RETAIL PROPERTIES VERSION


The following are alternate pages to the base prospectus for a form of base prospectus for a series of commercial mortgage pass-through certificates backed by loans secured by retail properties. Disclosure made on the following alternate pages will be included in the base prospectus for each series of Certificates backed by loans containing a material concentration of Mortgage Loans secured by retail properties.

                                                 [RETAIL PROPERTIES VERSION]

INFORMATION CONTAINED HEREIN IS SUBJECT TO COMPLETION OR AMENDMENT. A REGISTRATION STATEMENT RELATING TO THESE SECURITIES HAS BEEN FILED WITH THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION. THESE SECURITIES MAY NOT BE SOLD NOR MAY OFFERS TO BUY BE ACCEPTED PRIOR TO THE TIME THE REGISTRATION STATEMENT BECOMES EFFECTIVE. THIS PROSPECTUS SUPPLEMENT AND THE PROSPECTUS TO WHICH IT RELATES SHALL NOT CONSTITUTE AN OFFER TO SELL OR THE SOLICITATION OF AN OFFER TO BUY NOR SHALL THERE BE ANY SALE OF THESE SECURITIES IN ANY STATE IN WHICH SUCH OFFER, SOLICITATION OR SALE WOULD BE UNLAWFUL PRIOR TO REGISTRATION OR QUALIFICATION UNDER THE SECURITIES LAWS OF ANY SUCH STATE.


PRELIMINARY PROSPECTUS DATED NOVEMBER 12, 1997
(SUBJECT TO COMPLETION)


                       MORTGAGE PASS-THROUGH CERTIFICATES
                              (ISSUABLE IN SERIES)
                      NOMURA ASSET SECURITIES CORPORATION
                                   DEPOSITOR


    The Certificates offered hereby and by Supplements to this Prospectus (the 'Offered Certificates') will be offered from time to time in series. Each series of Certificates will represent in the aggregate the entire beneficial ownership interest in a trust fund (with respect to any series, the 'Trust Fund') consisting of a segregated pool of mortgage loans secured liens on, or security interests in, retail properties (the 'Mortgage Loans', or sometimes referred to herein as the 'Mortgage Assets'). The Trust Fund for a series of Certificates may also include letters of credit, insurance policies, guarantees, reserve funds or other types of credit support, or any combination thereof (with respect to any series, collectively, 'Credit Support'), and currency or interest rate exchange agreements and other financial assets, or any combination thereof (with respect to any series, collectively, 'Cash Flow Agreements'). See 'Description of the Trust Funds', 'Description of the Certificates' and 'Description of Credit Support'.


    Each series of Certificates will consist of one or more classes of Certificates that may (i) provide for the accrual of interest thereon based on fixed, variable or adjustable rates; (ii) be senior or subordinate to one or more other classes of Certificates in respect of certain distributions on the Certificates; (iii) be entitled to principal distributions, with disproportionately low, nominal or no interest distributions; (iv) be entitled to interest distributions, with disproportionately low, nominal or no principal distributions; (v) provide for distributions of accrued interest thereon only following the occurrence of certain events, such as the retirement of one or more other classes of Certificates of such series; or (vi) provide for distributions of principal sequentially, or based on specified payment schedules, to the extent of available funds, in each case as described in the related Prospectus Supplement. Any such classes may include classes of Offered Certificates. See 'Description of the Certificates'.

    Principal and interest with respect to Certificates will be distributable monthly, quarterly, semi-annually or at such other intervals and on the dates specified in the related Prospectus Supplement. Distributions on the Certificates of any series will be made only from the assets of the related Trust Fund.

    The Certificates of each series will not represent an obligation of or interest in the Depositor, any Master Servicer, any Special Servicer or any of their respective affiliates, except to the limited extent described herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. Only those Certificates and assets in the related Trust Fund as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement will be guaranteed or insured by any governmental agency or instrumentality or by any other person. The assets in each Trust Fund will be held in trust for the benefit of the holders of the related series of Certificates pursuant to a Pooling and Servicing Agreement or a Trust Agreement, as more fully described herein.

    The yield on each class of Certificates of a series will be affected by, among other things, the rate of payment of principal (including voluntary and involuntary prepayments) on the Mortgage Assets in the related Trust Fund and the timing of receipt of such payments as described under the caption 'Yield Considerations' herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. A Trust Fund may be subject to early termination under the circumstances described herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement.

    Prospective investors should review the information appearing under the caption 'Risk Factors' herein and such information as may be set forth under the caption 'Risk Factors' in the related Prospectus Supplement before purchasing any Offered Certificate.

    If so provided in the related Prospectus Supplement, one or more elections may be made to treat the related Trust Fund or a designated portion thereof as one or more 'real estate mortgage investment conduits' for federal income tax purposes. See also 'Federal Income Tax Consequences' herein.

    PROSPECTIVE INVESTORS SHOULD REVIEW THE DISCUSSION OF MATERIAL RISKS APPEARING UNDER THE CAPTION 'RISK FACTORS' HEREIN COMMENCING ON PAGE 11.

THESE SECURITIES HAVE NOT BEEN APPROVED OR DISAPPROVED BY THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION OR ANY STATE SECURITIES COMMISSION, NOR HAS THE SECURITIES
  AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION OR ANY STATE SECURITIES COMMISSION PASSED UPON THE
    ACCURACY OR ADEQUACY OF THIS PROSPECTUS. ANY REPRESENTATION TO THE
                       CONTRARY IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE.

    Prior to issuance there will have been no market for the Certificates of any series and there can be no assurance that a secondary market for any Offered Certificates will develop or that, if it does develop, it will continue. This Prospectus may not be used to consummate sales of a series of Offered Certificates unless accompanied by a Prospectus Supplement.

    Offers of the Offered Certificates may be made through one or more different methods, including offerings through underwriters, as more fully described under 'Method of Distribution' herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. All Offered Certificates will be distributed by, or sold by underwriters managed by:

                     NOMURA SECURITIES INTERNATIONAL, INC.
                THE DATE OF THIS PROSPECTUS IS             , 199

                                                 [RETAIL PROPERTIES VERSION]

                             SUMMARY OF PROSPECTUS

     The following summary of material information does not contain all the material information regarding the Certificates and is qualified in its entirety by reference to the more detailed information appearing elsewhere in this Prospectus and by reference to the information with respect to each series of Certificates contained in the Prospectus Supplement to be prepared and delivered in connection with the offering of such series. An Index of Principal Definitions is included at the end of this Prospectus.

TITLE OF CERTIFICATES

     Mortgage Pass-Through Certificates, issuable in series (the
'Certificates').

DEPOSITOR

     Nomura Asset Securities Corporation, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Nomura Asset Capital Corporation. See 'The Depositor'.

MASTER SERVICER

     The master servicer (the 'Master Servicer'), if any, for each series of Certificates will be named in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--Collection and Other Servicing Procedures'.

SPECIAL SERVICER

     The special servicer (the 'Special Servicer'), if any, for each series of Certificates will be named, or the circumstances in accordance with which a Special Servicer will be appointed will be described, in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--Special Servicer'.

TRUSTEE

     The trustee (the 'Trustee') for each series of Certificates will be named in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--The Trustee'.

THE TRUST ASSETS

     Each series of Certificates will represent in the aggregate the entire beneficial ownership interest in a Trust Fund consisting primarily of:

          (A) MORTGAGE ASSETS


          The Mortgage Assets with respect to each series of Certificates will consist of a pool of commercial mortgage loans (the 'Mortgage Loans'). Except to the extent described in the related Prospectus Supplement, the Mortgage Loans will not be guaranteed or insured by the Depositor or any of its affiliates or by any governmental agency or instrumentality or other person. As more specifically described herein, the Mortgage Loans will be secured by liens on, or security interests in, properties consisting of shopping centers (the 'Commercial Properties', or sometimes referred to herein as the 'Mortgaged Properties'). The Mortgaged Properties may be located in any one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia or such other locations as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement. All Mortgage Loans will have individual principal balances at origination of not less than $25,000 and original terms to maturity of not more than 40 years. All Mortgage Loans will have been originated by persons other than the Depositor, and all Mortgage Assets will have been purchased, either directly or indirectly, by the Depositor on or before the date of initial issuance of the related series of Certificates. As described herein and in the Prospectus Supplement, each Mortgage Loan may (i) provide for no accrual of interest or for accrual of interest thereon at an interest rate (a 'Mortgage Rate') that is fixed over its term or that adjusts from time to time, or that may be converted from an adjustable to a fixed Mortgage Rate, or from a fixed to an adjustable Mortgage Rate, from time to time at the mortgagor's election; (ii) provide for scheduled payments to maturity, payments that adjust from time to time in accommodate changes in the Mortgage Rate or to reflect the occurrence of certain events, and may provide negative amortization or accelerated amortization; (iii) be fully amortizing or require a balloon payment due on its stated maturity date;
     (iv) contain prohibitions on prepayment or require payment of a premium or a yield maintenance penalty in connection with a prepayment; and (v) provide for payments of principal, interest or both, on due dates that occur monthly, quarterly, semi-annually or other interval. See 'Description of the Trust Funds--Mortgage Assets'.

                                                 [RETAIL PROPERTIES VERSION]

Mortgage Loan. With respect to those Mortgage Loans that provide for recourse against the mortgagor and its assets generally, there can be no assurance that such recourse will ensure a recovery in respect of a defaulted Mortgage Loan greater than the liquidation value of the related Mortgaged Property.

     Further, the concentration of default, foreclosure and loss risks in individual mortgagors or Mortgage Loans in a particular Trust Fund or the related Mortgaged Properties will generally be greater than for pools of single-family loans both because the Mortgage Assets in a Trust Fund will generally consist of a smaller number of loans than would a single-family pool of comparable aggregate unpaid principal balance and because of the higher principal balance of individual Mortgage Loans.

RETAIL PROPERTIES

     Significant factors determining the value of retail properties are the quality of the tenants as well as fundamental aspects of real estate such as location and market demographics. The correlation between the success of tenant businesses and property value is more direct with respect to retail properties than other types of commercial property because a significant component of the total rent paid by retail tenants is often tied to a percentage of gross sales. Whether a retail property is 'anchored' or 'unanchored' is also an important distinction. Retail properties that are anchored have traditionally been percived to be less risky. While there is no strict definition of an anchor, it is generally understood that a retail anchor tenant is proportionately large in size and is vital in attracting customers to the property. Furthermore, the correlation between the success of tenant businesses and property value is increased when the property is a single tenant property.

     Unlike office or hotel properties, retail properties also face competition from sources outside a given real estate market. Catalogue retailers, home shopping networks, telemarketing and outlet centers all compete with more traditional retail properties for consumer dollars. Continued growth of these alternative retail outlets (which are often characterized by lower operating costs) could adversely affect the rent collectible at the retail properties included in the Mortgaged Properties.


BALLOON PAYMENTS


     Certain of the Mortgage Loans as of the Cut-off Date may not be fully amortizing over their terms to maturity and, thus, will require substantial principal payments (i.e., balloon payments) at their stated maturity. Mortgage Loans with balloon payments involve a greater degree of risk because the ability of a mortgagor to make a balloon payment typically will depend upon its ability either to timely refinance the loan or to timely sell the related Mortgaged Property. The ability of a mortgagor to accomplish either of these goals will be affected by a number of factors, including the level of available mortgage rates at the time of sale or refinancing, the mortgagor's equity in the related Mortgaged Property, the financial condition and operating history of the mortgagor and the related Mortgaged Property, tax laws, rent control laws (with respect to certain Multifamily Properties and mobile home parks), reimbursement rates (with respect to certain hospitals, nursing homes and convalescent homes), renewability of operating licenses, prevailing general economic conditions and the availability of credit for commercial or multifamily, as the case may be, real properties generally.

OBLIGOR DEFAULT

     In order to maximize recoveries on defaulted Mortgage Loans, a Master Servicer typically will have considerable flexibility to extend and modify Mortgage Loans that are in default or as to which a payment default is reasonably foreseeable, including in particular with respect to balloon payments. In addition, a Master Servicer or a Special Servicer may receive a workout fee based on receipts from or proceeds of such Mortgage Loans. While a Master Servicer generally will be required to determine that any such extension or modification is likely to produce a greater recovery on a present value basis than liquidation, there can be no assurance that such flexibility with respect to extensions or modifications or payment of a workout fee will increase the present value of receipts from or proceeds of Mortgage Loans that are in default or as to which a default is reasonably foreseeable. The recent foreclosure and delinquency experience with respect to loans serviced by a Master Servicer or, if applicable, any Special Servicer or significant Sub-Servicer will be provided in the related Prospectus Supplement.

MORTGAGOR TYPE

     Mortgage Loans made to partnerships, corporations or other entities may entail risks of loss from delinquency and foreclosure that are greater than those of Mortgage Loans made to individuals. Partnerships, corporations and certain other types of organizations generally limit the liability of the beneficial owners of such organizations for the obligations of such organizations,

                                                 [RETAIL PROPERTIES VERSION]

                         DESCRIPTION OF THE TRUST FUNDS

MORTGAGE ASSETS


     The primary assets of each Trust Fund (the 'Mortgage Assets') will include mortgage loans secured by liens on, or security interests in, retail properties (the 'Mortgage Loans'). The Mortgage Assets will not be guaranteed or insured by the Depositor or any of its affiliates. The Prospectus Supplement will describe any guarantee or insurance relating to the Mortgage Assets by any governmental agency or instrumentality or by any other person. Each Mortgage Asset will be selected by the Depositor for inclusion in a Trust Fund from among those purchased, either directly or indirectly, from a prior holder thereof (a 'Mortgage Asset Seller'), which prior holder may or may not be the originator of such Mortgage Loan and may be an affiliate of the Depositor.


MORTGAGE LOANS


     The Mortgage Loans will be secured by liens on, or security interests in, Mortgaged Properties consisting of retail properties located in any one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia or such other locations as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement. The Mortgage Loans will be secured by mortgages or deeds of trust or other similar security instruments creating a first or more junior lien on Mortgaged Properties. The Mortgaged Properties may include leasehold interest in properties, the title to which is held by third party lessors. The term of any such leasehold will exceed the term of the mortgage note by at least ten years. Each Mortgage Loan will have been originated by a person (the 'Originator') other than the Depositor. The Mortgage Loans will be evidenced by promissory notes (the 'Mortgage Notes') secured by mortgages or deeds of trust (the 'Mortgages') creating a lien on the Mortgaged Properties. Mortgage Loans will generally also be secured by an assignment of leases and rents and/or operating or other cash flow guarantees relating to the Mortgage Loan.


DEFAULT AND LOSS CONSIDERATIONS WITH RESPECT TO THE MORTGAGE LOANS

     Mortgage Loans secured by commercial and multifamily properties are markedly different from owner-occupied single-family home mortgage loans. The repayment of loans secured by commercial or multifamily properties is typically dependent upon the successful operation of such property rather than upon the liquidation value of the real estate. The Mortgage Loans will be non-recourse loans, which means that, absent special facts, the mortgagee may look only to the Net Operating Income from the property for repayment of the mortgage debt, and not to any other of the mortgagor's assets, in the event of the mortgagor's default. Lenders typically look to the Debt Service Coverage Ratio of a loan secured by income-producing property as an important measure of the risk of default on such a loan. The 'Debt Service Coverage Ratio' of a Mortgage Loan at any given time is the ratio of the Net Operating Income for a twelve-month period to the annualized scheduled payments on the Mortgage Loan. 'Net Operating Income' is typically defined as total operating revenues (including primarily rental income and any expense reimbursement, ancillary income, late charges and deposit forfeitures) minus total operating expenses (including primarily expenses for advertising, general administration, management fees and disbursements, utilities, repairs and maintenance, insurance, real estate taxes and replacement reserves based solely on the mortgagor's estimates of the useful lives of various assets). Net Operating Income does not reflect capital expenditures or partnership expenses. The Net Operating Income of a Mortgaged Property will fluctuate over time and may be sufficient or insufficient to cover debt service on the related Mortgage Loan at any given time.

     As the primary component of Net Operating Income, rental income (and maintenance payments from tenant-stockholders of a Cooperative) is subject to the vagaries of the applicable real estate market and/or business climate. Properties typically leased, occupied or used on a short-term basis, such as health care-related facilities, hotels and motels, and mini-warehouse and self-storage facilities, tend to be affected more rapidly by changes in market or business conditions than do properties leased, occupied or used for longer periods, such as (typically) warehouses, retail stores, office buildings and industrial plants. Commercial Loans may be secured by owner-occupied Mortgaged Properties or Mortgaged Properties leased to a single tenant. Accordingly, a decline in the financial condition of the mortgagor or single tenant, as applicable, may have a disproportionately greater effect on the Net Operating Income from such Mortgaged Properties than would be the case with respect to Mortgaged Properties with multiple tenants.

     Changes in the expense components of Net Operating Income due to the general economic climate or economic conditions in a locality or industry segment, such as increases in interest rates, real estate and personal property tax rates and other operating

                           OFFICE PROPERTIES VERSION



The following are alternate pages to the base prospectus for a form of base prospectus for a series of commercial mortgage pass-through certificates backed by loans secured by office properties. Disclosure made on the following alternate pages will be included in the base prospectus for each series of Certificates backed by loans containing a material concentration of Mortgage Loans secured by office properties.

                                                  [OFFICE PROPERTIES VERSION]

INFORMATION CONTAINED HEREIN IS SUBJECT TO COMPLETION OR AMENDMENT. A REGISTRATION STATEMENT RELATING TO THESE SECURITIES HAS BEEN FILED WITH THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION. THESE SECURITIES MAY NOT BE SOLD NOR MAY OFFERS TO BUY BE ACCEPTED PRIOR TO THE TIME THE REGISTRATION STATEMENT BECOMES EFFECTIVE. THIS PROSPECTUS SUPPLEMENT AND THE PROSPECTUS TO WHICH IT RELATES SHALL NOT CONSTITUTE AN OFFER TO SELL OR THE SOLICITATION OF AN OFFER TO BUY NOR SHALL THERE BE ANY SALE OF THESE SECURITIES IN ANY STATE IN WHICH SUCH OFFER, SOLICITATION OR SALE WOULD BE UNLAWFUL PRIOR TO REGISTRATION OR QUALIFICATION UNDER THE SECURITIES LAWS OF ANY SUCH STATE.


PRELIMINARY PROSPECTUS DATED NOVEMBER 12, 1997
(SUBJECT TO COMPLETION)


                       MORTGAGE PASS-THROUGH CERTIFICATES
                              (ISSUABLE IN SERIES)
                      NOMURA ASSET SECURITIES CORPORATION
                                   DEPOSITOR


    The Certificates offered hereby and by Supplements to this Prospectus (the 'Offered Certificates') will be offered from time to time in series. Each series of Certificates will represent in the aggregate the entire beneficial ownership interest in a trust fund (with respect to any series, the 'Trust Fund') consisting of a segregated pool of various types of mortgage loans secured by liens on, or security interests in, office properties (the 'Mortgage Loans', or sometimes referred to herein as the 'Mortgage Assets'). The Trust Fund for a series of Certificates may also include letters of credit, insurance policies, guarantees, reserve funds or other types of credit support, or any combination thereof (with respect to any series, collectively, 'Credit Support'), and currency or interest rate exchange agreements and other financial assets, or any combination thereof (with respect to any series, collectively, 'Cash Flow Agreements'). See 'Description of the Trust Funds', 'Description of the Certificates' and 'Description of Credit Support'.


    Each series of Certificates will consist of one or more classes of Certificates that may (i) provide for the accrual of interest thereon based on fixed, variable or adjustable rates; (ii) be senior or subordinate to one or more other classes of Certificates in respect of certain distributions on the Certificates; (iii) be entitled to principal distributions, with disproportionately low, nominal or no interest distributions; (iv) be entitled to interest distributions, with disproportionately low, nominal or no principal distributions; (v) provide for distributions of accrued interest thereon only following the occurrence of certain events, such as the retirement of one or more other classes of Certificates of such series; or (vi) provide for distributions of principal sequentially, or based on specified payment schedules, to the extent of available funds, in each case as described in the related Prospectus Supplement. Any such classes may include classes of Offered Certificates. See 'Description of the Certificates'.

    Principal and interest with respect to Certificates will be distributable monthly, quarterly, semi-annually or at such other intervals and on the dates specified in the related Prospectus Supplement. Distributions on the Certificates of any series will be made only from the assets of the related Trust Fund.

    The Certificates of each series will not represent an obligation of or interest in the Depositor, any Master Servicer, any Special Servicer or any of their respective affiliates, except to the limited extent described herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. Only those Certificates and assets in the related Trust Fund as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement will be guaranteed or insured by any governmental agency or instrumentality or by any other person. The assets in each Trust Fund will be held in trust for the benefit of the holders of the related series of Certificates pursuant to a Pooling and Servicing Agreement or a Trust Agreement, as more fully described herein.

    The yield on each class of Certificates of a series will be affected by, among other things, the rate of payment of principal (including voluntary and involuntary prepayments) on the Mortgage Assets in the related Trust Fund and the timing of receipt of such payments as described under the caption 'Yield Considerations' herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. A Trust Fund may be subject to early termination under the circumstances described herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement.

    Prospective investors should review the information appearing under the caption 'Risk Factors' herein and such information as may be set forth under the caption 'Risk Factors' in the related Prospectus Supplement before purchasing any Offered Certificate.

    If so provided in the related Prospectus Supplement, one or more elections may be made to treat the related Trust Fund or a designated portion thereof as one or more 'real estate mortgage investment conduits' for federal income tax purposes. See also 'Federal Income Tax Consequences' herein.

    PROSPECTIVE INVESTORS SHOULD REVIEW THE DISCUSSION OF MATERIAL RISKS APPEARING UNDER THE CAPTION 'RISK FACTORS' HEREIN COMMENCING ON PAGE 11.

THESE SECURITIES HAVE NOT BEEN APPROVED OR DISAPPROVED BY THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION OR ANY STATE SECURITIES COMMISSION, NOR HAS THE SECURITIES
  AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION OR ANY STATE SECURITIES COMMISSION PASSED UPON THE
    ACCURACY OR ADEQUACY OF THIS PROSPECTUS. ANY REPRESENTATION TO THE
                       CONTRARY IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE.

    Prior to issuance there will have been no market for the Certificates of any series and there can be no assurance that a secondary market for any Offered Certificates will develop or that, if it does develop, it will continue. This Prospectus may not be used to consummate sales of a series of Offered Certificates unless accompanied by a Prospectus Supplement.

    Offers of the Offered Certificates may be made through one or more different methods, including offerings through underwriters, as more fully described under 'Method of Distribution' herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. All Offered Certificates will be distributed by, or sold by underwriters managed by:

                     NOMURA SECURITIES INTERNATIONAL, INC.
                THE DATE OF THIS PROSPECTUS IS             , 199

                                                  [OFFICE PROPERTIES VERSION]

                             SUMMARY OF PROSPECTUS

     The following summary of material information does not contain all the material information regarding the Certificates and is qualified in its entirety by reference to the more detailed information appearing elsewhere in this Prospectus and by reference to the information with respect to each series of Certificates contained in the Prospectus Supplement to be prepared and delivered in connection with the offering of such series. An Index of Principal Definitions is included at the end of this Prospectus.

TITLE OF CERTIFICATES

     Mortgage Pass-Through Certificates, issuable in series (the
'Certificates').

DEPOSITOR

     Nomura Asset Securities Corporation, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Nomura Asset Capital Corporation. See 'The Depositor'.

MASTER SERVICER

     The master servicer (the 'Master Servicer'), if any, for each series of Certificates will be named in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--Collection and Other Servicing Procedures'.

SPECIAL SERVICER

     The special servicer (the 'Special Servicer'), if any, for each series of Certificates will be named, or the circumstances in accordance with which a Special Servicer will be appointed will be described, in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--Special Servicer'.

TRUSTEE

     The trustee (the 'Trustee') for each series of Certificates will be named in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--The Trustee'.

THE TRUST ASSETS

     Each series of Certificates will represent in the aggregate the entire beneficial ownership interest in a Trust Fund consisting primarily of:

          (A) MORTGAGE ASSETS


          The Mortgage Assets with respect to each series of Certificates will consist of a pool of commercial mortgage loans (the 'Mortgage Loans'). Except to the extent described in the related Prospectus Supplement, the Mortgage Loans will not be guaranteed or insured by the Depositor or any of its affiliates or by any governmental agency or instrumentality or other person. As more specifically described herein, the Mortgage Loans will be secured by liens on, or security interest in, office properties (the 'Commercial Properties,' or sometimes referred to herein as the 'Mortgaged Properties'). The Mortgaged Properties may be located in any one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia or such other locations as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement. All Mortgage Loans will have individual principal balances at origination of not less than $25,000 and original terms to maturity of not more than 40 years. All Mortgage Loans will have been originated by persons other than the Depositor, and all Mortgage Assets will have been purchased, either directly or indirectly, by the Depositor on or before the date of initial issuance of the related series of Certificates. As described herein and in the Prospectus Supplement, each Mortgage Loan may (i) provide for no accrual of interest or for accrual of interest thereon at an interest rate (a 'Mortgage Rate') that is fixed over its term or that adjusts from time to time, or that may be converted from an adjustable to a fixed Mortgage Rate, or from a fixed to an adjustable Mortgage Rate, from time to time at the mortgagor's election; (ii) provide for scheduled payments to maturity, payments that adjust from time to time in accommodate changes in the Mortgage Rate or to reflect the occurrence of certain events, and may provide negative amortization or accelerated amortization; (iii) be fully amortizing or require a balloon payment due on its stated maturity date;
     (iv) contain prohibitions on prepayment or require payment of a premium or a yield maintenance penalty in connection with a prepayment; and (v) provide for payments of principal, interest or both, on due dates that occur monthly, quarterly, semi-annually or other interval. See 'Description of the Trust Funds--Mortgage Assets'.

                                                  [OFFICE PROPERTIES VERSION]


Mortgage Loan. With respect to those Mortgage Loans that provide for recourse against the mortgagor and its assets generally, there can be no assurance that such recourse will ensure a recovery in respect of a defaulted Mortgage Loan greater than the liquidation value of the related Mortgaged Property.



     Further, the concentration of default, foreclosure and loss risks in individual mortgagors or Mortgage Loans in a particular Trust Fund or the related Mortgaged Properties will generally be greater than for pools of single-family loans both because the Mortgage Assets in a Trust Fund will generally consist of a smaller number of loans than would a single-family pool of comparable aggregate unpaid principal balance and because of the higher principal balance of individual Mortgage Loans.


OFFICE PROPERTIES

     Significant factors determining the value of office properties are the quality of the tenants in the building, the physical attributes of the building in relation to competing buildings and the strength and stability of the market area as a desirable business location. Office properties may be adversely affected if there is an economic decline in the business operated by the tenants. The risk of such an adverse effect is increased if revenue is dependent on a single tenant or if there is a significant concentration of tenants in a particular business or industry.

     Office properties are also subject to competition with other office properties in the same market. Competition is affected by a property's age, condition, design (e.g. floor sizes and layout), access to transportation and ability or inability to offer certain amenities to its tenants, including sophisticated building systems (such as fiberoptic cables, satellite communications or other base building technological features).


     The success of an office property also depends on the local economy. A company's decision to locate office headquarters in a given area, for example, may be affected by such factors as labor cost and quality, tax environment and quality of life issues such as schools and cultural amenities. A central business district may have an economy which is markedly different from that of a suburb. The local economy will impact on an office property's ability to attract stable tenants on a consistent basis. In addition, the cost of refitting office space of a new tenant is often more costly than for other property types.


BALLOON PAYMENTS

     Certain of the Mortgage Loans as of the Cut-off Date may not be fully amortizing over their terms to maturity and, thus, will require substantial principal payments (i.e., balloon payments) at their stated maturity. Mortgage Loans with balloon payments involve a greater degree of risk because the ability of a mortgagor to make a balloon payment typically will depend upon its ability either to timely refinance the loan or to timely sell the related Mortgaged Property. The ability of a mortgagor to accomplish either of these goals will be affected by a number of factors, including the level of available mortgage rates at the time of sale or refinancing, the mortgagor's equity in the related Mortgaged Property, the financial condition and operating history of the mortgagor and the related Mortgaged Property, tax laws, rent control laws (with respect to certain Multifamily Properties and mobile home parks), reimbursement rates (with respect to certain hospitals, nursing homes and convalescent homes), renewability of operating licenses, prevailing general economic conditions and the availability of credit for commercial or multifamily, as the case may be, real properties generally.

OBLIGOR DEFAULT

     In order to maximize recoveries on defaulted Mortgage Loans, a Master Servicer typically will have considerable flexibility to extend and modify Mortgage Loans that are in default or as to which a payment default is reasonably foreseeable, including in particular with respect to balloon payments. In addition, a Master Servicer or a Special Servicer may receive a workout fee based on receipts from or proceeds of such Mortgage Loans. While a Master Servicer generally will be required to determine that any such extension or modification is likely to produce a greater recovery on a present value basis than liquidation, there can be no assurance that such flexibility with respect to extensions or modifications or payment of a workout fee will increase the present value of receipts from or proceeds of Mortgage Loans that are in default or as to which a default is reasonably foreseeable. The recent foreclosure and delinquency experience with respect to loans serviced by a Master Servicer or, if applicable, any Special Servicer or significant Sub-Servicer will be provided in the related Prospectus Supplement.

                                                  [OFFICE PROPERTIES VERSION]

                         DESCRIPTION OF THE TRUST FUNDS

MORTGAGE ASSETS


     The primary assets of each Trust Fund (the 'Mortgage Assets') will include mortgage loans secured by liens on, or security interests in, office properties (the 'Mortgage Loans'). The Mortgage Assets will not be guaranteed or insured by the Depositor or any of its affiliates. The Prospectus Supplement will describe any guarantee or insurance relating to the Mortgage Assets by any governmental agency or instrumentality or by any other person. Each Mortgage Asset will be selected by the Depositor for inclusion in a Trust Fund from among those purchased, either directly or indirectly, from a prior holder thereof (a 'Mortgage Asset Seller'), which prior holder may or may not be the originator of such Mortgage Loan and may be an affiliate of the Depositor.


MORTGAGE LOANS


     The Mortgage Loans will be secured by liens on, or security interests in, Mortgaged Properties consisting of office buildings (sometimes referred to herein as 'Commercial Properties' and the related loans, 'Commercial Loans') located in any one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia or such other locations as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement. The Mortgage Loans will be secured by mortgages or deeds of trust or other similar security instruments creating a first or more junior lien on Mortgaged Properties. The Mortgaged Properties may include leasehold interest in properties, the title to which is held by third party lessors. The term of any such leasehold will exceed the term of the mortgage note by at least ten years. Each Mortgage Loan will have been originated by a person (the 'Originator') other than the Depositor. The Mortgage Loans will be evidenced by promissory notes (the 'Mortgage Notes') secured by mortgages or deeds of trust (the 'Mortgages') creating a lien on the Mortgaged Properties. Mortgage Loans will generally also be secured by an assignment of leases and rents and/or operating or other cash flow guarantees relating to the Mortgage Loan.


DEFAULT AND LOSS CONSIDERATIONS WITH RESPECT TO THE MORTGAGE LOANS

     Mortgage Loans secured by commercial and multifamily properties are markedly different from owner-occupied single-family home mortgage loans. The repayment of loans secured by commercial or multifamily properties is typically dependent upon the successful operation of such property rather than upon the liquidation value of the real estate. The Mortgage Loans will be non-recourse loans, which means that, absent special facts, the mortgagee may look only to the Net Operating Income from the property for repayment of the mortgage debt, and not to any other of the mortgagor's assets, in the event of the mortgagor's default. Lenders typically look to the Debt Service Coverage Ratio of a loan secured by income-producing property as an important measure of the risk of default on such a loan. The 'Debt Service Coverage Ratio' of a Mortgage Loan at any given time is the ratio of the Net Operating Income for a twelve-month period to the annualized scheduled payments on the Mortgage Loan. 'Net Operating Income' is typically defined as total operating revenues (including primarily rental income and any expense reimbursement, ancillary income, late charges and deposit forfeitures) minus total operating expenses (including primarily expenses for advertising, general administration, management fees and disbursements, utilities, repairs and maintenance, insurance, real estate taxes and replacement reserves based solely on the mortgagor's estimates of the useful lives of various assets). Net Operating Income does not reflect capital expenditures or partnership expenses. The Net Operating Income of a Mortgaged Property will fluctuate over time and may be sufficient or insufficient to cover debt service on the related Mortgage Loan at any given time.

     As the primary component of Net Operating Income, rental income (and maintenance payments from tenant-stockholders of a Cooperative) is subject to the vagaries of the applicable real estate market and/or business climate. Properties typically leased, occupied or used on a short-term basis, such as health care-related facilities, hotels and motels, and mini-warehouse and self-storage facilities, tend to be affected more rapidly by changes in market or business conditions than do properties leased, occupied or used for longer periods, such as (typically) warehouses, retail stores, office buildings and industrial plants. Commercial Loans may be secured by owner-occupied Mortgaged Properties or Mortgaged Properties leased to a single tenant. Accordingly, a decline in the financial condition of the mortgagor or single tenant, as applicable, may have a disproportionately greater effect on the Net Operating Income from such Mortgaged Properties than would be the case with respect to Mortgaged Properties with multiple tenants.

     Changes in the expense components of Net Operating Income due to the general economic climate or economic conditions in a locality or industry segment, such as increases in interest rates, real estate and personal property tax rates and other operating expenses including energy costs; changes in governmental rules, regulations and fiscal policies, including environmental legislation; and acts of God may also affect the risk of default on the related Mortgage Loan. As may be further described in the related Prospectus Supplement, in some cases leases of Mortgaged Properties may provide that the lessee, rather than

                            HOTEL PROPERTIES VERSION



The following are alternate pages to the base prospectus for a form of base prospectus for a series of commercial mortgage pass-through certificates backed by loans secured by hotel properties. Disclosure made on the
following alternate pages will be included in the base prospectus for each series of Certificates backed by loans containing a material concentration of Mortgage Loans secured by hotel properties.

                                                     [HOTEL PROPERTIES VERSION]

INFORMATION CONTAINED HEREIN IS SUBJECT TO COMPLETION OR AMENDMENT. A REGISTRATION STATEMENT RELATING TO THESE SECURITIES HAS BEEN FILED WITH THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION. THESE SECURITIES MAY NOT BE SOLD NOR MAY OFFERS TO BUY BE ACCEPTED PRIOR TO THE TIME THE REGISTRATION STATEMENT BECOMES EFFECTIVE. THIS PROSPECTUS SUPPLEMENT AND THE PROSPECTUS TO WHICH IT RELATES SHALL NOT CONSTITUTE AN OFFER TO SELL OR THE SOLICITATION OF AN OFFER TO BUY NOR SHALL THERE BE ANY SALE OF THESE SECURITIES IN ANY STATE IN WHICH SUCH OFFER, SOLICITATION OR SALE WOULD BE UNLAWFUL PRIOR TO REGISTRATION OR QUALIFICATION UNDER THE SECURITIES LAWS OF ANY SUCH STATE.


PRELIMINARY PROSPECTUS DATED NOVEMBER 12, 1997
(SUBJECT TO COMPLETION)


                       MORTGAGE PASS-THROUGH CERTIFICATES
                              (ISSUABLE IN SERIES)

                      NOMURA ASSET SECURITIES CORPORATION
                                   DEPOSITOR


    The Certificates offered hereby and by Supplements to this Prospectus (the 'Offered Certificates') will be offered from time to time in series. Each series of Certificates will represent in the aggregate the entire beneficial ownership interest in a trust fund (with respect to any series, the 'Trust Fund') consisting of a segregated pool of mortgage loans secured by liens on, or security interests in, hotel properties (the 'Mortgage Loans,' or sometimes referred to herein as the 'Mortgage Assets'). The Trust Fund for a series of Certificates may also include letters of credit, insurance policies, guarantees, reserve funds or other types of credit support, or any combination thereof (with respect to any series, collectively, 'Credit Support'), and currency or interest rate exchange agreements and other financial assets, or any combination thereof (with respect to any series, collectively, 'Cash Flow Agreements'). See 'Description of the Trust Funds', 'Description of the Certificates' and 'Description of Credit Support'.


    Each series of Certificates will consist of one or more classes of Certificates that may (i) provide for the accrual of interest thereon based on fixed, variable or adjustable rates; (ii) be senior or subordinate to one or more other classes of Certificates in respect of certain distributions on the Certificates; (iii) be entitled to principal distributions, with disproportionately low, nominal or no interest distributions; (iv) be entitled to interest distributions, with disproportionately low, nominal or no principal distributions; (v) provide for distributions of accrued interest thereon only following the occurrence of certain events, such as the retirement of one or more other classes of Certificates of such series; or (vi) provide for distributions of principal sequentially, or based on specified payment schedules, to the extent of available funds, in each case as described in the related Prospectus Supplement. Any such classes may include classes of Offered Certificates. See 'Description of the Certificates'.

    Principal and interest with respect to Certificates will be distributable monthly, quarterly, semi-annually or at such other intervals and on the dates specified in the related Prospectus Supplement. Distributions on the Certificates of any series will be made only from the assets of the related Trust Fund.

    The Certificates of each series will not represent an obligation of or interest in the Depositor, any Master Servicer, any Special Servicer or any of their respective affiliates, except to the limited extent described herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. Only those Certificates and assets in the related Trust Fund as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement will be guaranteed or insured by any governmental agency or instrumentality or by any other person. The assets in each Trust Fund will be held in trust for the benefit of the holders of the related series of Certificates pursuant to a Pooling and Servicing Agreement or a Trust Agreement, as more fully described herein.

    The yield on each class of Certificates of a series will be affected by, among other things, the rate of payment of principal (including voluntary and involuntary prepayments) on the Mortgage Assets in the related Trust Fund and the timing of receipt of such payments as described under the caption 'Yield Considerations' herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. A Trust Fund may be subject to early termination under the circumstances described herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement.

    Prospective investors should review the information appearing under the caption 'Risk Factors' herein and such information as may be set forth under the caption 'Risk Factors' in the related Prospectus Supplement before purchasing any Offered Certificate.

    If so provided in the related Prospectus Supplement, one or more elections may be made to treat the related Trust Fund or a designated portion thereof as one or more 'real estate mortgage investment conduits' for federal income tax purposes. See also 'Federal Income Tax Consequences' herein.

    PROSPECTIVE INVESTORS SHOULD REVIEW THE DISCUSSION OF MATERIAL RISKS APPEARING UNDER THE CAPTION 'RISK FACTORS' HEREIN COMMENCING ON PAGE 11.

THESE SECURITIES HAVE NOT BEEN APPROVED OR DISAPPROVED BY THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION OR ANY STATE SECURITIES COMMISSION, NOR HAS THE SECURITIES
  AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION OR ANY STATE SECURITIES COMMISSION PASSED UPON THE
    ACCURACY OR ADEQUACY OF THIS PROSPECTUS. ANY REPRESENTATION TO THE
                       CONTRARY IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE.

    Prior to issuance there will have been no market for the Certificates of any series and there can be no assurance that a secondary market for any Offered Certificates will develop or that, if it does develop, it will continue. This Prospectus may not be used to consummate sales of a series of Offered Certificates unless accompanied by a Prospectus Supplement.

    Offers of the Offered Certificates may be made through one or more different methods, including offerings through underwriters, as more fully described under 'Method of Distribution' herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. All Offered Certificates will be distributed by, or sold by underwriters managed by:

                     NOMURA SECURITIES INTERNATIONAL, INC.
                THE DATE OF THIS PROSPECTUS IS             , 199

                                                     [HOTEL PROPERTIES VERSION]

                             SUMMARY OF PROSPECTUS

     The following summary of material information does not contain all the material information regarding the Certificates and is qualified in its entirety by reference to the more detailed information appearing elsewhere in this Prospectus and by reference to the information with respect to each series of Certificates contained in the Prospectus Supplement to be prepared and delivered in connection with the offering of such series. An Index of Principal Definitions is included at the end of this Prospectus.

TITLE OF CERTIFICATES

     Mortgage Pass-Through Certificates, issuable in series (the
'Certificates').

DEPOSITOR

     Nomura Asset Securities Corporation, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Nomura Asset Capital Corporation. See 'The Depositor'.

MASTER SERVICER

     The master servicer (the 'Master Servicer'), if any, for each series of Certificates will be named in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--Collection and Other Servicing Procedures'.

SPECIAL SERVICER

     The special servicer (the 'Special Servicer'), if any, for each series of Certificates will be named, or the circumstances in accordance with which a Special Servicer will be appointed will be described, in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--Special Servicer'.

TRUSTEE

     The trustee (the 'Trustee') for each series of Certificates will be named in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--The Trustee'.

THE TRUST ASSETS

     Each series of Certificates will represent in the aggregate the entire beneficial ownership interest in a Trust Fund consisting primarily of:

          (A) MORTGAGE ASSETS


          The Mortgage Assets with respect to each series of Certificates will consist of a pool of commercial mortgage loans (the 'Mortgage Loans'). Except to the extent described in the related Prospectus Supplement, the Mortgage Loans will not be guaranteed or insured by the Depositor or any of its affiliates or by any governmental agency or instrumentality or other person. As more specifically described herein, the Mortgage Loans will be secured by liens on, or security interests in, properties consisting of hotels and motels (the 'Commercial Properties', or sometimes referred to herein as the 'Mortgaged Properties'). The Mortgaged Properties may be located in any one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia or such other locations as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement. All Mortgage Loans will have individual principal balances at origination of not less than $25,000 and original terms to maturity of not more than 40 years. All Mortgage Loans will have been originated by persons other than the Depositor, and all Mortgage Assets will have been purchased, either directly or indirectly, by the Depositor on or before the date of initial issuance of the related series of Certificates. As described herein and in the Prospectus Supplement, each Mortgage Loan may (i) provide for no accrual of interest or for accrual of interest thereon at an interest rate (a 'Mortgage Rate') that is fixed over its term or that adjusts from time to time, or that may be converted from an adjustable to a fixed Mortgage Rate, or from a fixed to an adjustable Mortgage Rate, from time to time at the mortgagor's election; (ii) provide for scheduled payments to maturity, payments that adjust from time to time in accommodate changes in the Mortgage Rate or to reflect the occurrence of certain events, and may provide negative amortization or accelerated amortization; (iii) be fully amortizing or require a balloon payment due on its stated maturity date;
     (iv) contain prohibitions on prepayment or require payment of a premium or a yield maintenance penalty in connection with a prepayment; and (v) provide for payments of principal, interest or both, on due dates that occur monthly, quarterly, semi-annually or other interval. See 'Description of the Trust Funds--Mortgage Assets'.

                                                     [HOTEL PROPERTIES VERSION]

Mortgage Loan. With respect to those Mortgage Loans that provide for recourse against the mortgagor and its assets generally, there can be no assurance that such recourse will ensure a recovery in respect of a defaulted Mortgage Loan greater than the liquidation value of the related Mortgaged Property.

     Further, the concentration of default, foreclosure and loss risks in individual mortgagors or Mortgage Loans in a particular Trust Fund or the related Mortgaged Properties will generally be greater than for pools of single-family loans both because the Mortgage Assets in a Trust Fund will generally consist of a smaller number of loans than would a single-family pool of comparable aggregate unpaid principal balance and because of the higher principal balance of individual Mortgage Loans.


HOTEL PROPERTIES


     Various factors, including location, quality and franchise affiliation affect the economic performance of a hotel. Adverse economic conditions, either local, regional or national, may limit the amount that can be charged for a room and may result in a reduction in occupancy levels. The construction of competing hotels can have similar effects. To meet competition in the industry and to maintain economic values, continuing expenditures must be made for modernizing, refurbishing, and maintaining existing facilities prior to the expiration of their anticipated useful lives. Because hotel rooms are generally rented for short periods of time, hotels tend to respond more quickly to adverse economic conditions and competition than do other commercial properties. Furthermore, the financial strength and capabilities of the owner and operator of a hotel may have a substantial impact on such hotel's quality of service and economic performance. Additionally, the hotel and lodging industry is generally seasonal in nature and this seasonality can be expected to cause periodic fluctuations in room and other revenues, occupancy levels, room rates and operating expenses. The demand for particular accommodations may also be affected by changes in travel patterns caused by changes in energy prices, strikes, relocation of highways, the construction of additional highways and other factors.

     Hotel properties may be franchises of national or regional hotel chains. The viability of any such hotel property depends in part on the continued existence and financial strength of the franchisor, the public perception of the franchise service mark and the duration of the franchise licensing agreements. The transferability of franchise license agreements may be restricted and, in the event of a foreclosure on any such hotel property, the mortgage may not have the right to use the franchise license without the franchisor's consent. Conversely, a lender may be unable to remove a franchisor that it desires to replace following a foreclosure. Further, in the event of a foreclosure on a hotel property, it is unlikely that the Trustee (or Master Servicer or Special Servicer) or purchaser of such hotel property would be entitled to the rights under any liquor license for such hotel property and such party would be required to apply in its own right for such license or licenses. There can be no assurance that a new license could be obtained or that it could be obtained promptly.


BALLOON PAYMENTS


     Certain of the Mortgage Loans as of the Cut-off Date may not be fully amortizing over their terms to maturity and, thus, will require substantial principal payments (i.e., balloon payments) at their stated maturity. Mortgage Loans with balloon payments involve a greater degree of risk because the ability of a mortgagor to make a balloon payment typically will depend upon its ability either to timely refinance the loan or to timely sell the related Mortgaged Property. The ability of a mortgagor to accomplish either of these goals will be affected by a number of factors, including the level of available mortgage rates at the time of sale or refinancing, the mortgagor's equity in the related Mortgaged Property, the financial condition and operating history of the mortgagor and the related Mortgaged Property, tax laws, rent control laws (with respect to certain Multifamily Properties and mobile home parks), reimbursement rates (with respect to certain hospitals, nursing homes and convalescent homes), renewability of operating licenses, prevailing general economic conditions and the availability of credit for commercial or multifamily, as the case may be, real properties generally.

OBLIGOR DEFAULT

     In order to maximize recoveries on defaulted Mortgage Loans, a Master Servicer typically will have considerable flexibility to extend and modify Mortgage Loans that are in default or as to which a payment default is reasonably foreseeable, including in particular with respect to balloon payments. In addition, a Master Servicer or a Special Servicer may receive a workout fee based on receipts from or proceeds of such Mortgage Loans. While a Master Servicer generally will be required to determine that any such extension or modification is likely to produce a greater recovery on a present value basis than liquidation, there can be no assurance that such flexibility with respect to extensions or modifications or payment of a workout fee will increase the present value of receipts from or proceeds of Mortgage Loans that are in default or as to which a default is reasonably foreseeable. The

                                                     [HOTEL PROPERTIES VERSION]

                         DESCRIPTION OF THE TRUST FUNDS

MORTGAGE ASSETS


     The primary assets of each Trust Fund (the 'Mortgage Assets') will include mortgage loans secured by liens on, or security interests in, hotel properties (the 'Mortgage Loans'). The Mortgage Assets will not be guaranteed or insured by the Depositor or any of its affiliates. The Prospectus Supplement will describe any guarantee or insurance relating to the Mortgage Assets by any governmental agency or instrumentality or by any other person. Each Mortgage Asset will be selected by the Depositor for inclusion in a Trust Fund from among those purchased, either directly or indirectly, from a prior holder thereof (a 'Mortgage Asset Seller'), which prior holder may or may not be the originator of such Mortgage Loan and may be an affiliate of the Depositor.


MORTGAGE LOANS


     The Mortgage Loans will be secured by liens on, or security interests in, Mortgaged Properties consisting of properties consisting of hotels and motels located in any one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia or such other locations as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement. The Mortgage Loans will be secured by mortgages or deeds of trust or other similar security instruments creating a first or more junior lien on Mortgaged Properties. The Mortgaged Properties may include leasehold interest in properties, the title to which is held by third party lessors. The term of any such leasehold will exceed the term of the mortgage note by at least ten years. Each Mortgage Loan will have been originated by a person (the 'Originator') other than the Depositor. The Mortgage Loans will be evidenced by promissory notes (the 'Mortgage Notes') secured by mortgages or deeds of trust (the 'Mortgages') creating a lien on the Mortgaged Properties. Mortgage Loans will generally also be secured by an assignment of leases and rents and/or operating or other cash flow guarantees relating to the Mortgage Loan.


DEFAULT AND LOSS CONSIDERATIONS WITH RESPECT TO THE MORTGAGE LOANS

     Mortgage Loans secured by commercial and multifamily properties are markedly different from owner-occupied single-family home mortgage loans. The repayment of loans secured by commercial or multifamily properties is typically dependent upon the successful operation of such property rather than upon the liquidation value of the real estate. The Mortgage Loans will be non-recourse loans, which means that, absent special facts, the mortgagee may look only to the Net Operating Income from the property for repayment of the mortgage debt, and not to any other of the mortgagor's assets, in the event of the mortgagor's default. Lenders typically look to the Debt Service Coverage Ratio of a loan secured by income-producing property as an important measure of the risk of default on such a loan. The 'Debt Service Coverage Ratio' of a Mortgage Loan at any given time is the ratio of the Net Operating Income for a twelve-month period to the annualized scheduled payments on the Mortgage Loan. 'Net Operating Income' is typically defined as total operating revenues (including primarily rental income and any expense reimbursement, ancillary income, late charges and deposit forfeitures) minus total operating expenses (including primarily expenses for advertising, general administration, management fees and disbursements, utilities, repairs and maintenance, insurance, real estate taxes and replacement reserves based solely on the mortgagor's estimates of the useful lives of various assets). Net Operating Income does not reflect capital expenditures or partnership expenses. The Net Operating Income of a Mortgaged Property will fluctuate over time and may be sufficient or insufficient to cover debt service on the related Mortgage Loan at any given time.

     As the primary component of Net Operating Income, rental income (and maintenance payments from tenant-stockholders of a Cooperative) is subject to the vagaries of the applicable real estate market and/or business climate. Properties typically leased, occupied or used on a short-term basis, such as health care-related facilities, hotels and motels, and mini-warehouse and self-storage facilities, tend to be affected more rapidly by changes in market or business conditions than do properties leased, occupied or used for longer periods, such as (typically) warehouses, retail stores, office buildings and industrial plants. Commercial Loans may be secured by owner-occupied Mortgaged Properties or Mortgaged Properties leased to a single tenant. Accordingly, a decline in the financial condition of the mortgagor or single tenant, as applicable, may have a disproportionately greater effect on the Net Operating Income from such Mortgaged Properties than would be the case with respect to Mortgaged Properties with multiple tenants.

     Changes in the expense components of Net Operating Income due to the general economic climate or economic conditions in a locality or industry segment, such as increases in interest rates, real estate and personal property tax rates and other operating expenses including energy costs; changes in governmental rules, regulations and fiscal policies, including environmental legislation; and acts of God may also affect the risk of default on the related Mortgage Loan. As may be further described in the related Prospectus Supplement, in some cases leases of Mortgaged Properties may provide that the lessee, rather than the mortgagor, is responsible for payment of certain of these expenses ('Net Leases'); however, because leases are subject to default

                  SENIOR HOUSING/HEALTHCARE PROPERTIES VERSION



The following are alternate pages to the base prospectus for a form of base prospectus for a series of commercial mortgage pass-through certificates backed by loans secured by senior housing/healthcare properties. Disclosure made on the following alternate pages will be included in the base prospectus for each series of Certificates backed by loans containing a material concentration of Mortgage Loans secured by senior housing/healthcare properties.

                                [SENIOR HOUSING/HEALTHCARE PROPERTIES VERSION]

INFORMATION CONTAINED HEREIN IS SUBJECT TO COMPLETION OR AMENDMENT. A REGISTRATION STATEMENT RELATING TO THESE SECURITIES HAS BEEN FILED WITH THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION. THESE SECURITIES MAY NOT BE SOLD NOR MAY OFFERS TO BUY BE ACCEPTED PRIOR TO THE TIME THE REGISTRATION STATEMENT BECOMES EFFECTIVE. THIS PROSPECTUS SUPPLEMENT AND THE PROSPECTUS TO WHICH IT RELATES SHALL NOT CONSTITUTE AN OFFER TO SELL OR THE SOLICITATION OF AN OFFER TO BUY NOR SHALL THERE BE ANY SALE OF THESE SECURITIES IN ANY STATE IN WHICH SUCH OFFER, SOLICITATION OR SALE WOULD BE UNLAWFUL PRIOR TO REGISTRATION OR QUALIFICATION UNDER THE SECURITIES LAWS OF ANY SUCH STATE.



PRELIMINARY PROSPECTUS DATED NOVEMBER 12, 1997
(SUBJECT TO COMPLETION)


                       MORTGAGE PASS-THROUGH CERTIFICATES
                              (ISSUABLE IN SERIES)

                      NOMURA ASSET SECURITIES CORPORATION
                                   DEPOSITOR


    The Certificates offered hereby and by Supplements to this Prospectus (the 'Offered Certificates') will be offered from time to time in series. Each series of Certificates will represent in the aggregate the entire beneficial ownership interest in a trust fund (with respect to any series, the 'Trust Fund') consisting of a segregated pool of mortgage loans secured by liens on, or security interests in, senior housing and healthcare properties (the 'Mortgage Loans,' or sometimes referred to herein as the 'Mortgage Assets'). The Trust Fund for a series of Certificates may also include letters of credit, insurance policies, guarantees, reserve funds or other types of credit support, or any combination thereof (with respect to any series, collectively, 'Credit Support'), and currency or interest rate exchange agreements and other financial assets, or any combination thereof (with respect to any series, collectively, 'Cash Flow Agreements'). See 'Description of the Trust Funds', 'Description of the Certificates' and 'Description of Credit Support'.


    Each series of Certificates will consist of one or more classes of Certificates that may (i) provide for the accrual of interest thereon based on fixed, variable or adjustable rates; (ii) be senior or subordinate to one or more other classes of Certificates in respect of certain distributions on the Certificates; (iii) be entitled to principal distributions, with disproportionately low, nominal or no interest distributions; (iv) be entitled to interest distributions, with disproportionately low, nominal or no principal distributions; (v) provide for distributions of accrued interest thereon only following the occurrence of certain events, such as the retirement of one or more other classes of Certificates of such series; or (vi) provide for distributions of principal sequentially, or based on specified payment schedules, to the extent of available funds, in each case as described in the related Prospectus Supplement. Any such classes may include classes of Offered Certificates. See 'Description of the Certificates'.

    Principal and interest with respect to Certificates will be distributable monthly, quarterly, semi-annually or at such other intervals and on the dates specified in the related Prospectus Supplement. Distributions on the Certificates of any series will be made only from the assets of the related Trust Fund.

    The Certificates of each series will not represent an obligation of or interest in the Depositor, any Master Servicer, any Special Servicer or any of their respective affiliates, except to the limited extent described herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. Only those Certificates and assets in the related Trust Fund as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement will be guaranteed or insured by any governmental agency or instrumentality or by any other person. The assets in each Trust Fund will be held in trust for the benefit of the holders of the related series of Certificates pursuant to a Pooling and Servicing Agreement or a Trust Agreement, as more fully described herein.

    The yield on each class of Certificates of a series will be affected by, among other things, the rate of payment of principal (including voluntary and involuntary prepayments) on the Mortgage Assets in the related Trust Fund and the timing of receipt of such payments as described under the caption 'Yield Considerations' herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. A Trust Fund may be subject to early termination under the circumstances described herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement.

    Prospective investors should review the information appearing under the caption 'Risk Factors' herein and such information as may be set forth under the caption 'Risk Factors' in the related Prospectus Supplement before purchasing any Offered Certificate.

    If so provided in the related Prospectus Supplement, one or more elections may be made to treat the related Trust Fund or a designated portion thereof as one or more 'real estate mortgage investment conduits' for federal income tax purposes. See also 'Federal Income Tax Consequences' herein.

    PROSPECTIVE INVESTORS SHOULD REVIEW THE DISCUSSION OF MATERIAL RISKS APPEARING UNDER THE CAPTION 'RISK FACTORS' HEREIN COMMENCING ON PAGE 11.

THESE SECURITIES HAVE NOT BEEN APPROVED OR DISAPPROVED BY THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION OR ANY STATE SECURITIES COMMISSION, NOR HAS THE SECURITIES
  AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION OR ANY STATE SECURITIES COMMISSION PASSED UPON THE
    ACCURACY OR ADEQUACY OF THIS PROSPECTUS. ANY REPRESENTATION TO THE
                       CONTRARY IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE.

    Prior to issuance there will have been no market for the Certificates of any series and there can be no assurance that a secondary market for any Offered Certificates will develop or that, if it does develop, it will continue. This Prospectus may not be used to consummate sales of a series of Offered Certificates unless accompanied by a Prospectus Supplement.

    Offers of the Offered Certificates may be made through one or more different methods, including offerings through underwriters, as more fully described under 'Method of Distribution' herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. All Offered Certificates will be distributed by, or sold by underwriters managed by:

                     NOMURA SECURITIES INTERNATIONAL, INC.
                THE DATE OF THIS PROSPECTUS IS             , 199

                                [SENIOR HOUSING/HEALTHCARE PROPERTIES VERSION]

                             SUMMARY OF PROSPECTUS

     The following summary of material information does not contain all the material information regarding the Certificates and is qualified in its entirety by reference to the more detailed information appearing elsewhere in this Prospectus and by reference to the information with respect to each series of Certificates contained in the Prospectus Supplement to be prepared and delivered in connection with the offering of such series. An Index of Principal Definitions is included at the end of this Prospectus.

TITLE OF CERTIFICATES

     Mortgage Pass-Through Certificates, issuable in series (the
'Certificates').

DEPOSITOR

     Nomura Asset Securities Corporation, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Nomura Asset Capital Corporation. See 'The Depositor'.

MASTER SERVICER

     The master servicer (the 'Master Servicer'), if any, for each series of Certificates will be named in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--Collection and Other Servicing Procedures'.

SPECIAL SERVICER

     The special servicer (the 'Special Servicer'), if any, for each series of Certificates will be named, or the circumstances in accordance with which a Special Servicer will be appointed will be described, in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--Special Servicer'.

TRUSTEE

     The trustee (the 'Trustee') for each series of Certificates will be named in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--The Trustee'.

THE TRUST ASSETS

     Each series of Certificates will represent in the aggregate the entire beneficial ownership interest in a Trust Fund consisting primarily of:

          (A) MORTGAGE ASSETS


          The Mortgage Assets with respect to each series of Certificates will consist of a pool of commercial mortgage loans (the 'Mortgage Loans'). Except to the extent described in the related Prospectus Supplement, the Mortgage Loans will not be guaranteed or insured by the Depositor or any of its affiliates or by any governmental agency or instrumentality or other person. As more specifically described herein, the Mortgage Loans will be secured by liens on, or security interests in, properties consisting of nursing homes, hospitals or other healthcare related facilities (the 'Commercial Properties,' or sometimes referred to herein as the 'Mortgaged Properties'). The Mortgaged Properties may be located in any one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia or such other locations as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement. All Mortgage Loans will have individual principal balances at origination of not less than $25,000 and original terms to maturity of not more than 40 years. All Mortgage Loans will have been originated by persons other than the Depositor, and all Mortgage Assets will have been purchased, either directly or indirectly, by the Depositor on or before the date of initial issuance of the related series of Certificates. As described herein and in the Prospectus Supplement, each Mortgage Loan may (i) provide for no accrual of interest or for accrual of interest thereon at an interest rate (a 'Mortgage Rate') that is fixed over its term or that adjusts from time to time, or that may be converted from an adjustable to a fixed Mortgage Rate, or from a fixed to an adjustable Mortgage Rate, from time to time at the mortgagor's election; (ii) provide for scheduled payments to maturity, payments that adjust from time to time in accommodate changes in the Mortgage Rate or to reflect the occurrence of certain events, and may provide negative amortization or accelerated amortization; (iii) be fully amortizing or require a balloon payment due on its stated maturity date;
     (iv) contain prohibitions on prepayment or require payment of a premium or a yield maintenance penalty in connection with a prepayment; and (v) provide for payments of principal, interest or both, on due dates that occur monthly, quarterly, semi-annually or other interval. See 'Description of the Trust Funds--Mortgage Assets'.

                                [SENIOR HOUSING/HEALTHCARE PROPERTIES VERSION]

Mortgage Loan. With respect to those Mortgage Loans that provide for recourse against the mortgagor and its assets generally, there can be no assurance that such recourse will ensure a recovery in respect of a defaulted Mortgage Loan greater than the liquidation value of the related Mortgaged Property.

     Further, the concentration of default, foreclosure and loss risks in individual mortgagors or Mortgage Loans in a particular Trust Fund or the related Mortgaged Properties will generally be greater than for pools of single-family loans both because the Mortgage Assets in a Trust Fund will generally consist of a smaller number of loans than would a single-family pool of comparable aggregate unpaid principal balance and because of the higher principal balance of individual Mortgage Loans.


SENIOR HOUSING/HEALTHCARE PROPERTIES


     Significant factors determining the value of senior housing and healthcare properties include federal and state laws, competition with similar properties on a local and regional basis and the continued availability of revenue from government reimbursement programs, primarily Medicaid and Medicare. Providers of long-term nursing care and other medical services are subject to federal and state laws that relate to the adequacy of medical care, distribution of pharmaceuticals, rate setting, equipment, personnel, operating policies and additions to facilities and services and, to the extent dependent on patients whose fees are reimbursed by private insurers, to the reimbursement policies of such insurers. In addition, facilities where such care or other medical services are provided are subject to periodic inspection by governmental authorities to determine compliance with various standards necessary for continued licensing under state law and continued participation in the Medicaid and Medicare reimbursement programs. The failure of any such borrowers to maintain or renew any required license or regulatory approval could prevent it from continuing operations at a Mortgaged Property (in which case no revenues would be received from such property or portion thereof requiring licensing) or, if applicable, bar it from participation in government reimbursement programs. Furthermore, in the event of foreclosure, there can be no assurance that the Trustee (or Master Servicer or Special Servicer) or purchaser in a foreclosure sale would be entitled to the rights under such licenses and such party may have to apply in its own right for such a license. There can be no assurance that a new license could be obtained.

     Under applicable federal and state laws and regulations, Medicare and Medicaid, only the provider who actually furnished the related medical goods and services generally may sue for or enforce its rights to reimbursement. Accordingly, in the event of foreclosure, none of the Trustee, the Master Servicer, the Special Servicer or a subsequent lessee or operator of the property would generally be entitled to obtain from federal or state governments any outstanding reimbursement payments relating to services furnished at the respective properties prior to such foreclosure.

     The operators of such nursing homes are likely to compete on a local and regional basis with others that operate similar facilities, some of which competitors may be better capitalized, may offer services not offered by such operators or may be owned by non-profit organizations or government agencies supported by endowments, charitable contributions, tax revenues and other sources not available to such operators. The successful operation of a Mortgaged Property that is a nursing home will generally depend upon the number of competing facilities in the local market, as well as upon other factors such as its age, appearance, reputation and management, the types of services it provides and the quality of care and the cost of that care.

     Nursing home facilities may receive a substantial portion of their revenues from government reimbursement programs, primarily Medicaid and Medicare. Medicaid and Medicare are subject to statutory and regulatory changes, retroactive rate adjustments, administrative rulings, policy interpretations, delays by fiscal intermediaries and government funding restrictions. Moreover, government payors have employed cost-containment measures that limit payments to health care providers, and there are currently under construction various proposals for national health care reform that could further limit those payments. Accordingly, there can be no assurance that payments under government reimbursement programs will, in the future, be sufficient to fully reimburse the cost of caring for program beneficiaries. If not, net operating income of the Mortgaged Properties that receive revenues from those sources, and consequently the ability of the related borrowers to meet their Mortgage Loan obligations, could be adversely affected.

BALLOON PAYMENTS

     Certain of the Mortgage Loans as of the Cut-off Date may not be fully amortizing over their terms to maturity and, thus, will require substantial principal payments (i.e., balloon payments) at their stated maturity. Mortgage Loans with balloon payments involve a greater degree of risk because the ability of a mortgagor to make a balloon payment typically will depend upon its ability either to timely refinance the loan or to timely sell the related Mortgaged Property. The ability of a mortgagor to accomplish either of these goals will be affected by a number of factors, including the level of available mortgage rates at the time of sale or refinancing, the mortgagor's equity in the related Mortgaged Property, the financial condition and operating history of the

                         DESCRIPTION OF THE TRUST FUNDS

MORTGAGE ASSETS


     The primary assets of each Trust Fund (the 'Mortgage Assets') will include mortgage loans secured by liens on, or security interests in, senior housing and healthcare properties (the 'Mortgage Loans'). The Mortgage Assets will not be guaranteed or insured by the Depositor or any of its affiliates. The Prospectus Supplement will describe any guarantee or insurance relating to the Mortgage Assets by any governmental agency or instrumentality or by any other person. Each Mortgage Asset will be selected by the Depositor for inclusion in a Trust Fund from among those purchased, either directly or indirectly, from a prior holder thereof (a 'Mortgage Asset Seller'), which prior holder may or may not be the originator of such Mortgage Loan and may be an affiliate of the Depositor.


MORTGAGE LOANS


     The Mortgage Loans will be secured by liens on, or security interests in, Mortgaged Properties consisting of nursing homes, hospitals or other health care-related facilities (sometimes referred to herein as 'Commercial Properties' and the related loans, 'Commercial Loans') located in any one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia or such other locations as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement. The Mortgage Loans will be secured by mortgages or deeds of trust or other similar security instruments creating a first or more junior lien on Mortgaged Properties. The Mortgaged Properties may include leasehold interest in properties, the title to which is held by third party lessors. The term of any such leasehold will exceed the term of the mortgage note by at least ten years. Each Mortgage Loan will have been originated by a person (the 'Originator') other than the Depositor. The Mortgage Loans will be evidenced by promissory notes (the 'Mortgage Notes') secured by mortgages or deeds of trust (the 'Mortgages') creating a lien on the Mortgaged Properties. Mortgage Loans will generally also be secured by an assignment of leases and rents and/or operating or other cash flow guarantees relating to the Mortgage Loan.


DEFAULT AND LOSS CONSIDERATIONS WITH RESPECT TO THE MORTGAGE LOANS

     Mortgage Loans secured by commercial and multifamily properties are markedly different from owner-occupied single-family home mortgage loans. The repayment of loans secured by commercial or multifamily properties is typically dependent upon the successful operation of such property rather than upon the liquidation value of the real estate. The Mortgage Loans will be non-recourse loans, which means that, absent special facts, the mortgagee may look only to the Net Operating Income from the property for repayment of the mortgage debt, and not to any other of the mortgagor's assets, in the event of the mortgagor's default. Lenders typically look to the Debt Service Coverage Ratio of a loan secured by income-producing property as an important measure of the risk of default on such a loan. The 'Debt Service Coverage Ratio' of a Mortgage Loan at any given time is the ratio of the Net Operating Income for a twelve-month period to the annualized scheduled payments on the Mortgage Loan. 'Net Operating Income' is typically defined as total operating revenues (including primarily rental income and any expense reimbursement, ancillary income, late charges and deposit forfeitures) minus total operating expenses (including primarily expenses for advertising, general administration, management fees and disbursements, utilities, repairs and maintenance, insurance, real estate taxes and replacement reserves based solely on the mortgagor's estimates of the useful lives of various assets). Net Operating Income does not reflect capital expenditures or partnership expenses. The Net Operating Income of a Mortgaged Property will fluctuate over time and may be sufficient or insufficient to cover debt service on the related Mortgage Loan at any given time.

     As the primary component of Net Operating Income, rental income (and maintenance payments from tenant-stockholders of a Cooperative) is subject to the vagaries of the applicable real estate market and/or business climate. Properties typically leased, occupied or used on a short-term basis, such as health care-related facilities, hotels and motels, and mini-warehouse and self-storage facilities, tend to be affected more rapidly by changes in market or business conditions than do properties leased, occupied or used for longer periods, such as (typically) warehouses, retail stores, office buildings and industrial plants. Commercial Loans may be secured by owner-occupied Mortgaged Properties or Mortgaged Properties leased to a single tenant. Accordingly, a decline in the financial condition of the mortgagor or single tenant, as applicable, may have a disproportionately greater effect on the Net Operating Income from such Mortgaged Properties than would be the case with respect to Mortgaged Properties with multiple tenants.


     Changes in the expense components of Net Operating Income due to the general economic climate or economic conditions in a locality or industry segment, such as increases in interest rates, real estate and personal property tax rates and other operating expenses including energy costs; changes in governmental rules, regulations and fiscal policies, including environmental legislation; and acts of God may also affect the risk of default on the related Mortgage Loan. As may be further described in the related Prospectus Supplement, in some cases leases of Mortgaged Properties may provide that the lessee, rather than the

                         MULTIFAMILY PROPERTIES VERSION



The following are alternate pages to the base prospectus for a form of base prospectus for a series of commerical mortgage pass-through certificates backed by loans secured by multifamily properties. Disclosure made on the following alternate pages will be included in the base prospectus for each series of Certificates backed by loans containing a material concentration of Mortgage Loans secured by multifamily properties.

                                                [MULTIFAMILY PROPERTIES VERSION]

INFORMATION CONTAINED HEREIN IS SUBJECT TO COMPLETION OR AMENDMENT. A REGISTRATION STATEMENT RELATING TO THESE SECURITIES HAS BEEN FILED WITH THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION. THESE SECURITIES MAY NOT BE SOLD NOR MAY OFFERS TO BUY BE ACCEPTED PRIOR TO THE TIME THE REGISTRATION STATEMENT BECOMES EFFECTIVE. THIS PROSPECTUS SUPPLEMENT AND THE PROSPECTUS TO WHICH IT RELATES SHALL NOT CONSTITUTE AN OFFER TO SELL OR THE SOLICITATION OF AN OFFER TO BUY NOR SHALL THERE BE ANY SALE OF THESE SECURITIES IN ANY STATE IN WHICH SUCH OFFER, SOLICITATION OR SALE WOULD BE UNLAWFUL PRIOR TO REGISTRATION OR QUALIFICATION UNDER THE SECURITIES LAWS OF ANY SUCH STATE.


PRELIMINARY PROSPECTUS DATED NOVEMBER 12, 1997
(SUBJECT TO COMPLETION)


                       MORTGAGE PASS-THROUGH CERTIFICATES
                              (ISSUABLE IN SERIES)
                      NOMURA ASSET SECURITIES CORPORATION
                                   DEPOSITOR


    The Certificates offered hereby and by Supplements to this Prospectus (the 'Offered Certificates') will be offered from time to time in series. Each series of Certificates will represent in the aggregate the entire beneficial ownership interest in a trust fund (with respect to any series, the 'Trust Fund') consisting of a segregated pool of multifamily mortgage loans (the 'Mortgage Loans,' or sometimes referred to herein as the 'Mortgage Assets'). The Trust Fund for a series of Certificates may also include letters of credit, insurance policies, guarantees, reserve funds or other types of credit support, or any combination thereof (with respect to any series, collectively, 'Credit Support'), and currency or interest rate exchange agreements and other financial assets, or any combination thereof (with respect to any series, collectively, 'Cash Flow Agreements'). See 'Description of the Trust Funds', 'Description of the Certificates' and 'Description of Credit Support'.


    Each series of Certificates will consist of one or more classes of Certificates that may (i) provide for the accrual of interest thereon based on fixed, variable or adjustable rates; (ii) be senior or subordinate to one or more other classes of Certificates in respect of certain distributions on the Certificates; (iii) be entitled to principal distributions, with disproportionately low, nominal or no interest distributions; (iv) be entitled to interest distributions, with disproportionately low, nominal or no principal distributions; (v) provide for distributions of accrued interest thereon only following the occurrence of certain events, such as the retirement of one or more other classes of Certificates of such series; or (vi) provide for distributions of principal sequentially, or based on specified payment schedules, to the extent of available funds, in each case as described in the related Prospectus Supplement. Any such classes may include classes of Offered Certificates. See 'Description of the Certificates'.

    Principal and interest with respect to Certificates will be distributable monthly, quarterly, semi-annually or at such other intervals and on the dates specified in the related Prospectus Supplement. Distributions on the Certificates of any series will be made only from the assets of the related Trust Fund.

    The Certificates of each series will not represent an obligation of or interest in the Depositor, any Master Servicer, any Special Servicer or any of their respective affiliates, except to the limited extent described herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. Only those Certificates and assets in the related Trust Fund as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement will be guaranteed or insured by any governmental agency or instrumentality or by any other person. The assets in each Trust Fund will be held in trust for the benefit of the holders of the related series of Certificates pursuant to a Pooling and Servicing Agreement or a Trust Agreement, as more fully described herein.

    The yield on each class of Certificates of a series will be affected by, among other things, the rate of payment of principal (including voluntary and involuntary prepayments) on the Mortgage Assets in the related Trust Fund and the timing of receipt of such payments as described under the caption 'Yield Considerations' herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. A Trust Fund may be subject to early termination under the circumstances described herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement.

    Prospective investors should review the information appearing under the caption 'Risk Factors' herein and such information as may be set forth under the caption 'Risk Factors' in the related Prospectus Supplement before purchasing any Offered Certificate.

    If so provided in the related Prospectus Supplement, one or more elections may be made to treat the related Trust Fund or a designated portion thereof as one or more 'real estate mortgage investment conduits' for federal income tax purposes. See also 'Federal Income Tax Consequences' herein.

    PROSPECTIVE INVESTORS SHOULD REVIEW THE DISCUSSION OF MATERIAL RISKS APPEARING UNDER THE CAPTION 'RISK FACTORS' HEREIN COMMENCING ON PAGE 11.

THESE SECURITIES HAVE NOT BEEN APPROVED OR DISAPPROVED BY THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION OR ANY STATE SECURITIES COMMISSION, NOR HAS THE SECURITIES
  AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION OR ANY STATE SECURITIES COMMISSION PASSED UPON THE
    ACCURACY OR ADEQUACY OF THIS PROSPECTUS. ANY REPRESENTATION TO THE
                       CONTRARY IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE.

    Prior to issuance there will have been no market for the Certificates of any series and there can be no assurance that a secondary market for any Offered Certificates will develop or that, if it does develop, it will continue. This Prospectus may not be used to consummate sales of a series of Offered Certificates unless accompanied by a Prospectus Supplement.

    Offers of the Offered Certificates may be made through one or more different methods, including offerings through underwriters, as more fully described under 'Method of Distribution' herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. All Offered Certificates will be distributed by, or sold by underwriters managed by:

                     NOMURA SECURITIES INTERNATIONAL, INC.
                THE DATE OF THIS PROSPECTUS IS             , 199

                                                [MULTIFAMILY PROPERTIES VERSION]

                             SUMMARY OF PROSPECTUS

     The following summary of material information does not contain all the material information regarding the Certificates and is qualified in its entirety by reference to the more detailed information appearing elsewhere in this Prospectus and by reference to the information with respect to each series of Certificates contained in the Prospectus Supplement to be prepared and delivered in connection with the offering of such series. An Index of Principal Definitions is included at the end of this Prospectus.

TITLE OF CERTIFICATES

     Mortgage Pass-Through Certificates, issuable in series (the
'Certificates').

DEPOSITOR

     Nomura Asset Securities Corporation, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Nomura Asset Capital Corporation. See 'The Depositor'.

MASTER SERVICER

     The master servicer (the 'Master Servicer'), if any, for each series of Certificates will be named in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--Collection and Other Servicing Procedures'.

SPECIAL SERVICER

     The special servicer (the 'Special Servicer'), if any, for each series of Certificates will be named, or the circumstances in accordance with which a Special Servicer will be appointed will be described, in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--Special Servicer'.

TRUSTEE

     The trustee (the 'Trustee') for each series of Certificates will be named in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--The Trustee'.

THE TRUST ASSETS

     Each series of Certificates will represent in the aggregate the entire beneficial ownership interest in a Trust Fund consisting primarily of:

          (A) MORTGAGE ASSETS


          The Mortgage Assets with respect to each series of Certificates will consist of a pool of multifamily mortgage loans (the 'Mortgage Loans'). Except to the extent described in the related Prospectus Supplement, the Mortgage Loans will not be guaranteed or insured by the Depositor or any of its affiliates or by any governmental agency or instrumentality or other person. As more specifically described herein, the Mortgage Loans will be secured by liens on, or security interests in, properties consisting of residential properties consisting of five or more rental or cooperatively-owned dwelling units (the 'Multifamily Properties, ' or sometimes referred herein to as the 'Mortgaged Properties'). The Mortgaged Properties may be located in any one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia or such other locations as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement. All Mortgage Loans will have individual principal balances at origination of not less than $25,000 and original terms to maturity of not more than 40 years. All Mortgage Loans will have been originated by persons other than the Depositor, and all Mortgage Assets will have been purchased, either directly or indirectly, by the Depositor on or before the date of initial issuance of the related series of Certificates. As described herein and in the Prospectus Supplement, each Mortgage Loan may (i) provide for no accrual of interest or for accrual of interest thereon at an interest rate (a 'Mortgage Rate') that is fixed over its term or that adjusts from time to time, or that may be converted from an adjustable to a fixed Mortgage Rate, or from a fixed to an adjustable Mortgage Rate, from time to time at the mortgagor's election; (ii) provide for scheduled payments to maturity, payments that adjust from time to time in accommodate changes in the Mortgage Rate or to reflect the occurrence of certain events, and may provide negative amortization or accelerated amortization; (iii) be fully amortizing or require a balloon payment due on its stated maturity date;
     (iv) contain prohibitions on prepayment or require payment of a premium or a yield maintenance penalty in connection with a prepayment; and (v) provide for payments of

                                                [MULTIFAMILY PROPERTIES VERSION]

Mortgage Loan. With respect to those Mortgage Loans that provide for recourse against the mortgagor and its assets generally, there can be no assurance that such recourse will ensure a recovery in respect of a defaulted Mortgage Loan greater than the liquidation value of the related Mortgaged Property.

     Further, the concentration of default, foreclosure and loss risks in individual mortgagors or Mortgage Loans in a particular Trust Fund or the related Mortgaged Properties will generally be greater than for pools of single-family loans both because the Mortgage Assets in a Trust Fund will generally consist of a smaller number of loans than would a single-family pool of comparable aggregate unpaid principal balance and because of the higher principal balance of individual Mortgage Loans.


MULTIFAMILY PROPERTIES



     Significant factors determining the value and successful operation of a multifamily property are the location of the property, the number of competing residential developments in the local market (such as apartment buildings, manufactured housing communities and site-built single family homes), the physical attributes of the multifamily apartment building (such as its age and appearance) and state and local regulations affecting such property. In addition, the successful operation of an apartment building will depend upon other factors, such as its reputation, the ability of management to provide adequate maintenance and insurance, and the types of services it provides.



     Certain states regulate the relationship of an owner and its tenants. Commonly, these laws require a written lease, good cause for eviction, disclosure of fees, and notification to residents of changed land use, while prohibiting unreasonable rules, retaliatory evictions, and restrictions on a resident's choice of unit vendors. Apartment building owners have been the subject of suits under state 'Unfair and Deceptive Practices Acts' and other general consumer protection statutes for coercive, abusive or unconscionable leasing and sales practices. A few states offer more significant protection. For example, there are provisions that limit the basis on which a landlord may terminate a tenancy or increase its rent or prohibit a landlord from terminating a tenancy solely by reason of the sale of the owner's building.



     In addition to state regulation of the landlord-tenant relationship, numerous counties and municipalities impose rent control on apartment buildings. These ordinances may limit rent increases to fixed percentages, to percentages of increases in the consumer price index, to increases set or approved by a governmental agency, or to increases determined through mediation or binding arbitration. In many cases, the rent control laws do not permit vacancy decontrol. Local authority to impose rent control is pre-empted by state law in certain states, and rent control is not imposed at the state level in those states. In some states, however, local rent control ordinances are not pre-empted for tenants having short-term or month-to-month leases, and properties there may be subject to various forms of rent control with respect to those tenants. Any limitations on a borrower's ability to raise property rents may impair such borrower's ability to repay its Mortgage Loan from its net operating income or the proceeds of a sale or refinancing of the related Mortgaged Property.



     Adverse economic conditions, either local or national, may limit the amount of rent that can be charged and may result in a reduction in timely rent payments or a reduction in occupancy levels. Occupancy and rent levels may also be affected by construction of additional housing units, local military base or factory closings and national and local politics, including current or future rent stabilization and rent control laws and agreements. In addition, the level of mortgage interest rates may encourage tenants to purchase single-family housing. The housing and construction quality of a particular building may affect the occupancy level as well as the rents that may be charged for individual units. The characteristics of a neighborhood may change over time or in relation to newer developments.


BALLOON PAYMENTS

     Certain of the Mortgage Loans as of the Cut-off Date may not be fully amortizing over their terms to maturity and, thus, will require substantial principal payments (i.e., balloon payments) at their stated maturity. Mortgage Loans with balloon payments involve a greater degree of risk because the ability of a mortgagor to make a balloon payment typically will depend upon its ability either to timely refinance the loan or to timely sell the related Mortgaged Property. The ability of a mortgagor to accomplish either of these goals will be affected by a number of factors, including the level of available mortgage rates at the time of sale or refinancing, the mortgagor's equity in the related Mortgaged Property, the financial condition and operating history of the mortgagor and the related Mortgaged Property, tax laws, rent control laws (with respect to certain Multifamily Properties and mobile home parks), reimbursement rates (with respect to certain hospitals, nursing homes and convalescent homes), renewability of operating licenses, prevailing general economic conditions and the availability of credit for commercial or multifamily, as the case may be, real properties generally.

                                                [MULTIFAMILY PROPERTIES VERSION]

                         DESCRIPTION OF THE TRUST FUNDS

MORTGAGE ASSETS


     The primary assets of each Trust Fund (the 'Mortgage Assets') will include mortgage loans secured by liens on, or security interests in, multifamily residential properties. The Mortgage Assets will not be guaranteed or insured by the Depositor or any of its affiliates. The Prospectus Supplement will describe any guarantee or insurance relating to the Mortgage Assets by any governmental agency or instrumentality or by any other person. Each Mortgage Asset will be selected by the Depositor for inclusion in a Trust Fund from among those purchased, either directly or indirectly, from a prior holder thereof (a 'Mortgage Asset Seller'), which prior holder may or may not be the originator of such Mortgage Loan and may be an affiliate of the Depositor.


MORTGAGE LOANS


     The Mortgage Loans will be secured by liens on, or security interests in, Mortgaged Properties consisting of residential properties consisting of five or more rental or cooperatively-owned dwelling units in high-rise, mid-rise or garden apartment buildings ('Multifamily Properties' and the related loans, 'Multifamily Loans') located in any one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia or such other locations as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement. The Mortgage Loans will be secured by mortgages or deeds of trust or other similar security instruments creating a first or more junior lien on Mortgaged Properties. Multifamily Properties may include mixed commercial and residential structures and may include apartment buildings owned by private cooperative housing corporations ('Cooperatives'). The Mortgaged Properties may include leasehold interest in properties, the title to which is held by third party lessors. The term of any such leasehold will exceed the term of the mortgage note by at least ten years. Each Mortgage Loan will have been originated by a person (the 'Originator') other than the Depositor. The Mortgage Loans will be evidenced by promissory notes (the 'Mortgage Notes') secured by mortgages or deeds of trust (the 'Mortgages') creating a lien on the Mortgaged Properties. Mortgage Loans will generally also be secured by an assignment of leases and rents and/or operating or other cash flow guarantees relating to the Mortgage Loan.


DEFAULT AND LOSS CONSIDERATIONS WITH RESPECT TO THE MORTGAGE LOANS

     Mortgage Loans secured by commercial and multifamily properties are markedly different from owner-occupied single-family home mortgage loans. The repayment of loans secured by commercial or multifamily properties is typically dependent upon the successful operation of such property rather than upon the liquidation value of the real estate. The Mortgage Loans will be non-recourse loans, which means that, absent special facts, the mortgagee may look only to the Net Operating Income from the property for repayment of the mortgage debt, and not to any other of the mortgagor's assets, in the event of the mortgagor's default. Lenders typically look to the Debt Service Coverage Ratio of a loan secured by income-producing property as an important measure of the risk of default on such a loan. The 'Debt Service Coverage Ratio' of a Mortgage Loan at any given time is the ratio of the Net Operating Income for a twelve-month period to the annualized scheduled payments on the Mortgage Loan. 'Net Operating Income' is typically defined as total operating revenues (including primarily rental income and any expense reimbursement, ancillary income, late charges and deposit forfeitures) minus total operating expenses (including primarily expenses for advertising, general administration, management fees and disbursements, utilities, repairs and maintenance, insurance, real estate taxes and replacement reserves based solely on the mortgagor's estimates of the useful lives of various assets). Net Operating Income does not reflect capital expenditures or partnership expenses. The Net Operating Income of a Mortgaged Property will fluctuate over time and may be sufficient or insufficient to cover debt service on the related Mortgage Loan at any given time.

     As the primary component of Net Operating Income, rental income (and maintenance payments from tenant-stockholders of a Cooperative) is subject to the vagaries of the applicable real estate market and/or business climate. Properties typically leased, occupied or used on a short-term basis, such as health care-related facilities, hotels and motels, and mini-warehouse and self-storage facilities, tend to be affected more rapidly by changes in market or business conditions than do properties leased, occupied or used for longer periods, such as (typically) warehouses, retail stores, office buildings and industrial plants. Commercial Loans may be secured by owner-occupied Mortgaged Properties or Mortgaged Properties leased to a single tenant. Accordingly, a decline in the financial condition of the mortgagor or single tenant, as applicable, may have a disproportionately greater effect on the Net Operating Income from such Mortgaged Properties than would be the case with respect to Mortgaged Properties with multiple tenants.

     Changes in the expense components of Net Operating Income due to the general economic climate or economic conditions in a locality or industry segment, such as increases in interest rates, real estate and personal property tax rates and other operating expenses including energy costs; changes in governmental rules, regulations and fiscal policies, including environmental legislation; and acts of God may also affect the risk of default on the related Mortgage Loan. As may be further described in the

                      MOBILE HOME PARK PROPERTIES VERSION



The following are alternate pages to the base prospectus for a form of base prospectus for a series of commercial pass-through certificates backed by loans secured by mobile home park properties. Disclosure made on the following alternate pages will be included in the base prospectus for each series of Certificates backed by loans containing a material concentration of Mortgage Loans secured by mobile home park properties.

                                          [MOBILE HOME PARKS VERSION]

INFORMATION CONTAINED HEREIN IS SUBJECT TO COMPLETION OR AMENDMENT. A REGISTRATION STATEMENT RELATING TO THESE SECURITIES HAS BEEN FILED WITH THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION. THESE SECURITIES MAY NOT BE SOLD NOR MAY OFFERS TO BUY BE ACCEPTED PRIOR TO THE TIME THE REGISTRATION STATEMENT BECOMES EFFECTIVE. THIS PROSPECTUS SUPPLEMENT AND THE PROSPECTUS TO WHICH IT RELATES SHALL NOT CONSTITUTE AN OFFER TO SELL OR THE SOLICITATION OF AN OFFER TO BUY NOR SHALL THERE BE ANY SALE OF THESE SECURITIES IN ANY STATE IN WHICH SUCH OFFER, SOLICITATION OR SALE WOULD BE UNLAWFUL PRIOR TO REGISTRATION OR QUALIFICATION UNDER THE SECURITIES LAWS OF ANY SUCH STATE.


PRELIMINARY PROSPECTUS DATED NOVEMBER 12, 1997
(SUBJECT TO COMPLETION)


                       MORTGAGE PASS-THROUGH CERTIFICATES
                              (ISSUABLE IN SERIES)
                      NOMURA ASSET SECURITIES CORPORATION
                                   DEPOSITOR


    The Certificates offered hereby and by Supplements to this Prospectus (the 'Offered Certificates') will be offered from time to time in series. Each series of Certificates will represent in the aggregate the entire beneficial ownership interest in a trust fund (with respect to any series, the 'Trust Fund') consisting of a segregated pool of mortgage loans secured by liens on, or security interests in, mobile home park properties (the 'Mortgage Loans,' or sometimes referred to herein as the 'Mortgage Assets'). The Trust Fund for a series of Certificates may also include letters of credit, insurance policies, guarantees, reserve funds or other types of credit support, or any combination thereof (with respect to any series, collectively, 'Credit Support'), and currency or interest rate exchange agreements and other financial assets, or any combination thereof (with respect to any series, collectively, 'Cash Flow Agreements'). See 'Description of the Trust Funds', 'Description of the Certificates' and 'Description of Credit Support'.


    Each series of Certificates will consist of one or more classes of Certificates that may (i) provide for the accrual of interest thereon based on fixed, variable or adjustable rates; (ii) be senior or subordinate to one or more other classes of Certificates in respect of certain distributions on the Certificates; (iii) be entitled to principal distributions, with disproportionately low, nominal or no interest distributions; (iv) be entitled to interest distributions, with disproportionately low, nominal or no principal distributions; (v) provide for distributions of accrued interest thereon only following the occurrence of certain events, such as the retirement of one or more other classes of Certificates of such series; or (vi) provide for distributions of principal sequentially, or based on specified payment schedules, to the extent of available funds, in each case as described in the related Prospectus Supplement. Any such classes may include classes of Offered Certificates. See 'Description of the Certificates'.

    Principal and interest with respect to Certificates will be distributable monthly, quarterly, semi-annually or at such other intervals and on the dates specified in the related Prospectus Supplement. Distributions on the Certificates of any series will be made only from the assets of the related Trust Fund.

    The Certificates of each series will not represent an obligation of or interest in the Depositor, any Master Servicer, any Special Servicer or any of their respective affiliates, except to the limited extent described herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. Only those Certificates and assets in the related Trust Fund as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement will be guaranteed or insured by any governmental agency or instrumentality or by any other person. The assets in each Trust Fund will be held in trust for the benefit of the holders of the related series of Certificates pursuant to a Pooling and Servicing Agreement or a Trust Agreement, as more fully described herein.

    The yield on each class of Certificates of a series will be affected by, among other things, the rate of payment of principal (including voluntary and involuntary prepayments) on the Mortgage Assets in the related Trust Fund and the timing of receipt of such payments as described under the caption 'Yield Considerations' herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. A Trust Fund may be subject to early termination under the circumstances described herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement.

    Prospective investors should review the information appearing under the caption 'Risk Factors' herein and such information as may be set forth under the caption 'Risk Factors' in the related Prospectus Supplement before purchasing any Offered Certificate.

    If so provided in the related Prospectus Supplement, one or more elections may be made to treat the related Trust Fund or a designated portion thereof as one or more 'real estate mortgage investment conduits' for federal income tax purposes. See also 'Federal Income Tax Consequences' herein.

    PROSPECTIVE INVESTORS SHOULD REVIEW THE DISCUSSION OF MATERIAL RISKS APPEARING UNDER THE CAPTION 'RISK FACTORS' HEREIN COMMENCING ON PAGE 11.

THESE SECURITIES HAVE NOT BEEN APPROVED OR DISAPPROVED BY THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION OR ANY STATE SECURITIES COMMISSION, NOR HAS THE SECURITIES
  AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION OR ANY STATE SECURITIES COMMISSION PASSED UPON THE
    ACCURACY OR ADEQUACY OF THIS PROSPECTUS. ANY REPRESENTATION TO THE
                       CONTRARY IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE.

    Prior to issuance there will have been no market for the Certificates of any series and there can be no assurance that a secondary market for any Offered Certificates will develop or that, if it does develop, it will continue. This Prospectus may not be used to consummate sales of a series of Offered Certificates unless accompanied by a Prospectus Supplement.

    Offers of the Offered Certificates may be made through one or more different methods, including offerings through underwriters, as more fully described under 'Method of Distribution' herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. All Offered Certificates will be distributed by, or sold by underwriters managed by:

                     NOMURA SECURITIES INTERNATIONAL, INC.
                THE DATE OF THIS PROSPECTUS IS             , 199

                                          [MOBILE HOME PARKS VERSION]

                             SUMMARY OF PROSPECTUS

     The following summary of material information does not contain all the material information regarding the Certificates and is qualified in its entirety by reference to the more detailed information appearing elsewhere in this Prospectus and by reference to the information with respect to each series of Certificates contained in the Prospectus Supplement to be prepared and delivered in connection with the offering of such series. An Index of Principal Definitions is included at the end of this Prospectus.

TITLE OF CERTIFICATES

     Mortgage Pass-Through Certificates, issuable in series (the
'Certificates').

DEPOSITOR

     Nomura Asset Securities Corporation, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Nomura Asset Capital Corporation. See 'The Depositor'.

MASTER SERVICER

     The master servicer (the 'Master Servicer'), if any, for each series of Certificates will be named in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--Collection and Other Servicing Procedures'.

SPECIAL SERVICER

     The special servicer (the 'Special Servicer'), if any, for each series of Certificates will be named, or the circumstances in accordance with which a Special Servicer will be appointed will be described, in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--Special Servicer'.

TRUSTEE

     The trustee (the 'Trustee') for each series of Certificates will be named in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--The Trustee'.

THE TRUST ASSETS

     Each series of Certificates will represent in the aggregate the entire beneficial ownership interest in a Trust Fund consisting primarily of:

          (A) MORTGAGE ASSETS


          The Mortgage Assets with respect to each series of Certificates will consist of a pool of commercial mortgage loans (the 'Mortgage Loans'). Except to the extent described in the related Prospectus Supplement, the Mortgage Loans will not be guaranteed or insured by the Depositor or any of its affiliates or by any governmental agency or instrumentality or other person. As more specifically described herein, the Mortgage Loans will be secured by liens on, or security interests in, properties consisting of mobile home parks (the 'Commercial Properties', or sometimes referred to herein as the 'Mortgaged Properties'). The Mortgaged Properties may be located in any one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia or such other locations as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement. All Mortgage Loans will have individual principal balances at origination of not less than $25,000 and original terms to maturity of not more than 40 years. All Mortgage Loans will have been originated by persons other than the Depositor, and all Mortgage Assets will have been purchased, either directly or indirectly, by the Depositor on or before the date of initial issuance of the related series of Certificates. As described herein and in the Prospectus Supplement, each Mortgage Loan may (i) provide for no accrual of interest or for accrual of interest thereon at an interest rate (a 'Mortgage Rate') that is fixed over its term or that adjusts from time to time, or that may be converted from an adjustable to a fixed Mortgage Rate, or from a fixed to an adjustable Mortgage Rate, from time to time at the mortgagor's election; (ii) provide for scheduled payments to maturity, payments that adjust from time to time in accommodate changes in the Mortgage Rate or to reflect the occurrence of certain events, and may provide negative amortization or accelerated amortization; (iii) be fully amortizing or require a balloon payment due on its stated maturity date;
     (iv) contain prohibitions on prepayment or require payment of a premium or a yield maintenance penalty in connection with a prepayment; and (v) provide for payments of principal, interest or both, on due dates that occur monthly, quarterly, semi-annually or other interval. See 'Description of the Trust Funds--Mortgage Assets'.

                                          [MOBILE HOME PARKS VERSION]


Mortgage Loan. With respect to those Mortgage Loans that provide for recourse against the mortgagor and its assets generally, there can be no assurance that such recourse will ensure a recovery in respect of a defaulted Mortgage Loan greater than the liquidation value of the related Mortgaged Property.


     Further, the concentration of default, foreclosure and loss risks in individual mortgagors or Mortgage Loans in a particular Trust Fund or the related Mortgaged Properties will generally be greater than for pools of single-family loans both because the Mortgage Assets in a Trust Fund will generally consist of a smaller number of loans than would a single-family pool of comparable aggregate unpaid principal balance and because of the higher principal balance of individual Mortgage Loans.


MOBILE HOME PARK PROPERTIES



     Loans secured by liens on mobile home park properties pose risks not associated with loans secured by liens on other types of income-producing real estate.



     The successful operation of a mobile home park property will generally depend upon the number of competing mobile home park communities and other residential developments in the local market, such as apartment buildings, other mobile home park communities, and site-built single family homes, as well as upon other factors such as its location, age, appearance, reputation, the ability of management to provide adequate maintenance and insurance, and the types of services it provides.



     Mobile home park properties are 'special purpose' properties that could not be readily converted to general residential, retail or office use. Thus, if the operation of any of the mobile home park properties becomes unprofitable due to competition, age of the improvements or other factors such that the borrower becomes unable to meet its obligations on the related Mortgage Loan, the liquidation value of that mobile home park property may be substantially less, relative to the amount owing on the related Mortgage Loan, than would be the case if the mobile home park property were readily adaptable to other uses.



     Certain states regulate the relationship of a mobile home park community owner and its tenants. Commonly, these laws require a written lease, good cause for eviction, disclosure of fees, and notification to residents of changed land use, while prohibiting unreasonable rules, retaliatory evictions, and restrictions on a resident's choice of unit vendors. For example, there are provisions that limit the basis on which a landlord may terminate a mobile home owner's tenancy or increase its rent and generally prohibit a landlord from terminating a tenancy solely by reason of the sale of the owner's mobile home.



     In addition to state regulation of the landlord tenant relationship, numerous counties and municipalities impose rent control on mobile home park communities. These ordinances may limit rent increases to fixed percentages, to percentages of increases in the consumer price index, to increases set or approved by a governmental agency, or to increases deteremined through mediation or binding arbitration. In many cases, the rent control laws do not permit vacancy decontrol, or permit vacancy decontrol only in the relatively rare event that the mobile home is removed from the mobile home park. Local authority to impose rent control on mobile home park communities is preempted by state law in certain states and rent control is not imposed at the state level in those states. In some states, however, local rent control ordinances are not preempted for tenants having short-term or month-to-month leases, and the Mortgaged Properties in such states may be subject to various forms of rent control with respect to those tenants. Any limitations on the Mortgaged Borrowers' ability to raise property rents may impair their ability to repay the related Mortgage Loan from their net operating income or the proceeds of a sale or refinancing of the related Mortgaged Properties.



     The location and construction quality of common area improvements to a mobile home park housing community may affect the occupancy level as well as the rents that may be charged for the individual mobile home parks. The characteristics of a mobile home park community may change over time or in relation to other developments. The effects of poor construction quality on common area improvements will increase over time in the form of increased maintenance and capital improvements. Even good construction will deteriorate over time if the property manager does not schedule and perform adequate maintenance in a timely fashion.


BALLOON PAYMENTS

     Certain of the Mortgage Loans as of the Cut-off Date may not be fully amortizing over their terms to maturity and, thus, will require substantial principal payments (i.e., balloon payments) at their stated maturity. Mortgage Loans with balloon payments involve a greater degree of risk because the ability of a mortgagor to make a balloon payment typically will depend upon its ability either to timely refinance the loan or to timely sell the related Mortgaged Property. The ability of a mortgagor to accomplish either of these goals will be affected by a number of factors, including the level of available mortgage rates at the time of sale or refinancing, the mortgagor's equity in the related Mortgaged Property, the financial condition and operating history of the mortgagor and the related Mortgaged Property, tax laws, rent control laws (with respect to certain Multifamily Properties and

                                          [MOBILE HOME PARKS VERSION]

                         DESCRIPTION OF THE TRUST FUNDS

MORTGAGE ASSETS


     The primary assets of each Trust Fund (the 'Mortgage Assets') will include mortgage loans secured by liens on, or security interests in, mobile home park properties (the 'Mortgage Loans'). The Mortgage Assets will not be guaranteed or insured by the Depositor or any of its affiliates. The Prospectus Supplement will describe any guarantee or insurance relating to the Mortgage Assets by any governmental agency or instrumentality or by any other person. Each Mortgage Asset will be selected by the Depositor for inclusion in a Trust Fund from among those purchased, either directly or indirectly, from a prior holder thereof (a 'Mortgage Asset Seller'), which prior holder may or may not be the originator of such Mortgage Loan or the issuer of such MBS and may be an affiliate of the Depositor.


MORTGAGE LOANS


     The Mortgage Loans will be secured by liens on, or security interests in, Mortgaged Properties consisting of mobile home parks located in any one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia or such other locations as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement. The Mortgage Loans will be secured by mortgages or deeds of trust or other similar security instruments creating a first or more junior lien on Mortgaged Properties. The Mortgaged Properties may include leasehold interest in properties, the title to which is held by third party lessors. The term of any such leasehold will exceed the term of the mortgage note by at least ten years. Each Mortgage Loan will have been originated by a person (the 'Originator') other than the Depositor. The Mortgage Loans will be evidenced by promissory notes (the 'Mortgage Notes') secured by mortgages or deeds of trust (the 'Mortgages') creating a lien on the Mortgaged Properties. Mortgage Loans will generally also be secured by an assignment of leases and rents and/or operating or other cash flow guarantees relating to the Mortgage Loan.


DEFAULT AND LOSS CONSIDERATIONS WITH RESPECT TO THE MORTGAGE LOANS

     Mortgage Loans secured by commercial and multifamily properties are markedly different from owner-occupied single-family home mortgage loans. The repayment of loans secured by commercial or multifamily properties is typically dependent upon the successful operation of such property rather than upon the liquidation value of the real estate. The Mortgage Loans will be non-recourse loans, which means that, absent special facts, the mortgagee may look only to the Net Operating Income from the property for repayment of the mortgage debt, and not to any other of the mortgagor's assets, in the event of the mortgagor's default. Lenders typically look to the Debt Service Coverage Ratio of a loan secured by income-producing property as an important measure of the risk of default on such a loan. The 'Debt Service Coverage Ratio' of a Mortgage Loan at any given time is the ratio of the Net Operating Income for a twelve-month period to the annualized scheduled payments on the Mortgage Loan. 'Net Operating Income' is typically defined as total operating revenues (including primarily rental income and any expense reimbursement, ancillary income, late charges and deposit forfeitures) minus total operating expenses (including primarily expenses for advertising, general administration, management fees and disbursements, utilities, repairs and maintenance, insurance, real estate taxes and replacement reserves based solely on the mortgagor's estimates of the useful lives of various assets). Net Operating Income does not reflect capital expenditures or partnership expenses. The Net Operating Income of a Mortgaged Property will fluctuate over time and may be sufficient or insufficient to cover debt service on the related Mortgage Loan at any given time.

     As the primary component of Net Operating Income, rental income (and maintenance payments from tenant-stockholders of a Cooperative) is subject to the vagaries of the applicable real estate market and/or business climate. Properties typically leased, occupied or used on a short-term basis, such as health care-related facilities, hotels and motels, and mini-warehouse and self-storage facilities, tend to be affected more rapidly by changes in market or business conditions than do properties leased, occupied or used for longer periods, such as (typically) warehouses, retail stores, office buildings and industrial plants. Commercial Loans may be secured by owner-occupied Mortgaged Properties or Mortgaged Properties leased to a single tenant. Accordingly, a decline in the financial condition of the mortgagor or single tenant, as applicable, may have a disproportionately greater effect on the Net Operating Income from such Mortgaged Properties than would be the case with respect to Mortgaged Properties with multiple tenants.

     Changes in the expense components of Net Operating Income due to the general economic climate or economic conditions in a locality or industry segment, such as increases in interest rates, real estate and personal property tax rates and other operating expenses including energy costs; changes in governmental rules, regulations and fiscal policies, including environmental legislation; and acts of God may also affect the risk of default on the related Mortgage Loan. As may be further described in the related Prospectus Supplement, in some cases leases of Mortgaged Properties may provide that the lessee, rather than the mortgagor, is responsible for payment of certain of these expenses ('Net Leases'); however, because leases are subject to default

                                          [MOBILE HOME PARKS VERSION]


                         INDUSTRIAL PROPERTIES VERSION



The following are alternate pages to the base prospectus for a form of base prospectus for a series of commercial mortgage pass-through certificates backed by loans secured by industrial properties. Disclosure made on the following alternate pages will be included in the base prospectus for each series of Certificates backed by loans containing a material concentration of Mortgage Loans secured by industrial properties.

                                          [INDUSTRIAL PROPERTIES VERSION]

INFORMATION CONTAINED HEREIN IS SUBJECT TO COMPLETION OR AMENDMENT. A REGISTRATION STATEMENT RELATING TO THESE SECURITIES HAS BEEN FILED WITH THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION. THESE SECURITIES MAY NOT BE SOLD NOR MAY OFFERS TO BUY BE ACCEPTED PRIOR TO THE TIME THE REGISTRATION STATEMENT BECOMES EFFECTIVE. THIS PROSPECTUS SUPPLEMENT AND THE PROSPECTUS TO WHICH IT RELATES SHALL NOT CONSTITUTE AN OFFER TO SELL OR THE SOLICITATION OF AN OFFER TO BUY NOR SHALL THERE BE ANY SALE OF THESE SECURITIES IN ANY STATE IN WHICH SUCH OFFER, SOLICITATION OR SALE WOULD BE UNLAWFUL PRIOR TO REGISTRATION OR QUALIFICATION UNDER THE SECURITIES LAWS OF ANY SUCH STATE.


PRELIMINARY PROSPECTUS DATED NOVEMBER 12, 1997
(SUBJECT TO COMPLETION)



                       MORTGAGE PASS-THROUGH CERTIFICATES
                              (ISSUABLE IN SERIES)
                      NOMURA ASSET SECURITIES CORPORATION
                                   DEPOSITOR



    The Certificates offered hereby and by Supplements to this Prospectus (the 'Offered Certificates') will be offered from time to time in series. Each series of Certificates will represent in the aggregate the entire beneficial ownership interest in a trust fund (with respect to any series, the 'Trust Fund') consisting of a segregated pool of mortgage loans secured by liens on, or security interests in, industrial properties (the 'Mortgage Loans', or sometimes referred to herein as the 'Mortgage Assets'). The Trust Fund for a series of Certificates may also include letters of credit, insurance policies, guarantees, reserve funds or other types of credit support, or any combination thereof (with respect to any series, collectively, 'Credit Support'), and currency or interest rate exchange agreements and other financial assets, or any combination thereof (with respect to any series, collectively, 'Cash Flow Agreements'). See 'Description of the Trust Funds', 'Description of the Certificates' and 'Description of Credit Support'.


    Each series of Certificates will consist of one or more classes of Certificates that may (i) provide for the accrual of interest thereon based on fixed, variable or adjustable rates; (ii) be senior or subordinate to one or more other classes of Certificates in respect of certain distributions on the Certificates; (iii) be entitled to principal distributions, with disproportionately low, nominal or no interest distributions; (iv) be entitled to interest distributions, with disproportionately low, nominal or no principal distributions; (v) provide for distributions of accrued interest thereon only following the occurrence of certain events, such as the retirement of one or more other classes of Certificates of such series; or (vi) provide for distributions of principal sequentially, or based on specified payment schedules, to the extent of available funds, in each case as described in the related Prospectus Supplement. Any such classes may include classes of Offered Certificates. See 'Description of the Certificates'.

    Principal and interest with respect to Certificates will be distributable monthly, quarterly, semi-annually or at such other intervals and on the dates specified in the related Prospectus Supplement. Distributions on the Certificates of any series will be made only from the assets of the related Trust Fund.

    The Certificates of each series will not represent an obligation of or interest in the Depositor, any Master Servicer, any Special Servicer or any of their respective affiliates, except to the limited extent described herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. Only those Certificates and assets in the related Trust Fund as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement will be guaranteed or insured by any governmental agency or instrumentality or by any other person. The assets in each Trust Fund will be held in trust for the benefit of the holders of the related series of Certificates pursuant to a Pooling and Servicing Agreement or a Trust Agreement, as more fully described herein.

    The yield on each class of Certificates of a series will be affected by, among other things, the rate of payment of principal (including voluntary and involuntary prepayments) on the Mortgage Assets in the related Trust Fund and the timing of receipt of such payments as described under the caption 'Yield Considerations' herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. A Trust Fund may be subject to early termination under the circumstances described herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement.

    Prospective investors should review the information appearing under the caption 'Risk Factors' herein and such information as may be set forth under the caption 'Risk Factors' in the related Prospectus Supplement before purchasing any Offered Certificate.

    If so provided in the related Prospectus Supplement, one or more elections may be made to treat the related Trust Fund or a designated portion thereof as one or more 'real estate mortgage investment conduits' for federal income tax purposes. See also 'Federal Income Tax Consequences' herein.

    PROSPECTIVE INVESTORS SHOULD REVIEW THE DISCUSSION OF MATERIAL RISKS APPEARING UNDER THE CAPTION 'RISK FACTORS' HEREIN COMMENCING ON PAGE 11.

THESE SECURITIES HAVE NOT BEEN APPROVED OR DISAPPROVED BY THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION OR ANY STATE SECURITIES COMMISSION, NOR HAS THE SECURITIES
  AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION OR ANY STATE SECURITIES COMMISSION PASSED UPON THE
    ACCURACY OR ADEQUACY OF THIS PROSPECTUS. ANY REPRESENTATION TO THE
                       CONTRARY IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE.

    Prior to issuance there will have been no market for the Certificates of any series and there can be no assurance that a secondary market for any Offered Certificates will develop or that, if it does develop, it will continue. This Prospectus may not be used to consummate sales of a series of Offered Certificates unless accompanied by a Prospectus Supplement.

    Offers of the Offered Certificates may be made through one or more different methods, including offerings through underwriters, as more fully described under 'Method of Distribution' herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. All Offered Certificates will be distributed by, or sold by underwriters managed by:

                     NOMURA SECURITIES INTERNATIONAL, INC.
                THE DATE OF THIS PROSPECTUS IS             , 199

                                          [INDUSTRIAL PROPERTIES VERSION]

                             SUMMARY OF PROSPECTUS

     The following summary of material information does not contain all the material information regarding the Certificates and is qualified in its entirety by reference to the more detailed information appearing elsewhere in this Prospectus and by reference to the information with respect to each series of Certificates contained in the Prospectus Supplement to be prepared and delivered in connection with the offering of such series. An Index of Principal Definitions is included at the end of this Prospectus.

TITLE OF CERTIFICATES

     Mortgage Pass-Through Certificates, issuable in series (the
'Certificates').

DEPOSITOR

     Nomura Asset Securities Corporation, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Nomura Asset Capital Corporation. See 'The Depositor'.

MASTER SERVICER

     The master servicer (the 'Master Servicer'), if any, for each series of Certificates will be named in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--Collection and Other Servicing Procedures'.

SPECIAL SERVICER

     The special servicer (the 'Special Servicer'), if any, for each series of Certificates will be named, or the circumstances in accordance with which a Special Servicer will be appointed will be described, in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--Special Servicer'.

TRUSTEE

     The trustee (the 'Trustee') for each series of Certificates will be named in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--The Trustee'.

THE TRUST ASSETS

     Each series of Certificates will represent in the aggregate the entire beneficial ownership interest in a Trust Fund consisting primarily of:

          (A) MORTGAGE ASSETS


          The Mortgage Assets with respect to each series of Certificates will consist of a pool of commercial mortgage loans (the 'Mortgage Loans'). Except to the extent described in the related Prospectus Supplement, the Mortgage Loans will not be guaranteed or insured by the Depositor or any of its affiliates or by any governmental agency or instrumentality or other person. As more specifically described herein, the Mortgage Loans will be secured by liens on, or security interest in, properties consisting of industrial plants (the 'Commercial Properties', or sometimes referred to herein as the 'Mortgaged Properties'). The Mortgaged Properties may be located in any one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia or such other locations as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement. All Mortgage Loans will have individual principal balances at origination of not less than $25,000 and original terms to maturity of not more than 40 years. All Mortgage Loans will have been originated by persons other than the Depositor, and all Mortgage Assets will have been purchased, either directly or indirectly, by the Depositor on or before the date of initial issuance of the related series of Certificates. As described herein and in the Prospectus Supplement, each Mortgage Loan may (i) provide for no accrual of interest or for accrual of interest thereon at an interest rate (a 'Mortgage Rate') that is fixed over its term or that adjusts from time to time, or that may be converted from an adjustable to a fixed Mortgage Rate, or from a fixed to an adjustable Mortgage Rate, from time to time at the mortgagor's election; (ii) provide for scheduled payments to maturity, payments that adjust from time to time in accommodate changes in the Mortgage Rate or to reflect the occurrence of certain events, and may provide negative amortization or accelerated amortization; (iii) be fully amortizing or require a balloon payment due on its stated maturity date;
     (iv) contain prohibitions on prepayment or require payment of a premium or a yield maintenance penalty in connection with a prepayment; and (v) provide for payments of principal, interest or both, on due dates that occur monthly, quarterly, semi-annually or other interval. See 'Description of the Trust Funds--Mortgage Assets'.

                                          [INDUSTRIAL PROPERTIES VERSION]

     Further, the concentration of default, foreclosure and loss risks in individual mortgagors or Mortgage Loans in a particular Trust Fund or the related Mortgaged Properties will generally be greater than for pools of single-family loans both because the Mortgage Assets in a Trust Fund will generally consist of a smaller number of loans than would a single-family pool of comparable aggregate unpaid principal balance and because of the higher principal balance of individual Mortgage Loans.


INDUSTRIAL PROPERTIES



     Significant factors determining the value of industrial properties are the quality of tenants, building design and adaptability and the location of the properties. Industrial properties may be adversely affected if there is an economic decline in the business operated by the tenants. The risk of such an adverse effect is increased if revenue is dependent on a single tenant or if there is a significant concentration of tenants in a particular business or industry (as is frequently the case with industrial properties).



     Aspects of building site design and adaptability affect the value of an industrial property. Site characteristics which are valuable to an industrial property include clear heights, column spacing, number of bays and bay depths, divisibility, truck turning radius and overall functionality and accessibility.



     Location is also important because an industrial property requires the availability of labor sources, proximity to supply sources and customers and accessibility to rail lines, major roadways and other distribution channels.


BALLOON PAYMENTS

     Certain of the Mortgage Loans as of the Cut-off Date may not be fully amortizing over their terms to maturity and, thus, will require substantial principal payments (i.e., balloon payments) at their stated maturity. Mortgage Loans with balloon payments involve a greater degree of risk because the ability of a mortgagor to make a balloon payment typically will depend upon its ability either to timely refinance the loan or to timely sell the related Mortgaged Property. The ability of a mortgagor to accomplish either of these goals will be affected by a number of factors, including the level of available mortgage rates at the time of sale or refinancing, the mortgagor's equity in the related Mortgaged Property, the financial condition and operating history of the mortgagor and the related Mortgaged Property, tax laws, rent control laws (with respect to certain Multifamily Properties and mobile home parks), reimbursement rates (with respect to certain hospitals, nursing homes and convalescent homes), renewability of operating licenses, prevailing general economic conditions and the availability of credit for commercial or multifamily, as the case may be, real properties generally.

OBLIGOR DEFAULT

     In order to maximize recoveries on defaulted Mortgage Loans, a Master Servicer typically will have considerable flexibility to extend and modify Mortgage Loans that are in default or as to which a payment default is reasonably foreseeable, including in particular with respect to balloon payments. In addition, a Master Servicer or a Special Servicer may receive a workout fee based on receipts from or proceeds of such Mortgage Loans. While a Master Servicer generally will be required to determine that any such extension or modification is likely to produce a greater recovery on a present value basis than liquidation, there can be no assurance that such flexibility with respect to extensions or modifications or payment of a workout fee will increase the present value of receipts from or proceeds of Mortgage Loans that are in default or as to which a default is reasonably foreseeable. The recent foreclosure and delinquency experience with respect to loans serviced by a Master Servicer or, if applicable, any Special Servicer or significant Sub-Servicer will be provided in the related Prospectus Supplement.

MORTGAGOR TYPE

     Mortgage Loans made to partnerships, corporations or other entities may entail risks of loss from delinquency and foreclosure that are greater than those of Mortgage Loans made to individuals. Partnerships, corporations and certain other types of organizations generally limit the liability of the beneficial owners of such organizations for the obligations of such organizations, and therefore limit the recourse of a lender to the assets of such beneficial owners. The mortgagor's sophistication and form of organization may increase the likelihood of protracted litigation or bankruptcy in default situations.

                                          [INDUSTRIAL PROPERTIES VERSION]

                         DESCRIPTION OF THE TRUST FUNDS

MORTGAGE ASSETS


     The primary assets of each Trust Fund (the 'Mortgage Assets') will include mortgage loans secured by liens on, or security interests in, industrial properties (the 'Mortgage Loans'). The Mortgage Assets will not be guaranteed or insured by the Depositor or any of its affiliates. The Prospectus Supplement will describe any guarantee or insurance relating to the Mortgage Assets by any governmental agency or instrumentality or by any other person. Each Mortgage Asset will be selected by the Depositor for inclusion in a Trust Fund from among those purchased, either directly or indirectly, from a prior holder thereof (a 'Mortgage Asset Seller'), which prior holder may or may not be the originator of such Mortgage Loan or the issuer of such MBS and may be an affiliate of the Depositor.


MORTGAGE LOANS


     The Mortgage Loans will be secured by liens on, or security interests in, Mortgaged Properties consisting of industrial plants located in any one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia or such other locations as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement. The Mortgage Loans will be secured by mortgages or deeds of trust or other similar security instruments creating a first or more junior lien on Mortgaged Properties. The Mortgaged Properties may include leasehold interest in properties, the title to which is held by third party lessors. The term of any such leasehold will exceed the term of the mortgage note by at least ten years. Each Mortgage Loan will have been originated by a person (the 'Originator') other than the Depositor. The Mortgage Loans will be evidenced by promissory notes (the 'Mortgage Notes') secured by mortgages or deeds of trust (the 'Mortgages') creating a lien on the Mortgaged Properties. Mortgage Loans will generally also be secured by an assignment of leases and rents and/or operating or other cash flow guarantees relating to the Mortgage Loan.


DEFAULT AND LOSS CONSIDERATIONS WITH RESPECT TO THE MORTGAGE LOANS

     Mortgage Loans secured by commercial and multifamily properties are markedly different from owner-occupied single-family home mortgage loans. The repayment of loans secured by commercial or multifamily properties is typically dependent upon the successful operation of such property rather than upon the liquidation value of the real estate. The Mortgage Loans will be non-recourse loans, which means that, absent special facts, the mortgagee may look only to the Net Operating Income from the property for repayment of the mortgage debt, and not to any other of the mortgagor's assets, in the event of the mortgagor's default. Lenders typically look to the Debt Service Coverage Ratio of a loan secured by income-producing property as an important measure of the risk of default on such a loan. The 'Debt Service Coverage Ratio' of a Mortgage Loan at any given time is the ratio of the Net Operating Income for a twelve-month period to the annualized scheduled payments on the Mortgage Loan. 'Net Operating Income' is typically defined as total operating revenues (including primarily rental income and any expense reimbursement, ancillary income, late charges and deposit forfeitures) minus total operating expenses (including primarily expenses for advertising, general administration, management fees and disbursements, utilities, repairs and maintenance, insurance, real estate taxes and replacement reserves based solely on the mortgagor's estimates of the useful lives of various assets). Net Operating Income does not reflect capital expenditures or partnership expenses. The Net Operating Income of a Mortgaged Property will fluctuate over time and may be sufficient or insufficient to cover debt service on the related Mortgage Loan at any given time.

     As the primary component of Net Operating Income, rental income (and maintenance payments from tenant-stockholders of a Cooperative) is subject to the vagaries of the applicable real estate market and/or business climate. Properties typically leased, occupied or used on a short-term basis, such as health care-related facilities, hotels and motels, and mini-warehouse and self-storage facilities, tend to be affected more rapidly by changes in market or business conditions than do properties leased, occupied or used for longer periods, such as (typically) warehouses, retail stores, office buildings and industrial plants. Commercial Loans may be secured by owner-occupied Mortgaged Properties or Mortgaged Properties leased to a single tenant. Accordingly, a decline in the financial condition of the mortgagor or single tenant, as applicable, may have a disproportionately greater effect on the Net Operating Income from such Mortgaged Properties than would be the case with respect to Mortgaged Properties with multiple tenants.

                 MINI-WAREHOUSE/SELF-STORAGE PROPERTIES VERSION



The following are alternate pages to the base prospectus for a form of base prospectus for a series of commercial mortgage pass-through certificates backed by loans secured by mini-warehouse/self-storage properties. Disclosure made on the following alternate pages will be included in the base prospectus for each series of Certificates backed by loans containing a material concentration of Mortgage Loans secured by mini-warehouse/self-storage properties.

                               [MINI-WAREHOUSE/SELF-STORAGE FACILITIES VERSION]

INFORMATION CONTAINED HEREIN IS SUBJECT TO COMPLETION OR AMENDMENT. A REGISTRATION STATEMENT RELATING TO THESE SECURITIES HAS BEEN FILED WITH THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION. THESE SECURITIES MAY NOT BE SOLD NOR MAY OFFERS TO BUY BE ACCEPTED PRIOR TO THE TIME THE REGISTRATION STATEMENT BECOMES EFFECTIVE. THIS PROSPECTUS SUPPLEMENT AND THE PROSPECTUS TO WHICH IT RELATES SHALL NOT CONSTITUTE AN OFFER TO SELL OR THE SOLICITATION OF AN OFFER TO BUY NOR SHALL THERE BE ANY SALE OF THESE SECURITIES IN ANY STATE IN WHICH SUCH OFFER, SOLICITATION OR SALE WOULD BE UNLAWFUL PRIOR TO REGISTRATION OR QUALIFICATION UNDER THE SECURITIES LAWS OF ANY SUCH STATE.


PRELIMINARY PROSPECTUS DATED NOVEMBER 12, 1997
(SUBJECT TO COMPLETION)


                       MORTGAGE PASS-THROUGH CERTIFICATES
                              (ISSUABLE IN SERIES)
                      NOMURA ASSET SECURITIES CORPORATION
                                   DEPOSITOR


    The Certificates offered hereby and by Supplements to this Prospectus (the 'Offered Certificates') will be offered from time to time in series. Each series of Certificates will represent in the aggregate the entire beneficial ownership interest in a trust fund (with respect to any series, the 'Trust Fund') consisting of a segregated pool of mortgage loans secured by liens on or security interests in mini-warehouse facilities or self-storage facilities (the 'Mortgage Loans,' or sometimes referred to herein as the 'Mortgage Assets'). The Trust Fund for a series of Certificates may also include letters of credit, insurance policies, guarantees, reserve funds or other types of credit support, or any combination thereof (with respect to any series, collectively, 'Credit Support'), and currency or interest rate exchange agreements and other financial assets, or any combination thereof (with respect to any series, collectively, 'Cash Flow Agreements'). See 'Description of the Trust Funds', 'Description of the Certificates' and 'Description of Credit Support'.


    Each series of Certificates will consist of one or more classes of Certificates that may (i) provide for the accrual of interest thereon based on fixed, variable or adjustable rates; (ii) be senior or subordinate to one or more other classes of Certificates in respect of certain distributions on the Certificates; (iii) be entitled to principal distributions, with disproportionately low, nominal or no interest distributions; (iv) be entitled to interest distributions, with disproportionately low, nominal or no principal distributions; (v) provide for distributions of accrued interest thereon only following the occurrence of certain events, such as the retirement of one or more other classes of Certificates of such series; or (vi) provide for distributions of principal sequentially, or based on specified payment schedules, to the extent of available funds, in each case as described in the related Prospectus Supplement. Any such classes may include classes of Offered Certificates. See 'Description of the Certificates'.

    Principal and interest with respect to Certificates will be distributable monthly, quarterly, semi-annually or at such other intervals and on the dates specified in the related Prospectus Supplement. Distributions on the Certificates of any series will be made only from the assets of the related Trust Fund.

    The Certificates of each series will not represent an obligation of or interest in the Depositor, any Master Servicer, any Special Servicer or any of their respective affiliates, except to the limited extent described herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. Only those Certificates and assets in the related Trust Fund as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement will be guaranteed or insured by any governmental agency or instrumentality or by any other person. The assets in each Trust Fund will be held in trust for the benefit of the holders of the related series of Certificates pursuant to a Pooling and Servicing Agreement or a Trust Agreement, as more fully described herein.

    The yield on each class of Certificates of a series will be affected by, among other things, the rate of payment of principal (including voluntary and involuntary prepayments) on the Mortgage Assets in the related Trust Fund and the timing of receipt of such payments as described under the caption 'Yield Considerations' herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. A Trust Fund may be subject to early termination under the circumstances described herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement.

    Prospective investors should review the information appearing under the caption 'Risk Factors' herein and such information as may be set forth under the caption 'Risk Factors' in the related Prospectus Supplement before purchasing any Offered Certificate.

    If so provided in the related Prospectus Supplement, one or more elections may be made to treat the related Trust Fund or a designated portion thereof as one or more 'real estate mortgage investment conduits' for federal income tax purposes. See also 'Federal Income Tax Consequences' herein.

    PROSPECTIVE INVESTORS SHOULD REVIEW THE DISCUSSION OF MATERIAL RISKS APPEARING UNDER THE CAPTION 'RISK FACTORS' HEREIN COMMENCING ON PAGE 11.

THESE SECURITIES HAVE NOT BEEN APPROVED OR DISAPPROVED BY THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION OR ANY STATE SECURITIES COMMISSION, NOR HAS THE SECURITIES
  AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION OR ANY STATE SECURITIES COMMISSION PASSED UPON THE
    ACCURACY OR ADEQUACY OF THIS PROSPECTUS. ANY REPRESENTATION TO THE
                       CONTRARY IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE.

    Prior to issuance there will have been no market for the Certificates of any series and there can be no assurance that a secondary market for any Offered Certificates will develop or that, if it does develop, it will continue. This Prospectus may not be used to consummate sales of a series of Offered Certificates unless accompanied by a Prospectus Supplement.

    Offers of the Offered Certificates may be made through one or more different methods, including offerings through underwriters, as more fully described under 'Method of Distribution' herein and in the related Prospectus Supplement. All Offered Certificates will be distributed by, or sold by underwriters managed by:

                     NOMURA SECURITIES INTERNATIONAL, INC.
                THE DATE OF THIS PROSPECTUS IS             , 199

                               [MINI-WAREHOUSE/SELF-STORAGE FACILITIES VERSION]

                             SUMMARY OF PROSPECTUS

     The following summary of material information does not contain all the material information regarding the Certificates and is qualified in its entirety by reference to the more detailed information appearing elsewhere in this Prospectus and by reference to the information with respect to each series of Certificates contained in the Prospectus Supplement to be prepared and delivered in connection with the offering of such series. An Index of Principal Definitions is included at the end of this Prospectus.

TITLE OF CERTIFICATES

     Mortgage Pass-Through Certificates, issuable in series (the
'Certificates').

DEPOSITOR

     Nomura Asset Securities Corporation, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Nomura Asset Capital Corporation. See 'The Depositor'.

MASTER SERVICER

     The master servicer (the 'Master Servicer'), if any, for each series of Certificates will be named in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--Collection and Other Servicing Procedures'.

SPECIAL SERVICER

     The special servicer (the 'Special Servicer'), if any, for each series of Certificates will be named, or the circumstances in accordance with which a Special Servicer will be appointed will be described, in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--Special Servicer'.

TRUSTEE

     The trustee (the 'Trustee') for each series of Certificates will be named in the related Prospectus Supplement. See 'Description of the Agreements--The Trustee'.

THE TRUST ASSETS

     Each series of Certificates will represent in the aggregate the entire beneficial ownership interest in a Trust Fund consisting primarily of:

          (A) MORTGAGE ASSETS


          The Mortgage Assets with respect to each series of Certificates will consist of a pool of commercial mortgage loans (the 'Mortgage Loans'). Except to the extent described in the related Prospectus Supplement, the Mortgage Loans will not be guaranteed or insured by the Depositor or any of its affiliates or by any governmental agency or instrumentality or other person. As more specifically described herein, the Mortgage Loans will be secured by liens on, or security interest in, properties consisting of mini-warehouse facilities or self-storage facilities (the 'Mortgaged Properties'). The Mortgaged Properties may be located in any one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia or such other locations as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement. All Mortgage Loans will have individual principal balances at origination of not less than $25,000 and original terms to maturity of not more than 40 years. All Mortgage Loans will have been originated by persons other than the Depositor, and all Mortgage Assets will have been purchased, either directly or indirectly, by the Depositor on or before the date of initial issuance of the related series of Certificates. As described herein and in the Prospectus Supplement, each Mortgage Loan may (i) provide for no accrual of interest or for accrual of interest thereon at an interest rate (a 'Mortgage Rate') that is fixed over its term or that adjusts from time to time, or that may be converted from an adjustable to a fixed Mortgage Rate, or from a fixed to an adjustable Mortgage Rate, from time to time at the mortgagor's election; (ii) provide for scheduled payments to maturity, payments that adjust from time to time in accommodate changes in the Mortgage Rate or to reflect the occurrence of certain events, and may provide negative amortization or accelerated amortization; (iii) be fully amortizing or require a balloon payment due on its stated maturity date;
     (iv) contain prohibitions on prepayment or require payment of a premium or a yield maintenance penalty in connection with a prepayment; and (v) provide for payments of principal, interest or both, on due dates that occur monthly, quarterly, semi-annually or other interval. See 'Description of the Trust Funds--Mortgage Assets'.

                               [MINI-WAREHOUSE/SELF-STORAGE FACILITIES VERSION]


Mortgage Loan. With respect to those Mortgage Loans that provide for recourse against the mortgagor and its assets generally, there can be no assurance that such recourse will ensure a recovery in respect of a defaulted Mortgage Loan greater than the liquidation value of the related Mortgaged Property.


     Further, the concentration of default, foreclosure and loss risks in individual mortgagors or Mortgage Loans in a particular Trust Fund or the related Mortgaged Properties will generally be greater than for pools of single-family loans both because the Mortgage Assets in a Trust Fund will generally consist of a smaller number of loans than would a single-family pool of comparable aggregate unpaid principal balance and because of the higher principal balance of individual Mortgage Loans.


MINI-WAREHOUSE FACILITIES OR SELF-STORAGE FACILITIES



     Mini-warehouse or self-storage properties are considered vulnerable to competition, because both acquisition costs and break-even occupancy are relatively low. The conversion of mini-warehouse or self-storage facilities to alternative uses would generally require substantial capital expenditures. Thus, if the operation of any of the mini-warehouse or self-storage Mortgaged Properties becomes unprofitable due to decreased demand, competition, age of improvements or other factors such that the borrower becomes unable to meet its obligations on the related Mortgage Loan, the liquidation value of that self-storage Mortgaged Property may be substantially less, relative to the amount owing on the Mortgage Loan, than would be the case if the self-storage Mortgaged Property were readily adaptable to other uses. Tenant privacy, anonymity and efficient access may heighten environmental risks. No environmental assessment of a Mortgaged Property included an inspection of the contents of the self-storage units included in the self-storage Mortgaged Properties and there is no assurance that all of the units included in the self-storage Mortgaged Properties are free from hazardous substances or other pollutants or contaminants or will remain so in the future.


BALLOON PAYMENTS

     Certain of the Mortgage Loans as of the Cut-off Date may not be fully amortizing over their terms to maturity and, thus, will require substantial principal payments (i.e., balloon payments) at their stated maturity. Mortgage Loans with balloon payments involve a greater degree of risk because the ability of a mortgagor to make a balloon payment typically will depend upon its ability either to timely refinance the loan or to timely sell the related Mortgaged Property. The ability of a mortgagor to accomplish either of these goals will be affected by a number of factors, including the level of available mortgage rates at the time of sale or refinancing, the mortgagor's equity in the related Mortgaged Property, the financial condition and operating history of the mortgagor and the related Mortgaged Property, tax laws, rent control laws (with respect to certain Multifamily Properties and mobile home parks), reimbursement rates (with respect to certain hospitals, nursing homes and convalescent homes), renewability of operating licenses, prevailing general economic conditions and the availability of credit for commercial or multifamily, as the case may be, real properties generally.

OBLIGOR DEFAULT

     In order to maximize recoveries on defaulted Mortgage Loans, a Master Servicer typically will have considerable flexibility to extend and modify Mortgage Loans that are in default or as to which a payment default is reasonably foreseeable, including in particular with respect to balloon payments. In addition, a Master Servicer or a Special Servicer may receive a workout fee based on receipts from or proceeds of such Mortgage Loans. While a Master Servicer generally will be required to determine that any such extension or modification is likely to produce a greater recovery on a present value basis than liquidation, there can be no assurance that such flexibility with respect to extensions or modifications or payment of a workout fee will increase the present value of receipts from or proceeds of Mortgage Loans that are in default or as to which a default is reasonably foreseeable. The recent foreclosure and delinquency experience with respect to loans serviced by a Master Servicer or, if applicable, any Special Servicer or significant Sub-Servicer will be provided in the related Prospectus Supplement.

MORTGAGOR TYPE

     Mortgage Loans made to partnerships, corporations or other entities may entail risks of loss from delinquency and foreclosure that are greater than those of Mortgage Loans made to individuals. Partnerships, corporations and certain other types of organizations generally limit the liability of the beneficial owners of such organizations for the obligations of such organizations, and therefore limit the recourse of a lender to the assets of such beneficial owners. The mortgagor's sophistication and form of organization may increase the likelihood of protracted litigation or bankruptcy in default situations.

                                [MINI-WAREHOUSE/SELF-STORAGE PROPERTIES VERSION]

                         DESCRIPTION OF THE TRUST FUNDS

MORTGAGE ASSETS


     The primary assets of each Trust Fund (the 'Mortgage Assets') will include mortgage loans secured by liens on, or security interests in, mini-warehouse facility or self-storage facility properties. The Mortgage Assets will not be guaranteed or insured by the Depositor or any of its affiliates. The Prospectus Supplement will describe any guarantee or insurance relating to the Mortgage Assets by any governmental agency or instrumentality or by any other person. Each Mortgage Asset will be selected by the Depositor for inclusion in a Trust Fund from among those purchased, either directly or indirectly, from a prior holder thereof (a 'Mortgage Asset Seller'), which prior holder may or may not be the originator of such Mortgage Loan and may be an affiliate of the Depositor.


MORTGAGE LOANS


     The Mortgage Loans will be secured by liens on, or security interests in, Mortgaged Properties consisting of mini-warehouse facilities or self-storage facilities located in any one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia or such other locations as are disclosed in the related Prospectus Supplement. The Mortgage Loans will be secured by mortgages or deeds of trust or other similar security instruments creating a first or more junior lien on Mortgaged Properties. The Mortgaged Properties may include leasehold interest in properties, the title to which is held by third party lessors. The term of any such leasehold will exceed the term of the mortgage note by at least ten years. Each Mortgage Loan will have been originated by a person (the 'Originator') other than the Depositor. The Mortgage Loans will be evidenced by promissory notes (the 'Mortgage Notes') secured by mortgages or deeds of trust (the 'Mortgages') creating a lien on the Mortgaged Properties. Mortgage Loans will generally also be secured by an assignment of leases and rents and/or operating or other cash flow guarantees relating to the Mortgage Loan.


DEFAULT AND LOSS CONSIDERATIONS WITH RESPECT TO THE MORTGAGE LOANS

     Mortgage Loans secured by commercial and multifamily properties are markedly different from owner-occupied single-family home mortgage loans. The repayment of loans secured by commercial or multifamily properties is typically dependent upon the successful operation of such property rather than upon the liquidation value of the real estate. The Mortgage Loans will be non-recourse loans, which means that, absent special facts, the mortgagee may look only to the Net Operating Income from the property for repayment of the mortgage debt, and not to any other of the mortgagor's assets, in the event of the mortgagor's default. Lenders typically look to the Debt Service Coverage Ratio of a loan secured by income-producing property as an important measure of the risk of default on such a loan. The 'Debt Service Coverage Ratio' of a Mortgage Loan at any given time is the ratio of the Net Operating Income for a twelve-month period to the annualized scheduled payments on the Mortgage Loan. 'Net Operating Income' is typically defined as total operating revenues (including primarily rental income and any expense reimbursement, ancillary income, late charges and deposit forfeitures) minus total operating expenses (including primarily expenses for advertising, general administration, management fees and disbursements, utilities, repairs and maintenance, insurance, real estate taxes and replacement reserves based solely on the mortgagor's estimates of the useful lives of various assets). Net Operating Income does not reflect capital expenditures or partnership expenses. The Net Operating Income of a Mortgaged Property will fluctuate over time and may be sufficient or insufficient to cover debt service on the related Mortgage Loan at any given time.

     As the primary component of Net Operating Income, rental income (and maintenance payments from tenant-stockholders of a Cooperative) is subject to the vagaries of the applicable real estate market and/or business climate. Properties typically leased, occupied or used on a short-term basis, such as health care-related facilities, hotels and motels, and mini-warehouse and self-storage facilities, tend to be affected more rapidly by changes in market or business conditions than do properties leased, occupied or used for longer periods, such as (typically) warehouses, retail stores, office buildings and industrial plants. Commercial Loans may be secured by owner-occupied Mortgaged Properties or Mortgaged Properties leased to a single tenant. Accordingly, a decline in the financial condition of the mortgagor or single tenant, as applicable, may have a disproportionately greater effect on the Net Operating Income from such Mortgaged Properties than would be the case with respect to Mortgaged Properties with multiple tenants.

     Changes in the expense components of Net Operating Income due to the general economic climate or economic conditions in a locality or industry segment, such as increases in interest rates, real estate and personal property tax rates and other operating expenses including energy costs; changes in governmental rules, regulations and fiscal policies, including environmental legislation; and acts of God may also affect the risk of default on the related Mortgage Loan. As may be further described in the related Prospectus Supplement, in some cases leases of Mortgaged Properties may provide that the lessee, rather than the

                                       17