                                  Exhibit 99.1

                 SL INDUSTRIES, INC. MOVES COMMON STOCK TRADING
                           TO AMERICAN STOCK EXCHANGE

            MT. LAUREL,  N.J. (April 28, 2003) - SL Industries,  Inc.  (NYSE:SL)
announced today that effective at the opening of trading on Wednesday, April 30,
2003,  its common stock will be traded on the  American  Stock  Exchange  (AMEX)
under the symbol "SLI." The stock will continue to be traded on the NYSE through
the close of the market on Tuesday, April 29, 2003.

            Additionally,  on  April  30,  2003,  the  Company's  symbol  on the
Philadelphia  Stock Exchange will be changed from "SL" to "SLI". The Company had
been operating under a plan to address its non-compliance with the NYSE's market
capitalization  and  stockholders'   equity   requirements  and  was  unable  to
demonstrate compliance by the end of its 18 month plan period.

            "We have studied a number of alternatives to ensure our common stock
continues to be publicly  traded and the American Stock Exchange was clearly the
best solution for us," said Warren  Lichtenstein,  Chairman and Chief  Executive
Officer of SL  Industries,  Inc. "The American  Stock  Exchange will provide our
shareholders with an excellent trading  environment on a major national exchange
with state of the art technology so that trades are executed  quickly,  reliably
and transparently. We look forward to a long and favorable relationship with the
American Stock Exchange."

About SL Industries

            SL Industries, Inc., through its subsidiaries, designs, manufactures
and markets power electronics,  power motion and power protection equipment that
is used in a variety  of  aerospace,  computer,  datacom,  industrial,  medical,
telecom, transportation and utility equipment applications

Forward-Looking Statements

            This press  release  contains  statements  that are  forward-looking
statements within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of
1995.  These  statements  are  based  on  current  expectations,  estimates  and
projections about the Company's  business based, in part, on assumptions made by
management.  These  statements  are not  guarantees  of future  performance  and
involve  risks,  uncertainties  and  assumptions  that are difficult to predict.
Therefore,  actual  outcomes  and  results  may differ  materially  from what is
expressed  or  forecasted  in such  forward-looking  statements  due to numerous
factors, including those described above and the following: the effectiveness of
the cost reduction initiatives undertaken by the Company,  changes in demand for
the  Company's  products,  product  mix,  the  timing  of  customer  orders  and
deliveries,  the impact of  competitive  products  and pricing,  constraints  on
supplies of critical  components,  excess or  shortage of  production  capacity,
difficulties  encountered in the  integration  of acquired  businesses and other
risks  discussed  from time to time in the  Company's  Securities  and  Exchange
Commission filings and reports.  In addition,  such statements could be affected
by general industry and market conditions and growth rates, and general domestic

and international  economic conditions.  Such  forward-looking  statements speak
only as of the date on which they are made,  and the Company does not  undertake
any  obligation  to update any  forward-looking  statement to reflect  events or
circumstances after the date of this release.

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Contact:

SL Industries, Inc.
David R. Nuzzo, 856/727-1500, ext. 5515
david.Nuzzo@slindustries.com