SANDSTON CORP (CIK 892832)
Form 10-Q
period 2017-06-30
filed 2017-08-11

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

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant is a large accelerated filer, an accelerated filer, a non-accelerated filer, smaller reporting company, or an emerging growth company. See the definitions of “large accelerated filer,” “accelerated filer,” “smaller reporting company,” and “emerging growth company” in Rule 12b-2 of the Exchange Act.

Large Accelerated Filer ¨	Accelerated Filer ¨
Non-Accelerated Filer ¨ (Do not check if smaller reporting company)	Smaller Reporting Company x
Emerging growth company ¨

If an emerging growth company, indicate by check mark if the registrant has elected not to use the extended transition period for complying with any new or revised financial accounting standards provided pursuant to Section 13(a) of the Exchange Act. ¨

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant is a shell company (as defined in Rule 12b-2 of the Exchange Act).  x YES   ¨ No

Indicate the number of shares outstanding of each of the issuer's classes of common stock, as of the latest practicable date: No par value Common Stock:

15,946,270 shares outstanding as of August 11, 2017

PART I — FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Item 1. Financial Statements

Sandston Corporation

Condensed Balance Sheet

June 30, 2017 and December 31, 2016

	June 30,
	2017	December 31,
	(Unaudited)	2016
Assets
Current assets:
Cash	$297	$303

Total assets	$297	$303

Liabilities and Stockholders’ Equity (Deficit)

Current liabilities:
Accounts payable	$22,289	$24,543
Total current liabilities	22,289	24,543

Stockholders’ equity (deficit):
Common stock, no par value, 30,000,000 shares authorized,15,946,270 shares outstanding at June 30, 2017 and 15,185,420 shares outstanding at December 31, 2016	33,927,072	33,911,855
Accumulated deficit	(33,949,064)	(33,936,095)

Total stockholders’ equity (deficit)	(21,992)	(24,240)

Total liabilities and stockholders’ equity (deficit)	$297	$303

See notes to condensed financial statements.

Sandston Corporation

Condensed Statements of Operations

For The Three- and Six-Month Periods Ended June 30, 2017 and 2016

	Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
	2017	2016	2017	2016
	(Unaudited)	(Unaudited)	(Unaudited)	(Unaudited)

Net revenues	$-	$-	$-	$-
General and administrative expenses	2,833	4,399	12,969	14,693

Loss before income taxes	(2,833)	(4,399)	(12,969)	(14,693)
Income taxes	-	-	-	-

Net loss	$(2,833)	$(4,399)	$(12,969)	$(14,693)

Loss per share amounts – basic and diluted (Note 2):	$-	$-	$-	$-
Weighted average shares outstanding – basic and diluted (Note 2):	15,841,627	14,981,078	15,647,081	14,853,884

See notes to condensed financial statements.

Sandston Corporation

Condensed Statements of Cash Flows

For the Six Month Periods Ended June 30, 2017 and 2016

	Six Months Ended June 30,
	2017	2016
	(Unaudited)	(Unaudited)
Cash flows from operating activities:
Net loss	$(12,969)	$(14,693)
Adjustments to reconcile net loss to net cash used in operating activities:
Changes in assets and liabilities that provided (used) cash:
Accounts payable	(2,254)	1,866
Net cash used in operating activities	(15,223)	(12,827)

Cash flows from financing activities - sale of common stock	15,217	12,276

Net decrease in cash	(6)	(551)
Cash at beginning of period	303	872

Cash at end of period	$297	$321
Supplemental disclosures of cash flow information:
Cash paid for interest	$-	$-
Cash paid for income taxes	-	-

See notes to condensed financial statements.

Sandston Corporation

Notes to Condensed Financial Statements

For The Three- and Six-Month Periods Ended June 30, 2017 and 2016

Note 1 - Basis of Presentation

Pursuant to a recommendation of the Company’s Board of Directors and approval by its shareholders on January 13, 2004, the Company sold to NC Acquisition Corporation (the "Purchaser") on March 31, 2004 all of its tangible and intangible assets, including its real estate, accounts, equipment, intellectual property, inventory, subsidiaries, goodwill, and other intangibles, except for $30,000 in cash, (the "Net Asset Sale"). The Purchaser also assumed all of the Company’s liabilities pursuant to the Net Asset Sale. Following the Net Asset Sale, the Company’s only remaining assets were $30,000 in cash and it had no liabilities. It also retained no subsidiaries. On April 1, 2004 the Company amended its Articles of Incorporation to change its name from Nematron Corporation to Sandston Corporation (the “Company”) and to implement a shareholder approved one-for-five reverse stock split of the Company’s common stock, whereby every five issued and outstanding shares of the Company’s common stock became one share. On April 1, 2004 the Company also sold a total of 5,248,257 post-split shares to Dorman Industries, LLC (“Dorman Industries”) for $50,000. Dorman Industries is a Michigan Limited Liability Company wholly owned by Mr. Daniel J. Dorman, the Company’s Chairman of the Board, President and Principal Accounting Officer. Pursuant to its purchase of these shares, Dorman Industries became the owner of 62.50% of the then outstanding common stock of the Company. The Company has made subsequent sales of common stock to Dorman Industries in order to raise cash to pay operating expenses: December 2010 - 500,000 shares for $15,000; November 2011 - 375,000 shares for $15,000; September 2012 - 1,500,000 shares for $15,000; November 2013 - 361,766 shares for $10,853; February, March, and August 2014 - 733,300 shares for $21,803; March, August, and November 2015 – 394,506 shares for $15,780; February, March, April, July, August, and November 2016 – 523,867 shares for $18,635; and January, February, and June 2017 – 760,850 shares for $15,217. Dorman Industries currently is the beneficial owner of 65.20% of the Company’s outstanding common stock. Patricia A. Dorman, Mr. Dorman’s wife, is the beneficial owner of an additional 3.76% of the Company’s outstanding common stock.

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

Liquidity and Management Plans

The Company became a "public shell" corporation on April 1, 2004 following the Net Asset Sale and since that date its operational activities have been limited to considering sundry and various acquisition opportunities, and its financial activities have been limited to administrative activities and incurring expenditures for accounting, legal, filing, printing, office and auditing services. These expenditures have been paid with the $30,000 cash retained from the businesses that were sold, from $50,000 of proceeds from the sale of common stock on April 1, 2004 to Dorman Industries and from $247,288 of proceeds from the sale of stock since that date to certain accredited investors, including Dorman Industries.

As reflected in the accompanying balance sheet at June 30, 2017, cash totals $297. Based on such balance and management’s forecast of activity levels during the period that it may remain a “public shell” corporation, management believes that it will have to again sell through private placement a number of additional shares of common stock to generate sufficient cash to pay its current liabilities and its administrative expenses as such expenses become due in 2017. If the Company has not identified and consummated an acquisition by that date, the Company will need to obtain additional funds to maintain its administrative activities as a public shell company. Management intends to obtain such administrative funds from Dorman Industries in the form of loans or through equity sales in an amount sufficient to sustain operations at their current level. Dorman Industries owns 65.20% of the Company’s outstanding common stock. There can be no assurance that Dorman Industries or any other party will advance needed funds on any terms. The Company has not identified as yet potential acquisition candidates, the acquisition of which would mean that the Company would cease being a “public shell” and begin operating activities.

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

Three Month Periods Ended June 30, 2017 and 2016

Direct administrative expenses of the Company totaled $2,833 and $4,399 for the three month periods ended June 30, 2017, and 2016, respectively, as the administrative fees charged by its service providers in the 2017 period were less than those provided in the 2016 period.

Six Month Periods Ended June 30, 2017 and 2016

Direct administrative expenses of the Company totaled $12,969 and $14,693 for the six month periods ended June 30, 2017 and 2016, respectively, as the administrative fees charged by its service providers in the 2017 period were less than those provided in the 2016 period.

Liquidity and Capital Resources

Primary sources of liquidity for the Company following the March 31, 2004 Net Asset Sale have been cash balances that have been used to pay administrative expenses. Operating expenses of the Company have been funded with a) $30,000 cash retained from the businesses that were sold, b) $50,000 of proceeds from the sale of common stock on April 1, 2004 to Dorman Industries, and c) $247,288 of proceeds from the sale of stock since that date to certain accredited investors, including Dorman Industries.

As reflected in the accompanying balance sheet at June 30, 2017, cash totals $297. Based on such balance and management’s forecast of activity levels during the period that it may remain a “public shell” corporation, management believes that it will have to again sell through private placement a number of additional shares of common stock to generate sufficient cash to pay its current liabilities and its administrative expenses as such expenses become due in 2017. If the Company has not identified and consummated an acquisition by that date, the Company will need to obtain additional funds to maintain its administrative activities as a public shell company. Management intends to obtain such administrative funds from Dorman Industries in the form of loans or through equity sales in an amount sufficient to sustain operations at their current level. Dorman Industries owns 65.20% of the Company’s outstanding common stock. There can be no assurance that Dorman Industries or any other party will advance needed funds on any terms. The Company has not identified as yet potential acquisition candidates, the acquisition of which would mean that the Company would cease being a “public shell” and begin operating activities.

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

·	We have had no operating history since April 2004 and no revenues or earnings from operations since April 2004. We have no material assets and we will, in all likelihood, sustain operating expenses without corresponding revenues, at least until the consummation of a business combination.
·	Since we have no operating history, we will be subject to the risks inherent in establishing a new business. We have not identified what our new line of business will be; therefore, we cannot fully describe the specific risks presented by such business.
·	We may be unable to successfully identify and acquire a suitable merger partner or acquisition candidate.
·	We will incur significant costs in connection with our evaluation of suitable merger partners and acquisition candidates. As part of our plan to acquire or invest in strategically positioned companies, our management is seeking, analyzing, and evaluating potential acquisition and merger candidates. We have incurred and will continue to incur significant costs, such as due diligence and legal and other professional fees and expenses, as part of these efforts. Notwithstanding these efforts and expenditures, we cannot give any assurance that we will identify an appropriate acquisition opportunity in the near term, or at all.

·	Because we may consummate a merger or acquisition with a company in any industry and are not limited to any particular type of business, there is no current basis for shareholders to evaluate the possible merits or risks of the particular industry in which we may ultimately operate or the target business which we may ultimately acquire.
·	The reporting requirements under federal securities law may delay or prevent us from making certain acquisitions. Sections 13 and 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, require companies subject thereto to provide certain information about significant acquisitions, including certified financial statements for the company acquired, covering one, two, or three years, depending on the relative size of the acquisition. The time and additional costs that may be incurred by some target entities to prepare such statements may significantly delay or essentially preclude consummation of an otherwise desirable acquisition by us.
·	The role of our management team and key personnel from the target business we acquire cannot presently be ascertained. While we intend to closely scrutinize any individuals we engage after a redeployment of our assets, we cannot assure that our assessment of these individuals will prove to be correct.
·	We must conduct a due diligence investigation of the target businesses we intend to acquire. Intensive due diligence is time consuming and expensive due to the operations, accounting, finance, and legal professionals who must be involved in the due diligence process. Even if we conduct extensive due diligence on a target business with which we combine, we cannot assure that this diligence will reveal all material issues that may affect a particular target business, or that factors outside the control of the target business and outside of our control will not later arise.
·	Net Operating Losses (“NOLs”) may be carried forward to offset federal and state taxable income in future years and eliminate income taxes otherwise payable on such taxable income, subject to certain adjustments. Based on current federal corporate income tax rates, our NOL carryforwards could provide a benefit to us, if fully utilized, of significant future tax savings. However, our ability to use these tax benefits in future years will depend upon the amount of our otherwise taxable income. If we do not have sufficient taxable income in future years to use the tax benefits before they expire, we will lose the benefit of these NOL carryforwards permanently. Consequently, our ability to use the tax benefits associated with our substantial NOL will depend significantly on our success in identifying suitable merger partners and/or acquisition candidates, and once identified, successfully consummate a merger with and/or acquisition of these candidates. Additionally, if we underwent an ownership change, the NOL carryforward limitations would impose an annual limit on the amount of the taxable income that may be offset by our NOL generated prior to the ownership change. If an ownership change were to occur, we may be unable to use a significant portion of our NOL to offset taxable income. In general, an ownership change occurs when, as of any testing date, the aggregate of the increase in percentage points of the total amount of a corporation’s stock owned by “5-percent stockholders” within the meaning of the NOL carryforward limitations whose percentage ownership of the stock has increased as of such date over the lowest percentage of the stock owned by each such “5-percent stockholder” at any time during the three-year period preceding such date is more than 50 percentage points. In general, persons who own 5% or more of a corporation’s stock are “5-percent stockholders,” and all other persons who own less than 5% of a corporation’s stock are treated together as a public group. The amount of NOL carryforwards that we have claimed has not been audited or otherwise validated by the U.S. Internal Revenue Service (the “IRS”). The IRS could challenge our calculation of the amount of our NOL or our determinations as to when a prior change in ownership occurred and other provisions of the Internal Revenue Code may limit our ability to carry forward our NOL to offset taxable income in future years. If the IRS was successful with respect to any such challenge, the potential tax benefit of the NOL carryforwards to us could be substantially reduced.

·	We may effect an acquisition or merger with a company located outside of the United States. If we did, we would be subject to any special considerations or risks associated with companies operating in the target business’ home jurisdiction, including any of the following a) rules and regulations or currency conversion or corporate withholding taxes on individuals; b) tariffs and trade barriers; c) regulations related to customs and import/export matters; e) longer payment cycles; f) tax issues, such as tax law changes and variations in tax laws as compared to the United States; g) currency fluctuations and exchange controls; h) challenges in collecting accounts receivable; i) cultural and language differences; j) employment regulations; j) crime, strikes, riots, civil disturbances, terrorist attacks and wars; and l) deterioration of political relations with the United States. We cannot assure you that we would be able to adequately address these additional risks. If we were unable to do so, our operations might suffer.
·	If we effect an acquisition or merger with a company located outside of the United States, the laws of the country in which such company operates will govern almost all of the material agreements relating to its operations. We cannot assure you that the target business will be able to enforce any of its material agreements or that remedies will be available in this new jurisdiction. The system of laws and the enforcement of existing laws in such jurisdiction may not be as certain in implementation and interpretation as in the United States. The inability to enforce or obtain a remedy under any of our future agreements could result in a significant loss of business, business opportunities or capital.
·	Compliance with the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 will require substantial financial and management resources and may increase the time and costs of completing an acquisition.
·	In the event we engage in a business combination that results in us holding passive investment interests in a number of entities, we could be subject to regulation under the Investment Company Act of 1940. In such event, we would be required to register as an investment company and could be expected to incur significant registration and compliance costs.
·	Management anticipates that it may be able to participate in only one potential business venture because a business partner might require exclusivity. This lack of diversification should be considered a substantial risk to our shareholders because it will not permit us to offset potential losses from one venture against gains from another.
·	Our common stock is quoted only on the OTC bulletin board and there may not be a sustained trading market for our common stock.
·	Our common stock may be subject to significant restriction on resale due to federal penny stock restrictions.
·	The market prices of our common stock have been highly volatile. The market has from time to time experienced significant price and volume fluctuations that are unrelated to the operating performance of particular companies.
·	Although our stockholders may receive dividends if, as, and when declared by our Board of Directors, we do not intend to pay dividends on our common stock in the foreseeable future.

·	Our Amended and Restated Articles of Incorporation provides that our Board of Directors will be authorized to issue from time to time, without further stockholder approval, up to 30,000,000 shares of preferred stock in one or more series and to fix or alter the designations, preferences, rights and any qualifications, limitations, or restrictions of the shares of each series, including the dividend rights, dividend rates, conversion rights, voting rights, terms of redemption, including sinking fund provisions, redemption price or prices, liquidation preferences, and the number of shares constituting any series or designations of any series. Such shares of preferred stock could have preferences over our common stock with respect to dividends and liquidation rights. We may issue additional preferred stock in ways which may delay, defer, or prevent a change in control of the Company without further action by our stockholders.
·	A key element of our growth strategy is to make acquisitions. As part of our acquisition strategy, we may issue additional shares of common stock as consideration for such acquisitions. These issuances could be significant. To the extent that we make acquisitions and issue our shares of common stock as consideration, current stockholders’ equity interest in the Company will be diluted.
·	If the Company enters a business combination with a private concern, that, in all likelihood, would result in the Company issuing securities to shareholders of any such private company. The issuance of our previously authorized and unissued Common Stock would result in reduction in percentage of shares owned by our present and prospective shareholders and may result in a change in our control or in our management.
·	Our principal shareholder, Daniel J. Dorman, owns or controls 65.20% of our common stock. His wife owns 3.76% of our common stock. Consequently, they will have significant influence over all matters requiring approval by our shareholders, but not requiring the approval of the minority shareholders. In addition, he is now an officer and director. Because he and his wife own or control a majority of our common stock, they will be able to elect all of the members of our board of directors, allowing them to exercise significant control of our affairs and management. In addition, they may transact most corporate matters requiring shareholder approval by written consent, without a duly-noticed and duly-held meeting of shareholders.
·	Uncertainties discussed elsewhere in “Management's Discussion and Analysis of Results of Operations”.

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