Exhibit 99.1
                        Press Release Issued May 22, 2003

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
MAY 22, 2003

                                  PRESS RELEASE

             Citizens Financial Announces First Quarter 2003 Results


LOUISVILLE,  KY-- May 22, 2003 -- Citizens Financial  Corporation  (NASDAQ-CNFL)
today reported  premium income  increased 9% to $8,978,000 for the first quarter
of 2003 compared to the same period last year while total  revenues rose 7%. The
Company had a net loss of $333,000 or $0.20 per share for the first quarter. The
net loss was down about 16% from the loss of $397,000 or $0.23 per share  during
the  same  period  in  2002.  For the  quarter,  the  Company  realized  pre-tax
investment  portfolio  losses of $276,000 and a pre-tax loss from  operations of
$130,000. Shareholders' equity increased 0.5% to $17,835,000 for the quarter.

The pre-tax loss from  operations in 2003 compared to a pre-tax loss of $139,000
in 2002.  Declining  earned  interest  rates,  which  negatively  impact all the
Company's life products,  and increased  general expenses and individual  health
claims, were the reason for the deterioration in operating income.

General  expenses  increased  $311,000 or 21% during the quarter compared to the
same  period in the prior year.  The most  significant  portion of the  increase
related  to the cost of  outside  consultants  who were  employed  to review the
profitability  of the  Company's  life  products  in the current  interest  rate
environment.  This review resulted in significant modifications in the Company's
Home Service product pricing and Preneed segment commissions.

Detailed  discussion  of the  Company's  insurance  operations,  asset  quality,
capital adequacy,  debt,  liquidity and factors affecting future  performance is
provided in the  Company's  Form 10-Q for the quarter  which has been filed with
the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Citizens  Financial is the  Louisville-based  parent of Citizens  Security  Life
Insurance Company.

                        For further information contact:
                                 Lane A. Hersman
                            Executive Vice President
                                  502/244-2420


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<CAPTION>
                                         Citizens Financial Corporation
                                            Results in tabular form:



                                                                   Quarter ended March 31
                                              ------------------------------ ---- -----------------------------
                                                          2003                                2002
                                              ------------------------------      -----------------------------
Revenues                                      $         10,132,000                $          9,448,000
Net loss                                      $            333,000                $            397,000
Per Share:                                    $                .20                $                .23

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Selected Financial Position Data:
                                                                   Quarter ended March 31
                                              ------------------------------ ---- -----------------------------
                                                          2003                                2002
                                              ------------------------------      -----------------------------
Total Assets                                  $       149,365,000                 $      148,442,000
Notes Payable                                 $         7,121,000                 $        7,779,000
Shareholders' Equity                          $        17,835,000                 $       17,758,000
Shareholders' Equity per share                $             10.58                 $            10.53