MNB BANCSHARES INC (CIK 891284)
Form 10-Q
period 1999-06-30
filed 1999-08-11

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
Washington, D.C.  20549

FORM 10-Q

1			QUARTERLY REPORT
PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF
THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For the quarterly period ended June 30, 1999

OR

		TRANSITION REPORT PURSUANT TO
SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE
SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For transition period from ________ to ________

Commission File Number 0-20878

MNB BANCSHARES, INC.
(Exact name of Registrant as specified in its charter)

Delaware
48-1120026
(State or other jurisdiction
of incorporation or organization)
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

Indicate the number of shares outstanding of each
of the Registrant's classes of common stock as of the
latest practicable date:  As of August 9, 1999, the
Registrant had outstanding 1,380,395 shares of its
common stock, $.01  par value per share.

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
CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS

                                      June 30,       December 31,
                                       1999              1998
ASSETS                             (Unaudited)


Cash                           $     3,109,499         $     3,875,529

Investment securities:

  Held-to-maturity at amortized cost   2,042,213             2,266,343
  (estimated fair value of $2,052,000
   and $2,296,000 respectively)

  Available-for-sale at estimated fair value   45,672,435   48,384,518

Loans, net                                     79,915,583   75,052,990

Premises and equipment, net                     2,191,452    2,231,850

Other assets                                    3,860,647    4,019,000

  Total assets                             $ 136,791,829 $ 135,830,230

LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY

Liabilities:

  Deposits                    $ 108,100,051    $ 115,062,022

  Other borrowings               14,361,440        6,529,501

  Accrued expenses,
  taxes and other liabilities     1,145,099          997,034

     Total liabilities          123,606,590      122,588,557

Stockholders' equity:

  Common stock, $.01 par, 3,000,000 shares authorized,
  1,380,395 and 1,367,976 shares issued and outstanding at
  1999 and 1998, respectively        13,804          13,680

  Additional paid in capital      8,262,283       8,199,525

  Retained earnings               5,264,346       5,021,547
  Accumulated other
  comprehensive income/(loss)      (142,334)        229,272

  Unearned employee benefits       (212,860)       (222,351)

     Total stockholders' equity  13,185,239      13,241,673

     Total liabilities and
     stockholders' equity     $ 136,791,829   $ 135,830,230

See accompanying notes to condensed consolidated
financial statements.

			MNB BANCSHARES, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF EARNINGS
(Unaudited)

                          For the Six Months
                           Ended June 30,
                            1999               1998

Interest income:

 Loans             $        3,255,134  $         3,885,762
 Investment securities      1,321,015            1,277,417
  Other                        52,373              217,954
   Total interest income    4,628,522            5,381,133

Interest expense:

  Deposits                     2,168,836            2,636,829
  Borrowed funds                 255,234              296,676
     Total interest expense    2,424,070            2,933,505

     Net interest income       2,204,452            2,447,628

Provision for loan losses              -               60,000

    Net interest income after
    provision for loan losses  2,204,452            2,387,628

Noninterest income:

  Fees and service charges       392,266              399,232
  Gains on sale of loans          89,191              170,300
  Gains on sale of investments     7,147               10,795
  Other                           28,336               43,277
     Total noninterest income    516,940              623,604

Noninterest expense:

  Compensation and benefits    1,042,242            1,038,997
  Occupancy and equipment        294,077              339,500
  Federal deposit insurance
  premiums                        23,534               31,545
  Data processing                 67,225               78,161
  Amortization                   114,938              125,646
  Advertising                     32,482               30,911
  Professional fees               79,740              110,786
  Stationery, printing
  and office supplies             52,765               60,098
  Other                          386,484              428,274
     Total noninterest expense 2,093,487            2,243,918

     Earnings before income taxes   627,905           767,314

Income tax expense                  213,942           207,808

     Net earnings       $           413,963           559,506

Earnings per share:

        Basic       $                  0.30      $       0.41
        Diluted     $                  0.29      $       0.40

Dividends per share   $               0.125      $      0.125

See accompanying notes to condensed
 consolidated financial statements

MNB BANCSHARES, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS
OF EARNINGS
(Unaudited)
                               For the Three Months
                                  Ended June 30,

                                1999                1998
Interest income:

  Loans                      $  1,657,140  $   1,888,817
  Investment securities           647,499        655,893
  Other                            20,629        101,177
     Total interest income      2,325,268      2,645,887

Interest expense:

  Deposits                      1,063,645      1,306,255
  Borrowed funds                  135,593        145,554
     Total interest expense     1,199,238      1,451,809

     Net interest income        1,126,030      1,194,078

Provision for loan losses               -         30,000

     Net interest income after
     provision for loan losses  1,126,030      1,164,078

Noninterest income:

  Fees and service charges        210,828        195,168
  Gains on sale of loans           36,388        108,574
  Gains on sale of investments      5,500         10,795
  Other                             9,837         19,484
     Total noninterest income     262,553        334,021

Noninterest expense:

  Compensation and benefits       527,724        546,401
  Occupancy and equipment         146,714        174,030
  Federal deposit insurance
  premiums                         11,437         17,102
  Data processing                  33,429         35,952
  Amortization                     55,588         61,775
  Advertising                      22,518         15,238
  Professional fees                37,130         61,571
  Stationery, printing
  and office supplies              32,223         38,024
  Other                           186,877        224,136
     Total noninterest expense  1,053,640      1,174,229

     Earnings before income taxes   334,943      323,870

Income tax expense                  115,440       63,949

     Net earnings          $        219,503 $    259,921

Earnings per share:

     Basic     $          0.16     $           0.19
     Diluted              0.16     $           0.18

Dividends per share     $        0.0625  $       0.0625

See accompanying notes to condensed consolidated
financial statements.

MNB BANCSHAES, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS
OF CASH FLOWS
(Unaudited)

                                 For the Six Months
                                     Ended June 30,
                                1999                1998

Net cash provided by
operating activities      $     1,222,675    $     2,271,456

INVESTING ACTIVITIES

  Net (increase) decrease in loans   (5,030,905)   5,895,290

  Maturities and prepayments
  of investments held to maturity       134,654    3,297,458

  Maturities and prepayments
  of investments available for sale   8,782,480    5,672,472

  Proceeds from sale of
  investments available for sale      5,049,734    1,228,736

  Proceeds from sale of
  investments held to maturity          102,317            -

  Purchase of investments
  available for sale                (11,747,633)  (14,741,833)
  Proceeds from sale of
  foreclosed assets                      50,000        16,185
  Net proceeds from sale
  of Beloit branch                            -       973,283

  Purchases of premises
  and equipment, net                   (100,529)     (142,799)

     Net cash provided by
    (used in) investing activities   (2,759,882)    2,198,792

FINANCING ACTIVITIES

  FHLB advances (repayment), net      8,491,430     (642,856)

  Net decrease in deposits           (6,961,971)  (4,983,147)

  Net decrease in securities
  sold under agreements to repurchase          -     (60,284)

  Issuance of common stock
  under stock option plan                62,882       75,013

  Payment of dividends                 (171,164)    (161,491)

  Repayment on note payable            (650,000)           -

     Net cash provided by
    (used in) financing activities      771,177    (5,772,765)

  Net decrease in cash                (766,030)    (1,302,515)

  Cash at beginning of period        3,875,529      6,698,451

  Cash at end of  period    $        3,109,499  $   5,395,934

Supplemental disclosure of cash flow information:

   Cash paid during period
   for interest             $        2,426,717  $   2,950,716

   Cash paid during period
   for taxes                $           42,069  $     759,634

Supplemental schedule of noncash investing activities:

   Transfer of loans to
   real estate owned        $          50,000               -

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

	Basic earnings per share have been
computed based upon the weighted average number
of common shares outstanding during each year.
Diluted earnings per share include the effect of all
potential common shares outstanding.  Earnings per
share for all periods presented have been adjusted
retroactively to give effect to the 5% stock
dividends paid by the Company annually since
1994.

	The shares used in the calculation of basic
and diluted income per share are shown below:

                        For the quarters         For the six months
                          ended June 30,            ended June 30,
                        1999          1998       1999           1998
 Weighted
    average common
    shares outstanding  1,373,127  1,363,151   1,371,287   1,356,830
Stock options              42,996     56,317      44,921      59,189
Total                   1,416,123  1,419,468   1,416,208   1,416,019

3.	Comprehensive Income

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

                               For the quarters       For the six months
                               ended June 30,          ended June 30,

                                     1999       1998      1999       1998
Net income                       $  219,503 $ 259,921 $ 413,963   $ 559,506
Unrealized holding gains (losses)  (406,692)  (28,824) (592,217)     15,319
 Less - reclassification
 adjustment for gain
 included in net earnings             5,500    10,795     7,147      10,795
         Net unrealized gains
        (losses) on securities     (412,192)  (39,619) (599,364)      4,524
Income tax expense (benefit)       (156,633)  (15,055) (227,758)      1,719
Total comprehensive income         $ 36,056 $ 235,357  $ 42,357   $ 562,311
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

	Net earnings for the first six months of 1999
decreased $145,543, or 26.0%, to $413,963 as
compared to the first six months of 1998.  Net
interest income decreased $183,177, or 7.7%, from
$2,387,627, to $2,204,452. Noninterest income
decreased $106,664, or 17.1%, from $623,604 to
$516,940, due to a decrease in gains on sale of
loans.  Noninterest expense decreased $150,433 or
6.7%.

	Net earnings for the second quarter of 1999
decreased 15.6% to $219,503 in comparison to the
same period in 1998.  Net interest income decreased
from $1,164,078 to $1,126,030, or 3.3%, during this
period.  Noninterest income decreased 21.4% to
$262,553 compared to $334,021 as a result of gains
on sale of loans declining.  Noninterest expense
declined $120,589, or 10.3%.

	Interest Income.  Interest income decreased
$752,612, or 14.0%, to $4.6 million from $5.4
million in the first six months of 1998. The majority
of this decline was attributable to a significant
decrease in residential real estate loans beginning in
the second quarter of 1998.  While June 30, 1999
and 1998 loan totals were comparable, the average
loan balance for the first six months of 1999 was
$76.2 million compared to $85.7 million for the first
six months of 1998.

Interest income for the second quarter of
1999 decreased by $320,619, or 12.1% compared to
the same period of 1998.  Average loans for the
second quarter of 1999 were $78.0 million
compared to average loans of $83.3 million for the
second quarter of 1998.  However, it is expected
that average loans in the third quarter of 1999 will
exceed the comparable 1998 period.

	Interest Expense.  As compared to the same
period a year earlier, interest expense during the
first six months of 1999 decreased by $509,435, or
17.4%.  Interest expense on deposits decreased
$467,993, or 17.8% while interest expense on
borrowings, consisting of advances from the Federal
Home Loan Bank of Topeka (the "FHLB") and
funds borrowed for acquisitions decreased $41,442,
or 14.0%, during this time period.  Interest expense
decreased as a result of a decline in interest rates, a
decline in deposits resulting from the Beloit branch
sale, and the principal repayments on the
Company's note payable.

	Interest expense for the second quarter of
1999 decreased 17.4% to $1.2 million from $1.5
million in 1998.  Deposit interest expense decreased
$242,610, or 18.6%, to $1.1 million.  These
decreases were the result of the decline in interest
rates, the sale of the Beloit branch ($6.8 million in
deposits) and the principal repayments on the
Company's note payable.

	Provision for Loan Losses.  The Company
did not make a provision for loan losses for the first
six months of 1999, as a result of the strong credit
quality of the loan portfolio.  The provision for loan
losses was $60,000 in the first six months of 1998.
At June 30, 1999, the allowance for loan losses was
$1,274,379, or 1.6% of gross loans outstanding,
compared to $1,341,912, or 1.7% of gross loans
outstanding, at June 30, 1998.  The allowance for
loan losses was $1.3 million at December 31, 1998,
or 1.7% of gross loans outstanding.

	Noninterest Income.  Noninterest income
decreased $106,664, or 17.1%, for the first six
months of 1999 to $516,940 compared to the same
period in 1998, as gains on sales of loans in the first
six months declined $81,109 below the comparable
period in 1998.  Noninterest income for the second
quarter of 1999 decreased 21.4% to $262,553
compared to $334,021 for the second quarter in
1998.  Contributing to this decrease was a decline in
gains on sale of loans of $72,186, offset by an
increase in fee and service charge income of
$15,660.

	Noninterest Expense.  Noninterest expense
decreased $150,433, or 6.7%, to $2.1 million for the
first six months of 1999 over the same period in
1998. Noninterest expense decreased $120,589, or
10.3% for the second quarter of 1999 compared to
the same period in 1998 resulting from reduced
expenses for compensation and benefits, occupancy
and equipment and professional fees.

	Asset Quality and Distribution.  The
Company's total assets remained stable at $136.8
million at June 30, 1999 compared to $135.8
million at December 31, 1998.  The Company's
primary ongoing sources of funds are deposits,
proceeds from principal and interest payments on
loans and investment securities and proceeds from
the sale of mortgage loans and investment
securities.  While maturities and scheduled
amortization of loans are a predictable source of
funds, deposit flows and mortgage prepayments are
greatly influenced by general interest rates,
economic conditions, competition, and the
restructuring of the financial services industry.

	The primary investing activities of the
Company are the origination of mortgage,
consumer, and commercial loans and the purchase
of investment and mortgage backed securities.
Generally, the Company originates long term fixed
rate residential mortgage loans for immediate sale
and does not warehouse loans to speculate on
interest rates.

	Management believes that the quality of the
loan portfolio continues to be strong, as evidenced
by the small number and amount of loans past due
one month or more.  As of June 30, 1999, eleven
real estate loans were more than one month past due
with a total balance of $724,452, which was 0.9%
of total loans outstanding.  Seven of these loans,
totaling $532,994, were on non-accrual status as of
June 30, 1999.  With the exception of guaranteed
student loans, five consumer loans totaling $46,521,
or 0.1%, were over one month past due as of June
30, 1999 and two of these loans with a
balance of $11,411 were on non-accural.
Additionally, thirteen commercial loans totaling
$239,126, or 0.3%, were past due.  No commercial
loans were on non-accrual status.

	During the six months ended June 30, 1999,
the Company purchased investment securities
available for sale in the amount of $11.7 million.
These activities were funded primarily by maturities
and sales of investment securities of $14.1 million.

	Liability Distribution.  At June 30, 1999,
total deposits had a net decrease of $7.0 million
from December 31, 1998, while borrowings
increased $7.8 million.  The change in the liability
mix is primarily related to daily fluctuations
experienced on the deposit balances maintained by
our public funds providers.

	Noninterest bearing demand accounts at the
end of the second quarter of 1999 totaled $9.5
million, or 8.8% of deposits, compared to
approximately 8.1%, or $9.3 million at December
31, 1998.  Certificates of deposit decreased to $52.5
million at June 30, 1999 from $54.2 million, or
3.1%. Money market and NOW accounts decreased
12.9% from December 31, 1998 to $35.9 million
from $41.2 million, and were 33.2% of total
deposits, while savings accounts also decreased
from $10.3 million to $10.1 million.  The decrease
in money market and NOW accounts primarily
resulted from the fluctuating balances of public
funds providers accounts.

	Liquidity.  The Company's most liquid assets
are cash and cash equivalents and investment
securities available for sale.  The level of these
assets are dependent on the Company's operating,
financing, lending and investing activities during
any given period.  At June 30, 1999, and December
31, 1998 respectively, these liquid assets totaled
$48.8 million and $52.3 million.  During periods in
which the Company is not able to originate a
sufficient amount of loans and/or periods of high
principal prepayments, the Company increases its
liquid assets by investing in short-term U. S.
Government and agency securities.

	Liquidity management is both a daily and
long-term function of management strategy.  Excess
funds are generally invested in short-term
investments.  In the event the Company requires
funds beyond its ability to generate them internally,
additional funds are generally available through the
use of FHLB advances, a line of credit with the
FHLB or through sales of securities.  At June 30,
1999, the Company had outstanding FHLB
advances of $4.4 million and had $8.7 million
outstanding on its $15 million line of credit.
Additionally, the Company has guaranteed a loan
made to the Company's Employee Stock Ownership
Plan (the "ESOP") with an outstanding balance of
$212,860 at June 30, 1999, to fund the ESOP's
purchase of shares in the Company's common stock
offering in 1993.  The total borrowings by the
Company were $14.4 million at June 30, 1999,
compared to $6.5 million at December 31, 1998.

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

At June 30, 1999, the Bank continued to
maintain a sound Tier 1 capital ratio of 8.78% and a
risk based capital ratio of 15.98%.  As shown by the
following table, the Bank's capital exceeded the
minimum capital requirements  (dollars in
thousands):

                                   June 30, 1999
                     Amount         Percent          Required
Tier 1 Capital      $12,014          8.78%            4.00%
Risk Based Capital   13,033         15.98%            8.00%
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

	The Company has been successful in
meeting the interest rate sensitivity objectives set
forth in its policy.  Simulation models are prepared
to determine the impact on net interest income for
the coming twelve months, including one using
rates at May 31, 1999 and forecasting volumes for
the twelve month projection.  This position is then
subjected to a shift in interest rates of 200 basis
points rising and 200 basis points falling with an
impact to the Company's net interest income for the
next 12 month period as follows:

            					$ change in net interest	      % of net
Scenario            				income		              		int. income
200 basis point rising			($147,600)	           		(4.45%)
200 basis point falling			($185,000)	          		(5.58%)

	The Company believes that no significant
changes in its interest rate sensitivity position have
occurred since May 31, 1999.  The Company also
believes it is appropriately positioned for future
interest rate movements, although it may experience
some fluctuations in net interest income due to short
term timing differences between the repricing of
assets and liabilities.

	Safe Harbor Statement Under the Private
Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. This
quarterly report contains certain forward looking
statements within the meaning of Section 27A of
the Securities Act of 1933, as amended and Section
21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as
amended.  The Company intends such forward-
looking statements to be covered by the safe harbor
provisions for forward-looking statements contained
in the Private Securities Reform Act of 1995, and is
including this statement for purposes of these safe
harbor provisions.  Forward-looking statements,
which are based on certain assumptions and
describe future plans, strategies and expectations of
the Company, are generally identifiable by use of
the words "believe," "expect," "intend,"
"anticipate," "estimate," "project" or similar
expressions.  The Company's ability to predict
results or the actual effect of future plans or
strategies is inherently uncertain.  Factors which
could have a material adverse affect on the
operations and future prospects of the Company and
the subsidiary include, but are not limited to,
changes in: interest rates, general economic
conditions, legislative/regulatory changes, monetary
and fiscal policies of the U.S. Government,
including policies of the U.S. Treasury and the
Federal Reserve Board, the quality or composition
of the loan or investment portfolios, demand for
loan products, deposit flows, competition, demand
for financial services in the Company's market area
and accounting principles, policies and guidelines.
These risks and uncertainties should be considered
in evaluating forward-looking statements and undue
reliance should not be placed on such statements.
Further information concerning the Company and
its business, including additional factors that could
materially affect the company's financial results, is
included in the Company's filings with the
Securities and Exchange Commission.

MNB BANCSHARES, INC. AND
SUBSIDIARIES
PART II

ITEM 1.	LEGAL PROCEEDINGS.

		There are no material pending legal
proceedings to which the Company
or its subsidiaries is a party other
than ordinary routine litigation
incidental to their respective
businesses.

ITEM 2.	CHANGES IN SECURITIES.

		None

ITEM 3.	DEFAULTS UPON SENIOR SECURITIES.

		None

ITEM 4.	SUBMISSION OF MATTERS TO
VOTE OF SECURITY HOLDERS.

On May 19, 1999, the annual
meeting of stockholders was held.
At the meeting, Patrick L.
Alexander, Joseph L. Downey and
Jerry R. Pettle were elected to serve
as Class I directors with terms
expiring in 2002. Continuing as
Class II directors (term expires in
2000) are Susan E. Roepke and
Donald J. Wissman and continuing
as Class III directors (term expires in
2001) are Brent A. Bowman, Charles
D. Green and Vernon C. Larson. The
stockholders also ratified the
appointment of KPMG LLP as the
Company's independent public
accountants for the year 	ending
	December 31, 1999.

		There were 1,370,638 issued and
outstanding shares of Common Stock at the
time 	of the annual meeting.  The voting
on each item at the annual meeting was as
	follows:

                         For        Withheld/               Broker
                                    Against       Abstain   Non-Votes

Patrick L. Alexander  1,183,944      27,428

Joseph L. Downey      1,203,315       8,057

Jerry R. Pettle       1,201,516       9,856

KPMG LLP              1,152,328       4,200        29,321

ITEM 5.	OTHER INFORMATION.

		None

ITEM 6.	EXHIBITS AND REPORTS ON FORM 8-K.

		A.	Exhibits

		Exhibit 27.  Financial Data Schedule.

  B. Reports on Form 8-K

  None

SIGNATURES

	Pursuant to the requirements of the
Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the Registrant has
duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by
the undersigned thereunto duly authorized.

MNB BANCSHARES, INC.

Date:  August 11, 1999		/s/Patrick L. Alexander
                          	President and Chief Executive Officer

Date:  August 11, 1999		/s/Mark A. Herpich
                     						Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer