April 18, 2017 POSCO 1Q 2017 Earnings Release Exhibit 99.1

1Q Operating Performance Ⅰ Appendix 1. Outlook for Steel Demand and Raw Materials 2. Financial Statements Ⅱ Figures in this presentation are based on unaudited financial statements of the company. Certain contents in this presentation are subject to change during the course of auditing process.

Production and sales volume reduced QoQ due to P)#3 BF revamping Parent Performance (Production/Sales) 1Q Operating Performance (thousand tons) 2016.1Q 2016.4Q 2017.1Q Carbon 8,304 8,509 8,226 STS 466 498 481 【 Crude Steel Production 】 2016.1Q 2016.4Q 2017.1Q 9,064 9,625 9,081 8,770 8,707 8,740 9,185 8,722 2016.1Q 2016.4Q 2017.1Q 9,007 [ 2017 Maintenance Plan ] 1Q 2Q 3Q 4Q Blast Furnace Rolling Mill P)*#3 BF** (Feb~Jun) P)#1 HR Mill(May~Jun) G)*#3 HR Mill(Oct~Nov) G)New #7 CGL(Apr) P) #2 HR Mill (Mar) P) #3 Plate Mill(Apr~May) G) #3 CR Mill(Sep~Dec) 【 Product Production/Sales 】 Production Sales (thousand tons) [ Carbon Steel/STS Production ] * P) Pohang Works, G) Gwangyang Works ** BF : Blast Furnace

Revenue increased on sales price hike backed by rising raw material prices, OP margin marked 11.3% Parent Performance 2016.1Q 2016.4Q 2017.1Q 5,767 6,442 7,067 OP Margin 10.1% 7.6% 11.3% 2016.1Q 2016.4Q 2017.1Q [ Financial Structure ] 2016.1Q 2016.4Q 2017.1Q Liabilities to Equity 19.2% 17.4% 17.6% Net Debt (bn KRW) -356 -109 -330 551 583 671 *WP(World Premium): POSCO’s high-end products [ WP* Sales/Export Ratio ] 2016.1Q 2016.4Q 2017.1Q WP Sales Ratio 44.5% 51.0% 53.4% Export Ratio 51.6% 49.1% 47.5% 【 Revenue】 【 OP/NP 】 Carbon Steel Sales Price (thousand KRW/ton) 582 446 450 488 795 840 (billion KRW) Operating Profit Net Profit 1Q Operating Performance

Operating profit recorded 1.3tn KRW contributed by improved performance of E&C division and overseas steel business Consolidated Performance 【 Revenue 】 【 OP/NP 】 2016.1Q 2016.4Q 2017.1Q 12,461 15,017 15,077 OP Margin 5.3% 3.1% 9.1% 660 1,365 338 14 977 2016.1Q 2016.4Q 2017.1Q 472 Net Debt Cash Balance 【 Financial Structure 】 Liabilities to Equity Ratio 77% 74% 15,489 13,861 8,514 7,623 7,821 2016.1Q 2016.4Q 2017.1Q 15,082 (billion KRW) Operating Profit Net Profit 71% 1Q Operating Performance

Consolidated Performance (Aggregation of each segment) Steel and trading segments saw profit growth, aggregated OP enhanced significantly with E&C segment turning profit Revenue Operating Profit 2016.1Q 2016.4Q 2017.1Q 2016.1Q 2016.4Q 2017.1Q Steel 10,052 11,518 12,259 551 636 1,023 Trading 6,147 7,798 8,279 109 79 127 E&C 1,791 2,004 1,737 7 -359 135 Energy 456 591 463 43 59 75 ICT 209 261 231 10 20 16 Chemicals/ Materials, etc. 586 650 628 11 43 41 Total 19,241 22,822 23,597 731 478 1,417 (billion KRW) 1Q Operating Performance

Domestic Subsidiaries POSCO Daewoo’s revenue and operating profit rose, POSCO E&C turned profit 【 POSCO Chemtech 】 【 POSCO ICT 】 【 POSCO C&C 】 ‘16.4Q ‘17.1Q 280 280 ‘16.4Q ‘17.1Q 30 30 ‘16.4Q ‘17.1Q 250 223 ‘16.4Q ‘17.1Q 20 17 ‘16.4Q ‘17.1Q 213 216 ‘16.4Q ‘17.1Q 10 11 【 POSCO Daewoo 】 【 POSCO E&C 】 【 POSCO Energy 】 ‘16.4Q ‘17.1Q 4,537 4,856 ‘16.4Q ‘17.1Q 55 94 Revenue Operating Profit ‘16.4Q ‘17.1Q 1,734 1,504 ‘17.1Q -308 136 ‘16.4Q (billion KRW) ‘16.4Q ‘17.1Q 567 436 ‘16.4Q ‘17.1Q 54 63 1Q Operating Performance * Including PEN

Overseas Steel Subsidiaries Zhangjiagang STS and P-Maharashtra generated higher profits, PT-KP and SS-VINA narrowed operating loss 【 PT-KP 】 【 ZPSS(Zhangjiagang STS) 】 【 SS-VINA 】 【 P-Vietnam 】 【 P-Maharashtra 】 【 P-Mexico 】 ‘16.4Q ‘17.1Q 150 164 ‘16.4Q ‘17.1Q 2 6 ‘16.4Q ‘17.1Q 252 304 ‘16.4Q ‘17.1Q 22 39 ‘16.4Q ‘17.1Q 140 164 ‘16.4Q ‘17.1Q 6 10 ‘16.4Q ‘17.1Q 672 780 ‘17.1Q 37 52 ‘16.4Q ‘16.4Q ‘17.1Q 81 119 -17 -7 ‘16.4Q ‘17.1Q ‘16.4Q ‘17.1Q 339 405 -26 -11 ‘16.4Q ‘17.1Q (billion KRW) Revenue Operating Profit 1Q Operating Performance

2016 2017 POSCO Revenue (trillion KRW) 24.3 25.6 - Crude Steel Production (million tons) 37.5 37.0 - Product Sales (〃) 35.9 34.6 Capex (trillion KRW) 2.0 2.6 Net Debt (〃) -0.1 -1.4 Consolidated Revenue (trillion KRW) 53.1 54.8 Capex (〃) 2.5 3.5 Net Debt (〃) 15.1 13.4 Business Plan

Figures in this presentation are based on unaudited financial statements of the company. Certain contents in this presentation are subject to change during the course of auditing process. 1Q Operating Performance Ⅰ Appendix 1. Outlook for Steel Demand and Raw Materials 2. Financial Statements Ⅱ

Global Steel Demand China’s Steel Market Steel Demand in Major Countries * CRU(2017.4), China Federation of Logistics and Purchasing(2017.4) (million tons) * World Steel Association(2016.10), POSRI(2017.4) 2014 2015 2016 2017(f) YoY YoY U.S. 107.0 96.1 93.0 -3.2% 95.8 3.0% EU 149.3 153.6 154.8 0.8% 156.9 1.4% China 710.8 672.3 681.0 1.3% 683.0 0.3% India 76.1 80.1 84.4 5.4% 89.1 5.7% ASEAN 62.1 65.1 70.5 8.3% 75.0 6.3% MENA 72.5 72.0 72.4 0.6% 73.3 1.2% World 1,544 1,499 1,511 0.8% 1,528 1.0% 【Steel Demand Outlook】 【China’s Steel Price and Steel PMI】 Steel PMI Domestic HR Price (U$/ton) “As demand grows and restructuring speeds up, sound steel price trend is maintained” “Marginal increase of global steel demand continues led by demand growth in emerging countries” With China’s policy to expand infrastructure investment, global steel demand will slightly grow unlike the initial expectation Demand in India, Southeast Asia, and other emerging countries is forecast to increase at 5~6% while moderate recovery of demand is seen in developed countries Steel market recovering amid continued sound growth of steel demand - Steel PMI in Mar.2017 recorded higher than 50 for 2 consecutive months Chinese government expressed strong commitment in annual Two Sessions to accelerating steel restructuring - 50 million tons of capacity planned to be cut in 2017 - Steel export in 1Q 2017 decreased by 25% yoy indicating that oversupply is gradually resolved Appendix 1. Outlook for Steel Demand and Raw Materials

Domestic Steel Demand Demand Outlook Steel Demand and Supply Outlook Shipbuilding Construction Automobile With slowed contraction of domestic demand and recovery in export volume, 1H production will decrease at minimal level 1H 2017 will see a drop in shipbuilding volume due to a drastic plunge of new orders in 2016 Despite slow public sector demand, sound growth of construction investment is forecast driven by a rise in order-taking 1,071 1,197 1,041 1,130 2016.1Q 4Q 2017.1Q 2Q 【Production】 (thousand cars) 7.8 4.7 6.6 5.6 2016.1Q 4Q 2017.1Q 2Q 【Construction】 (million GT) * Clarkson(2017.4), POSRI(2017.4) * Bank of Korea(2017.3) , POSRI(2017.4) 2016.1Q 4Q 2017.1Q 2Q 9.0% 11.6% 8.1% 6.4% 【Investment】 (YoY) * POSRI(2017.4) 2014 2015 2016 2017(f) 　 1Q 2Q YoY Nominal Consumption 55.5 55.8 57.1 55.8 13.4 14.5 -1.4% Export 32.3 31.6 31.0 32.3 7.6 7.7 3.5% Production 74.1 74.1 74.3 75.1 18.0 18.8 1.9% Import 13.7 13.2 13.7 13.0 3.0 3.5 -7.8% 　 Incl. Semi-product 22.7 22.1 23.7 21.9 5.7 6.0 -2.2% * Korea Automobile Manufacturers Association(2017.4), POSRI(2017.4) (million tons) Appendix 1. Outlook for Steel Demand and Raw Materials

Raw Materials Iron Ore Coking Coal 2017.1Q 2017.2Q * 62% Fe IODEX CFR China (Quarterly Spot Average) “2Q fine ore price forecast at U$65~70/ton” * Premium LV HCC FOB Australia (Quarterly Benchmark Price) 2017.1Q 2017.2Q Considering weak steel price trend and iron ore oversupply, 2Q iron price is likely to fall to U$65~70/ton As production disruption occurred in Australian coal mines due to cyclone during the BM price negotiation, spot price skyrocketed and the negotiation stalled. BM price will be settled reflecting the price level once supply resumes in early May Demand increase on sound sales of steelmakers, expectation for China’s infrastructure expansion and boost in property market led to a quarterly price hike from U$70/ton in 4Q 2016 to U$86/ton in 1Q 2017 Affected by temporarily eased restriction on coal production by Chinese government and production expansion from East Australian mines helped by fine climate condition during rainy season, spot price nosedived from U$266/ton in 4Q 2016 to U$170/ton in 1Q 2017 “2Q HCC BM price forecast over U$200/ton” Appendix 1. Outlook for Steel Demand and Raw Materials (US$/ton) 2015 2Q 2015 3Q 2015 4Q 2016 1Q 2016 2Q 2016 4Q 2017 1Q 2017 2Q(f) 55 58 46 48 55 58 70 86 2016 3Q (US$/ton) 2016 1Q 2016 2Q 2016 3Q 2016 4Q 2017 1Q 110 93 81 89 84 93 200 285 2017 2Q(f) 2015 4Q 2015 3Q 2015 2Q 200~285 65~70 [ Iron Ore Price ] [ Coking Coal Price ]

2016.1Q 2016.4Q 2017.1Q QoQ Revenue 12,461 15,017 15,077 60 Gross Profit 1,541 1,617 2,258 641 (Gross Margin) (12.4%) (10.8%) (15.0%) SG&A 882 1,145 893 △252 Operating Profit 660 472 1,365 893 (Operating Margin) (5.3%) (3.1%) (9.1%) Other Non-Operating Profit △12 △344 △45 299 Share of Profit (Loss) of Equity-accounted Investees 50 △179 72 251 Finance Income and Costs △153 8 △67 △75 Foreign Currency Transaction & Translation Gain (loss) △41 △25 125 150 Net Profit 338 14 977 963 (Net Margin) (2.7%) (0.1%) (6.5%) Profit Attributable to Owners of the Controlling Company 360 166 851 685 Consolidated Income Statement Appendix 2. Financial Statements (billion KRW)

Consolidated Statement of Financial Position 2016.1Q 2016.4Q 2017.1Q QoQ Current Assets 28,590 29,304 29,690 386 Cash Balance* 8,514 7,623 7,821 198 Accounts Receivable 9,346 9,787 9,765 △22 Inventories 7,787 9,052 9,489 437 Non-Current Assets 50,864 50,459 49,133 △1,326 Other Long-term Financial Assets** 3,157 3,421 3,408 △13 PP&E 34,189 33,770 32,748 △1,022 Total Assets 79,454 79,763 78,823 △940 Liabilities 34,575 33,925 32,710 △1,215 Current Liabilities 19,816 18,915 18,523 △392 Non-Current Liabilities 14,759 15,009 14,187 △822 (Interest-bearing Debt) 24,003 22,705 21,683 △1,022 Equity 44,879 45,838 46,113 275 Total Liabilities & Equity 79,454 79,763 78,823 △940 * Cash Balance: Cash and cash equivalents, Short-term financial goods, Short-term available for sale securities, Current portion of held-to-maturity securities ** Including Other bonds (billion KRW) Appendix 2. Financial Statements