EXHIBIT 99.1

                             FTI CONSULTING, #570247
                         February 9, 2004, 11:00 a.m. ET
                            Financial Relations Board
                             Moderator: Lisa Fortuna

Operator              Good morning, ladies and gentlemen, and welcome to the FTI
                      Consulting 2004 Outlook  conference call. At this time all
                      participants are in a listen-only mode.  Following today's
                      presentation  instructions  will be given for the question
                      and answer session. If anyone needs assistance at any time
                      during the  conference,  please press the star followed by
                      the zero. As a reminder, this conference is being recorded
                      today, Monday, February 9, 2004.

                      I would now like to turn the conference over to Lisa Fortuna. Please go ahead.

L. Fortuna            Good  morning,  everyone,  and thank you for joining us to
                      discuss this morning's news release.

                      Before  we  begin,  I want to  remind  everyone  that  the
                      conference call may contain forward-looking statements that involve uncertainties and risks. There can be no assurance that actual results will not differ from the company's expectations. The company has experienced fluctuating revenues, operating income and cash flow in some prior periods and expects this may occur from time-to-time in the future. As a result of these possible fluctuations, the company's actual results may differ from our projections. Other factors that could cause such
                      differences include pace and timing of additional acquisitions, the company's ability to realize cost savings and efficiencies, competitive and general economic conditions, retention of staff and clients and other risks described in the company's filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

                      I'll now turn the call over to Jack Dunn, Chairman and CEO of FTI Consulting.

J. Dunn               Thank  you very  much.  I'd like to  thank  everybody  for
                      joining  us this  morning.  I'm  sorry  for the  delay  in
                      holding   this   conference   call   since   our   initial
                      announcement.  It was  important  however  that we use the
                      intervening time to quantify and more importantly mitigate
                      the impact of the  departures  that were discussed in that
                      press release.


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                      It was  important  that we develop and present our roadmap
                      for addressing this situation. In preparing our plan and our guidance presented, we have involved all of our senior people. It is important that you know that they are supportive and enthusiastic, significantly rising to the occasion because at FTI we are dedicated to an integrated approach moving forward among all our groups. They are enthusiastic about our prospects and about their ability to accomplish the job ahead. Stu will address some of the specific aspects of our plans and Ted will then address
                      our  continuing   financial   strength  and  provide  some
                      additional metrics about our financial statements and our operating statistics going forward. Stu.

S. Kahn               Thank  you,   Jack.   Basically   as  it  relates  to  the
                      restructuring  practice, our program is to get back out to
                      all the  clients  that had been  served by this  departing
                      group and explain to them why we are the number 1 practice
                      area and the number 1 choice for continuing to serve them,
                      perhaps not on the existing  assignments where it might be
                      too  disruptive  to  change  from  the  present  staffing,
                      however,  our  goal is to be  certain  that we have a good
                      shot at picking up future  assignments  from in particular
                      bank clients and law firms.

                      One of the means that we're going to use to emphasize our strength in this area is the emphasis on industry experts. We have within our existing and remaining restructuring group recognized healthcare experts, telecom experts,
                      energy and power experts, retail, real estate and manufacturing logistics and supply chain people who can help in restructurings of troubled companies.

                      In addition, with our hire of Greg Rayburn to lead our interim management practice, we believe we're going to be able to certainly reconstitute that from what it was in its fledgling state as part of the prior practice.

                      We're confident, as Jack indicated, that the people involved in the restructuring business within our
                      organization are ready for this task, ready for this challenge and will rise up and recover some good portion of the work that we originally said we might be losing and that we now reflect a lesser amount of loss. In addition, one of the other things we're doing is changing some of the incentive compensation structures to more directly incentivize these folks on a go-forward basis to achieve success.
                      With that, let me turn it over to Ted for a few comments and then we'll open it up for questions.


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T. Pincus             Right, some additional  information about our guidance for
                      2004. We are still in the process of developing our guidance which we will give you in a bit more detail next week in terms of headcount, utilization, average rate. We intend to give you a little more information about our major practice areas as well in doing that. So we're not quite ready for that. But just a few pieces of additional information.

                      The range expected of our EBITDA which as you know is a non-GAAP measure and is reconciled to net income by exactly what it says, interest, taxes, depreciation and amortization. We expect that to range from approximately $104 million to $115 million for 2004.

                      We expect our cash flow from operations, not free cash flow, cash flow from operations which you can see in our cash flow statement, to range between $70 and $80 million for 2004. A very minor change in our estimated tax rate due to the changes in our geography due mostly to state taxes from 40.5% to our new estimate is 40.9% for 2004.

                      In addition at the moment our total debt is approximately $121 million. We have a $100 million unused credit line as well. Our EBITDA margin, as I said, is a little lower than anticipated in our earlier guidance. It's expected to be approximately 25% because as you can tell from some of this information, the group that has departed did have a higher margin than many of our other practice areas.

                      That's all I can add at this point. Let me pass it back to Jack.

J. Dunn               Thank you, Ted. Most  importantly we'd like to now open it
                      up for your questions please.

Operator              Thank you, sir.  Ladies and gentlemen,  at this time we'll
                      begin  the  question  and  answer  session.  If you have a
                      question,  please  press the star  followed  by the one on
                      your  pushbutton  phone. If you would like to decline from
                      the polling  process,  press the star followed by the two.
                      If you are using speaker equipment,  you will need to lift
                      the handset before pressing the numbers. One moment please
                      for our first question.

                      Our first question comes Josh Rosen with Credit Suisse First Boston. Please go ahead.

C. Kaneshiro          Good morning,  it's Clayton Kaneshiro filling in for Josh.
                      Could you just  clarify  a little  bit on the  charge  you
                      expect in the fourth  quarter


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                      that you  talked  about in the  press  release,  provide a
                      little more detail there. And then should we expect another charge in the first quarter associated with some of the departures from P&M?

T. Pincus             Let me take that. No, the charge in the fourth quarter was
                      in   connection   with   optimizing   the   size   of  our
                      restructuring  practice.  Interestingly  enough it was not
                      among  the group  that  departed  but as you know,  we had
                      given  original  guidance  in which there was a decline in
                      the expected size of our restructuring  practice from 2003
                      to 2004 and that was a charge in connection  with bringing
                      resources in line with that original guidance.
                      With respect to the first quarter,  there's still a little
                      dust that has to  settle  out.  I think  Jack and Stu will
                      probably  elaborate  for you a  little  bit more as to the
                      size of the  practice  that is  expected  to have  totally
                      departed us.

                      Whether or not we would be in a position where we would have some resources remaining that we would not be able to envision utilizing is yet to be determined but if so, we do not expect it to be significant and certainly not at the level that we talked about in the fourth quarter.

C. Kaneshiro          Thank  you.  Also just one follow up on the plan for 2004.
                      You  mentioned  going to customers  and talking about your
                      value proposition and industry expertise,  but also as you
                      deal  with the loss of some of these  people  from P&M can
                      you  talk  on  the  other   side   from  a  cost   savings
                      perspective,  are there  things  you can do to lower  your
                      SG&A or other cost savings to minimize  the  profitability
                      impact?

T. Pincus             Let me cover  just a bit of that.  We don't  operate  with
                      very  high SG&A in the first  place,  as you do know.  The
                      estimate for guidance that we put out already incorporates
                      the inherent savings in SG&A.  Interestingly  enough those
                      of you who know us well, know that the bulk of this effect
                      was in our  northern New Jersey  office and  interestingly
                      enough we have had considerable  staffing  pressure in our
                      New York office and we had  expansion in New York included
                      in our  original  guidance  in  terms  of  space  and this
                      probably  presents us with an  opportunity to realign some
                      geographic resources.

                      So the answer to your question is whatever cost savings this affords us were already built into the guidance.

C. Kaneshiro          Thanks, Ted.


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Operator              Our next  question  comes from  David  Gold with  Sidoti &
                      Company. Please go ahead.

D. Gold               Hi, good morning.  Can we just talk for a second.  I guess
                      by my  calculation  if we have 85% of the senior  managing
                      directors  locked up, I guess that's about 18 that aren't,
                      somewhere thereabout.

T. Pincus             I'll give you an exactly number, it's 17, David.

D. Gold               17. Can you tell us where those people lay, what divisions
                      they're in and if there's  any  concentration  of business
                      tied to them?

T. Pincus             There is no particular  concentration.  They're across our
                      practice areas other than in  restructuring  for the clear
                      reason that everybody that joined us in our  restructuring
                      practice is either  among the  departed or included  among
                      the BRS group that has joined us including some promotions
                      that have taken  place there and  everybody  in that group
                      came  in  with  contracts.  So  they  are  throughout  our
                      litigation  technology,  out trial support practices,  our
                      economic  practices,  our forensic  practices.  It's quite
                      scattered.

D. Gold               Okay.  And lastly the thoughts these days at this level on
                      the buyback that you have authorized.

J. Dunn               As you know in  October  we  authorized  a buyback  of $50
                      million  worth of our stock  over the  ensuing  12 months.
                      Through   the   fourth   quarter   we   had    repurchased
                      approximately $4 million worth of our stock.  That will be
                      announced in our upcoming  results.  I think under the new
                      rules  you  announce  that  and  this is an FD  disclosure
                      through this source as well.  We believe as Ted  indicated
                      that we have  sufficient  resources to continue that plan.
                      Our  particular  plan follows our own internal rules about
                      when we have an opened  window period so that we would not
                      be in the  marketplace  before our  earnings  announcement
                      which would be February  18th.  And then we have a cooling
                      off period  after  that.  So we're not in the  marketplace
                      right now.

                      We don't intend to announce on a day-by-day, period-by-period when we're in or when we're out. We plan to abide by the rules, reporting it in the 10-Q following the appropriate quarter to keep everybody on a level playing field.

D. Gold               That's fair but on the $4 million, Jack, can you give us a
                      sense or maybe an average ... basically what price did you
                      buy in it?


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T. Pincus             It was at approximately  $20, David, so it's approximately
                      200,000 shares that were purchased back.

D. Gold               Gotcha. Thanks a lot, that's helpful.

T. Pincus             Thank you.

Operator              Our next question comes from Bill Warmington with Suntrust
                      Robinson Humphrey. Please go ahead.

B. Warmington         Good morning, everyone.

Management            Good morning, Bill.

B. Warmington         I wanted to ask a question  on how many total  people were
                      leaving in addition to the 13 senior managing directors.

T. Pincus             It is  approximately  and  again  the dust has to settle a
                      little  bit,  but it will be  between  60 and 70 people in
                      total.

B. Warmington         Okay, but of those 60 to 70, that includes the 13?

T. Pincus             That's correct.

B. Warmington         How many of those are ... is that 60 to 70  billable or is
                      the billable portion smaller than that?

T. Pincus             No, that's the billable portion.

B. Warmington         If we're  looking  at the  senior  ...  I'm trying to do a
                      count here.  We started out before the 13 announced  their
                      departure, how many senior managing directors did we have?

T. Pincus             About 125.

B. Warmington         Okay,  so we're  deducting 13 from that.  And then of that
                      number there are 17 of that number who are ...

T. Pincus             That is correct. 17 of 112.

B. Warmington Alright. Of the remaining ones who are under contract, could you talk a little bit about the contracts that those people are under?

T. Pincus             The typical contracts for those people under contract when
                      issued is typically either 4 or 5 years and then there are
                      non-competition periods that extend beyond those contracts
                      that  have  ranged  from 6


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                      months to 2 years.  So pretty  obviously  at any point ...
                      plus when people are often promoted, they are given contracts. As we sit here today the average remaining life of the contracts range from as low as 2 to 2.5 years through 6 years, almost 6 years.

B. Warmington         To  change  gears on you,  what is the cap ex that  you're
                      expecting for '04?

T. Pincus             It  was  approximately  $10 to $12  million.  And I  don't
                      expect   that  number  to  change  as  a  result  of  this
                      particular situation.

B. Warmington         Stu  had  mentioned  in  his  remarks  a  revision  of the
                      compensation  system to  provide  some new  incentives.  I
                      wanted to ask about  potential  impact on  margins of that
                      and also  any  elevated  legal  expenses  associated  with
                      what's going on.

S. Kahn               I'm sorry,  I just had a technical  difficulty.  Potential
                      impacts on margins and what else, Bill?

B. Warmington         For 2 items.  You had  mentioned in your comments a change
                      in  the  compensation  system  and  just a  concern  about
                      whether there were going to be elevated legal expenses and
                      how that was going to impact margins.

S. Kahn               I don't expect that the elevated  legal  expenses would be
                      so great  as to have  enough  of a  measurable  impact  on
                      income and I expect that we don't have anything  projected
                      in our numbers for the fourth  quarter for 2004 that would
                      reflect a recovery as a result of those legal expenses.  I
                      think that would probably be a wash.

                      As to the new incentives, at worst a wash if not a pick up. As to the new incentive program we expect that this new incentive program will be offset dollar for dollar by additional revenues and additional income. So theoretically one could argue that there'd be some impact on the margin percentage but not actually on the margin dollars.

B. Warmington         Now on the special  termination expense not related to the
                      departure of the 13 that was taken in the fourth  quarter,
                      how many  people did you reduce  the  practice  by at that
                      point?

S. Kahn               In the quarter  itself there were some people that cost us
                      a good deal of money and some people that didn't cost us a
                      lot of money.  But I actually  don't have at my fingertips
                      the  numbers,  Ted,  but I would say it was probably ... I
                      think there were probably 6 SMDs who in


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                      total moved out of that  practice and probably  another 40
                      people in the quarter.

B. Warmington         Roughly  it  sounds  like  about 46  people in total.

S. Kahn               I'm sorry, I just don't have it.

T. Pincus             The bulk of the charge of course is related to the SMDs.

B. Warmington         But those 46 people were  coming out of the  restructuring
                      group as well but not the Policano & Manzo piece it sounds
                      like.

S. Kahn               I think for the most part not, no.

B. Warmington         If you could talk a little bit about the actual client ...
                      how many client  relationships  are we talking  about that
                      are potentially at risk in this?

S. Kahn               Our view of it is we work for all the same clients as that
                      group  did in  other  parts of the  company  and it is our
                      objective  that  we're  going to go back out to make  sure
                      that the folks who are  currently  working with that other
                      group  will be  working  with us in the  future.  We don't
                      expect  at the  end  of the  day to  have  to  forego  any
                      specific client  relationships  whatsoever.  And with Mike
                      Policano  and Bob  Manzo's  help,  we expect that we'll be
                      able to restore those relationships.

B. Warmington         How does the  runoff  of the  revenue  work  when you have
                      people  change  like  that?  The  people  who've  left are
                      continuing  to bill  but are  those  billings  going to be
                      taking  place  under FTI or they have left and all  future
                      billings are under their new firm?

S. Kahn               I think it varies.  It'll  depend upon  whether the client
                      has  asked  to have the case  transferred  or not.  But no
                      matter how you do it, the  cutoff  between  when they were
                      employees of FTI and when they're no long employees of FTI
                      is complicated and does require some  cooperation  between
                      both parties to make sure the clients are properly served.

B. Warmington         But it sounds like you're going to start to see the impact
                      of that starting in the first quarter.

S. Kahn               In terms of decreased revenues from those jobs?

B. Warmington         Right.

S. Kahn               Yes, sir.


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B. Warmington         Okay just being clear. Thank you very much.

S. Kahn               You're welcome.

Operator              Our next  question  comes from  Charles  Ruff with Insight
                      Investment. Please go ahead.

C. Ruff               Hello.  Can you talk a little  bit more  about the  action
                      plans which you  mentioned in today's press  release,  the
                      new hires marketing  litigation?  I'm not sure exactly how
                      those are going to mitigate what's happened.

S. Kahn               Do you want me to take that one?

J. Dunn               Sure.

S. Kahn               In the marketing  plans for instance,  it means going back
                      out to all these  clients and trying to get them to use us
                      on a go-forward  basis and  convincing  them of what it is
                      that we can bring to the table.

                      In new hires we expect that in the interim management business we will need some new hires in that area as we build that business up. We're also building up other
                      businesses like for instance we're developing a tax consultation practice as part of our restructuring business and a transaction support practice as part of our restructuring business and we'll be hiring people into those practices in order to offset some of the impact of this.

                      I think primarily those were the things to which we were referring.

J. Dunn               To add a little  bit to that if I might.  We're talk about
                      particular individuals among the money center banks, etc.,
                      who have a preference for using different folks, different
                      client  relationships.  Because of the nature of what they
                      do, because of the nature of conflicts,  etc.,  nobody has
                      one go-to source,  they have many. There are many of those
                      people out there who would  certainly  ...  we're  putting
                      together a list of who's out there,  who the clients like.
                      As you know, we have been very active in the new hire area
                      and would  continue to be when it makes sense.  We're also
                      going  through our roster of existing  people who are some
                      of the best in the  world to see who  matches  up with the
                      particular  clients  and the  particular  needs  that they
                      might have.


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                      I think Stu mentioning  Greg Rayburn is a great example of
                      somebody who's come in who was a senior personage in the interim management area who has the ability not just to have 2 or 3 cases but the ability to draw people to him to build a real practice.

                      Finally on the  litigation  front,  I think it's  probably
                      something  we don't want to say a lot about now, not to be
                      coy but we're  looking at all the options of what has gone
                      on. And with the clients in mind,  we'll do  everything in
                      our power to make it  seamless  for the clients but within
                      the  bounds of that we want to make  sure that we  protect
                      the rights of FTI and the shareholders.
C. Ruff               Can you talk about in the expected 2004 revenues,  can you
                      break  that down by line of  business,  litigation  versus
                      restructuring versus economics?

T. Pincus             These  are some of the  pieces of  information  that we do
                      intend to supply with next week's call.

J. Dunn               It's actually the week after I think.

T. Pincus             Is it the week after? The 19th.

C. Ruff               Can you talk  about the number of shares  you're  assuming
                      and the earnings per share guidance?

T. Pincus             At this  point we are  assuming  42,700,000  shares.  That
                      number  is  clearly  prior  to,  if  there  is,  any  more
                      substantial buybacks.

C. Ruff               Right.  And can you talk more about what  changed from the
                      initial  announcement  when the  absolute  worst  case was
                      going to be 21% reduction in EBITDA versus today?

T. Pincus             Certainly.  21% of EBITDA would have  translated into much
                      more as a percent of the bottom line than the new guidance
                      that  we've   given   you.   Clearly   interest   expense,
                      depreciation  and  amortization   were  not  going  to  be
                      affected by that number.

                      So the math would have  shown  something  like a 24 or 25%
                      reduction  in  expected  income.   This  new  guidance  is
                      approximately 18 to 19% reduction in net income.

C. Ruff               Okay but what  happened  on the EBITDA  line today  versus
                      that  initial  announcement?  Why is it worse?  Why is the
                      expectation  today worse than the absolute worst case that
                      was presented.


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T. Pincus             It isn't worse.

C. Ruff               I'm sorry,  I thought  the initial  guidance  was for $140
                      million.

T. Pincus             That's correct.

C. Ruff               In EBITDA and the worst case would have been a $29 million
                      reduction which would put it down to $111.

T. Pincus             Excuse me,  you're  comparing  the upper end of the EBITDA
                      guidance to the lower end today.

C. Ruff               Okay  so the  140  was on the  upper  end of the  previous
                      guidance?

T. Pincus             That is correct.

C. Ruff               Okay, that was my mistake.  What was the previous guidance
                      then in EBITDA?

T. Pincus             The previous guidance was 130 to 140.

C. Ruff               Okay that was my mistake. I apologize. Okay thank you.

T. Pincus             Thank you.

Operator              Our next  question  comes from Marta  Nichols with Banc of
                      America Securities. Please go ahead.

M. Nichols            Good morning. Thanks. Jack, I just wanted to talk a little
                      bit qualitatively  about what happened here. You made some
                      allusions  to going  forward with an  integrated  approach
                      which you guys have  outlined a number of times and I want
                      to drill down on that.

                      If you read between the lines of these recent developments just at the MDs within what was the P&M process were
                      somehow uncomfortable with the purchase of the BRS business. I'm wondering if you can just give us some color on whether there was some miscommunication that occurred in setting expectations with those MDs that ultimately departed or what was their major objection in moving forward with FTI as an integrated approach to bankruptcy and restructuring.

J. Dunn               I think  it was a  combination  of  things  as I guess  it
                      usually is. The people who were Legacy  folks with us from
                      P&M wanted to retain a discrete  compensation system and a
                      discrete policy with respect to


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                      conflicts.  We're not as we  go-forward  about  setting up
                      fiefdoms or discrete areas. What we're looking for is compensation systems and corporate governance and looking at conflicts in a way that is for the greater good, that inspires someone who's in the forensic accounting area to want to bring in business on the restructuring side and vice versa, to want to incentivize and motivate people on the economic consulting side to get business for the entire company.

                      Interestingly we're in the very short strokes in terms of having a major presence in the economic consulting and in the forensic accounting side, both of which in effect doubled over the last 90-120 days.

                      It became apparent we believe, management believes that we have a much bigger bang for our buck in creating that kind of atmosphere where the cooperation is a much more essential core value of ours and to start that off with a carve out of the company in an industry in which we are the leading purveyor of that service just didn't make sense to us from a long term goal.

M. Nichols            Okay,  maybe asked a slightly  different  way, do you feel
                      having  now  gone  through  the  departure  of the  former
                      executives,  are there any inherent conflicts that you see
                      going  forward in being on  essentially  both sides of the
                      restructuring business? I think we talked a lot about this
                      when you bought  BRS but the idea that you are  consulting
                      both with companies and with the money center banks or the
                      creditors,  is there a concern that you can't really exist
                      comfortably on both sides of that business?

J. Dunn               Absolutely not. Interestingly both the P&M Legacy practice
                      and the BRS Legacy  practice  had both debtor and creditor
                      assignments  represented  the large banks and  represented
                      debtors   as  well  as   other   constituencies   such  as
                      bondholders, etc.

                      I think P&M probably was weighted towards the creditor side and the BRS folks were weighted towards the debtor side. What was a conflict here was a compensation system that rewarded competition, in our view, rewarded competition among our constituent groups rather than cooperation.

                      We tried to put forth a regime that would make that revenue neutral to people, but at the end of the day they decided they would rather go their own way.


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M. Nichols            Okay and then maybe just a final and I apologize  if these
                      are tough qualitative questions.

J. Dunn               No, they're fine, but one thing you've got to recognize is
                      that in the genre of bankruptcy  restructuring,  corporate
                      finance restructuring,  the banks have an integral part to
                      play in not only  who  represents  them  but  often in who
                      represents  the  company and in many cases that don't even
                      get to be a Chapter 11 or an event  like  that.  The banks
                      are in  there  recommending  to  the  company  they  bring
                      somebody in.

                      We have a tremendous number of cases like that and we have a tremendous cachet through the BRS people with all the big money center banks. There are certain individuals that prefer an individual that has now left FTI and we're going to do our darndest to convince them that either somebody we have existing or somebody we can get can meet all their needs. So that's our action plan.

M. Nichols            Then maybe a  simplistic  question  about those folks that
                      departed.  I mean P&M has been a part of FTI for I guess 4
                      years now. Why hadn't they been under contract before now,
                      particularly given how important it was as a piece of your
                      business?  Was it a matter of you not asking  them to sign
                      contracts,  was it a matter  of a long  time  stalling  in
                      terms of  getting  the  contracts  signed?  Was there some
                      reason why or some failure in terms of the management that
                      they had not been asked to sign contracts previously?

J. Dunn               Everyone  will  have  their  own  view of  whether  it was
                      management failure. Suffice it to say from our perspective
                      one of the  initiatives  that we  began  last  year was to
                      migrate our existing  Legacy folks into a situation  where
                      they had contracts. We were and are in the process of that
                      initiative.

                      Again with not going into too much detail because it may bear on future actions, etc., we were in negotiations with almost I believe all of our managing directors who were not under contract about arranging a contractual situation and had in good faith entrusted folks who had been team players with us with additional responsibilities. So we thought we were on a way to having a contractual situation resolved.

M. Nichols            Okay and then maybe  outside of these  practices,  can you
                      give us some idea of the impact that you've either seen or
                      that you  anticipate  this loss of business  having on the
                      rest of your  business,  on your  other  practices  either
                      directly  in  terms  of  client  relationships  or just on
                      morale  for  example  because  people  see that the senior
                      level


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<PAGE>


                      management is distracted by this or that the stock price has down or whatever.

                      What have you seen and what do you anticipate in terms of impact elsewhere?

J. Dunn               What I've seen is a rallying  to FTI which has been a darn
                      good employer and partner with folks who have been with us
                      for a long time.  As we  mentioned  in the press  release,
                      there are many  constituencies  in all these  matters  and
                      somebody,  I can't remember who in the questioning said is
                      there a problem  with  being on 2 sides of the  case.  You
                      betcha,  so that we have  multiple  entrance  points  into
                      these matters.

                      I think that people are taking the view that we have something very good going here at FTI. We have a hiccough and of course maybe more than that. I don't mean to be cavalier about it, more than that. But in terms of a place where there's a tremendous amount of opportunity and in fact a chance to eliminate some squabbling over turf, I think we have a tremendous opportunity to make that up. That's the number one reaction that I'm getting from this.

M. Nichols            That's great. Thank you very much.

Operator              Our next  question  comes  from Raj Sharma  with  Merriman
                      Curhan Ford. Please go ahead.

R. Sharma             Hi, guys. Just wanted to clarify how many consultants were
                      there in the P&M  practice  and how many have left?  Other
                      than Policano and Manzo how many senior managing directors
                      and how many other  consultants were there and how many of
                      those have left?

T. Pincus             There were 13 other than  Policano and Manzo and they have
                      gone. The number of staff is still moving.

S. Kahn               There were 14.

T. Pincus             I'm sorry, Stu, absolutely right.

R. Sharma             So 14 plus a sum number of consultants that were there?

T. Pincus             The total billable headcount was about 70.

R. Sharma             I know that they  contributed  about $30 million of EBITDA
                      for '04.  Has there been any  change?  Have you taken,  in
                      your new EBITDA


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                      projections  have you  taken  all of that  out or  there's
                      still some number that still contributes to that EBITDA from this practice?

T. Pincus             The  guidance  took into  account  all the plans  that you
                      heard of today.  It is  conservative  guidance in our view
                      because   there  is  much   about  that  plan  that  could
                      ameliorate  further the effect, but that we can't count on
                      it yet.

R. Sharma             And one other  question.  How would you  characterize  the
                      integration  of Lexicon and KPMG's DAS Group so far? Is it
                      on plan? Is it as well as you'd expected?

S. Kahn               I'll do that  one.  The  KPMG  DAS  Group  has  integrated
                      beautifully   within  our  existing  forensic   accounting
                      practice.  In fact we've  created a leadership  group that
                      includes  the former head of the KPMG  practice who is now
                      the  leader of the  entire  forensic  group  with 2 of the
                      former  leaders  from  the FTI  Legacy  practices  leading
                      individual major regions and major parts of the practice.

                      In addition, the Ten Eyck group which was a small acquisition that we made back in the tailend of October or early November has fit in beautifully with the rest of our practices and that integration's going along extremely well.

                      The Lexecon Group is of course a group of economists so they're not fungible and interchangeable with the accountants generally who work in the restructuring or accounting group. Their integration efforts are mostly in the area of cross-selling or joint selling along with the FTI forensic practice and the trial practice and the restructuring practices in cases where either their skills might be helpful to our getting work in other practice areas or conversely where relationships or contacts or client situations might warrant bringing in economic consulting help and thereby bringing in those folks.

                      That's been growing pretty much according to plan.

R. Sharma             Great, thank you.

S. Kahn               You're welcome.

Operator              Our  next   question   comes  from  David  Kelly  with  RS
                      Investments. Please go ahead.


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D. Kelley             Good  morning.  In terms of trying to get the senior folks
                      contracted, what are the range of incentives that you'll be using, ranging from potential EBITDA payouts to stock? And will this potentially affect the senior folks that are
                      locked  up?   Will  you  have  to  go  back  to  them  and
                      renegotiate with them? Thank you.

S. Kahn               I  can  try  to  answer  that  question.   It's  a  little
                      difficult.  We don't expect a significant  effort in going
                      back  to  our  existing  people  and  renegotiating   that
                      contract.  We think we're paying our folks pretty well and
                      we  certainly  are at or above market in most cases and we
                      intend to be there on a go-forward basis.

                      In terms of signing up other folks into existing contracts, we've been using things like stock options and restricted stock to induce them or give them consideration for their contracts and that's been received pretty favorably.

                      I don't know that we have on the table any new incentive programs. We have incentive programs in place in all of our practice areas to reward people for excellent performance and I'm not sure that we expect that we would have any more, put any more in place.

D. Kelley             An  unrelated  follow-up if I might ask. The cap ex that's
                      associated with the cash flow is what?

T. Pincus             Approximately  $10  to  $12  million.  And  that  was  not
                      associated with the cash flow from operations  number that
                      I gave. Cash flow from operations of $70 to $80 million is
                      before cap ex of course.

D. Kelley             Thank you.

Operator              Our next  question  comes  from Dan  Dittler  with  Lehman
                      Brother. Please go ahead.

D. Dittler            Thank  you.  Just to be clear,  Jack and Ted.  In the past
                      you've been very clear about this but just for the sake of
                      repeating,   your  2004  guidance  does  not  include  any
                      additional  acquisitions  nor does it include  any further
                      repurchases. Is that correct?

T. Pincus             That's correct.

D. Dittler            With regards to your operating  cash flow  guidance,  does
                      that include the incremental  working capital required for
                      the KPMG acquisition?


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T. Pincus             The  answer is to the  extent  that that had to spill over
                      into 2004 it does.

D. Dittler            Great.  And then one further question with respect to your
                      2004  guidance  and that is in your $1.27 to $1.47  range,
                      does that  include any client  retention  with  respect to
                      clients that were  associated  with the  departing  senior
                      managing directors?

T. Pincus             Very,   very  modest  in  terms  of  specific   engagement
                      retention.  But it  does  include  estimations  of  client
                      retentions   subsequent   to   some   of  the   particular
                      engagements  that are  moving  with some of the  departing
                      people.

D. Dittler            Okay so in other  words with  respect to the  engagements,
                      the existing  engagements  that these  managing  directors
                      were working with, you assumed that the revenue associated
                      with that will go away but that you'll  retain the clients
                      perhaps for future engagements?

T. Pincus             Right,  not all.  Not 100%.  Clearly  not 100%.  But as we
                      said, one objective was not to disrupt client service.

D. Dittler            Okay great.  And then with respect to your senior level MD
                      rehiring plans,  how many are you  contemplating to rehire
                      to replace the 13 lost managing directors?

J. Dunn               That's part of the process to go find out what the clients
                      want.  We have meetings  scheduled  with the clients to go
                      find out what  their view is of the folks that we have and
                      to find out frankly who's on their short list to go to and
                      that's  the  way we do  that.  We also  obviously  haven't
                      informed  you  because   we've  been   competing   against
                      individuals in the rest of the world for the last 15 or 20
                      years in terms of Dom DiNapoli  and Bob Manzo,  etc. so we
                      know  who's out  there.  So we just want to get a feel for
                      that before we go out so it's not a specific number,  it's
                      more   appropriately   rebuilding  that  kind  of  special
                      practice.

D. Dittler            Then one final  question  with respect to potential  first
                      quarter  charges.  Just  to  be  clear,  the  13  managing
                      directors  resigned  and since they  resigned  accordingly
                      there  will  be no  severance  charges.  Is  that  a  fair
                      assumption?

J. Dunn               That is entirely fair.

D. Dittler            Great. Thank you very much.


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Operator              Our next  question  comes  from  Steve  Kohl with  Matador
                      Capital. Please go ahead.

S. Kohl               Good morning, guys. A couple of quick questions. I want to
                      get back to some of the incentive  stuff a little bit. You
                      talked about  restrictor  stock and stock options.  Let me
                      expand  on  that.  First  of all  when  you  look at bonus
                      structure,  what  percent  do you  envision  of that being
                      stock  versus cash or what  element is cash and how do you
                      expect  that to change  going  forward?  And of that stock
                      that is  restricted,  over what period  does it  typically
                      vest?

T. Pincus             I'll take portions of that. The stock is typically vesting
                      over  the  life of the  contracts  so that if our  typical
                      contract ranges from 4 to 6 years, so will the life of the
                      restricted stock. We of course will have a proxy statement
                      out  later  in the  year  which  may or  may  not  contain
                      requests from our shareholders to approve changes in those
                      programs.  We're still working on that. What was the other
                      part of the question?

S. Kohl               It was  just in  terms of  understanding  the cash  versus
                      stock  argument.  We've  seen  that on  some of the  other
                      consulting   companies  where  they've  had  issues  where
                      consultants ... if you have somebody that's compensated on
                      their own  practice  area and the firm doesn't do as well,
                      you end up  paying  a heck of a lot of cash out to them as
                      part of their practice but the company may not do quite as
                      well. You saw that for example with the headhunting firms.
                      That was a model  you guys  have  probably  seen with Korn
                      Ferry and Hydric where they ended up paying out $60 or $70
                      million in bonuses when the firm doesn't make any money.

                      I guess I'm just trying to make sure that the model that you guys are envisioning using is not analogous to that.

T. Pincus             It's a variable  model which is the more that the business
                      earns,  the more that  people  will earn and vice versa as
                      well.

S. Kohl               Is it their individual  business?  Let me rephrase it. How
                      much  of the  bonus  is  contingent  on  their  individual
                      practice area versus a corporation's targets and goals?

T. Pincus             Most of the bonuses are dependent on the 4 major  practice
                      areas.  Some go deeper  than that but in general  they are
                      dependent  on the major  practice  areas.  Several  of our
                      bonuses  are  dependent,   however,   on  overall  company
                      profits.

J. Dunn               Can I embellish that a little bit?


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S. Kohl               Of course, please.

J. Dunn               We've  tried to have a  situation  that gives  people some
                      control over their own destiny with regard to bonuses.  We
                      also have tried for right or wrong to focus  first on cash
                      compensation so that the option of equity  compensation is
                      something that's additional, that nobody has to go home to
                      their  spouse  and say  we're  not  going  to make  what I
                      thought  this year  because I took it all in  options.  We
                      believe   for   these   folks   who  are   high   powered,
                      exceptionally  professional  and skilled folks that that's
                      the way to go. So we start with that.

                      I don't think perhaps, I'm not sure, but I don't think that in measuring us against the staffing companies or the head hunting firms or others that you'll find that it's as a large a component.

                      Much of the equity compensation; i.e., either outstanding stock or options is held by people within conjunction with acquisitions that we've done. I think we would stay true to that so you'll see it reflected.

                      What we have, where we are migrating for example, however, is rather than the compensation be related to a specific office or a specific person's practice, we're looking at it more over the entire ... giving all the FMDs, for example, in the restructuring practice a piece of the restructuring pie. We think it's a big enough pie that the impact between those practices and the overall company is more direct. So it's not one particular office in Saskatchewan did great so it's going to take all the profits from the company. They're bound together to cooperate with each other to make it work.

S. Kohl               One last question just a  clarification  point. As part of
                      the BRS  purchase  in '02,  can you give me a  little  bit
                      better clarity?  I was reading  through the documents.  It
                      looks  like  you  gave  1.2  million  shares  back  to the
                      managing  directors at that point and 1.8 million to other
                      folks.   I  wasn't  clear.   I  know  there's  some  price
                      protection  which I didn't  completely  make out at the 28
                      and change  level.  Could you maybe explain how that works
                      for me?

J. Dunn               That was not giving  shares.  We paid part of the purchase
                      price in stock which went to Pricewaterhouse and since the
                      folks  who  joined  us were  partners  of the  firm,  they
                      received some of that stock so that's where the stock came
                      from.  It was  not in  addition  to or over  the  purchase
                      price,  it was just part of the  basket  of  consideration
                      that Pricewaterhouse received.


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                      We did agree to give them price protection and Ted you can
                      describe that.

T. Pincus             That was a  pre-split  number  you were  using.  The price
                      protection is at  approximately  the $19 level and it's on
                      only a portion of the stock.

S. Kohl               It's only 40% or something, is that right?

T. Pincus             It's 40 of 40.

S. Kohl               So it's a relatively small number.

T. Pincus             And it would also be accounted for as additional  purchase
                      price. Our estimation right now at present levels is $1 to
                      $1.5  million  at  most  as  additional   purchase   price
                      retrospectively.

S. Kohl               Last question just with your other consulting  agreements,
                      do you have  anything like this that I missed that we have
                      to be  concerned  with the stock  price  coming down or is
                      that  pretty  much it in terms of  price  protection  that
                      you'd offered and certain agreements?

T. Pincus             Of our recent 3 acquisitions, only a very small piece of 1
                      of the 3 was in  stock.  The major  acquisitions  were for
                      cash.

S. Kohl               Very good. Thank you very much, guys.

Operator              Our next  question  comes  from  Arnold  Ursaner  with CJS
                      Securities. Please go ahead.

A. Ursaner            Good  morning.  A  couple  of  questions.  One  is on  the
                      Policano & Manzo  contract  that you  discussed  today.  I
                      guess my first question is why are you negotiating  such a
                      short period of time with them.

J. Dunn               That was not a negotiated period.  They were folks that we
                      had under contract. We were just describing what was.

A. Ursaner            So that's just the remainder of their contract?

J. Dunn               Actually it was a re-up.  Their contracts actually expired
                      ...

T. Pincus             February 1st.

J. Dunn               February 1st but we had negotiated with them an additional
                      extension before that.


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A. Ursaner            But again,  going to the point where your other  contracts
                      are 4 years or so, why would you negotiate such a short time?

J. Dunn               At the point we  negotiated  those  contracts  that looked
                      like what our ...  that was our need  combined  with their
                      desire.  I think as the year  unfolds  they'll be deciding
                      whether they want to continue with us or whatever. I think
                      as the press release  indicated,  our activities in Europe
                      seem to be going at least according to plan if not better.
                      Bob obviously has a different  role than we anticipated at
                      the  beginning  of the year. I think the point was looking
                      ahead  we did  this a  while  back  and  now we will be in
                      conversations  with  them  I'm sure  this  year as to what
                      their plans are going to be for the future.

A. Ursaner            Maybe I missed it but have you told us where these  people
                      are going and did you have a realistic  opportunity to try
                      to keep them?

J. Dunn               I believe the bulk of them are starting  their own firm. A
                      realistic  ... we had a potential  economic  ability to do
                      it, we had a potential  ... we certainly  had  discussions
                      but we did not in my opinion have a realistic  opportunity
                      of what it would  have  cost us in our  desire to make the
                      most  out of our  remaining  company  in  terms of a fully
                      integrated company.

A. Ursaner            A question  for Ted on the EBITDA  guidance of 104 to 115,
                      can you give us a feel for the balance or mix between that
                      let's say by product area on a go-forward basis?

T. Pincus             Not yet, Arnie.  Those are some of the things that we hope
                      to discuss with a little more detail on the 19th.

A. Ursaner            Okay to the extent you do that on the 19th, would you also
                      include the things  that we might like to see,  where your
                      billable  employees are today and what your goals would be
                      let's say for year end  headcount  again to the extent you
                      want to do that by segment or product area?

T. Pincus             We don't at present operate as segments,  Arnie, the rigid
                      segments  that are  described  in  accounting  literature.
                      We're exploring that, by the way.

                      To the extent that we don't change the way that we operate, we'll try to give you some more clarity in terms of headcount, average rates and billable employees by major practice areas, recognizing that if


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                      we don't operate as segments, there's a lot of fungibility
                      of our resources.

A. Ursaner            Again,  maybe it's better served in your earnings call but
                      another  question that certainly is in the back of my mind
                      is to the extent  you're  giving us your revenue  guidance
                      for the year,  what percent of that would be, if you will,
                      kind of  business  in hand?  And again,  you've been asked
                      this  many  times,  kind of a runoff of  business  and the
                      trend of pricing on new business that's replacing it.

T. Pincus             You're a little bit ahead of the curve on this one, Arnie.
                      Those are the kinds of questions we'd love to entertain on
                      the 19th.

A. Ursaner            As I say, to the extent you can answer  those on the 19th,
                      I think it would be very helpful. Thanks.

Operator              Our final question comes from Jonathan Shafter with Kramer
                      Stallman. Please go ahead.

J. Shafter            Hey,  guys.  I guess what I'm trying to figure out here is
                      over  2004  just a  rough  cut of it.  Two-thirds  of your
                      business   I   think   will   come   from    non-financial
                      restructuring lines. And if you could go through the major
                      segments  and just kind of  explain  where  the  crossover
                      would  occur  between  client  relationships.  I  mean  my
                      hypothesis  would be that say on the litigation side, even
                      if some of the  departing,  the P&M guys had a client that
                      you're also working for the same company on the litigation
                      side,  the litigation  trial  technology  you're  probably
                      working with the general  counsel on that  company,  there
                      wouldn't be actual client crossover.

                      What is the extent outside of the business restructuring area client relationships actually intertwine? Did I make myself clear? I'm not sure if I said that well.

S. Kahn               I'll take a stab at it.  We have a number  of  cases,  for
                      instance one major international  investigation that we're
                      starting now where our  electronic  evidence  people,  our
                      child support  people and our forensic  accounting  people
                      are  involved  jointly on this  assignment.  We have cases
                      where  along  with the  restructuring  folks if there's an
                      accounting misstatement question or a fraud question where
                      our  forensic  accounting  folks  as  well  as  often  our
                      electronic  evidence  folks are  involved  in the cases we
                      could have,  we do have cases where in  bankruptcies  they
                      need economic  testimony in order for a confirmation  of a
                      plan and we might have graphic  support working along with
                      those other folks.


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                      I don't know if that answers your question.

J. Shafter            So I guess what as a rough cut,  what  percentage  of your
                      business  in the  other  major  lines  then does come from
                      referrals  based on the main  contact  being the  business
                      restructuring advisory?

S. Kahn               I don't  think  it's a very  big  ...  If  that  was  your
                      question ...

J. Shafter            Yeah I'm just basically ... what I'm trying to derive here
                      is the potential impact on the non-business  restructuring
                      lines  from  these  departures.  Is that  going to  impact
                      relationships  and  materially  cross-selling  into  those
                      other lines?

S. Kahn               Actually is some ways there were some situations  where as
                      a result of the  folks  who were part of our  organization
                      and the  clients  that they were  working  on that we were
                      stopped from either working the other side of a bankruptcy
                      case where we might be working  for the company or for the
                      bondholders  or cases  involving  unrelated  litigation by
                      where one party  might have been a creditor or a client of
                      the group that left where we might have been  stopped from
                      doing the work.

                      These would be what we consider to be probably pick ups rather than downturns. On the other hand clearly there have been some cases where were it not for the restructuring work being done we might not have had the opportunity to do the, I don't know, claims management work or fraud investigation or something like that.

                      We think there are some going both ways in that regard.

J. Dunn               For purposes of the  guidance,  we started to look at 2003
                      and see  what  the  relationship  was  both to work we had
                      gotten because we were involved in the restructuring  with
                      the   departing   people  and  also  started  to  look  at
                      opportunities that we had turned down.

                      It was our judgment that while recent past is a good indicator of the future, that it was really not fair to add to our guidance by an amount that the delta would be in that, so we did not. We looked at it and considered it as a wash. Obviously we remain hopeful that it will be better than that and we also have a tremendous amount of referral work from the continuing restructuring practice as well as a really good chemistry growing between the forensic accounting and the corporate finance restructuring group.


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FTI CONSULTING                                                           Page 23

J. Shafter            Thank you.

Operator              Mr. Dunn, please continue with your closing remarks.

J. Dunn               Again I'd like to thank  everybody  for being  here and we
                      will  join you  again  the week  after  next with our full
                      report on the year end and continue to update our guidance
                      for the coming year which despite the travails of the last
                      2  weeks,  we  remain  committed,  focused  and I  think a
                      spirited  FTI is very strong  right now to produce for our
                      shareholders  and to make this the company that we all set
                      out  to  make  it to be.  With  that  I'd  like  to  thank
                      everybody and talk to you in 2 weeks.

Operator              Ladies and gentlemen  this  concludes  the FTI  Consulting
                      2004 Outlook conference call. If you'd like to listen to a
                      replay of today's conference,  you may dial 1-800-405-2236
                      or you may dial  303-590-3000  and enter the access number
                      of 570247.

                      Thank you for participating. You may now disconnect.


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FTI CONSULTING                                                           Page 24