Exhibit 99.1

Contacts:	Daniel J. Kohl, President/CEO
James M. McNeill, Sr. Vice President/CFO
(770) 441-1580

Brian Ritchie, Noonan Russo
(212) 845-4269

PSA HealthCare Announces Data Security Update

Norcross, GA. — (BUSINESS WIRE) — August 4, 2006 . . . PSA HealthCare (Nasdaq: PSAI) today announced that a company-owned laptop computer was stolen from an employee’s vehicle in a public parking lot. The laptop computer contained certain personal information of approximately 51,000 current and former patients, including names and social security numbers and, in a limited number of cases, personal health information. The laptop computer was password protected and PSA has no indication that any of the information has been accessed or misused. However, PSA will begin to contact the affected individuals in order to provide them with steps to take to protect themselves from any possible misuse of their personal information.

“We deeply regret this incident and extend our sincerest apologies to all current and former patients,” said Daniel J. Kohl, President and CEO of PSA. “In light of this episode, we have taken certain steps to augment data security policies and procedures.”

PSA provides comprehensive pediatric home health care services through a network of over 100 branch offices in 20 states, including satellite offices and branch office start-ups. Through these offices, PSA provides a combination of services, including pediatric private duty nursing (PDN), pediatric day treatment centers (PPECs) and respiratory therapy and equipment services (RTES). Additional information on PSA may be found on the Company’s website at http://www.psahealthcare.com.

NOTE: This press release contains certain forward-looking statements (as such term is defined in the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995) relating to future financial performance of Pediatric Services of America, Inc. (the “Company”). When used in this press release, the words “may,” “targets,” “goal,” “will,” “could,” “should,” “would,” “believe,” “feel,” “expects,” “confident,” “anticipate,” “estimate,” “intend,” “plan,” “potential” and similar expressions may be indicative of forward-looking statements. These statements by their nature involve substantial risks and uncertainties, certain of which are beyond the Company’s control. The Company cautions that various factors, including the factors described hereunder and those discussed in the Company’s other filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission, as well as general economic conditions, industry trends, the Company’s anticipated uses of

the proceeds from the sale of its Pharmacy Business, the Company’s ability to collect for equipment sold or rented, assimilate and manage previously acquired field operations, collect accounts receivable, including receivables related to acquired businesses and receivables under appeal, hire and retain qualified personnel and comply with and respond to billing requirements issues, including those related to the Company’s billing and collection system, nurse shortages, competitive bidding, HIPAA regulations, Average Wholesale Price (“AWP”) reductions, adverse litigation, workers’ compensation losses, availability and cost of medical malpractice insurance and reduced state funding levels and nursing hours authorized by Medicaid programs, and the impact of changes resulting from the recently enacted Medicare Act, could cause actual results or outcomes to differ materially from those expressed in any forward-looking statements of the Company made by or on behalf of the Company. Any forward-looking statement speaks only as of the date on which such statement is made, and the Company undertakes no obligation to update any forward-looking statement or statements to reflect events or circumstances after the date on which such statement is made or to reflect the occurrence of an unanticipated event. New factors emerge from time to time, and it is not possible for management to predict all of such factors. Further, management cannot assess the impact of each such factor on the business or the extent to which any factor, or combination of factors, may cause actual results to differ materially from those contained in any forward-looking statements.