 Exhibit 99.1

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

SM ENERGY ANNOUNCES CLOSING OF
ANADARKO BASIN DIVESTITURE PACKAGE

DENVER, CO December 30, 2013 - SM Energy Company (NYSE: SM) today announces that it has closed its previously announced Anadarko Basin divestiture package, receiving total proceeds of approximately $329 million, which will provide additional liquidity to fund the Company’s 2014 capital program. Final divestiture proceeds will be subject to post-closing adjustments, which the Company expects to be completed within 120 days of closing. The effective date of the divestiture was October 1, 2013.

ABOUT THE COMPANY
SM Energy Company is an independent energy company engaged in the acquisition, exploration, development, and production of crude oil, natural gas, and natural gas liquids in onshore North America. SM Energy routinely posts important information about the Company on its website. For more information about SM Energy, please visit its website at www.sm‑energy.com.

INFORMATION ABOUT FORWARD LOOKING STATEMENTS
This press release contains forward looking statements within the meaning of securities laws, including forecasts and projections. The words “anticipate,” “assume,” “believe,” “budget,” “estimate,” “expect,” “forecast,” “intend,” “plan,” “project,” “will” and similar expressions are intended to identify forward looking statements. These statements involve known and unknown risks, which may cause SM Energy's actual results to differ materially from results expressed or implied by the forward looking statements. These risks include factors such as the availability, proximity and capacity of gathering, processing and transportation facilities; the uncertainty of negotiations to result in an agreement or a completed transaction; the uncertain nature of announced acquisition, divestiture, joint venture, farm down or similar efforts and the ability to complete any such transactions; the uncertain nature of expected benefits from the actual or expected acquisition, divestiture, joint venture, farm down or similar efforts; the volatility and level of oil, natural gas, and natural gas liquids prices; uncertainties inherent in projecting future rates of production from drilling activities and acquisitions; the imprecise nature of estimating oil and gas reserves; the availability of additional economically attractive exploration, development, and acquisition opportunities for future growth and any necessary financings; unexpected drilling conditions and results; unsuccessful exploration and development drilling results; the availability of drilling, completion, and operating equipment and services; the risks associated with the Company's commodity price risk management strategy; uncertainty regarding the ultimate impact of potentially dilutive securities; and other such matters discussed in the “Risk Factors” section of SM Energy's 2012 Annual Report on Form 10-K. The forward looking statements

contained herein speak as of the date of this announcement. Although SM Energy may from time to time voluntarily update its prior forward looking statements, it disclaims any commitment to do so except as required by securities laws.

SM ENERGY CONTACTS:
MEDIA:
Patty Errico, perrico@sm-energy.com, 303-830-5052

INVESTORS:
Brent Collins, ir@sm-energy.com, 303-863-4326
James Edwards, ir@sm-energy.com, 303-837-2444