The strong performance was primarily due to increased sales of our lighting products, higher gross margins and improved operating leverage across the business.  Based on our backlog, current sales activity and project forecasts, we are targeting growth in all product segments in Q2, led by growth in LED fixtures and the Cree® LED bulb. Even with our success, LED lighting remains a largely untapped opportunity and we remain focused on investing in new products, new channels and building the Cree brand to grow our company and lead the market."

Q1 2014 Financial Metrics
(in thousands, except per share amounts and percentages)

	First Quarter
	2014	2013	Change
	(unaudited)	(unaudited)
Revenue, net	$391,006	$315,753	$75,253	24%
GAAP
Gross margin	38.6%	36.8%
Operating margin	9.4%	5.5%
Net income	$30,497	$16,123	$14,374	89%
Earnings per diluted share	$0.25	$0.14	$0.11	79%
Non-GAAP
Gross margin	39.2%	37.5%
Operating margin	15.0%	11.9%
Net income	$47,332	$31,844	$15,488	49%
Earnings per diluted share	$0.39	$0.27	$0.12	44%

•	Gross margin increased 110 basis points from Q4 of fiscal 2013 to 38.6% on a GAAP basis and increased 100 basis points to 39.2% on a non-GAAP basis.

•	Cash and investments increased by $64.9 million from Q4 of fiscal 2013 to $1.1 billion.

•	Accounts receivable (net) increased by $16.7 million from Q4 of fiscal 2013 to $209.3 million, with days sales outstanding of 48.

•	Inventory increased $20.3 million from Q4 of fiscal 2013 to $217.3 million, with days of inventory of 81 days.

Recent Business Highlights:

•
Introduced Cree TW (TrueWhite®) Series LED Bulb, which emits natural LED light with a Color Rendering Index (CRI) of 93, making Cree the first company to meet the California Energy Commission (CEC) LED bulb specification;

•	Earned ENERGY STAR® qualification for the game-changing soft-white Cree LED bulbs;

•
Introduced the XLamp® CXA 1520 LED array, the industry’s first High-Density (HD) LED Array. This breakthrough technology delivers double the lumen density to enable the next generation of LED spot lights;

•	Launched the XLamp XQ-E LEDs, a new generation of lighting-class LEDs that deliver big performance in a tiny package;

•	Announced that the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) headquarters in Washington, D.C., has been outfitted with energy-saving CR Series LED Troffers by Cree.

Business Outlook:

For its second quarter of fiscal 2014 ending December 29, 2013, Cree targets revenue in a range of $400 million to $420 million with GAAP gross margin targeted to be 37.8%+/- and non-GAAP gross margin targeted to be 38.5%+/-. Our GAAP gross margin targets include stock-based compensation expense of approximately $2.8 million, while our non-GAAP targets do not. Operating expenses are targeted to increase by approximately $5.5 million on both a GAAP basis and non-GAAP basis to promote the Cree LED bulb and take advantage of ENERGY STAR® qualification and associated utility rebates to drive increased sales momentum. The tax rate is targeted at 23.0%+/- for the second quarter of fiscal 2014. GAAP net income is targeted at $26 million to $32 million, or $0.21 to $0.26 per diluted share. Non-GAAP net income is targeted in a range of $44 million to $50 million, or $0.36 to $0.41 per diluted share. The GAAP and non-GAAP net income per diluted share targets are based on an estimated 123 million diluted weighted average shares. Targeted non-GAAP earnings exclude expenses related to the amortization of acquired intangibles and stock-based compensation expense of $0.15 per diluted share.

Quarterly Conference Call:

Cree will host a conference call at 5:00 p.m. Eastern time today to review the highlights of the fiscal 2014 first quarter results and the fiscal 2014 second quarter business outlook, including significant factors and assumptions underlying the targets noted above.

The conference call will be available to the public through a live audio web broadcast via the Internet. For webcast details, visit Cree's website at investor.cree.com/events.cfm.

Supplemental financial information, including the non-GAAP reconciliation attached to this press release, is available on Cree's website at investor.cree.com/results.cfm.

About Cree, Inc.

Cree is leading the LED lighting revolution and making energy-wasting traditional lighting technologies obsolete through the use of energy-efficient, mercury-free LED lighting. Cree is a market-leading innovator of lighting-class LEDs, LED lighting, and semiconductor products for power and radio frequency (RF) applications.

Cree's product families include LED fixtures and bulbs, blue and green LED chips, high-brightness LEDs, lighting-class power LEDs, power-switching devices and RF devices. Cree's products are driving improvements in applications such as general illumination, electronic signs and signals, power supplies and inverters.

For additional product and Company information, please refer to www.cree.com.

Non-GAAP Financial Measures:

This press release highlights the Company's financial results on both a GAAP and a non-GAAP basis. The GAAP results include certain costs, charges and expenses which are excluded from the non-GAAP results. By publishing the non-GAAP measures, management intends to provide investors with additional information to further analyze the Company's performance, core results and underlying trends. Cree's management evaluates results and makes operating decisions using both GAAP and non-GAAP measures included in this press release. Non-GAAP results are not prepared in accordance with GAAP and non-GAAP information should be considered a supplement to, and not a substitute for, financial statements prepared in accordance with GAAP. Investors and potential investors are encouraged to review the reconciliation of non-GAAP financial measures to their most directly comparable GAAP measures attached to this press release.

Forward Looking Statements:

The schedules attached to this release are an integral part of the release. This press release contains forward-looking statements involving risks and uncertainties, both known and unknown, that may cause actual results to differ materially from those indicated in the forward-looking statements. Actual results, including with respect to our targets and prospects, could differ materially due to a number of factors, including the risk that we may not obtain sufficient orders to achieve our targeted revenues; price competition in key markets; the risk that we or our channel partners are not able to develop and expand customer bases and accurately anticipate demand from end customers, which can result in increased inventory and reduced orders as we experience wide fluctuations in supply and demand; the risk that our results will suffer if we are unable to balance fluctuations in customer demand and capacity; product mix; risks associated with the ramp-up of production of our new products, and our entry into new business channels different from those in which we have historically operated; the risk that we may experience production difficulties that preclude us from shipping sufficient quantities to meet customer orders or that result in higher production costs and lower margins; our ability to lower costs; ongoing uncertainty in global economic conditions, infrastructure development or customer demand that could negatively affect product demand, collectability of receivables and other related matters as consumers and businesses may defer purchases or payments, or default on payments; the risk we may be required to record a significant charge to earnings if our goodwill or amortizable assets become impaired; our ability to complete development and commercialization of products under development, such as our pipeline of improved LED chips, LED components and LED lighting products; risks resulting from the concentration of our business among few customers, including the risk that customers may reduce or cancel orders or fail to honor purchase commitments; risks related to our multi-year warranty periods for LED lighting products; risks associated with acquisitions; the rapid development of new technology and competing products that may impair demand or render our products obsolete; the potential lack of customer acceptance for our products; risks associated with ongoing litigation; and other factors discussed in our filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), including our report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended June 30, 2013, and subsequent reports filed with the SEC. These forward-looking statements represent Cree's judgment as of the date of this release. Except as required under the U.S. federal securities laws and the rules and regulations of the SEC, Cree disclaims any intent or obligation to update any forward-looking statements after the date of this release, whether as a result of new information, future events, developments, changes in assumptions or otherwise.

Cree®, the Cree logo, TrueWhite® and XLamp® are registered trademarks of Cree, Inc. ENERGY STAR® is a registered trademark of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

CREE, INC.
CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF INCOME
(in thousands, except per share amounts and percentages)
(unaudited)

	Three Months Ended
	September 29, 2013	September 23, 2012

Revenue, net	$391,006	$315,753
Cost of revenue, net	240,249	199,704
Gross profit	150,757	116,049
Gross margin percentage	38.6%	36.8%

Operating expenses:
Research and development	41,743	37,547
Sales, general and administrative	64,278	52,645
Amortization of acquisition-related intangibles	7,287	7,670
Loss on disposal or impairment of long-lived assets	657	898
Total operating expenses	113,965	98,760

Operating income	36,792	17,289
Operating income percentage	9.4%	5.5%

Non-operating income, net	2,818	3,385
Income before income taxes	39,610	20,674
Income tax expense	9,113	4,551
Net income	$30,497	$16,123

Earnings per share:
Diluted	$0.25	$0.14

Shares used in diluted per share calculation	122,364	115,960

CREE, INC.
CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
(in thousands)

	September 29, 2013	June 30, 2013
	(unaudited)

ASSETS
Current assets:
Cash, cash equivalents, and short-term investments	$1,088,847	$1,023,915
Accounts receivable, net	209,250	192,507
Inventories	217,307	197,001
Deferred income taxes	26,208	26,125
Prepaid expenses and other current assets	108,640	76,218
Total current assets	1,650,252	1,515,766
Property and equipment, net	550,121	542,833
Intangible assets, net	352,630	357,525
Goodwill	616,345	616,345
Other assets	23,795	19,941
Total assets	$3,193,143	$3,052,410

LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS’ EQUITY
Current liabilities:
Accounts payable, trade	$148,513	$121,441
Accrued salaries and wages	41,948	41,407
Income taxes payable	10,851	1,315
Other current liabilities	57,468	43,248
Total current liabilities	258,780	207,411

Long-term liabilities:
Deferred income taxes	25,720	25,504
Other long-term liabilities	27,886	12,843
Total long-term liabilities	53,606	38,347

Shareholders’ equity:
Common stock	149	148
Additional paid-in-capital	2,067,849	2,025,764
Accumulated other comprehensive income, net of taxes	9,766	8,244
Retained earnings	802,993	772,496
Total shareholders’ equity	2,880,757	2,806,652
Total liabilities and shareholders’ equity	$3,193,143	$3,052,410

CREE, INC.
FINANCIAL RESULTS BY OPERATING SEGMENT
(in thousands, except percentages)
(unaudited)
The following table reflects the results of the Company's reportable segments as reviewed by the Company's Chief Executive Officer, its Chief Operating Decision Maker or CODM, for the three months ended September 29, 2013 and the three months ended September 23, 2012. The Company does not review inter-segment revenue when evaluating segment performance and allocating resources to each segment. As such, total segment revenue is equal to the Company's consolidated revenue.

	Three Months Ended
	September 29, 2013	September 23, 2012	Change
LED Products	$218,023	$187,547	$30,476	16%
Percent of revenue	56%	60%
Lighting Products	147,918	108,073	39,845	37%
Percent of revenue	38%	34%
Power and RF Products	25,065	20,133	4,932	24%
Percent of revenue	6%	6%
Total revenue	$391,006	$315,753	$75,253	24%

	Three Months Ended
	September 29, 2013	September 23, 2012	Change
LED Products gross profit	$101,653	$75,467	$26,186	35%
LED Products gross margin	46.6%	40.2%
Lighting Products gross profit	39,818	34,100	5,718	17%
Lighting Products gross margin	26.9%	31.6%
Power and RF Products gross profit	13,456	10,422	3,034	29%
Power and RF Products gross margin	53.7%	51.8%
Unallocated costs	(4,170)	(3,940)	(230)	6%
Consolidated gross profit	$150,757	$116,049	$34,708	30%
Consolidated gross margin	38.6%	36.8%
Reportable Segments Description
The Company's LED Products segment includes LED components, LED chips and SiC materials. The Company's Lighting Products segment consists of both LED and traditional lighting systems, with its primary focus on LED lighting. The Company's Power and RF Products segment includes power devices and RF devices.
Financial Results by Reportable Segment
The Company's CODM reviews gross profit as the lowest and only level of segment profit. As such, all items below gross profit in the consolidated statements of income must be included to reconcile the consolidated gross profit presented in the preceding table to the Company's consolidated income before taxes.
The Company allocates direct costs and indirect costs to each segment's cost of revenue. The allocation methodology is based on a reasonable measure of utilization considering the specific facts and circumstances of the cost being allocated.
Certain costs are not allocated when evaluating segment performance. These unallocated costs consist primarily of manufacturing employees' stock-based compensation, expenses for profit sharing and quarterly or annual incentive plans, matching contributions under the Company's 401(k) plan and acquisition related costs.

Cree, Inc.
Non-GAAP Measures of Financial Performance

To supplement the Company's consolidated financial statements presented in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles, or GAAP, Cree uses non-GAAP measures of certain components of financial performance. These non-GAAP measures include non-GAAP net income, non-GAAP earnings per diluted share, non-GAAP gross margin, non-GAAP operating income and free cash flow.
Reconciliation to the nearest GAAP measure of all historical non-GAAP measures included in this press release can be found in the tables included with this press release. In this press release, Cree also presents its target for non-GAAP operating expenses, which is operating expenses less stock-based compensation expense and charges for amortization or impairment of acquired intangibles.
Non-GAAP measures presented in this press release are not in accordance with or an alternative to measures prepared in accordance with GAAP and may be different from non-GAAP measures used by other companies. In addition, these non-GAAP measures are not based on any comprehensive set of accounting rules or principles. Non-GAAP measures have limitations in that they do not reflect all of the amounts associated with Cree's results of operations as determined in accordance with GAAP. These non-GAAP measures should only be used to evaluate Cree's results of operations in conjunction with the corresponding GAAP measures.
Cree believes that these non-GAAP measures, when shown in conjunction with the corresponding GAAP measures, enhance investors' and management's overall understanding of the Company's current financial performance and the Company's prospects for the future, including cash flows available to pursue opportunities to enhance shareholder value. In addition, because Cree has historically reported certain non-GAAP results to investors, the Company believes the inclusion of non-GAAP measures provides consistency in the Company's financial reporting.
For its internal budgeting process, and as discussed further below, Cree's management uses financial statements that do not include stock-based compensation expense or amortization or impairment of acquired intangible assets, and the income taxes associated with the foregoing. Cree's management also uses non-GAAP measures, in addition to the corresponding GAAP measures, in reviewing the Company's financial results.
The consolidated GAAP Gross Profit includes amounts that are excluded for non-GAAP measures in the “Unallocated Costs” in the Segment Reporting. The Company does not consider these costs when evaluating segment performance and allocating resources.
As described above, Cree excludes the following items from one or more of its non-GAAP measures when applicable:
Stock-based compensation expense. This expense consists of expenses for stock options, restricted stock and employee stock purchases through its Employee Stock Purchase Plan (ESPP). Cree excludes stock-based compensation expenses from its non-GAAP measures because they are non-cash expenses that Cree does not believe are reflective of ongoing operating results.
Amortization or impairment of acquired intangible assets. Cree incurs amortization or impairments of acquired intangible assets in connection with acquisitions. Cree excludes these items because they arise from Cree's prior acquisitions and have no direct correlation to the current operating results of Cree's business.
Income tax effects of the foregoing non-GAAP items. This amount is used to present each of the amounts described above on an after-tax basis consistent with the presentation of non-GAAP net income.
Cree expects to incur stock-based compensation expense and amortization of acquired intangible assets in future periods, including income taxes associated with the foregoing. In addition to the non-GAAP measures discussed above, Cree also uses free cash flow as a measure of operating performance. Free cash flow represents operating cash flows less net purchases of property and equipment and payments for patent and licensing rights. Cree considers free cash flow to be a liquidity measure that provides useful information to management and investors about the amount of cash generated by the business after the purchases of property and equipment, which can then

be used to, among other things, invest in Cree's business, make strategic acquisitions, strengthen the balance sheet and repurchase stock. A limitation of the utility of free cash flow as a measure of financial performance is that it does not represent the total increase or decrease in the Company's cash balance for the period.

CREE, INC.
Reconciliation of GAAP to Non-GAAP Measures
(in thousands, except per share amounts and percentages)
(unaudited)

Non-GAAP Gross Margin

	Three Months Ended
	September 29, 2013	September 23, 2012
GAAP gross profit	$150,757	$116,049
GAAP gross margin percentage	38.6%	36.8%
Adjustment:
Stock-based compensation expense	2,379	2,284
Non-GAAP gross profit	$153,136	$118,333
Non-GAAP gross margin percentage	39.2%	37.5%

Non-GAAP Operating Income

	Three Months Ended
	September 29, 2013	September 23, 2012
GAAP operating income	$36,792	$17,289
GAAP operating income percentage	9.4%	5.5%
Adjustments:
Stock-based compensation expense	14,578	12,485
Amortization of acquisition-related intangible assets	7,287	7,670
Total adjustments to GAAP operating income	21,865	20,155
Non-GAAP operating income	$58,657	$37,444
Non-GAAP operating income percentage	15.0%	11.9%

Non-GAAP Net Income

	Three Months Ended
	September 29, 2013	September 23, 2012
GAAP net income	$30,497	$16,123
Adjustments
Stock-based compensation expense	14,578	12,485
Amortization of acquisition-related intangible assets	7,287	7,670
Total adjustments to GAAP net income before provision for income taxes	21,865	20,155
Income tax effect *	(5,030)	(4,434)
Non-GAAP net income	$47,332	$31,844

Earnings per Share
Non-GAAP diluted net income per share	$0.39	$0.27

Shares used in diluted net income per share calculation
Non-GAAP shares used	122,364	115,960
*Estimated income tax effect is based upon the Company's overall consolidated effective tax rate for the given period.

Free Cash Flow

	Three Months Ended
	September 29, 2013	September 23, 2012
Cash flows from operations	$69,236	$85,686
Less: PP&E spending	(33,680)	(12,597)
Less: Patents spending	(4,769)	(5,548)
Total free cash flow	$30,787	$67,541