Exhibit 99.1

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
August 3, 2009

Contacts:	Melanie J. Dressel, President and Chief Executive Officer
(253) 305-1911

Gary R. Schminkey, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
(253) 305-1966

COLUMBIA BANKING SYSTEM ANNOUNCES

COMMENCEMENT OF $80 MILLION PUBLIC OFFERING OF COMMON STOCK

TACOMA, Washington, August 3, 2009 — Columbia Banking System, Inc. (NASDAQ: COLB) announced today that it expects to offer and sell approximately $80 million of common stock in an underwritten public offering. Keefe, Bruyette & Woods, Inc. is serving as lead book-running manager of the offering, and D.A. Davidson & Co. is a co-manager. Columbia Banking System intends to grant the underwriters a 30-day option to purchase up to an additional 15% of the shares sold to cover over-allotments, if any.

Columbia intends to use the net proceeds from this offering for general corporate purposes, more specifically to support opportunistic growth and the bank’s capital needs.

Any shares issued will be issued pursuant to a prospectus supplement filed as part of an existing shelf registration statement filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission on Form S-3.

This announcement shall not constitute an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to buy these securities, nor shall there be any offer or sale of these securities in any jurisdiction in which such offer, solicitation or sale would be unlawful. The offering will be made only by means of a prospectus, copies of which may be obtained from Keefe, Bruyette & Woods, Inc., Equity Capital Markets, 787 Seventh Avenue, 4th Floor, New York, NY 10019, or by calling toll-free (800) 966-1559 or from D.A. Davidson & Co., Equity Capital Markets, 8 Third Street North, Great Falls, MT 59401 or by calling toll-free (800) 332-5915.

About Columbia

Headquartered in Tacoma, Washington, Columbia Banking System, Inc. is the holding company of Columbia State Bank, a Washington state-chartered full-service commercial bank which was awarded second place in the large employer category by Seattle Business Magazine’s “100 Best Companies to Work For” for 2009. With the 2007 acquisitions of Mountain Bank Holding Company and Town Center Bancorp and the 2008 internal merger of its subsidiary, Bank of Astoria, into Columbia State Bank, Columbia Banking System has 51 banking offices in Pierce, King, Cowlitz, Kitsap, Thurston and Whatcom counties in Washington State, and Clackamas, Clatsop, Tillamook and Multnomah counties in Oregon. Included in Columbia State Bank are former branches of Mt. Rainier National Bank, doing business as Mt. Rainier Bank, with 5 branches in King and Pierce counties. Columbia State Bank does business under the Bank of Astoria name at the Bank of Astoria’s former branches located in Astoria, Warrenton, Seaside and Cannon Beach in Clatsop County and in Manzanita and Tillamook in Tillamook County. More information about Columbia can be found on its website at www.columbiabank.com.

Note Regarding Forward-Looking Statements

This news release includes forward-looking statements. These forward looking statements describe management’s expectations regarding future events and developments such as our expected offering of common stock and the use of any proceeds from that offering. The words “will,” “believe,” “expect,” “should,” and “anticipate” and words of similar construction are intended in part to help identify forward-looking statements. Future events are difficult to predict, and the expectations described above are necessarily subject to risk and uncertainty that may cause actual results to differ materially and adversely. In addition to discussions about risks and uncertainties set forth from time to time in our filings with the SEC, factors that may cause actual results to differ materially from those contemplated by such forward-looking statements include, among others, the following possibilities: (1) local and national economic conditions are less favorable than expected or have a more direct and pronounced effect on us than expected and adversely affect our ability to continue internal growth at historical rates and maintain the quality of our earning assets; (2) a continued decline in the housing/real estate market; (3) changes in interest rates significantly reduce interest margins and negatively affect funding sources; (4) deterioration of credit quality that could, among other things, increase defaults and delinquency risks in the Bank’s loan portfolios; (5) projected business increases following strategic expansion activities are lower than expected; (6) competitive pressure among financial institutions increases significantly; (7) legislation or regulatory requirements or changes adversely affect the businesses in which we are engaged; and (8) our ability to realize the efficiencies we expect to receive from our investments in personnel, acquisitions and infrastructure.

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