Morgan Stanley E&P and Oil Services Conference May 12, 2015 Exhibit 99.1

Forward Looking Statements

This material and any oral statements made in connection with this material
include "forward-looking statements" within the meaning of the Securities Act of
1933 and the Securities Exchange Act of 1934.  Statements made which provide
the Company’s or management’s intentions, beliefs, expectations or predictions for
the future are forward-looking statements and are inherently uncertain. The
opinions, forecasts, projections or other statements other than statements of
historical fact, including, without limitation, plans and objectives of management of
the Company are forward-looking statements.  It is important to note that actual
results could differ materially from those discussed in such forward-looking
statements.  Important factors that could cause actual results to differ materially
include the risk factors and other cautionary statements contained from time to
time in the Company’s SEC filings, which may be obtained by contacting the
Company or the SEC. These filings are also available through the Company’s web
site at http://www.patenergy.com
or through the SEC’s Electronic Data Gathering
and Analysis Retrieval System (EDGAR) at http://www.sec.gov. We undertake no
obligation to publicly update or revise any forward-looking statement.  Statements
made in this presentation include non-GAAP financial measures.  The required
reconciliation to GAAP financial measures are included on our website and at the
end of this presentation.

Patterson-UTI Energy is a leading provider of contract drilling and pressure pumping services 3

Contract Drilling
•
High quality fleet of land drilling
rigs including 155 APEX ® rigs
•
Leader in walking rig technology for
pad drilling applications
•
Large footprint across North
American drilling markets
Patterson-UTI reported results for the year ended December 31, 2014
4
Pressure
Pumping
41%
Oil &
Natural
Gas
1%
Contract
Drilling
58%
Components of Revenue

Pressure Pumping
•
High quality fleet of modern pressure
pumping equipment
•
A leader in natural gas bi-fuel
technology
•
Strong reputation for regional
knowledge and efficient operations
Patterson-UTI reported results for the year ended December 31, 2014
5
Pressure
Pumping
41%
Oil &
Natural
Gas
1%
Contract
Drilling
58%
Components of Revenue

Contract Drilling

Improved Performance
2008 - 2009
Total Baker Hughes U.S. Land Rig Count: -45%
Total PTEN U.S. Rig Count: -68%
2014 - 2015
Total PTEN U.S. Rig Count: -42%
Total Baker Hughes U.S. Land Rig Count: -54%
Baker Hughes and Patterson-UTI U.S. Land Rig Counts as of May 8, 2015
7
U.S. Rig Count Downturn
0%
20%
40%
60%
80%
100%
120%
0%
20%
40%
60%
80%
100%
120%

A Rig Fleet Transformation 8 Mechanical Patterson-UTI Energy Total Rig Fleet Mechanical December 2009 Projected December 2015 APEX® Other Electric APEX® Other Electric

…and Expected as of December 31, 2015
APEX-XK 1500™
APEX-XK 1000™
APEX WALKING
®
APEX 1500
®
APEX 1000
®
Total APEX
®
Rigs
Class
APEX
®
Rigs as of May 12, 2015
53
49
161
12/31/2015
A leader in high specification drilling rigs
A leader in high specification drilling rigs
47
4
49
44
11
155
5/12/2015
APEX
®
Rig Fleet
9

44

Permian Basin
26 Rigs
Large Geographic Footprint
10
PTEN’s Active U.S. Land Drilling Rigs
as of May 8, 2015
Appalachia
29 Rigs
East Texas
14 Rigs
Mid-Continent
8 Rigs
Rockies
22 Rigs
South Texas
25 Rigs

Patterson-UTI Energy …the impact of APEX® rigs has been transformative!

Increasing APEX ® Drilling Activity 12 Active APEX ® Rig Count 0 20 40 60 80 100 120 140 160

PTEN Relative Active Rig Count by Rig Class 13 0% 10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60% 70% 80% 90% 100% APEX® Other Electric Mechanical

Greater Stability of Utilization 14 APEX ® Rig Utilization 0% 20% 40% 60% 80% 100% 120%

Improving Average Rig Revenue Per Day

Patterson-UTI Total Average Rig Revenue Per Day
Excludes early-termination revenues during the third and fourth quarter of 2013 of $3,600 per day and $130
per day, respectively, and early-termination revenues during the first quarter of 2015 of $1,020 per day.
10,000
12,000
14,000
16,000
18,000
20,000
22,000
24,000
26,000

Adjusted EBITDA Contribution from High
Specification Rigs

Preferred rigs account for approximately
91% of Adjusted EBITDA in Contract Drilling
Excludes early-termination revenues during the third and fourth quarter of 2013 of $62.8 million and $2.4 million,
respectively, and early-termination revenue during the first quarter of 2015 of $15.8 million.
2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
APEX® & Other Electric Mechanical

Patterson-UTI Energy …the APEX® rig outlook remains strong!

18 U.S. Rig Count % by Drilling Type Continued Demand for APEX ® Rigs Source: Baker Hughes North America Rotary Rig Count 0% 10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60% 70% 80% 90% % Horizontal % Vertical

AC-powered rigs have increased as a
percentage of the horizontal rig count
Total U.S. Horizontal Rig Count by Power Type
Continued Demand for APEX
®
Rigs
Analysis from Patterson-UTI Energy based on data from RigData and company filings.
19
Mechanical
SCR
AC

Patterson-UTI Energy …Patterson-UTI is a technology leader!

APEX WALKING
®
Rigs
21
•
Capable of walking with drill pipe
and collars racked in the mast
•
Full multi-directional walking
capability
•
Walking times average 45 minutes
for 10’ – 15’ well spacing
http://patenergy.com/drilling/technology/apexwalk

Strong Demand for Pad Drilling
22
•
Pad drilling is contributing to
increasing rig efficiency
•
Pad drilling capable rigs are
highly utilized
•
Most new APEX
®
rigs are
expected to have walking
systems
http://patenergy.com/drilling/technology

The APEX-XK
™
23
•
Enhanced mobility including more
efficient rig up and rig down
•
Greater clearance under rig floor for
optional walking system
•
Advanced environmental spill
control integrated into drilling floor
•
Minimized number of truck loads for
rig moves
•
Available in both 1500 HP and 1000
HP
http://patenergy.com/drilling/technology

Enhancing our Position in Pad Drilling 24 Walking Systems Can be Added to Any Rig in Our Fleet… …Allowing for True Multi-Directional Pad Drilling Capabilities 24

Enhancing our Position in Pad Drilling 25 http://patenergy.com/drilling/technology 25

Early Adopter of Natural Gas Engines 26 http://patenergy.com/drilling/technology 26

Pressure Pumping

Growing Pressure Pumping Business

Investments in Pressure Pumping…
…Have Increased Fleet Size and Quality
65
1,100
0
200
400
600
800
1000
1200
2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 June
2015E
Fracturing Horsepower Other Horsepower
Period End

Southwest Region:
Northeast Region:
Fracturing horsepower: 663,800
Other horsepower: 32,165
Fracturing horsepower: 326,300
Other horsepower: 55,400
A Significant Player in Regional Markets
Pressure Pumping Areas
29
Horsepower distribution as of March 31, 2015
Fracturing Horsepower
33%
67%

A Leader in Bi-Fuel Technology
•
Engines can burn a fuel mix
comprised of up to 70% natural
gas
•
Comparable torque and
horsepower to an all diesel engine
•
Reduces operating costs by
lowering fuel costs
•
Good for environmental
sustainability
http://patenergy.com/pressurepumping/services

A Leader in Bi-Fuel Technology 31 http://patenergy.com/pressurepumping/services 31

Comprehensive Lab Services http://patenergy.com/pressurepumping/services 32

Financial Flexibility

Investing in Our Company

Capital Expenditures and Acquisitions
($ in millions)
2015 Capital expenditure forecast as of April 23, 2015
$598
$637
$445
$453
$976
$1,012
$974
$662
$1,229
$710
2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015E
Year End

Strong Financial Position

•
History of returning capital to investors
–
Cash Dividend
•
Initiated cash dividend in 2004
•
Doubled quarterly cash dividend to $0.10 per share in
February 2014
–
Stock Buyback
•
Total of $857 million repurchased since 2005
•
Approximately $187 million remaining authorization as of
March 31, 2015
•
Returned approximately $1.3 billion to shareholders
since 2005

Strong Financial Position

Total Liquidity
($ in millions)
Liquidity defined as end of period cash plus availability under revolving line of credit
2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 1Q15
Period End
Line of Credit Availability Cash

Strong Financial Position

Net Debt to Capital Ratio
$600 million of debt not due until at least 2020
-10%
0%
10%
20%
30%
40%
50%
2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 1Q15
Period End
6%
2%
- 4%
-2%
15%
13%
18%
14%
24%
21%

Why Invest in Patterson-UTI Energy?
•
Continuing Transformation
– Committed to high-spec land rigs where
demand remains strong
– Creating value through focus on well
site execution
•
Technology leader
– Leader in walking rigs for pad drilling
– Innovator in use of natural gas as a fuel
source for both drilling and pressure
pumping
•
Financially flexible
– Strong balance sheet
– History of share buybacks
– Dividends

Additional References

Contract Drilling Capital Expenditures and Acquisitions
($ in millions)
Investing in Our Drilling Rig Fleet
More than $5 billion invested since 2005
2015 Capital expenditure forecast as of April 23, 2015
$531
$540
$361
$395
$656
$785
$745
$505
$772
$520
2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015E

Investing in Pressure Pumping

Pressure Pumping Capital Expenditures and Acquisitions
($ in millions)
More Than $1.4 billion invested since 2005
2015 Capital expenditure forecast as of April 23, 2015
$41
$48
$61
$43
$289
$198
$194
$123
$418
$165
2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015E

Term Contract Coverage
•
Based on term contracts in place as of April 23, 2015
–
An average of 101 rigs expected under term contract in the
second quarter of 2015
–
An average of 83 rigs expected under term contract during
the last three quarters of 2015
42
•
Drilling term contract revenue backlog of $1.24 billion
at March 31, 2015
•
As previously disclosed on April 23, 2015, we expect 12
rigs to be early terminated during the second quarter of
2015.  We also expect approximately $19 million of
early-termination revenue during the second quarter.

•
Total liquidity of approximately $587million
– $86.9 million of cash at March 31, 2015
– $500 million revolver availability at April 27, 2015
•
$793.1 million net debt at March 31, 2015
– 21.5% Net Debt/Total Capitalization
– $300 million of 4.97% Series A notes due October 5, 2020
– $300 million of 4.27% Series B notes due June 14, 2022
– $280 million of term loans maturing September 27, 2017
•
No equity sales in last 14 years
•
Reduced share count by 25.6 million shares since 2005

Strong Financial Position

PATTERSON-UTI ENERGY, INC.
Non-GAAP Financial Measures (Unaudited)
(dollars in thousands)
Non-GAAP Financial Measures
44
The company makes use of financial measures that are not calculated in accordance with U.S. generally accepted accounting principles (“GAAP”) to help
in the assessment of ongoing operating performance. These non-GAAP financial measures are reconciled to their most directly comparable GAAP
measures in the tables above. We define Adjusted EBITDA as net income plus net interest expense, income tax expense and depreciation, depletion,
amortization and impairment expense. We present Adjusted EBITDA because we believe it provides additional information with respect to both the
performance of our fundamental business activities and our ability to meet our capital expenditures and working capital requirements.  Adjusted EBITDA
is not defined by GAAP and, as such, should not be construed as an alternative to net income (loss) or operating cash flow. We define margin as revenues
less direct operating costs.  We present margin because we believe it to be the component of our earnings most impacted by the variability in our contract
drilling and pressure pumping operations. Margin is not defined by GAAP and, as such, should not be construed as an alternative to net income (loss).
(1)
Three Months Ended
March 31,
Twelve Months Ended
December 31,
2015 2014 2014 2013
Adjusted Earnings Before Interest, Taxes, Depreciation and Amortization
(Adjusted EBITDA)(1):
Net income $ 9,125 $ 34,822 $ 162,664 $ 188,009
Income tax expense 6,720 16,942 91,619 108,432
Net interest expense 8,258 7,012 28,846 27,441
Depreciation, depletion, amortization and impairment 175,382 147,322 718,730 597,469
Adjusted EBITDA $ 199,485 $ 206,098 $ 1,001,859 $ 921,351
Total revenue $ 657,699 $ 678,168 $3,182,291 $2,716,034
Adjusted EBITDA margin 30.3% 30.4% 31.5% 33.9%
Adjusted EBITDA by operating segment:
Contract drilling $ 174,970 $ 173,196 $ 765,874 $ 704,990
Pressure pumping 31,903 35,585 236,676 217,228
Oil and natural gas 3,702 8,730 37,094 44,348
Corporate and other (11,090) (11,413) (37,785) (45,215)
Consolidated Adjusted EBITDA $ 199,485 $ 206,098 $ 1,001,859 $ 921,351

Non-GAAP Financial Measures

2014 2013 2012 2011 2010
Adjusted Earnings Before Interest, Taxes, Depreciation and Amortization
(Adjusted EBITDA)(1):
Net income (loss) 162,664 188,009 299,477 322,413 116,942
Income tax expense (benefit) 91,619 108,432 176,196 187,938 72,856
Net interest expense (income) 28,846 27,441 22,196 15,465 11,098
Depreciation, depletion, amortization and impairment 718,730 597,469 526,614 437,279 333,493
Net impact of discontinued operations - - - (209) 1,778
Adjusted EBITDA 1,001,859 921,351 1,024,483 962,886 536,167
Total revenue 3,182,291 2,716,034 2,723,414 2,565,943 1,462,931
Adjusted EBITDA margin
PATTERSON-UTI ENERGY, INC.
Non-GAAP Financial Measures (Unaudited)
(dollars in thousands)
$ $ $ $ $
The company makes use of financial measures that are not calculated in accordance with U.S. generally accepted accounting principles (“GAAP”) to help in the
assessment of ongoing operating performance. These non-GAAP financial measures are reconciled to their most directly comparable GAAP measures in the tables
above. We define Adjusted EBITDA as net income plus net interest expense, income tax expense and depreciation, depletion, amortization and impairment expense.
We present Adjusted EBITDA because we believe it provides additional information with respect to both the performance of our fundamental business activities and
our ability to meet our capital expenditures and working capital requirements. Adjusted EBITDA is not defined by GAAP and, as such, should not be construed as an
alternative to net income (loss) or operating cash flow. We define margin as revenues less direct operating costs. We present margin because we believe it to be the
component of our earnings most impacted by the variability in our contract drilling and pressure pumping operations. Margin is not defined by GAAP and, as such,
should not be construed as an alternative to net income (loss).
(1)
$ $
$
$ $
$ $
$
$ $
37.6%
37.5%
36.7%
33.9% 31.5%