January 25, 2017 2016 Earnings Release Figures in this presentation are based on unaudited financial statements of the company. Certain contents in this presentation are subject to change during the course of auditing process. Exhibit 99.1

2016 Operating Performance Major Business Activities 2017 Business Plan ▶ Figures in this presentation are based on unaudited financial statements of the company. Certain contents in this presentation are subject to change during the course of auditing process.

ㅋ` Parent Income Achieved 10.8% OP margin backed by increased WP products and cost-saving efforts 2016 Operating Performance POSCO Earnings Release ｜January 25, 2017 (thousand tons) 727 606 566 Carbon Steel Price (billion KRW) OP Margin 8.0% 8.7% 10.8% Production Sales Income 2014 2015 2016 37,650 37,965 37,496 Crude Steel 35,081 35,592 35,942 Product 2,350 2,238 2,635 Operating Profit 2014 2015 2016 Net Profit 1,318 1,785 1,139 2014 2015 2016 Carbon Steel 33,376 33,730 33,971 S T S 1,705 1,862 1,971 2014 2015 2016 Domestic 18,368 17,155 18,141 Export (%) 15,969 (46.5) 18,182 (51.5) 17,734 (49.4) Inventory 1,280 1,240 1,045 [Production] [Domestic/Export Sales Volume & Inventory] 29,219 25,607 24,325 Revenue 2014 2015 2016 Product Sales Volume [Financial Structure] 4,101 Liabilities to Equity 23.8% 19.3% 17.4% Net Debt △109 2014 2015 2016 341 3,434 3,534 3,588 (thousand KRW/ton, billion KRW, thousand tons) (billion KRW)

Parent Income Operating Profit 2.2 2.6 △1.2 Contraction of mill margin* due to market slowdown +0.02 Forex -related +0.2 Decrease of sub-materials cost +0.5 Increasing WP Sales +0.4 Saving Cost +0.5 Improving Profitability +0.4 ’15 ’16 External Causes: △1.0 Internal Efforts: +1.4 Increased WP product sales, made corporate-wide efforts to improve profitability and save costs responding to negative sales environment 2016 Operating Performance POSCO Earnings Release ｜January 25, 2017 (trillion KRW) * Mill margin = Steel product price – major raw materials cost (iron ore/coking coal)

Consolidated Income Revenue Operating Profit Net Profit / ROE 3,214 65,098 2,410 2,844 4.9% 4.1% OP Margin 2014 2015 2016 2015 2016 5.4% 2014 2016 ROE 1.2% △0.2% 53,084 557 △96 1,048 2014 58,192 2015 2.3% Consolidated profit gained on stronger steel division performance despite E&C restructuring (billion KRW) Revenue Operating Profit Net Profit 2014 2015 2016 2014 2015 2016 2014 2015 2016 Steel 49,597 44,837 42,906 2,430 1,843 2,927 857 182 1,511 Trading 31,261 27,008 26,420 413 374 361 181 39 53 E & C 10,304 9,868 7,482 314 147 △626 13 △276 △1,404 Energy 2,663 2,008 1,751 137 149 98 33 55 △103 I C T 1,078 945 882 44 3 53 11 △94 29 Materials etc. 3,325 2,806 2,444 119 34 128 △35 △27 49 Total 98,228 87,472 81,885 3,457 2,550 2,941 1,060 △121 135 2016 Operating Performance POSCO Earnings Release ｜January 25, 2017 (billion KRW) (billion KRW) (billion KRW) * Based on the aggregation of each sector

Consolidated Financial Structure Innovated consolidated financial structure by successful business restructuring and strengthening steel competitiveness (trillion KRW) 2014 2015 2016 Total Operating Activities 2.0 6.3 3.4 11.7 (+)EBITDA 6.5 5.6 6.1 18.2 (-)Corporate Tax Working Capital, etc. 4.4 △0.7 2.7 6.5 (+)Restructuring 1.0 3.5 1.3 5.8 (-)Capex 5.4 2.8 2.5 10.7 Consolidated Financial Structure Restructuring Outcome 2014 2015 2016 77 Sub-sidiaries POSCO-SS POSFINE Vietnam IBC 4 Companies Hi-AL PONUTech POSCO LED 34 Companies S.CMI, etc. AST POSCO Magnet 39 Companies 49 Assets Namisa Masan Department Store SKT Shares 18 Assets Shares of POSCO E&C Sandfire Idle real estate assets 12 Assets POSCO E&C Office building Shares of financial companies Seomyeon Fiesta Building 19 Assets Net Debt Liabilities to Equity 78.4% 74% D/E 4.5 4.7 4.1 22.2 16.5 15.1 88.2% Reduction of 7.1 POSCO Earnings Release ｜January 25, 2017 (times, trillion KRW) 2016 Operating Performance EBITDA (trillion KRW) Consolidated→ POSCO→

2016 Operating Performance Major Business Activities 2017 Business Plan ▶

Strengthen Steel Competitiveness Expanded WP product sales and continued solution-marketing activities by converging technology and marketing Expanded WP product sales 12,710 15,973 16,859 38.4 52% 47.3 WP Portion 2015 2016 2017(f) [WP Sales Volume/Portion] 2,420 3,900 +61% 4,500 2015 2016 2017(f) [Solution Marketing-Related Sales] [Aggregated Operating Profit of POSCO and Overseas mills*] 2015 2016 238 713 +475 Increased usage of World First* products - WF product sales volume (thousand tons) : ‘15) 2,137→‘16) 2,555 Home Appli-ance Energy Replaced air conditioner parts with high-strength steel, which reduced weight and materials cost by 15% * WF: Products, developed and commercialized by POSCO with the company’s own technology Applied POSCO’s TWCP on storage tanks and reduced manufacturing period for the customer Substituted STS steel with High-Mn steel when making convertor. Reduced cost for the customer and increased magnetic permeability * POSCO’s materials OP for overseas downstream + OP of downstream Built auto steel production line to take on increasing demand in China/SEA - Completed Thailand CGL (450,000 tons/yr, Aug) - Completed processing centers in western part of China, P-CCPC and P-CDPC (May) Strengthened WP sales activities Major Business Activities (thousand tons) Widened overseas WP sales base Optimized production and upgraded key process fit for WP products - Replaced No.4 Cold Rolling mill for auto steel, to reinforce Giga-level steel production - Improved steelmaking secondary refining (RH, LF) which control surface quality for auto outer part and PO, Reduced defect by 50% - With accelerated cooling in No.2 Plate PICO III, enhanced shape of TMCP carbon plate leading to increase in new orders - Smart Exit: Fe Powder, TWB/HF/HPF, etc. Closed inefficient facilities and proceed ‘Smart Exit’ Fortified production line and improved product quality (thousand tons) (in billion KRW) - P-CDPC took on processing for Dongfeng Peugeot-Citroën (May) - P-India held exhibition on PosMAC to Indian solar IPP and EPC companies (Sep) POSCO Earnings Release ｜January 25, 2017

[STS] Operating profit reached 400 billion KRW by pushing up high-end products sales despite weak market conditions * Include POSCO, ZPSS, 4 CR Mills (Thailand THAINOX, Vietnam P-VST, Turkey Assan TST, China QPSS), 1 Processing Center (Italy ITPC) STS-300 (thousand KRW/ton) POSCO) Recorded highest sales volume as domestic sales based on WP products Strengthened business structure on all subsidiaries by operating Platform Sharing system* - STS profitability improved by reducing fixed cost by ramping up utilization and expanding domestic market share by product diversification - Sales volume : POSCO (’15) 1,842 → (‘16) 1,964 thousand tons(+6.6%) - Domestic sales : (‘15) 38.7% → (‘16) 43.4% - WP product sales increased by developing products fit for the customers’ needs : Expanded sales of Exhaust system to global automakers and plate for vacuum chamber for white goods. Developed new demand for high-end building materials through enhanced surface-coating process Nickel (thousand U$/ton) [Raw Materials/Product Price Trend] [POSCO’s STS WP Product Sales Volume] WP Sales Volume (thousand tons) Portion (%) 708 462 303 18.5 25.7 [STS Aggregated* Performance Result] 2015 2016 (billion KRW) 7,967 7,833 2014 8,616 40 21 407 Revenue Operating Profit 16.9 11.8 9.6 2.79 2.54 2.28 2014 2015 36.6 2016 2014 2015 2016 * Strategic system between POSCO and subsidiary to exchange and share excess facility and specific products Strengthen Steel Competitiveness Major Business Activities Chrome (thousand U$/ton) POSCO Earnings Release ｜January 25, 2017

* Overseas Steel : Upstream+ Downstream+ Processing center+ Raw materials 2014 2016 107 24 2015 △275 △72 2014 2015 △133 2016 △80 PT Krakatau POSCO ZPSS [Overseas Steel] Operating profit increased as sales volume went up and cost reduction continued while borrowings declined Profit improved as sales volume went up while raw material/fixed cost decreased Sales volume (thousand tons) : ‘15) 2,608 → ‘16) 2,821 Cost reduction (U$ mil) : ‘15) 23 → ‘16) 56 CIS slab price (U$/t): ‘15) 338 → ‘16) 314 Turned profit as WP product sales expanded and processing cost reduced Sales volume (thousand tons) : ‘ 15) 1,105 → ‘16) 1,212 - WP sales volume (thousand tons) : ‘15) 374 → ‘16) 487 - Cost reduction (U$mil): ‘15) 1,972 → ’16) 1,766 Borrowings POSCO Maharashtra △24 △8 2014 2015 2016 Turned profit as sales volume upturned and domestic price improved due to trade sanctions - MIP1 (Feb.16~Aug), AD tariff2 (Aug.16~) - Sales volume (thousand tons) : ’15) 981 → ’16) 1,223 POSCO Vietnam Turned profit as processing cost declined by increased production and export profitability improved - Production (thousand tons) : ‘15) 900 → ‘16) 1,071 - Export (thousand tons) : ’15) 369 → ‘16) 438 2 △8 2014 2015 2016 29 2014 2015 2016 (billion KRW) 2015 218 7 △430 2015 2016 2014 Aggregated* Operating Profit 7,790 7,586 7,844 △204 36 Strengthen Steel Competitiveness Major Business Activities (billion KRW) [Operating Profit] (billion KRW) POSCO Earnings Release ｜January 25, 2017 1 MIP: Minimum Import Price 2 Tariff on gap between Reference and import price * On a parent basis [Operating Profit] (billion KRW) [Operating Profit] (billion KRW) [Operating Profit] (billion KRW)

85% completed by restructuring 126 cases (77 subsidiaries, 49 assets) from 149 cases (Target : 95 subsidiaries/54 assets) Restructuring Progress Improved financial structure realizing the effect of 5.8 trillion KRW on an accumulated basis Subsidiaries→ Assets sold → 58 cases completed (39 Subsidiaries, 19 assets) Achievements in 2016 E&C Business Restructuring Integrated P-Engineering to P-E&C, and realign P-A&C businesses - Restructured P-Engineering businesses - P-A&C, after disposing loss-making businesses, to focus on design/CM** Sold subsidiaries related to Santos CMI (10 companies) Liquidated E&C Venezuela/POSEC Hawaii * PC: Processing Center, ** CM(Construction Management): Managing E&C businesses Steel Distribution Split POSCO P&S’s business division and merged to POSCO Daewoo Stake-holding and Real Estates Sold remaining stakes of SeAH Changwon Integrated Special Steel (19.9%) Sold stakes of Shinhan/Hana Bank Sold P-E&C building, Seomyeon Fiesta Overseas Steel Disposed 7 processing centers among 12 in 5 countries to enhance efficiency - To operate 1 PC* per country Merged POSCO AST, TMC, and SPFC to POSCO P&S (Integrating distribution and processing functions) Speed-up Business Restructuring Major Business Activities (Number of restructured companies, Assets) (trillion KRW) POSCO Earnings Release ｜January 25, 2017

POSCO Energy Operating profit decreased as power generation and electricity price dropped POSCO C&C Performance improved due to increased high-end product sales and cost reduction efforts - High-end product sales portion (%): ‘15) 29→'16) 39 Sold inefficient assets, including 50% stake in Seoul office building POSCO Daewoo POSCO E&C POSCO Chemtech POSCO ICT Losses enlarged due to lay-off costs and overseas PJT loss recognition from restructuring Domestic/Overseas PJT losses occurred, including delayed completion of CSP - Restructuring (number of workers) : E&C △464, PEN △506 Profit went up due to rationalized purchase system for chemical by-product Profit increased due to base-effect of ‘15 restructuring and increased orders from strategic businesses* Set up domestically the largest EV recharging network : Provided 447 units to BMW/HMG/GM Signed business deal with Costa Rica ICE, to provide Smart Energy, EV infrastructure 2014 2015 2016 54 79 88 2014 2015 2016 11 51 48 2014 2015 2016 246 △595 * Including E&C Brazil and PEN 296 * Electric Vehicles, Efficient energy consumption, Smart Grid, Air environment, Smart B&C - Anode sales volume(ton): ‘15) 1,415 → ‘16)3,870 Completed No.5 facility, Build 8,000 tons capa’(‘17) Needle cokes sales volume (thousand tons): ‘16) 7.6 → ’17P) 27 2014 2015 2016 28 40 9 Solid trading profit made up for slow resource biz. profit from oil price decline - Discovered gas reserve from AD-7, Myanmar (Jan.‘16) - Streamlined steel distribution channel, pursuing POSCO P&S merger (Mar 1, ’17) : Integrated distribution channels and redundant companies and reduced interest expense 2014 2015 2016 345 304 347 ‘15 ‘16 - LNG Generation (GWh) 11,202 10,886 △316 Price (KRW/kWh) 101 76.9 △24.1 Major Business Activities Major Domestic Subsidiaries Expanded anode material business POSCO Earnings Release ｜January 25, 2017 * On a parent basis except for E&C 2014 2015 2016 113 66 104 [Operating Profit] (billion KRW) [Operating Profit] (billion KRW) [Operating Profit] (billion KRW) [Operating Profit] (billion KRW) [Operating Profit] (billion KRW) [Operating Profit] (billion KRW)

2016 2017 POSCO Revenue (trillion KRW) 24.3 25.6 - Crude steel production (million tons) 37.5 37.0 - Product sales (〃) 35.9 34.6 CAPEX (trillion KRW) 2.0 2.6 Net Debt (〃) △0.1 △1.4 Consolidated Revenue (trillion KRW) 53.1 54.8 CAPEX (〃) 2.5 3.5 Net Debt (〃) 15.1 13.4 2017 Business Plan POSCO Earnings Release ｜January 25, 2017

Ranked the best steelmaker to respond towards climate change 01 (by Global sustainability institution, CDP) Acquired top scores among 14 steelmakers on 6 agendas, green gas emission, energy management, carbon emission pathways/targets/costs, low carbon technology development, water shortage, climate change governance Listed on DJSI for 12 consecutive years 02 (by Dow Jones Sustainability Indices) Scored highest in risk management, biodiversity, social contribution, and stakeholder management. Received favorable reviews for climate strategies, customer relations management, and securing and assessing talented human resources Chosen as top competitive steelmaker for 7 consecutive years 03 Selected as one of the top 200 global brands for 6 consecutive years 04 Ranked 173rd in 2016 (came as second among steelmaker peers) 06 Enhanced Enterprise Value KOSPI up by 3% ↔ POSCO soared by 55% Recovered market capitalization rank from 18th to 9th (by Davos Forum) The only steelmaker to be named and acquired high evaluation on innovation, energy control, and governance (ranked 35th in 2017) 52% POSCO KOSPI 100 12/30 05 Named as globally sustainable company for 3 consecutive years POSCO in 2016 (by World Steel Dynamics) Based on the company’s governance restructuring efforts, technology innovation, and upper hand in selling high-end products

Appendix 1. Business Environment - Steel Demand and Raw Materials 2. Financial Statements ▶

Appendix 1. Business Environment Domestic Steel Demand Demand Outlook Steel Demand and Supply Outlook Shipbuilding Construction Automobile Export to emerging markets slightly increased on demand pick-up despite weak domestic demand, Production went up to 4.3 million As new orders declined from 2014 to 2016, ship construction turned on a downward in 2017 Construction investment forecast to be moderately expanded due to increasing housing orders despite sluggish public sector 4,525 4,556 4,229 4,305 2014 2015 2016 2017(f) 【Production】 (thousand units) 22.1 23.9 25.5 22.4 2014 2015 2016 2017(f) 【Construction】 (million GT) * Korea Automobile Manufacturers Association (Jan.2017), POSRI(Jan.2017) * Clarkson(Jan.2017), POSRI(Jan.2017) * Bank of Korea (Dec.2016) , POSRI(Jan.2017) 2014 2015 2016 2017(f) 1.1% 3.9% 9.0% 2.4% 【Investment】 (YoY) (million tons) * POSRI (Jan.2017) 2014 2015 2016(e) 　 2017(f) 　 YoY YoY Nominal Consumption 55.5 55.8 57.2 + 2.4% 55.6 △ 2.8% Export 32.3 31.6 30.8 △ 2.3% 30.9 + 0.4% Production 74.1 74.1 74.3 + 0.3% 73.8 △ 0.7% Import 13.7 13.2 13.7 + 3.2% 12.7 △ 7.3% 　 Incl. Semi-Product 22.7 22.1 23.7 + 7.5% 22.4 △ 5.5% POSCO Earnings Release ｜January 25, 2017

Global Steel Demand China’s Steel Economy Steel Demand in Major Countries “Steel price will continue to be on a rise backed by contraction of overcapacity in China” “Global demand will moderately grow on favorable demand in EM even with slow demand in China” China : Moderate overall demand reduction is forecast led by sluggish demand for construction steel as fixed asset investment declines and slow auto production Demand in the U.S. will recover on the effects of Trumponomics, Emerging markets such as India and SE Asia are likely to see a sound 5-6% demand growth thanks to infrastructure investment * CRU(Jan.2017), General Administration of Customs of China(Jan.2017) (million tons) * World Steel Association(Oct.2016), POSRI(Jan.2017) 2014 2015 2016(e) 2017(f) YoY YoY U.S. 107.0 96.1 95.0 △1.2% 97.8 3.0% EU 149.3 153.6 154.8 0.8% 156.9 1.4% China 710.8 672.3 681.8 1.4% 675.0 △1.0% India 76.1 80.1 84.4 5.4% 89.1 5.7% ASEAN 62.1 65.1 70.5 8.3% 75.0 6.3% MENA 72.5 72.0 72.4 0.6% 73.3 1.2% Global 1,544 1,499 1,509 0.7% 1,513 0.3% 【Steel Demand Outlook】 China’s steel export plunged after 2H2016 - Annual export in 2016 was 108 million tons fell by 3.5% Chinese government’s efforts of steel restructuring are on the right track to cut overcapacity - Achieved target of 45 million ton reduction by closing down 80 million ton crude steel capacity in 2016 - Hebei Province plans to cut 16 million ton crude steel capacity in 2017 【China’s Steel Price and Steel Export】 Steel Exports (million tons) HR Price (U$/ton) Appendix 1. Business Environment POSCO Earnings Release ｜January 25, 2017

Raw Materials Iron Ore Coking Coal 4Q 2016 2017(F) (US$/ton) [Iron Ore Price] 2015 1Q 2015 2Q 2015 3Q 2015 4Q 2016 1Q 2016 2Q 2016 3Q 2016 4Q 2017 1Q(f) 58 62 55 46 48 55 58 70 71 4Q 2016 2017(F) “Fine ore annual average price around U$60~70/ton ” As supply from new projects and small and medium sized mines will expand with demand growth being minor, price is forecast to go down As some steelmakers facing inventory exhaustion purchased at high prices affected by Chinese policy cutting coal production and collapse of Australian mine, price surged from 93 in 3Q to U$200/t in 4Q “Hard Coking Coal annual average BM price around U$180-190/ton” While some high-cost mines will resume production and export without supply problems from Australia, supply and demand will strike a balance leading a price stabilization at a low level, but depending on the Chinese government’s coal production cutting policy, price fluctuation is probable *Premium LV HCC FOB Australia (Quarterly Benchmark Price) (US$/ton) [Coking Coal Price] 2015 1Q 2015 2Q 2015 3Q 2015 4Q 2016 1Q 2016 2Q 2016 3Q 2016 4Q 2017 1Q 117 110 93 81 89 84 93 200 285 Appendix 1. Business Environment POSCO Earnings Release ｜January 25, 2017 *Platts 62% Fe IODEX CFR China (Quarterly Spot Average) Quarterly price in 4Q2016 surged to U$70/ton from U$58/ton in 3Q due to sound steel business environment and inflow of speculation capital caused by weak RMB and tightened regulations on coal market

Consolidated Income Statement 2014 2015 2016 YoY Revenue 65,098 58,192 53,084 △5,108 Gross Profit 7,284 6,534 6,689 155 (Gross Margin) (11.2%) (11.2%) (12.6%) - SG&A 4,070 4,124 3,845 △279 Operating Profit 3,214 2,410 2,844 434 (Operating Margin) (4.9%) (4.1%) (5.4%) - Other Non-Operating Profit △710 △893 △541 352 Share of Profit (Loss) of Equity-accounted Investees △300 △506 △89 417 Finance Income and Costs △825 △830 △782 48 Foreign Currency Transaction & Translation Gain (loss) 13.1 △383 △142 241 Net Profit 557 △96 1,048 1,144 (Net Margin) (0.9%) (△0.2%) (2.0%) - Owners of the Controlling Company 626 181 1,363 1,182 Appendix 2. Financial Statements (billion KRW) POSCO Earnings Release ｜January 25, 2017

Consolidated Statement of Financial Position 2014 2015 2016 YoY Current Assets 32,627 29,181 29,304 123 Cash Balance* 5,197 8,686 7,623 △1,063 Account Receivables 11,786 9,596 9,787 191 Inventories 10,471 8,225 9,052 827 Non-Current Assets 52,625 51,228 50,459 △769 Other Long-term Financial Assets** 3,600 3,205 3,421 216 PP&E 35,241 34,523 33,770 △753 Total Assets 85,252 80,409 79,763 △646 Liabilities 39,961 35,339 33,925 △1,414 Current Liabilities 21,877 20,131 18,915 △1,216 Non-Current Liabilities 18,084 15,208 15,009 △199 (Interest-bearing Debt) 27,428 25,220 22,705 △2,515 Equity 45,291 45,070 45,838 768 Owners of the Controlling Company 41,587 41,235 42,373 1,138 Total Liabilities & Equity 85,252 80,409 79,763 △646 Appendix 2. Financial Statements * Cash Balance: Cash and cash equivalents, Short-term financial goods, Short-term available for sale securities, Current portion of held-to-maturity securities ** Including Other bonds (billion KRW) POSCO Earnings Release ｜January 25, 2017