PRESS RELEASE

               MINERALS TECHNOLOGIES INC.
             REDEEMS CURRENT RIGHTS PLAN AND
                ADOPTS NEW RIGHTS PLAN
                ----------------------

      New York, NY, August 27, 1999 -- Minerals
Technologies Inc. (the "Company") (NYSE: MTX)
announced today that its Board of Directors will
redeem the Company's current rights plan effective
September 13, 1999 and simultaneously replace it with
a new rights plan.

      The new rights plan provides for the
distribution of one preferred stock purchase right
for each outstanding share of Common Stock held by
stockholders of record on September 13, 1999.
The redemption price for the old rights of $0.01 per
right will be paid to stockholders of record as of
that same date.  The old plan was not terminated nor
was the new plan adopted in response to a specific
effort by a person or group to acquire control of the
Company.

      The exercise price set in the new rights
plan will be $250.  Other terms are substantially
similar to those of the old rights plan.  The new
rights may be redeemed by the Board of Directors for
$0.01 per Right and will otherwise expire on
September 13, 2009.